Nissan Grand Livina 1.8 Automatic Review

Nissan Grand Livina

Seven seater multi-purpose vehicles (MPV) is a popular segment of automobiles in Malaysia, more so the sub-RM100k ones. So much so, Malaysians seem to lap up practically all of the affordable MPV models being dished out to them.

This brings us to Nissan’s answer to Toyota’s low cost Avanza, and to a certain extent the Innova. However, unlike the Avanza, the Latio-based Grand Livina is more akin to the Honda Stream 1.8 and the Toyota Wish 2.0, possibly just a few inches shorter but returns some RM50k in spare change!

Read a test drive review of the Nissan Grand Livina after the jump.

Nissan Grand Livina

At the time of writing, the Nissan Grand Livina waiting period is an average 4 to 6 months down the road (depending upon variants), with 16,000 customers logged by Edaran Tan Chong Motors (ETCM) since launch in December last year.

So what makes the Grand Livina so desirable and worth waiting for? Ask any buyer out there the answers will invariably be its 7-seating capacity and its sub-100k pricing. The purposeful lower slung, sedan-like or more appropriately station wagon (SW) stance has enhanced its aesthetics appeal over its competitors.

Truth be told, the Livina’s dashboard is also better looking than the Latio’s, and better made (multi grade textured plastics et al) than the other van-type budget MPVs out there. Though not a fan of fake wood inserts in a car’s cabin, Nissan’s non-glossy items are pretty convincing and somehow nicely accentuating the Grand Livina’s 1.8 interior.

Nissan Grand Livina

In addition, utilising Latio’s monocoque platform did lend some credibility towards better ride pliancy, lower centre of gravity and therefore more responsive handling. Driving the Grand Livina is a light and easy affair, with the Renault-Nissan’s MR18DE a peppy little 4-pot paired with a feathery and responsive throttle. The MPV can breach highway speed limits easily, with cruising a calm and serene affair at triple digits speed.

On full load, the Grand Livina 1.8 did not disappoint with its load hauling ability. For figure heads (no pun intended) who are turned on by numbers, Nissan’s 1798cc block with CVTC churns out 126ps at 5,200rpm and 174Nm of torque at 4,800rpm. Incidentally this is exactly the same engine specs as the Latio 1.8.

Though softly sprung, throwing this Nissan into corners is met with good confidence i.e. progressive roll and understeer as you become more ambitious around bends. Typical of any electric powered steering (EPS) system, the Livina’s rack is light and easy to manouvre, albeit a little vague at times. Braking is never an issue with its disc-drum combo for the front and rear axles respectively.

Nissan Grand Livina

The leather seats are reasonably comfy for short drive (perhaps to destinations within an hour or so), with the arch for lumbar support a little lacking and the seat bottom a tad too flat. Passengers comfort may be compromised on those long interstate jaunts. There are also no ISOFIX points for child seats at the 2nd row.

The numerous tug strips or synthetic fabric bands meant to flip and tumble of the 2nd and 3rd rows can be quite a pain to use, conveying a flimsy and cheap execution of things. You need to really tug or pull quite hard and they don’t seem too ergonomic and tactile to use. Something tells me that the good old lever and handles would be better.

Absence of 3rd row back rest split folding also hampers flexibility and practicality should one decides to seat 2-3-1 with half of third row space used for some baggages. Having a wheelbase that’s 100mm or so shorter than C-segment platforms based MPVs (Stream and Wish) does have its shortcomings in cabin space for the 2nd and 3rd row passengers. Leg rooms do get a bit tight for the back passengers and fitting three abreast in 2nd row is definitely snug for three full-grown adults. Thankfully the 2nd bench is adjustable fore/aft for more leg space, applicable when the 3rd row isn’t occupied.

Nissan Grand Livina

Air-conditioning for the interior cabin is adequate, with the 3rd row occupants not feeling stuffy on hot-sunny days provided they are not BMI challenged (plus sized). After all, this place is mostly meant for kids below 12 years of age. The 2nd row mini A/C vents worked reasonably well as an adjunct to the main A/C vents at the centre of the dash up front. Cabin ambience is airy mostly with expansive glass areas and two-tone interiors.

The front doors don’t close with the “industrial-standard” reassuring thud as the rear and this is likely attributed to the thin upper-portion only (half-cut) rubber door seal on the body. On the tester unit a couple of door hinges’ mounting nuts was found to have rusted and this may point to lapse in QC in the interest of cost-cutting for this Indonesian sourced MPV (CKD pack).

Lack of cubby holes aft to the gear shift lever, with only two measly water-bottle holders serves to limit the family utility appeal somewhat. The door pockets are rather slim with no bottle holders mould, not even in front. After having owned a Toyota Innova 2.0G Auto back in 2006, I found the lack of a centre console box cum armrest (just aft and above hand brake lever) disabling, while the glove box was quite hopeless in holding down stuffs like keys and small personal items – they get flung about noisily in that boxy little thing! Then again, perhaps I am more used to the drop-down parcel type of glovebox.

All in all, despite some perceived shortcomings in the Grand Livina 1.8, it is very much a value buy with strong practical points, a trusted brandname, a decent drive and most importantly, relatively affordable. It is with this, that possibly the Grand Livina could have used the tag line “The Ideal MPV”, taking a leaf from the marketing caption of another recently launched midi-SUV.

Story by Dr. Max Long

Nissan Grand Livina

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Jie (Member) on Jul 21, 2008 at 6:16 pm

exterior and interior looks are really good. pity about the 3rd row seats, but with that price, it is still worth it.

