Fuel Price Debate at 9PM tonight!

Fuel-Wallet GaugeKeep yourselves free at 9pm tonight as there will be a debate between de facto PKR leader Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim and BN Government Information Minister Datuk Ahmad Shabery Cheek called “Form the government today, reduce fuel prices tomorrow”. The political debate mainly focuses on the ability for the government to sustain high fuel subsidies as an oil-producing country amidst sky-high crude oil prices.

Each debater will be allowed one person each on the panel. Dewan Bahasa dan Pustaka Chairman Datuk Johan Jaahar will be the moderator.

We will be able to hear in full why the government refuses to (and cannot) use Petronas profits to subsidise fuel. Datuk Ahmad Shabery Cheek hopes the debate will be able to provide a clear picture. Despite the hiked fuel prices, the government claims that the cost of fuel subsidies from January to June 2008 were higher than the entire year of 2007. RM4.006 billion was spent on petrol subsidies, RM5.056 billion for diesel subsidies and RM1.1188 billion for LPG subsidies. This amounted to RM10.25 billion, higher than 2007’s RM8.77 billion amount.

You can watch the live telecast of the debate on terrestrial TV9, Astro’s channel 119 (TV9), 501 (Astro Awani) and 502 (Bernama TV). TV9 can be watched online at IP Global TV.

UPDATES: 9:20PM – Anwar says if the Pakatan Rakyat forms a new government, he will drop the price of fuel by 50 sen, which would be RM2.20 per litre rather than current levels of RM2.70 per litre.

9:31PM – Datuk Ahmad Shabery Cheek decided to poke at the oppositions’s supposed street demonstrations. He must have forgot that massive traffic jams were caused all over the Klang Valley by the police being mobilised to set up road blocks randomly because of an SMS to Home Minister Syed Hamid Albar alleging that there was going to be an illegal mass rally outside the Parliament. The same alleged rally that did not exist, did not happen and was denied by the opposition. I personally went through three blocks and they were just obstructing traffic and waving people on after they have been inconvenienced for no reason. We all know fuel efficiency is worst at slow city speeds. How much fuel and time were wasted during these jams?

9.36PM – Anwar says the petrol price will be reduced NOT by taking more of Petronas money but from existing government income including existing taxes from Petronas and other incomes, but by tightening the government’s spending which he describes as “bocor”. He says RM2 billion ringgit yearly can be saved by reducing TNB excess standby capacity from 40% to 20%, a situation which only benefits the IPPs which also benefit from getting subsidised gas.

View recordings of the debate in 6 parts after the jump.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• ryan_foong80 (Member) on Jul 15, 2008 at 9:32 pm

WOW!!!!…

• Ralliace (Member) on Jul 15, 2008 at 9:46 pm

Interesting debate! They should have provided water at least for the 2 speakers. The Information Minister, Datuk Ahmad Shabery Cheek was foaming in the mouth! LOL!

• offroader manix (Member) on Jul 15, 2008 at 9:49 pm

If anwar would form government, then M’sia would collapse………

• austin_cipan (Member) on Jul 15, 2008 at 10:10 pm

go anwar… the government is ridiculously being defensive… the ‘upper’ leader like the b*****d paklah and the corrupt najib just can’t bear to be defeated by anwar if they themselves debate… go anwar… go opposition.. go pakatan rakyat… go to hell with the corrupt BN and their stupid cronies…

• MyviKiller (Member) on Jul 15, 2008 at 10:12 pm

Yeah damn interesting man… But somehow Anwar did not answer the question posted by Datuk Johan Jaafar.

• noactiontalkonly (Member) on Jul 15, 2008 at 10:13 pm

i’m surprised by the way this minister tried to make his point. he seems to be lost somewhere in 90’s, 70’s whatever.. his arguments were mainly empty rhetorics taken straight from newspapers and RTM. BN made a big mistake by allowing this debate to be aired live.

• noactiontalkonly (Member) on Jul 15, 2008 at 10:18 pm

MyviKiller said,
    July 15, 2008 @ 10:12 pm

Yeah damn interesting man… But somehow Anwar did not answer the question posted by Datuk Johan Jaafar.
    —————————————————————-
    what’s the question? what i can remember dato’ johan asked why anwar need to be pm to help the nation, and anwar did answered long and clear! is there anything that i miss?

• jolly_idiot (Member) on Jul 15, 2008 at 10:20 pm

I watched the show. Great words from Anwar. I salute him. Fuck BN!!! for being talking cock in the debate.

• pendek (Member) on Jul 15, 2008 at 10:25 pm

there will be repeat..
    11:30

watch again, listen carefully of every words. if needed take some note

The public transportation question was not aswered, i wonder why

• sawit (Member) on Jul 15, 2008 at 10:27 pm

The prime minister himself should be the on that debate…im sure he’ll bail out..lol.. i think, DSAI made a better comment about the issue.. Datuk Ahmad Shabery Cheek was just bashing him and didn’t talk much about the issue. There was even one moment which looks like he was out of ideas and just repeating the same phrase.. I wonder why….

• ynnad (Member) on Jul 15, 2008 at 10:33 pm

If the honorable minister could concentrate on debating the issues at hand instead of making personal attacks on Anwar then the debate would have been more lively.

