Dr Halim Ali and his Hydroxene water hydrogen fuel device appears again!

Hydroxene Diagram
Diagram from 2006 illustrating how Hydroxene works

Dadi, LMG, LM Auto Star, Hydroxene and “Just Add Water“… these were a few phrases that were uttered across Malaysia when LM Star Autoworld embarked on a massive ad campaign in 2006 advertising its Chinese-sourced Dadi trucks with a hydrogen injection fueling system called Hydroxene. Hydroxene is a technology from Hydrogen Fuel Technology (M) Sdn Bhd. The PM himself launched the car, and then the whole project disappeared for over a year.

HFT Sdn Bhd is now appearing in the papers again, but this time they are not associating themselves with LM Star Autoworld’s cars. The Hydroxene device has been described once again as a device comprising of “a small canister in the engine compartment” and a 5 litre water tank in the boot. The separation of water into hydrogen and oxygen happens in the small canister in the engine bay, and the hydrogen is then injected into the engine. HFT claims the device is on test on 100 local taxis. Two models are available, a unit for carburetted cars priced at RM1,300 and RM2,300 for fuel injected cars.

It is an law in physics called the Conservation of Energy that the amount of energy in this universe is fixed and the amount of energy you can get out of something is equal to the amount of you put in. In such a device, there is energy used in separating the hydrogen and oxygen. You may end up using more power extracting the hydrogen out of the water than you will gain from burning it in the combustion process. A device that can create more energy than what is required to power it is called a Perpetual Motion Machine.

The arguement for many of these water fuel devices (there are plenty being advertised on the net, it is nothing new at all) is that the hydrogen provides many other benefits other than being a fuel for the combustion process – some include helping the combustion be more efficient in extracting power out of the carbon-based fuel (petrol, diesel) and also improved emissions. This MAY be where the improved fuel economy is coming from.

Using hydrogen as a supplemental “fuel” in a regular petrol combustion engine has even been the subject of an SAE paper (#2002-01-2196 Performance and Fuel Consumption Estimation of a Hydrogen Enriched Gasoline Engine at Part-Load Operation – I bought it for USD14.00). The paper discusses the idea of hydrogen being introduced into the combustion process to enable leaning out the air-fuel mixture – more air and less fuel required. The end result MAY be similiar to the fuel savings achieved by lean burn operation in a direct injection engine. I was shocked to read that the SAE paper found petrol consumption was reduced by up to 56% depending on conditions!

The other issue that may or may not be of concern is hydrogen embrittlement, where metals especially high-strengh steel can become brittle and crack when exposed to hydrogen. Exposing your combustion chamber to hydrogen may cause your cylinder to crack! Check out the wikipedia page I linked for more info about this. This is quite an issue in the hydrogen economy and engines that burn hydrogen (instead of using hydrogen in a fuel cell) such as the motor in BMW’s Hydrogen 7 and Mazda’s hydrogen-powered RENESIS have been specially designed to withstand this.

Why did Hydroxene disappear for a few years and appear now? Strategically now is a good time because of the recent fuel price increase, and a report by Malaysiakini also reported that the government has approved a RM100 million loan fund for public transport operators who want to install the Hydroxene system… how convenient!

Related Links:
Water4Gas – teaches you how to build your own hydrogen fuel module
Hydrogen embrittlement on Wikipedia
Perpetual motion on Wikipedia
Conservation of energy on Wikipedia
Hydrogen fuel enhancement on Wikipedia
Efficiency of Electrolysis of water on Wikipedia
Water-fueled car at Museum of Hoaxes
Popular Mechanics tests a water injection device that resulted in 20% worse fuel economy
Gas Saving and Emission Reduction Devices Evaluation by US EPA

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• oscarsmh (Member) on Jul 21, 2008 at 3:47 am

1st increase petrol price,later encourage us to use NGV,now Hydroxene water,after this wat again,use our fart to drive?

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Jul 21, 2008 at 6:13 am

1) If this is so good, why aren’t all the manufacturers doing it? Why waste time on CVVT/i-VTEC/i-DSI/VANOS/CVTC/VVTi/VVT and all that? Why not “just add water”?

