Proton Waja CPS Test Drive Review

Proton Waja CPS

The Proton Waja CPS 1.6 is not entirely a new model to begin with, going through a number of facelifts. It’s still pretty much the same car with a new engine and a couple of new features over the previous version.

This publication wrote about this car a couple of months back following its showroom appearance with some details into the car’s factory performance figures for comparison. We finally got our hands on one recently.

Read our report on the Waja CPS after the jump.

Proton Waja CPS

We are familiar with the Mitsubishi 4G18 which powered the first batch of Wajas followed by the S4PH Campro engine which made appeared in the Waja in 2006. Now, in the latest reincarnation of the Waja, we’re given the new Campro CPS 1.6 engine.

At first glance, the car is still the same on the exterior but the first drive held some promising facts. The test unit came with a manual transmission although we were hoping for an automatic version – let’s face it, an automatic would have been ideal given the traffic conditions in the city, but nevertheless the car lived up to expectations.

With the CPS System finally available with the Campro engine, we decided to test the Waja CPS where the new engine performance figures would really matter. The car was put to test on the Senawang – Tampin – Segamat trunk roads which offers a rather spirited drive. Plenty of bends and straights which allow for some overtaking sprints.

The most notable difference about the CPS is the smooth and responsive drivability thanks to the 13 percent increase in power output. The CPS is a totally different engine compared to the Campro S4PH, it’s more aggressive when you need it to be. The CPS engine produces 125hp at 6,500rpm and 150Nm of torque at 4,500rpm. Although the torque peaks at 150Nm at 4,500 rpm, there is plenty of torque available across the band.

Proton Waja CPS

The previous Campro was sluggish at low engine speeds and the normally one would need to rev the engine higher to get it going. Sometimes you have to 3rd gear on a manual Campro just to overtake a slower car in front.

Not the CPS – it took off effortlessly from fourth gear. The CPS was definitely a joy to drive with better acceleration on the third, fourth and fifth gear within the 2,500 – 4,500 rpm engine speed range. No sluggish drive plus easy hill climbs. This show that engineers at proton have done a tremendous job in improving the engine.

The other interesting fact that we noticed was the cruising engine rpm at cruising speeds. The CPS allows the engine to cruise at 2,000rpm at speeds of 80km/h and approximately 3,000rpm at 110km/h. This is similar to the cruising speeds of most 2.0 litre cars with either a 5-speed manual or a 4-speed auto transmission. Smaller engines tend to cruise around 2700rpm at 80km/h. Low engine speeds are beneficial because it allows for improvement in fuel economy and comfort.

There is just one complaint that we found about the CPS engine. It runs as how you’d expect a modern 1.6 litre engine would run, but the engine sometimes loses power in what seems to be random occurances at first but in the end we decided that the power to the wheels dropped very noticably, far, far more than a typical car whenever the aircond compressor kicks in. I am not sure what kind of air conditoning all these Campro-equipped car uses, or perhaps it is a wiring issue, or an interior compressor, but we noticed this on all Campro/Campro IAFM and Campro CPS cars that we have driven.

Proton Waja CPS

Ride and handling

The handling of the WAJA CPS is good thanks to the Lotus. The tyres are Silverstone Kruizers wrapping the alloy wheels which indicate a setup tuned more for comfort and quietness rather than outright grip. At some bends especially at the notorious horse-shoe bends in Rembau and Tampin, we did feel some oversteer.

Had a hunch that it could be the tyres as the ride was bumpy at some point and it turned out to be right – they were over inflated. Had this corrected and the ensuing ride was much smoother.

Proton has gone a long way in treating the WAJA CPS with improved damping and NVH levels to provide a comfortable ride. Interior noise was acceptable with minimal engine noise intrusion in the cabin.

Proton Waja CPS

Interior and Equipment

The interior of the new Waja CPS is almost similar albeit new interior trim colour, speedometer and Clarion head unit for entertainment. The most pleasing sight is the easy to read meter panel which has a nice illumination and good clarity.

The steering wheel has a nice feel to it thanks to the leather trim with a touch of aluminium-looking plastic. The seats are leather all around which provide a good level of comfort for the driver and passengers. However, the rear passenger seats were a bit too hard for comfort. The door trims are semi leather matched with the seats. The only thing that irked me was the gaps in some of the interior trim panels which I think should not be there after 8 years of product development. The interior fitting is possibly one of the worst we’ve ever seen.

