Paul Tan's Automotive Industry News

MINI John Cooper Works now available in Malaysia

Advertisement

MINI JCW

The MINI John Cooper Works is now in Malaysia and available at Auto Bavaria and Sapura Auto showrooms for RM279,000. The MINI JCW’s 1.6 liter turbocharged engine gets boosted up to 211hp, with peak torque now at 260Nm (280Nm overboost) from as low as 1,850rpm. The MINI JCW is only available with a 6-speed manual, reflecting its more hardcore nature as compared to the Cooper S.

Other equipment that differentiates the JCW from the Cooper S is a sports suspension, JCW aerodynamic kit and a carbon fiber rear spoiler. BMW says all bodykit items serve aerodynamic functions instead of being just for aesthetics, improving handling and road-holding especially at higher speeds. THere are also exclusive 17 inch light alloys which weigh less than 10kg wrapped with 205/45R18W high speed run flat tyres.

DSC with DTC is offered as standard, an improvement over the DSC-only of the “baseline” MINIs. DTC is a less naggy version of DSC that only kicks in when you’re about to get into serious trouble, allowing you to have abit more fun with the car. When DSC (and DTC) is turned completely off, there is still Electronic Differential Lock Control.

The interior is done in Piano Black with Anthracite roof lining. The exterior comes in either Lightning Blue, Laser Blue, British Racing Green, Astro Black, Pure Silver, Dark Silver, and Sparkling Silver metallic, or Chili Red and Pepper White non-metallic.

Look at the linked related post for a hi-res photo gallery and videos.

MINI John Cooper Works Details and Hi-Res Photos

13 Comments »

1. torque said,

August 8, 2008 @ 12:49 pm

Performance and looks (and class too)…wow…great!! :-)
    Price…uhh…not so great!! :-(

2. _xXx_ said,

August 8, 2008 @ 1:30 pm

oh yes this is another small car for the poors who entitle RM625 rebate and yearly road tax of RM90+.

3. abtm said,

August 8, 2008 @ 2:00 pm

That is one expensive Mini, considering the Golf GTi is only Rm200k

4. ndmervin said,

August 8, 2008 @ 2:12 pm

This goes to show that despite all the economic downturn and political drama… still, there are people who WILL buy it… sigh.. we’ve got quite alot of ultra rich people around in plain clothes…

5. Hikaru said,

August 8, 2008 @ 2:32 pm

What a joke…RM278k for the top spec mini? For this price u can get a BM with cash to spare. I am sure in the UK u can say the same. Malaysia’s pricing system (or whatever system it has, or if u can call it a system) for cars is ridiculous.

Ppl in the UK call this a premium hatch. I think we need to call this a luxury car.

6. ALPINA BMW said,

August 8, 2008 @ 3:35 pm

i prefer the ac schnitzer and hartge version of the mini

7. csv said,

August 9, 2008 @ 12:24 am

nice but how many people will actually buy it?

look at the price, can get alot of good continental cars or top japanese luxury makes already.

8. dodgeviper88 said,

August 9, 2008 @ 4:50 am

Woah, at that price, we can buy a S-class in most parts of the world.

9. Roti Naan said,

August 9, 2008 @ 12:06 pm

Malaysia car pricing is really screwed-up…

Nevertheless, I’m sure there still be rich dudes who will buy it in Malaysia

10. rcopt2000 said,

August 9, 2008 @ 1:42 pm

i really like mini yeah……! but no money to buy lah……..

11. ALPINA BMW said,

August 9, 2008 @ 2:56 pm

malaysia is the only country where a gti is cheaper than a mini cooper S

12. nightwalker said,

November 12, 2008 @ 9:47 pm

Mini are more expensive anywhere else. Its just not as crazy in msia

13. nightwalker said,

November 12, 2008 @ 10:07 pm

Our car price is ridiculously expensive if compared to other country. But 1 thing that still many people can afford such prices is because we can easily get a loan from local bank as long as your name is not black listed. A person with a fixed income of RM30000 monthly can apply for a loan up to RM 5mil. Isn’t it ridiculous? Its impossible anywhere else in the world. So I think we can’t complain much.

Please do not submit your comment twice, the system has accepted your comment, it just needs to be moderated first. Once your first comment is approved, all subsequent comments will show automatically.

previous post: Initial details on Mark 6 Golf GTI revealed
next post: Aston Martin One-77 with 7.0 liter V12 announced!