Honda Japan takes over Malaysian bike business

Honda BikesHonda Motor Co has stepped into the Malaysian motorcycle market, taking over the Honda motorcycle business currently run by Boon Siew Sdn Bhd like it did a few years ago with the Honda car business, moving Honda cars from a franchisee brand in Malaysia to one run by the principals.

Kah Assemblers Sdn Bhd currently manufactures Honda motorcycles in Malaysia. Sales is handled by Boon Siew Sdn Bhd, 100% owned by the Boon Siew family. Honda will buy 50% of the shares of Kah Assemblers Sdn Bhd in September 2008, currently 100% owned by Oriental Holdings Berhad.

The new company will be called Boon Siew Honda Sdn Bhd and will be a 50-50 joint venture between Honda Japan and Oriental Holdings. The sales function will be transfered to the new Boon Siew Honda Sdn Bhd in January 2009.

Honda models produced in Malaysia currently include the Honda EX-5, Honda Wave100, Honda Wave125, Honda Click and the Honda CBR150R.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• naz@proton (Member) on Jul 31, 2008 at 9:51 pm

i was thinking why so money years thid bloody motorcycle dealer charge interest for more then 10% nobody make noise….? i got a friend take 1 yr loan for his motorcyle after 7months he make full setllement but the shop refuse to give a rebate for 5 months. i gus becoz this business are monopoly n manuplate by one race species so all big mouth keep quite…?

• indigo (Member) on Aug 01, 2008 at 12:12 am

i was thinking why so money years thid bloody motorcycle dealer charge interest for more then 10% nobody make noise….? i got a friend take 1 yr loan for his motorcyle after 7months he make full setllement but the shop refuse to give a rebate for 5 months. i gus becoz this business are monopoly n manuplate by one race species so all big mouth keep quite…?

———————————————————-
    Please do some research before coming out such remarks. Have you heard of Stright Line and Reduced Balance? Hire purchase doesn’t give rebate on the interest rate even if the payment is settled before the end of loan tenure. This is buying motorcycle, not a house. What is RACE suppose to mean? Chinese? Dont make this a racial issue. Chinese doesn’t own everything here in Malaysia. Since you are working in Proton, you should know most of the suppliers and vendors are Bumi companies. Please respect others.

• blackberrybloke (Member) on Aug 01, 2008 at 12:22 am

naz@proton,

are you bloody high when you posted that comment?

• king (Member) on Aug 01, 2008 at 1:29 am

hire purchase is like that la…its up to the finance company whether how much rebate they want to give you or no rebate at all.

you never took a loan b4?

• Yeapy (Member) on Aug 01, 2008 at 5:27 am

Stupid do as stupid does… You think bank are charity ? You don’t need to study economics to understand that. Don’t like to pay interest pay by cash lah. That kind of species will extinct from the world if they still don’t change their mindset

• azrai (Member) on Aug 01, 2008 at 7:33 am

This is something to do with the FTA agreement ink with Japan i think.

• Aril (Member) on Aug 01, 2008 at 8:42 am

——————————————————————————————————————–

This Guy so high, don’t know what is hire purchase? Naz, i think you should go buy some car or motorcycle then you will know. Damn fool….

Back to the topic…. I think we should keep our business by our own, this kind of take over by parent company make history coming back. I’m not so agree Honda Japan controlling Boon Siew…. even though 50%. But the power is there. This will increase selling price??

• scottloeb (Member) on Aug 01, 2008 at 9:24 am

I prefer HMC to take over the management of the company. Remember Kah motor arrogant with Honda? What happen after Honda Malaysia take over? The service improve, the extravagant rates were reduces and even the stupid expensive accessories (like massager or crap floor mat) were nowhere to be seen. Now, Honda cars now give very good value (the 3 yrs free maintanance is brilliant).. So expect good stuff.. Chinaman co will screw everyone, it doesn matter you’re Hokkien, Teochew or Malay (does it sound like Proton? kekeke).. Their objective is to make tonnes of money (well if rugi sapa mau meniaga, kan?) Honda got ethics, bonded by its own CSR so just let it be.. everybody is talking about foreign investment, attracting large auto company, so this is the reality la.. in Thailand, Toyota Motor Thailand owned by Toyota Motor Corp (of Japan) by 98%! Same thing happen in Indonesia.. You guys want Proton to be sold to inherit the good mgmt from VW, same here la… Im expecting CKD CBR hehehehe