The other complaint would be the heavy chemical new car smell that the Waja CPS has. Not sure it it was the leather seats or the plastic, but it definitely smelled very toxic. This was not present in a brand new facelifted GEN2 CPS with leather seats which we also drove recently.

Proton Waja CPS

The Waja CPS 1.6 Premium comes with either a 5-speed manual gearbox or a 4-speed auto. It has electrically foldable remote wing mirrors, front seats with three-way adjustable headrests (up, down and tilt), leather seats all around, a gated automatic shifter for the automatic transmission model, new centre panel switches, a keyless trunk remote system, ABS brakes, dual SRS airbags as standard, fog lamps, twin tailpipes and projector Xenon headlamps with automatic headlamp leveling.

The auto head lamp leveling feature was interesting as it allows the driver to adjust the headlamp beam height so not to blind the oncoming traffic. This is a must in any vehicles fitted with xenon or HID lights. The headlamps are fantastic – casting its beam far and wide and one of the brightest we have ever seen and certainly the best at this price level.

Proton Waja CPS

Fuel Economy

With rising fuel prices these days, it would make sense to go for a car that is reasonably economical to drive. But again, fuel economy is a very subjective topic, it all depends on the driver.

But where the test drive is concerned, with all those fuel wasting hard accelerations coupled with highway cruising, the car still managed to deliver almost 540km with still a quarter tank of fuel left in its 60 litre tank. That’s like almost 12km to a litre and we believe that if driven properly, the Waja CPS could deliver more than 600km.

Proton Waja CPS

In a nutshell, we’d say that Proton has done a good job with the WAJA CPS but it is sad that it took them 8 years to do that. Too little too late? There is still some defects like the absolutely horrible interior finish that are not fixed in this edition and likely not to ever be fixed, but if you are in hunt for a new car in 60k to 80k price range, it is probably worth giving the Waja CPS due consideration.

Sudhakaran Kanan

• revive (Member) on Aug 10, 2008 at 3:05 pm

Been waiting for your review a long time

• austin_cipan (Member) on Aug 10, 2008 at 3:24 pm

I thought FWD cars tends to understeer… can you justify on that?

• Paul Tan on Aug 10, 2008 at 3:34 pm

I was not the one who was driving but possibly loss of grip… once a FWD car enters oversteer its different from a RWD car where you can control it to your advantage.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/dna/h2g2/A1075547
    http://www.modernracer.com/tips/frontwheeldriveoversteer.html

• IsaacVky (Member) on Aug 10, 2008 at 3:48 pm

Upgrade to 1.8 and above or get yourself a Waja CPS.
    Getting other cars like Vios City Accent doesn’t show you’re smart enough.

• abtm (Member) on Aug 10, 2008 at 5:24 pm

i don’t see the point of the Waja when the Persona is around, should be retired soon

• fastcx (Member) on Aug 10, 2008 at 6:02 pm

paul, i notice he said “This was not present in a brand new facelifted GEN2 CPS with leather seats which we also drove recently.”, is it possible for us to read gen2 cps’s test drive review? thx in advance!

Paul Tan says: yes, this week.

• rajtheboss (Member) on Aug 10, 2008 at 6:06 pm

Well, rather than purchase a brand new 8yrs old design car, top up another 10k for Vios or City will be better deal.

• kahing (Member) on Aug 10, 2008 at 6:12 pm

Waja looks abit outdated already. Should invest on improving the Persona.

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Aug 10, 2008 at 6:33 pm

ugly useless car

• mystvearn (Member) on Aug 10, 2008 at 6:35 pm

Maybe got rev limiter hidden somewhere to cut power randomly:P

Hopefully this is the last facelift of the waja. Don’t do another record like the saga.
    I thought waja was a bit upmarket compared to persona? but then yes, does not make much sense when there are essentially two same cars in one category. Maybe proton will phase out the waja lineup completely or make a slightly higher model like a 1.8 CPS version of a new waja?

• badboys (Member) on Aug 10, 2008 at 6:45 pm

Waja looks outdated already, nowadays how many of you can see new waja frequently on the road??? for me very very seldom I can see new waja on the road, CPS or non CPS is not really a matter now, everyone is not attractive to the exterior look already, for me I still not consider to buy it unless it come out a totally new and attractive exterior n interior look. hopefully proton can move faster, bcoz i believed this is the important point that can attract a buyer to come close to the car 1st before knowing what feature you have inside.

