New improved toll gantry to begin trial in November

SmartTagA new toll gantry system will undergo testing at the Lebuhraya Damansara Puchong’s Sungai Penchala Toll Plaza from November 2008 onwards.

Highway Authority director-general Datuk Mohamad Razali Othman says the new toll gantry system is more efficient compared to the existing infrared-based SmartTag system as there are no boom gates that force motorists to slow down.

The trial will be sponsored by Mitsubishi and will use a new microwave-based onboard-unit that is claimed to be able to detect motorists passing through the toll gantry even at speeds of up to 180km/h. The trial will begin with one lane that will accept existing SmartTag systems and the new microwave-based trial units.

Because of the smoother traffic flow the new gantry is expected to allow up to 2,000 cars through an hour, compared to the current SmartTag system which only can only allow between 800 to 1,000 cars an hour.

There’s just one issue though – since there are no boom gates, motorists without the SmartTag system or the new microwave-based unit can just drive through without paying. Datuk Mohamad Razali says they are still figuring out how to go after such cases.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• jaygan (Member) on Jul 22, 2008 at 11:57 am

With this, the congestion at toll will be shifted further down the road in front of 1Utama.

But wait a minute, I thought the toll system should be abolished since we are paying high fuel price, not ?

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Jul 22, 2008 at 12:00 pm

I humbly suggest they use some camera system like in London, which can recognise number plates and record it.

• 0204 (Member) on Jul 22, 2008 at 12:20 pm

I don’t know… first thing that cross my mind? 180km/h through the narrow toll path? not going to be forgiving… even 100km/h is going to give trouble to those “happy feet”.. not to mention those behind them…

slower car being tailgate and overtake infront of the toll.. faster car getting too confident and end up crashing?

to sum em up… more accident…

• Roti Naan (Member) on Jul 22, 2008 at 12:20 pm

Singapore has been doing this so many years already…..and now Malaysia still wanna do trails…..Malaysia’s technology much be very high tech, like from Star Trek one….

Abolish toll?! Has any toll collector in Malaysia that really think money is ENOUGH in their pocket?

if that day happens, Cow flies, man.

• ryan_foong80 (Member) on Jul 22, 2008 at 12:24 pm

hmm… no need to paid that’s the BEST!!!.. opss… haha

• Nickice (Member) on Jul 22, 2008 at 12:24 pm

was there such a thing?? bout no more toll cos paying higher fuel price?? hmmm… but then again, i don think we should relate everythin we are facing now to the petroleum issue alone.. its not gonna get anywhere…

• LoneDrifter (Member) on Jul 22, 2008 at 12:26 pm

It’s easy. Try implementing what Singapore is doing. Their ERP system are fully electronic and requires motorists to have the system (IU) registered for their car. If mobile phones can be registered and tracked, so can those IUs.
    IU in other words for our country is somewhat like the SmartTag gadget.

“Motorists who pass through an operational ERP gantry without a properly-inserted CashCard in the IU, or one with insufficient monetary value in the CashCard to pay the ERP charges, will receive a letter within a few days of the violation requesting them to pay the outstanding ERP charge plus an administrative fee of $10, within two weeks from the date of the letter.”

They can change toll rates according to peak and off peak times to ensure fair payment for motorists. Those who use it less frequently will just pay less.

It is also able to make sure that motorists don’t speed too much when they come by the ERP Gantries.

“LTA reviews the traffic conditions on the expressways and roads, where the ERP system is in operation, on a quarterly basis and during the June and December school holidays.

After the review, the ERP rates would then be adjusted where necessary to minimise congestion on the roads. ERP has been effective in maintaining an optimal speed range of 45 to 65 km/h for expressways and 20 to 30 km/h for arterial roads.”

Why can’t Malaysia start implementing such system or similar to make driving more convenient and less traffic congestion during peak hour our periods?

I agree with maibatsu_thuder’s idea as well. The camera system can be paired with the ERP system.

• abtm (Member) on Jul 22, 2008 at 12:27 pm

So if you don’t want to pay toll you have to drive above 180km/h?

• najibest (Member) on Jul 22, 2008 at 12:38 pm

as long as we don’t have to pay for the upgrade, i’m good to go… because everybody knows that the toll gate is where most of the jam happens anyway…and yes i would agree to the ERP system that’s currently in used in singapore, quite efficient…

• Hikaru (Member) on Jul 22, 2008 at 12:41 pm

Singapore’s system is good but like London’s and Singapore’s it relies on postal address to bill ppl especially London’s system. The cash card system is good but the fine either goes to the car or the registered address.

