Terengganu Perdana V6 maintenance handled by drivers and superior officers

Proton Perdana V6

Terengganu State Secretary Datuk Mokhtar Nong said the maintenance aspects of the state’s Proton Perdana V6 Executive fleet was handled by the car’s drivers or their superior officers and that the state paid for the maintenance based on “claims”. Each state exco has two drivers – one is a permanent employee of the state and the other is appointed on a contract basis by the exco himself.

The MBs of Pahang and Kelantan have come to defense of Datuk Ahmad Said’s claims that the Perdana V6 was expensive to maintain. Pahang MB Datuk Adnan Yaakob claimed his Mercedes-Benz incurred a cost of RM42,000 in 2007, while his state exco’s Perdana incurred a cost of RM57,500.

The Terengganu government has also corrected the figures published yesterday. They admit that they made a mistake with Idris Jusoh’s car. The following are the new figures:

• Idris Jusoh’s car from 2004 to 2008 – RM131,449.83
  • Idris Jusoh’s car cost in first two months of 2008 – RM27.923.41
  • Most expensive car to maintain – Toh Chin Yaw’s car – RM175,229.79
  • Total bills for all cars over the past 4 years – RM1,071,668.82

One of the car workshops appointed by the state government to maintain the fleet of Perdanas is AMBL Services. AMBL Services is one of the lucky four workshops appointed to maintain the Terengganu state fleet. The other three workshops are Pusat Servis EON, Tenaga Setia Service Sdn Bhd, and Pusat Servis Ranaco.

AMBL owner Nazri Omar admitted in an interview with Bernama that he charged the government 25% more than what he would usually charge his other customers because the state government pays the workshop 1 or 2 months late. This is contrary to Datuk Mokhtar Nong’s claims that payment is made within 2 weeks of receiving service orders.

Nazri also added that it typically costs RM8,301 (this figure is already marked up 25%) to change a gearbox of the Perdana V6. Another unnamed workshop owner said that a recond gearbox could be used for about RM3,000. Nazri also added that if repair costs exceed RM12,000 the workshop would have to wait for the Public Works Department approval (who was the previous Works Minister again?).

Based on these workshop’s quotes we can assume that the cost to replace a Perdana V6’s gearbox should be under RM10,000. However Selangor State exco Ronnie Liu’s Perdana V6’s gearbox was changed at a cost of RM23,000 two weeks ago. Why such a huge discrepancy between the numbers? Are there cases of bocor in other states as well?

Other state governments are already considering emulating Terengganu’s “cost-cutting” exercise. The Selangor state government is now considering the Toyota Camry for its state excos. Ronnie Liu said the proposal for the Camry is not in their interest but it is because the excos need a safe car to “travel all over the place”. Yeah right, like the rest of us do not, but we have to live with what we have. I’d like to see you people take the public transport system for one month, then we’ll see some real action to improve the system.

UPDATE: According to The Star, the Prime Minister has given the go ahead to the Terengganu state government to use the Mercedes-Benz E200K as its state exco cars.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• azrai (Member) on Jul 25, 2008 at 7:32 am

ACA will do a great job. Go on ACA. Grille them. Not only in Terengganu.

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Jul 25, 2008 at 7:34 am

Since fuel consumption is a big concern, I highly recommend all public elected officials drive the TATA NANO, perhaps the upcoming 800cc 2-cylinder turbo-diesel. That will really help save fuel. Maintenance costs should be quite low.

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Jul 25, 2008 at 7:45 am

nak safe beli bas la…

• abtm (Member) on Jul 25, 2008 at 7:59 am

might i suggest a fleet of Toyota Hiace? it’s spacious, reliable, and if a small business can maintain it, i can’t see why a govt can’t…not the most glamorous of all cars but it beats being seen in an entry level Merc

• shaif (Member) on Jul 25, 2008 at 8:08 am

How about Naza Ria, but it consume more fuel than Camry or Accord. Nissan Estima looks exclusive also and can pack more people for long distance travel.

• oyl78 (Member) on Jul 25, 2008 at 8:13 am

talking about luxury car? can consider Toyota Alphard… about the same price, have similar safety features and more important, can fetch up to 7 person excluding Ahmad, the driver…

• dzulcar9 (Member) on Jul 25, 2008 at 8:14 am

MB = Menteri Besar, Mau Beli, Merc Benz,

Mana Boleh!!!

• oyl78 (Member) on Jul 25, 2008 at 8:15 am

only problem is high fuel consumption…

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Jul 25, 2008 at 8:19 am

Now all the worms are crawing out of the woodwork.