It was like the pot calling the kettle black up there. all of em were guilty of something one way or another. But anwar’s rebutal on IPP and TNB issue during his tenure as MoF was a gem.

BN’s objective was to cheapen Anwar’s claims by discrediting him (anwar) and bring up his colourful (and equally checkered) past. But in the end it only made BN look worse.

But I still wont forgive Anwar for introducing Bahasa Baku…

• mitlanevo (Member) on Jul 15, 2008 at 10:35 pm

just finished watching and online now, can’t believe so many comments here already…..

quite disappointed because too short, not enough time for both of them….

btw, Anwar forever~

• wilson_ho86 (Member) on Jul 15, 2008 at 10:37 pm

waiting for the good news

• hvannees (Member) on Jul 15, 2008 at 10:38 pm

That shabery like to say about the past but afraid to talk about the current issue. silly leader. LOL!! everyone in my house would go for anwar lar… corrupt BN!!! Welcome Anwar!!

BN had no answer for the public transportation question but they always want to mention about increasing world fuel price and subsidy. They still think citizens stupid? they are who is stupid like shabery, he cannot debate with anwar lar…

• kancildriver (Member) on Jul 15, 2008 at 10:52 pm

boring. anwar playing different tone with 50 cent reduction. shabery talked about 70s. anwar says can get money to control the hike by other mean and NOT taking petronas money. shabery talk about why we cannot take petronas money. both talk about different thing. anwar playing good guy. anwar not answering on PM things. shabery not answering on transportation.

i guess both trying to sound good. shabery cant answer much as he is NOT the main decision maker. DSAAB is the one who should be there. TDM should be there as a questioning man.

• Paul Tan on Jul 15, 2008 at 10:52 pm

Actually I know what Shabery was trying to say but he did not say it properly, the money saved that was meant to be used for public transportation was eaten up subsidies by the rising fuel prices as those savings could only be made at the oil barrel price at that time.

• mytouch (Member) on Jul 15, 2008 at 10:55 pm

From what i read in Nanyang SiangPau today,the info minister said he will resign if he cant over talk anwar in this debate…so folks,how u all think? From what i see,anwar is really confident in his answer,& he seems to ponit out all d important details,if compare to the opponent whos even carry out the grandfather story,so lame man…

• dagaro (Member) on Jul 15, 2008 at 11:05 pm

Actually I know what Shabery was trying to say but he did not say it properly, the money saved that was meant to be used for public transportation was eaten up subsidies by the rising fuel prices as those savings could only be made at the oil barrel price at that time.

What menteri just said was if govt still subsidies fuel price, then rakyat cannot get BANGUNAN,SCHOOL & HOSPITAL that’s all. Nothing is said about improving public transport. I just think the govt got no plan to improve public transport, just making adhoc decision as ‘gula-gula’ to rakyat.

If really govt got plan, why from 2006 to now, after 2 times inconsiderable fuel price hike, putra LRT still operating with 2-coaches train. Furthermore why govt allow LRT increase parking fee at LRT station to rm3 from previous rm2? Its not like the LRT parking lot were upgraded that they can charge higher.

My summary is, govt really not sincere to improve public transport & also not sincere to help rakyat.

• Paul Tan on Jul 15, 2008 at 11:09 pm

kancildriver: yup, it was really boring actually. nothing new was being said, and there was nothing “made clear” as shabery mentioned he hoped would happen. anwar said he was not going to use petronas money, shabery kept harping on why should not use petronas money… at points i wasn’t sure if they were in the same debate or it was just taking turns giving speeches.

• noactiontalkonly (Member) on Jul 15, 2008 at 11:17 pm

both of them were playing safe i think. but anwar’s experience and knowledge in giving his ‘speeches’ had won over many of the viewers. expect BN to start answering all the critics via local media for the next few days, just to save face. and for shabery, i honestly believe he is finished.

• MyviKiller (Member) on Jul 15, 2008 at 11:34 pm

what’s the question? what i can remember dato’ johan asked why anwar need to be pm to help the nation, and anwar did answered long and clear! is there anything that i miss?
    —————————————————————-

Regarding to your question, it was Shabery who was asking the question, not Johan (my bad). The question was like this:

“You have promised the rakyat to lower the price of the oil while the global price keeps on increasing, then when it comes to the shortages in our oil supply in near future, are you going to increase the price overnight?”

Anwar seems to be ignoring this question.

————–

Anyway, really salute Anwar for “cornering” Shabery.

• Roti Naan (Member) on Jul 15, 2008 at 11:42 pm

Salute to Anwar!!!!

• VPowerRacing (Member) on Jul 15, 2008 at 11:45 pm

Anwar won the debate by far…

Salute to him…he is our representative…

• VPowerRacing (Member) on Jul 15, 2008 at 11:46 pm

Shabery looks like he has no idea what to say…

only personal attack on Anwar…what a shame

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Jul 15, 2008 at 11:54 pm

Actually Anwar does reply to the question by answering that the 2015 that the G say the fuel will finish only come out from their mouth and not by a private organization. He also mention last time when he is TPM he got a report that the fuel will finish at 2005, but still now still got fuel?!?