• i like this car, but the problem that not satisfied is the audio system still using compact disc format no mp3 format, usb port, blue tooth, compare to other like alza car example good in audio. Very sad

• kimochi on Mar 26, 2012 at 10:01 am

what’s wrong with cd format? original cds are clearer than mp3s and you can just plug your ipod in…

• austin_cipan (Member) on Jul 21, 2008 at 6:18 pm

what about the FC?

• jhuan (Member) on Jul 21, 2008 at 6:39 pm

Haha, this review just come at the right time. I was sitting in and driving my fren’s serena for the past few weeks. And we did talked about trade-in his 11 yrs old serena to grand livina. But he’s not sure about this MPV. Well now, i can just show him this report. Thanks, paul!!

• mct (Member) on Jul 21, 2008 at 6:44 pm

the storage place is not many for an mpv
    and it should come with a arm rest like the one in civic or city
    tat kind is nice
    if they are second blower
    tat would be a great reward for the car
    but overall
    in sub 100k price
    you are not possible to find another mpv which can offer such thing to you
    its c/p value is high

• JULIANLEE2 (Member) on Jul 21, 2008 at 7:05 pm

THIS IS ONE UGLY CAR

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 11
  • mct (Member) on Jul 21, 2008 at 7:28 pm

can you find any better looking mpv under 100k than grand livina??

• adunadun (Member) on Jul 21, 2008 at 7:38 pm

mct said,
    July 21, 2008 @ 7:28 pm

can you find any better looking mpv under 100k than grand livina??

==========================================
    yup so true. ugly ugly . but when come to price and whay their are offering, still worth it.
    p/s. front-side aircond like gen-2 stail loh!! :)

• skyblas (Member) on Jul 21, 2008 at 7:42 pm

lol
    if this is ugly
    i dont know what is avanza man…
    HEDIOUS
    hahaha…my parent own one…sometimes i sit inside and drive also feel abit shameful

• JULIANLEE2 (Member) on Jul 21, 2008 at 9:11 pm

yea…livina, rush, avanza, innova, unser….all of them, the choice of cars for the uncles and aunties

• rosdanteh (Member) on Jul 21, 2008 at 10:10 pm

OK.
    it looks nice, but I’ll wait for Proton MPV.

• csv (Member) on Jul 21, 2008 at 11:49 pm

i think it’s pretty damn good value for money. not that far off from the WISH or Stream but still better than avanza.

anyway, despite how many people say it’s ugly, you gotta know what people in this market want which is not looks, but praticality.

and in that aspect, it has succeeded.

• elpaciko (Member) on Jul 22, 2008 at 1:33 am

cars for uncles and aunties?

this is the car for the real world and real people… you cannot compare it to the car of your dream…

in the real world, we need to earn a living, provide food, shelter and everything for our family and whatever money left is to be used for the most practical transport.

we all want to have ferraris and lambos in our garage… but we simply cant, we have other priorities. its a choice between flashy car or food.

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Jul 22, 2008 at 8:15 am

Uncles and aunties? lol.

I have this car on my shopping list. I’m not that old.

Its practical and “affordable”. Having taken a close look at it, I still think the Latio’s fit and finish is still loads better, and the plastics and switchgear feels a little cheap and flimsy.

The non split fold 3rd row is an oversight, but probably so to save costs.

• farghmee (Member) on Jul 22, 2008 at 8:53 am

if the anticipated proton mpv is not nicer than this grand livina,
    i’ll opt for livina.
    hmm..i can live with the beige&cream dashboard ;)

exterior: simple
    interior: should be more spaces for small things, well…it is mpv, isn’t it?

• rexis (Member) on Jul 22, 2008 at 9:20 am

Well at least i like livina’s grill. Its a nice car for family day or pickup relatives from KLIA.

• JULIANLEE2 (Member) on Jul 22, 2008 at 4:49 pm

why can’t we have something like the ford focus c-max?

• mokkf82 (Member) on Jul 22, 2008 at 5:52 pm

Don’t condemn this car because of it looks cheap. With the price tag like this, you just can’t expent to have a Estima look alike condition.
    Be fair~!

• abtm (Member) on Jul 22, 2008 at 8:34 pm

the rusted nut is funny, no wonder nissan decided built parts the GT-R in a lab…

• Auto_crat (Member) on Jul 23, 2008 at 11:13 am

Julianlee2, can you be certain that Ford Focus C-Max be priced under 100k. Cars for uncles and aunties you say? What do you drive then?

• proximal (Member) on Jul 23, 2008 at 11:17 am

I am a proud owner of a 1.8 version in white. Waited 2 moths ++ but hey, thats when you pay a little more premium and follow on with strong persistence. The exterior actually will look good (at least to me) with some nice tinting and some light modifications. No complaints so far on the ‘ugliness’ and did received some good comments from friends and colleagues.

Spacing : Family oriented, 6 adults + 1 baby chair fits nicely with only enough baggage room left for a baby stroller.

FC : With the new increment, I am doing at RM0.27 / 0.28 fully town drive and some hilly areas before 1st minor service. Not too bad considering my VIOS working it up at RM0.233 at the moment.

Value for money : Again, in my little dream world, I would be driving a much better car, more sporty, more leg room, more this and that but in reality with considerations from all angle, it is the best of its class. No complaints from 2nd or 3rd row passenger as of now even along bumpy roads or hot sunny days as compared to AVANZA.

I am available for sharing but only preferably with facts.

• proximal on Aug 20, 2010 at 5:57 pm

Well, i am sharing again after 2 years with the NGL.
      Only problem I see thus far, as my auntie got a NGL last year as well was the battery. Typical life span should be 2 years ++ for a battery but mine konk-ed after 1.5year and my auntie’s after a year. My advice, change to a dry battery and just keep on changing it after every 2 years.

