Proton Persona launched in Indonesia

Proton Persona Indonesia

Proton has launched the Proton Persona for the Indonesian market today at the 16th Indonesian International Motorshow. It is the fifth Proton model to be sold in our neighbouring country, just over a year after Proton entered the Indonesian market in March 2007 with the Savvy and the GEN2. The other two models that have been launched since are the Satria Neo (known as the Neo in Indonesia) and the Waja.

The Indonesian Proton Persona is available in five variants and all come with the 1.6 litre Campro IAFM engine. The line-up consists of an auto and manual baseline, an auto and manual mid-line and a highline automatic model. The cheapest baseline manual model is priced at 122,000,000 Indonesian rupiah, or about RM42.6k.

The Persona will be sold through PT Proton Edar Indonesia’s network of 3S centers, which are currently situation in Warung Buncit, Bandung, Makasar, Pekanbaru, Palembang and Slipi. Three more sites have been identified – Pondok Indah, Kalimalang and Kelapa Gading. This will increase to about 27 by 2012.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• jansej (Member) on Jul 11, 2008 at 7:52 pm

i don’t understand what’s the difference between Gen.2 and Persona. isn’t both the same car? just name that older a persona aeroback or gen.2 aeroback. who are they trying to fool?

• geminas (Member) on Jul 11, 2008 at 9:02 pm

Is it a big problem to have a differant name for a sedan version? fool who?i dont understand you. This is definitily a good move by proton.

• freeze (Member) on Jul 11, 2008 at 10:03 pm

if they’re trying to “fool” malaysians, then they have succeeded, judging by the demand for persona.

• elpaciko (Member) on Jul 11, 2008 at 10:30 pm

honda city is a jazz with a butt… i didnt hear anybody complaining about the name…

• zaen (Member) on Jul 11, 2008 at 10:31 pm

freeze said,

July 11, 2008 @ 10:03 pm

if they’re trying to “fool” malaysians, then they have succeeded, judging by the demand for persona.

you’re saying people who buy persona is “fool”, whats wrong with you people?! we should proud with Proton “current” achievement not fooling each others..

• rsrulz (Member) on Jul 11, 2008 at 11:16 pm

We Malaysians should be proud of Persona, I think it is the best car we have ever made. Read the Singapore review at oneshift.com

• rsrulz (Member) on Jul 11, 2008 at 11:20 pm

elpaciko said,
    honda city is a jazz with a butt… i didnt hear anybody complaining about the name…
    _____________________________________________________________________________

I Agree completely, the Japanese can make up nonsense and nobody complains about it, but if Proton does something like that, people start their complains. A good example is the Avanza, It looks horrible yet nobody complains, Toyota maa, Japanese maa.

• mystvearn (Member) on Jul 11, 2008 at 11:49 pm

Hope they will sell and not just show to people we penetrate countries….

• kei9 (Member) on Jul 12, 2008 at 12:04 am

Well.. cars as you can see, doesn’t need a same name even if it’s similar in some way.
    Who cares? The persona did well.

• altimi (Member) on Jul 12, 2008 at 12:10 am

Vios is a Yaris with a butt but no one complain………

• jansej (Member) on Jul 12, 2008 at 12:20 am

ok i have to agree with most of the people here and im proud of proton’s current achievement. but then, since persona or gen2 is a different car like you all said then proton should make more difference eg, headlamps? not changing the cover like waja do but the shape as well. just my opinion. nobody complain japanese because you dont see yaris/vios or city/jazz identical except for the interior. =)

• mytouch (Member) on Jul 12, 2008 at 12:24 am

jansej said,
    July 11, 2008 @ 7:52 pm

i don’t understand what’s the difference between Gen.2 and Persona. isn’t both the same car? just name that older a persona aeroback or gen.2 aeroback. who are they trying to fool?

————————————————————–
    If you want to arguee about this kind of question,then i think u never get the answer like why Toyata didnt named their Yaris as Vios Aeroback or Honda didnt named thie Jazz as City Aeroback…Is just a name,so whats the big deal dude? We look at a car interms of their technology,not their names.

• topgunthang (Member) on Jul 12, 2008 at 12:55 am

they forgot to mention in the newspapers how bad proton is performing in all other car markets in the world. indonesia needs some form of population control anyway. thanks proton.

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Jul 12, 2008 at 1:44 am

jansej said,

July 12, 2008 @ 12:20 am

ok i have to agree with most of the people here and im proud of proton’s current achievement. but then, since persona or gen2 is a different car like you all said then proton should make more difference eg, headlamps? not changing the cover like waja do but the shape as well. just my opinion. nobody complain japanese because you dont see yaris/vios or city/jazz identical except for the interior. =)

————————————————————–

U dont know much about auto industry. Go checkout VW Golf and Jetta

• arcana (Member) on Jul 12, 2008 at 2:24 am

wow……our neighbours get the “better” persona….we still have that crappy old campro installed…..where’s our IAFM for the sedan!!
    why our so called national car its lagging in terms of offerings compared to our neighbours……so odd, shouldnt proton’s home gets the best of the crop?….we are late…always!

