New Toyota Vios 1.5 J Official Photos

Toyota Vios J

Readers of this blog have already known this since last week, but now UMW Toyota Motor Sdn Bhd has officially announced the Vios J to the media so we have high resolution photos of the interior to look at, available after the jump.

According to UMW Toyota Motor MD Kuah Kock Heng, the Vios current holds 50% of the 1.4 to 1.5 litre market share in Malaysia, effectively this means foreign makes with a small engine capacity as Proton offerings are 1.3 and 1.6 and the more price-savvy Peroduas are all 1.3 and below. The second generation Vios available in E, G, S and now J form have collectively been selling about 2,500 units a month. They are targetting 700 sales a month from the new Vios J.

With the new Vios J UMW Toyota has finally executed their intention to offer a Vios model for under RM70k (see 4th April 2007 story), although quite a fair bit has been removed from the equipment list. The model under RM70k costs RM69,800 and is only available with a manual transmission. There no airbags, foglamps or alloy wheels but you do get an MP3 CD player albeit not integrated, and other safety features such as ABS remain, which is used more in day to day driving. Adding a 4-speed Super ECT automatic transmission pushes the price up to RM73,500.

Look after the jump for photos of the interiors of both the manual transmission and automatic transmission models.

Vios J Automatic Interior

Vios J Manual Interior

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• azrai (Member) on Jul 08, 2008 at 6:34 am

Just take out the wing signal, double din player, and funny looking 14″ alloy from the E specs and walla a RM4k reduced in price. I still think it is overpriced. How come a CKDed Swift is more attractive in term of price and quality of workmanship compare to the VIOS. Something fishy in UMW i think.

• Skymobile (Member) on Jul 08, 2008 at 7:41 am

Yes, this J spec still overpriced when it comes thru as CKD. The reason of introduce the Manual transmission is seems not practical in Malaysia.

People look for manual trans when some said the fuel consumption is lower than auto trans. I have no denied on it but when you think further, it may more or less 50km different between both manual and auto. Powerwise, I do think it is sufficient to move with auto with it light body weight.

again, 70k manual and 73.5k is just 3.5k different but if use for long run, I will go for auto J spec or E spec.

• abtm (Member) on Jul 08, 2008 at 7:47 am

Well, everything from Toyota is overpriced anyway, see how much someone like Honda can give for the same money everytime

• Bebelon (Member) on Jul 08, 2008 at 7:55 am

it is over-priced and will become a failure for UMW toyota this year…people would rather look for chevy aveo or hyundai accent with among this price tag. sorry for UMW..this year will be your failure year since your “new” altis is that ugly and less new model line up

• King Samurai (Member) on Jul 08, 2008 at 8:21 am

Darn…cheap skate built up materials. Even Saga or Viva’s plastic seems to be better. UMWT making tonnes or RM and people just go blindly buy this car becoz of the ‘T’ logo. AT is selling at RM73.5k…fuuh..I got no regret buying City i-DSI at merely RM7k different..

• trustgtr (Member) on Jul 08, 2008 at 9:44 am

since AFTA, there is no longer price control for ASEAN or CKD cars..Jap car distributors are making big profit in the name preserving second hand value of their current customers…a slowdown in sales would push the prices lower i think..i would rather go for a myvi or saga when looking for A to B cars and have 30k to 40k still in my pocket..

• Roti Naan (Member) on Jul 08, 2008 at 9:53 am

Overpriced, and UMW was thinking this is an offer ppl can’t resist pulak……

Boy, are they wrong

• Niceguy (Member) on Jul 08, 2008 at 9:55 am

It is not a good move to remove the airbags (even the driver side) and naturally the seat belt pretensioners. By these safety equipments deducted, the savings seems not that big. Furthermore, I am sure these equipments are really a ‘must have’ for those who pay RM70k for their cars, unless they think their life is not value. For those who want a box with wheels and a ‘T’ badge…

• abb200 (Member) on Jul 08, 2008 at 10:43 am

looking at the spec list, the wiper doesnt even have an intermittant function on J spec! only mist, lo and hi. just like the tiara!