25% overcharge. Lovely. Thats how they get ‘rich’ so fast. By scamming the rest of the rakyat’s money.

I would love to be able to overcharge 25% on our products that we sell… or I would be hung and put out to the vultures if I have inked a contract that charge me 25% more. BN ecomonics?

I have no faith in any of the government law enforcement agencies….ACA or what not. It will eventually be swept under the carpet after a few months…unless we keep the pot brewing.

• Paul Tan on Jul 25, 2008 at 8:24 am

The typical late payment charge is 1.5% per month. Two months late should be 3% only. 25% could be just the tip of the ice berg. That’s just one party marking up.

• notsleepy (Member) on Jul 25, 2008 at 8:29 am

I strongly support the Trengganu G for this action. Even in ‘Communist rule’ country have change slightly to allow “carrot or stick principle’. Not equal share of hardship or prosperity, otherwise no one would work harder. Everyone will want to work less!
    CM Penang is also right to cancel the perdana to save cost but wrong to ‘punish’ his elected Rep by ordering them to use old ‘jalopy’. It is ashame to invite them to grace a function as a ‘guest of honour’ in the present of foreigner when others are arriving in better cars ( for personal errant OK laa..).
    By the way E class Merc are not Luxury for our ‘Leaders’ but a good compromise between luxury and practical which they deserved. Further more they are only !.8 and a fuel miser compare to perdana.
    As for Sgor MB proposal to camry, no laa. Go for something better ‘class’, as your ‘Rep’ deserved a better deal. Pride aside, follow the road that is just ‘open’!

• ignas (Member) on Jul 25, 2008 at 8:31 am

They always say stupid things and then later came out with other excuses to correct their mistakes. Isnt that very obvious? What a bunch of bulls that came from their mouth. Ya go on ACA, shed more light in their shadow!

• tommy73 (Member) on Jul 25, 2008 at 8:44 am

Not only EXCO need safer car, the Rakyat too need safety. If EXCO can have 2 airbags, ABS, EBD as standard, then Proton should make this safety features as standard! Please don’t treat EXCO like God, and Rakyat like dog. We are human too. We too have family and loved ones. We do not need to die faster than the EXCO.

• narrowband (Member) on Jul 25, 2008 at 8:48 am

I think arriving at functions in official cars – whatever the make and model – never hurts the ‘elected rep’s ego. And IMHO Camry would do a decent job. Also, some of these Reps do not deserve to be up there in the first place.

• xg9 (Member) on Jul 25, 2008 at 9:11 am

this is how ppl get rich when they work with/for the g… i work in a g agency, so i know… g ALWAYS over spend everything.. Ronnie Liu’s Perdana V6’s gearbox was changed at a cost of RM23,000, is not surprising at all…. 23k – 3k (recond gb) = 20k. 10k for the workshop, 10k for ronnie

• Fraz006 on May 29, 2010 at 3:08 pm

Tau takpe… its more than obvoius bro.. but who are we to complain? voices never heard..

• familyman (Member) on Jul 25, 2008 at 9:19 am

hahahaha

nevermind lah the BN(terengganu) or PKR(selangor)…. if they get duit rakyat.. spend it like grandfathers money lah buy the cars..

when u are in power everything u do is right, when u not in power everything other people do is not right..

• waimak (Member) on Jul 25, 2008 at 9:20 am

Typical Malaysian culture, when there is a problem, no one takes responsibility. Everybody gives their excuses, especially when its in the press already. Trust me, no one will get caught.

The tGanu G and the workshop are the 2 parties involved. Do not divert the issues of poor quality and high maintenance cost. Everybody can justify ‘heaven and earth’ or ‘the universe’ if they want, but the onus has always been in the G. I’m not defending Proton.

Issues aside, look forward to Perdana’s replacement though it’s too far away.

• ganz (Member) on Jul 25, 2008 at 9:21 am

haahahahah…
    see… Camry already came in the picture :D

• alvin_chan88 (Member) on Jul 25, 2008 at 9:28 am

haha, now i really do see those “worms” in the can. Not just Terengganu, but the whole Malaysia. Lets put it this way, I feel that they should purchase their own vehicle, withe their salary and perhaps some “extra income”, they can buy any vehicle they want without using the Rakyat’s money. Furthermore. I feel the rakyat is the one that need vehicles with air bags, ABS, EBD, BA, VSC….. as standard. For The EXCO and MB? No need la. They have all the traffic police and bodyguards to excort the car, causing unwanted jam but yet they can break the traffic rules such as speeding, ignoring the traffic lights….. So why in the world they need such a good car? haha. I am just wondering, why they can have so many escorts, have the previllege to break the traffic rules, why they are still late for fucntions? and if their time are precious, whatabout us? So unfair to see them cruising through although it is peak hours or the road had jammed up merely because of them? Sad…..