Anyway, more trial means more money. they need a trial to figure a way to stop ppl without either smart tag or the chip to go pass the toll without paying. that’s really stupid and also telling the ppl that if they speed up to 180 kph they can avoid paying toll. How silly…..

• rt (Member) on Jul 22, 2008 at 1:42 pm

Dear Maibatsu_Thunder,

The problem with this “free-flow” and london’s camera system is enforcement.
    There are 2 enforcement involved:

1. Ensure that the people who go through are those who have the tags, and to fine those who does not have the tags.
    2. Ensure that nobody uses false number plates.

The 2nd oneseems to be the hardest to enforce and it is the main reason that we still do not have free flow system in Malaysia.

The tag system is not new. The one used previously by GrandSaga, Litrak and Kesas do detect tags at very high speed.

The two-piece tags (as referred to a tag + TnG, similar to SmartTag) was proposed by MEPS in 2003, if I was not mistaken. But it was shot down by Kementerian Kerja Raya (read: Samy Vellu) when they implemented the “unified” TnG and SmartTag only system in Malaysia.
    KKM ordered all non-SmartTag tags system to be removed, even though these tags are much-much better than SmartTag.

The deal is still a monopoly. It seems that Mitsubishi (or Mitsui) would be the supplier. The main beneficiary would still be RaingKaian Segar.

I would see a better solution if multiple card, multiple tag and multiple roadside equipment supplier are involved with multiple clearing house. LLM could enforce a unified protocol to all these suppliers to adhere to. These has been done in successfully in Europe.

RT

• hamster (Member) on Jul 22, 2008 at 2:04 pm

180 huh..?? not bad..let mo ppl die on da road..so da tolls can b clear..not a bad idea at all

• jehutyz (Member) on Jul 22, 2008 at 2:08 pm

Should they go to SG and study the system?
    SG already using it rite.
    Sometime the jam at LDP Penchala toll is caused by the Smart Tag user where you can see cash is quite smooth.

• zorocaster (Member) on Jul 22, 2008 at 2:22 pm

In Dubai, they use cameras to capture car plates in conjunction with the gantry-less system. Those who don’t have pay will have the bill delivered to their house.

Car ownership is pretty stringent over in Dubai, so less chances of those not paying to “lari”.

• tishaban (Member) on Jul 22, 2008 at 3:03 pm

Guys you’re not looking at this the right way. Singapore is not far enough or exotic enough for a study tour destination. Think London, Dubai or wherever else except Singapore. Two weeks in London would be sufficient for the group to properly study the toll system there I think.

• ganz (Member) on Jul 22, 2008 at 3:14 pm

well..
    here is malaysia.. where all people are above the law…

take as a parking ticket.. it is a self notified mechanism.. u park ur car.. u get a parking ticket.. but how many of us do that..?? when there is a way to NOT TO PAY.. malaysian will do..

current system is ok.. except for some culprit who still want to blame the system but at actual case..
    1. not enough credit
    2. holding the reader by hand at a very last minutes
    3. low battery not ignore the notfication
    4. holding the smart tag in wrong face..(detection face show back ward)
    5. oo.. wrong lane. :D

no use to solve 20cent problem with RM200 solution..

• all8 (Member) on Jul 22, 2008 at 3:17 pm

How do you know you are scanned. If you are not scanned, you will be fined when you reach the exit toll.

• Y2K (Member) on Jul 22, 2008 at 4:30 pm

It’s not easy copying Singapore’s system. First, if you don’t pay when you pass the ERP gantry in Singapore, you get a letter. If you do not respond to the letter, it will be upgraded to a saman and police and the courts will come after you. You have no excuse say did not receive the letter coz you are required to update your address when you shift. Don’t update? Another saman.

What about Malaysia? When do you pay your traffic saman? Wait for discount or wait for them to block your road tax from being renewed!

Don’t forget also, toll is operated by private companies in Malaysia. So can they ‘saman’ the people who don’t pay? Singapore ERP is run by government

• neveraproton (Member) on Jul 22, 2008 at 4:32 pm

Personally, I think the Singapore system works well.

The CARTAG is on a per car basis I think, and is attached to the ignition (no cell battery dependency). Its useless to steal either since it is registered to a particular car.