FC: Current petrol consumption for city drive is still at RM0.17 or less and is still good as compared to my VIOS which is also doing the exact same price. Mine is a 1.8 and of course it is better compared to the 1.6 for up hill drive or even long distance drive. I did compare as well as I said, my family has 2.

Comparatively, the handling of NGL is much better than the VIOS for my case. It is much lighter and responded much better.

So far, no complaints to the AC, 3rd row pretty comfortable and mine is still working fine thus far (touch wood). I think good maintenance and scheduled service helped.

Only problem thus far is, it seems to me NISSAN charges more for service compared to a TOYOTA. I compared the service pricing side by side.

Again, I think people should only comment from actual experience and compare apple to apple for all cases. I still think it is good value for money after 2 years and best of its class as i got mine under 100K. Would I prefer a WISH? Of course i would but am I willing to pay that? Its still a WISH for a WISH.

• leeloo on Oct 08, 2010 at 11:36 am

Thank you proximal for both your posts – especially the 2 year follow-up.

• Taufique on Nov 13, 2010 at 2:32 am

Hey Proximal, im really considering to buy an MPV and NGL is on my list. What i really am wondering is whether you can put any child seats into the car? I hope you can assist me in this quite important question as i have a baby on the way, rather not make a mistake buying an mpv which doesnt allow baby seats.

• Taufique on Nov 13, 2010 at 2:32 am

Hey Proximal, im really considering to buy an MPV and NGL is on my list. What i really am wondering is whether you can put any child seats into the car? I hope you can assist me in this quite important question as i have a baby on the way, rather not make a mistake buying an mpv which doesnt allow baby seats.

• sammy on Jul 01, 2013 at 10:45 pm

Hey there, I’m also driving an ‘unker’ car to work from Puchong to KL and FC is quite good considering I top up every week at ard RM65 to full from 3 quarters down.

I also have CRZ for weekends so I still tresure this cheaper alternative to the Wish and Stream which are smaller in space or the awful Azanzaa which is more of a cheapo car in which the owners think that driving a T elevates them to ‘rich’ status…lol!

• kelv83 (Member) on Aug 12, 2008 at 1:49 pm

i cant decide which one should i buy 1.8 or 1.6 …….. as far as i know 1.8 and 1.6 is excatly the same except some interior refurbishment and the engine c.c in which 1.8 are better .. else is the same from dimension to tyre size …..

which one is more value to buy …??? and why 1.6 have to wait longer than 1.8 ??

p.s G.Livina not for uncles or aunties .. i am 25 these year …..

• fadlymk (Member) on Nov 09, 2008 at 3:49 pm

Hi all,

I’m looking for some opinion on Grand Livina. I’m considering to purchase Grand Livina 1.6 Automatic. Appreciate if I can get some information before I decide to proceed with the purchase. Areas of concern are:-

1) Performance of 1.6 Auto compared to the body
    2) Petrol consumption liter / kilometer or RM / Kilometer (based on current petrol price – if applicable)
    3) Aerokit – is it optional or factory fixed with the car.
    4) Other footnote information for new buyers

Should anybody have any information on the above, can you share it with me here.

P/S : I strongly believe that Grand Livina’s price suits the package offered & the style is not for uncles and aunties…. It’s a new generation MPV.

Cheers

• Im getting some info about this Livina especially New Grand Livina in market. For the fuel concumption is about RM0.14-RM0.16 only per kilometer which is much more cheaper than Avanza, Altis and Alza.

1.6 Auto is ok for long distance also compared to 1.8 Auto is a bit cheper for the fuel consumption but in short distance, 1.6 Auto is prefer.

Aerokit is depends on your requirement. If you choose not to buy with Aerokit body is ok but if come with Aerokit look more sporty.

But for medium family is very comfortable and safe and when you drive is same like drive a saloon car and not like van.

• ccl (Member) on Jan 20, 2009 at 4:25 pm

Hi, i’m looking for some opinion on MPV. Is Grand Livina air cond. is enough cold for the 3rd row seater because the cup holder is above the air cond, at the 2nd row.

• branoon (Member) on Feb 08, 2009 at 5:35 pm

ya….you will become 1 of the auntie too…
    will you still need 1??? you only get what you affordable, its a very realistic world.

• this car really practical n affordable.

so what?

• Garry Khoo on Apr 02, 2009 at 6:48 am

Livina with Impul 108k+ NICE!!!!!!!!!!! no more aunty uncle right? Thanks to your critics created which lead Nissan to force their Impul team to design better look kit….. :)

• uncle on Apr 21, 2009 at 4:00 pm

[quote comment="171945"]yea…livina, rush, avanza, innova, unser….all of them, the choice of cars for the uncles and aunties[/quote]

You are also an uncle/auntie if not someday. I am sure you have some nieces and nephews. Please don't look down on your uncles/aunties.

• this car is not worth for space compared to its price

• Hm… ugly??? Not really i think.. just need 17" sport rim, lowered spring and body kit… than shouldn't be any problem. But difficult to get lower spring from accessories shop unless from nissan

• Jocyfel Ibuyan on Jul 23, 2009 at 8:42 pm

Hi,

I am going to have a Livina by Sept. '09. It is a blessing from God and all i will do by then is appreciate it. In everything give thanks. God bless us all!

• Mikay on Aug 20, 2009 at 7:44 pm

With color looks more sporty with IMPULS bodykit? ..Silver?? Black?? White??

Vote / comment please..thanks

• sarah on Sep 30, 2009 at 5:46 pm

why i saw a lot of 2nd hand Grand Livina 1.8 are reselling if compare with 1.6 cc. Is it 1.8 hav any problem?