• Mb_321 (Member) on Jul 25, 2008 at 9:30 am

why must camry, what about Accord?

• notsleepy (Member) on Jul 25, 2008 at 9:30 am

narrow, no matter how much you dislike some of them, you dont paint all of them in a single color. They are up there, and chances are, you not up there yet. So work harder for it to be rewarded.
    Lets look in another angle. Say your boss, is driving a merc ‘S’ class. You happy for him or you resent and grumble and campaign to every worker to go slow so that your boss will earn less and cannot afford the ‘S’ and drive the same car as you.

• jehutyz (Member) on Jul 25, 2008 at 9:30 am

Obviously this is a bocor case….
    Such a big amount of money. We always heard the big amount of money had been spent.
    If the workshop is expensive why not go Proton Service Center.
    AMBL charge 25% higher…. that is a lot.
    from RM10K will become RM12.5K but now is RM23K

• ahmadmckk (Member) on Jul 25, 2008 at 9:39 am

maintenance handled by drivers and officers and allocation based on claims? perfect example of bocor and corruption.

the service centres are at fault too. 25% overcharge is just too high for executive cars. another case of corruption?

• kodok (Member) on Jul 25, 2008 at 9:42 am

camry for s’gor exco????…if perdana’s gearbox cost 23k to be fixed..might as well put accord,mazda6 and cefiro into consideration..23k for gearbox??…crazyyyyy!!!

• normaluser (Member) on Jul 25, 2008 at 9:48 am

notsleepy

what do you mean the E200 does not have enough ‘class’ for the exco? For god sake, the average rakyat only afford to own Wira/Persona, and excos are using cars at 6 to 8 times the price. The amount of money spent to buy the cars can be put to better use by giving it back to the people in terms of development & welfare. The Terengganu Govt should take factor on the Merc depreciation costs as part of the running costs.

Trust me, at our current auto tax regime, even a Camry or a Corolla is considered as a luxury car. This is not US, where average people drives a Camry/Accord 3L V6s and government people may drove US55K Cadillac, S-Class, 7 series or Hummer.

• ericfoong81exe@ (Member) on Jul 25, 2008 at 9:51 am

I dunno we are stupid or they are moron? RM23k for a local low tech perdana V6 gear box replacement? Freak….Why they want to act like stupid, even a moron know how to count….Alway speak off without brain….

• ganz (Member) on Jul 25, 2008 at 9:57 am

:D they have lots of merc in their home already.. :D

• Paul Tan on Jul 25, 2008 at 9:58 am

ericfoong: The Perdana V6 gearbox is not low tech, not relatively anyway. It has fuzzy logic shifting, something that only Mazda gearboxes seem to have in its class.

• notsleepy (Member) on Jul 25, 2008 at 10:02 am

Alamak!! With the amount of E200 running on the street, I guest Msia is not that poor to classified Camry/Accord as luxury cars.

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Jul 25, 2008 at 10:02 am

Without Prejudice/P&C – Someone told me Proton had problems earlier cos they left off an oil cooler! Maybe someone in R&D and/or procurement (I bet it’s procurement!) wanted to save money but in a strange way.

• jolly_idiot (Member) on Jul 25, 2008 at 10:08 am

After so many grilling on Terengganu case. Anyone here will ever doubt what will be the repair cost for our PM Badawi’s V6? I’ll be much appreciate if someone would disclosed that.

• ericfoong81exe@ (Member) on Jul 25, 2008 at 10:10 am

paultan: Do you think that gear box worth for that amount? I doubted.

• Roti Naan (Member) on Jul 25, 2008 at 10:15 am

no wonder some govt related workshops managed to survive even though they have little customers in their shops. They marked up 25%!!.

That means “Do little work than usual, Earn more than usual”.

This is a GOD-SEND kinda job…….

• notsleepy (Member) on Jul 25, 2008 at 10:16 am

I guess the that Perdana don’t have much repair. It’s sleeping most of the time.

• ericfoong81exe@ (Member) on Jul 25, 2008 at 10:20 am

With the staement they have shown, maybe they’ev sent their own merc to service in that shop…instead of the perdana…:)

• melvin.foong (Member) on Jul 25, 2008 at 10:27 am

its a ego trip. really.

