Volkswagen Golf Mk6 Details and Photos

Volkswagen Golf Mark 6

After a low resolution leak yesterday, Volkswagen has decided to just release the initial info for the Mark 6 Golf, with full details to be revealed at the Paris Motor Show. The new Golf carries over the design language that made its debut with the Scirocco. The front grille is now slimmer and wider extending all the way to a headlamps, which is kind of like a modernised Mk4 Golf. This gives the Golf the effect of a more low-slung look. This means the upcoming Mark 6 GTI will likely look so much more sportier as well.

In the engine bay, the turbodiesel line-up is now fully common rail direct injection instead of the Pump Duse system and is available with various output levels: 90 PS, 110 PS, 140 PS and 170 PS, while the TSI petrol engines put out 80 PS, 102 PS, 122 PS and 160 PS.

The dashboard uses a dual-cowled design with white backlit dials. The interior shows use of aluminium and chrome highlights, kind of like an Audi’s dash but without all the red backlighting. The new Golf also promises to be quieter. It has a special damping film in the windshield and a newly developed seal for the doors and side window guides to reduce noise. The wing mirrors are also aerodynamically shaped to reduce wind noise. Other NVH tricks include new engine bearings, quieter tyres fitted as standard and sound proofing for the engine bay.

The Golf now features an optional Volkswagen Adaptive Chassis Control (similiar to Audi drive select) which is standard on the Scirocco and an option on the Passat CC. With ACC, the driver will be able to select between normal, comfort and sports modes which will vary the suspension, steering and accelerator behaviour accordingly. The car’s cruise control system has also been enhanced, now using a series of sensors to reduce the vehicle’s speed automatically if there is an obstruction in its path. The system can bring the car to a complete halt if necessary.

Safety enhancements include a more advanced ESP system, seatbelt sensors for the rear passengers and a new head restraint system designed to reduce whiplash injuries.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• austin_cipan (Member) on Aug 06, 2008 at 3:22 pm

nice… prefer the turbodiesel…

• altimi (Member) on Aug 06, 2008 at 3:31 pm

I think the outgoing Golf is better looking…..

• aksMs (Member) on Aug 06, 2008 at 4:09 pm

altimi, I second that.

• hamster (Member) on Aug 06, 2008 at 4:21 pm

looks to me like they’re Scirocco wing mirrors and the rest of the car had to be designed around it… not good. But its a Golf. It will sell no matter what…

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Aug 06, 2008 at 4:23 pm

yea, but a new car is always improved in many ways, more fuel efficient, more uber golf gti, r32 etc etc

• bmpower (Member) on Aug 06, 2008 at 5:37 pm

the honeycomb front grill might be reserved for gti version only. :D

but.. hey!.. that’s beige interior color! remind me of earlier version of Gen-2!.

Now!!!.. how many person gonna say it S.U.C.K.S?

• mystvearn (Member) on Aug 06, 2008 at 6:10 pm

Dimensionwise, same or bigger?

• raybrig85 (Member) on Aug 06, 2008 at 7:08 pm

i think d current one better than this..btw..jz wait n c in flesh

• MaverickNeo (Member) on Aug 06, 2008 at 10:18 pm

meh, looks boring, i also agree that the current one looks better. But they seemed to have made some impressive advancement technology wise.

• csv (Member) on Aug 07, 2008 at 12:10 am

woo, wonder how the GTI will look with its fiercer genes.

i think current one already looks pretty good.

• ToiletBowl (Member) on Aug 07, 2008 at 12:36 am

looks japan-ish to me

• blazerSST (Member) on Aug 07, 2008 at 7:12 am

Has a very vauxhall astra, holden look to it.

• narrowband (Member) on Aug 07, 2008 at 11:02 am

I like the current Golf better.

• alcool31 (Member) on Aug 07, 2008 at 2:22 pm

Nice update of the current car, but like most golfs, you have to see it in the flash to appreciate the design. To me the beige interior is nice, much better option than your average boring ol’ black-on-black interiors, and it’s blasphemous to compare it with a proton. The dark brown would be perfect. I’ll be waiting patiently for the GTi version.

• PhuysuLL on Sep 03, 2009 at 7:30 pm

Definitely current model looks better. But we'll see until they are on the road.