2) Where’s the maths concerning all this? Has Hydrogen Fuel Technology (M) Sdn Bhd published any technical papers to explain how it works? Professors know the saying “Publish or Perish” very well.

3) Did HFT develop this by themselves in their own laboratories or are they just middlemen for some manufacturer?

• ... (Member) on Jul 21, 2008 at 7:42 am

As a lot of people claiming their stuff can “convert” water into hydrogen and oxygen without any hydrolysis involved; i am shocked as to why alot of people is duped, and that includes our PM! All this systems at best is a water injection systems, as used in turbocharged rally cars and was 1st used on piston-engined fighter planes in World War II. When water injected as a mist into the engine, it raises the compression as water cannot be compressed; and it cools the intake charge. That is where the additional power created from the water injection. If the water is not in a fine mist, it can stick to the walls of the intake manifold and drip into the engine, probably causing over compression and blow up the engine, similar to a car taking in water in a flood.

Most of the studies on Hydrogen supplemental fuel, does not invole a hydrogen “converter” installed in the car. Usually they use hydrogen stored in cylinders. To convert water into hydrogen inlvolves alot of energy and the energy from the hydogen created is less than what it takes to convert water into hydrogen in the 1st place.

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Jul 21, 2008 at 8:03 am

No, this isn’t the water injection/aquamist thing. I was thinking the same thing at first but it’s not!

This Hydroxene is actually claimed as being capable of SPLITTING water into hydrogen and oxygen, and then pumps it into the carb/throttle body to mix it with the fuel/air mixture and then this combo gets burnt in the combustion chambers. AMAZING isn’t it?

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Jul 21, 2008 at 8:27 am

If this was the miracle that it claims it is, won’t you think all manufacturers would be paying good money for this technology?

Imagine this application in hydrogen fuel cell vehicles.

Unless this “hyroxene canister” uses some form of magic catalyst, you’d be looking at more energy used to make the “hydroxene” than the amount of power you’d get out of it.

Seriously unless my high school chemistry has failed me, 5L of water will only give you 550grams of hydrogen by molecular weight..assuming 100% efficiency of the system.

• car_craze (Member) on Jul 21, 2008 at 8:31 am

Our G is desperate to simmer down the anger of the Rakyat due to the recent high fuel cost increase. So any Tom, Dick and Harry with a ‘bright idea’ is welcome. Better still if you got the right connections and get top Govt officials to ‘endorse’ it. Suddenly you got millions in ‘research grants’.

Yes, big car manufacturers like Toyota, GM, Ford, Merc, BMW, VW, etc would have done it earlier if they see it as feasible and SAFE.
    In Malaysia at the moment, NGV is still the cheapest and feasible alternative.

“Just add water” is applicable to 3 in 1 instant coffee mixtures until it is proven!

• farghmee (Member) on Jul 21, 2008 at 9:00 am

the H comes from Water by electrolysis process.
    theoretically it is ok.

some1 mentioned this Perpetual Motion Machine (PMM).
    in thermodynamics, any machine that disobey Laws of Thermodynamics is a PMM.
    logically, [input] = [output + losses]
    that means, [energy in] = [energy out]
    if [output + losses] > [input], then it’s a PMM.

from reading, it is claimed that the energy (electricity) required for electrolysis is obtained from the car alternator.

• kucau (Member) on Jul 21, 2008 at 9:06 am

56% fuel saving? If anybody can prove this HHO “scam” is working by als means please get a million dollar by entering this contest!

http://www.aardvark.co.nz/hho_challenge.shtml

• ... (Member) on Jul 21, 2008 at 9:18 am

Electrolysis energy from alternator is it? the alternator is powered by the engine, so that saps the energy made by the engine. if the energy needed to extract hydrogen from water is bigger than what it can produce (losses etc), the overall energy is actually lower. So whats the point?