Maybe the rep forgot to bribe Proton to cover up the figures before they come up with it.

Maybe their “maintenance” of such cars, is actually buying new cars, and change car whenever it needs servicing?

• hamster (Member) on Jul 25, 2008 at 10:34 am

man..wat a show..SELL DA MERC !!! use a local car..tats all we ask 4..dont giv us no BS bout things tats gon xpose even uglier side of da situation..pls..stop it Yang Berhormat..

• shazziebaby (Member) on Jul 25, 2008 at 10:36 am

Yeah, let them all use the public transport system.

I use the komuter daily and it has been getting from bad to worse. How can tax payer’s money be squandered like nobody’s business when normal people have to struggle everyday with the discomfort of travelling to and fro from work in a packed train cabin – sometimes with no airconditioning. The public transport system must be improved.. no way has the current komuter system got the capacity to handle the amount of passengers it has today.

Recently, during the big roadblocks around KL for “you-know-who”, the komuter platform was absolutely packed and a pregnant woman actually fell off the komuter platform and onto the tracks! (thank goodness no komuter was going by and people managed to save her). Since then I have vowed to myself that I will never ever let my wife and kids take the komuter for as long as the service is as crap as it is.

Stop the mad squandering of tax payer’s money… IT IS OUR MONEY. What is now happening to this country makes me feel sick. “Drivers and Officers responsible??” How can these people run a state if they can’t even control their own staff’s expense claims. Itupun masih masih simpan lagi orang macam ni. Good riddance!

• hamster (Member) on Jul 25, 2008 at 10:38 am

Paul, ur stil using a Perdana rite..?? wats ur thot bout this..?

• dr_carz (Member) on Jul 25, 2008 at 10:44 am

SAMA AJA PR OR BN…..

U MALAYSIAN ARE DUPE BY POLITICIAN HAHAAHAHHA

I TAK BAYAR CUKAI……………

LARI WOOO….

HAHAHAHAHA

• GeorgeYeoh (Member) on Jul 25, 2008 at 10:53 am

Is it possible that Proton join force or alone come out a car that is:
    – Fuel saving (engine idle stop)
    – Reinforced (kevlar shielded door, tempered proof wind screen, reinforced tire)
    – Higher quality of all parts
    – Better interior features (3G, Wifi, Bluetooth, GPS, etc)
    – Good price and maintenance package
    And branded it Proton Perdana-G (G for government).

Could even sub divided into:
    Perdana-G Exclusive (for highest rank)
    Perdana-G Premium (for mid rank)
    Perdana-G Advance (for lower rank)

These/this car will be officially government use only, not for public. Since it is special version, it could be made specifically up to the government standard (drive further with less cost, safer, durable parts).

When problem arise government can directly complaint the maker, and in a way, make our national car better. On the other hand, the government have no more excuse to not use national car. But some country government also not using car’s that their own country produces. Well…

Special car workshop should be setup, thus quality could be maintained. Could also further make each transaction transparent (thus auditor could cross check).

• torque (Member) on Jul 25, 2008 at 11:40 am

Notsleepy,

I read your post towards Narrow but I’m sorry to point that your post is ridiculous!! Fact is that most OUR boss (my boss too drive an S Class) purchase their S Class with their own bloody money, FAHAM? Not people’s money!

• dUrEx333 (Member) on Jul 25, 2008 at 11:42 am

wondering how much for the Merz maintenance costs include their greedy interest charges(25% or more higher bcz of importer parts). Aiyaa… so many wasting maa.. (Nak murah.. buy P2 Myvi SE or P1 Savvy R3 laa and stick the Executive sticker.. Rakyat pun hepy.. End of story )

*only have Kapcai with 4 doors n wheels.

• torque (Member) on Jul 25, 2008 at 11:51 am

Plus Normaluser has a point there. Please la dude, take a trip to Terengganu and have a look around yourself. My brother married a Terengganu’s girl and when I went there, the state really need a lot of development. The amount of money the “noble” politician use to purchase the E200 can be put to good use for the people of Terengganu. If they want an E Class so bad, please buy with your own DAMN money ok?! Notsleepy, how would you like to give me half of your salary for me to spend blindly for my own leisure?

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Jul 25, 2008 at 11:56 am

notsleepy said,
    July 25, 2008 @ 9:30 am

Lets look in another angle. Say your boss, is driving a merc ‘S’ class. You happy for him or you resent and grumble and campaign to every worker to go slow so that your boss will earn less and cannot afford the ‘S’ and drive the same car as you.