• john doe on Oct 12, 2009 at 7:49 pm

just bought 1.8 impul Grand Livina……very nice car….the space is nto much different as compared to stream / wish..

speeding and handling also nice…

top speed so far can reach 190 to 200 km/ h

• kwong on Oct 18, 2009 at 10:20 pm

getting one soon. like this car even that i am not a family man. can carry much golf clubs. spacious enough. also can read news papers sitting at the rear and rest your legs in the 2nd row seat down.

1.8L better & more efficient engine, cud save petrol.

2nd row seats can be moved backwards for leg space. usually my 3rd row is empty as i dont hv many passengers.

• kwong on Oct 19, 2009 at 7:57 pm

so it is good to buy, fren

• for those who want to buy, my advice is dont. i own livina, after 6 month feel very frustrated, aircond problem, sent to service centre and told that need to be service n need to pay rm500. service not cover under warranty, asked why so expensive, they told that need to change air filter. after service still same and send again to TCEAS. after that i know that they sent to 3rd party to service aircon. after 3 times service still not ok. so my advice find other car not livina especially for those who have a small children like me…. so now my livina only park at porch and use my proton BLM, bcoz my family refused to use livina so hot….

• Johnny on Nov 10, 2009 at 8:15 am

Best MPV driven so far under RM100K. Have tested Toyota Rush and Cherry Eastar. Both of them not up to expectation. Rush underpower and Eastar interior finishing very poor. Naza Ria 2009 not bad but a total fuel guzzler. Have taken delivery of my light gold GL 1.8 last month. So far very satisfied with it. Can't wait to test out next month for a trip down to KL from Penang with my family….

• despite all, this is the only MPV i can afford ..

travel all the way fom johor to penang now n then :)

• Johnny on Jan 08, 2010 at 8:19 pm

Well my trip to KL surpasses my expectation! The ride was smooth and comfortable. My aircond fan was set to 1-2 for the most of my journey. Fuel consumption wise was about 14 to 15 cents/km on RON97 fuel for 90% Highway and 10% city drive. I will hold on to this MPV for a long time……

• kerol on Jan 16, 2010 at 8:59 pm

dammit i'm nissan cra2y..nice n tough MPV..do have M/T for 1.8L?

• yuck, but hay, this is not bad for that money!

• terry on Feb 24, 2010 at 10:35 pm

I heard few complaint from my friend regarding livina, below are the complaint :

1. Aircond always has problem due to dust

2. Battery water have to refill in 2 weeks time.

Hope this will improve soon

• i am getting my livina tom. , i need advice on what shud i expect and what i should ask 4 regarding it ?? , a very affordable and comfort seeking car as well much better looking than all the others at the same level !

• shawnster on Mar 19, 2010 at 5:52 am

Can anyone tell if the 1.6 AT GL take full load (7 people-4 adults + 3 children) up Genting without problem?

• malik on Apr 17, 2013 at 12:31 am

I have been travel from setia alam up to genting highland.. My grand livina bring 9 person including me(8 adults, 1 kid) with average weight is 60kg 6per person(540kg) up to the top, i mean not to cable car station, but i park it near to the first world hotel. Surprised?? No need to off the air cond.. oh.. my grand livina is an impul version.. i mean not just bodykit but also got 17inch impul aura sx 10.

• the nissan grand livina is a very gd car in general

so far no problem

car is quite powerful

much more comfortable as compare to avanza

i know it because previously have a avanza and change to grand livina

the fuel consumption is gd

i put full tank around 70 dollar can go for around 400++km

handling also not bad

air con is cold and the car is quiet at highway

so far so gd

• andywwc on Mar 22, 2010 at 5:21 pm

I have booked the grand livina 1.8 auto with below package with 1.98% interest rate…

1. nismo aerokit (given a choice to upgrade to Impul kit with RM500, but better save the money for other better use :-)

2. free leather

3. free tinted…Smart Window brand with 5 years warranty, anyone heard of it..it's around 50% heat absorption

4. free cargo net

Is it a good deal?

• Rizal on Apr 22, 2010 at 8:48 pm

Free leather?May i know which brand did you book coz i need to pay RM 2700 for leather seat.

• andywwc on Apr 23, 2010 at 5:23 pm

I got it in Seremban branch but with KL number plate, that is also free. Try to nego with the salesperson.

• hai ya all…. i plan to get my 2nd car this year and my family suggest grand livina coz of ts affordable price….. i’m staying in n9 and i want to know which nissan branch should i go to get reasonable price…? is livina really worth it?? which is better, 1.8 auto ot 1.8 impul??

• andywwc on Sep 20, 2010 at 8:33 am

Hi Yan

I got my car from Jeff Cheong. You may look for him in Seremban Nissan branch, Jalan Tun Dr Ismail, opposite the ruined old Penisula Plaza.

Go for a test drive with your family and go up the slope at Kwong Tung San, heading to Taman Makmur and you can decide. Mine is 1.8 Auto with Nismo kit, didn’t go for Impul coz I have to pay extra RM500 for the upgrade.

I have been driving for almost 6 months and very happy with the car for that price.

• tq andy

just wanna know… what is Nismo kit?? how much you pay for it??

• MChan on Mar 24, 2010 at 12:03 am

Andy

Seems like a good deal.

Did you get any discount or what you are getting is in lieu of discount?

• harry on Mar 24, 2010 at 12:22 am

definitely good deal.

u r doing 5 yrs loan?

where did u made ur booking?

in my place, they only give stupid baucer for tinted & leather (need to add $$). no aerokit, no cargo net.