• rt (Member) on Jul 21, 2008 at 9:23 am

I think it is possible. It is high-school electrolysis.

to illustrate farghmee

H2O plus energy from alternator -> HHO or H2 + O2

then combusted
    HHO + fuel -> H2O + combution + heat

The one in controversy is that runs purely on water!.

What I dont like about HFI is that they claimed that “It is locally developed technology” <– THATS A PILE OF S**T

RT.

• rexis (Member) on Jul 21, 2008 at 9:37 am

You print out lots of chemical formula and symbols to confuse people trying to amaze them. And you say its all come from a magical canister that noone in the world know its secret recipe.

Science, is not magic. Before anything is proven, its plain and simple bull manure.

– –

About the hydrogen lean burning.

Are they going to reduce my fuel mixture upon installation to allow leaner burning?
    – yes, then will my car broke down if the magic canister doesnt work as expected ie make enough hydrogen? Will my car generate enough hydrogen to start my engine? Will it drain my battery faster?
    – no, then why will it affect fuel consumtion? Especially halving the FC?

Will my car lose power or screwed up?

If the device do not take battery/alternator energy to generate H2, then what is it using? Do I need to replace or refill anything regularly? Dont tell me it is using cosmic dark energy resonance nanotechnology to generate hydrogen.

Why is it so secret? What can’t be revealed to public?

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Jul 21, 2008 at 10:09 am

I’m curious as to whether this has been approved for fitment on cars? Since this involves the fuel lines, it is a serious safety-related issue and JPJ’s Bahagian Teknik is usually involved in Type Approval/Homologation. Have they tested and approved this Hydroxene thing?

• azahan on Aug 03, 2010 at 2:40 am

this new technology doesnt need jpj aprovel… becos its a new gadget or more just like fitting radio to yur car

• kienchan (Member) on Jul 21, 2008 at 10:11 am

The conservation of energy will not hold water here if it is using the battery to produce hydrogen.
    However if hydrogen is mixed with petrol, it apparently produces more power therefore less petrol..
    Hey this was discussed in SAE 2002 paper and 6 years on still waiting for acceptance? What happens to the American and the Greenies?. Are they sleeping …Look at the carbon reduction to the environment and to the good to world economy..Is there a conspiracy not to allow such technology to prevail? Time will tell whether this will gain acceptance just like the NGV and the sceptics?

Paul Tan says: the energy to recharge the battery has to come from somewhere… working the alternator is not free.

• Roti Naan (Member) on Jul 21, 2008 at 10:23 am

I have a technology that can convert plain water into petrol….It’s a patented technology called “Watrol”. Wanna buy? buy 1 free 1…..

I think the GOVT would buy it too, buy even more If i got BIG CABLE…..

• alihms (Member) on Jul 21, 2008 at 12:27 pm

Confession of an inventor..

I have this technology and a patent for it. Somebody wants to buy it for US26M from me. Others with an eye for a quick buck would – but I won’t. I have a dream. I want to make it big myself. I want the whole world know, what I am capable of. I want to be among the 10 riches man in the world. Surely this wonderful technology can get me there.

Now, how do I achieve my dream. Do a tie-up with a car manufacturer. Oppss, no one wants to tie up with me. Proton and Perodua don’t want it. What about the big boys from Japan, Europe and US. Talked to them.. hmmm,, they are not interested. Well, some unknown dealer selling some unknown Chinese vehicle is willing. Okay – at least it’s better than nothing. One snag though. How to sell those “just add water” trucks in droves. It’s not yet ready! Oooo.. now I got it, I need publicity. I need exposure. Let get the Gov and the Press involved.

Wow! This free publicity made me famous the world over! After this, my fellow county-men surely would support me and buy those normal “just add tons and tons of petrol” trucks to get me started.

Two years has passed. How come no-one is buying my trucks? Why hasn’t anybody taking my bait? That won’t do it. I got to sever my ties with this truck dealer. I got to try another route. I’ll manufacture small canisters that perform this hydrogen conversion magic. And sell them to car owners. Sell ‘em cheap. But, I can’t include tank that hold the water along. That would cost me a bomb! Never mind – let the car manufacturers (or the car owners) provide that tank. Why should I ? Opps, my patent is about to expire. So I’d better renew it. Time to get the Gov and the press involved again.