• abb200 (Member) on Jul 08, 2008 at 10:45 am

looking at the spec list, the wiper doesnt even have an intermittant function on J spec! only mist, lo and hi. just like the tiara!!(even the 28 year old datsun 120y has that feature ok?) the only good thing inside this car is the ABS, EBD is standard…other than that, its rubbish

• king (Member) on Jul 08, 2008 at 11:05 am

who cares about safety or airbags? all i want is the Toyota badge. The badge will save me. Its got GOA …remember? …wat a pathetic car

• king (Member) on Jul 08, 2008 at 11:07 am

abb200 said,
    July 8, 2008 @ 10:43 am

looking at the spec list, the wiper doesnt even have an intermittant function on J spec! only mist, lo and hi. just like the tiara

___

yeah …this car is comparable to saga or tiara but a branded version only

• Hikaru (Member) on Jul 08, 2008 at 11:08 am

i have been following this “cheap” vios with interest because i for one really don’t think its worth shelling out the extra 10k for the extra accessory which is offered to the consumer true and well overpriced. Of course, airbags and all the normal safety feature is a must. Especially for ppl who are in the mkt for toyota, they want a safe car for their family.

However, i think most of the money for Toyota is spent on R&D. Why wouldn’t any buy a proton is because it can’t last beyond 5 years without having major problems (I am generalising). Whereas i truly believe that a Toyota, if well taken care of can last much longer. I have seen ppl drive camry for 8 years and it is still going strong. Can’t say the same about Protons.

Anyway, I think the ppl who want to buy such a car will want to have a car that last longer. Nevermind the air-bag and what not, it will be excellent as a cheap-ish run around in the city and will last u long enough and give u back something after u finish paying off your loan.

• car_craze (Member) on Jul 08, 2008 at 11:15 am

The tyres are very skinny compared to the body size making it look dainty.

I have tested this car – poor sound insulation from road noise, akin to a cheaper car in the 40k price range. Engine power and torque acceptable.

Safety features like seatbelt pre-tensioners and twin air bags should be standard. Cheaper cars like Persona H-line has it.

This car should appeal the “T” loyalist. Others have more options to consider.

• car_craze (Member) on Jul 08, 2008 at 11:31 am

Hikaru,

if you open your eyes and look around you, you can still see many 20 year old Sagas on the road. There are also many Mercedes Benz taxis (240Ds) which is over 40 years old trudging our roads. But you have admitted that you are (probably over-) ‘generalizing’.

The proven Toyota vehicles in Malaysia is actually their 4x4s – their FJ40s and their Landcruisers. Many of these are used by loggers and contractors on a daily basis. I have just sold my LC11 with much reluctance, manily due to high petrol cost. Very relaiable ‘car’.

• trustgtr (Member) on Jul 08, 2008 at 11:32 am

the specs on this car is the same as Indon taxi..pay 70k for indon taxi…we m’sian very kaya one lar…regards to depreciation, i think you would lose more than say the saga considering that you take financing and take into account the interest that you pay for a 70k car..

• kingv6 (Member) on Jul 08, 2008 at 12:06 pm

Waja is a better bet. But then again its a proton.

• kseow0 (Member) on Jul 08, 2008 at 12:18 pm

“T” badge box is always overpriced….damn dislike the new Altis with only change a bit here & there and remain the engine & gear….no innovation at all. As for this Vios J…for those will buy may have brain damage initially.

• jackson91 (Member) on Jul 08, 2008 at 12:26 pm

trustgtr, you are right. normal vios also already remind me of indon vios. what more like this. exactly like indon taxi. kind of makes me feel glad that honda has company policy that says NO to its cars being a taxi anywhere in the world.

• nonengko (Member) on Jul 08, 2008 at 12:34 pm

Someone said the honda city idsi is better, yup, it is. It feels solid and its quieter. I wont buy this vios just because its a T and jumping into the bandwagon. Why take out airbags? Is manual transmission a highly favourable option nowadays?

I am still waiting for a car maker that provides options for what you want in a car (like in US). Its your choice whether you want a “kosong” car or filled with all available technology (GPS, xenon etc). Yes, I know about the maker’s econs of scale but I am looking at the consumer point of view. Its for the car maker to rough it out and gives us the best, don’t you guys agree?

• trustgtr (Member) on Jul 08, 2008 at 12:45 pm

if m’sia allow open market prices and level playing field, remove non tariff barriers (AP’s) then you will see world class auto industry..till then, we get this..

• Hikaru (Member) on Jul 08, 2008 at 1:59 pm

Car_Craze,

Ha, I admitted the one about the Saga thing in my previous post, but 20 yrs ago Saga has Jap parts in it. Proton saga only got worst when Malaysia started nosing around and manufacturing parts locally. Need I say more if we just look at the latest re-incarnation? Poor QC generally applies to “modern” protons

I wasn’t comparing European marques as that is a totally different thing and a separate topic altogether (which i reserve my comments on it). On the other hand, there are also well maintained Protons that can last long, but GENERALLY, Toyotas last longer……which is why some ppl consider buying them, or Jap marques as well.