He also mention Petronas have to do now is to find more oil sources overseas and colaborate with them like what Shell did in Malaysia in the past.

This is what i get from what he talk about. But the real thing he want to tell is that now our ppl living cost is too burdan and he need to re-organise the whole country and become the next singapore & taiwan which no need fuel subsidi also can win support from the whole wide world after our economic is stable… Somemore he also mention the fuel hike is becouse some ppl just want to stir up for some reasons and for sure like the past the fuel will come down at a stable price.

From this live debate, anwar really win in term of the topic of lowering the fuel price compare to the competitors only mention about his weaknese in the past… Boo… Anyway he got 1 word that get a lot of support: ” He supports Petronas but is against BN.” That draws the loudest cheers !

Visit www.malaysia-today.net for more info. I think youtube already got the replay…

• aliBaPa (Member) on Jul 15, 2008 at 11:57 pm

MY WARNING TO ANWAR:

I SUPPORT YOU.
    BUT, IF YOU CAN’T TOPPLE THE BN GOVT BEFORE SEPTEMBER.
    THEN WAIT FOR NEXT 4 YEARS.
    BCOS I DON’T WANT TO SEE NEVER ENDING MESSES EVEN THOUGH I STILL SUPPORT YOU.

• perdanaboyz (Member) on Jul 16, 2008 at 12:05 am

GO ANUAR…SUPPORT KEADILAN…BN LOSES…
    ANUAR BETTER THEN PAK LAH..

• ly60 (Member) on Jul 16, 2008 at 12:50 am

Agree with Kancil driver and Paul Tan – boring. More speeches than debate. DSAI concentrating on mismanagement, corruption and “kebocoran” while Shabery was harping on not plundering Petronas money, personal attactks and talk history. Anyhow Petronas must be protected at all costs. If somebody kill the goose that lay the golden, it is going to be the end the story for Malaysia.

Anyway DSAI is proven to be the better orator tonight. (at least his mouth was not foaming)

• Wisdom (Member) on Jul 16, 2008 at 12:51 am

Its not that easy for Anwar to takeover the goverment. That we must understand. However, even before the debate we should have knew that this will be a good publicity for Anwar and the move he undertake.

May a brighter future in front of us. All those racist nonsence should’ve stop long ago and we should’ve moving forward.

As a motoring enthusiast we could now felt easy that something will be done regarding these fuel issue. Also credit to the BN government for being more professional this time around for giving a chance to Anwar to speak (although the speaker you’ve point was not that professional with mostly personal attacks).

NOW IT’S TIME FOR US TO HANG TIGHT AND HOPE FOR GOOD THINGS UNFOLDS SOONER THAN LATER

• 9166 (Member) on Jul 16, 2008 at 1:12 am

If this Shabery guy was my friend, I would be very ashamed la.
    Talk for the sake of talking only, no substance at all. He still thinks that Malaysians are a bunch of gullible dumb bums?

Now I know why our RTM programs are getting from bad to worse. Like the suppliers to Proton,maybe the companies supplying the RTM programs are over charging by another 50%. Different ministries but same problems.

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Jul 16, 2008 at 2:36 am

The point Dato Seri Anwar made about capacity not being fixed but a flexible thing even as Petronas explores overseas even is a very good point.

The fuel will not finish just yet. Our capacity increases as exploration continues. Higher barrel prices mean more people scrambling to explore and open new wells. Just google +Petronas +Deepwater and you will find that until 2010, about 43 (Kikeh being one of them, already opened) oil wells are being opened up. Malaysia isn’t going to be running dry just yet!

So Datuk ASC’s question on whether DSAI wants to suddenly raise the prices when fuel runs out later doesn’t seem to hold water (or deepwater for that matter – sorry couldn’t resist!).

• torishimeyakuin (Member) on Jul 16, 2008 at 2:57 am

The best orator was apparently Mr Anwar Ibrahim. He got the points and conveyed his messages clearly supported with factual and realistic approaches.

Actually no..neither Mr Anwar nor the lame minister was playing safe. Anwar played it with the spirit of gentleman while the minister played it dirty.

Anwar tried at his best to stay focus on the rebutted issue while the minister keep on straying from the course and deliriously keep on harping personal attack on Anwar without any substance. Such a low and despicable act for someone who talked on a capacity of minister.

For those who seem to be in a state of ambivalence and lost, perhaps you guys should polish your proficiency and comprehension of Malay language.
    For me, it’s crystal clear that Mr Anwar is the big winner of the debate. It just turned out like a debate between a humble Grand Master with a snobbish novice.

