BMW 320i Sports Test Drive Review

BMW 320i Sports

BMW has recently launched the Sports series to complement the 3 Series lineup with the introduction of the 320i Sport and the 325i Sports models. According to BMW Malaysia, these Sports versions offer buyers a sportier version of the standard 320i SE and 325i models. BMW invited us to test drive the 320i Sports model, so let’s see how it stands up to expectations after the jump.

BMW 320i Sports

Looks

The 320i Sports model has quite a number of differences as compared to the standard 320i SE (base model). The most noticeable difference would be the M Aerodynamics kit which is made part of a front air dam with bigger air inlets and an integrated rear diffuser. The Sports version also features a 17 inch Dual Spoke M Light Alloy wheels, fitted with run flat tyres.

Another distinctive exterior feature of the Sports to help complement its looks is the Shadow Line high gloss black window recesses and mirror frame. The 320i Sports is also lower than its base model, with a total height reduction of 15 millimeters.

I would say BMW has done a good job in terms of styling the 320i Sports to outline its sportier characteristics. The car does feature a more aggressive look but let’s keep our fingers crossed for the driving experience and hope it complements the masculinity of the 320i Sports.

BMW 320i Sports

Performance

The 320i Sports version is fitted with a 2.0 litre inline-4 Valvetronic power plant that is supposed to be uprated with an additional of 6 horsepower revving it up to a total of 156 bhp @ 6400 rpm as opposed to the 320i SE’s 150 bhp. It sounds like the 320i Sports is more powerful but unfortunately based on our test drive we did not feel any difference.

Acceleration is modest with 0 to 100 km/h taking 9.7 seconds (same as 320i SE). Maintaining about 110 km/h on the freeway, I put my foot all the way down on the accelerator (a typical overtaking maneuver, or what you’d do when you encounter a long nice straight road); it shifts into lower gear, the rev increased and the engine ‘rumbles’, but it feels like forever before the speedo needle even touches 150 km/h.

You’ll probably reach its supposed 218 km/h top speed (same as 320i SE), but you’ll definitely need lots of road and patience.

BMW 320i Sports

Handling & Ride Comfort

The Germans have hit the right spot in terms of handling and ride comfort with the 320i Sports. The Sports version is fitted with an M Sports Suspension with an optimized lightweight stiff chassis and axle. Both on slow and high speed corners, the car sticks on the road and it gives the driver more confidence to push it to its limits.

The fact that the car is lowered by 15 millimeters and that it has a diffuser at the back means that 320i Sports is much more stable through curves and bends as downforce is increased and it actually gives the driver more room to play with. In terms of ride comfort, it is a little on the stiff side due to the stiff suspension and runflat tyres but you would pardon it is an acceptable balance between sporty handling and ride comfort.

BMW 320i Sports

Interior

You would first notice a thick rimmed M leather (perforated Aero leather) steering wheel which will prompt the thought of taking the longer way back home. This feeling intensifies as you notice that the sports seat which nestles you nicely while you adjust the how much you want the seat to wrap your back with just a press of button on the lower side of the seat. The built in air compressor pumps the side support of the seat, and the left front passenger also enjoys this cool feature.

Another neat feature in the inside is the multi-functional front center arm rest which features a USB port for your iPod or any other MP3 player or thumbdrive, and a strap holder for it. There is alsoa refrigerated cup holder.

Other than that the interior is rather standard with its cool Aluminum Glacier Silver finish on the dashboard, fully black trim and standard controls such as dual cabin temperature control and cruise control.

BMW 320i Sports

Verdict

The initial idea of BMW to offer a sportier version of the 320i SE and 325i range is obviously a fantastic one, but the issue with the 320i Sports is that you can’t really enjoy those extra bits to the max, especially the neat suspension setup with an engine that seems to go like its has something stuck up its exhaust. Its engine lets down the rest of the package, making it look like it overpromises and underdelivers.

However some of us may argue that the 320i Sports may be worth since it is only RM 9,000.00 more than the standard 320i SE.

Story by Harvinder Singh Sidhu and photos by Leong Tik Tsin and Paul Tan.

BMW 320i Sports

Click for high resolution photo

BMW 320i Sports

PHOTO GALLERY: BMW 320i Sports
Click thumbnails to view high resolution photo

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• MyviKiller (Member) on Jul 28, 2008 at 1:25 am

Definitely a BMW car for the younger generation, compared to the ‘bit’ conservative C-class. But still have problems whether to ‘pro’ either cars-both are really really nice cars!

• ignas (Member) on Jul 28, 2008 at 2:09 am

drools…

• Kevin Lee (Member) on Jul 28, 2008 at 7:06 am

however one might consider the audi a4 for the same money, as it is newer and possibly better than the frequently updated 3 series

• hamster (Member) on Jul 28, 2008 at 10:19 am

performance n looks = ordinary..not really interested to even try it out..sorry

• Apathy (Member) on Jul 28, 2008 at 10:23 am

I really like the perspective in the first / main pic. Cool to have it as a wallpaper.

• narrowband (Member) on Jul 28, 2008 at 10:29 am

Photography always goes together with motoring in auto-journalism. You’re doing a great job in this aspect paul. Marvelous photos that completely enhance the appearance of a seemingly ordinary car.

• armandd (Member) on Jul 28, 2008 at 11:12 am

great photos and great car!

