Aston Martin DB7 used as suicide tool

Aston Martin DB7

Money can’t buy you happiness, or at least not for British businessman Gerald Mellin, who killed himself with the help of his Aston Martin DB7 roadster.

Mellin, who had been talking about suicide for sometime now, tied one end of a long rope to a tree in a parking lot and the other end of the rope around his neck. He then got into his open top DB7 and drove away. You can probably guess what happened next.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Capt Shopalot (Member) on Aug 09, 2008 at 4:00 pm

This is CRAZY!!!

• IsaacVky (Member) on Aug 09, 2008 at 4:22 pm

Ewwwwwwwwww wtf

• DtG (Member) on Aug 09, 2008 at 4:48 pm

oh damn… pity, whats gonna happen to the car… it certainly wont be getting a new owner.. not easily, who’s sick enough?

• armandd (Member) on Aug 09, 2008 at 4:58 pm

wow, this is the 1st time someone killed himself like this! he’s been suffering from severe depression for quite some time. rest in peace Mr Mellin..

• epep (Member) on Aug 09, 2008 at 5:37 pm

DtG, you are the one who is sick. Poor man is dead and all you can do is make silly comments about the car. Least you could do is offer a prayer for the departed.

• mokkf82 (Member) on Aug 09, 2008 at 5:41 pm

He can kill himself easily by jumping off from a 20th storey high building. Why bother to use Aston Martin

• MaverickNeo (Member) on Aug 09, 2008 at 5:55 pm

I would buy the car, if it was going cheap..

• Roti Naan (Member) on Aug 09, 2008 at 5:56 pm

Committing suicide is a mortal sin….

• mystvearn (Member) on Aug 09, 2008 at 6:22 pm

Hmm,I thought I only see those things in cartoons, not in Real life. DB7 still not happy in life…money is not everything then.

• ignas (Member) on Aug 09, 2008 at 6:33 pm

interesting things that the rich can do. at least he got a satisfying death.

• topgunthang (Member) on Aug 09, 2008 at 7:22 pm

depression is a bitch.

hopefully he drives a better car in his next life.

• blackberrybloke (Member) on Aug 09, 2008 at 8:00 pm

anyone who is interested to read more, kindly go to http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-1042676/Businessman-uses-Aston-Martin-decapitate-horrific-suicide-revenge-ex-wife.html?ITO=1490

• ashccx (Member) on Aug 09, 2008 at 8:16 pm

i think if he was in a kancil, it would take forever for the suicide process to occur.

• rosdi (Member) on Aug 09, 2008 at 8:47 pm

SO WHAT HAPPENED?

• LoneDrifter (Member) on Aug 09, 2008 at 10:01 pm

God…What a way to die…

R.I.P

That DB7 might go into the museum.

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Aug 09, 2008 at 10:54 pm

at least he died in an aston martin, most malaysians die in a proton

• csv (Member) on Aug 09, 2008 at 11:20 pm

wonder who dares to buy that car now. haunted. lol.

but still, sucide ain’t no way to go.

• kahing (Member) on Aug 10, 2008 at 1:57 am

Maybe Aston makers should think of a way to create a suicidal-sensory system. Haha

• dodgeviper88 (Member) on Aug 10, 2008 at 2:21 am

The news is really sad, although he should had see it coming. Marrying someone much younger than yourself plus the fact your filthy rich, someone can point out the obvious.
    Before anyone flames me, I myself got dumped by my ex-gf and I’m sure many has experienced this before so I understand things can get pretty dark sometimes. However, suicide is surely not the answer.

• Apathy (Member) on Aug 10, 2008 at 2:13 pm

Coool way to die, dude……waaa in a Aston Martin la. Much better than die in a Kancil or Wira…..Anyway, all things are useless to you once you die. Hahahaha

• blackberrybloke (Member) on Aug 10, 2008 at 3:18 pm

why do people only focus on the car? still not a way to take one’s life.

• MaverickNeo (Member) on Aug 10, 2008 at 3:42 pm

Dude..if u wanna talk more about they dead guy, then go to his funeral or something…here we talk about the fact that he died in an ASTON MARTIN! Which is awesomely weird yet cool….

• osh_kosh (Member) on Aug 11, 2008 at 8:46 am

“The cause of death was given as decapitation. ”

wow… scary, he was wearing the seat belt i guess… but to think about it, even without wearing the belt he’ll still be decapitated if the speed is right..
    why choose a horrible death??

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Aug 11, 2008 at 9:09 am

everyone has problems, including the rich. money doesnt buy happiness. it can buy you material things.. but thats about it.

• Superman_AYKF (Member) on Aug 11, 2008 at 10:09 am

insane!!!!!

• hareshi (Member) on Aug 11, 2008 at 2:29 pm

Cool yet very nasty, Money aint beautiful after’all….
    N ego doesn’t come cheap…totally senseless.

So now whoever buy or used D the car, i bet they might come across headless figure in the car then.

• hsyeow (Member) on Aug 14, 2008 at 4:44 pm

Poor thing. Any car lover would be saddened.