• Nozzydive (Member) on Jul 08, 2008 at 2:32 pm

i stil think tat airbag is a MUST! as i have seen so many accident cars b4, de airbag save lives. its so chepo for tis J (JINJANG?) spec and de price sud be ard 50-60k i wud put it.

• csv (Member) on Jul 08, 2008 at 3:58 pm

well, doesn’t matter if its overpriced or what. people will still buy it because of our mentality here.

the brand power. My brother says Toyota is good, so i buy. My father, friend, some stranger on the road also say toyota is good, so i buy.

we never stop and think whether is it really that value for money? or good as many people say it is? most of us anyway.

resale value is perceived by market, if most people here supports toyota, naturally it would be higher, but if things change, see if toyotas can still fetch the price they have now in the 2nd hand market.

better buy would be Honda City or Latio.

• IsaacVky (Member) on Jul 08, 2008 at 4:11 pm

Please boycott UMWT. They have the worst car for Malaysian.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Jul 08, 2008 at 4:31 pm

yes hikaru, you are generalising when you say this.
    “Poor QC generally applies to “modern” protons”

toyota are still up there when compared to a proton in terms of quality of course, but they did have over 70 years headstart over proton.

its true, though, when proton started with their own cars, waja, gen2..etc. the quality was horrible. But if you look at the scenario, there are actually 2 periods of “modern protons”. firstly, T.Mahaleel era, secondly, i believe the current proton management are a lot more serious about quality. the current cars although not perfect, are waaaay better than cars of that era. it should only get better from here and not worse, or else proton should just give up now.

• mits27 (Member) on Jul 08, 2008 at 4:38 pm

I also think this is bit overprice, I will go for swift…even swift’s space is smaller than vios…

• JULIANLEE2 (Member) on Jul 08, 2008 at 4:40 pm

this car looks better than the most expensive aka poseur models…but its still shite..bring on the new honda city

• bobdbilder (Member) on Jul 08, 2008 at 5:52 pm

First of all, it is a misconception that its terrible driving a manual in traffic jam. Put a Pioneer Premier HU, a 4 Channel power amp, 4 x 6.5in components and you’ll have hideous fun. Not to mention the ability to do power launches at the lights. :)). It will save money. Mind over matter.

People will buy a T because it is safe. In terms of practicality, maybe fuel efficiency (i said maybe coz nobody drives that way), reliability. But its boring. So yes, it appeals to likewise people. Who can blame them? But they pay in terms of capital outlay for this ‘comfort zone’. They then say its value for money. But you still always pay above average price. You can sell it back at higher price too. But you started off with a higher price anyway.

But if you buy a cheaper car, there is value in it too. You may be paying less interest. You know what you are getting is not a T. Your expectation is less. You are not too worried of a squeak in the panels. You’d be worried if the squeak came from a T wouldn’t you?

Value is where you see it. People buy a cheap car because that’s what they can afford. Because they have other priorities. Be it more money for food or other investment that will give them more returns than just emotional comfort.

I’d always buy a manual coz for me its fun to drive the twisty bits and taking comfort that I can do engine braking, power out of a curve, top the hill first and a more efficient racing line thru the corners. Coz if I want comfort, I’d stay home.

• nmh (Member) on Jul 08, 2008 at 6:27 pm

stupid car i must say…sorry everyone. ill take proton straightway

• true…better u take proton…your people only suitable for proton = ciplak…hahaha…

• mystvearn (Member) on Jul 08, 2008 at 7:30 pm

Very barebones car. You pay a bit more for the badge, plus whatever tax G can put to place it slightly higher. 50% is quite a remarkable feat for a foreign car maker

• Roti Naan (Member) on Jul 08, 2008 at 8:02 pm

hehehe…since the “T” badge is so assuring and popular among Malaysian. I think I’m gonna sell the badges….

“T” badges for sale…..RM15 each. Large ones is RM20. Mari-mari!!!

hehehehe

• dr_carz (Member) on Jul 08, 2008 at 8:26 pm

SWIFT A LOT CHEAPER EVEN THOUGH ITS AN AUTOMATIC GOT AIRBAGS!