• andywwc on Mar 24, 2010 at 1:32 am

MChan – the initial discount is either nismo kit or RM2000 rebate, so I demanded for more…

Harry – It's a 2 years loan and it's only available till end of this month. The interest rate will increase next month. I made the booking in Seremban, but will try to nego to waive the RM50 if register in KL

The tinted brand I got is RichCool…

• Hi ,

I own a NGL 1.6A since mid June 2009. I would say a good car until few months back, after my 2nd service, i think. Everytime when going up a sloope, the car seems like stuggling with a “tik-tik” sound on the left side. This happens while I’m driving alone,without any passenger. And my fan belt giving me lots of problem too. When I go to TC service centre and ask the technician about the “tik-tik” sound twice, one told me…becuase of the RON 95 fuel, making it less power…the most recent one , just smile and told me…it’s like that for Nisssan 1.6 because it’s under-power….

Just want to check if 1.6NGL owners out there have the same problem as I ‘m having ?

• Elvin on May 10, 2010 at 4:20 pm

I think 1.6A is under power a bit. Better go for 1.8 one since the monthly installment is not much differrent ( abt Rm 1XX+++ only). It really worth it in the long run.

• andywwc on May 11, 2010 at 7:55 pm

The only problem I have with the NGL is
    1. Need to check the battery water frequently, according to the Nissan technician it’s normal because the battery size is smaller than the normal battery size
    2. Whenever I drive on the slight uneven road surface, there’s a wind sound coming near the door windows as if there’s a friction between the window and the rubber. Nissan technician need to re-align back the door, but I do not know how. While Nissan technician on other branch said, nothing can be done…Any idea?

Fuel consumption is not bad for 1.8L and quite powerful when loaded with 6 adults. The engine is silence when idle. I find it’s a good MPV for a price below 100k.

• Bryan Teh on May 23, 2010 at 5:59 pm

Hello, I plan to get 1.8 Gl IMPUL series, but people told me IMPUL series absorber is hard. Not so comfortable compare to standard absorber if want a comfortable family ride. Is this true?

• yes bryan thats to nissan impul serius go more to sport ,so corner is very good.but comfortable not that much ..

• paparock on May 31, 2010 at 7:35 pm

Banyak sangat komplen pasal GL rasa macam nak batalkan saja tempahan.

• Elvin on Jun 01, 2010 at 6:11 pm

I agreed with Siva.

Bryan, If you buy for family use then I advise you go for 1.8 + IMPUL AeroKits..don’t go for full IMPUL…..It’s too expensive lah…..

• i want to buy one , the thing is im still thinking how much is the 1.8 automatic… our office driver said its nice and cold.. im thinking to what happen to what they’ve said that aircon is the problem.. car management? hmmm. what do you think…

• i also book for GL 1.8 auto this month..is there any problem?
    i thinking if there would be any problem soon like i read above..
    how about TC management?
    could they take the responsibility?
    how about their promise?

• andywwc on Jul 09, 2010 at 8:07 am

I have been driving my 1.8L GL for 4 months, there are minor problem which have been rectified during the service
    1. weak battery
    2. air sound for the driver window, they called it window run which need to be changed, no worry, under warranty

Other than that, no problem…fuel compsumtion is good and the engine powerful enough to carry 6 adult passengers. So far my full tank can go between 500-550km for my daily drive.

• Terence on Aug 03, 2010 at 9:38 am

hi Andy wwc, i planning to but NGL 1.8L , just want to check with u, the fuel compsumtion full tank is how much?
      and 500 – 550 km is carry 6 passagers in town or highway.

• andywwv on Aug 03, 2010 at 12:23 pm

500-550km for both when ferrying 2 persons on weekdays and 5-6 persons on weekend.

• will there be any replacement for the NGL anytime soon?
    what is the current best deal other than the 1.98% interest rate?

• calvin alastair on Jul 19, 2010 at 4:20 pm

My sister thought of getting a NGL but still in doubt because of all the comments given in the forum. It seems like battery and aircon are the main problems….Did Nissan really try to improve on their NGL after all this car has been on the road for few years and it’s time for them to fix the problem….

• I owned a 1.6 A STL since last year Nov 2009. So far so good, aircon still cool and working without any issue. Of course battery water level has to be taking care of like those other cars unless you go change to a maintenance-less battery.

I drove to Cameron Highland and Genting 2 months ago with almost full load (5 ppl with luggage). All the while using only “D” gear to drive. I only turned on overdrive in some inclined slopes at Genting. Nevertheless to say this mpv climb the hill without any issue and is much more better than their competitors in the same class.

• tucktan78 on Jul 28, 2010 at 9:36 am

i just book my GL 1.8 white …is so cheep . i get 3k rebate .hehe… now wait for Tanchoong loan……

• Hi all,

I am from Penang, i plan to own NGL 1.8, any good salesman/deal recommend for me to buy NGL 1.8 + Impul Aerokit ?

• Hi all,

Finally i got following offer:-

-Rebate Cash 3k
      -Additional Impul Kit + RM1700
      -Interest Rate 2.58% within 4 years, 3.03% 5 years.
      -Tinted Glass boucher RM300
      -Full fuel upon delivery

It is good deal ?

• andywwc on Aug 27, 2010 at 3:58 pm

3k cash rebate is very good. I did not opts for cash rebate which is 2k 5 months back. But I got the below

1. default is nismo aerokit (given a choice to upgrade to Impul kit with RM500, but better save the money for other better use
        2. free leather seats, said to be worth 2700
        3. free tinted…Smart Window brand with 5 years warranty, anyone heard of it..it’s around 50% heat absorption. I did not use it, I put it on my wife Kelisa car :-)
        4. free cargo net

• Great deal man…. Anyway, i will use the remaining RM1.3k after used up RM1.7k for other item at accesories shops. :)

Thanks for your advise.