• whiteeye (Member) on Jul 16, 2008 at 3:15 am

I don’t know why until today BN still want to cover their own ass and keep their own profit mean while as a rakyat we are the most suffer. What i hd knew from this debate BN keep talking about the history, come on we are now leaving in the 21st century, if u they provide school, hospital, university bull shit they just know how to corrupt only. If we compare Singapore and Malaysia form we Merdeka until now why we still live so far behind, people just a small country compare we us? And i really unsatisfied with the BN our country actually is damn rich keep wasting money on unnecessary thing’s y they sent a person to the space does it really help? they want to let everybody to know how famous of our country with an empty turtle shell, how shame and than how much does 1 person of him that send to the space and bringing a roti canai when he is spending the rakyat’s money, do u all agree. Some more 1 to rise the petrol when our own country hv petrol, ridiculous, is this what we hope for? MERDEKA? For what even more they does not helping the poor n keep burden them imaging u hv 5 children, how u want to live on when ur salary does not rise at all, BN u want us to MATI izit? If the consequence keep going on Malaysia in coming 10 years would like become NERAKA of entire Malaysian organization? For sure now y some of the mp want to retired or put down their kuasa coz their dompet already full than live us with an empty bone. If this is an independent country pls treat us as a human in a fair level for all Malaysian n pls don’t forget what is the real meaning of MERDEKA. Last but not least petrol pls don’t rise is just keep killing us and 1 of the last sentences pls support Pakatan Rakyat to be Anwar to be PM and not BN for the up coming PM who is deputy now if not this is ur biggest misery of hell! Where u want to live hell or heaven choose the write decision!

• torishimeyakuin (Member) on Jul 16, 2008 at 3:32 am

By the way, the advocative panel on behalf of the minister was so so embarrassing!! He only good at talking shit and he himself was totally irrelevant.
    Hey somebody told me that he’s a vice-chancellor of one of Malaysia’s public university. Damn, that can’t be true…No sense of ingenuity at all.

He just tried to show-off his ‘cleverness’ during his attempt in undermining Mr Anwar when he stated that IPP had nothing to do with Oil and Gas. My..my…And he just keep on mumbling and mumbling for about 3 minutes and at the end of the day, nobody knew what the hell his question was. A disgrace to the higher learning institutions community.

• Jie (Member) on Jul 16, 2008 at 5:28 am

Re taking from the IPP, i agree wholeheartedly. Tomorrow the media will say that taking from them is not possible cos it will bad for the capital market and future debt raising. Just ignore these noises, already made by Nazir Razak, whose CIMB is taking way too much profit already from all the debt raising deals involving the IPPs – they may have one planned for the future, and all this talk abt halving the capacity is hurting them. Bad for the debt market my foot, maybe it’s also becos they have too many IPP bonds in their books. The whole rakyat must not be made to suffer at the expense of these big players in the financial market.

• Jie (Member) on Jul 16, 2008 at 5:31 am

To think that the PM said that Shabery was a good orator, that he likes to debate (check recent news), what was the PM thinking? What was his benchmark, maybe himself? No wonder.

• hypermount (Member) on Jul 16, 2008 at 5:39 am

ANWAR is a political chameleon..enough said..

In a hall full of malay audience, he played the words very well, poor people consist of only “segelintir cina” and “india estate” meh apart from malays…pirrah lu..

PR is really like PR – anwar’s full of nothing but with populist rethotics, only know how to take people’s heart by giving speeches..like to charm people.

The only weakness of the minister was he couldn’t elaborate well not articulate enough , try to give more details for example about the “welfare state” of Venezuela currently ruled by a populist leader. Try to compare the country’s situation now and then before chavez took power and after…the whole country is rotting.

even anwar’s debate is not a debate but more and more talks about actions that will definitely not easy to be executed (nato all year long).. he did not give more on hows to reduce the fuel price.

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Jul 16, 2008 at 6:43 am

I tot Anwar say want to reduce 50 cent by using the 1 billion from the 6 billion that Petronas just earn?

Even he is chameleon, he is better than others who still big headed and dont want to change (corruption ways)…

• azrai (Member) on Jul 16, 2008 at 7:16 am

Should be more debates like this after this. Very professional debaters. Still Shabery Chik acting like he is Venezuelan Information Minister last night, and not answering the question. Read todays news anyone? “Oil prices plummet more than $6 amid economic fear”. it will further go down. And for the KLCI, Anwar is right about economy plummet in near months to come. Imagine losing at average of 11points a day. Yesterday it is at 1127 points. If in 10 days, it will eventually under 1k points. Sure the EPF will buy more at the time.

• abtm (Member) on Jul 16, 2008 at 7:50 am

i’d say next time hopefully the PM will be brave enough come out from hiding and actually do the debate himself, not send some messenger boy to do the fighting for him

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Jul 16, 2008 at 8:07 am

So did you guys do your homework and google “Petronas” and “Deepwater”? My oil industry contacts tell me that Malaysia is all mostly shelf stuff and only now are we getting into deepwater projects. Deepwater in the South China Sea, the coastal regions off North Borneo and the East Coast of Peninsular Malaysia in particular.

There is talk that in Europe “Malaysian Deepwater” projects is the hottest topic among oil & gas companies nowadays who specialise in these things. Also, my contact told me that Shell has set up a dedicated deepwater department in KL.

