First photos of new Kia Forte sedan

Kia Forte

Four official product photos of the new Kia Forte sedan has been released by Kia. It will hit Korean showrooms first in August 2008, with the rest of the world to get it later, including Malaysia as a new Cerato or Forte sedan. The current Cerato is sold here as a 5-door hatch, but a sedan from this current generation is not likely to be introduced with Naza Kia management most probably deciding to skip the current generation Cerato sedan and going straight for this new Forte.

The new Kia Forte is more angular and up to date with current design trends compared to its predecessor. While Europe gets the cee’d, this model is the cee’d’s equivalent for the rest of the world. So while exterior styling is radically different from the cee’d (which is a hatch in the first place), expect the interior to follow the cee’d’s interior design closely. It’s quite good looking indeed.

The rear looks like the current generation Hyundai Elantra we have here in our market, but the shoulder profile thankfully misses the odd Audi A5-like wave that the Elantra has. The front end sports Kia’s new corporate nose that is also found on the facelifted Optima.

1.6 litre and 2.0 litre CVVT engines will be offered, but the cee’d’s 1.6 litre VGT turbodiesel is a question mark at this point as the markets where this car will be introduced are not really mad about diesel.

Kia intends to introduce a two-door coupe version of this Forte later, which will more closely resemble the KIA KOUP Concept that this Forte was based on.

View three more photos after the jump.

Kia Forte

Kia Forte

Kia Forte

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• transformer (Member) on Jul 02, 2008 at 11:18 pm

nice! very sporty looks!

guess there would be a sport variant also in pipeline… (maybe a 2.0L Turbocharged/VGT)

• claxxion (Member) on Jul 02, 2008 at 11:22 pm

very clean design. i like it.

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Jul 02, 2008 at 11:33 pm

God bless Peter Schreyer!

• mytouch (Member) on Jul 02, 2008 at 11:38 pm

I smell copycat,mioowww…..didint u folks feel that it looks like Mitsubishi Lancer?Especially the view from the side & rear…This is the new episode of Hyundai Sonata,which almost copy from new Camry & Accord…Haiz,donno when will Korean cars going to have their own designed car again…

• mitlanevo (Member) on Jul 02, 2008 at 11:44 pm

maybe the designers behind this car has done a copy cat job or whatever, but that’s fine, coz this car looks good!!!

look a lot like a mini Lexus with Civic 3dr Type-R front profile, and the rear looks better than Altis and Elantra…..

• mitlanevo (Member) on Jul 02, 2008 at 11:46 pm

mytouch, i agree :-)

• Phisto (Member) on Jul 02, 2008 at 11:50 pm

This really a pleasant looking car. Although i do agree it does has some lancer EX influence i think it’s ok because usually the whole industry follows the styles of popular cars.

• ryan_foong80 (Member) on Jul 02, 2008 at 11:55 pm

hmm.. honda at front … lexus at back… mix…

• csv (Member) on Jul 02, 2008 at 11:59 pm

nice looking car, looks kinda like Honda Accord Euro R.

but totally different spectrum.

i wonder if the resale value is gonna plummet like hell if it’s sold here though, as with other korean brands.

but still, pretty damn good looking car.

• nd (Member) on Jul 03, 2008 at 12:14 am

Wow! Thats a nicely design exterior of a sedan! If the interior is as good or better than the current elantra, then it will be a killer!

• gogorock (Member) on Jul 03, 2008 at 12:33 am

I wonder how much is 1.6 and 2.0 for this model?

• IsaacVky (Member) on Jul 03, 2008 at 1:17 am

mytouch said,

July 2, 2008 @ 11:38 pm

Sonata copying new CAMRY? Are you noob or what.

• syamness (Member) on Jul 03, 2008 at 4:42 am

one sweet looking ride… where do they get their designers from.. mix of asian and euro styles as most have mentioned. the front looks like a civic, the rear to me looks like a bmw3/mitsu lancer mix….

• azrai (Member) on Jul 03, 2008 at 7:10 am

Good cut and paste work by the designers. Civic’s face, Lancer’s side profiles, Hyundai’s back. Still our Malaysian don’t ever trust Korean car.

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Jul 03, 2008 at 7:47 am

But of course, Japanese is always the best, even if the cylinder head cracks, brake rotors warp, power window fails, front window leaks water into car, puddles of water collect on floor, a-pillar plastic falls off, brake caliper gets loose. It doesn’t matter. Japanese cars are always good for Malaysians! They’re the BEST!

