Facelifted 2009 BMW 3-Series: full details and photos

BMW E90 Facelift

BMW has released full details on the new BMW 3-Series Sedan and Touring facelift. The following are the full list of changes for the 2009 facelifted model.

• A new front end comprising of a new front kidney grille, a new bumper, and headlamps with new internal graphics including LED turn signals.
  • The rear end is made to look broader thanks to more detailed lines. The rear headlamps now return to the classic L shape and have new lense graphics.
  • The side profile has different wing mirrors.
  • The power window control panel has been changed slightly for ergonomics purposes. BMW also says there are new cubby holes to store things.
  • The iDrive system has been updated with an 8.8 inch display and the new enhanced iDrive with 3D navigation graphics and a web browser using BMW ConnectedDrive (GPRS and EDGE) is available. Navigation storage no longer uses DVD but a 80GB hard drive, which can also store music files.
  • The BMW 330d gets the new N57 inline-6 VGT turbodiesel with an all-aluminium engine block that made its debut in the F01 BMW 730d. This produces 245hp at 4,000rpm and a peak torque of 520Nm from 1,750-3,000rpm. Optional is BMW BluePerformance cat converter for EU 6 emissions compliance.
  • All petrol engines are equipped with BMW’s direct injection system called High Precision Injection.
  • Certain models have a wider rear track by up to 24mm because of new wheel carriers and other modifications.
  • xDrive all-wheel drive is now available for the 2.0 litre inline-4 engine in the 320xd.
  • New EfficientDynamics features such as Automatic Start/Stop, Brake Energy Regeneration, Shift Point Display, automatic air intake flaps which vary the kidney grille air intake openings depending on needs to improve aerodynamics and thus fuel economy.

Also included in the facelift announcement is the official addition of a 7-speed double clutch transmission for the 335i Coupe and 335i Convertible.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• ryan_foong80 (Member) on Jul 15, 2008 at 3:12 pm

As i mention,BMW always done good job…!

• JULIANLEE2 (Member) on Jul 15, 2008 at 4:44 pm

good, can get those rims(those on the estate) similar to those from the 3er coupe

• azrai (Member) on Jul 15, 2008 at 5:13 pm

Walauweh.

• mystvearn (Member) on Jul 15, 2008 at 7:39 pm

Cannot spot the difference if it is not mentioned. Very minor facelift

• David9988 (Member) on Jul 15, 2008 at 10:43 pm

I appreciate good looks(1), comfort(2) and performance-mainly for overtaking(3) in my cars.
    Having the best handling and engine is sort of pointless in Malaysia.

Conclusion: i wont buy it because it still looks ghastly.

• kei9 (Member) on Jul 15, 2008 at 10:46 pm

more metalwork for the bootlid?
    Cuz parts of the rearlights are removed (redesign). If you know what i mean.

• IsaacVky (Member) on Jul 15, 2008 at 10:47 pm

Das ist schon!
    Bayerische Motoren Werke, ganz toll!

• csv (Member) on Jul 16, 2008 at 12:34 am

i think alot of our Tan Sri, Datuks and Datins have already ordered this car liao….

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Jul 16, 2008 at 12:24 pm

“Having the best handling and engine is sort of pointless in Malaysia.”

david9988, Good handling is a very important aspect of “active safety” as apposed to airbags which are “passive safety”. good handling gives you the ability to stop better, get out of trouble easier(if you make a mistake), helps you avoid an accident better…etc. etc.

besides that, in malaysia, or lets just talk about near the klang valley, we have some of the best driving roads around, with nice long sweeping bends, to some really twisty mountain roads…not to mention an F1 track thats open to the public. They are a real drivers dream.. And just because you cannot appreciate good handling, or do not love “driving”, doesnt make those qualities in a car pointless in malaysia. hope you do not take offence, but i’m just trying to give a balanced view from the other side.

• IsaacVky (Member) on Jul 16, 2008 at 4:31 pm

He should get the new Vios J, use for the rest of his life.

• pippen (Member) on Jul 16, 2008 at 5:19 pm

and how much is this car price in U$? mmh…i think probably not more than RM150K…how much Msia selling?…mmh…not less than RM240K…Msia Boleh!!! We can affort to pay higher than USA even though we earn 3 times less than USA people…god bless Msia.

• crasher7 (Member) on Jul 16, 2008 at 6:40 pm

mystvearn,
    BMW always have minor facelift

• szw (Member) on Jul 16, 2008 at 8:09 pm

still wan the coupe face…

• Auto_crat (Member) on Jul 16, 2008 at 9:11 pm

david9988, ghastly you say. There are plenty of horrendous looking cars on the road and…still people buy it. I think looks is subjective. As for me to drive a BMW is a dream and a dream that I’ll certainly achieve very soon.

• Amani (Member) on Jul 17, 2008 at 1:21 pm

ryan_foong80 said :As i mention,BMW always done good job…!

– i agree wt u.

mystvearn said : Cannot spot the difference if it is not mentioned. Very minor facelift

– That’s what we call LCI or facelift. BMW is always detailed when comes to design. That is why they’re DIFFERENT wt the competitor.

David9988 said: I appreciate good looks(1), comfort(2) and performance-mainly for overtaking(3) in my cars.
    Having the best handling and engine is sort of pointless in Malaysia.

Conclusion: i wont buy it because it still looks ghastly.

– Ghastly! What car do u drive if u dun mind i ask?

– BanyakMasukWorkshop you’re the man! Yeah…passionately BMW

• mokkf82 (Member) on Jul 17, 2008 at 7:17 pm

Woooo, wrong comment David9988. U might need to think again b4 making comment. U might hurt the BMW’s fans feeling here.

• davidy7 (Member) on Sep 08, 2008 at 1:09 pm

Nice exterior tweaks, but I think more importantly is the engine technology upgrade. Only thing is the side mirrors. Look chunky.

• BMW -X5 Bru-Sin-M'sia on Jul 11, 2010 at 9:20 pm

its one of the hardest to-get-use-to looks of a BMW that i have ever seen :D

i still love the e46 :D

but this isn’t bad to when u wait longer :P