So if you have 3 cars be prepared to fork out for 3 tags.

But yes, beneficiaries will be Rangkaian Segar, and we all know who owns that.

The plus side is faster processing of cars la. This is ALL asuming we take the Singapore model.

• ganz (Member) on Jul 22, 2008 at 5:02 pm

Think again about our enforcement level in Malaysia..
    Even when police ask to come to police station just to give statement also don’t want to go..

and u said Y2K.. people will ignore all summons and wait until year end sale form Police :D

Singaporean is at different level of attitude ( when they in Singapore :D only)
    compare to Malaysian..

• mofo (Member) on Jul 22, 2008 at 7:24 pm

Abit confuse here, for exisiting smart users – do we need to replace the exisiting device to enjoy this technology ? If there’s any cost incur and bear by consumer, i would forget that. Thanks in advance

• mokkf82 (Member) on Jul 22, 2008 at 7:28 pm

Demolish all the toll plaza and none of this discussion will be made. End of story

• mystvearn (Member) on Jul 22, 2008 at 7:47 pm

Take number plate, then saman la. But then people will cheat their number plates, mimicking another car, same make, same colour. That is another problem. How about all GPS, then no need to track which car. Or better yet, spike strips come up if a car which is not suppose to enter enter the place, that can stop the car

• coolguru (Member) on Jul 22, 2008 at 8:50 pm

Like it or not, the users are the one who will NOT GAIN.

Reason is simple, the existing SmartTag needs an upgrade where most of us paid at least RM100 for one — they’ll offer upgrade, say another RM100. There it goes about how “canggih” was the SmartTag.

Secondly, is it true the jam is at the toll or right after the toll! You know Malaysia-Boleh engineer can never design a proper road system. You’ve like 20 toll booths with 20 lanes but after you paid the fee, we’re all squeezing into as little as two lanes.

Thirdly, I’m seriously seriously seriously keen to know who’s behind all these i.e. the owner of this so-call new gadget, the vendor who’s upgrading the system and the one who manages the post-paid system.

Simple reason again, I wanna join that company because I can most probably be the next millionaire, if not billionaire…

Malaysian — we need to wake up!

• dEE (Member) on Jul 22, 2008 at 10:10 pm

actually, with the exception of Puchong LDP that has traffic clogging up all the toll lanes during peak hours, that’s because the traffic after the toll is not moving! my experience with other highways like NKVE, KESAS, NSE, ELITE are fine – doesn’t even take me 1 minute to clear.

to begin with, the take up rate for existing smart tag system is so low that there’s hardly any jam in the queue is the traffic after the toll booth is clear. do we need another system to replace the existing under-utilised system? will the average joe use it? Or will we be back to sq one with another under-utilised system?

Next thing we’ll find gomen subsidising the tag replacement and wasting wang RAKYAT again.. worse, we are asked to purchase new replacement tag, what happens to existing readers? down sg. klang? What a waste…

• csv (Member) on Jul 22, 2008 at 11:45 pm

yeah i agree also,

we should learn to be like Singapore’s ERP, but over there, their ERP is popping up everywhere so much so people complaining step out their house door already got 1 gantry.

and over here, we are not “law-abiding” to the word therefore enforcement will be tough, and private companies managing this will mean cronyism to avoid summons or so on.

not to say government managed won’t have the same problem….in the end, all this tolls and stuff are just short term remedies to a long term problem.

• Porkbutcher (Member) on Jul 23, 2008 at 12:11 am

I don’t understand! We pay for road tax and car import tax and we still need to pay for toll fees? Luckily I live in Penang island. Less traffic and no toll gantry until the next coming election. Damn.

• Ralliace (Member) on Jul 23, 2008 at 12:11 am

I just see this project as an accident waiting to happen! Why?

So often we see the stupid workers crossing at the tolls and at 180km/h that would be a disaster if one of them had to be crossing!!

Moreover, how many times we see people sangkut at the toll because the system did not “capture” the device? Again at 180km/h, if the car in front of you sangkuts, only God could save you!

I know people here will screw me by saying who ask me to drive at 180km/h. Even at 60km/h is also dangerous! Think about it!