If you read this – http://www.mima.gov.my/mima/htmls/papers/pdf/nazery/Deepwater%20Ventures%20in%20Malaysia%2027112006.pdf

Production Period: 20
    Development period: 4
    Exploration period: 5
    Petronas’ participation Min. 15%
    Export duty 10%
    Petroleum tax 38%
    Royalty 10%

Petronas gets a royalty of 10% and the profit split is as follows:
    200-1000metres
    1st 50,000 BOPD = 30:70
    Nxt 50,000 BOPD = 45:55
    >100,000 = 50:50
    For >1000metres
    1st 50,000 BOPD – 14:86
    Nxt. 50,000 BOPD – 18:82
    Above 100,000 BOPD – 37:63
    Above 300,000 MMBBLS – 50:50

Furthermore here is a list of Petronas’ deepwater ventures abroad
    • Indus Block G&H, Pakistan.
    • Melut Basin, Sudan.
    • Block B-17-01, Thailand.
    • Rabat-Sale Haute Mer block, Morocco.
    • North East Mediterranean, Egypt.
    • Block 24, Angola.
    • NE Madura, Indonesia.
    • Phu Kanh Basin, Vietnam.

It appears deepwater terms are better, encouraging more deepwater exploration projects. The answer to rising fuel prices is IMHO to step up exploration and production to get more exports and make more money. Wells which were deemed ‘not viable’ earlier are now viable so there are even MORE opportunities to suck this ‘black gold’ out from under the sea.

Now it seems like Mother Hubbard telling us all that there’s nothing in the cupboard, but this deepwater thing is making me think – if ur the father and the food in ur house is finishing, look for more or tell your family to eat less and change their lifestyle?

• alihms (Member) on Jul 16, 2008 at 8:54 am

Seems to me the hoo-haa surrounding the debate is livelier that the debate itself. I expected to see more from Anwar, yet I see little. His statures plus years perfecting debating and oratory skills just did not really show. Anwar started good – by defining his objective clearly (reducing fuel price by 50sen and this is a just a beginning – implying there’s more goodies to come). But he just stopped there. He kept talking on how to get that additional 3 billion to fund the subsidy. What about those additional goodies to come? How would he change the governance of the government machineries to reach that goal? Harping on cronyism and mismanagement of the past just did not cut it! That was just political rhetoric.

On Sabery side, I expected to more authoritative answers from him, but what I got were just hypothetical scenarios and again harping on the past. Hypothetically, by giving more subsidies, Petronas will fail, and ultimately, the government had to get loans from international ‘ah longs’. Give facts and figures. At what expenditure rate would that happen? Surely just by extra 50sen, (ie additional 5 billions – figures stated by Anwar), government coffers would not be dried it? Or is it?

• tyang (Member) on Jul 16, 2008 at 8:56 am

They should open for SMS vote last night. Just like reality TV show. LOL.

• narrowband (Member) on Jul 16, 2008 at 9:04 am

I pity this Shabery dude. Last night’s debate has got to to be the toughest part of an Info Minister’s job in many years. The person debating with Anwar should not have been this poor dude. Anwar was more prepared to talk about the issue. Then again, he’s the very person championing the cause, while Shabery was just a proxy for cowards.

• shah74 (Member) on Jul 16, 2008 at 9:47 am

50 cent lower?

hmm I think some people just don’t realized that the price meant for public transportation and fleet or movers are still very cheap and highly subsidies. Currently the price is around RM 1.43 perliter….and not to mention fisheries and agricultural also buying at that price. In the same time govt also still highly subsidies gases that we are using for cooking at home and some other stall or restaurant which also using it. NGV is also still highly subsidies…
    Bear in mind petronas only control 40% of the market in malaysia while the rest is monopoly by others oil company which is 100% owned by foreigner. We already losing 15 billion every year when those expextriat brought out our money to their country …this is excluding profits gain by those foreign companies. For me it is not a very bad decision to increased the price of oil and give cash to the owner of car other than we gave cash to that foreign oil company. Lets our people decide where to use the money. So far almost 1 billion already been paid to the car owner and I believe it will be more in future. I belived there will be more announcment by the govt as to ease the burden of the public.

Ingatlah malaysia suatu ketika dahulu merupakan pengeluar bijih timah yang terkemuka dan sekarang tiada apa yang tinggal….. manakala minyak tiada siapa yang tahu akan akhirnya…..tetapi kini sudah ada negara yang mengalami masalah kekurangan pengeluaran minyak.

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Jul 16, 2008 at 10:00 am

Does Petronas control 40% of the RETAIL market or overall (retail and production or in oil-speak the upstream, midstream and downstream)?

On the production side it has been published that Petronas must have minimum 15% participation. In addition to taxation there appears to be a further profit split of 14-50% depending on production quantity. I suppose this is what they call the upstream side of the business.

• shah74 (Member) on Jul 16, 2008 at 10:20 am

out of 3000 petrol station in malaysia only 800 belong to petronas…that is retail downstream business. This is the business which is highly been subsidies by the govt. 60% of the total sales volume goes to foreign oil company. for wholesales it is not subsidies in term of cash but merely tax exemption. Retail Sales volume for petrol in 2007 was around 11 billion liter while diesel was around 6 billion liter and LPG was around 1.5 billion kg. For LPG itself the subsidy was around RM 20 to 30 per cylinder 10 to 14 kg. Just imagine how much monies goes to that company other than petronas.

• osh_kosh (Member) on Jul 16, 2008 at 10:34 am

torishimeyakuin said,
    July 16, 2008 @ 2:57 am

For those who seem to be in a state of ambivalence and lost, perhaps you guys should polish your proficiency and comprehension of Malay language.
    For me, it’s crystal clear that Mr Anwar is the big winner of the debate. It just turned out like a debate between a humble Grand Master with a snobbish novice.