——-

Thats a rather pointless statement. Our bosses buy thier own cars, be it thier own money or the company’s money – in which they own anyway.

The elected representatives are buying with Rakyats’ money (OUR money). Its especially insensitive in this climate of increasing cost of living asking us to “ubah gaya hidup”.

This is the case of not so much the Perdana is a bad car or The E200 is a good car, its racking headlines becuase its a case of BOCOR.

• alvin_chan88 (Member) on Jul 25, 2008 at 12:08 pm

notsleepy said,

Notsleepy, are you asleep or what? Your assumption is really pointless and distorted. What you are trying to say that if your boss is collecting “funds” for the employees in order to buy his / her ‘S’ class, are you going to be proud of it? That’s insane. From the employer’s point of view, its good to have you as my employee because i can ‘deduct’ your pay and buy a new ‘S’ class and say….. for the sake of my (boss) image. You (Notsleepy) should be happy right? haha

• alvin_chan88 (Member) on Jul 25, 2008 at 12:10 pm

Correction, the sentence ” What you are trying to say that if your boss is collecting “funds” FOR the employees in order to buy his / her ‘S’ class, are you going to be proud of it? “the word “for” should change to “from”. Thank you

• Max88 (Member) on Jul 25, 2008 at 12:21 pm

“This is contrary to Datuk Mokhtar Nong’s claims that payment is made within 2 weeks of receiving service orders.”
    >> Maybe the payment is on time but for some unknown reasons, the cheques are just kept inside the drawer?

“AMBL owner Nazri Omar admitted in an interview with Bernama that he charged the government 25% more than what he would usually charge his other customers because the state government pays the workshop 1 or 2 months late.”
    >> So basically, it’s cost 25% more to keep the payment cheques released on time?

That’s only for Terengganu. Multiply it by other state, federal levels, other govt agencies. Maybe it’ll reach RM2.5billion car maintenance expenses annually nationwide?

And Paul Tan did mention who is the previous Works Minister? Well, the answer is quite memilukan.

Common sense will tell you that AMBL stands for:
    AMBL – Ambo Minta Bayar Lebih
    AMBL – Ambo Mau Banyak Lagi
    AMBL – Ambo Mana Boleh Lugi…

• bax79 (Member) on Jul 25, 2008 at 12:28 pm

notsleepy said,
    ————————————————-

What about your boss told u that he gonna cut cost because of company’s profit is decreased. This year no bonus. Salary no increased…..ask you to change your working’s style to save cost…bla bla bla….
    At the end of the year, he changed his Pv6 to MB E200K….and tell u that because of safety, maintainance, bla bla bla…..So will u get mad?

• bukitdamansara (Member) on Jul 25, 2008 at 12:36 pm

bla..bla..bla…

• tommy73 (Member) on Jul 25, 2008 at 2:10 pm

Mana boleh AAB sleepy head! How can you simply approve this? Other states will use the same excuse to buy Merc after this. If they really need to change the cars, why not Camry? Have they done the analysis on total cost of ownership?

Why can’t you just think about Rakyat first? Why do you mati-mati want to liwat Rakyat? Why can’t you ubah gaya hidup by saving the taxpayers money?

Earlier, your cabinet said No to Merc, now you say Yes. You said let’s ubah gaya hidup, now you allow them to ubah gaya ala-Merc.

This is flip-flop at its pinnacle! AAB has lost all the credibility as PM. AAB really has to go, NOW.

• pippen (Member) on Jul 25, 2008 at 2:32 pm

Is there any policies or action done by the G for the past 2 months benefits the people rather then spending tax players money, and all the questionable contracts disclosed? anyone still think there will be good things done by Proton to benefit u? launching a new model like persona, etc? We are force to buy expensive car with less qualities for the sick of few people.

• JULIANLEE2 (Member) on Jul 25, 2008 at 3:02 pm

why cant they use volvos?

• ganz (Member) on Jul 25, 2008 at 3:09 pm

it no the car problem… beside volvo.. there are other to consider also.. Audi, Beemer,

• dUrEx333 (Member) on Jul 25, 2008 at 3:42 pm

(According to The Star, the Prime Minister has given the go ahead to the Terengganu state government to use the Mercedes-Benz E200K as its state exco cars).

so how bout us?(RAKYAT) we also wanna drive that damn car.
    we also wanna UBAH GAYA HIDUP like yours.