And the saga continues…

• 2 dogs (Member) on Jul 21, 2008 at 1:33 pm

Our PM seriously suffering from Alziemer’s disease. Someone better help him remember when’s the last time he got conned. He even forgot sodomy has been charged before. Sad, real sad.

• rexis (Member) on Jul 21, 2008 at 2:40 pm

” think it is possible. It is high-school electrolysis.

… …

H2O plus energy from alternator -> HHO or H2 + O2

then combusted
    HHO + fuel -> H2O + combution + heat

The one in controversy is that runs purely on water!.

RT.”

The reason that this kind of things pop up and sometimes got attention is just because we have quite some people who has similar level of understanding of physics and chemistry as you.

I wonder did you really do electrolysis before. And you seem to imagin that you can just zap the magic canister and it will produce hydrogen and oxygen ions…

You must be using antimatter alternator.

• Bigjoe (Member) on Jul 21, 2008 at 2:57 pm

Many years ago, there was the son of this rich family from Sarawak who was very well connected who went around touting such hydoxene ideas to top leaders including some well known and globally respected ones. All the technocrats around who were engineers were sceptical but it did not prevent them from forcing the technocrats to spend considerable amount of time looking at the engineering. Low lifes like us looked into it and figured in a few minutes what those guys could not in months.

The way water actually produced hydrogen in that instance was using high electrical charge and a bit of acid but it basically burns the dynamo/storage batteries in the long run running the system. Law of conservation of energy applies.

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Jul 21, 2008 at 4:06 pm

Bigjoe said,
    July 21, 2008 @ 2:57 pm

Many years ago, there was the son of this rich family from Sarawak who was very well connected who went around touting such hydoxene ideas to top leaders including some well known and globally respected ones. All the technocrats around who were engineers were sceptical but it did not prevent them from forcing the technocrats to spend considerable amount of time looking at the engineering. Low lifes like us looked into it and figured in a few minutes what those guys could not in months.

The way water actually produced hydrogen in that instance was using high electrical charge and a bit of acid but it basically burns the dynamo/storage batteries in the long run running the system. Law of conservation of energy applies.

—————

Sometimes it takes a simple eye to get a clear perspective.

Of course there are many ways to make hydrogen. Just how many of it is sustainable and feasible.

Your last paragraph, sure sounds like how your standard lead acid battery produces hydrogen when you charge it. I don’t see anyone harnessing the H2 from it? right. Because it wasn’t feasible.

If they are using gallium-aluminum hydroxide system, they will eventually have to replace the canister as the aluminum will be used up. So how often do you have to change the cannisters? And then what do you do with the discarded/used up cannisters?

Besides, hygrogen carries less energy per g, therefore you’d have to use up a whole lot more water in weight to make that 50% savings in petrol.

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Jul 21, 2008 at 4:12 pm

..I wonder if you guys have ever seen an aluminum refinery operating.

If you have seen it, you will understand why aluminum is expensive and why its not practical in this application.

Granted this “hydroxene” system does have the benefit of easier storage of its reactants (compared to compressed/liquified hydrogen) but it makes little sense as a fuel source unless you have a nuclear power station just producing power to refine aluminum.

• rt (Member) on Jul 21, 2008 at 4:20 pm

dear rexis,

I’m not rocket scientist, but I know HHO as supplement fuel is possible. There might be side effects as highlighted by the article.
    You got the energy from the alternator. Few amps plus a little bit of catalyst is enough to produce a good electrolysis. From there, we would get your “hydrogen and oxygen ions”.

There is no magic in it. The magic word is “supplement fuel”.

What is not possible (yet) is for a vehicle to run purely on water.

As a matter of fact, I do plan to start an experiment on it.

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Jul 21, 2008 at 4:22 pm

Damn we should ask why the big car makers haven’t thought of such things?