–>agreed with torishimeyakuin, some guys look lost…. to me DSAI answer all the questions (well.. almost) & Shabery is the one avoiding a few questions…

btw, before the debate, i got this feeling that somehow G will use this oportunity to point out that this G is ‘telus & ikhlas’ to conduct this live debate.. & wallah, Shabery did mentioned about it… LOL.. lame… anyone know the truth is that G was desperated to gain popularity & the best choice for them was to accept DSAI challange, it’s riskier for them to just ignore it… but the Spin Doctor last night was bad.. really… they should’ve appoint someone else… but the good thing is that not PakLah himself in the debate… maybe he was at home sleeping hahahahaha

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Jul 16, 2008 at 11:04 am

Shah74 what’s your take on the deepwater stuff I discovered online and posted above? What should be be looking out for or at? I suppose you’re in the O&G industry?

• shah74 (Member) on Jul 16, 2008 at 11:40 am

all those facts about petronas revenue and their strategy can be refer to the facts given during interview with tan sri hassan merican not so long ago..Now the question on how govt should disburse all those income that they get from the income tax paid by Petronas and all other taxes… Looking at the increasing number of domestic usage since year 2000 which is merely 11 bilion liter/kg consist of petrol diesel and LPG and year 2007 more than 20 billion liter/kg …the business is not as usual now . We cant simply subsidies the business as 7 or 10 years ago. In 2007 crude oil price was merely 70 USD and now more than 140 USD. It is 100% increased. The way we should gives subsidy must be restructured. Definately when there is price increased the income for petronas will also be increased. Govt can simply maintain the price be return all those income back to the industry. But it is not a wise decision. Unless if petronas is in control with the retail market in Malaysia for at least 70-80% out of total number of usage.

• shah74 (Member) on Jul 16, 2008 at 11:43 am

Sorry I would like to amend on the fact of oil prices in year 2000 which is only 30 USD and 2008 more than 140 USD which is almost 5 times increased.

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Jul 16, 2008 at 12:00 pm

But what about stepping up production and exploration seriously? Won’t that be a good countermeasure? 43 Deepwater projects – how much will those supply?

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Jul 16, 2008 at 12:49 pm

SOURCE: http://www.treasury.gov.my/index.php?ch=12&pg=403&ac=2055&lang=eng

Development Expenditure Estimates 2008 By Ministry
    PURPOSE TITLE
    AMOUNT
    ( RM )
    P.6 Prime Minister’s Department 3,665,410,000
    P.7 Public Services Department 69,914,000
    P.10 Treasury 2,161,833,000
    P.13 Ministry of Foreign Affairs 186,050,000
    P.20 Ministry of Plantation Industries and Commodities 207,297,000
    P.21 Ministry of Agriculture and Agro-based Industry 1,730,000,000
    P.22 Ministry of Rural and Regional Development 2,411,332,000
    P.23 Ministry of Natural Resources and Environment 1,850,028,000
    P.24 Ministry of International Trade and Industry 730,172,000
    P.25 Ministry of Domestic Trade and Consumer Affairs 26,300,000
    P.26 Ministry of Entrepreneurial and Co-operative Development 1,261,156,000
    P.27 Ministry of Works 4,821,809,000
    P.28 Ministry of Transport 2,760,900,000
    P.29 Ministry of Energy, Water and Communications 2,897,160,000
    P.30 Ministry of Science, Technology and Innovations 1,520,000,000
    P.31 Ministry of Tourism 231,161,000
    P.32 Ministry of the Federal Territories 556,008,000
    P.41 Ministry of Education 3,510,168,000
    P.42 Ministry of Health 2,222,278,000
    P.43 Ministry of Housing and Local Government 1,679,206,000
    P.44 Ministry of Culture, Arts and Heritage 225,976,000
    P.45 Ministry of Youth and Sports 552,500,000
    P.46 Ministry of Human Resources 668,178,000
    P.47 Ministry of Information 114,688,000
    P.48 Ministry of Women, Family and Community Development 118,325,000
    P.49 Ministry of Higher Education 3,360,000,000
    P.60 Ministry of Defence 4,680,698,000
    P.61 Ministry of Home Affairs 286,852,000
    P.62 Ministry of Internal Security 1,612,870,000
    P.70 Contingencies Reserve 2,000,000,000
    TOTAL 48,118,269,000