SATU LAGI PROJEK MR. BEAN END UNTUK RAKYAT

• satekj (Member) on Jul 25, 2008 at 4:12 pm

if the quality of the highest grade Proton car (Perdana) is really that poor as claimed, then what about the majority of us who use the “lower” grade of Proton cars…

if the cost of repair and maintain a Proton car is really that high, then why the petrol price still being increase 40++%, how will the people feel…

if all MBs need safe car to travel around, then what about us…

• abtm (Member) on Jul 25, 2008 at 4:21 pm

in that case, can the PM give the go ahead to abolish all tax in imported cars as well, it’s the same thing really… if i were the PM i will punish them by sending them 14 Proton Sagas for them to use for a year!

• shamel (Member) on Jul 25, 2008 at 4:33 pm

Smell fishy, huh? Yesterday claim other amount today reCORRECT to more logical amount!

Why PM must give nod if the thing against circular? PM above the law or PM is law?

The most relevant cars still between Camry 2.0/2.4 or Accord 2.0/2.4 NOT unreliable Benz.

These morons never learn even after “erection”. Same goes to PKR? Pandai Kelentong Rakyat?

• DanGerMouS3 (Member) on Jul 25, 2008 at 4:41 pm

this is really hilarious

1) one of the many retards have just show themself loudly
    2)who are they trying to fool with all those figures
    3)one of our “GREAT” leaders have just ask all rakyat not to buy PROTON. since u so mahal to maintain. RM23k for gearbox?? hahahaha…i dont think we have watch any comedies. just turn on the news and see what are thESe jokers doing to our country.

sigh….

• B1u3Be@m (Member) on Jul 25, 2008 at 4:47 pm

Next headline:Goverment considering buying Rolls-Royce.That would keep the ball “Rolling”

• NoToLowQuality (Member) on Jul 25, 2008 at 6:17 pm

bax79
    What about your boss told u that he gonna cut cost because of company’s profit is decreased. This year no bonus. Salary no increased…..ask you to change your working’s style to save cost…bla bla bla….
    At the end of the year, he changed his Pv6 to MB E200K….and tell u that because of safety, maintainance, bla bla bla…..So will u get mad?
    I hope the entire nation will also change the current federal gov.
    Not to say i support PR, but i m mad at BN for allowing such Bocor to continue for so long.

• mystvearn (Member) on Jul 25, 2008 at 6:22 pm

Toyota Camry’s, Honda Accords seem to be cheaper in the long run. I don’t think my 8 year old Accord has incurred more than RM 25k, even with regular maintainance, tyre change etc. Well if plus fuel, sure will be more than that.

On another note: This just show that Perdana cars are not good at all. Bravo for pointing that out. Come on proton, release the new perdana already. Don’t let it be based on some Mitsu which is too big and looks like the old Accord.

• corruptometer (Member) on Jul 25, 2008 at 6:44 pm

Why are you complaining? This is the government you elected right?

“Buy Merc because Perdana too expensive to maintain” … “$150K to maintain a car”…. “Volkswagen Theme Park”….. ” Minister uses public transport to work (ahem…KLIA Ekspress kononnya public transport)” What kind of brains do our leaders have? Or more importantly… do they really think that the rakyat would be so stupid to believe their rubbish.

What a joke.

No wonder the world is laughing at us

• ganz (Member) on Jul 25, 2008 at 7:18 pm

mysttvearn..
    it ur thinking said that 25k is more than enough…maintenance is subjective

why camry and accord only anyway?

• freeze (Member) on Jul 25, 2008 at 7:18 pm

RM50K plus to maintain a car. By old Saga cost only RM300 in maintenance for 2007.
    Castrol oil 4 litre x2 = RM66
    Spark plugs 4pc x2 = RM32
    Air Filter x1 = RM23
    Oil Filter x2 RM14
    Tyre x2 = RM190
    Alignment = RM30
    Air Cond condenser + gas + service = RM180
    Grand Total = RM535

Everything in my car is fine, power window, central locking all fine, perfect car.

So they better drive an old proton saga. Very economical.

Now all of them gonna be driving Mercs and imports. Menteri Besar Boleh!!!

• freeze (Member) on Jul 25, 2008 at 7:20 pm

I guess the case is now closed as Badawi has given the green light.

• lchan (Member) on Jul 25, 2008 at 7:29 pm

i think Selangor did the right thing. The Camry is most fitting, but I hope they dont go for the 2.4 version because politicians today need to also be viewed as environmentally concious people. A 2.0 full spec version is alright to me tho.

• ganz (Member) on Jul 25, 2008 at 7:48 pm

Ichan

what make u think Camry is a wise choice?? How about Accord? and if let say Terengganu opt for Camry and Selangor opt for Merc.. do ur decision differ?