• bacardiboy (Member) on Jul 12, 2008 at 3:09 am

Our ‘neighbours’ always get the best versions of our cars. Its been like that from the beginning. Don’t tell me you’re surprised? Even in the UK, the Protons come with sunroofs etc etc, better all round options. There is a need to put out better quality to tackle foreign buyers. Since Malaysians never question anything, and simply buy anything the local industry puts out (misplaced ‘patriotism’ if you ask me), they never bothered to improve the cars sold here. why should they? Msians are still buying Protons to this day.

• azrai (Member) on Jul 12, 2008 at 6:40 am

The local Persona already have the IAFM. Gen-2 Persona? maybe it will be the next gen wira taxi there.

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Jul 12, 2008 at 9:56 am

So the cheapest Persona in Indonesia is a few grand less than our equivaletlocal Persona.

Go figure.

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on Jul 12, 2008 at 10:04 am

I hope Proton is really making Profit at Indo. Only selling RM43K? Maybe with No airbag? No ABS?

• geminas (Member) on Jul 12, 2008 at 10:12 am

are u sure the IAFM Persona is not out yet? i think i saw a brochure which indicate persona IAFM.

bacardiboy

“Since Malaysians never question anything, and simply buy anything the local industry puts out (misplaced ‘patriotism’ if you ask me), they never bothered to improve the cars sold here. why should they? Msians are still buying Protons to this day.”

They did improved their car sold here, its just certain people refused to see the improvement and Malaysian do question everything, hehe :)

• MyviKiller (Member) on Jul 12, 2008 at 10:19 am

arcana said,
    July 12, 2008 @ 2:24 am

wow……our neighbours get the “better” persona….we still have that crappy old campro installed…..where’s our IAFM for the sedan!!
    why our so called national car its lagging in terms of offerings compared to our neighbours……so odd, shouldnt proton’s home gets the best of the crop?….we are late…always!
    —————————————————————-

Hello, my Persona is an IAFM variant, it’s been for a few months k…?

• adil2008 (Member) on Jul 12, 2008 at 11:22 am

oversea RM42,600.00, local RM45,949.00, why we need to pay extra RM3,349.00? why? Proton, why? we already pay extra on everything, petrol, rice, bread, duty excise, taxes and why the local brand car also chit our malaysian, why?
    I will not support the proton for my entire life, i need to wait and see what ill happend in the future. Proton & EON is the most unsatisfied the customer complaints organization in this country.
    PERODUA is doing the job very well, well done. PERODUA.

• JULIANLEE2 (Member) on Jul 12, 2008 at 11:36 am

only stupid indonesians will buy this car

• mokkf82 (Member) on Jul 12, 2008 at 1:30 pm

Come on!~ you guys just can’t stop complaining about local cars. There are ppl complain about P2, just that it is not posted here.
    And for you JulianLee2, stop being so sellfish and critisizing Indonesion for being stupid. Most of the M’sian buying this car as well, so are you saying most M’sian also stupid? Pls mind your language!.

And never judge about the difference of quality and prices of proton cars in other countrys. Their country have different taxes and rules k and the demand is different from here as well. I’m not a pro in this finacial crap thing, but do you think P1 would want to sell their cars so expensive? They would want to sell it cheap too.!
    We pay high petrol because we base on international oil prices, not because of Proton. They did not control that. So pls think twice before giving such comment.
    FYI, i’m not driving proton car.

• MyviKiller (Member) on Jul 12, 2008 at 2:35 pm

There will be critics with empty heads so long the car has a P1 badge on it, try putting the T badge and the response will be different.

• MyviKiller (Member) on Jul 12, 2008 at 2:39 pm

Or maybe there’s light in their head but there’s no one in there! (being foolish)

• tec96248 (Member) on Jul 12, 2008 at 4:16 pm

good move proton. trying to sell as much models in overseas and in many countries too.
    sometimes is really funny though. some criticized P1 cause they like P2 and some criticized P2 cause they like P1. Both are empty head anyway. Luckily I didn’t put P-killer. Because planning to get P-Lion = Praising Lion = Peugeot. Maybe replacing my N. P. or T. for a Lion! hahaha…….

