Proton Design Concept Cars Photos and Video

Satria Neo Symphony

Proton exhibited a few of its proton|design concept cars during the Proton Technology Week at the CBU Logistics area of the Shah Alam plant. The cars looked really nice and the striking colours somehow helped them stand out in the midst of all the Lotus cars that were also on display there.

Continue reading the post after the jump for a hi-resolution photo gallery and a video of the Proton concepts at the event.

PHOTO GALLERY: Satria Neo Desire Concept
Click thumbnails to view high resolution photo

The Satria Neo “Pure Desire” concept car features a unique pearl white exterior paint with hand painted body graphics and a white interior with Recaro racing seats wrapped with soft white nappa leather on the inside. Wheels are white 6 spoke 18 inch alloys wrapped with Falken 215/40R18 tyres. The gearknob, carbon fiber exhaust tips, handbrake and steering wheel are from Momo, while brakes are slotted with Grippen 4-pot calipers.

[cpg_album:34]

PHOTO GALLERY: Satria Neo Symphony Concept

[cpg_album:33]

PHOTO GALLERY: Saga RED Concept

[cpg_album:35]

VIDEO: proton|design Concept Cars at the Proton Technology Week

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• rt (Member) on Aug 03, 2008 at 7:28 pm

Saga looks nice!!

rt

• hellboy (Member) on Aug 03, 2008 at 7:31 pm

great!!

• Cyberkayu (Member) on Aug 03, 2008 at 7:33 pm

the engine bay of saga not so hollow d
    i wonder are there any mechanical change on the output
    very nice neo desire interior
    but will get dirty easily

• ... (Member) on Aug 03, 2008 at 7:37 pm

All of those cars are concepts.

Both the neo’s are using the stillborn Neo GTi wings on the tailgate. Pity as the complete Neo GTi bodykit was very beautiful, and we haven’t talked about its engine yet.

• MaverickNeo (Member) on Aug 03, 2008 at 7:37 pm

I’m always impressed with Protons designs. I like the Savvy’s design, but not so much love for the Saga..heh..

• desmodeci (Member) on Aug 03, 2008 at 7:41 pm

nice orangey neo…and the saga red concept should be in the market already, not just display car anymore..or are they making saga R3 in this very moment.

• Roti Naan (Member) on Aug 03, 2008 at 7:42 pm

I hope these cars at not just posers….

• MyviKiller (Member) on Aug 03, 2008 at 8:02 pm

Same stuff during the launch of the Satria Neo, except the RED Saga lah…

• geminas (Member) on Aug 03, 2008 at 8:06 pm

Is the Satria Neo r3 on display as well?

wow nice concept car!

• LHQ (Member) on Aug 03, 2008 at 8:40 pm

Satria Neo “concept” ? Will you spare me?
    You call it a concept car by just modding it?
    If you answered yes, then i see many concept cars rolling in the streets here.

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Aug 03, 2008 at 8:41 pm

paul where are other pictures?i have some if u want but only 2mb camera hehehe

• JULIANLEE2 (Member) on Aug 03, 2008 at 8:43 pm

nothing concpet about it, all they did was change the lights, interior etc, any 5 yr old kid can do it

• ignas (Member) on Aug 03, 2008 at 8:44 pm

Beautiful white interior, especially with the white recaro seats, love in first sight! Ya agree with the spoiler, it looks good too. Very impressive.

er the saga… no matter how they mod it, it still looks…o well…

• torque (Member) on Aug 03, 2008 at 8:45 pm

Aiseyman Proton! Just sell the Neo Desire and the Neo Symphony in Malaysia market la. I’m sure people will buy one…heck, I’m too will get me one of those especially the Neo Symphony. Jangan anak tirikan buyers in Malaysia! Good job but still wish to see it being sold and not just as a concept.

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Aug 03, 2008 at 8:45 pm

JULIANLEE2 said,

August 3, 2008 @ 8:43 pm

nothing concpet about it, all they did was change the lights, interior etc, any 5 yr old kid can do it
    ————————————————————–

5 years old like u?

• ignas (Member) on Aug 03, 2008 at 8:51 pm

yup, its nothing concept about it, just plain modifications of the exterior and interior only. if they were to sell those in the market, its going to be very expensive, not to mention they cant ‘untung’ that much if they were to replace their current crappy suppliers.

