Nissan Grand Livina 1.8 Automatic Review

Seven seater multi-purpose vehicles (MPV) is a popular segment of automobiles in Malaysia, more so the sub-RM100k ones. So much so, Malaysians seem to lap up practically all of the affordable MPV models being dished out to them.
This brings us to Nissan’s answer to Toyota’s low cost Avanza, and to a certain extent the Innova. However, unlike the Avanza, the Latio-based Grand Livina is more akin to the Honda Stream 1.8 and the Toyota Wish 2.0, possibly just a few inches shorter but returns some RM50k in spare change!
Read a test drive review of the Nissan Grand Livina after the jump.

At the time of writing, the Nissan Grand Livina waiting period is an average 4 to 6 months down the road (depending upon variants), with 16,000 customers logged by Edaran Tan Chong Motors (ETCM) since launch in December last year.
So what makes the Grand Livina so desirable and worth waiting for? Ask any buyer out there the answers will invariably be its 7-seating capacity and its sub-100k pricing. The purposeful lower slung, sedan-like or more appropriately station wagon (SW) stance has enhanced its aesthetics appeal over its competitors.
Truth be told, the Livina’s dashboard is also better looking than the Latio’s, and better made (multi grade textured plastics et al) than the other van-type budget MPVs out there. Though not a fan of fake wood inserts in a car’s cabin, Nissan’s non-glossy items are pretty convincing and somehow nicely accentuating the Grand Livina’s 1.8 interior.

In addition, utilising Latio’s monocoque platform did lend some credibility towards better ride pliancy, lower centre of gravity and therefore more responsive handling. Driving the Grand Livina is a light and easy affair, with the Renault-Nissan’s MR18DE a peppy little 4-pot paired with a feathery and responsive throttle. The MPV can breach highway speed limits easily, with cruising a calm and serene affair at triple digits speed.
On full load, the Grand Livina 1.8 did not disappoint with its load hauling ability. For figure heads (no pun intended) who are turned on by numbers, Nissan’s 1798cc block with CVTC churns out 126ps at 5,200rpm and 174Nm of torque at 4,800rpm. Incidentally this is exactly the same engine specs as the Latio 1.8.
Though softly sprung, throwing this Nissan into corners is met with good confidence i.e. progressive roll and understeer as you become more ambitious around bends. Typical of any electric powered steering (EPS) system, the Livina’s rack is light and easy to manouvre, albeit a little vague at times. Braking is never an issue with its disc-drum combo for the front and rear axles respectively.

The leather seats are reasonably comfy for short drive (perhaps to destinations within an hour or so), with the arch for lumbar support a little lacking and the seat bottom a tad too flat. Passengers comfort may be compromised on those long interstate jaunts. There are also no ISOFIX points for child seats at the 2nd row.
The numerous tug strips or synthetic fabric bands meant to flip and tumble of the 2nd and 3rd rows can be quite a pain to use, conveying a flimsy and cheap execution of things. You need to really tug or pull quite hard and they don’t seem too ergonomic and tactile to use. Something tells me that the good old lever and handles would be better.
Absence of 3rd row back rest split folding also hampers flexibility and practicality should one decides to seat 2-3-1 with half of third row space used for some baggages. Having a wheelbase that’s 100mm or so shorter than C-segment platforms based MPVs (Stream and Wish) does have its shortcomings in cabin space for the 2nd and 3rd row passengers. Leg rooms do get a bit tight for the back passengers and fitting three abreast in 2nd row is definitely snug for three full-grown adults. Thankfully the 2nd bench is adjustable fore/aft for more leg space, applicable when the 3rd row isn’t occupied.

Air-conditioning for the interior cabin is adequate, with the 3rd row occupants not feeling stuffy on hot-sunny days provided they are not BMI challenged (plus sized). After all, this place is mostly meant for kids below 12 years of age. The 2nd row mini A/C vents worked reasonably well as an adjunct to the main A/C vents at the centre of the dash up front. Cabin ambience is airy mostly with expansive glass areas and two-tone interiors.
The front doors don’t close with the “industrial-standard” reassuring thud as the rear and this is likely attributed to the thin upper-portion only (half-cut) rubber door seal on the body. On the tester unit a couple of door hinges’ mounting nuts was found to have rusted and this may point to lapse in QC in the interest of cost-cutting for this Indonesian sourced MPV (CKD pack).
Lack of cubby holes aft to the gear shift lever, with only two measly water-bottle holders serves to limit the family utility appeal somewhat. The door pockets are rather slim with no bottle holders mould, not even in front. After having owned a Toyota Innova 2.0G Auto back in 2006, I found the lack of a centre console box cum armrest (just aft and above hand brake lever) disabling, while the glove box was quite hopeless in holding down stuffs like keys and small personal items – they get flung about noisily in that boxy little thing! Then again, perhaps I am more used to the drop-down parcel type of glovebox.
All in all, despite some perceived shortcomings in the Grand Livina 1.8, it is very much a value buy with strong practical points, a trusted brandname, a decent drive and most importantly, relatively affordable. It is with this, that possibly the Grand Livina could have used the tag line “The Ideal MPV”, taking a leaf from the marketing caption of another recently launched midi-SUV.
Story by Dr. Max Long