• ENZO (Member) on Aug 10, 2008 at 7:18 pm

if persona have CPS, then is the end for Waja.

• Roti Naan (Member) on Aug 10, 2008 at 7:21 pm

Anyone who like GABAN shaped car, the Waja is the perfect choice…..

• xenith (Member) on Aug 10, 2008 at 7:47 pm

Good job on the review..!
    Even though the design is 8 years old, to me it still looks nice. Top up Rm10k for a Toyota? I would rather have Waja CPS than a weird dugong-like thingy called Vios.

• SatriaGuy (Member) on Aug 10, 2008 at 7:56 pm

At the launch ( or was it re-launch) of the Waja CPS, I remembered asking Proton why is it since they are busy improving the engineering of the car that they are not improving the looks as well? (Since the car is like 8 years old)

No one can give me a straight answer.

So I conclude that they decided (wrongly) to spend money on improving the engineering alone and left no money for anything else.

The Waja is good to drive (better than a Toyota Vios or Honda City) but the trouble is – the car just looks old next to the Persona, for instance. It’s time for a new one, Proton.

But hey, they have to maximise the use of the tooling, jigs, etc at Shah Alam so the current Waja has to go on being built, unfortunately.

CPS or no CPS, its like an old house with new furniture.

• mitlanevo (Member) on Aug 10, 2008 at 8:06 pm

ya, i agree, Proton should come out with a new completely new Waja…..

and please, change the name of Persona to Gen2 sedan…..

• xg9 (Member) on Aug 10, 2008 at 8:18 pm

ALPINA BMW said,

August 10, 2008 @ 6:33 pm

ugly useless car

—————————————————–

ROTFLMAO!!!!!!! typical JULIANLEE’s comment! lol.. still cant stop laughing.. better buy golf gti eh? lol

• bugbear (Member) on Aug 10, 2008 at 8:29 pm

dun like d boxy front look~~
    is pointless for me to upgrade my wira to this… ll go for vios or city instead~

• kingbrutal (Member) on Aug 10, 2008 at 8:37 pm

‘The tyres are Silverstone Kruizers wrapping the alloy wheels which indicate a setup tuned more for comfort and quietness rather than outright grip.’ – weird… mine came with Continental ContiComfortContact1 tyres as standard… btw mine is an AT.

Design wise, yes, it is dated because we see Waja everyday. I was told this would be the last incarnation of this design. Proton would be launching the new Waja by 2010. Maybe.. hopefully… I’m praying… :D

• elpaciko (Member) on Aug 10, 2008 at 9:03 pm

alpina bmw is julian lee..

• tunomura (Member) on Aug 10, 2008 at 9:13 pm

proton should hire quality build-up people from perodua. pay them what they want..8 years car without good part fitting quality is rubbish..shame on proton.perodua’s quality build-up group only setup last 5 years, and now look at Myvi, gap and level is almost OK..bukan susah sgt na jaga gap and level!!

• ilmondo (Member) on Aug 10, 2008 at 9:23 pm

its great to see its improvement. altho 8 yrs, i think d design caters family man or young exec well before waja is replaced. fuel consumption is ok too as reported. bout waja vs persona, yea i think that the prices are positioned a bit too closely. but think again, who would pay an additional 5-10k for this upgraded waja CPS?? if i’m not wrong they proton is already planning to bring waja up a level. this will indeed have the price advantage over some more expensive models from korea and jap. imagine civic quality at city price?? i do hope so.

call me patriotic, but i’m happy wit the improvement that proton made recently. ah.. n 1 more thing, which is the usage of waja as taxis, limos.. if ever proton is upgrading waja, i think it is better reserve waja as something more of a limo rather than a taxi (since G is planning a specific model for taxi, just like the london cab)

cheers and happy motoring!

• cutester (Member) on Aug 10, 2008 at 9:28 pm

Nice to see the new interior especially the meters. Very nice. But no high resolution pics!

• tsce (Member) on Aug 10, 2008 at 10:17 pm

Julian,i hope you will stop to become like ‘nyamok’ lah.

• legacy88 (Member) on Aug 10, 2008 at 10:21 pm

I can’t believe why would anyone buy a retarded dugong vios and siti that handle like a boat. Geesh! No taste at all. Please support our national car that can give you superb handling by teratai company.