• ncm6151 (Member) on Aug 03, 2008 at 8:53 pm

What is the meaning of concept car? It means the car with latest design and latest technologies like new engine.Proton still playing the same games.Take the current model and modified it. Then put some stickers and call it as a concept car! I think better call it as a modified car rather than concept car. they should show their latest design car and new engine.not just modified buy using other people technologies like momo, brembo Grippen 4-pot calipers and recaro seat. Everybody also can make this type of modified car or even modified better than proton.

• Shahrul Bdk Wira Lagend on Apr 23, 2010 at 10:40 am

Yup. I agreed 100% on that!!
      Since the fuel is scarce and limited. Proton should move forward on making new car that provide alternative power consumption. More efficient and environmental friendly. But please….not hybrid that used battery. U still have to charge on plug. Which mean, more country power supply is need. More TNB Power plant = More emission gases. Haha just my opinion. Peace =)

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Aug 03, 2008 at 9:03 pm

ncm6151 said,

August 3, 2008 @ 8:53 pm

What is the meaning of concept car? It means the car with latest design and latest technologies like new engine.Proton still playing the same games.Take the current model and modified it. Then put some stickers and call it as a concept car! I think better call it as a modified car rather than concept car. they should show their latest design car and new engine.not just modified buy using other people technologies like momo, brembo Grippen 4-pot calipers and recaro seat. Everybody also can make this type of modified car or even modified better than proton.

————————————————————-

all these cars are not concept cars…i think paul make a mistake…proton just make these cars just to show some idea on how people can modified their car.its is displayed during the launch of neo and saga.proton have said they never want to put these cars into production.

• torque (Member) on Aug 03, 2008 at 9:06 pm

LHQ and ncm6151, have to say that I’m agree with you all about the concept thing. There’s really nothing concept about it and they just better called it the “Modified Neo Series”.

Ignas, everything sold in Malaysia also damn expensive la. Even a crappy recond cars also sell like sky rocket man! I can bet they could sell it cheap, it just what like you said…they can’t “untung” and let me add some…they can’t “untung BIG”!

My two cents…

• ignas (Member) on Aug 03, 2008 at 9:12 pm

yeap, what you said is true, torque. everything is so expensive, couldnt agree more.

btw, their mindset is seriously funny because when they do have an actual concept car to show, like the new mpv, instead, they just put it in a big box, poke some holes, and expect we lick it with our faces on it.

• torque (Member) on Aug 03, 2008 at 9:24 pm

Hahaha…that one too I’m agree with you man. Others car company show their concept directly and openly but Proton like to choose this weird stuff. You know what, maybe the “concept” is half done…shy to show it off!! :-)

• fastcx (Member) on Aug 03, 2008 at 9:31 pm

i guess torque get some wrong idea, this mpv is going for production, every car company cover up their production models b4 launch! on the other hand, concept cars are not for production, they r for demonstration of concept for their future design, to let ppl c where they are heading. usually, most of the stuff u c in concept cars wnt make it to the production models so soon, thats the meaning of concept.

what proton do with the mpv is teaser, teasing ppl, its marketing. nothing to do with concept! concept is Lotus APX, tat was so many years ago! that is concept, show u ideas to design cars, to design platform…basically, if u dnt get my meaning since all u wan2 do is just bash, this mpv is production car that havent launch, it have to be kept secret just like any preproduction car from any other brand, heavy warp up like criminal

• LHQ (Member) on Aug 03, 2008 at 9:50 pm

fastcx said,

August 3, 2008 @ 9:31 pm

i guess torque get some wrong idea, this mpv is going for production, every car company cover up their production models b4 launch! on the other hand, concept cars are not for production, they r for demonstration of concept for their future design, to let ppl c where they are heading. usually, most of the stuff u c in concept cars wnt make it to the production models so soon, thats the meaning of concept.

what proton do with the mpv is teaser, teasing ppl, its marketing. nothing to do with concept! concept is Lotus APX, tat was so many years ago! that is concept, show u ideas to design cars, to design platform…basically, if u dnt get my meaning since all u wan2 do is just bash, this mpv is production car that havent launch, it have to be kept secret just like any preproduction car from any other brand, heavy warp up like criminal

Proton doesn’t have to kept it as a secret, due to nobody will dumb enough
    to copy things from Proton, maybe a few manufacturer from China which have
    blacklisted for copying.

• xg9 (Member) on Aug 03, 2008 at 9:54 pm

JULIANLEE2 said,

August 3, 2008 @ 8:43 pm

i vote you for the ceo of proton… since u r smarter than 5 y/o kids…

• kei9 (Member) on Aug 03, 2008 at 10:00 pm

Haha..
    julianlee2 is a funnyman.