• mrleehb (Member) on Jul 21, 2008 at 4:24 pm

apa pun, yg penting turunkan harga minyak. plzzz

kalau 1.62 sen/liter n save up to 50% selepas guna this product lagi jimat daripada harga minyak sekarang.

tq

• kei9 (Member) on Jul 21, 2008 at 4:34 pm

Ahh.. now there’s NGV n this
    Choices… are many.

• zikri (Member) on Jul 21, 2008 at 5:52 pm

Hi,

In general, some comments are correct while some are quite inaccurate. I can share some information from my exposure in automotive R&D for several companies in Europe

1. HFT IS NOT WATER INJECTION
    From our insiders info, it is like an Advanced Electrolysis System which produces hydrogen gas from splitting the molecules of H20. It still uses electricity but at a much lower rate compared to traditional electrolysis. It produces nearly “on demand” hydrogen.

2. METAL FATIGUE
    We have done our extensive research ( > 3 years) on hybrid systems ; including combination of petrol (isooctane) + pure hydrogen usage in normal ICE (internal combustion engine). After a simulation about 4-5 years usage (approx 120,000-150,000km) , there are risks of hairline crack in valve.

The research is done with our technological partners from Russia, Japan, Germany and France in several parts of the world, including Malaysia. The problem is the metal components were designed for petrol usage, and not hybrid. All hybrid cars that used hydrogen as fuel or partial fuel have stronger and improved internal components (especially the valves). The risks of crack or components failure may not affect all models, but some models are affected ( Campro engine is one of them).

This is due to the chemical reaction in the combustion chamber. Hydrogen that is spitted into the chamber is in an unstable manner (because only one charge is existence). Therefore, it will combine with petrol (CH) or sometimes oxygen (from air) , that produces water molecules.

Eg : HH + O = HHO (water)
    Eg2 : H + O = HO ( this molecule is unstable, need another +ve charge, H)

There are some more equations, but it will make most people more confused.

3. BY-PRODUCTS
    In theory, the system is very clean. In reality, it is clean but produces
    -a- hydrogen
    -b- oxygen
    -c- water

Hydrogen can negatively affect the components as explained before.
    Water molecules is also existed, although at small amount. In the short run (2-3 years) it is ok but in the long run, it can also affect on the internal combustion components for some engine.

4. ELECTRICITY
    The system need electric to run. Traditional theory suggest that the total energy produced is less than the energy that is needed to produce the hydrogen. However, the new system might have been significantly improved to produce more hydrogen / energy with much less energy.

5. CAR THAT 100% RUN ON WATER
    with the ICE system, it is nearly impossible. Only about 13-17% of the petrol we pour in our car actually make the car moving. Others are wasted through heat, frictions, etc. ICE is only about 13-17% efficient.

That is some of the main reason that car companies look at 3 main alternatives
    -a- hybrid ( petrol + electric)
    -b- electric
    -c- hydrogen

for -c- and -a-, it can uses the traditional ICE but for -b- , they use electric motor to run the tyre.

ELECTRONIC
    This is the biggest stumble block… increase in hydrogen ratio will significantly affect the calculations in ECU. Some cars give negative feedback (higher consumption, less power) due to the inaccurate calculations from the ECU. This type of cars has to be upgraded (the ECU) or reprogrammed.

IMHO
    Some cars can run on hybrid (petrol + hydrogen) with no problem. But some cars is not suitable. It is customer’s right to buy or not. But there are some risks of components failure that have actually kept a lot of manufacturers to improve their vehicles to cater for market demand ; better fuel consumption, better reliability and lower cost of maintenance.

• onzetool (Member) on Jul 21, 2008 at 6:19 pm

1st, the one who invented HHO in USA was murdered back in 1985, the day he signed USD30m deal with US defence. You guess why…

2nd, fuel consumption=combustion efficiency. Best modern internal combustion (ic) engine i.e with VVT, direct injection etc. effiency is arround 38% (correct me if i’m wrong). That means only 380ml of 1 litre fuel is burnt to move our car. The rest? wasted!
    How can fuel consumption is better obtained? Simple…
    H2 is burnt in gas form which can mix better with air. Petrol? injected in mist (particle) form. Should mix worse with air before burnt.
    More… H2 burn rate is much faster than petrol…
    So thats why the FC is better.

