2008 Honda Accord 2.0 VTi Test Drive Review

Honda Accord 2.0 VTi
Click for high resolution image

Looking at the recently launched 2008 Honda Accord, it’s hard to believe that the Accord nameplate was first used on a little 2-door hatchback launched in 1976, powered by a 1.6 litre inline-4 engine. A sedan variant was added later, with the option for a 1.8 litre engine. The 1.8 litre engine made 72 horsepower, and was mated to a 2-speed automatic.

8 generations later, the Honda Accord is now a large executive sedan that is wider and longer (but shorter) than the Mercedes-Benz E-Class. It’s largest and most powerful engine option is now 3.5 litres, and it’s automatic gearbox now swaps through five ratios.

I drove the new Honda Accord over a span of about 80 kilometers or so, part of a journey from Kuantan to Kuala Lumpur. Read my initial impressions of Honda Malaysia’s new flagship after the jump.

Honda Accord 2.0 VTi

Despite being a D-segment Japanese sedan and with that segment of cars not usually associated with sportiness, you can see previous generations of the Accord kitted up and modified for performance. The 5th generation Accord is a prime example, with many considering it to be a 4-door Honda Prelude, opting for H-Series engine transplants to make the car really go.

Back to the new Accord. Firstly lets look at the exterior. The car is large. It’s become one of those cars with such a large side profile that the designers had to add one of those swage lines to run across the side of the car to disguise how tall the doors are. Otherwise the car would look rather whale-ish like the Lexus GS.

On the overall, the car looks rather un-Honda as we are probably not used to this new “nose” that first made its debut on the Honda Stream. So you’ve got a W204’s swage line, a 5-series BMW’s rear three quarter angle, and a few other design cues mashed together. I really like certain angles, but certain angles look odd. The front overhang also looks longer than it really ought to be, but I suspect this may be a result of this being an American model as they have stricter pedestrian crash safety regulations.

Honda Accord 2.0 VTi

Those rear lights you see on the bootlid are non-functional as they are only reflectors. They look misaligned because of the functional brake lamps which curve upwards towards the edge of the shoulder. The US Accord does not have these extra reflectors so I have no idea why Honda deemed these extra bits necessary for the Asian market (Japan, ASEAN, etc). Perhaps it is to make the car look wider.

On the interior, you have a dashboard design that is two-tiered like the Civic’s, but the instrument panel is a conventional one. The 7th generation 2003 Honda Accord (facelifted in 2006) had a three gauge design for the instrument panel with a large and grand-looking speedometer in the middle that was very brightly self-illuminated. The 2008 Honda Accord switches to a dual-gauge design similiar to the CR-V and the Stream. The self-illuminating design that can only be read when the electronics are turned on is also gone, with the meter and needle clearly visible anytime.

For the 2.0 litre model there is barely any wood or wood-lookalike in the cabin. The trim on the dashboard is some kind of painted silver, while the center dashboard area is some form of grey plastic instead of the wood that is found on the 2.4 litre model. The upper deck of the dash looks soft touch but the plastics are actually not soft, while the lower deck is an interesting “brushed plastic” texture that for the lack of words at the moment I can only describe as strangely feeling a little like fabric.

Honda Accord 2.0 VTi

After sitting in the car and basking in the ambiance for quite some time, somehow the choice of interior design, material, seats, and trim makes the Accord – especially the 2.0 litre Accord interior seem more like a very large Civic rather than an Accord. I loved the previous Accord’s interior as it felt upmarket and in its class, but this one feels noticably a step lower in terms of that expensive feel. The front seats could do with abit more support – they feel kinda short somehow and the lumbar support for the passenger can get abit too pronounced to be comfortable – this is not an issue with the driver’s seat which is adjustable.

Another thing to gripe about with the interior are bits like the door handles which seem to be plastic with sprayed on grey paint. This will definitely not pass the test of time and anyone with long fingernails for that matter. I don’t see why Honda couldn’t give the Accord chrome door handles on the interior when the exterior handles are done in full chrome.

The steering wheel is light, perhaps too light. This is because it is not a speed sensitive steering wheel, but only adjusts ratio based on steering angle mechanically. This means that maneuvering the car through tight spots and parking is very easy, but driving at highway speeds can be unnerving as you have to consciously tighten up your own arms to keep the steering where you want it to point at fast speeds. It’s very nice to hold and turn though as its diameter is smaller than what you’d expect in a D-segment sedan.

Honda Accord 2.0 VTi

In tackling B-roads, the Honda Accord seriously has alot more grip than you think. It’s amazing how they made the chassis of such a large monster so balanced. It just sticks flat and rolls gracefully without wobbling through fast corners with no noticeable understeer. Actually it’s no surprise as there is a performance European-model Accord but the new chassis and suspension settings of this new Accord it’s just such a huge improvement over its predecessor.