Hey… all those 3 ‘concept’ satria’s looks cool.
    Don’t mind modding it up till of that stage ;)

• kei9 (Member) on Aug 03, 2008 at 10:02 pm

And personally for the white satria, i’d like the rims to be black. Now thats what i call mean!

• cole planet (Member) on Aug 03, 2008 at 10:39 pm

those satria neo look so sweet and hot… look like it gonna take down ford focus in a hot hatch beauty competition… HEHEHEHE

• torque (Member) on Aug 03, 2008 at 10:43 pm

LHQ,

Don’t bother with Fastcx! He’s always don’t get what other people trying to comment. Comment sikit…he called bashing, comment sikit…he called bashing! If people don’t comment, how the heck is that company going to improve? Stupid statement…

• rajtheboss (Member) on Aug 03, 2008 at 10:58 pm

These cars are not concept cars, i only can see some cosmetic changes in the interior & exterior of the cars. What about future car models by proton ??

Seems it a proton technology week, any new technology been invented or introduce in this exhibition. I miss the chance to visit proton tech today.

Paultan, can you post more detail and photos of this event rather than show some protons small kid stuff

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Aug 03, 2008 at 11:07 pm

torque, please, please… explain where in any of comments made by LHQ can actually help anyone, let alone proton actually improve??

i know what constructive criticism is, and what LHQ said is definitely not it.

the point is, he said that by modding a neo, you cannot call it a concept car.

firstly, its a “NEO CONCEPT CAR”. how do you create a neo concept car, without modding a neo???

and you people have got the idea of the mpv peek all wrong.. its not a “concept MPV”. it was actually the actual bodyshell of the mpv due for launch next year. its not a concept… its work in progress, not a figment of imagination, but a real car. and in case you guys havent realised, proton will most likely be competing with nissan’s livina, and also perodua who are rumoured to be planning to bring in an mpv to compete with proton. perodua has kicked proton’s behind in sales before with the myvi, do you think they’re about to hand all their product info to them on a plate?

would you tell your competitors everything about your car?? for the last 2 years before the launch of the new corolla, did you see any proper pics? any interior pics? did you even see the shell of the car on display in malaysia? there was practically nothing. it was such a closely guarded secret. why so much secrecy? most people call the corolla a fridge, and its not exactly the best looking car in world.. so why the secrecy? are toyota stupid also? will everyone suddenly go out and make their cars look like a corolla??

how about the other manufacturers in malaysia who “hide” their cars from public view until launch when the cars are already sold in thailand and indonesia, and the whole world has seen them… somebody please enlighten me.

• _xXx_ (Member) on Aug 03, 2008 at 11:11 pm

proton teknologi…sudahlah. Nuff said.

• johnson wong (Member) on Aug 03, 2008 at 11:23 pm

the white neo cun leh..

• fastcx (Member) on Aug 03, 2008 at 11:40 pm

LHQ, so now u became ceo of proton? to determining what is secret, what isnt? hmm never thought proton would be that dumb to release NDA by their own ceo tho, u guys really duno how to run a company dnt u? tat explains, thru how u comment…

constructive comments r critiques, not blind bashing tat thru grandma era stories, koreans improved a lot in the past 2 yrs! 2yrs!! u cant compare kia/hyundai that is 5yrs ago dude, so does proton’s!

u reserve ur right to comment, bash or critique, try to make it constructive (by that means thru information to support ur comments, n not from hear say, its automotive industry, engineering, not folklores…keep ur grandma stories of her friend’s cousin story to urself), show us some physic calculation n how do u think power windows motor fail so early, dnt just say it fail, since u talk till ur so expert, show us how it fails, give reason…then its call constructive comment, ur way, isnt responsible at all. freedom comes with price, when ur not responsible with what u spit out, u dnt deserve tat freedom of speech

• torque (Member) on Aug 04, 2008 at 12:14 am

Dear BanyakMasukWorkshop,

The meaning of CONCEPT in art and design is, something thought or imagined (imagination) principal of ideas. Go and look it in dictionary. Seriously, this is not a concept but merely a modification of EXISTING product that is in the current market. They called it a concept simply b’coz it’s sound much nicer than modified. That’s are just my personal opinion and LHQ did have some point! Why must a concept need to be hide? Have you ever read car magazine dude? A concept cars is what all the major car manufacturer doing by unveiling it to the whole world…not hiding it! And if this MPV does actually a finish prototype…then, it’s fine by me for them to hide it! Trust me when I say this, if Proton unveil their MPV they shouldn’t worry about Perodua…Perodua is nothing more than a clone manufacturer! Beside, Proton already did this “box with the hole” thing with the Saga. Just come out with something new la. Even Nissan gave the silhouette image of their new 370Z.