July 21, 2008 @ 6:16 pm
exterior and interior looks are really good. pity about the 3rd row seats, but with that price, it is still worth it.
July 21, 2008 @ 6:18 pm
what about the FC?
July 21, 2008 @ 6:39 pm
Haha, this review just come at the right time. I was sitting in and driving my fren’s serena for the past few weeks. And we did talked about trade-in his 11 yrs old serena to grand livina. But he’s not sure about this MPV. Well now, i can just show him this report. Thanks, paul!!
July 21, 2008 @ 6:44 pm
the storage place is not many for an mpv
and it should come with a arm rest like the one in civic or city
tat kind is nice
if they are second blower
tat would be a great reward for the car
but overall
in sub 100k price
you are not possible to find another mpv which can offer such thing to you
its c/p value is high
July 21, 2008 @ 7:05 pm
THIS IS ONE UGLY CAR
July 21, 2008 @ 7:28 pm
can you find any better looking mpv under 100k than grand livina??
July 21, 2008 @ 7:38 pm
mct said,
July 21, 2008 @ 7:28 pm
can you find any better looking mpv under 100k than grand livina??
==========================================
yup so true. ugly ugly . but when come to price and whay their are offering, still worth it.
p/s. front-side aircond like gen-2 stail loh!!
July 21, 2008 @ 7:42 pm
lol
if this is ugly
i dont know what is avanza man…
HEDIOUS
hahaha…my parent own one…sometimes i sit inside and drive also feel abit shameful
July 21, 2008 @ 9:11 pm
yea…livina, rush, avanza, innova, unser….all of them, the choice of cars for the uncles and aunties
July 21, 2008 @ 10:10 pm
OK.
it looks nice, but I’ll wait for Proton MPV.
July 21, 2008 @ 11:49 pm
i think it’s pretty damn good value for money. not that far off from the WISH or Stream but still better than avanza.
anyway, despite how many people say it’s ugly, you gotta know what people in this market want which is not looks, but praticality.
and in that aspect, it has succeeded.
July 22, 2008 @ 1:33 am
cars for uncles and aunties?
this is the car for the real world and real people… you cannot compare it to the car of your dream…
in the real world, we need to earn a living, provide food, shelter and everything for our family and whatever money left is to be used for the most practical transport.
we all want to have ferraris and lambos in our garage… but we simply cant, we have other priorities. its a choice between flashy car or food.
July 22, 2008 @ 8:15 am
Uncles and aunties? lol.
I have this car on my shopping list. I’m not that old.
Its practical and “affordable”. Having taken a close look at it, I still think the Latio’s fit and finish is still loads better, and the plastics and switchgear feels a little cheap and flimsy.
The non split fold 3rd row is an oversight, but probably so to save costs.
July 22, 2008 @ 8:53 am
if the anticipated proton mpv is not nicer than this grand livina,
i’ll opt for livina.
hmm..i can live with the beige&cream dashboard
exterior: simple
interior: should be more spaces for small things, well…it is mpv, isn’t it?
July 22, 2008 @ 9:20 am
Well at least i like livina’s grill. Its a nice car for family day or pickup relatives from KLIA.
July 22, 2008 @ 4:49 pm
why can’t we have something like the ford focus c-max?
July 22, 2008 @ 5:52 pm
Don’t condemn this car because of it looks cheap. With the price tag like this, you just can’t expent to have a Estima look alike condition.
Be fair~!
July 22, 2008 @ 8:34 pm
the rusted nut is funny, no wonder nissan decided built parts the GT-R in a lab…
July 23, 2008 @ 11:13 am
Julianlee2, can you be certain that Ford Focus C-Max be priced under 100k. Cars for uncles and aunties you say? What do you drive then?
July 23, 2008 @ 11:17 am
I am a proud owner of a 1.8 version in white. Waited 2 moths ++ but hey, thats when you pay a little more premium and follow on with strong persistence. The exterior actually will look good (at least to me) with some nice tinting and some light modifications. No complaints so far on the ‘ugliness’ and did received some good comments from friends and colleagues.
Spacing : Family oriented, 6 adults + 1 baby chair fits nicely with only enough baggage room left for a baby stroller.
FC : With the new increment, I am doing at RM0.27 / 0.28 fully town drive and some hilly areas before 1st minor service. Not too bad considering my VIOS working it up at RM0.233 at the moment.
Value for money : Again, in my little dream world, I would be driving a much better car, more sporty, more leg room, more this and that but in reality with considerations from all angle, it is the best of its class. No complaints from 2nd or 3rd row passenger as of now even along bumpy roads or hot sunny days as compared to AVANZA.
