Suzuki SX4 Sedan spotted in Malaysia!

A Suzuki SX4 Sedan was spotted in The Curve, Mutiara Damansara displayed as a prize for some contest organised by Metrojaya and Citibank, if I’m not mistaken. Did not particularly pay much attention to the poster near the car as I was too busy snapping photos of the car itself.

The SX4 Sedan is another of those new-fangled small B-segment hatches turned into sedans. This particular execution looks either like a hit or miss depending on what angle you look at. At some angles you start to praise what a good job Suzuki has done tacking on a boot to a hatch, and a very tall one at that, but at some angles the rear starts to look too narrow and tall and that is made worse with the window profile that slopes upwards at a noticeably steep degree of angle.

Expect the Suzuki SX4 Sedan to be making a debut in our local market very very soon since it is already offered as a contest prize. Word is that it will be offered as a CKD.

Look after the jump for more photos with different angles of the Suzuki SX4 Sedan.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• xenith (Member) on Jun 30, 2008 at 2:00 am

Nice…
    Wonder how much.

• hvannees (Member) on Jun 30, 2008 at 2:25 am

another B segment contender, but still not convince Suzuki ability, like to prefer other Japanese cars. (“.)

• azrai (Member) on Jun 30, 2008 at 7:38 am

If it is CKDed in Pekan, surely the most affordable Japanese car around this year.

• Capt Shopalot (Member) on Jun 30, 2008 at 7:53 am

Why oh why.
    Looks so weird from the crossover
    Save money, getting variant and have all those weird looking cars.
    I wonder motivate them

• Alifz (Member) on Jun 30, 2008 at 8:58 am

Is this the model used on Top Gear before they scrapped it for Chevrolet?

• altimi (Member) on Jun 30, 2008 at 9:18 am

Alifz wrote;
    “Is this the model used on Top Gear before they scrapped it for Chevrolet?”

No, that one is Liana, the old one…..

• xstan (Member) on Jun 30, 2008 at 9:19 am

Its the cheapest B segment car in Singapore. Its way cheaper then Vios & City..thus it would likely be cheaper or price range identical to other Jap B segment car if it launch here

• hyundai (Member) on Jun 30, 2008 at 9:32 am

If it is priced at 80k then how is it going to fight with those mainstream car???

• indigo (Member) on Jun 30, 2008 at 10:37 am

Saw this weird SX4 few weeks ago in Penang for Metrojaya shopping Contest

• demio121 (Member) on Jun 30, 2008 at 11:01 am

Suzuki should stay @ doing hatch. Their sedan incarnations are ugly. The Swift sedan look out of place and this SX4 sedan don’t look any better.

Why not SMA juz CKD SX4 as a rival to City/Vios rather than this odd looking sedan?

• Hikaru (Member) on Jun 30, 2008 at 11:49 am

Did notice that the competition was offering a SX4 sedan as opposed to the SX4 hatch that is available now.

Perhaps just a one-off imported by the Organisers for this competition? First thing that came in to my mind is that good luck to the owners, will be more of a liability than asset when time comes to repair. No one would have the parts to repair this car being one and only one in Malaysia (unless parts are interchangeable, which i am sure yes but not all).

• ekoh (Member) on Jun 30, 2008 at 12:09 pm

this sedan will launch at the end of July, my local Suzuki dealer told me

• tokmoh (Member) on Jun 30, 2008 at 3:15 pm

@Hikaru

Since when is a car an asset? Unless its a taxi or used to generate healthy profit for business (what kinda business?!?!), a car/whatever is considered a liability. The same goes for house: it’s a common mistake to automatically categorise it as an asset. Read Kiyosaki’s book to know what can be considered an “asset” and a “liability”: it depends on the cash flow.

I saw this car a few weekes ago at Metrojaya Mid Valley, and saw it at The Curve last week. Now that you mentioned it Paul, I just realised it hasn’t been launched officially :P

• White Jack (Member) on Jun 30, 2008 at 3:27 pm

Price RM60++ for 1.5 ?

• hvannees (Member) on Jun 30, 2008 at 6:08 pm

yeah, should be only +-60k if it CKD lor…

• corollaaltis (Member) on Jun 30, 2008 at 7:26 pm

The rear is plain like the old accent..

• mystvearn (Member) on Jun 30, 2008 at 7:59 pm

Looks like a miss to me, but its design serve its purpose.

• nmh (Member) on Jun 30, 2008 at 9:25 pm

It combines good vios exterior and good city interior = SX4 sedan…..congrats. This is a proper cheap sedan for asean market

• mitlanevo (Member) on Jul 01, 2008 at 12:39 am

whatever it is, the SX4 should be great if available here, at least the lame Vios got some competitor…..

forget about Latio and City, coz they are damn better than Vios :-)

• transformer (Member) on Jul 01, 2008 at 1:22 am

IMHO, first i must say SX4(original) are quite a cute car indeed… just saw one at Custom checkpoint(Singapore) moment ago…

Now, SX4 sedan, front still retain it looks.. i like its cab-forward design… which help its ambient to feel more airy!

The back its a NO NO! That rear design made me thought is there an agreement beween Suzuki Kia in producing cars…. Coz that tail looks very similar to Kia Rio!

• kingv6 (Member) on Jul 01, 2008 at 2:41 pm

I tot I saw SX4 OTR already. If not mistaken it was using KL plate.

• kingv6 (Member) on Jul 01, 2008 at 2:44 pm

I kinda like the design especially the A pillar… Cool

• JULIANLEE2 (Member) on Jul 01, 2008 at 11:11 pm

i rather have the volkswagen in the previous post eventhough that is also ugly

• hafizzul (Member) on Jul 02, 2008 at 2:10 pm

Comel lah pulak…bila nak jual di Malaysia?

• dr_carz (Member) on Jul 02, 2008 at 7:27 pm

MAKE A GOOD B MODEL THERE SUZUKI! CONGRATS……..

• jackdaniel291 (Member) on Jul 06, 2008 at 9:58 pm

Price Ontheroad Is RM 92,053.50 For Standard For Premium Is RM 97,183.50
    Difrend Standard And Premium Is Tinted Leather Seat Spoiler If Intrested U Can Call Me For Booking 013 253 7373 ( Shaiful ) Leave Ur Contact Number For Test Drive KL & PJ AREA.

• jackdaniel291 (Member) on Jul 06, 2008 at 10:02 pm

The SX4 Sedan launch Is 24 & 25 July 2008