• haroldz (Member) on Jul 03, 2008 at 8:27 am

i owned cerata hb/ spectra5.
    so far not much problems compare to latio 1.6 1st batch..

who say korean car is not improving?
    but as usually they suffered from ‘copy-cat/multiple personality’
    disorder..
    haaahahaahahah

• demio121 (Member) on Jul 03, 2008 at 9:06 am

one thing that impressed me about the Korean is ther determination. They set a goal and pursue it relentlessly. Probably they know their survival hang on their success outside their own market.

Samsung came fr a OEM to a major force in Electronic. Hyundai/Kia set a goal to be the global top 5 auto manufacturer and now they have made it.

This Forte and also their new breed of car is just a delight. Kinda show that underdog don’t necessary mean cheap and cheerful. Even recently there was rumour that Merc approach Hyundai for their in-line petrol engine…!!!

Too bad, the rest of the world still think of Korean as cut&paste and outdated technology. This Forte is really good looking. i wonder how the interior will be…???

Take away the Kia badge and slap a JDM title to the Forte, i think most of us will be craving for it.

• White Jack (Member) on Jul 03, 2008 at 9:41 am

Proton wake up !
    Your close competitor has improved so much, and you are still making the same good-ole Perdana, Waja, Wira, Iswara…

• farghmee (Member) on Jul 03, 2008 at 9:54 am

exterior..cantik!
    nak 1! :)

• raptorclans (Member) on Jul 03, 2008 at 10:05 am

Nice man… it’s amazing how far Kia has come :)

• alvin_chan88 (Member) on Jul 03, 2008 at 10:45 am

Wow, Another good looking Korean car. Now they are really quite competent nowadays and they can be compared with the Japs as well. Although technologically they might still be slightly outdated. I am imagining having the facelifted optima for myself, this spectra sedan for my wife…. Wow, I am a Korean car lover! haha

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Jul 03, 2008 at 11:56 am

“good-ole Perdana, Waja, Wira, Iswara…”
    White Jack, where have you been all this time, in space?

wira and iswara are no longer produced and proton has launched 2 cars since 2007, persona and saga. Also, korean car makers have been around and building cars before proton even existed. So its rightly so that they should be reaching the level that they are today.

This is definitely the best looking 4 door massmarket car from korea yet.

• hvannees (Member) on Jul 03, 2008 at 12:11 pm

wow.. impressive design, the front look also resembles to new Honda city spy shot. no wonder Kia will always be remembered as copycat manufacturer in ‘mostly’ everyone mind.. still find their own identity like ploton?

• Mystre (Member) on Jul 03, 2008 at 12:54 pm

Wow!!! I want one… Verryyy sportyyy, veryyy sleeekkk. Definately the Koreans are improving. Good, at least more choices in the market.

• marsaila (Member) on Jul 03, 2008 at 12:55 pm

handsome giler!… I’ll definitely look more handsome inside the car. Everything look in place. I would normally dissapointed looking at a good looking car with hideous sport rims, but i know i’m not dissapointed with those rims. The body contours are marvellous. This is like the case when a straight guy spotted a another guy and said quitely, wow! what a handsome man, I would easily fall for him if i’m a woman.

• hafizzul (Member) on Jul 03, 2008 at 1:20 pm

Cantik jugak kereta ni…boleh kalahkan Persona…tapi macamana dengan harga??

• mytouch (Member) on Jul 03, 2008 at 1:43 pm

IsaacVky said,
    July 3, 2008 @ 1:17 am

mytouch said,

July 2, 2008 @ 11:38 pm

Sonata copying new CAMRY? Are you noob or what.
    —————————————————
    IssaacVky

I mean the front grill after putting up bodykit side larr,u nerd…

• marsaila (Member) on Jul 03, 2008 at 2:15 pm

hafizzul said,

July 3, 2008 @ 1:20 pm

Cantik jugak kereta ni…boleh kalahkan Persona…tapi macamana dengan harga??

Persona? It beats persona hands down just by looking at the shadows of both.

• marsaila (Member) on Jul 03, 2008 at 2:17 pm

I hope it’ll be priced at 90k for 2.0.

