Malaysian taxis to get petrol subsidies

Teksi Gila Savvy Sedan

Minister of Domestic Trade and Consumer Affairs Datuk Shahrir Samad has announed that the government has decided to give further subsidies for petrol to petrol-fueled taxis. This should help taxi drivers out abit, though most taxis in the Klang Valley area use a higher amount of NGV rather than petrol. This move will likely benefits taxis running outside of the Klang Valley. However no timeline on implementation was announced as he said the government needed some time to develop the taxi petrol subsidy system via mechanisms like fleetcards.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Jul 12, 2008 at 1:45 am

ehhehe why use old picture?isn that savvy sedan.

• azrai (Member) on Jul 12, 2008 at 6:42 am

Some irresposible taxi driver will make something out of this. just like those fisherman. the true crap is the consortium. They make a lot of money getting their permit from the LPKP. Cronisme.

• melvin.foong (Member) on Jul 12, 2008 at 9:26 am

I like the picture :P

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on Jul 12, 2008 at 10:06 am

Just kidding maybe only GILA TAXI will get the Subsidies

• szw (Member) on Jul 12, 2008 at 10:56 am

we wouldn’t know wat taxi driver will do

• lol xD (Member) on Jul 12, 2008 at 12:18 pm

They will use the taxi to drive their family around.

• mokkf82 (Member) on Jul 12, 2008 at 1:14 pm

Ya right, the next thing we going to see is the taxi drifting competition at the midnight. most of the passeger come out will be vomiting after reaching their destination. Ha!~

• mystvearn (Member) on Jul 12, 2008 at 6:34 pm

Hmm, with this it will be like one or two years before taxi’s get any benefits

• chanel (Member) on Jul 12, 2008 at 8:20 pm

in the era of a flip-flop government …….do expect a flip-flop decision as well as unwise decision

• Roti Naan (Member) on Jul 12, 2008 at 11:25 pm

what?!! I hope this is not gonna to be another half-baked idea from the govt.

i suspect this would mostly benefit the cronies and the ppl with “cable”. I mean, since when the GOVT hears from the the dear Rakyat?

• rakyat jelata (Member) on Jul 14, 2008 at 8:44 am

memang lor…those politicians…reason for them joining politics is totally for this kind of matters…money sucker…and we rakyat derita..
    euf is enuf…