• KY (Member) on Jul 23, 2008 at 9:47 am

who’s gonna be the first to try it at 190km/h? :D

• ganz (Member) on Jul 23, 2008 at 9:52 am

Malaysia Boleh.. record holder for the fastest car pass the system .. :D

n again.. no need to study from singapore .. if they study from singapore guest what..

pay per entry to KL to be implemented.. :D

• car_craze (Member) on Jul 23, 2008 at 11:01 am

I hope the company will not use this new system as an excuse to raise the toll rates. (They probably will, anyway).

• JULIANLEE2 (Member) on Jul 23, 2008 at 11:10 am

yala , need change, everytime the StupidTag when go through toll, the thing cannot scan, siren ring, one person from the toll gatesgot to come down and do for you, result, become slower than touch and go

• rt (Member) on Jul 23, 2008 at 5:09 pm

Dear Ralliance,
    what r you talking about.
    How you sangkut if there is not barrier.
    Gantry system means no automatic barrier..
    Actually, the standard term is “multilane free flow (MLFF)”

You pass without pay, ticket will be sent to the owners address registered in JPJ database.
    The problem is what if I fake my license plate?..

RT

• rt (Member) on Jul 23, 2008 at 5:13 pm

coolguru,

I actually know few malaysian engineers who design roads and highways.
    The problem is not their design. Their (initial) design is good

The problem is that sometimes the design was altered by people-on-top to save cost, and to profit more..

RT

• ganz (Member) on Jul 23, 2008 at 5:17 pm

agree with u..
    engineer only design on their portion.. :D
    but ignore the integration :D

• lchan (Member) on Jul 23, 2008 at 5:18 pm

dont take the news negatively guys. This type if system is used in many countries and it took us somewhat 10 years before a trial run is being done. The fact that the system is capable of reading at speeds up to 180km/h does not mean more accidents and definately does not mean you have to drive through it at crazy speeds.

Simply the fact that Malaysia allows us to make our own number plates will indeed post some problems with motorist driving through the system with fake number plates and camera catching the culprit will definately be useless. But with everything comes problems, and the study will conclude if the system is fit for our country.

But i hope at the end of the day, this system will be utilised.

• rt (Member) on Jul 23, 2008 at 6:12 pm

Again and again,
    the key word is enforcement.

If we require everybody to get license plate only from JPJ, then we should enforce it.
    If we are to put MLFF, then we should enforce it.

But then, in London, one of the main problem cause by the camera system is that there are increased reports of stolen number plates!
    Kalau tak percaya, you could google “London stolen number plates”

From Wall Street Journal
    “Before the congestion charge took effect in February 2003, police didn’t bother to track stolen number plates, as they’re called in Britain, because so few incidents were reported. In 2004, nearly 6,000 plates were stolen, according to London’s Metropolitan Police. Reports of stolen plates in the city spiked to 9,777 last year. Up to 300 cars with illegal license plates enter London’s congestion charge area every day, according to the country’s Automotive Association.”

RT.

• ganz (Member) on Jul 23, 2008 at 6:20 pm

system is good… but methodology of maintaining the system is question..
    malaysian is known as a country love to have latest technology. but nobody care about how to maintain and use it..

on paper is simple..
    u don’t pay.. issue letter to the address.. not pay.. issue summons.. thanks god.. it so easy flow chart..

in reality… how many car still don’t pay speeding ticket.. even ministry also don’t pay…and even worst when it deal with summons issue by local authority on parking..

the highway operator need cash/ money to run at least on a monthly basis..
    if they can’t get the enough money to run th operation.. are they asking government for subsidize? who then be burden?

how about legal fees of taking them to the court for RM2.10 toll?
    administration fee of paper taking/ printing evidence../ special officer dedicated to cater this issue..
    or has to put petrol car at each toll booth.. chase one who not paying (also increase cost)
    where.. the old system is good..

i’m using smart tag.. no problem so far.. only when there is a people like what i mentioned above in front of me.. one hand holding phone.. one hand holding smart tag. then stuck… blame the system..

I admit and we all must admit…. we Malaysian are not that very good in obeying the rules and regulation.. we ignore them..

study..it ok to study.. but i’m afraid that the commercial study (RM) will supersede the technical study (engineering feasibility).. hence a white elephant project created..

no use of spending rm20 for 20 cent problem…

• Superman_AYKF (Member) on Jul 30, 2008 at 10:30 am

bull shit….this will cause worst traffic further down 1U, Taman Tun and SS2 areas……

I don’t mind jam if the highway is free (like Jalan Kuching)…but to pay for the jam, it is totally “tahi lumbu”….