I am available for sharing but only preferably with facts.
August 12, 2008 @ 1:49 pm
i cant decide which one should i buy 1.8 or 1.6 …….. as far as i know 1.8 and 1.6 is excatly the same except some interior refurbishment and the engine c.c in which 1.8 are better .. else is the same from dimension to tyre size …..
which one is more value to buy …??? and why 1.6 have to wait longer than 1.8 ??
p.s G.Livina not for uncles or aunties .. i am 25 these year …..
November 9, 2008 @ 3:49 pm
Hi all,
I’m looking for some opinion on Grand Livina. I’m considering to purchase Grand Livina 1.6 Automatic. Appreciate if I can get some information before I decide to proceed with the purchase. Areas of concern are:-
1) Performance of 1.6 Auto compared to the body
2) Petrol consumption liter / kilometer or RM / Kilometer (based on current petrol price – if applicable)
3) Aerokit – is it optional or factory fixed with the car.
4) Other footnote information for new buyers
Should anybody have any information on the above, can you share it with me here.
P/S : I strongly believe that Grand Livina’s price suits the package offered & the style is not for uncles and aunties…. It’s a new generation MPV.
Cheers
January 20, 2009 @ 4:25 pm
Hi, i’m looking for some opinion on MPV. Is Grand Livina air cond. is enough cold for the 3rd row seater because the cup holder is above the air cond, at the 2nd row.
February 8, 2009 @ 5:35 pm
ya….you will become 1 of the auntie too…
will you still need 1??? you only get what you affordable, its a very realistic world.
March 6, 2009 @ 9:33 am
this car really practical n affordable.
so what?
April 1, 2009 @ 10:48 pm
Livina with Impul 108k+ NICE!!!!!!!!!!! no more aunty uncle right? Thanks to your critics created which lead Nissan to force their Impul team to design better look kit…..
April 21, 2009 @ 8:00 am
[quote comment="171945"]yea…livina, rush, avanza, innova, unser….all of them, the choice of cars for the uncles and aunties[/quote]
You are also an uncle/auntie if not someday. I am sure you have some nieces and nephews. Please don’t look down on your uncles/aunties.
April 21, 2009 @ 12:15 pm
this car is not worth for space compared to its price
July 10, 2009 @ 8:59 am
Hm… ugly??? Not really i think.. just need 17″ sport rim, lowered spring and body kit… than shouldn’t be any problem. But difficult to get lower spring from accessories shop unless from nissan
July 23, 2009 @ 12:42 pm
Hi,
I am going to have a Livina by Sept. ‘09. It is a blessing from God and all i will do by then is appreciate it. In everything give thanks. God bless us all!
August 20, 2009 @ 11:44 am
With color looks more sporty with IMPULS bodykit? ..Silver?? Black?? White??
Vote / comment please..thanks
September 30, 2009 @ 9:46 am
why i saw a lot of 2nd hand Grand Livina 1.8 are reselling if compare with 1.6 cc. Is it 1.8 hav any problem?
October 12, 2009 @ 11:49 am
just bought 1.8 impul Grand Livina……very nice car….the space is nto much different as compared to stream / wish..
speeding and handling also nice…
top speed so far can reach 190 to 200 km/ h
October 18, 2009 @ 2:20 pm
getting one soon. like this car even that i am not a family man. can carry much golf clubs. spacious enough. also can read news papers sitting at the rear and rest your legs in the 2nd row seat down.
1.8L better & more efficient engine, cud save petrol.
2nd row seats can be moved backwards for leg space. usually my 3rd row is empty as i dont hv many passengers.
October 19, 2009 @ 11:57 am
so it is good to buy, fren
November 5, 2009 @ 2:23 pm
for those who want to buy, my advice is dont. i own livina, after 6 month feel very frustrated, aircond problem, sent to service centre and told that need to be service n need to pay rm500. service not cover under warranty, asked why so expensive, they told that need to change air filter. after service still same and send again to TCEAS. after that i know that they sent to 3rd party to service aircon. after 3 times service still not ok. so my advice find other car not livina especially for those who have a small children like me…. so now my livina only park at porch and use my proton BLM, bcoz my family refused to use livina so hot….
November 10, 2009 @ 12:15 am
Best MPV driven so far under RM100K. Have tested Toyota Rush and Cherry Eastar. Both of them not up to expectation. Rush underpower and Eastar interior finishing very poor. Naza Ria 2009 not bad but a total fuel guzzler. Have taken delivery of my light gold GL 1.8 last month. So far very satisfied with it. Can’t wait to test out next month for a trip down to KL from Penang with my family….
November 21, 2009 @ 12:44 pm
despite all, this is the only MPV i can afford ..
travel all the way fom johor to penang now n then