The skeptical fact is that H2 for ic engine will damage the component inside?
    If from liquified form I agree because changing form from liquid to gas will absorb energy, thus made the components involved changed to sub 0 deg C in temperature. That will made them become brittle!

HHO is always in gas form! So no temperature change…
    So let’s give the company its best try. If successful, it’ll benefit us.

• JULIANLEE2 (Member) on Jul 21, 2008 at 7:05 pm

oh great, more of his bullshit

• naz@proton (Member) on Jul 21, 2008 at 9:25 pm

rm2300 for fuel injection car cheap better then ngv, if this product is made in china mayb u guys keep quite…..! i see all the expert here why not open new department paul tan hyrofuel.org.

• rosdanteh (Member) on Jul 21, 2008 at 10:29 pm

Dear Zikri,

Looks like you had nailed down the issue.
    I share your thought!.

Cheers..

• saden (Member) on Jul 22, 2008 at 12:22 am

I have no idea how this works, but I speculate that it must be either one of two ways; 1)electrolysis or 2)catalyst

Electrolysis is NOT an energy positive process; meaning u get the same amount of energy as u provide to electrolyze (so why bother).

Catalysis is possible as mentioned on http://www.mail-archive.com/[email protected]/msg15496.html

The exact paper by Madey is not available anymore. But the idea is that water can dissociate on active metal surfaces. (Surface effect = catalysis). Madey used silver, other “hydrofuel” sites on the net use aluminium. Not sure how far this is practicable, but the theory is there.

Now, if the gentleman explaining this above said that it uses electricity, I don’t know how it deals with the conservation of energy. But maybe it is a combination of those two effecs?

• csv (Member) on Jul 22, 2008 at 12:26 am

i don’t know about any hydroxene this and that but i know LMG cars are shit.

i should know, i OWN one.

LMG Shuttle. 5 seats, 2.4 liter ancient mitsubishi engine.

underpowered, lousy assembly even worse than proton, panel gaps are the size of the mediterrean fault.

but, the features inside are not bad. blowers for 2nd row, display on rear view mirror.

other than that, nothing else, no just add water bullshit in the shuttle. absolutely no.

it’s a bitch trying to sell it off.

• topgunthang (Member) on Jul 22, 2008 at 1:49 am

personally i think its a disgrace that he is malaysian. and its a disgrace to put up his news on this blog. just look at him. this guy….an inventor or scientist?? if this guy’s technology was that successful….it wouldnt be selling in malaysia. but rather the US and japan and germany. This guy is taking the malaysian public for idiots. proton has made malaysia look stupid. dont let this guy make us even worse.

i feel that what this guy is doing is criminal. whats the criteria for becoming a dealer? initial purchase of 1000units of this hydroxene technology (which has been exposed to be a scam many times already)

• zikri (Member) on Jul 22, 2008 at 8:09 am

Hybrid (petrol + hydrogen) can work but not to all engines.

Most Carburetor car models (such as Iswara, old Wira, Kancil) can work. From our test, an average 20-35% is achievable, subject to driving conditions and driving style.

The challenging part is for fuel injected models, which is controlled by ICU and data feed by sensors. People in the NGV industry knew that Campro can work with NGV but risk of top overhaul after 100-150k is there, due to metal fatigue or here called “hydrogen embrittlement”. THere are also risks of ECU cannot work properly due to “wrong data feed” to the ECU (higher hydrogen ratio for intake).

Sometimes it is quite unfair to say Dr.Halim invention cannot work. His HFT product has actually been tested in several labs (with grants from Msian govt). As my comments earlier, it can work but some engine models are not recommended.

Readings and theories dig from internet also is valuable, but actual R&D is the key to accurate information. Every inventions or product has its advantages and disadvantages.