• KF (Member) on Jul 08, 2008 at 11:22 pm

I honestly don’t understand why there must be an automatic tranny for the J version. They should have just introduced a manual tranny only.

Whether it’s overpriced or not, generally, people buy a Toyota because of it’s proven reliability and it’s brand. So UMWT pricing strategy to me is spot on. UMWT is looking for potential buyers who don’t mind parting their hard earned money for a reliable brand.

To some of you RM70K seems a lot for a bare bones Vios, but to those who really has the means to buy it, it is a bargain.

• Hikaru (Member) on Jul 09, 2008 at 9:38 am

BanyakMasukWorkshop,

Yeah, I agreed that Maheleel’s period there is a lot of problem and Proton under the current Management does inspire much more confidence than the Mahaleel period. I am also attracted by the latest offering such as Persona, Saga and Savvy.

However, the argument against buying a Proton is that the brand loyalty has been abused and neglected for so long that you hear ppl say that won’t go near it no matter what, even if they have to pay the premium.

On the other hand, since the 80s, the jap brands have made a name for themselves already. As one of the commenter said, “father ask son to buy” and the rest as they say is history.

PS: I am not totally a Jap supporter, but I love a healthy argument.

• trustgtr (Member) on Jul 09, 2008 at 1:30 pm

Mahaleel is the main cause of proton going down the drain since 97 when he took over..i was once involved directly in the sales and operation of proton..during Nadzmi’s time, despite still using jap tech proton has good direction and was very focused.. however when Mahaleel came into the pict thats when a trouble started..arrogance stepped in, product development was based on his personal taste rather than what the market wanted..quality took a dive due appointments of under performing suppliers through hanky panky deals, sales, distribution system totally created havoc which resulted in self inflicted damage and loses ..when the new MD took over, more than RM5 billion in cash gone and proton was in a bad shape..thank you Mahaleel for your contribution..

• car_craze (Member) on Jul 09, 2008 at 3:23 pm

Hikaru,

The oldest Proton cars is ‘only’ 22 years old whereas Datsuns/Nissan were around since the early 60’s,(my father bought a Bluebird in ’64 or ’65), Toyota came in just a bit later, Honda in the eraly 70s with the tiny Honda Life. Obviously they are perceived to last longer, because parts are easily available and can be shared within the Japanese makes. However in the earlier models, the body parts rusted badly and most don’t survive after 30 years, with a few exceptions, of course.
    In about 10 years time we will know if Proton cars can match this or even break the Japanese car longevity record.

It is also true, as a few others have pointed out, that during the “M & M” era, Proton cars were of poor quality. Half cooked cars we put into production to meet ‘agendas’, i was told. However the newer Proton batch under Syed Zainal seems to be improving in quality. This is not surprising since he was with Perodua before and was a ‘Car Man’ not a politican. Time will tell if the previous owners who got burned with the Waja and the Gen 2 will came back to the showrooms and buy another Proton.

For those with the extra cash, they will go for the “T” or “H” logo. Yet there are others who says that the Japanese car buyers are actually ‘wannabes’ who yearn for Continental cars which they cannot afford – yet!

• Hikaru (Member) on Jul 09, 2008 at 5:40 pm

Dear car_craze,

Yes, I understand your point about Japs starting earlier. Unfortunately your point on that will be blow to bits if we just simply look at the koreans who also started from Zero and now, is inching their way to being the top few. They solved the problem with QC and what not and are providing cars that rivals many. So what are your thoughts on the Korean and your argument? ;)

Owning a Conti car is very much a symbol of status in M’sia. However, there are ppl who rather drive Jap than Conti because of Jap’s reliability. Ideal situation is a mixture of both Conti and Jap for the different occassion. Want to drive Conti car? Get 2nd hand la…so say cannot afford? Cannot afford maintainance more like it.

• makanminyak (Member) on Jul 09, 2008 at 8:22 pm

The things is UMWT can sell this car at about 50k however if they do this the current vios and the earlier model resale value will drop tremendously.and their brand loyalist will shun them forever.If they bring this car CBU from thailand the tax will be 5% excise duty and 10 sales tax only.Duty import is zero.

• car_craze (Member) on Jul 10, 2008 at 8:22 am

Hikaru,

even the Koreans started earlier than P1, except that their earlier models were not exported to other countries.
    Korean cars are still not defect free, i have officemates, neighbours and friends with Korean cars and MPVs – still there are nagging problems. To compound the matter, the spare parts are expensive and sometimes not easy to get. But they are getting better, so is P1.
    I have been to Korea many times and the newer models there are almost, if not on par with the Japanese. But somehow the models that reached our shores are old models and very much de-spec, similar to the Toyota Vios in question.