• IsaacVky (Member) on Jul 03, 2008 at 2:52 pm

mytouch said,

July 3, 2008 @ 1:43 pm

I hope you know when’s NF started production and when’s Camry came out. Noob

• mytouch (Member) on Jul 03, 2008 at 6:18 pm

IsaacVky said,
    July 3, 2008 @ 2:52 pm

Ok dear Mr.IssaccVky,sorry arr for insulting you with d word Nerds,mine mistake…cheers up dude : )

• pju_3 (Member) on Jul 03, 2008 at 6:29 pm

Copycat…..? so what??!! it is 10 times prettier than p1…….

• mystvearn (Member) on Jul 03, 2008 at 6:43 pm

Only problem is that this will not be that cheap. Gov make sure that Proton cars are cheaper anyway you look at it

• hvannees (Member) on Jul 03, 2008 at 6:54 pm

when this car is not cheap as proton and maybe same price with other Japanese cars, a lot of people will buy Japanese cars rather than Korean cars because of the ‘badge’ and second hand value..

• JULIANLEE2 (Member) on Jul 03, 2008 at 8:27 pm

LOOKS LIKE LEXUS IS

• mitlanevo (Member) on Jul 03, 2008 at 8:36 pm

to White Jack:

close competitor? lmao, not even close, they are much better..

• Jie (Member) on Jul 03, 2008 at 9:13 pm

They should introduce the turbodiesel version here. I would buy it.

• osh_kosh (Member) on Jul 03, 2008 at 11:21 pm

hmm… no doubt a good looking car…

should be price around 2008 Hyundai Elantra for 2liter.. RM94k?

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Jul 04, 2008 at 1:43 am

Hyundai Elantra 2.0L is RM93,888. I wonder how much Forte 1.6L CVVT will be.

• gajen (Member) on Jul 04, 2008 at 1:15 pm

the old sonata had c-class front lights and jaguar’s back..they even mentioned it in their ad

the new sonata has a camry’s front..an accords back…now this has a civic uk-version’s front and a lexus is’s back…even the rims are similar to the lexus is..

haih

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Jul 04, 2008 at 2:02 pm

Is it a bad thing to have something resemble something else? Many say the Accord looks like the new C-Class from the front and Bangle-BMW styling at the rear but no one knocks it. I wonder why?

• torque (Member) on Jul 08, 2008 at 6:25 pm

For a company that came out of no where since the 70’s and now they are the world top 5 car manufacture of the world…everyone should be giving them a credit! Everyone in here have their rights to give their two cents on this matter. Japan are great la, Korean car are copycat la…what ever! The fact is that the Korean ARE NOT but IS ALREADY improving on all their models.

Anyone who have the RIGHTS to condemn them are those who actually bought their models and have a feaking nightmare while owning them. Again, only KIA Malaysia that I found out very disturbing on their quality! On the matter of this car, I HAVE to say it’s darn pretty! A very good work that come out great to my eyes. So drop the copycat issue as they were a bad thing! I don’t give a damn as long it looks good. My concern is that KIA Malaysia have a lot to prove on their RELIABILITY!!

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Aug 23, 2008 at 7:00 pm

Call 1-800-888-542

• ehasz on Mar 07, 2009 at 9:59 pm

tukang design keta ni adalah bekas designer audi………thats why ada DNA audi sikit……….aaa!!!!!

• hallo…for whatever it is NO car looks alike..This is one of great designs ever produced.

• Randy on Apr 02, 2009 at 11:28 pm

everyone here is criticizing that its a copy cat of something…if any of you critics knew anything about automobiles in general…youd take a look at the past say…20 years, and see that at some point just about every auto make has copied each other shared makes, or something…its how the market goes…fords little ranger, mazda has the same thing, the b2200…as well as isuzu copys currently, chevy's colorado. get with it and get over it everyone, and give kia/hyundai some damn slack, theyve came along long way since the heydays of the early 90's.

• weeeewwwwiittttt….

I think i'll dispose my Kia Spectra.

• rod loh on Apr 21, 2009 at 8:53 pm

looks good n sporty but how is the price for 2litre.less than 90k

• MBX Boy on May 28, 2009 at 6:32 pm

Real sporty and looks strong! Gets me adrenaline up. This beauty is so not like the old and present Kias which are phasing out. Asked a Naza salesguy doing promo in Giant. He said the car will be out end June. Starting from less than RM70k. I hope he's speaking the truth. But no surprise since Forte in Canada, Australia and Singapore is priced lower than what people expect. Habisla City and Dugong…

• Brian Chin on Jul 14, 2009 at 6:52 pm

Any further news on this car?

