Perdana V6 fleet: RM1.15 million in 4 years

E200K Facelift

More figures related to the maintenance of the Terengganu state government’s fleet of Proton Perdana V6 Executives have been unveiled. This is truly a whole can of worms!

Terengganu Menteri Besar Datuk Ahmad Said said a total of RM1.15 million have been spent on maintaining the state’s 16 car fleet since they were purchased in 2004. This figure includes the repair costs of RM175,229.97 and RM132,357.76 for two of the cars that was revealed earlier this week.

UPDATE: Terengganu admits mistake with the Idris Jusoh car figure. Maintenance is actually RM131,449.83 from 2004 to 2008.

Datuk Ahmad Said is personally using his 18 year old Mercedes-Benz as his official car as it was still in good condition. He added that the main culprits are gearbox maintenance and fuel consumption, which leads me to believe that these huge figures also include the fuel bills for the car.

The MB added that the Terengganu state government will be happy to auction off the newly-purchased E200Ks and return to using the Perdana V6 Executive if the Federal government bears the cost of maintaining the fleet.

The Star reported through its SMS alerts service today that several senior officers have been interviewed by the Terengganu ACA over the Perdana fleet’s maintenance costs.

New Mercedes-Benz E200K cars for Terengganu Exco
Terengganu will justify in detail E200K purchase
Proton: no warranty claims recorded for Perdana V6 Executive cars

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• ganz (Member) on Jul 24, 2008 at 4:36 pm

bravo Mr Mat Said..

u show who is culprit

• torque (Member) on Jul 24, 2008 at 4:49 pm

I personally think that the motto of “Ubah Gaya Hidup” is mainly for the rakyat while the motto of “Ubah Gaya” is applied to the “noble” politician!! Memalukan bangsa Melayu jer!!!

• numb3r7mu (Member) on Jul 24, 2008 at 4:50 pm

i agree with proton every 5000 or 3 month must servicele otherwise the car koyakle no wonder maintenance cost very high.
    our Malaysian biasale very detail in planning but when come to maintenance and monitoring very so so.
    so busy no time to maintenancele, bla, bla, bla, bla

• armandd (Member) on Jul 24, 2008 at 4:53 pm

why can’t they just buy accord or camry?

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Jul 24, 2008 at 4:59 pm

hahaha so dragging the proton realibility story is just a drama hahaha.pity proton, congrat ahmad said, go to trial idris jusoh. BUT STILL THEY SHOULD CHOOSE ACCORD OR CAMRY.

• puremalaysian2008 (Member) on Jul 24, 2008 at 5:03 pm

Maybe the huge sum is spent to make the fleet of cars – bulletproof!
    That’s why so expensive!

• torque (Member) on Jul 24, 2008 at 5:05 pm

Dear Armandd,

If you ask them to purchase Accord or Camry, I know what the answer they gonna give you.

Terengganu Exco: What? Camry? Gila aper? Kereta tu banyak masuk kes curi la…

Armandd ask: Then, why not Accord?

Terengganu Exco: Accord? Aiya, first month only got people booked sampai 5,000 unit. Apa kelas kami nak pakai kereta semua orang boleh beli.

Armandd ask again: Like that, what kind of car does it suits you all?

Terengganu Exco: Hmmm…Mercedes Benz la. The E200K one.

Armandd ask with surprise: Why?

Terengganu Exco: Why? Easy what…maintanance cheaper than proton V6 la!

The End.

• White Jack (Member) on Jul 24, 2008 at 5:08 pm

For God sake, just get a Naza Ria MPV la. Can load all (sleepers) to Parliment meeting at one shot la :)

• numb3r7mu (Member) on Jul 24, 2008 at 5:15 pm

shame on you ahmad said. All the story of proton juz for penambah perisa only. most important can use Mercedes Benz E200K nevermind le all the pekeliling by the cabinet. can cou’tim what. we all malaysia bole ma

• skodian (Member) on Jul 24, 2008 at 5:17 pm

if they really care [? here] about maintenance, pls get kancil lah. All MP drive kancil. What a sight.

• mystvearn (Member) on Jul 24, 2008 at 5:35 pm

If RM 130k 2 months, better off buying a new perdana every 2 months?

