Suzuki SX4 Sedan 1.6 Auto launched in Malaysia

Suzuki SX4

After teasing us with the Suzuki SX4 Sedan’s impending introduction with various units placed in shopping malls around the country as part of a contest, Suzuki Malaysia Automobile Sdn Bhd has unveiled the Suzuki SX4 Sedan yesterday. The car is a CBU unit fully imported from Japan and two variants are available, both with a 1.6 litre engine and automatic transmission.

The Nissan Latio is no longer alone in its game as a 1.6 litre B-segment sedan. The Suzuki SX4 sedan is powered by the same 1.6 litre VVT engine as its hatchback sibling. It puts out a rather sedate 102 PS at 5,600rpm and 140Nm of torque at 4,000rpm through the front wheels via a 4-speed automatic.

It’s a rather tall sedan with higher than usual ground clearance. The front fascia is actually inspired by a Japanese Kabuki mask, which explains its aggressive look. The addition of a boot onto the hatchback’s body results in a very impressive 515 litre boot space, probably the largest in its class. Also first in class is the inclusion of ISOFIX mounting points for child seats on the rear passenger bench and automatic climate control.

The base model comes standard with a bodykit. It features a standard CD player with MP3 capabilities, mated to an 8-speaker audio system with steering wheel audio controls. In addition to the standard ISOFIX points, there are dual SRS airbags in the front.Wheels are 15 inchers with 195/65R15 tyres and brakes are discs at the front and drums at the rear.

The standard version costs RM88,888 OTR without insurance (RM91,437 with insurance). The premium version will cost you RM96,567.50 OTR inclusive of insurance and adds window tinting, a trunk lid spoiler (the rest of the aerokit is standard), door visors and leather seats. Three colours are available – Silky Silver, Azure Grey and Black Pearl.

Suzuki SX4 1.6 Hatchback Launched In Malaysia

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Jul 25, 2008 at 7:56 am

Good at least this will help break the Vios/City dominance of this segment of the market and give Malaysians more freedom of choice.

• narrowband (Member) on Jul 25, 2008 at 8:19 am

High ground clearance = good for flash floods.

Anyway this ride is sure to give Nissan and Toyota a run for their money.

Too bad it’s not CKD, otherwise it will really appeal to younger buyers.

• lowprofile (Member) on Jul 25, 2008 at 8:49 am

this car looks super good (imho) but it’s gonna take a fantastic price to pull away buyers of the mainstream japanese cars. the new city will probably rule when it comes in… very soon.

• kerelbort (Member) on Jul 25, 2008 at 9:23 am

A Jap CBU for RM88,888 or a Thai CBU for RM73,525…

why a Japan import with the shipping charges, insurance etc price not much different with a Thai import?

and why a recon car import from Japan selling price is so high?

we all so hook up on the point that Proton ripping us, the government ripping us.. how bout those car salesman ripping us now?

anyone sees the light yet?

• raverus (Member) on Jul 25, 2008 at 9:27 am

Don’t mean to sound negative but base on that price range vios and city can kill sx4 easily, not to forget it has a lower second hand value..

• theanswer (Member) on Jul 25, 2008 at 9:31 am

i have a mixed feeling about the A-pillar..but somehow the car looks good and sturdy. yeap..if the car got ckd..should be nice.

• abtm (Member) on Jul 25, 2008 at 9:35 am

104PS seems abit low, even a normal 4A-FE 1.6 Corolla engine puts more power than that, and that’s over 10 years ago

• ndmervin (Member) on Jul 25, 2008 at 10:02 am

The car is good for ladies and they dont care much about second-hand value..

If u push it up to 180km/h, the car is still stable and quiet despite the high stature.

As long as it’s appealing to the fairer sex, I dont see why the car cannot sell.. especially those who want something different and unique rather than the boring ‘ol City/Vios..

• jolly_idiot (Member) on Jul 25, 2008 at 10:22 am

However, malaysian market always depends on it’s resell value. People opt for Toyota/Honda due to it’s reputation and 2nd value. Doubt this will archieves it’s par head to head with Toyota/Honda or Nissan.

• dr_carz (Member) on Jul 25, 2008 at 10:41 am

TRY OWNING A SUZUKI… U WILL FALL IN LOVE WITH IT….

DONT TRUST ME. TRY OWNING ONE..

• mitlanevo (Member) on Jul 25, 2008 at 11:17 am

the car is ok, but the price is slightly too high…. maybe some discount between 5k-10k?

• Hikaru (Member) on Jul 25, 2008 at 11:18 am

Yup indeed as other commenters have said, it’s just too expensive. Want a cheaper and more frugal car? Get the swift….That’s a real contender to Vios or city for those who can’t careless about the sedan look.

• ignas (Member) on Jul 25, 2008 at 11:38 am

Hmm the combination of the A pillar and the tilted rear looks weird. And its rather under power imo.

• White Jack (Member) on Jul 25, 2008 at 11:58 am

So ugly how to buy ? Expensive somemore :)

• torque (Member) on Jul 25, 2008 at 12:24 pm

I have seen it at the Curve Damansara and frankly, I prefer the hatchback version which look much nicer than the sedan. Another thing is, what Dr_Carz said is true. I do not own a Suzuki but I do test drive the Swift Premier edition a while back and by god, I’m in love with the overall performance and quality! Too bad that time my wife strongly stated she wants a sedan…sigh! :-(

• mokkf82 (Member) on Jul 25, 2008 at 2:11 pm

Nice aggresive looking car!

• JULIANLEE2 (Member) on Jul 25, 2008 at 3:02 pm

we wont be getting those rims

• repsoleo (Member) on Jul 25, 2008 at 3:36 pm

i would still prefer the toyota or the civic. my SEG corolla 1.6 is still going strong after 13 years on the road.