• mokkf82 (Member) on Aug 04, 2008 at 12:21 am

any time there are stories regarding proton, there will be bashings or complains against them. I’ll say to give P1 a try.
    Look at the two cute little Neos, i really like that White one and that sky hot red Saga looks great too. But i should agree that all these three cars should not be posted a concept cars, they are just technically modify version of Neo & Saga

• torque (Member) on Aug 04, 2008 at 12:34 am

Fastcx,

I don’t need any grandma to told me why the power window keeps failing too early. When Mitsubishi gave Proton the blue print to make cars, they told Proton to follow it to the core. If you need me to give you what you called “physic calculation “…I don’t have to! It’s not physic calculation but it’s more of “political calculation”! What Proton did it their early years (Tengku Mahalel era) was how to cut the bloody cost and forget about the quality, just give it to government cronies to made a low quality parts as long as there’s a car can be made. I know b’coz my cousin works there! Now, under the new management…Proton did improve on it’s quality. Do you know the rumors that Proton’s management might not renew Datuk Syed Zainal contract b’coz he the person who’s really strict on it’s quality? Maybe he gave to some local vendor which has more concern on their product’s quality rather than some “cronies”? This is Malaysia la friend, everything involves politics agenda!

• chris (Member) on Aug 04, 2008 at 12:43 am

Yucks!!!Potong pls please buyers with better features,price,safety and QUALITY!

• ignas (Member) on Aug 04, 2008 at 12:51 am

ya they did it too with the proton personal. teaser to tease? marketing strategy? i got your point, if its something totally new fancily design. but with proton cars? in the end, more disappointments cos proton car’s design are so-so imo. if ya disagree with me, then you must have find the ‘ wasted rm120 million R&D’ new saga is beautiful. i mean its just a car produced for the sake to have a car in this segment where we rakyat didnt even want it in the first place. Just get rid of the NAP already.

personal = gen 2 + extended rear. y even bother to ‘peep-a-boo’? so that can cheat more ppl to book the car right? cos its suppose to be the hipped happening things to do right? so come ppl, peep lol.

• kahing (Member) on Aug 04, 2008 at 1:20 am

I just don’t really get how do the people inside Proton think. Ok, lets see, starting with the wira. After the saga and iswara, we get the Wira right ? Then after wira, we get the Satria and then comes the very short-lived Putra. See all these 3 models are pretty hot Malaysian wheels IF one really knows how to modify them. But out of the blue, there’s the Satria Neo. I would like to imagine how a Neo concept be implemented into a Wira. I can imagine how a Wira Neo could look like. Damn feisty and swooningly fasntastic. But they choose to skip the Wira with the Neo look. Must tell you, I’m a bit disappointed because not everybody likes driving a 2-door. :(

• torque (Member) on Aug 04, 2008 at 2:16 am

BanyakMasukWorkshop,

One more thing b4 I go to bed, yawn! :-) There’s also nothing what you have post in your comments earlier were wrong either. You also have some point but the MPV that Paultan post in the earlier segment stated it’s going to be a 2009 model, right? If you test drive your prototype on the road, then camouflage it la from the people or your competitor. But if you actually have a finish product, then just unveil it to the public to see la. Even Nissan proudly display their final GTR in 2007 but sell it only as a year 2008 model. Somemore, bragging it to be the 911 Turbo competitor. They are not worry at Porsche and same should apply to Proton…they don’t have to be afraid of Perodua. Even their competitor Livina is already out in the market.

• peromyvi (Member) on Aug 04, 2008 at 3:49 am

you call this design concept? I think proton is so laid back. This is just like facelift to existing design. You will see this saga and satria neo for the next 10 years. It is beginning to sound boring.

• Roti Naan (Member) on Aug 04, 2008 at 9:33 am

Aduuuuhai….the so-call CONCEPT cars by PROTON can be easily imitated by some car bodyshops

• armandd (Member) on Aug 04, 2008 at 9:38 am

no savvy?

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Aug 04, 2008 at 9:40 am

torque, you have fair comments there as well. but i believe proton has already been test-driving their mpv around under the disguise of a toyota wish body, as reported by paul.

but to compare with GTR, is a bit unfair la. GTR is a niche product, unlike the mpv which is a mass market car. The GTR is also a product with “legend” status. you will just know that when nissan launches it, it will sell. it also has a totally different audience as compared to the the 911.

i think its good to see that proton is actually careful, and maybe a little afraid of perodua. at least it shows they are not arrogant, and are mindful of competition. In the past, they just launch cars, and expect they will sell automatically. now you can see that proton takes greater car with marketing, coming up with elaborate launches, teasers and previews.