• vandenlye (Member) on Jul 12, 2008 at 4:20 pm

malaysian really got fooled by proton, look at the selling price, indonesian can get RM3000 cheaper compare to malaysian could get…

• fastcx (Member) on Jul 12, 2008 at 5:17 pm

guys, currency conversion for these i think is based on last few month’s, last few month’s rate isnt as low as now, tats y u all c it as 3k cheaper when u use current rate -.-” all idiots keep finding ways to critique p1, but not use for finding ways to make moneys..oni know complain…go check out p1 showroom la, long time ago persona is iafm in malaysian shore dy! many old ancient ppl in malaysia

• fastcx (Member) on Jul 12, 2008 at 5:19 pm

i said the conversion rate as the factor bcz for launching something like a car, they need to plan ahead a year or less. price r fixed back then…too many misinformed critics around here by using their own “common sense” only, empty head

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Jul 12, 2008 at 8:04 pm

arcana said,
    July 12, 2008 @ 2:24 am

————————————————————–

oh my god…got somebody wh dont know persona comes with IAFM long time ago…huhuhe should read this website more often .

• MyviKiller (Member) on Jul 12, 2008 at 8:58 pm

tec96248,

Yeah u might be right.

I’ve got one Viva on my driveway fyi, fair n square.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Jul 12, 2008 at 10:27 pm

Topgunthang,

based on your posting “they forgot to mention in the newspapers how bad proton is performing in all other car markets in the world”, maybe you should enlighten us all here on some facts or at least some links to some facts.. as i personally cannot recall reading anywhere else recently on how bad proton is doing in other markets. i hope you’re not posting something negative just for the sake of it. if its true, please share some facts. i would love to know as well.

• Roti Naan (Member) on Jul 12, 2008 at 11:31 pm

Anything concerns of Proton, sure become bashing forum one……

I’m sure the bashing didn’t appear overnight out of thin air. I guess its just an indication that the perception of proton among ppl isn’t all that good, yet…..

• arcana (Member) on Jul 13, 2008 at 2:13 am

well…i dont simply go to showrooms, so i wouldnt know, moreover…i’ve tried searching this website…no indication that the proton launched IAFM model for the persona….perhaps it was during the gen2? maybe it was a quiet thing….
    besides IAFM…how bout CPS, i’m sure u car pros will know better than me in this case.

and it sounds like a given thing that proton always give better stuff to foreign countries…..there’s always a possibility to change it right?…..since they are improving well….why not offer something to us first?…..everything has a start, its whether they want to initiate that beginning or not.

i’m not bashing proton for nothing, i just feel that we malaysians deserve better from our proud national car….shouldnt we?

• fastcx (Member) on Jul 13, 2008 at 3:59 am

arcana, iafm is offered to us b4 other country…v can get L-line(lowest budget), M-line(basic stuff minus abs+srs+other better trim), H-line creme de la creme spec. other country gets H-line(sometimes M-line if no strict regulation on srs airbag).

they do offer malaysian things tat they offer other country, just the matter of whether u can afford it n really info looking for a suitable ride for urself. but most of the time, malaysian just listen to friend’s aunty’s uncle’s daughter’s friend’s cousin says

• fastcx (Member) on Jul 13, 2008 at 4:01 am

arcana, iafm is offered to us b4 other country…v can get L-line(lowest budget), M-line(basic stuff minus abs+srs+other better trim), H-line creme de la creme spec. other country gets H-line(sometimes M-line if no strict regulation on srs airbag).

they do offer malaysian things tat they offer other country, just the matter of whether u can afford it n really into looking for a suitable ride for urself. but most of the time, malaysian just listen to friend’s aunty’s uncle’s daughter’s friend’s cousin says

not defending, just put out something tat most ppl seem to ignored

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Jul 13, 2008 at 4:01 am

arcana said,

July 13, 2008 @ 2:13 am

well…i dont simply go to showrooms, so i wouldnt know, moreover…i’ve tried searching this website…no indication that the proton launched IAFM model for the persona….perhaps it was during the gen2? maybe it was a quiet thing….
    besides IAFM…how bout CPS, i’m sure u car pros will know better than me in this case.

and it sounds like a given thing that proton always give better stuff to foreign countries…..there’s always a possibility to change it right?…..since they are improving well….why not offer something to us first?…..everything has a start, its whether they want to initiate that beginning or not.

i’m not bashing proton for nothing, i just feel that we malaysians deserve better from our proud national car….shouldnt we?
    ————————————————————–

Other than gen2 cps which was launched in thailand first, Can u tell me other model that we didnt get it first?

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Jul 14, 2008 at 8:43 am

mister benjo, just cause its not on this website doesnt mean its not for sale..

you should have looked in protons website, the people who actually sell the car.

http://www.proton-edar.com.my/

its clearly for sale, and listed as persona iafm.