• azizi on Jul 25, 2009 at 7:05 pm

Price: RM 69 888 Reg. year: 2009

Mileage: 0 – 4 999

Ganuine Prices and Accessories direct with NAZA KIA Branch.

A Matter of time for launching New Improved Car.

Inhance 1.6 Cvvt engine (low consumption with high power)@11 cent per kilometers.

Forte 124HP 156NM vs Civic 125HP 151NM

Solid body materials with 5 star safety rating.

Absolute General Specification.

To keep update, please email your address or sms for the lunching date and exact price.

• MBX Boy on Jul 30, 2009 at 8:25 pm

The car is NOT 5 star rating. Please. The only body that I know has crash tested the Forte is ANCAP (Australia). It obtained 4 star rating. Not bad at first glance. But it scored poorly in leg protection, with risk of serious leg injury especially to the upper legs.

But then again, we are Malaysians. What do we care about safety of cars??

• Myuzi on Oct 21, 2009 at 6:22 pm

estimate price dah ada..

1.6 low specs rm75k-rm77k

1.6 high specs rm81k-83k

2.0 specs rm93k-95k

ada inquiry leh call 0123460826..

dah nak lauch maybe bulan depan..

this friday ada briefing on product..

• Myuzi on Oct 24, 2009 at 7:51 pm

at last dapat tgk kereta secara dekat..

mmg cun, pricing still mcm stated before..

akan datang dalam 4 warna putih, hitam, kelabu dan merah..

lauch bulan depan..

• MBX Boy on Nov 12, 2009 at 3:35 am

Just want to update my comments on top. Recently NHTSA did crash test on Kia Forte. Results:

Frontal Driver Rating (Full Frontal): 5 stars

Frontal Passenger Rating: 5 stars

Side Driver Rating: 5 stars

Side Rear Passenger Rating: 3 stars

Rollover 2 Wheel Drive Rating: 4 stars

Note that this is for North American version and is with 6 airbags. Just hope that Naza doesn't change the structural material or do a half ass assembling job.

Malaysian buyers, its your right to be educated about safety. And let the market demand safer cars and still keep the price down.

• bbmgc on Nov 21, 2009 at 12:24 am

test drive just call 013 344 6619

• wow…cantiknya…berapa harga…kalah toyota vious and persona ni… memang cantik…tapi minyak macm mana? kuat ke mkn mnyak?

• bbmgc on Dec 01, 2009 at 6:45 am

to ans

aku raso ko ni ketinggalan zaman la. ko tawu ke kia forte pakai engine ape. kalo ko nk tawu die pakai enjin theta sama dalam mitsubishi lancer. tu la pakai lagi kete kancil mane tawu pape heheheheh

• TheTitan on Dec 11, 2009 at 7:15 pm

Wow really excited about this machine,i really fall in love.

I'm looking for the car which below 2.0(roadtax cheap) so maybe i choose that 1.6 sx and will get a lot of the functional and latest technology,about the design really nice inside and out nothing for condemt, the speed tip top for 100km/h@2900rpm of coz the fuel consumption very save.

Yeah this is the one i choose!

• tamjali on Sep 01, 2010 at 4:18 pm

100km/h@2900rpm? my old 1.3 wira 100km/h@3000rpm. my 2009 new city-125km/h@1250.

• If i want to buy this car, its only one reason.. because its FORTE… not bcz it's look like LEXUS, like H ACCORD etc.. :)

• linda on Dec 25, 2009 at 8:34 am

i'm interested to get one of this fabulous car…can anyone respond on below:

1. maintenance?

2. reliability in engine?

OR if anybody have any info pls share…

• aremere on Apr 29, 2010 at 8:18 am

sport rime dia leh tahan lah.very good job

• Yup..I like it (1.6 SX)..It’s specs like Honda Accord, but the price is affordable..I’m very satisfied after the test drive..I’ve compared Forte with City & Vios..But Forte is the best in term of specs & driving experience…I dont think about 2nd hand sales value…The important is quality, comfortable & affordable..Why should spend more if u can get better one with cheaper price?

• Aimeone on Nov 13, 2010 at 11:37 am

i tested drive the Manual one, and it was awesome. i love the reverse, its different on regular cars like honda Toyota and such. and i really like the front. although it was looks from other cars, i think that its unique in the front.

I Love it. cant wait to own one.