• ganz (Member) on Jul 24, 2008 at 5:52 pm

when we do ROI.. all fact and figure are there..
    everybody prove that the cost of maintaining the V6 is that figure..

i’m not supporting Gomen on buying MERC.. but i’m still agree.. after the study .. cost for PV6 is higher than why they opt for Merc.. maybe.. Merc offer them free labour warranty for 5 years? :D

• ignas (Member) on Jul 24, 2008 at 6:03 pm

Salute you Datuk Ahmad Said!

• MAJUPERAK (Member) on Jul 24, 2008 at 6:03 pm

MB of Terengganu is very smart, buying E200K is just a smoke screen ….. indirectly telling the rakyat something …… gotta read between the lines. Really so high maintainence for Perdana Executive V6 ??

• RCM (Member) on Jul 24, 2008 at 6:04 pm

Ok what this Ahmad Said, regardless of his real intention, several good things happen:

1. We now know there is something wrong with the maintenance handling of these proton (overcharged, bad tender process, corruption etc)
    2. Some cleaning will follow later, corrupted people will get punished
    3. Encouragement to Proton to improve their quality.
    4. Other guilty people that involve in the maintenance industry will be afraid. Everyone will follow proper procedure.

• abtm (Member) on Jul 24, 2008 at 6:16 pm

can they produce all the repair invoices to prove this crap? seriously, they must be using their cars to escape from either cows or terrorists…
    and with the claim that Mercs are reliable, comeon, that was two decades ago, maybe a W124, but they make lemons now !

• jansej (Member) on Jul 24, 2008 at 6:24 pm

i seriously agreed with RCM.. ahmad said did a smart move imo. and please people dont comapre E200k with camry or accord, totally different world.

• JULIANLEE2 (Member) on Jul 24, 2008 at 6:53 pm

mercs are unreliable , especially ckd’s

• torque (Member) on Jul 24, 2008 at 7:05 pm

Dear Jansej,

I’m agreed with you on the matter, “please people dont comapre E200k with camry or accord, totally different world” thing. It’s an entirely different class and YES I agree! But…the MAIN issue here is about corruption!! Not about the car but most importantly HOW they maintain the previous cars and the purchase of the new cars. We are talking about tax payer money here my friend. In what bloody rights did they think they can just snap their fingers and decided to buy an E200K Mercedes Benz? It’s the money of the people and SHOULD be used for the good of the people in Terengganu. That my friend, is the real issue we discuss it here!

• firefly (Member) on Jul 24, 2008 at 7:06 pm

It seems to me that ‘some’ people just want to own E-class mercs and being ‘those’ kind of people, how would they do it? AP? Yeah rite, after the recent hoo-ha on that issue, nobody would want to do it…

So, they announce they are going to get a couple of new mercs, that will no doubt cause an uproar in light of today’s price hike in fuel so the fed govt will tell them to get rid of the mercs and they will say ok and then they will auction those cars off in a ‘closed’ auction (ie. only ‘some’ people will be eligible to attend the auction) at a very very very very very low price.

How many birds they kill? 1) They get to replace the entire fleet of perdanas now with camry/accord/new perdanas; 2) they get to personally own the auctioned-off mercs (only a selected few lah); 3) they are ‘loyal’ to the federal govt

• tommy73 (Member) on Jul 24, 2008 at 7:28 pm

ACA better start charging the corrupt, and I want to see someone sent to jail! Don’t just say “tiada bukti, tiada kes, tutup fail” again and again. The evidence is solid, with facts and figures! If ACA cannot nail this, better close shop and sack all the officers.

Niamahh! Rakyat are skimming every sen, now everytime have to think twice when going out, every second we are thinking about how to save fuel, no more fast acceleration, try avoid traffic jam etc etc. And the bloody BN corrupt officers pocket the taxpayers money. I’m furious!

• torque (Member) on Jul 24, 2008 at 7:41 pm

Tommy73, well said! Spot on!

• RCM (Member) on Jul 24, 2008 at 8:00 pm

What other way is more dramatic than this to reveal the corruption ? haha,

Maybe Ahmad Said is trying to become a hero by becoming a villain…??

To expose greater evil by becoming evil himself..