Operating Expenditure Estimates 2008 By Ministry
    ( List By Ministry/Department )
    PURPOSE TITLE
    AMOUNT
    (RM)
    T.1 Civil List 13,532,900
    T.2 Royal Allowances 1,524,900
    T.3 Lord President, Chief Justices and Judges 71,260,300
    T.4 Auditor General 692,300
    T.5 Speaker of the House of Representatives 686,000
    T.6 President of the Senate 628,500
    T.7 Election Commission 994,600
    T.8 Judicial and Legal Service Commission 4,200
    T.9 Public Services Commission 7,826,900
    T.10 Education Service Commission 4,505,600
    T.11 Police Force Commission 636,000
    T.12 Treasury 3,288,875,600
    T.13 Charges on Account of Public Debt 13,101,369,900
    T.14 Pensions, Retirement Allowances and Gratuities 6,731,473,300
    TOTAL CHARGED EXPENDITURE 23,224,011,000
    B.1 Parliament 76,714,000
    B.2 Office of the Keeper of the Rulers’ Seal 1,893,000
    B.3 Audit Department 114,077,000
    B.4 Election Commission 38,811,000
    B.5 Public Services Commission 46,119,000
    B.6 Prime Minister’s Department 3,423,676,000
    B.7 Public Services Department 1,324,909,000
    B.8 Attorney General’s Chambers 121,728,000
    B.9 Anti-Corruption Agency 146,727,000
    B.10 Treasury 2,122,220,000
    B.11 Treasury General Services 15,156,686,000
    B.12 Contribution to Statutory Funds 4,482,600,000
    B.13 Ministry of Foreign Affairs 496,711,000
    B.20 Ministry of Plantation Industries and Commodities 218,169,000
    B.21 Ministry of Agriculture and Agro-based Industry 2,172,363,000
    B.22 Ministry of Rural and Regional Development 1,009,980,000
    B.23 Ministry of Natural Resources and Environment 960,791,000
    B.24 Ministry of International Trade and Industry 455,102,000
    B.25 Ministry of Domestic Trade and Consumer Affairs 403,903,000
    B.26 Ministry of Entrepreneurial and Co-operative Development 2,126,521,000
    B.27 Ministry of Works 1,705,110,000
    B.28 Ministry of Transport 876,408,000
    B.29 Ministry of Energy, Water and Communications 97,711,000
    B.30 Ministry of Science, Technology and Innovations 652,794,000
    B.31 Ministry of Tourism 626,554,000
    B.32 Ministry of the Federal Territories 226,596,000
    B.40 Education Service Commission 15,492,000
    B.41 Ministry of Education 26,028,793,000
    B.42 Ministry of Health 10,679,587,000
    B.43 Ministry of Housing and Local Government 974,526,000
    B.44 Ministry of Culture, Arts and Heritage 507,242,000
    B.45 Ministry of Youth and Sports 431,083,000
    B.46 Ministry of Human Resources 560,803,000
    B.47 Ministry of Information 1,058,585,000
    B.48 Ministry of Women, Family and Community Development 663,960,000
    B.49 Ministry of Higher Education 8,813,600,000
    B.60 Ministry of Defence 9,839,596,000
    B.61 Ministry of Home Affairs 1,099,224,000
    B.62 Ministry of Internal Security 5,817,776,000
    TOTAL SUPPLY EXPENDITURE 105,575,140,000
    TOTAL 128,799,151,000

• Cire (Member) on Jul 16, 2008 at 12:49 pm

The point here that most of us missed out is, why the sudden spike to this level of increase? Why can’t it be a gradual increase, rather than the sudden couple of hours announcement? What is actually going on with the Msian G coffers? Are we in that depth that we needed to abruptly cut-off subisdies, and riding on the world price increase of fuel to mask the actual problem in our coffers?
    Did anyone read any announcement pertaining to the financial status of the country?
    In the debate carried out last night, there isn’t much information being divulged out from the G. All we know is that he is bringing us around the world to Venezuela, and back. Only to end up with some personal attack on his opponent. We will be worried if that is our actual Min.of Information answers.

• Paul Tan on Jul 16, 2008 at 12:54 pm

why is the pm’s department operating cost and development cost more than 3 billion ringgit each? total more than 6 billion on the pm’s department alone? compared this to the ministry of education which only spent 3 billion on development. thats a very interesting list.

• bmpower (Member) on Jul 16, 2008 at 1:22 pm

Pak Lah Did do Public Transportation Improvement. Here :
    http://test.chedet.com/che_det/2008/06/rapid-kl.html

as well.. it’s more BIG BOCOR. (Pak Lah Family Corp)

so cut all the subsidy, for public transportation or for family business..

STEP DOWN PAKLAH! WE WONT YOU!

• car_craze (Member) on Jul 16, 2008 at 2:11 pm

I think it would be better if we put Anwar and Dr M on a debate! That would be the debate of the Century! Send in your sms to NTV9 for the next debate…(Proxy substitutes not welcome!)

• offroader manix (Member) on Jul 16, 2008 at 5:18 pm

All posted here and the debate are talking c–k

Nothing seems constructive…………no wonder the country falling back…….

• yippi33 (Member) on Jul 16, 2008 at 5:27 pm

in my opinion, we need to be neutral when seeing debates like this.. or else, we wont get anything..in my opinion, both speaker did well..anwar did well in presenting PR’s stand and shabery also did as well in defending the government’s..we cannot say that everything that is coming out of Anwar’s mouth is correct..and so did shabery..about TNB, Petronas and IPP gas subsidies issue for instance..i think anwar’s statement is incorrect..and, not all shabery’s statement is unacceptable too..when he said malaysia will one day become a net importer of oil one day, that does make sense..and we should be prepared for it now or later when its too late..yes, deepwater exploration can be made but its not as simple as that..Ops & Maint cost for deepwater is far more expensive than you could’ve imagine..in conclusion, this debate is a success and both parties get to present/defend their stance..and its up to us to be smart in digesting every bit of information presented..cheers..

