Proton Persona “Our Pride and Joy” campaign wins 2008 PMAA Gold Dragon award

Proton LogoProton’s Our Pride and Joy campaign for the Proton Persona by McCann Erickson Malaysia has won the Gold Dragon award at the 2008 PMAA Awards. The Gold Dragon was for the Best Brand-building Campaign category. Another Proton campaign, the Proton Sneeze campaign won the Silver Dragon in the Best Cause of Charity Marketing Campaign.

Look after the jump for a few sample ads from the campaign.

Click any of the ads below to view the hi-res version.

Persona Pride and Joy

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• torque (Member) on Aug 05, 2008 at 12:13 pm

Congratulation Proton! Tahniah, tahniah! Now that you had win a campaign award, it’s time to win back some of the people’s faith and heart! Like I said before, shave the “syiok sendiri” syndrome because the road that lies ahead is still loooooooooooong…..

Anyway, keep up the good work DSZ!

• torque (Member) on Aug 05, 2008 at 12:14 pm

Personally, I really liked the family tree ads! :-) That one kinda cool.

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Aug 05, 2008 at 12:29 pm

I’d vote for the BMW Premium Selection Used Car ad from BMW Greece – “You know you’re not the first”!!

• LHQ (Member) on Aug 05, 2008 at 12:30 pm

I don’t want to sound like bashing here but do they still need a concept drawing for the Persona? weird man……
    And a campaign is a campaign and you can’t sell a campaign to people to drive,
    so keep it up doing whatever to increase the product quality,image……
    Btw, don’t fool people with stupid design, Gen2-Persona, New Saga, get what i mean?

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Aug 05, 2008 at 1:01 pm

what do u mean stupid design…how is clever design….fool people…u mean saga and persona buyers are fool?

• MyviKiller (Member) on Aug 05, 2008 at 1:13 pm

The 5th picture looks funny to me, yet meaningful. Congratz to P1 btw, but it’s the quality of the products that we would want to hear.

• MyviKiller (Member) on Aug 05, 2008 at 1:14 pm

I mean the improved quality of the products.

• ilmondo (Member) on Aug 05, 2008 at 1:15 pm

yes.. its a very nice campaign.. anyway.. i feel that it suits the harmonious looking persona..

well.. a lil off topic.. but i dun c any problem with gen2 and persona.. many ppl c tat they are actually d same design.. and there is nothing new with the designs.. cant we look at it as wira sedan and wira aeroback? saga with stupid design? haha.. its suppose to be built to a cost..

proton is making good progress. keep it up!

• xg9 (Member) on Aug 05, 2008 at 1:15 pm

im waiting for JULIANLEE’s comment… lol

• yippi33 (Member) on Aug 05, 2008 at 1:16 pm

LHQ,

its not weird to have a concept drawing even for a persona..every car needs to have a concept drawing first before construction..its not an easy process you know..

no..i didnt get what you mean..i think that saga’s design is much more better in its class(compared to city or vios)..same goes to persona & gen2..but in the end, it depends on ones personal opinion..

• proud2BMalaysian (Member) on Aug 05, 2008 at 1:34 pm

I agreed with yippi33, out of all sedans that shared platform with hatchback, saga is the best design compared to city, new vios, latio sedan & sx4 that just look really weird.

• proton12vauto (Member) on Aug 05, 2008 at 1:35 pm

LHQ.. if u think the design of new saga is fool, and u think that persona no need to make conceptual design fisrt? Well try ur self to design at your own first laa… then we can hear which one is fool. To built shoe also need to re-draw back the concept and apply it into real one.

You fool…

• torque (Member) on Aug 05, 2008 at 1:50 pm

xg9,

That’s funny…

• God.of.War (Member) on Aug 05, 2008 at 2:22 pm

Hi all,

Congrats to P1, its time for u to get up. start to get peoples trust. 1st, the quality. other else come to 2nd.

• kerelbort (Member) on Aug 05, 2008 at 2:30 pm

wow.. improving in term of marketing and also in term of quality… i vote SZA as CEO of the year 2008..

• LHQ (Member) on Aug 05, 2008 at 4:14 pm

Ok,ok i give up, I’m the fool ok?
    I failed to see the beauty lies within the lines of Proton’s design and that’s my fault.
    In my opinion, Persona=squashed rear Gen2, so if you guys think that lowering a car’s end need a whole new series of complicated calculations in the process then i admit it’s my fault again. Nuff said.