• dcwhz83 (Member) on Jul 24, 2008 at 8:01 pm

well said Tommy73…
    someone needs to go to jail… or else BeeEnd can forget abt Terengganu state next election…

• ganz (Member) on Jul 24, 2008 at 8:04 pm

mat said “said”
    he have all the statement.. for repair and everything.. :D

this issue should be hot if
    they purchase of new PV6 with a cost of RM200k :D

• ly60 (Member) on Jul 24, 2008 at 8:19 pm

To firefly – 1000% agree with you.
    To Tommy73 – 1000% agree with you too.

By the way, they haven’t reveal the party that involve in the maintaining and reparing the cars. The reason, this is the culprit that produce the invoices, statement and everthing else. Need to find out who the cronies are.

• ignas (Member) on Jul 24, 2008 at 8:19 pm

Beside the corruptions, its also about local car (proton) versus foreign car (merc). if they were going for foreign car, why would they even consider accord and camry, no?

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on Jul 24, 2008 at 8:34 pm

I think it is not due to the car is ACCORD or TOYOTA CAMRY, It is a problem of Corruption. They will find a way to spend UNKNOWN money from RAKYAT and put a STUPID reason to Buy MERZ or BMW for they ENJOYMENT.

SATU BATU TIGA EMPAT EKOR AYAM.

THis case really shown that they all are PXG.

• mokkf82 (Member) on Jul 24, 2008 at 8:35 pm

Auction off? I don’t quite think so. Datuk Ahmad Said is the sole actor here, yes he might be the one that proved how corrupted our ex-MB is. Great job for that!
    But let’s see the real story behind after he really auction off that 14 Mercs

• extrarm (Member) on Jul 24, 2008 at 8:43 pm

idris jusoh car maintenance rm1xx,000.00. wondering how much abdullah, najib and other minister pv6 maintenance?

• Auto_crat (Member) on Jul 24, 2008 at 10:02 pm

So the real culprit has been exposed. But by condemning the v6 huge maintenance bill and slapped it on Proton is still unfair. After all those stretch v6s should be better than standard ones. Auction the Mercs to the public also not just ‘reserved’ to their cronies or select few with cheaper price. Anyway it’s good for Idris Jusoh to step down. Served him right.

• Nemo (Member) on Jul 24, 2008 at 10:25 pm

Eh… is Lotus cars are “National Car”? If it is, can you imagine EXCO member driving Lotus on the road?!!!! Wow….zzzzzzzz.. good nite.

• chanel (Member) on Jul 24, 2008 at 10:57 pm

hey nemo

indeed Lotus can be consider is a national car cz it’s owned by potong……i can sense lots of Lotus in near future…….

• BrakeFader (Member) on Jul 24, 2008 at 11:05 pm

I think we could lay this Merc issue to rest. At the end of the day, the excos will continue to drive the mercs.

This isn’t the first time something fishy has surfaced, like tools such as jacks and screwdrivers costing a bomb. But what happens after that? Everything is back to normal. Malaysia is a peaceful country indeed.

• offroader manix (Member) on Jul 24, 2008 at 11:08 pm

The previous branded as a CROOK !

Well the current one is worse than a CROOK !

I don’t how this guy can run a state……….? Might as well sack him !

• rajtheboss (Member) on Jul 24, 2008 at 11:13 pm

This issue is really a disgrace to our country because our national car pride has been tarnish by our own goverment people. Our neighbouring country ppl sure laugh at us. Anyway i wanna see whether the main culprit will be prosecuted or not. I think ACA sure tutup kes because definitely cronies involve got link with VVIP. Thats for sure

• rizones (Member) on Jul 24, 2008 at 11:33 pm

PV6 is Govt property…. all maintenance or fuel cost go back to Govt.
    So the driver or YB push the car to the max… Govt money maa… not their own pocket money.
    So what to worry… that why … every two month new gearbox.

bagi gajah pun….. gajah mati …

UBAH GAYA HIDUP …..

• csv (Member) on Jul 24, 2008 at 11:43 pm

gogogogo ACA.

reveal the corrupted rot withnin!

expose the lies, and then move on to other areas of the government!

• ykt2 (Member) on Jul 25, 2008 at 1:01 am

Routine maintenance cost well over the price of the car itself. Simply ridiculous. More like paying to renovate his own house.

• delos3nos (Member) on Jul 25, 2008 at 1:09 am

Maybe when they start using merc so they can collect more masuk workshop pocket money. Or they have ubah gaya hidup and also they want more gaya and also muthu sori mutu

• kruzer (Member) on Jul 25, 2008 at 1:14 am

they said too expensive to maintain… there’s always the public transport. Take lah the buses and taxis. The BN G already saved several millions from previous petrol price increase. From the current 40% increase, they can even travel in stretched limo Merc which can sit 44 people at a time, and has 6 wheels!