• figo (Member) on Jul 16, 2008 at 5:48 pm

A well developed country doesn’t really need to look for petrol to survive or depend on petrol revenue. This only happen in poor manages country like Malaysia. They talk about market price for petrol but ignore the high car tax. So, do you think the debate make sense?

When the panel ask Sabrey(G) how he spend the 4 bil saving on fuel hike during 2006 and the 50 bil now. He just divert the topic and those monkey cheer for him. Really stupid BN monkey.

Those who are satisfied with the present G is belong to the “CORRUPT KAKI”. They don’t even know how to do a “plan” to spend the billions.

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Jul 16, 2008 at 6:37 pm

Yippi33, just wondering if the deepwater ops and maintenance is so expensive, which yes logically it should be more expensive, the thing is 43 projects are already underway, Kikeh being the first. Are you saying despite more exploration and/or ramping up production we will STILL end up being a net importer?

• osh_kosh (Member) on Jul 16, 2008 at 6:46 pm

offroader manix said,
    July 16, 2008 @ 5:18 pm

All posted here and the debate are talking c–k

Nothing seems constructive…………no wonder the country falling back…….

———————————-

hmm… how constructive u want it to be? to my understanding DSAI already give a brief explanation on how to tacle the situation.. where to get the money to lift the ppl burden etc…. that’s the main point, to discuss… action can be taken later.. it’s up to the current G to take a look or not… some of the ppl here also give a good opinion… not so bad for a layman like us… & u said all talk cock? now now my bro… who really talk cock? unless he have some understanding issue regarding others quote…

btw, u said earlier that;
    “If anwar would form government, then M’sia would collapse………”

just wondering, can u elaborate more on your quote… it’s interesting to know your POV (at least for me)…

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Jul 16, 2008 at 6:53 pm

Anwar was caught this afternoon around 12pm…

Reason given by police, they scare Anwar wont come to the police station to give statement on time…

Louzy answer, if he is not coming on time then go catch him laa.. why so early? Scare of him already? Boo…

• ob8 (Member) on Jul 16, 2008 at 7:39 pm

u only believe, want u want to believe. so they say. the last night debate was the talk of kedai kopi today. evening news say rahim thambi wants debate between umno top post candidate for the december party election. shabery cik go for personal attack coz he is playing at ‘home’ and he did not hav such history as anwar. well, surprisingly anwar was so cool and hilarious responding to those attack which IMO is clever and shows his experience while the minister was ever so serious through out the 1 hour show. IMO the gov should reduce the subsidies slowly not like drop nuclear bom. debate is the way to for future. bring on mahathir vs anwar. shabery, ur fired!! u can sell miinyak atar after this

• lchan (Member) on Jul 16, 2008 at 7:42 pm

i dont care who becomes the government. I just want one that is transparent, free of corruption and does not play the racial card.

• szw (Member) on Jul 16, 2008 at 7:47 pm

politicians , ish ish…
    don dey hav btr things to do ?

• JULIANLEE2 (Member) on Jul 16, 2008 at 7:57 pm

shabery cheek is a bloody fool, he was talkign about sodomising all the time

• Auto_crat (Member) on Jul 16, 2008 at 8:11 pm

It is good to have this kind of debate. So that we can see who’s the real buffoon is. As for shabery, he is one of many. Our G is run by a bunch of mad buffoons. They said about transperancy which is hard to be seen and the fight of corruption which IMO is still way away from tackling this issue. We’re spoon fed with lousy stuff. The G’s clutch on the media is so tight that the G’s freedom of speech is really a joke. I salute Paul Tan and those who leave comments here, this is where we share our loves and hates. Keep ’em coming. Cheers mate.

• shirroazirro (Member) on Jul 16, 2008 at 11:18 pm

Besides worrying on the money given to the government by Petronas, we have to worry about Petronas too. Petronas staff are the lowest paid workeers among the Oil and Gas company. A lot of their skill workers and engineers are going to Qatar joining company like Qatar Gas, QP and Dolphin. We hope the sacrifice that their staff make (those staying back and working with a low pay ) will be recognise by the Government by not abusing the money that Petronas provide.

• Wisdom (Member) on Jul 17, 2008 at 12:50 am

Offroader manix,

Wonder why are you so lonely here. You must have stayed in the wild for sometimes when your car brokedown during offroading activities. You and your jungle friends should’ve form a perfect government.

p/s thats what we call personal attack.

• rexis (Member) on Jul 17, 2008 at 12:47 pm

The info minister is just a meat shield… none the less, I must compliment on his effort of trying(or die trying). Even thou he cant make all sensible points, he is more honorable then those cowards avoiding the challenge.

• abtm (Member) on Jul 17, 2008 at 1:48 pm

There’s no official verdict on who won, but since Anwar was arrested the next day, we have to assume that at least the govt thinks they’ve lost- if you can’t beat him, lock him up (and this time throw away the keys)

• abufaris (Member) on Jul 17, 2008 at 3:17 pm

The debate is long overdue. PAS has called on the ruling party for a debate on many issues but as usual the ruling party will always find ways to avoid. Remember the “debat olok-olok”, the ruling party failed miserably even in this one.