• adil2008 (Member) on Aug 01, 2008 at 10:01 am

It a interesting topics, for naz@proton, you should be adil to think before you comment. Do u understand what is the meaning of monopoly? TNB is monopoly in the electrcity supply in Malaysia. Boon Siew is not a monopoly player in the market, still have Lion Suzuki, Hong Leong Yamaha, Modenas, Kawasaki Sunrock & others…
    May be is a good news for motorcycle industries, actually when i visit to singapore, i saw a lots of powerful bike like HONDA CBR600RR, Hornet 250, VFR800 (the current police force new motorcycle) as well as VTR800, CBR1000 fire blade, Honda Shadow 750 and many models, all this model is distributed by Boon Siew Singapore, why Boon Siew Malaysia cant bring in these models, must have some reason? we really dont know, hope Honda Motor Co will bring in the sport bike into the market, like the honda sister company in Malaysia, bring in the Honda Civic Type R and Civic Hybrid.

• najibest (Member) on Aug 01, 2008 at 10:09 am

err…does by any chance this would mean that we can finally see some big bikes from honda being assembled here and sold @ CKD price? from what i understand boon siew was pretty reluctant to bring in honda big bikes so maybe the change of management would realize our dreams hehehe….

• torque (Member) on Aug 01, 2008 at 11:30 am

I think it’s a good move by Honda. Better teach all this pompous “middle party” who’s the boss and don’t simply pinch the end user so they could make a big buck! Beside, if Honda take over we’ll definately see product quality improvement. Last but not least, don’t make any remark in paultan forum about races la. We all here are auto enthusiast right? We all LOVE cars but HATE politicians right? Hahahaa….

• capeplates (Member) on Aug 01, 2008 at 3:23 pm

Nice to read comments when they get a bit bitchy – makes a nice change

• JULIANLEE2 (Member) on Aug 01, 2008 at 3:28 pm

hopefully cheaper bikes

• dzat46 (Member) on Aug 01, 2008 at 3:50 pm

Hopefully Honda Japan will bring more interesting bikes…looking for a maxi scooter (ie 250-400cc) to beat the teribble jam, toll & increasing fuel price but i need extra power for safer highway commuting (can cruise easily at 110-130kph and can reach 150-160kph in emergency situation ….important to get away from those dangerous container lorries + mad boy racer on their wiralution)

Currently we only got those superb aprilia maxi scoot but i dun trust those italian machine……Japanese machine more reliable …Hmmmm Honda FORZA/Silverwing should be nice

• mrell (Member) on Aug 01, 2008 at 4:34 pm

is that means Honda will bring in more bike into Malaysia.
    cant wait to own my dream bike

• superman (Member) on Aug 01, 2008 at 4:57 pm

Great, Honda Motor are taking a cue out of wat Kawasaki is in doing in Malaysia.

Cut out the unadventourous/uninterested middleman. Bring in more varierty and choices for the public.

I’m hoping to buy a CRF250F to go trail blazing, or maybe Honda will have something to rival Kawa’s D-Tracker in the near future. yummy.

• aki_zz (Member) on Aug 03, 2008 at 12:56 am

maybe i can get a ckd honda superbike. can’t wait!

• bronco on Jul 24, 2009 at 8:12 am

whatever it just business, there is good and bad..

• TheKHAI on Oct 17, 2009 at 4:45 am

DEATH TO THE OPPRESSOR!!!

DIE YOU STUPID MIDDLE PARTY!!!

• TheKHAI on Oct 19, 2009 at 7:03 am

naz@proton said,

July 31, 2008 @ 9:51 pm

!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

IRONICALLY, you are commenting at a what you described as 'one race species' owned website. LOL!

Come on la… Don't be racist here.

By the way, I'm the same race as you are. And NO! I'm not a BN / 1 Malaysia supporter. You can go fuck yourself if you support that shiny-head lunatic.

• sam sader on May 21, 2010 at 10:51 pm

To all d guyz whom is not learning & evolving….if u want rebate dont worry get islamic loan banking from Bank Islam Malaysia..It aplies rebate & does not cheat & suck up your money by giving interest like loan shark…N whats best the bank does not look into favour of races….

please contact all bank that apply islamic loans..bank islam has the best rebate….

all d best regards to all
    1 malaysia

• zainal abidin on May 30, 2010 at 10:41 pm

I know its a huge market out there for underbone motorcyles but the Honda motorcyle that I would really love to buy would still be the NSR-150SP. How about it Mr Honda? Long time coming and many people are waiting too…..

• XiOuS on Mar 15, 2013 at 1:39 am

Hi guys, wanna ask. does anybody here know how can we buy bike with low price (like purchase directly from oversea)? .. watchin CBR600rr .. heh

• Upin69 on May 06, 2017 at 6:37 am

Honda Hornet 250cc (2003) Please…….