• nmh (Member) on Jul 25, 2008 at 4:23 pm

good lookin vios exterior + good lookin city interior + 100 cc more = SX4 sedan……..perfect

• xstan (Member) on Jul 25, 2008 at 6:13 pm

In Singapore, it range as the most cheapest model among City, Vios & Latio.
    Gain the most economical car status but not here inconsideration of its price higher then City or Vios.

• mystvearn (Member) on Jul 25, 2008 at 6:16 pm

515l, that is one big appeal, especially for balik kampung time

• corruptometer (Member) on Jul 25, 2008 at 7:05 pm

Notice that they never show the side profile… with that squashed upturned butt, it looks like a dog doing it’s … err… business by the road. Quite a turn-off. I understand that it’s targetted at the American market – apparently Americans hates hatchbacks (“College Cars” they would sniff). “So let’s slap on a boot to meet the Yanks’ demands” says Suzuki Japan. To hell with good taste.

• capeplates (Member) on Jul 25, 2008 at 10:20 pm

Ugly – aged styling – no chance!

• rajtheboss (Member) on Jul 25, 2008 at 10:56 pm

Paultan, kindly post the interior photos of the car, Price slightly high, below 80k will be better bargain.

• Paul Tan on Jul 25, 2008 at 11:53 pm

I am still waiting for the CD with photos from Suzuki.

• topgunthang (Member) on Jul 26, 2008 at 12:35 am

i think ladies would take the swift first over this.

• khengyi82 (Member) on Jul 26, 2008 at 2:14 am

This is a nice design even the quality is good, this cars look sporty. and it look stuitable for age 18 to 24 year old. i like the Azure Grey colour. especially this is CBU unit compare with CKD is still the different, even the quality i would rate 4 star. All of can see in american people mention this cars provides a welcome altenative to all those civics, corollas and sentras. good cars !

• kinwawa (Member) on Jul 26, 2008 at 5:39 pm

Dun forget this is a CBU unit as oppose to CKD units of Vios n City…i haven’t step into the SX4 sedan yet but from the pricing…it’s not that expensive in comparison with the other CKD model….esp. Vios….
    PS: the high pricing is a reality….can’t deny n there’s no escape from it….v just nd to evaluate base on its price as compared to other cars sold in M’sia..nt others countries…

• topgunthang (Member) on Jul 26, 2008 at 6:50 pm

i think this car is so so only. of course its a change….but uninspiring car. just running off the halo image of the swift. would be nice to see it priced exactly like the vios.

• prangin (Member) on Jul 26, 2008 at 8:06 pm

i doubt many gonna reach for d cheque book in a hurry for this. it’s interesting to note that car makers seem to be outdoing each other to make d most visually impaired design. first d city, then latio and now this…hmm.

• 3S (Member) on Jul 29, 2008 at 3:07 pm

I dun no about SX4 sedan, but the look is good. i own a swift sport ( M ) , the quality is good . for normal swift, CKD and CBU different is not in performance but in quality. i m so confident the QMS and process control in japan is far away better than in malaysia , thailand.

but the price for 1.6 sedan is bit expensive. if suzuki malayisa really 1 2 use this sedan to beat vios and city , they should lower their price.
    they should think about point of differnet for this SX4 sedan.

Vios type s around RM 88,000 versus SX4 Sedan RM91,437 .

• apamau77 (Member) on Jul 31, 2008 at 1:36 pm

Another option to choose instead of Toyota, Honda, Nissan sedan car. This should be a rivalry to Toyo Vios, Hond City n Niss Latee oh …

• thow (Member) on Aug 04, 2008 at 3:55 pm

Although it’s pricey compare to other sedan in it’s class.
    I would say that the quality of SX4’s interior beat it’s competitor.
    The design of the dash is nice compare to vios, city, latio. And u got an automatic air conditioning, not those manual type like vios, city, latio’s air-con.
    PLUS, it’s a fully imported unit from japan. It’s not like CKD’s latio, city (Correct me if i’m wrong ). So the quality will be better.

• Michael Adhi (Member) on Aug 05, 2008 at 4:12 pm

I think the car in question is not the VVT version. If you guys look at at the global Suzuki site, there’s a VVT and non VVT version of the SX4. The non VVT version produces 74Kw/100ps@5600RPM and 140nm@4000RPM, while the VVT version produces somewhere between 74Kw-79Kw/107ps depending on the country of origin.

However, this is not written in stone apparently. Indonesian SX4 (CKD & CBU) both have a 100ps 1.5L VVT engine… But how? It is stated clearly on the Suzuki website that the are no 1.5L VVT engine on the SX4. But there IS an oil valve control that controls the VVT mechanism. There are no concrete answer for this one, but it seems that Suzuki uses a “dumb” chip so Indonesia bound SX4 are able to drink the shitty fuel quality we have here.

So perhaps that explains the low horsepower number on the SX4 sedan bound to Malaysia.

• Azlan on Apr 20, 2009 at 8:18 pm

to consider reducing slightly lower the price from RM79K after taking into consideration of its lower second hand value.

In terms of its looks, superb, sporty + elegant.

Hopefully with this positive remarks can get special price from the Suzuki dealers.

• musa ismail on Sep 25, 2009 at 8:01 pm

can we use petrol 95 because my car no pick up

• bought this car already. will get it soon.

tell u what, rite now, for 2008 production, got 12k off!!!! rm12k discount man! thats y we grab it. ;)

• s.k tan on Nov 04, 2011 at 2:55 am

I bought a sx4 crossover hatch back. Sedan version to me just too common looking; not much to differentiate from others.
    Do try to check out the sx4 hatch back version,it’s a beauty….especially for young to mid age ladies.