Technically, the product can work but not to all engine models. Price wise, it is quite on the higher side and once the economies of scale is there, I believe the price will be slightly reduced (due to increase of demand , but consistent increase of costs of steel based materials).

IMHO, new engines which uses high tensile steel or alloy for its internal components (esp. piston, intake valve) is more vulnerable to hydrogen enbrittlement. Older engines that uses more traditional steel is less vulnerable.

• rexis (Member) on Jul 22, 2008 at 11:27 am

Dear rt, I know, neither do I. These scientist wannabes are trying to fool us with pseudoscience.

Besides, we have plenty of rocket scientists here who assume that the hydrofuel system is working. We even have a hydrofuel representative here.

As usual, like the inventor, they FOCUS on the 2nd important factor, trying to DIVERT people’s attention on the magical canister, which is the heart source of the whole story.

Yes yes yes, hydrogen cause embrittlement, hydrogen explosion stronger, hydrogen clean, but WTF is generating the hydrogen?

• PrinceFamiliar (Member) on Jul 22, 2008 at 12:57 pm

Hi rexis,
    if you know how to read properly, you would know the answer from earlier post.

this technology is not new and it’s not entirely new tehcnology invented by this dr though.
    so why all the fuss?
    if you want to try his product or try to DIY on your car then go ahead.
    there’s a lot of people out there install it on their own.
    there’s a lot of manual on the internet on how to do it and it doesn’t cost much…less than RM200 i guess.

• osh_kosh (Member) on Jul 22, 2008 at 4:04 pm

csv,

bro.. u own a LMG? wow!! did u ask them what happened to those ‘magical’ canister that supposed to came along with it?

• RahXephon (Member) on Jul 22, 2008 at 7:55 pm

Hmmm. I couldn’t help but point out most of you guys don’t even understand what’s being discussed when it comes to HHO or Brown’s gas. I’ll simplify it:

Everyone with some reasonable science knows electrolysis can sepparate water into Hydrogen and Oxygen gasses. HOWEVER, the process of electrolysis consumes a LARGER amount of energy, when compared to the amount of energy you can generate out of the gasses through regular combustion. This is why, electrolysis is not used in hydrogen fuel cell cars where instead of storing hydrogen gas at high pressures, wy not just carry water and make the hydrogen on the fly?

Moving on, the supposed “new” thing here is HHO gas (NOT 2H2+02), called “brown’s gas”, which is quite un-intuitive, but is claimed (and in fact shown in industrial torches) to be able to burn well at very high temperatures, or assist in fuel combustion. Some people (on the Internet) have claimed that generating HHO is easy, requiring little power.

Personally, I think this is all crap. HHO in itself sounds a bit ridiculous, which is why most people assume it to be a hydrogen system. However, there are tonnes of videos and materials to read online, and to the inquisitive mind, they do show some interesting results. People have demonstrated with low voltages and amps, being able to produce large amounts of HHO, though of course, we don’t really know if they are lying or anything.

If this touted new technology is electrolysis and adding hydrogen to the fuel-air mixture, you can be sure it’s a scam and better to ignore it. However, If it’s talking about HHO, then maybe more R&D is warranted, as it has not been sufficiently proven, or disproven.

• torque (Member) on Jul 22, 2008 at 8:08 pm

Agree with Rosdanteh, thanks Zikri for your FAIR comments! Still, I’ll just sit on this and watch from here whether this “doctor” is talking bull or a savior! Nuff said!

• Andy214 (Member) on Jul 22, 2008 at 8:45 pm

Anybody notice what the PM says in the Malaykini news link in the last part of the article???

It says:
    Menurutnya, bagi mengurangkan penggantungan kepada petrol dan diesel, Malaysia tidak boleh lagi menjadi negara pengguna teknologi, tetapi sebaliknya pencipta teknologi.

“Saya dimaklumkan bahawa teknologi hidrofuel berkesan.
    Kerajaan memberi jaminan, teknologi yang berpotensi perlu diberi peluang untuk berkembang,” katanya.

Namun begitu, katanya, banyak penduduk tempatan tidak memberi perhatian kepada produk dalam negara.