During the Kuantan drive I only managed to sample the 2.0 litre model, so 2.4 and 3.5 V6 experiences will come later. The 2.0 (R20A3 SOHC i-VTEC – 156PS at 6,300rpm and 189Nm at 4,300rpm) can be best described as just sufficient for the car. Any attempts to drive the Accord 2.0 spiritedly is quite tiring as the engine has to scream near the redline all the time without much shove. The car has a 5-speed transmission but because 2 of them are overdrive gears, there’s not enough ratios to keep the engine in its powerband while you are trying to get up to highway speed as fast as possible. However the engine does fine with a normal and comfortable driving style, helped out abit by the snappy and light throttle behaviour. Unfortunately the brake pedal feels light as well – something that feels more solid and substantial would be more appreciated here.

Honda Accord 2.0 VTi

The 5-speed transmission itself will put a smile on your face – 150km/h cruising is achieved at such a low RPM due to the 5th gear’s second overdrive nature. A low engine RPM equals to less engine noise. You barely hear anything except for rolling tyres at legal highway speeds, and 150km/h and even higher highway speeds feel slow thanks to the low engine speed and the stable chassis. Your only clue is the steering wheel which needs conscious effort to keep pointed where you want it to because it is so light.

At first glance the Accord does its job well as a comfortable wafter and I bet its main selling points will be its imposing looks, balanced chassis and of course its humongous internal space whether the buyer needs it or not. Because when you’re spending over 140K for a car alot of people would rather get as much sheetmetal as they can!

Stay tuned for my write-up on the 2.4 and 3.5 V6 versions of the Accord which were test driven under normal day to day conditions.

Honda Accord 2.0 VTi

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Jul 17, 2008 at 2:37 pm

Id like to see a head-to-head shootout between this and the Optima 2.0 CVVT, especially fuel consumption.

• JULIANLEE2 (Member) on Jul 17, 2008 at 2:42 pm

peugeot 407 and mazda 6 nicer

• mitlanevo (Member) on Jul 17, 2008 at 3:18 pm

ya, compete with mazda 6 or any other in the same category, rather than always Accord vs. Camry, boring….

• intermilan (Member) on Jul 17, 2008 at 3:23 pm

hahaha..
    second both of you!

• kingv6 (Member) on Jul 17, 2008 at 4:05 pm

not forgetting the latest Sonata NF

• monkeysam99 (Member) on Jul 17, 2008 at 4:10 pm

Just do a Mazda6 review vs accord & camry!

• EddyHyip (Member) on Jul 17, 2008 at 5:18 pm

nice bold looking car…
    Is the seat fabric covered?
    If it is, it would be just another bad experience as some vios 1.5E owners…
    :(

• Superman_AYKF (Member) on Jul 17, 2008 at 5:57 pm

For me Accord 2.0 iVtec is really sucks with the price tag RM140K. With that kind of interior material, accessories and finishing….I would rather pay RM9K (with discount from the sales) more to get the Camry 2.0G. The interior is wayyyyy better than the Accord 2.0….

BUT, if you are talking about Accord 2.4 iVtec….Sorry Toyota, I will definitely get the Accord 2.4 iVtec. The interior material and colour is just awesome!!!!

I do not know about the performance as I never drive the Accord before, but I presume they are pretty much the same (within the same class or engine capacity)

Just my personal opinion…..hehehehehe…….

• lchan (Member) on Jul 17, 2008 at 6:14 pm

Paul…appreciate if you can get a review on the new CKD peugeot 407 as well. Totally off topic tho.

• mattyboy (Member) on Jul 17, 2008 at 7:35 pm

naughty boy Paul, picture 13l is indicating around 170kmph!!!! hahaha ;)

Good photgraphy to get such a clear,focused shot at that speed too!

• szw (Member) on Jul 17, 2008 at 8:27 pm

seen the 3.5 V6 wan once…

• IsaacVky (Member) on Jul 17, 2008 at 8:30 pm

kingv6 said,

July 17, 2008 @ 4:05 pm

NF is outdated compared to the market’s latest offerings.
    Sonata TRANSFORM which is the facelift currently available in some countries is a serious contender I perhaps.

• rizones (Member) on Jul 17, 2008 at 9:08 pm

yes review on peugeot 407… plss….

• ragnahse (Member) on Jul 17, 2008 at 11:07 pm

to mattyboy,,

u beat me to it..i was about to say the same as well…wow, 170-180 on normal B road…and in a 2.0 large sedan….n paul,, nice write up style..better than wat one can find in some of te mags out there..