That way, they are happy to have their stretched limo, and we can have our improved public transport!

• shamel (Member) on Jul 25, 2008 at 1:26 am

Paul

Seems that ya YB CONfused between old Mercedes W124 and latest version, far from reliable (if he know what does reliable stand for).

By the way he did a good job, enlighten the whole this sleepy nation. WE, forget easily when SINGAPORE already makan our land and rocks. Malaysia will be much smaller than what we had now, asap.

If we just bother with this issues BUT ignore BUT let other bigger issues under massive carpet.

• Porkbutcher (Member) on Jul 25, 2008 at 1:41 am

Well, E200K certainly looks cool for me. More pretty cars on the road pls. Hahaha..

• MyviKiller (Member) on Jul 25, 2008 at 3:36 am

Whether luxury cars or not, it’s the government officials that needs to be brainwashed.

UBAH GAYA HIDUP… diao lah…

• MyviKiller (Member) on Jul 25, 2008 at 3:37 am

But Paul has mentioned about the MB’s tactic in his previous post, so there should be more interesting stories to come.

• azrai (Member) on Jul 25, 2008 at 7:22 am

More to come, from the other states as well. The drivers has been grille. Guess what, in yesterday’s news the workshop is MBKL Sdn. Bhd., not the authorised EON or Proton one. The foreman even said that to change the V6 gearbox it is cost only RM8k. Haha. Good job BPR. Paul, your ‘ubah gaya hidup’s e-class photo make it cameo appearance in last 2 days Utusan. They took the photo straightaway. :-).
    Todays news, SX4 launched. ;
    SUZUKI Malaysia Automobile Sdn Bhd semalam melancarkan model kereta terbarunya, Suzuki SX4 Sedan yang diimport sepenuhnya (CBU) dari Jepun.
    Suzuki SX4 yang dijana kapasiti enjin 1.6 liter itu dilengkapi ciri kemewahan sebuah kereta salon, selain ruang kabin yang luas serta pelbagai kemudahan seperti sebuah kenderaan pelbagai guna (MPV).
    Ia ditawarkan pada harga atas jalan berserta insurans RM91,437.50 bagi model 1.6 Automatik, manakala model 1.6 Automatik Premier berharga RM96,567.50.

• Paul Tan on Jul 25, 2008 at 7:27 am

azrai: can you scan the utusan page for us? i would like to see how it looks like.

• Roti Naan (Member) on Jul 25, 2008 at 10:24 am

The attitude of Terengannu Govt presently can be reflected through below statistic:

Gaya 100%

Otak 0%

• jolly_idiot (Member) on Jul 25, 2008 at 10:25 am

Buatan Malaysia V6 oledi ripped off RM1.15mil. Doubt that this Buatan Jerman will rip off how much? RM1.15mil x ??? = RM??? Bil

• porto (Member) on Jul 25, 2008 at 10:50 am

1. korea kereta rasmi adalah HYUNDAI
    2. france kereta rasmi adalah RENAULT.
    3. malaysia semua kereta ok selain PROTON…….. itu kata ahli politik malaysia……..

sebab itu lah malaysia akan terus jadi negara dunia ke3 sbb kebanyakkan pemimpim malaysia tiada otak. kalau di korea / jepun / france tentu sudah meletak jawatan.

hey proton marketing team do something,,,, counter the allegataion. come out with statistic on maintenance, advert on the front page of newspaper, do something guys,,,, i guess syed zainal should have a task force team for this……….this is best chance for you guys,,,,,or maybe you have a mentality of “IGNORANCE IS A STRENTGH” from George Owell novel.

• torque (Member) on Jul 25, 2008 at 11:19 am

Hah! That’s a good one Roti Naan. Right on the target!

• mousqy (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 12:19 am

1.3 mil
    brape sgt yg pakai untuk maintainance
    yg lain tipu invoice masuk poket
    ahhhh
    TIPU BELAKA

• Politik View on Aug 17, 2010 at 9:26 am

Negeri Terengganu ada hasil minyak,so layak la untuk pakai Mercedes Benz E200K…