2009 Hyundai Avante Hybrid with both LPG and gasoline-burning variants

Hyundai Avante Hybrid

Hyundai has revealed that a gasoline-electric hybrid version of the Avante will be launched in 2010, followed by larger hybrid vehicles. But before that, Hyundai will be launching a Hyundai Avante Hybrid (or Hyundai Elantra Hybrid) in the Korean market next year.

The 2009 car will run on a hybrid system that combines a combustion engine fueled by LPG instead of petrol. The electric motor will be powered by lithium ion batteries. Sales of at least 50,000 units annually are expected in Korea alone.

Kah Bintang is currently marketing the Elantra based on fuel economy. If the Malaysian government amends tax structures to encourage the use of hybrid vehicles, there is a possibility that the Elantra Hybrid will make a debut in our local market. More details to be posted when the car is launched in Korea.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Capt Shopalot (Member) on Aug 05, 2008 at 2:13 pm

Better late than never

• torque (Member) on Aug 05, 2008 at 2:26 pm

Good, good…

• xsaraloeb (Member) on Aug 05, 2008 at 2:56 pm

i went to Korea last year and saw many “H senget” brand in Seoul. And they are damn proud of their cars.

I managed to drive one of my colleagues car and the feeling is nothing like driving a Potong Persona as theirs mid range is very high spec even tho for domestic market.

for us…we pay higher for a lower spec car but the mat salleh in UK pay less at our expense. and we also kena higher interest rates..now is 3.99% compared to 2.8-3.4% for other makes.

Why la we kena ? maybe the tiger is tak cukup makan ka ?

• torque (Member) on Aug 05, 2008 at 3:29 pm

xsaraloeb,

Macam mana u tak kena makan? U beli kereta cap Rimau, amik loan pun cap Rimau..memang la u kena terkam! Hahaha…that’s just a joke man. Just for laugh. Anyway, don’t blame Proton dude, blame the G’s stupid policy! Cheers! :-)

• kerelbort (Member) on Aug 05, 2008 at 3:46 pm

Toyota + Honda can afford to lower their price actually with the new tax structure revise recently… but these two company not planning to lower the car price instead they pay bank to get lower interest.. so u actually buying a car and also buying a car loan..

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Aug 05, 2008 at 4:51 pm

xsaraloeb, i thought interest rates in the UK now are sky high?

• ly60 (Member) on Aug 05, 2008 at 5:26 pm

torque said,

don’t blame Proton dude, blame the G’s stupid policy

I agree with torque, all the mess created by G who created so many stupid policies.

• numb3r7mu (Member) on Aug 05, 2008 at 5:33 pm

agree with torque n ly60 this stupid G got nothing 2 do
    juz create so many stupid policies to make the rich more richer
    n the poor suffer

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Aug 05, 2008 at 6:09 pm

this car is old, why can’t we have the i30?

• mystvearn (Member) on Aug 05, 2008 at 6:20 pm

Koreans are proud of their car! That is a fact you cannot deny. You cannot also deny that they started from heavy industries, shipping, then venture into car business when they have lots of stuff to back it up. Malaysia other way around, start big, worry about parts later.

• xsaraloeb (Member) on Aug 05, 2008 at 7:05 pm

Bro B.M.W,

In UK they used APR when buy car unlike us. The APR normally on the reducing amt year on year.

Furthermore gaji in UK is far higher…i once got offered after graduation with ICI for Stg1050 excl allowance in 1995. And you can pay a car of MyVi size for example for only 40-70 quids per mth. Olso….car is very cheap eg MyVi less 9K.

So where is the rationale for our banking and financial system. Only problem is their income tax is very very high if i am not mistaken nearly 45-48%. Wow that hurts !

• Porkbutcher (Member) on Aug 05, 2008 at 11:28 pm

Elantra’s interior quality sucks and handling also sucks. At least, the Korean cars are improving faster than our Protons. Hope to get tax reduction in hybrid cars? I am not positive on this. Maybe u will get it after 5 or 10 years? Who knows? G is not keen on alternative fuel powered vehicles. I remember there’s once someone imported the electric powered motorcycles from China into MY but the G’s policy didn’t allow.

• capeplates (Member) on Aug 06, 2008 at 3:38 pm

Dated design does not appeal – it will struggle!