• mystvearn (Member) on Jul 18, 2008 at 2:55 am

Paul, I await your 2.4 and 3.5 reviews eagerly. Also please make your vote which car is the best value 2.0 vs 2.4 vs 3.5 (taking all into account). Is the internal door handle a one off thing on the 2.0 version? Or is it the same with the 2.4 and 3.5l version as well? The 6th generation Honda accord 2.0 has more luxury comfort in it=wood like trim, bodylex massage, parking antenna. The pictures you took looks like the current civic more than the previous accord as mentioned

• Jie (Member) on Jul 18, 2008 at 5:56 am

mattyboy said,
    July 17, 2008 @ 7:35 pm

naughty boy Paul, picture 13l is indicating around 170kmph!!!! hahaha

Good photgraphy to get such a clear,focused shot at that speed too!
    …………………………………………………………………………………..

Ha ha, picture 4l shows his stomach letting go! Should’ve tahan nafas a bit.

Paul Tan says: that’s not me… my stomach is bigger!

• blazerSST (Member) on Jul 18, 2008 at 7:07 am

Kinda sad to read that its engine is just sufficient and interior is made of painted plastics. Cost cutting measures

• superman (Member) on Jul 18, 2008 at 8:04 am

Paul,

Accord was launched 3 months ago. Took some time for u to put up a Test drive write-up.

Was Honda slow to give u the car?

• zerachiel1986 (Member) on Jul 18, 2008 at 8:05 am

just got my 3.5 V6 honda accord two weeks back….how it feels ? well,i have to be honest,there is no “word” to describe beauty and performance……didnt really speed on the highway,but as usual,some “dumb” malaysian’s ( those who have modified potong’s ) were tailgating my car,it was so annoying,why on earth they want to show off their “tin kosong” ?…sigh,typical malaysian mentality….

• jolly_idiot (Member) on Jul 18, 2008 at 9:55 am

I would still prefer Camry rather than Accord due to it;s classic design and more elegant touch.

• dcwhz83 (Member) on Jul 18, 2008 at 10:38 am

paul, i like ur writeup style as well…
    its more direct to the point… what we buyers wanna know…

the light steering issue is not explained properly in mags… same as when i tested the latio… yucks… no steering feel, i dunno whether i am driving on a cushion, sandy road, normal road or am i tackling bends… missing all the fun there…

hard to find fun in electric powered steering nowadays…

• kingv6 (Member) on Jul 18, 2008 at 10:44 am

i would settle for a 3 series than 3.5 v6 accord

• mrbola2 (Member) on Jul 18, 2008 at 12:17 pm

i agree with some commenters why it always a bettle between Camry and Accord many 2.0l sedan cars in Malaysia like Elantra, Perdana and Sylphy. bettle with them and look witch is better

• juanbeibei (Member) on Jul 18, 2008 at 8:19 pm

hi all, driven da 2.4 version, da steering is still very very light there.. but i like da shape of it n also da turning ratio~ super easy to make u-turn^^

• juanbeibei (Member) on Jul 18, 2008 at 8:26 pm

sorry for double post, but i really think dat da interior of da 2.0 version need some improvements.. maybe should put da wood-trimmings to make it look more ‘in-style’.. n da alloy wheels, it look too small for da car (in my opinion..). (sad dat da super bright self-illuminated meter has gone..).. on top of all, again saying i love da ratio! no need reversing when doing u-turn! n it really needs front sensor.. few times i almost hit da concrete pole in carpark.. need to lift up my body to look to da front.. haha^^

• zerachiel1986 (Member) on Jul 18, 2008 at 9:43 pm

“sorry for double post, but i really think dat da interior of da 2.0 version need some improvements.. maybe should put da wood-trimmings to make it look more ‘in-style’.. n da alloy wheels, it look too small for da car (in my opinion..). (sad dat da super bright self-illuminated meter has gone..).. on top of all, again saying i love da ratio! no need reversing when doing u-turn! n it really needs front sensor.. few times i almost hit da concrete pole in carpark.. need to lift up my body to look to da front.. haha^^”

i am also suprised why there is no front sensor for even the 3.5 version,sigh,thats funny,even 2.4 camry got front sensor…i think both malaysian and singapore spec is different from the US spec…

• Flipper (Member) on Jul 19, 2008 at 4:39 pm

What’s up with the demand for wood trimings? It is really “out”. I think if your age is between 40’s and 70s then the wood triming would be so so “in-style”. Anyway, for most Jap cars in Malaysia the wood trimings are made of some PVC material or some sort of cheep looking plastic material (probably from the same supplier).