• torque (Member) on Aug 05, 2008 at 4:49 pm

LHQ,

Take it easy bro! I know that you stated, “I don’t want to sound like bashing here but…” and you do give a point where you said, “so keep it up doing whatever to increase the product quality…”. I don’t think you are a basher just b’coz you wanna give your own opinion. There may some that agree and some don’t…just let it go! You should read Kingbrutal comments where he point out that sometimes someone have to agree to a disagreement, that’s the whole point of an argument. Beside Paultan.org is all about RAVES and RANTS, right? Raves does mean “speak wildly and incoherently” and Rants mean “speak in loud exaggerated manner”. I think that’s the whole point…

Just my two cents…take care bro! Peace.

• ly60 (Member) on Aug 05, 2008 at 5:45 pm

To torque, your comment above i regard as very fair enough. Beauty or no beauty is up to individual. For me the persona design is more beautiful than current city and latio.

Just my 2 cents also.

• bmpower (Member) on Aug 05, 2008 at 5:55 pm

You’re saying it’s beauty than city and lation is okay. many can accept..

but dont you ever dare say it beauty than Vios. The Japs Wannabe will said the dugong vios one is the beautiful car in the world.. hehehe.

• LHQ (Member) on Aug 05, 2008 at 5:56 pm

Also i just mention the design problem, i didn’t said it was ugly. The lower rear end would probably much better to position a spoiler than Gen2, did ? made myself clear? Btw, thanks for ya advice torque.

• LHQ (Member) on Aug 05, 2008 at 5:57 pm

*did I

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Aug 05, 2008 at 6:11 pm

proton are better off doing commercials then cars as they won’t breakdown

• mystvearn (Member) on Aug 05, 2008 at 6:24 pm

Images not working? I cannot see anything

• RCM (Member) on Aug 05, 2008 at 7:50 pm

To put a concept drawing in an ad is kinda cool, and I think that’s the major intention of the ad designer, the cool factor. Human has a tendency to know the progress/evolution of anything, how things are made. The graphic designer just exploited this behavior of human to made a good ad, that’s all.

Maybe the concept drawings are not specifically for Persona, but just a burst of ideas for any new Proton cars. The ad designer then saw it and decide to cook up something.

• rt (Member) on Aug 05, 2008 at 8:01 pm

I love driving the Persona.

The only one thing I would like to see from Persona (and the rest of Protons new badge of cars) would be the independent crash test results such as from Euro NCAP.

Hopefully Proton could put some for testing.

rt

• kingbrutal (Member) on Aug 05, 2008 at 8:58 pm

wow… I’m quoted here… :D (thanks torque)

what Proton did was ingenius… potraying an image for itself through advertisments to win the heart of it’s customer. and inserting some humor to it too.. (love the stork ad).

but… don’t just win awards for advertisment.. win some awards for innovation, design, sales and engineering. maybe then, you can be a bit proud and we will be more proud of you.. :D

• Roti Naan (Member) on Aug 05, 2008 at 9:25 pm

xg9,

Just let it go bro. Give it a rest abt julianlee.

• kei9 (Member) on Aug 05, 2008 at 9:56 pm

Strange though, i only seen once (ad NO.3) in NST.
    Took a pic of it. :) Because it was pretty special.

• Porkbutcher (Member) on Aug 05, 2008 at 11:49 pm

I have only seen Ad 2 and 3 in The Star newspaper. I think the family tree and the ‘bird’ ads are inspiring. Now i feel like pampering my car a bit because it is also part of my life. Hehe.
    Thank you Proton.

• mokkf82 (Member) on Aug 06, 2008 at 12:01 am

Nice picture. But aren’t these pictures suppose to buy the buyers hard with it’s unique design?
    Good job proton, keep it up and strike for the Quality goal.

• Max88 (Member) on Aug 06, 2008 at 12:24 pm

A good, quality car no need a great ads because the brand sell by itself. Eg. Toyota, BMW, Volvo etc.

Proton with such a dated design just like an old spinster lady, try desperately to find a husband (Mr.Pak Sanggup).

• fastcx (Member) on Aug 06, 2008 at 3:23 pm

this max88 really has such a free time to think so those creative words to just bash, hmm, i tot i saw lots of toyota, bmw, volvo ads around the world, even in malaysia hmm creativity doesnt = credibility, max i pity ur negativity

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Aug 06, 2008 at 4:39 pm

fastcx, the proton ad is seriously crap compared to the volkswagen and bmw ads u can see on youtube, just that in malaysia, not much point for them to do ads

• Max88 (Member) on Aug 08, 2008 at 4:25 pm

fastcx said,
    “…i tot i saw lots of toyota, bmw, volvo ads around the world, even in malaysia hmm creativity doesnt = credibility, max i pity ur negativity”
    >Fine if you do embrace mediocrity positively.

• rcopt2000 (Member) on Aug 09, 2008 at 1:54 pm

proton has quality………becos cheap u know……?