• BrakeFader (Member) on Jul 25, 2008 at 8:26 pm

Bravo! Badawi is a genius! Now all states will not hesitate to switch to Mercs as well. How could Badawi reject the rest now? It would be seen as double standard. Now our PM want to be seen as PM for ALL YBs.

Just as what I mentioned earlier that at the end of the day, the terengganu excos will be having their mercs! In these weeks of Malaysia dramas, the only one who is really SODOMISED is the rakyat which is you and me. Don’t think you would need to get DNA for this one.

• noactiontalkonly (Member) on Jul 25, 2008 at 8:43 pm

lchan said,
    July 25, 2008 @ 7:29 pm

i think Selangor did the right thing. The Camry is most fitting, but I hope they dont go for the 2.4 version because politicians today need to also be viewed as environmentally concious people. A 2.0 full spec version is alright to me tho.
    —————————————————————-i’m afraid camry is already out of question as it’s fully imported. remember that G would only buy national cars or locally assembled ones? the selangor exco need to think first before talking, or he may also be branded as an idiot just like anybody from BN.

so how about accord everyone? it’s still a good car compared against merc

• naz@proton (Member) on Jul 25, 2008 at 8:50 pm

helo ronie liu, pls use ur own pocket money to enjoy camry, u thing u can do what u like wt rakyat money. i remember couple monts back u enjoy visit singapore wt excuse learn to manage municipal. all liar . pakatan n barisan suma same culprit………!

• shamel (Member) on Jul 25, 2008 at 9:07 pm

Frankly the mentality of government of Asian countries like Malaysia clearly differ from advanced Europeans leaders. They spent so much their brain thinking about cars at the expense of so many things.

These are absurd and stupid rakyat will never learn about their so-called servant, behave and thinking like master. I guess they’re booking the cr with special registration plate and dreaming about owning the car with token price, far below market price and ridiculous claims.

AFTER THIS, why maintenance so expensive….Mercedes Benz mah..

• rajtheboss (Member) on Jul 25, 2008 at 11:02 pm

Finally our stupid Pm say ok to purchase 14 Merc and its for foreign dignitaries, See how good is our PM, Tgannu govt says, its for exco, PM says its for Foreign dignitaries. What the hell is this ?????

BN totally corrupted from bottom to top !!! We are lucky to have such a good PM and DPM. Wawasan 2020 is only in our dream forever which cannot be achieve with this kind of leaders

• Kevin Lee (Member) on Jul 26, 2008 at 12:41 am

i think they should buy the accord rather than the camry, as it is more supportive to the local economy. IIRC camry’s are from thailand and accords are from melaka’s plant? other than that, they should consider the peugeot 407, after all naza is a local company and should qualify for being patriotic. i think our PM is stupid allowing this to happen. even najib is way wiser

• lchan (Member) on Jul 26, 2008 at 2:19 am

camry, accord, etc…you get my point. It a good big solid resonably priced car that at the same time does not make our country’s representative look cheap (but unfortunetely not any smarter) and easily maintainable.

• lchan (Member) on Jul 26, 2008 at 2:28 am

ganz..dont matter who buys them. I dont even care who the hell becomes the government. I just want a government that is transparent, free of corruption and does not play the racial card. I believe it is their entitlement for their given positions and should take them gracefully but it must be reasonable and justifiable.

• shamel (Member) on Jul 26, 2008 at 11:40 am

Accord is the best as it’s local ckd-ed. unless they have Camry Hybrid from thailand then camry is the best

• torque (Member) on Jul 26, 2008 at 11:47 am

What did I told you all in my past comment? You all still think OUR country is already MERDEKA? No my dear friends, it still NOT! It’s now been ruled by a bunch of tyranny selfish greedy pathetic political leader ever seen in my entire life!! Imagine, even Adolf Hitler NEVER treat his countrymen like crap. If you don’t believe me, just read and dig the history of it. The best clothes, the best food, the best weapon, the best trainning, the best woman, the best this, the best that…only treat others non-german like crap. But here…WOW! Treat foreigner, cronies, political gang members…1st Class! And the people…like cr*p!!

• torque (Member) on Jul 26, 2008 at 11:53 am

Oh! You know what’s the funniest about the whole picture?! Adolf Hitler used the government treasury fund to INVADE others country while here in Malaysia, the politician used it to INVADE it’s own countrymen!!! Go figure!

