Lotus Sound Synthesis technology can give electric cars the rumble of a V8

Lotus Safe and Sound Hybrid

Electric cars or hybrid cars running on fully electric mode can pose a risk to pedestrians as there could be some people, especially those with hearing impairments or the blind, who are not aware of an approaching vehicle because they are just so silent. In fact, there was a bill in the US recently to require a minimum level of sound for vehicles sold in the US.

As an engineering consulting company and component designer/supplier, Lotus is tackling this issue with its new “Safe and Sound” Hybrid demo car. Lotus used a Toyota Prius as a demonstrator vehicle and applied its new Sound Synthesis system to it. The new technology combines Active Road Noise Cancellation, Engine Order Cancellation and Sound Synthesis.

A road speed signal is obtained from the vehicle and a waterproof speaker is positioned near the radiator to emit a realistic sound based on the throttle and speed of the car, projected towards the front of the car. The sound was designed to be instantly recognisable by the human brain, allowing it taking into account pitch and frequency and process it to enable us to identify vehicle speed and distance. The synthesized sound automatically stops if the hybrid car’s combustion engine kicks in.

The sound can be configured to sound like various types of engines. For example, you could drive a fully electric Tesla Roadster and enjoy the lovely rumbling sound of a flat-6 or a V8.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Porkbutcher (Member) on Aug 05, 2008 at 11:56 pm

Hey, they have just copied my idea of having speakers on the outside to replicate car rumbling sound. Haha.. But will the replicated sound intrude the cabin? Noise pollution?

• Kevin Lee (Member) on Aug 06, 2008 at 12:06 am

well next time our toy remote control cars can sound like v8 too. its a good idea, nowadays, cars are too quiet, lol

• csv (Member) on Aug 06, 2008 at 12:16 am

cool shit.

• csv (Member) on Aug 06, 2008 at 12:16 am

all the kancils and wiralution, wajalution on the road will copy the noise liao.

• MyviKiller (Member) on Aug 06, 2008 at 12:36 am

Can I fit it on my bicycle?

• delos3nos (Member) on Aug 06, 2008 at 1:04 am

Lotus use toyata engine for their new sport cars
    Lotus can dream of children idea for tomorrow why don’t they make a batteries which last longer and more powerful like the transfomer make something solid lahhhhh

• mystvearn (Member) on Aug 06, 2008 at 6:13 am

Sounds like an Elise recorded on a track. Then play it soft. The driver cannot just horn the pedestrian?

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Aug 06, 2008 at 8:56 am

mystvearn, if you’ve ever heard an electric car coming down the road, you will understand why this is so important. in an urban situation, most people have to cross the road, usually walking in between 2 cars, or trucks, trees.. or whatever. and you may have an impeded view of the road.. likewise the driver. it might be too late to even sound the horn in some situations. but if the pedestrian heard the car coming, its a different situation.

• rt (Member) on Aug 06, 2008 at 9:21 am

big deal la….

nowadays even some kapchai make some kind of jet engine sound especially at traffic lights.. :)

even ah beng can do it…

rt..

• rexis (Member) on Aug 06, 2008 at 9:29 am

step1) install loud speakers
    step2) install mp3 player
    step3) copy need for speed engine sound

done

– – – – – –

Are they short of ideas or what? V8 sound on a Tesla? They should considered huge electric machine sound like LRT, or create unique sound for it.

• dodgeviper88 (Member) on Aug 06, 2008 at 9:30 am

Unlike the ah bengs or the kapchais that make all those funny noises to make them cool, this ‘technology’ is used for hybrid or electric cars in the name of safety for the blind people that rely on car noises to check for cars before crossing the road.
    Honestly speaking, this technology is so unnecessary as the vehicle’s primary noise comes from tyre noise etc etc. I find it how ironic that for years governments has been imposing noise limit to supercars and now they want to implement minimum noise levels.

• LHQ (Member) on Aug 06, 2008 at 10:17 am

Well this thing already have created a fuss not long ago in U.S when the Fisker Karma came out with this idea too, and those “jet engine” kapchais out there, just cut it out, don’t be a joke in front of foreigners.

• armandd (Member) on Aug 06, 2008 at 10:22 am

i would like my electric car to play the ‘hey ya – outkast’ song to replace the engine sound.

• kerelbort (Member) on Aug 06, 2008 at 10:24 am

in the future when the ahbeng or mat kereta want to have louder and noisy exhaust sound… they just replace the speaker to a bigger and louder speaker.. and there will be a place where u can put what ever sound u want… ferrari turbo? double blow-off valve? SQV sound? juz download and play.. and surely at that time.. those sound is consider sold as piracy…

• SatriaGuy (Member) on Aug 06, 2008 at 12:28 pm

armandd – I think your idea is super brilliant, dude!

What Lotus had to do is kinda ridiculous.. I cannot believe that we now live in an age where we have to resort to synthesized sounds to re-live the sound of a good ‘ol combustion engine!

I think it will be a sad, sad day for all of us who loved cars..

*sob* *sob*

• zzua (Member) on Aug 06, 2008 at 12:39 pm

rexis said,
    August 6, 2008 @ 9:29 am

Are they short of ideas or what? V8 sound on a Tesla? They should considered huge electric machine sound like LRT, or create unique sound for it.

——————————————————-

dude, funny! lol :D hahahaha.. imagine hearing LRT approaching u from behind..thats a real shocker!

• bmpower (Member) on Aug 06, 2008 at 1:58 pm

lrt on top side lah.
    no need to avoid. :D

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Aug 06, 2008 at 2:56 pm

SatriaGuy, the technology is not to “relive” the sound of a combustion engined vehicle. but to give some audible yet recognisable sound to vehicles that have no or very little sound when moving on the road.

i think its better to recreate a recognisably “car noise” as apposed to strange futuristic, or electric type noises.. people are familiar with “car noises”, and if something unfamiliar is heard, it might not automatically register to a pedestrian that a car is coming. better to have a sound that says “CAR” straightaway.

on the funny side, i can imagine maybe 10 years from now, when you drive your electric car to brothers to buy some accessories, you can deck out your electric car with a “ferrari” sound, or “bmw 6 cycl”, or even “F1 car sound”.. ;)

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Aug 06, 2008 at 4:32 pm

lotus is such a fun car to drive, but why is proton so shitty?

• bmpower (Member) on Aug 06, 2008 at 5:35 pm

can do lah.
    but do people can buy a proton with lotus price?
    ie : technology, look, etc has their own price to pay..
    shitty? i dont think so.. you can’t adapt all in lotus for ‘normal’ car.

• ly60 (Member) on Aug 06, 2008 at 6:42 pm

I want to drive lotus too, but money not enough maa, what to do? drive proton lor.

• bolo (Member) on Aug 06, 2008 at 9:17 pm

yay! I want the sound of a screaming V12 at 19000rpm

• mokkf82 (Member) on Aug 06, 2008 at 10:37 pm

U know what guys!
    i encountered a traffic police yesterday when escorting the meteri slipped through the high way. and u know what signal they are giving to the drivers?
    The police car would give loud speaker noise of ” tepi tepi, bagi laluan bagi laluan”

so this give me an ideal of putting this in loud speaker mode: “tepi tepi kereta hybrid kat depan, bagi laluan”