• torque (Member) on Aug 04, 2008 at 10:07 am

Good morning BanyakMasukWorkshop,

Thanks for understanding my point! I do read the news of the test drive MPV under the Wish body by Proton as posted by paul earlier. Ok, maybe you make a point there by not comparing the GTR with Proton MPV…then, what about Subaru Exiga? It’s too an MPV right? Didn’t Subaru unveild the final model to the world about it? My point is if you actually have a final product, then just show to the public la. Just b’coz you unveil it doesn’t mean you are arrogant but I don’t blame them if their want to be extra careful. Automotive industries is a very tough bussiness but if you were “afraid” of your competitor, then you just don’t belong in this industries! Cautious can…afraid NO!

• raptorclans (Member) on Aug 04, 2008 at 11:32 am

I like the idea of the Symphony. As an audio enthusiast, I love the idea of an audio-focused car. The Desire is also a cool concept. I lurve white deco hehe…

PS: Anyone know what model is that Momo exhaust tip? I wanna get one for my car…

• n8cky (Member) on Aug 04, 2008 at 12:36 pm

what kinda concept ‘re we talking about here? Design? or TechnologIES?rolf

• bolo (Member) on Aug 04, 2008 at 1:57 pm

There is no substance to these kind of “concept” cars. More of a packaging/dress up exercise. How about some real upgrade like tuned exhaust system, uprated suspension and brake, re-mapped ECU or even a turbo/super charged version of the engine? Surely these are not beyond proton’s ability to produce? Any decent performance tuner can do this sort of things. One off like this does not even need to be road legal! How about stuffing a perdana v6 into the Neo? Now that would be interesting!

• capeplates (Member) on Aug 04, 2008 at 3:42 pm

The fact that they are Proton says it all!

• juanbeibei (Member) on Aug 04, 2008 at 5:22 pm

ahh.. i like the interior of the desire concept.. it looked nice =)

• abtm (Member) on Aug 04, 2008 at 6:24 pm

i can do better playing NFS Underground

• tokmoh (Member) on Aug 04, 2008 at 8:27 pm

If you guys hv read azlano’s blog (the proton design manager), he did mention abt aiming at beating grand livina in value, n using wish as benchmark for design.

Technically, these cars can be considered concepts, as they were first unveiled during the launch of their respective models. Not a single satria neo was otr when desire n symphony was shown to the public, so yeah, i suppose it can be considered a concept.

• pheonix_comet (Member) on Aug 05, 2008 at 12:06 am

if they put the 1st 2 neo into production as limited edition… i can say it will be book off with in one day….

• RahXephon (Member) on Aug 08, 2008 at 2:03 am

Pronunciation: \?kän-?sept\
    Function: noun
    Etymology: Latin conceptum, neuter of conceptus, past participle of concipere to conceive — more at conceive
    Date: 1556
    1 : something conceived in the mind : thought, notion
    2 : an abstract or generic idea generalized from particular instances

Function: adjective
    Date: 1896
    1 : organized around a main idea or theme
    2 : created to illustrate a concept

As the shown Neo’s are organized around a main idea or theme, they therefore qualify the term “concept car” as well. Just because the automaking industry labels full-scale prototype models of design experiments as concept cars, doesn’t mean that is the only usage of the words “concept car”

• mohgui (Member) on Aug 08, 2008 at 1:51 pm

i do agree with most here. the Neos and Saga shown here are not concept at all. they are basically modified versions. given the time and money, i think any Neo owner can replicate these so-called “concept” at any auto shop.

i think it’s rather lame for Proton to come out with such stunt.

concept means the car is new and may or may not go into production. however, i see quite a lot of Neos and Sagas out on the roads.

before reading this thread further… i thought Proton really outdid themselves and have some new and exciting designs. but… all i see are just existing models with some make-overs.

like kena conned only…

• ReactiX (Member) on Aug 11, 2008 at 3:49 pm

Nothing new. just touch up a little here and there, and badge it as concept…. Not worth to proud of..
    -ReactiX

• buloh on Jul 22, 2009 at 2:14 am

peromyvi said,

August 4, 2008 @ 3:49 am

you call this design concept? I think proton is so laid back. This is just like facelift to existing design. You will see this saga and satria neo for the next 10 years. It is beginning to sound boring.

AGREED WITH YOU BRO..

• so smart!!!