RTD may relax tinting rules for Malaysian cars

Tinted BMW

The Road Transport Department will be revising the existing rules on vehicle tinting so that those who genuinely need a higher level of tint will not be penalised.

The existing rules for tinting calls for a maximum of 70% light penetration for the front windscreen and 50% light penetration for the rear and side windows, except for senior government officials such as the chief judge and high-ranking police and army personnel who are exempted from this rule.

Minister of Transport Datuk Ong Tee Keat says he did not want people to think that “only connected people had the privilege to tint their cars beyond permissible levels.” (Sorry Datuk but I think it’s too late, and it’s not just with tinting!) He also expressed intention to do away with the rule that one has to get approval before applying any extra tint beyond the 70% and 50% levels on their vehicles.

Relaxing the tint rule will be welcomed happily by all motorists for sure. With the recent climate changes all around the world especially with Malaysia being a country near the equator, our current levels of tint cannot cope with the increasing daytime heat.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• w_lighter (Member) on Jul 02, 2008 at 3:07 pm

This is good news somewhat coz this might roughly translate to car owner doesnt need to go full blown anymore with their aircon. Which would directly save more on the cars fuel consumption.

• kienchan (Member) on Jul 02, 2008 at 3:19 pm

The great news since car power steering…
    A hot weather country like M’sia will benefit very much for the tinted glass..
    Has anyone got any comparison the difference in temperature car inside between a car with tint and without? They say new broom sweeps well…Cheers

• nonengko (Member) on Jul 02, 2008 at 3:25 pm

Ah….finally some sensible thoughts…..but don’t wait till next general election before the revision takes place, like kienchan said – new broom sweeps well, yes, but please sweep now!

• Boink (Member) on Jul 02, 2008 at 3:29 pm

eh…. whats the definition of this?

” who genuinely need a higher level of tint ”

Paul Tan says: haha, exactly. who knows?

• dragon7 (Member) on Jul 02, 2008 at 3:37 pm

Long overdue since we are long past the communist era. Best news I’ve heard for a long while. My wife has a skin disorder and she’s very photosensitive, can be quite serious if exposed for awhile. I have all the doctors’ letters, verified by GH skin specialist and blah, blah, ….to cut the long story short, we send letter after letter to JPJ, to Ministry of transport. It’s been 10 years, still can’t get approval. Luckily I didn’t wait for the approval to tint my car.

• azrai (Member) on Jul 02, 2008 at 4:47 pm

The 3rd flip flop policy by the unbalanced weight. Remember those device they bought last 2 years from Australia to use in the big operation. How much daes it cost? Do anyone company bring in the devices?

• Nozzydive (Member) on Jul 02, 2008 at 5:58 pm

Ahhhhhh at last…….or else JPJ just simply “saman ekor” and cud not renew the road tax…yes it happened to 2 of my frens…i stil got away wif my tint but of coz not tat VERY dark tint.
    Infact tinting keeps the car cool fr inside, then the thermostat cut off when it reaches certain desired temp. if no cut off then it wud draw power fr the car to work out the compressor hence the car is sluggish and one intend to accelerate more = more burning of fuel. I think everyone knows this.

• mystvearn (Member) on Jul 02, 2008 at 6:55 pm

I know someone who went and tint nearly 100%. He tried driving the car at night, it was useless as he could not see anything. Next day took the car to shop and remove the tinting.
    Can normal people tint higher than that percentage now? Lets just say 75% and 55%. 5% does not make any difference right

• dr_carz (Member) on Jul 02, 2008 at 7:19 pm

ALL MY MIRRORS ARE TINTED WITH CONSDIDERABLE GOOD AMOUNT AND IM HAPPY WITH THE G. ITS GOOD TO HAVE FLIP FLOP G BECAUSE THIS ONE FLIP TO THE RAKYAT….

• 9166 (Member) on Jul 02, 2008 at 8:02 pm

Best proposal I have heard from a sensible minister. Implement it and keep up the good work. A small step towards the right direction.

• mokkf82 (Member) on Jul 02, 2008 at 9:28 pm

aiya! talking nonsense only. it’s like chicken and egg story. bull shit

• osh_kosh (Member) on Jul 02, 2008 at 10:25 pm

mystvearn said,
    July 2, 2008 @ 6:55 pm

…. Can normal people tint higher than that percentage now? Lets just say 75% and 55%. 5% does not make any difference right

———————-

errr… bro, that supposed to mean 75% & 55% percent light penetration? as Paul wrote ” the existing rules for tinting calls for a maximum (should be minimum?) of 70% light penetration for the front windscreen and 50% light penetration” for the rear and side windows” so your Q should be 35% & 55% tint ‘darknest’ right?

anyway, i don’t think 5% make any different too, maybe they’ll give some extra margin..

–> “genuinely need a higher level of tint”…. hmmmm… i think most of us agree we all ‘genuinely’ need it!!

• mitlanevo (Member) on Jul 03, 2008 at 12:01 am

ya, that’s true, we all ‘genuinely’ need it……

window tint is a necessity, not accessory, just that some clowns don’t understand…..

• Roti Naan (Member) on Jul 03, 2008 at 1:26 pm

the G is still REVISING the rules on tinting. No gerentee on anything. I wouldnt be happy until the G sort this issues once and for all, and for good.

I have no faith in the G as they talk diferent, do different. Even the top guy is doing it. Sorry for being pessimist at the moment…but sadly it’s the fact and everyone knows it.

• JULIANLEE2 (Member) on Jul 03, 2008 at 8:28 pm

FINALLY…

• rram (Member) on Jul 08, 2008 at 2:04 pm

The Malaysian government has to take a leaf of logic from our neighbours SG who have progressive laws and regulations and provide a healthy dose of progress, any law/regulation which is in effect must be an act in evolution not just punitive in its measure and this is the failure of the Malaysian public, we must demand that our government meet the same standard, if not then we have to effect a change.

Singapore had issued guidelines by Land Transport Authority on 1 July 2004 on the light transmittance requirements which has changed regulations on window tinting in Singapore. The revision will allow darker shades in the rear windscreens and rear passenger windows; it said that the minimum amount of light that passes through these areas could now be at least 25%, down from 50%. But there is no change to the front windscreen and passenger windows, which still must be at 70% minimum.

With the relaxation of this rule, SG car owners now have a wider selection to dress up their windows. Solar control films are already known for its heat rejection properties but with this move, installation of darker films will hence lead to further improvements in the car solar performance as well as offer the extra privacy you need.

In view of this new VLT (visible light transmission) ruling, I had already chosen my selection which is a German brand which is available here too and am prepared to go to court to fight it out, does anyone here want to join me and put up $ to tell the govt. that it better get its act together and be lenient on us users whom have to pay all kind of costs on fuel these days and grease their palms after being taken for a ride with petrol costs of 2.70per liter?

My justification for tinting is that as long its not completely dark and does not harm people how can it actually be damaging to society, it is far more damaging to have the ‘illegal white lights’ which can cause severe blinding effects and cause accidents. We live in a hot climate and every bit of cooling while reducing air-cond costs is actually beneficial to users. The JPJ and the relevant ministries should look at this before commenting further. Technology improvements are improving transportation but these arcane and archaic agencies have all but lost their way in sanctioning emotive and counterproductive suggestions,progress comes from understanding these changes and adaptating to the current needs!