• Ronald on Oct 17, 2010 at 5:39 pm

Hi,
            Why i only get debate RM2k..? Then add RM1.7k for IMPUL Nismo 5pcs body kits. (ABS material). Tat’s all salesman provide me…..Shit, kena tipu?

But my interest 8yrs = 2.88%….How

• tucktan78 on Aug 28, 2010 at 8:26 am

look like ur is better than my Rebate…

• tucktan78 on Aug 16, 2010 at 11:31 am

i know where have gud saleman.. p.m me ba..

• where ? can let me know ? pls……from penang

• Hi,

Mind sharing me contact of the sales person (PJ, Selangor if you know of any)? TQ

• tucktan78, can u send me ur good salesman contact? I’m planning to buy this weekend

• ymarj on Aug 30, 2010 at 2:22 pm

Hi all…I’ve own a 1.8 GL Auto..for 2 years already and just gonna renew my roadtax next month for the 2nd year…..for me….very satisfying…… great ride and very comfortable and powerful even in full load………..even when u drive along karak highway…climbing the hilly road… ( i always travel from KL to K.Trengganu )…just push the OD button…no problem..if u want to know better just go to our forum..@ www.mylivina.com…..tq

• aremere on Sep 01, 2010 at 10:53 am

GL so boring and do not more space

• Paul Wong on Sep 14, 2010 at 1:21 pm

I should have read the review line by line. Regret buying this car and here are the reasons.

1. Seat support is really bad. I am having backache after more than 1 hour of driving. Read the review – it did mention soft support and i didnt read carefully

2. Weird / bad way of folding seat ..by pulling a “string”. Sigh ..

3. Service is expensive – minimum of Rm300 plus for 10k service!! every subsequent 10k service is that amount. 40k and 80k are much much higher!! beware of this

4. Wind noise on the driver door — according to service centre – cannot be resolved. Built into design. u can see they try to fix it by sticking a layer of sponge in between the rubber lining on the top part.

5. I was unlucky to have a faulty ball bearing giving a slight humming noisy drive. I need to go service centre for 3rd times to get it replaced. First – no issue. Second – Got issue but no stock. Third — still pending.

6. Rattling noise on the door panels – mileage is 2k only and door by door, it starts to rattle. Some starts at 110kmh.

In my opinion, the build quality of this MPV is worse than proton’s exora. Maybe, the only thing good is its aluminium block engine. No way it is worth the 85k after tax or 65k before excise tax. I bought this because i am not a fan of proton …and willing to fork out over 20k for gov tax.

• Regarding the service fee, where did you send the car for servicing? My car not yet reached 20k but I didn’t spend over RM300 for my 10k service.

No offend about your personal opinion but in my opinion this car is much much better than the proton exora. I don’t know why you go compare this car with a proton car instead of the other better car? If you ever drive a proton car on the highway you will know why I say that.

And sorry to hear that you’ve a bad luck taken a faulty unit of Grand Livina. You should complaint strongly to the sales person and I think they will be very happy to assist you in anyway.

• Paul Wong on Sep 21, 2010 at 11:29 am

Dont get me wrong, I am no fan of Proton since got bitten once. That is why I fork out my hard earned money to pay the excise duty etc. The lesson here is ASEAN cars are not much diff from Proton and not worth the premium due to the tax.

1. All my passengers have been complaining on the seat support. Friends excluded because they dont want to hurt your feelings by saying “hey i got backache after sitting in your car”

2. I am refering to service fee charge board on Nissan service centre at Glenmarie. 1k service i paid RM90 plus which is the same as on the board. So i assume it will be Rm300 plus for 10k as stated on the board.
    3. Door rattling sound came back after fixing. It starts to rattling ‘ti ti ti ti” and think it is the plastic door panel rubbing against the metal body.
    4. is it worth my time to go back to the service centre and each time has to be half a day wait?
    5. Believe me, i have complained very strongly and what the sales can do? He cant replace another car. All he can say ..please get the service centre to fix it. And some things cant be fixed like the seat support and high maintenance fees.

• willpower on Nov 07, 2010 at 10:47 pm

I am going to book one NGL 1.8L<<<awesome

• Taufique on Nov 11, 2010 at 5:54 pm

Oh dear, after reading all these comments, I am really unsure as to what people carrier car i should purchase. I was eyeing the Grand LIvina, since its a sub 100K car, but as of this point I am left a little confused.

I have 5 adults in my family, and if my brother comes from overseas that’ll be 7 adults, and a baby on the way. From what I’ve read, the back 2 seats arent at all suitable for adults right?

So what choices am I left with? Does that mean i have to go for Proton’s MPV? I’m not too adept on the car choices here in Malaysia, can someone kindly give me some options? Btw, I did look at the Honda Stream but of course, the cost is honestly speaking going to stretch me thin.

• izhar yusuf on Nov 18, 2010 at 11:50 am

nice colour 0renge Lavina ?

• dexter on Dec 05, 2010 at 6:13 pm

naza citra rondo pawns the nissan grand livina. looks better (subjective of course), better interior (all black, not easy to get dirty), better engine (2.0 DOHC CVVT) and its a world car, unlike the grand livina.

• I received my GL 1.8 a day before AidilAdha this year. Need to change my waja becoz now I have to ferry my mother/father in law as he can’t drive anymore due to his health. I really love my waja and this was really a tough decision to made.

