Lamborghini LP640 flown over 10,000km for service

Lamborghini LP640

A rich Arab man rumoured to be a Sheikh spent roughly £23,552 (RM152,475) to service his £190,000 Lamborghini Murcielago LP640. Out of that amount, only £3,552 was for the actual service – the remainder was freight costs to fly his supercar all the way from Qatar to a specialist mechanic in London, a distance of over 10,000km.

It’s really quite amazing what the rich do. You could buy an Audi A4 in the UK for £20,000. Would have been a much better idea to fly the mechanics down to perform the necessary service? It supposedly wasn’t a major service, just routine.

Perhaps the LP640 requires special tools for servicing, tools that cannot be flown over or cost as much to transport as flying the car over. Perhaps the Sheikh did not really think, or just wanted the bragging rights. Who knows. I wonder what the other supercar owners in the Middle East do in this situation.

I had to think long and hard before posting this story, just in case we hear later of a certain state government sending their fleet of E-Class to Germany for an oil change because they somehow managed to calculate that it is cheaper than servicing locally.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• blazerSST (Member) on Aug 01, 2008 at 7:11 am

It’s just because he can that’s all, he probably makes that amount in about 1-2 hours

• Mr.me (Member) on Aug 01, 2008 at 7:28 am

Nice one paul!!!……I guess that this sheikh was a “lurus bendul” type of person.

• White Jack (Member) on Aug 01, 2008 at 7:36 am

Perhaps a new business oppurtunity for FEDEX cargo la. Probably will serve mostly our government’s Merc fly to Germany for services :)

Imagine how much money was wasted so far in this country due to corruption, bringing this country progress at minimum.

• azrai (Member) on Aug 01, 2008 at 7:44 am

SPANCO will get an idea on this article. Even Perdana have a high maintenance cost in Malaysia. :-)

• kington (Member) on Aug 01, 2008 at 8:16 am

Good one, Paul.

Either this guy just wanted bragging rights on his Lambo or he loves his car really that much that he just wanted the car to be serviced at a proper facility.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Aug 01, 2008 at 9:09 am

the interesting thing about this story is, i saw several supercars in London recently with arabic plates… now i know the real reason why… they were all there for their scheduled service ;)

• armandd (Member) on Aug 01, 2008 at 9:14 am

wait till their oil wells dry up..

• tikus (Member) on Aug 01, 2008 at 9:22 am

So what (RM152,475) to service Lambo fly in and out some more,our protong perdana service almost same price man! Malaysia boleh !

• altimi (Member) on Aug 01, 2008 at 9:23 am

armandd said,

August 1, 2008 @ 9:14 am

wait till their oil wells dry up..

Ko pun dah mati time tu…..

• ignas (Member) on Aug 01, 2008 at 9:23 am

if only those money are donated to charity, such an unnecessary wastage.

• ReactiX (Member) on Aug 01, 2008 at 9:32 am

The last paragraph really funny and hit them on the azz.

• king (Member) on Aug 01, 2008 at 9:35 am

yeah…SPANCO can now form a new company with FEDEX and call it SPANDEX.

then they can send all the E class to germany for service…

• abtm (Member) on Aug 01, 2008 at 9:39 am

It’s hard to believe that lambo hasn’t got a fully equipped workshop in the mid east. If he wanted to fly it abroad, why not back home to italy? it might be cheaper (but who cares) and there are plenty of great driving roads around for him to feast on once the service is done…that’s what i’d do

• raverus (Member) on Aug 01, 2008 at 9:58 am

Perdana Boleh!

• elpaciko (Member) on Aug 01, 2008 at 10:02 am

spandex…. hehe
    nice one king…..

• aksMs (Member) on Aug 01, 2008 at 10:43 am

abtm, Italy is way closer unless he has let some London tuner to further tweak and ‘enhance’ his LP640. Have you seen what the Arabs do with their luxury cars? (apart from the idiots who ‘drift’ their Camry). They even bought the F430 and make it a living room furniture!

Anyway, if you gather all the rich sheikhs, I bet there are only a handful who really know about driving and cars. The rest are just rich people who see them as luxury items, not as an art of engineering. All they know is straight dessert highways or crawling through the cities. What do they know about rural or B-roads? Heck, maybe they don’t even know that there is also a good mountain road in UAE, on Jabbal Hafeet, south of Dubai.

It doesn’t matter if he’s so bloody rich, he could send the whole garage to offshore specialist. If he really wants to brag, he should’ve brought the whole service team to his place, I mean, palace. And then invite all friends to watch the mechanics take care of his big toys while enjoying a small cocktail party.

• I my (Member) on Aug 01, 2008 at 11:00 am

I wonder why he all hv to pay tax?? we also wan our BMW, Benz & etc!!!

• arch747 (Member) on Aug 01, 2008 at 11:16 am

Paul,
    Love your last paragraph. Sarcasm, what’re we gonna do without it….

• torque (Member) on Aug 01, 2008 at 11:33 am

Hahaha..I liked your last word Paul!! :-)

• Roti Naan (Member) on Aug 01, 2008 at 11:37 am

the last paragrah goes right in the heart….Ouch, but NICE….

• torque (Member) on Aug 01, 2008 at 11:40 am

But then again, this silly sheikh is using his bloody money right? May not sound bright but sound right. Unlike some stupid “sheikh” here in Malaysia. Purchasing Mercs with people’s bloody money like their own. That people, it doesn’t sound bright and right at the same time!!

• torque (Member) on Aug 01, 2008 at 11:42 am

Roti Naan, I don’t think “they” have any HEART…more less goes straight to their a$$!! Thee hee hee…

• mokkf82 (Member) on Aug 01, 2008 at 12:51 pm

Aiya, he got all the money ma, built this built that. He can changed the empty desert into major city. So what’s that little bit of air freight would cost him then?
    But the only difference is he use his money while our great Exco is using ours! Such a great country

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Aug 01, 2008 at 2:25 pm

Somehow I feel this is only ONE part of the story.

Wondering if the Sheikh was actually on the same plan that flew the LP640 so he could service it AND then drive it when it was there…

• JULIANLEE2 (Member) on Aug 01, 2008 at 3:23 pm

isn’t there a lamborghini in kuwait, qatar, abu dhabi or dubai?

• mitlanevo (Member) on Aug 01, 2008 at 4:18 pm

nothing weird about this case….. there are still many rich ppl living there….

btw, salute to the last paragraph above :-)

• mystvearn (Member) on Aug 01, 2008 at 6:30 pm

Some Lambo drivers in HK ship their car back to Italy so that someone can fine tune the handling, than its shipped back to the owner…

• MyviKiller (Member) on Aug 01, 2008 at 7:00 pm

Rich ppl’s activities, here we can just see and talk!

• aksMs (Member) on Aug 01, 2008 at 8:24 pm

JULIANLEE2 said, “isn’t there a lamborghini in kuwait, qatar, abu dhabi or dubai?”

Bro, search la. Google it, or search the Youtube. You’ll definitely find them.

• JULIANLEE2 (Member) on Aug 02, 2008 at 11:24 am

that’s why?i don’t know why he has to go to england to fix his car

• rt (Member) on Aug 02, 2008 at 2:09 pm

To think positively :)

the sheikh got a friend who are doing a freight business.
    Currently his friend/keroni’s business is not doing well..
    So since he has extra money, he is giving his “keroni” friend some job la..

Ok la tu…