The arguement about which is more elegant between the accord or the camry is a matter of preference. I think the guys at Honda have position their 2.0 accord between the Camry 2.0G and E. If you need to leather the interior up and etc, the dealer provides you the option. That is why we have so many makes of cars to cater for each individual preferences and taste.

I have test drived both the 2.0 accord and camry, they are ok for your average Joe drving in the city and occassional drive out on the highway. You do not really need so much power on Malaysian roads and if you do really need to go fast then go get yourself a sports car.

Hope my two cents worth helps. Cheers

• juanbeibei (Member) on Jul 19, 2008 at 6:20 pm

zerachiel1986, correct.. i wonder where da front sensors go.. even 2.0E camry got front sensors.. theyre standard specs.. i have no confidence to park this long car.. n did u notice dat u cant see da front end of da car? unlike bmw 5 series, even IF it doesnt have front sensors, i still can estimate da front end~ or maybe da seat height is short in this accord.. (i’ve adjusted to da highest point^^).. or can say i am short for this car? =P

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Jul 20, 2008 at 12:33 pm

A head to head shootout between this and the ’08 Peugeot 407 would be good too!

• juanbeibei (Member) on Jul 20, 2008 at 5:34 pm

flipper, hi, im not even 30’s.. oh really? ic then.. im juz saying my opinions =) i think da usual wood trimmings in jp cars r not tightly blend with da materials beside it tats makes it looks n feels cheap.. maybe they should introduce something new, maybe a glossy black piano lacqured things or maybe reflective glass trimmings.. haha^^

• powerofdreams (Member) on Aug 06, 2008 at 1:48 pm

Just booked an Accord 2.0 but I am considering of the 2.4 now after reading the comments. Is it worth paying the additional 30k for the difference? Any idea of the depreciation value of this car in a year / 2 years or perhaps 5 years? Honestly, the 2.4 interior looks way much better with the leather finishing. Any advises on suitable rims size for this car? what about tyres? A reasonable rim size (good looks) without compromising the performance substantially would be ideal. Advises please. Thanks!

• Azmir on May 21, 2009 at 6:06 am

Totally agree with flipper

• Dear Pak Paul,

If you have an option, which car will you choose…….Toyota Camry 2.4 or Honda Accord 2.4. Others please advise ya.

• Kawin on Jun 19, 2009 at 9:26 am

Dear Paul

In Thailand, Accord 2.0 & Camry 2.0 are very nice. If comparing the engine, Accord is rather good causes of 5 speed and more HP, effective to the fuel consumption as well. But for the exterier and interier I think Camry looks more executive.

• Sophian Mohamed on Jul 10, 2009 at 3:17 am

I received my accord 2.4 august 2008. Even though i only can drive my car every 2-3 month for about 3 weeks because of my job assignment outside malaysia, i am very happy about the performance especially the paddle shift gear. This is the main reason why i choosed accord not camry 2.4. The handling is superb, engine response when in 'S' gear is good for 2.4. I cannot find this model in europe but for me this model look better from europe model. In middle east also use this model.

Best Regards.

• Sam Lai on Apr 13, 2010 at 4:22 pm

I just bought a Honda accord 2.0… Anyway,i like it….for the outlook and design is very individual..performence also very good…that is a one thing i dissapointed is does’nt come with the built in GPS..@@

Happy driving

• zaidi.... on Jul 09, 2010 at 2:54 pm

oooo honda accord 2.0 ……………it is not gps……!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!. i think that’s car come with gps……………eh ehehhhhhhehehhehehheheheheh…….

• zack5139 on Aug 17, 2010 at 1:39 am

NEED ADVICE OF SELECTION ON ” 18″ SPORT RIM FOR HONDA ACCORD??
    > DESPERATELY NEED THE ADVICE AS SOON AS POSSIBLE

THANKS

• Arasu on Nov 07, 2012 at 2:48 pm

I bought a honda Accord 2.0 VTi-L , just wanted to know if anyone out there has a similar model and facing any road sound issue. When i drive at the speed of 100KMPh , i find the car is too noisy, any comments on this

• Ubong Akpakpan on Jul 18, 2015 at 5:02 pm

I have had the 2008 Honda accord 2.0 vti for 6 yrs now. Its about 78000km. Noticed delay in gear changes a month ago. Today the Car won’t go past 40km/hr. It just revs and nothing happens but I hear a crackling sound when its supposed to change gears. Flushed the gear oil when it was due with recommended Honda gear oil. I need a link to order the gear box please

• Ubong Akpakpan on Jul 18, 2015 at 5:13 pm

Need a Gear box for my 2008 Honda accord 2.0 I VTEC made in Malaysia. Any links , contacts or dealers please