After the 1000 km service, I still studying my GL FC. Yesterday I had to go to Teluk Intan. 70% of the time with 2 adults and three kids under 12 and sometimes have to ferry 4 adults plus my three kids. My weight is almost 120 kg :) .. the rest, around 70kg on average.

Route : From Nilai to Klang via PLUS, then to Teluk Intan via Kuala Selangor and then back to KL mix (jalan biasa + PLUS).

I found that, for 37.5 liter, I can go up to 420km, which is around 11.35 km/l or approx 16 cents per km. But I am what they call heavy-footer, I rarely drive below 100 km/h becoz with GL, its still nice and comfortable… or perhaps thats my bad habit.

Currently I dont have any serious problem with my GL accept that tik tik sound on the left side when the front wheels run on potholes. But I do have problem with the steering because its very very light and just too responsive. Its really nice when driving slowly, but on highway when it reach 120-140km/h, I have to be really focus and extra careful because it feels (the steering) is quite sensitive. On this matter I’d say Waja is better in handling on high speed (but bad when slow).

And remember, I’m not mat rempit .. 140km/h is the fastest I dare to go with my family on board.

Well, this is my 2 cents and if you ask me whether its worth it… I’d say it depends on your objectives and try to be reasonable on subjective matter. Mine is to ferry my whole family with the lowest fc with my heavy-foot style driving, for me 16 cents/km is ok.

• CCS131 on Dec 08, 2010 at 11:52 pm

Book my GL 1.8AT, twilight grey, hope can get in before CNY :D

Offer given:
    RM2800 rebate + IMPUL Bodykti + 2.58% loan rate for 5 years

My FIRST car, and I’m a 26 years old uncle :P

• dear CCS131,

how much u put ur dp.. and what is the monthly payment.? thanks for sharing….

• Hi,
      Mind sharing where and which sales person you get your offer from? TQ

• Liew. on Jan 02, 2011 at 6:13 pm

Two weeks before going to show room I borrowed a 1.8NGL from a staff member for a ride. Before than can’t recall if I ever drove or sat in a nissan in 20 years. Hoping to get my NGL1.6A by mid Jan 2011, OTR after NCB is RM85000+ with impul aerokit but nothing else. Grill remain the same.

1.8NGL is better but could not justified as it is at 8k higher. Why???: same body, same 4 door, same 4 tires, same suspension, same gear box, same two air bags,same ABS & breaking system, almost the same seats & interior etc, etc. yes it got CVTC + 160cc extra but that’s about it.
        If 1.6A is quick enough to get to 130+km/hr for overtaking by thumping the OD off/on button then it should be good enough for me cos I would typical try to cap highway speed at a notch or two below 120km/hr. No point having to pay fine or “what so ever”.

My friend who own a car with OD off/on button had mentioned that not all drivers understand the usage of this button and end up complaining about high FC.

It does look not like it but NGL is a good 2″ shorter in length compared to Persona. My wife actually commented that it looks too long until being shown the catalog.

Only concern is a price war when Proton come out with a TC Exora in 1Q2011.

Wishing all motorists a happy new year.

• what is the NGL 1.6 & 1.8 patrol consumption like?
    100km need how many liters of patrol?
    can any one help?

• sally on Jan 16, 2011 at 5:14 pm

wanted to get a NGL 1.8 soon, anyone can provide me a good salesman in Puchong

• sally on Jan 16, 2011 at 5:20 pm

wanted to get a NGL 1.8 soon, anyone can recommend a good salesman whom can give me a good price

• lawmasai on Jan 26, 2011 at 9:07 pm

To Sally, do not know which state you are from but always by direct from Tan Chong main show room. The guys from TCM in JB Plentong are o.k. For 1.8GL you should able to get for RM94k on the road with free impul and spoiler kit but will need NCB from your old car. After CNY I will be a slow month for car sales. Who know that you could even get one for RM93k OTR with insurnace if u bargain very hard.

• TC Fong on Feb 02, 2011 at 1:12 am

hi Sally,
      I just got my NGL 1.8….. My salesman very good… and the deal not bad….if you want i can give you his contact number….

• TC Fong on Feb 02, 2011 at 1:15 am

Hi Sally,
    I just got my NGL 1.8… good deal. My salesman very good from seremban but can register @ W.P… if you want i can give you his contact number…

• YIP C.F. on Feb 18, 2011 at 3:27 pm

GL 1.8 is in my shoplist but after read so many comments (good and bad), don’t know still want to go ahead???

• lawmasai on Mar 13, 2011 at 6:16 pm

to yip cf.
      Got mine before CNY but its a 1.6A. If in doubt take test drive for minimum of 30 minutes. Take highway route and town driving. Not a bad car. Very pleasant drive -especially when engine is below 3000RM. At 3000rpm it can go at 120km/hr.

Thumb the overdrive button to off when you before overtaking from 80km to 90km/hr. Then thumb the overdrive again when speed is above 120km/hr. See if the you like the pick up rate. If you are testing NGL with only 3 person on board make sure the tires air pressure is not high to avoid bouncy ridee.

Ask for free or 50% discount for the pull over cover when 3 row seat is folded down – then the luggage will not be exposed prying eye. It was said that after March the safety belt requirement would be enforced. Then NGL being a 7 seater would be a plus.

• Phyllis on Mar 05, 2011 at 6:12 pm

Hi, I juts got my NGL 1.8. Anyone can help where to get its armrest?