“Ini perangai orang Malaysia, kurang yakin nak beli produk tempatan. Kalau produk dari negeri orang putih, mereka sokong, mereka beli.

“Oleh itu, kena beri sokongan kepada teknologi tempatan,” tambahnya.

—————

PENCIPTA TEKNOLOGI?
    WOW!!! Malaysian founded this idea and invented this this?

KERAJAAN MEMBERI JAMINAN…
    Oh wow… what type of “JAMINAN”?
    He didn’t mentioned he has tried it or install it on his cars, he says “Saya dimaklumkan”, he’s simply being told and then he just believe; then he give us “JAMINAN” and perhaps asking us to try because he’s being “maklumkan” it works.

TEKNOLOGI TEMPATAN?
    Again, WOW!

Just approve RM100 million like that by simply being told it works? So simple…

• dr_carz (Member) on Jul 23, 2008 at 11:19 am

bcause the doc is a malay u all say his idea is poop tahts all!

• DRC (Member) on Jul 23, 2008 at 6:13 pm

Malaysia always claims that she is as good as if not better than 1st world countries, now she proved that she is way ahead of Toyota if not RR.

• RahXephon (Member) on Jul 23, 2008 at 6:28 pm

@ dr_carz:

Maybe what he meant was jaminan that technology with potential will be allowed a chance to be developed? The comma in the sentence after jaminan seems a bit odd.

Try reading it this way:

“Kerajaan memberi jaminan teknologi yang berpotensi perlu diberi peluang untuk berkembang”

After all, it’s probably a transcript of a speech. Although the perlu there is still grammatically incorrect. Haha.

• Avant on Feb 17, 2009 at 1:08 am

I did not buy Halim's Hydrofuel hydrogen generator. I'm not promoting anyone's product. I built mine at my work place. It's possible to make hydrogen gas using very little energy. My very own generator produces about 1-litre of gas every 2-minutes, drawing 6 amps max. Helped me clocked additional 100-150km per full tank diesel in my 2500cc pickup.

Energy used:

12.0v X 6 amps max = 72 watt (engine off)

13.5v X 6 amps max = 81 watt (engine running)

For comparison purposes:

-Most standard in-car stereos are rated at 90 -120 watt nowadays.

-EACH of your front headlamp bulb is rated at 60 watt. U're already consuming 120 watt just by turning on your headlamps ALONE.

• PUAKA JALANAN on Sep 25, 2009 at 5:17 am

Aku dah tengok benda alah ni yang depa pasang keta carburator dan juga injection. It's working mannnn.. It's working… from SP to Kelantan, Terengganu, Pahang and KL with 1full tank. No refuelling.

• waywalker on Jan 08, 2012 at 3:29 pm

Can anyone come forward and say it doesn’t work after testing it? It’s a most simple request.

• PURNAMA MERINDU on Jul 18, 2012 at 1:33 pm

wow.. rasist nya stement2 bangsat2 dalam nie.. kalau hanya kerana ia ciptaan ank tempatan dan melayu ia x elok serta bagus? article ini pun byk nk perlecehkan usaha yg ingin dilakukan.. well biasa lah writer pun bangsa C mana mungkin mahu bersikap adil. by the way bangsa bangsa nie lagi dengki serta iri hati.. maklumlah jenis bangsa bangsat, dapat duduk di tanah air org lain pun x tau syukur lagi. korang patut bersyukur yg pemerintahan negara ini dari dulu dan sekarang x pernah meminggirkan bangsa lain2.. cuma korang jer x tau sykur.

• warp net site on Nov 24, 2012 at 9:09 pm

Slovakia is also a country of transit of Russian gas to Western Europe – mainly Germany. This gives Slovakia an instrument of defence against possible Russian energy blackmail, because in the present situation it is not possible for Russia to cut Slovakia off the gas, or rise prices dramatically without doing the same thing to Western Europe. Slovakia can influence indirectly the price of gas transported through its territory, by setting high transit prices, however Slovakia does not use this instrument.