• notsleepy (Member) on Jul 26, 2008 at 2:57 pm

Great! Issue resolve. They get to keep the Merc. Bosses earn their money thru their workers. Bosses don’t pluck their money from trees. They just pay you less than what is earn and call it theirs. Some may say like cutting part of your pay! Its sad to see Msian so keen to see their Leaders suffer.
    SORRY1 SORRY! Rephrase: Msian whould rather their Leaders secretly amass a big fortune thru ‘whatever means’ rather than transparent obout it.

• torque (Member) on Jul 26, 2008 at 5:18 pm

Fineeee…no problem for me. Keep yours bloody Mercs but I (and the rest) will keep our votes!! Someone said, “bosses don’t pluck their money from trees”…YES! That’s true…but politician does! Bosses create and build that company from his or her bloody money…but politician don’t! At least I know I sleep better at night with good conscience knowing my sports car at my porch I bought it with my own hard earn freaking money. :-)

• darzs (Member) on Jul 26, 2008 at 5:27 pm

What a Stupid MB…Looking for Trouble.

• maserati (Member) on Jul 26, 2008 at 7:51 pm

Honda Accord suck big time!Test drove it and aint nice at all. Ask them to get a Camry ,so much cheaper and much more reliable than a Merc.

MB just wan to be seen in a Merc not because its cheaper but because they want “face”.Imagine balik kampung and being seen in a Perdana..

• prangin (Member) on Jul 26, 2008 at 8:32 pm

Ronnie Liu and fellow PR Reps shd focus on the job of helping d people in times of need. buy d camry with your own money and not d rakyat’s. until you’ve improved the lives of people, you dont deserve any better than what u have now.

• GlowJo (Member) on Jul 26, 2008 at 8:40 pm

Hi guys,
    I think current MB and all his konco2 should start to find a new job.. Lets ACA drag those bloodsucking politicians to the court. after this we could have a new election to choose new MP.

Just like what Mohamed Al Fayed said to UK politicians … Terengganu folks should say.
    “This state was ruled by donkeys!!!”…

Now we still have a new Mule leading the state…

imagine how much those merc value will depreciate every year?
    I bet more than V6 itself..

• GlowJo (Member) on Jul 26, 2008 at 8:46 pm

Well prangin,
    I do agree with you, it seems that our wakil rakyat are not mature enough, they are all quarrellings about political gimmicks… not thinking about us.

If our government really want to help the country, let those wakil rakyat use their own car and pay fuel from their own pocket lah..

Even Mayor of London, used their underground services to go to work..
    MALAYSIAN POLITICIAN NOWADAYS ARE LAZY LEECHES!!!

• shamel (Member) on Jul 26, 2008 at 11:10 pm

Another not so smart move by our country PM, just lets go the cars, RM245,000+profit through auction. At least the money goes to state coffer, and later buy Waja sedan, not the stretch one if they can’t consider Accord or Camry.

• MyviKiller (Member) on Jul 27, 2008 at 12:11 am

Aren’t those Perdanas are specially modified? Extended version?

If so, more stress is exerted on the gearbox, since they are the standard ones.

Correct me if I’m wrong.

• gey2718 (Member) on Jul 27, 2008 at 1:06 am

all nonsense, feel embarrased to drive national car just voice out la, why give so many funny excuse.
    haiii , recently malaysian government getting bad to worse, so many childish behavior, my nephew (4 yrs old) also laugh when seeing all these news

• OpenMind (Member) on Jul 27, 2008 at 2:54 am

At first, it looks like another case of abusing public fund (buying merz instead of perdana) – I am Frustrated

Then, it also appears that corruption took place (overcharging and exorbitant maintenance)- I am MAD

It again reflects carelessness of using public property (if these cars are treated like personal car, do you thing, the parts would need to be replaced to soon, ask those KLIA Limo driver who had been driving their car for more than 1 million km. – I feel PITY

After that, it appears that things are out of control (when even PM also can’t do anything but just giving stupid suggestion – to use merx for VIP, are these meerz supposed to be put under the sun for most of the time and only very rearely carry VIP? Isn’t this statement even more astonishing than the MB statement of cost reduction via using merc) – I am SPEECHLESS

But ultimately, I am SAD, DISSAPPOINTTED and feel HOPELESS because, our beloved country is run by low mentality, non-tactful, highly stupid and extrodinary low EQ – politician.

GOOD LUCK – Malaysia……

• narrowband (Member) on Jul 28, 2008 at 10:24 am

Our Prime Minister is a disgrace. Lembik.

Hell, I’m not interested in all these useless debacle about which new car we should give to these so-called leaders. I’m more interested in something which this whole drama has been overshadowing – the DSAI case, and Najib case. What a convenient timing to shift our attention.