• mokkf82 (Member) on Jul 28, 2008 at 11:34 am

Can’t really see that bit of changes. I would rather go for Audi A4 on this. No offence, but whenever i see the words “Sports” i would expect more to come out from that car. Like complete change over which previous car can’t give.
    But i really like that front dim light thing! really catch alot of attention on it.

• trustgtr (Member) on Jul 28, 2008 at 11:43 am

there’s been several 3 series accidents which has resulted in the catching fire and exploding in a accident..my car was one of them few years back. Before the accident there were several occasions where the fuel lines from underneath the car would simply detach itself and petrol would spray under the car due to the high pressure from the fuel pump..mine was a CKD 328i..suspect local grade fuel lines as i have been using the 3 series models since 1984 and no such problems..only difference was there were CBU’s…

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on Jul 28, 2008 at 12:01 pm

NIce shots!

• rajtheboss (Member) on Jul 28, 2008 at 2:34 pm

Its really cool to own BMW !

• nonengko (Member) on Jul 28, 2008 at 3:14 pm

“It sounds like the 320i Sports is more powerful but unfortunately based on our test drive we did not feel any difference”

……no point for me then……..maybe try out C230K

• capeplates (Member) on Jul 28, 2008 at 3:51 pm

If you want an image buy a BMW – big, beautiful and loads of sex appeal

• lchan (Member) on Jul 28, 2008 at 4:17 pm

its a real shame that the 2.0L of BMW are inline fours because the in-line six is what makes a bmw a bmw.

• mystvearn (Member) on Jul 28, 2008 at 6:51 pm

new 3 series out, better looking than this

• JULIANLEE2 (Member) on Jul 28, 2008 at 8:46 pm

nice photos

• s60t (Member) on Jul 28, 2008 at 8:49 pm

the sports kit looks good but unfortunately the 320 just doesn’t have enough oomph for a sports sedan.the new A4 and the c200K will leave it stranded at the traffic lights.I suppose we car buffs are influenced by western(especially US) media hype on the ultimate driving machines but fail to realise that their models all have 6 cylinders and at least 2.5L(base model) .My cousin drives a 545 in Canada and laughs that we even have a 520.

• shianghorng (Member) on Jul 28, 2008 at 9:21 pm

It’s a nice car, but only 325i is sufficient.

• arcana (Member) on Jul 28, 2008 at 9:27 pm

if ur cousin would to laugh at the 520…although its a 2.2 engine, ….i bet he’ll die of laughter when he/she knows the price tag we pay for 1 of these as compared to the canadian 545 lol.

as for the 320i…..its more like all show and no go…..1/4 mil for the looks…..ok lah for ppl who have da moolah.

• Porkbutcher (Member) on Jul 29, 2008 at 4:08 am

So, when can we get the recently updated 3 series?

• kei9 (Member) on Jul 30, 2008 at 11:18 am

Those are some fabulous shots mate. :)

Anyways if its either BMW, Mercedes or Audi, i’d might just get BMW because of it’s ‘zoom-zoom’ attitude.

• fed-up (Member) on Aug 01, 2008 at 5:36 pm

The 3 series is a good buy in other countries because for the price they pay, they pretty much got loads of standard equipment. Sadly here in BolehLand where the protect proton…its just friggin expensive…
    In the UK, its only 30000 pounds…times 6…180000 ringgit…
    add 300% tax…i giv up la…too much calculations…

• pju_3 (Member) on Nov 14, 2008 at 1:36 pm

“it feels like forever before the speedo needle even touches 150 km/h.”
    haha, then it is lousier than a Gen2… :)

• s sport on Jan 07, 2010 at 6:35 am

Is BMW 320i sport better or A4 AUDI ? Which car is more stylish, stable and better in all quality?

• Type your comment here..the Audi is more stylish but when it comes to quality and performance the Bmw is good

• Bimmer_Boy on Jun 30, 2010 at 1:17 am

Hi everyone,

I think bmw e90 320i sports package is worth to buy especially if ur previous car is bmw (any model). The reason is that Auto Bavaria Malaysia will give you a rebate of RM8,000 if you buy bmw car with them beside the interest rate of 3.00% (year 2008) is quite reasonable. The warranty up to 3 years or 60,000km or which ever comes first. So far i’ve been driving the car for almost 2 years now and amazingly the car perform well interms of fuel consumption and handling. Although it has a 4 cylinder engine but the fuel consumption is qute amazing compares to 325i or higher version. Two thumbs up for the BMW E90 320i sports package!!

Maybe i wud consider change to Audi A4 1.8 or 2.0ltr turbo in few years from now.

Rgds/Bimmer Boy
    The Ultime Driving Machine

• rodrigo on Dec 25, 2010 at 8:08 pm

and a nice car and beautiful

• E90 M is my fav BMW pack ever designed, I like its suspension and the bold looks. Audi’s S-Line r not as nice compared with M sports. C Class is just a physically small car. I think Merc mus just start living up to their brand and prices when coming to design. E90 M to me be kicked ass big time, not sure about the new F30 M if it will be as stylish. it needs getting used to it i think.

• alanisa on Jan 22, 2013 at 9:20 am

Godwilling I’m getting one soon from AB premium selection

• andre on Jul 05, 2015 at 1:53 am

Just baught a 09 320i msport,and i must say it is an amazing car!i’m lovin it!