Paul Tan's Automotive Industry News

Perodua to install rear seatbelts for existing Perodua cars for free in 2009

Advertisement

Perodua LogoPerodua will spend RM41.8 million to install rear seat belts for a total of 431,262 Perodua cars consisting of the Kancil, Kenari, Kembara, Kelisa and Rusa models. The exercise will begin in 2009 and installation will be conducted at Perodua service centers.

Compulsory rear seatbelt usage from June onwards
Government to ink deal for free rear seatbelts

13 Comments »

1. JULIANLEE2 said,

July 23, 2008 @ 11:04 am

shouldnt it be standard to fit rear seatbelts

2. I my said,

July 23, 2008 @ 11:07 am

free labour or free rear seatbelts?

3. ndmervin said,

July 23, 2008 @ 11:22 am

Just hope they do it as good as those factory-installed ones.. if not, then it beats the purpose of rear passenger safety, if the belts malfunctions..

4. mitlanevo said,

July 23, 2008 @ 11:22 am

the right thing to do :-)

5. cutester said,

July 23, 2008 @ 11:25 am

RM 41.8 million / 431,262 cars = approx RM 97 per car…..

6. jolly_idiot said,

July 23, 2008 @ 1:37 pm

any news from Proton offering similar thing? I guess still lotsa saga/iswara etc still haven’t fitted with the rear seatbelt

7. capeplates said,

July 23, 2008 @ 5:08 pm

What kind of company lacks the foresight to install rear seat belts in the first place! Surely they have a development section that maintains links with the driving regulations of the countries in which they sell their cars! Sack the CEO!

8. mystvearn said,

July 23, 2008 @ 6:19 pm

No rear seatbelts=save money. Now they must have think why didn’t I put seatbelts in the first place…

9. Roti Naan said,

July 23, 2008 @ 6:44 pm

I hope when they mean “free”, that means there will be no increase of the car’s selling price. Year 2008 price is same as 2009.

10. csv said,

July 23, 2008 @ 11:37 pm

well at least they did something, the other manufacturer is diam diam.

11. BanyakMasukWorkshop said,

July 23, 2008 @ 11:45 pm

“any news from Proton offering similar thing? I guess still lotsa saga/iswara etc still haven’t fitted with the rear seatbelt”

proton already made a very big statement on this about a month ago already, to install for free the centre lap belts to its cars that do not have it, it was in all the daily papers as well as on tv.

12. JULIANLEE2 said,

July 24, 2008 @ 6:56 pm

proton is disgusting

13. kopial said,

November 14, 2008 @ 2:15 pm

Haiya…last time car where got rear seat belt? I was born in 1984 also I know that last time cars no rear seat belt…even toyota, honda no seat belt. My dad’s old honda don’t even have left side mirror…right side only got. You ppl born what year ah?

Please do not submit your comment twice, the system has accepted your comment, it just needs to be moderated first. Once your first comment is approved, all subsequent comments will show automatically.

previous post: CBU imported Nissan Navara by end 2008
next post: Honda OSM two-seater roadster concept