• Niceguy (Member) on Jul 14, 2008 at 11:07 am

I think Proton had learnt a great lesson in the past few years which they faced great loss in a few models. Now, they had actually get up after the fall and produce a car model that malaysian really need: spacious and cheap.
    In general view, we can’t ignore that by launching our own-brand of cars, we prevented loss of currecy to Japanese and Korean car-makers and provide many job opportunities. Hundreds of Malaysian companies depend on Proton. If someone is going to blaim the quality of Proton cars, he should blaim the command malaysian “tak apa/chincai” spirit of work.
    The success of sale in overseas market is definitely something that we should proud of. It indicates that Malaysian/Proton is changing their attitute after the “lesson”.

• SY0H (Member) on Jul 14, 2008 at 1:14 pm

Hi,

Lately Proton have shown a slight improvement in their selling strategies, yet I still feel Proton is cheating us Malaysians. IAFM is an old technology borrowed from Japan which was out many-many years ago, they called it Surbo, all Ah-Bengkel knows this modified air-intake is used to upgrade the performance of carburetor engines. IAFM is basically a modified air-intake (by changing the geometry of the air-intake, add extra spiral fins and etc) to slightly boost the old Campro’s performance. Actually I was looking forward with CPS technology (which was again adopted from the famous V-Tech, i-VTech, DVVT technologies, again from old Japan tech). Unfortunately, Proton is installing CPS engine only on Waja and Gen-2 model to boost the selling of this infamous cars (for god sake, please come out with new models to replace this old designs) . Other Proton cars will only have the standard Campro engine with IAFM (Persona, Saga…). I asked one of the Proton’s salesman, why no CPS for Persona, “nanti tak laku Waja dan Gen-2”. Pity isn’t it?

Paul Tan says: i dont think iafm works like that surbo device at all… there are no spiral fins in iafm.

• fastcx (Member) on Jul 14, 2008 at 5:46 pm

Wahahaha SY0H, which planet r u from? Surbo? lol Surbo is hoax la, show us scientific and track time prove la! iafm works as dual length intake pipe. and pls, dnt look at the whole picture based on single salesman’s point of view…is it typical for malaysian just get info from “Hear,say”? Pity, isn’t it?

• fastcx (Member) on Jul 14, 2008 at 5:51 pm

iafm is for mass produce, for typical family car, cps is for higher performance category…coil on plug in only for iafm campro, not in cps. after all, iafm dont even works like surbo! if ppl do port n polish for more performance for smoother air flow, whos the “genius” who think add fins(more air restriction) will add boost? it might add during idle, but when u start revving its just stupid idea to put fin! pity isn’t it? automotive is about science, not myth n no statistic to back up or even repeatable result! Surbo adds power? MYTH BUSTED!

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Jul 15, 2008 at 2:59 am

BanyakMasukWorkshop said,

July 14, 2008 @ 8:43 am

mister benjo, just cause its not on this website doesnt mean its not for sale..

you should have looked in protons website, the people who actually sell the car.

http://www.proton-edar.com.my/

its clearly for sale, and listed as persona iafm.

————————————————————

hahaha why are u teaching me? i am explaining to arcana.huhuuhuh

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Jul 15, 2008 at 3:02 am

hahaha iafm copying surbo?that is the bigges joke of the year…hahha..ya it is old tech mate…but not surbo hahhaa

• shaif (Member) on Jul 15, 2008 at 8:14 am

Aiseh Syoh, should you trust your bengkel friend or is it come out from the mouth of mechanics in Proton Service Center?

• aicariefin (Member) on Jul 16, 2008 at 5:43 pm

I have seen the Proton Persona yesterday evening at the Indonesia International Motor Show (IIMS). The Rp 122.000.000 is for the manual transmission standard version which doesn’t have ABS-EBD, airbags and uses steel wheels. The Medium Line is sold for around Rp 131.000.000 On The Road and Rp 140.000.000 OTR for the Automatic transmission. The medium line has 1 airbag, ABS+EBD and alloy wheels. The High LIne has all the safety kudos (Double Airbag, ABS+EBD, 4 Disc Brakes, foglamps).

I am not sure if the Persona will sell well in Indonesia because we think more of aftersales value. However the pricing is tempting. I was also a little bit interested in the Medium Line Persona but I don’t like the backseats. It’s to straight. Proton in Indonesia has only sold 1.300 units with a target of 3000 a year. Main competitors of the Persona will be the Toyota Vios ( 160-180 mio) , Suzuki SX4 Sedan (170-180 mio), but also the hatchbacks Suzuki Swift 130-140 mio, Suzuki SX4 X-Road and X-Over (140-160 mio), Honda Jazz (160-180 mio).

Proton still has a lot of catching up to do with more dealers and service centers and also the build quality and image. Indonesians still look at Proton as a car maker which only creates Taxis (Proton Iswara and Wira).

• proton where is your new perdana? why so late?