• makanminyak (Member) on Jul 10, 2008 at 9:58 pm

Normally I blame on the local dealer that try to maximize their profit highest possible.ahowever Mitsubishi motors malaysia are also in the same category.They sell Triton at 90K++ although the car FOB plus all taxes and duty will be only about 60 plus plus.

• hajime (Member) on Jul 11, 2008 at 10:57 am

Woot when I saw the Ad I was so excited. Finally a manual transmission!

Being a manual transmission lover this is good news. But after reading the comments on this post, I have different view. Frankly speaking I dint know much about UMW n stuff untill I read about here.

Haha, on a side note, hope Honda follow suit and provide a manual transmission City. There are still manual lovers out here! XD

• cutester (Member) on Jul 11, 2008 at 3:09 pm

Hello Hajime, we are the same. Love manual cars.

• newboy (Member) on Nov 09, 2008 at 4:31 pm

Can not compare Proton with Toyota car. I will prefer Toyota car, it is simply because Toyota using VVTi engine, one of the best engine and well know in the world, but I don’t know what type of the engine Proton is using, just the name Campro, what is Campro ???

I think the price for J spac is resionable bacause with RM70K you can own a VVTi engine, Honda City with Vtec already cost around RM89K. People can not buy Toyota, can chooise Myvi or Viva from Perodua with DVVT engine from Daihatsu, a company owned by Toyota.

Not only that the Toyota service centre is also very friendly when you take your car to service. If you have Toyota car, then u will know how is the service in Service Centre and the difference between VVTi and Campro is !!!

• nss (Member) on Feb 10, 2009 at 12:49 am

Local car was overprice too. We Malaysian dont have much money to take a low quality car with nothing inside. You know without the G tax, most ppl will go for non-local car. A 3 year 2nd Belta (Vios in Japan) only sell at 35K, How could we get it? Campro? Is it also safely in our envelopment?

• iskandar on May 24, 2009 at 12:09 am

wah lau … use brain lahhh … what u pay what u get … the price u pay is for the engine reliability … you pay a bit more u get extra goodies …

air bag rear ? – up to u … thnk carefully .. if you practice defensive driving .. will accident occurs… ? accident occurs when you fail to observe your surrounding

intermittent wiper ? – wah lau small matter go shop and do lahhh

deadening ? – wah ..this also must teach ? go do sound profing lahh

We are actually buying the engine … the extra item we pay is the necessity ..

no offence guys .. engine is made in japan … that is the most imortant part.

when i buy car this 6 factors is my determination

parts

maintainence

reliability

comfort range

FC

market value – sellable

• Haydon Yang on Jun 11, 2009 at 11:55 am

I have a 12 years old toyota corolla SEG AE111. It still worth over RM25K in the market. It still driving smooth compare to the cars i have tested drive like nissan latio 2 years old, perodua myvi 4 years old, toyota avanza 1.5E 4 years old, then i decided to order another toyota vios 1.5J.

Why i decided to buy 1.5J. First, of cause cheap price compare to other brand like honda city, nissan latio. I found that even 2 or 3 years old vios still maintain the car value about 60k to 65k. now you buy a new one have the interest rate of 2.68%. what about if you buy a second car will charge you 3.7% and above.

Some more i believe in toyota, because no doubt world brand no 1 car manufacturer, why you going to choose no.2 or less? (But yes for the price)

Very soon both myself and my wife would be the toyota subscriber.:)

• Felix on Dec 21, 2010 at 9:54 pm

I too own a 13 years old toyota Corolla AE111 manual and it still running tip top condition and I also have 25 years Toyota LE 12V; it running good with no overhaul yet.

Everywhere I go, mechanic is asking me to sell both my cars to them at good price!

All my friend whom had Honda City are already having automatic transmission problems!

• ernelo on Sep 24, 2009 at 1:10 am

much better if the driver's seat is located on the left part of it.

• Ranie007 on Jun 12, 2013 at 10:53 pm

Aiya….buy Proton Preve lah…solve all the problem.

• babygrand on Apr 05, 2018 at 9:20 pm

Manual J spec 2009 vios and my car still rocking !!!!!!! no regret bought this car after owing 8.5 year with clock in mileage 220K KM