• Sunny on Mar 06, 2011 at 6:18 pm

Hello… helping a friend to sell off her car, pls help to spread the news. Thanks, Cheers!
    Model : Nissan Grand Livina 1.8VT Silver Finish
    Year : April 2009
    Mileage : 39000
    Lady Driver
    Expected price RM 88K (Nego)
    Pls call / sms 0173415077

• I just own a Livina 1 week ++ ago. Can someone help me to understand why the car spec stated that the fuel tank cap is 52 litre but it stop at 40+ litre from an empty tank? Thanks

• lawmasai on Apr 12, 2011 at 9:47 pm

If the needle point to “F” the fuel tank is yet to be 100% full. It can take a few more litre before the gasoline overflows from the filling nozzle. Also, if not mistaken the fuel tank capacity for 1.6A or 1.6M NGL is only 45litre. Yours is 1.8 NGL?.

For 1.8 NGL fuel tank supposed to be 52 ltre. Also, if the needle point to “E” it is not yet empty. For fuel tank to be absolutely empty your NGL need to run until the engine stops due to fuel starvation. For my I rather that my NGL fuel tank still have 7 litre of gasoline when the needle point to ‘E”. Enough to go for another 100km

Have anyone install an anti roll bar to rear suspension of his or her NGL?. Please share!.

• LeongWHG on May 07, 2011 at 6:17 pm

Just get the NGL1.8 on 28/4. Nissan Trade-in really high, my Kancil 660 (year 2002) they accept with 8.5K. No bad. but u not entitle for the 3K discout if trade-In.

Next day 29/4 just install full set of Ultra-Racing bar (4 item cost me around 1.2K). and the feeling was great. I can say feel more solid.

• Hi, i’M LOOKING FOR SECOND HAND good conition grand lavinia in penang.
    anybody can help to search…

• I’m looking for seocnd hand GL 1.6.aNYBODY WANT TO SELL ….

• can SOMEONE TEILL ME gl 1.6 uis it under power

• Happy on May 23, 2011 at 10:26 pm

I want to buy GL @ Penang. Can recomment any good salesman? Please give me his contact. What is the offer look like now? Thanks

• rosman on Jun 19, 2011 at 1:19 am

hi paul. informative review, as always. my wife and i are planning on buying a new car; she wants a GL, but i’ve always wanted Toyota Innova. the price is pretty much close between GL 1.8 and Innova 2.0E. any opinions? FYI, i have 5 teenage kids with average weights of 90kgs (cannot blame them though, my wife’s a very good cook!).

• Has anyone noticed that the NGL car seat steel frame is rusty ?
    I bought my 1.8l NGL Jan this year. All car seat metal is rusty, you can check the bottom of the car seat. I still haven’t got the replacement till now.

• Jack Lew on Sep 19, 2011 at 10:52 am

Hi, I’m from Penang. I’m planning to get a Nissan Livina 1.8 at end of this year or early next year. Any recommends on sales person? What’s the price and package looks like? Thanks.

• frustrated wong on Sep 25, 2011 at 12:33 am

this car has the worst seat in the world .. squeeky sound from the spring that supporting the seat cushion. Like an old sofa… :). in terms of size and value ratio, i think alza is a much better buy. it’s been a year and my mileage is 18k, careful driver and slow driver, accident free. anyone interested, let me know.

• B K Tee on Mar 08, 2012 at 2:08 am

Was planning to get a GL1.8 but feed back not so good about air-con,battery and absorbers.
    Seems like the complaints from a friend is quite common after reading a few similar complaints.Guess buying a GL is by luck as I do hv friends with praises for the car.
    Well this is one gamble I can’t take unless Nissan has a better warranty.Thanks to all the comments.

• Alan Foong on Jun 25, 2012 at 2:24 pm

Hi there, fellow Friends. Am thinking of purchasing a new Grand Livina (GL). For info,my family consists of 6 members. It it a good deal for me to opt for a GV, or Innova instead?? Or, any other suitable yet wiseable models that you all can provide professional advise. Much appreciated. Thanks

• Banjaluka on Aug 21, 2012 at 11:51 pm

I bought NGL 1.8 auto last week. On highway fuel consumption 11 km per litre. In town 7 km per litre. I just think in town, fuel consumption is very high. Somebody please give a comment.

• johnsteele on Aug 26, 2012 at 9:00 pm

ermmm mine 1.8 is 4 and half years old…for 11km/litre is in town from the beginning…and 14km/liter for hiway.

• Mogan Raj on Oct 09, 2012 at 7:45 pm

Hi Im a NGL 1.6 owner since Dec 2011…Overall its an ok car/mpv..but i had experience & experiencing some noises from the bady at the rear end…Nissan Svc Ctr can’t solve it at 1 visit…need to leave my car there the whole day for them to dismantle the setas and check the problem…also the car seems to be not stable when diving above 100/120km/h…technician at Nissan said its common for this car…need to install the Ultra Racing Bars, according to another Nissan user…but why Nissan designs an MPV in such a way..any similar effected users of NGL as per mine? Please advise…

• Abdul Salam Chandran Bin Abdullah on Oct 24, 2012 at 10:04 am

I would like to know why there is no filter in grand livina’s aircon? i own 2 livina and both did not have a filter. as a result i had to replace cooling coil which costs rm1,200 and fix filter. my new livina had the same problem.

• Roy Ling on Aug 21, 2014 at 1:51 pm

Well. It’s August 2014 now. I am schedule to collect my new NGL 1.6 early September. I know it’s too late to ask for a comment now, but how’s the current condition for the so called all new grand livina?

• I bought NGL 1.6 (A) in March 2014,everything is good except the fuel consumption just like the older version and doing 200km with a half tank of petrol, NGL is best value for money

• nhicel on Mar 30, 2017 at 4:15 pm

what type of oil i need to use for change oil may car is a nissan livina 2008