Support our kind and beloved cronies and enjoy truly great fit and finish with some soft touch material quality, outstanding crash protection and superb built quality years to come.

Buy now please!

• wuichi (Member) on Aug 10, 2008 at 11:08 pm

I do notice that proton’s ac, even on my dad’s old iswara. When the compressor is on, the power goes down, when it’s on the power goes up again. It’s good hear decent review of our local made. Let’s hope for more good reviews on proton.

• geminas (Member) on Aug 10, 2008 at 11:31 pm

ALPINA BMW = Julianlee the clown?

good review and the interior is amazing.

• zoolf (Member) on Aug 11, 2008 at 12:07 am

“The CPS allows the engine to cruise at 2,000rpm at speeds of 80km/h and approximately 3,000rpm at 110km/h.”

Is it only for Waja or it should be for Gen.2 also? Coz my 2005 Gen.2 Campro having the same rpm against speed as u mention, specially 3k rpm at 110. I don’t noe hows other Gen.2, coz never drive. Please correct me if I’m wrong. Cheers.

• e-nabilll (Member) on Aug 11, 2008 at 12:28 am

ya mine oso…std campro AT gen2 , exactly 3k rpm at 110km/hr and 2700rpm at 100km/hr….and i agree , wenever the compressor kicks in,power goes down considerably…should have sting like vvti ecu wer wenever ur accelerating,the compressor wont kick in to disturb the power delivery…it jus seems it drains too much current wen its working…stimes frustrating….

• VPowerRacing (Member) on Aug 11, 2008 at 12:37 am

yeah..too little too late…

• gogobotol (Member) on Aug 11, 2008 at 3:27 am

The Waja’s handling is very good for spirited driving. Plus, it has acres of interior and boot spaces. Unfortunately, it is let down by horrible and poorly fitted interior, thudding air-conditioner, poorly fitting doors, dodgy paintwork and pathetic sales campaign like asking potential buyers to look at the car through a peephole! Proton, you have light years to catch up with the rest of the pack. Just make a world class car now! No excuses, please. And when you put out a new model from the factory for the first time do not tell us how world class beating it is. Leave it to the public to decide whether to love or hate it. Anyway, I’m being patriotic and buying a Japanese marque. Duh!!

• SKUNK_WORX (Member) on Aug 11, 2008 at 8:31 am

wasting a time hoping the CPS engine show it’s real power. Go to halfcut shop, buy yourself a more powerful 1.6 engine and then you ready to rumble.

• Archer (Member) on Aug 11, 2008 at 8:37 am

I don’t understand Proton’s R&D policies, why spend money on outdated design? Shouldn’t they look into going Hybrid or NGV actively, make a difference from the other established car makers that is?

Proton has to shift it’s field of view if it wants to survive. This WAJA CPS is hardly any competition to the newer Toyota & Hondas etc currently available on the market.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Aug 11, 2008 at 9:02 am

archer, firstly, you have really got to read the newspapers or maybe watch the news sometimes, or even read the other stories in paultan..

firstly, it was reported about a month back that proton is slated to introduce ngv fitted cars by this year, also, the last 2 weeks news have been plastered with its ongoing hybrid research and plans including pics of its eve hybrid on this very blog..

as for the waja, its still on sale, because there are still customers buying and proton have not introduced the replacement yet. since the car is already there, it doesnt cost much money to revise the engine, and improve on certain bits and pieces, and you are right, it doesn’t compete with the toyotas and hondas, but those cars cost over RM100k in the same size category as the waja. If you only have a budget of RM60k, would you buy an over RM80k car let alone a RM100k car?

as long as the replacement for the waja is not launched, i believe proton will continue to sell the waja. but looking at the way they’ve been going under new management, 2006 new satria, 2007 new wira(persona), and 2008, new saga, and new mpv for 2009.. i suspect the new waja or perdana is coming shortly…

• drebar (Member) on Aug 11, 2008 at 9:11 am

better late than never. from this review, looks like the handling must be good. frankly, the waja’s handling is not too bad at all. i’ve always enjoyed driving waja (not mine of cos), the one with mitsubishi engine. nice interiors, thick steering (nice to hold) and decent exterior design (before facelift). after facelift, the exterior become crappy.

what they need to do now is give a proper facelift or a brand new design according to the waja core design. then they will really have a competitive car!!!

• tikus (Member) on Aug 11, 2008 at 9:28 am

Need some info here, is protong plan to have persona/neo cps? I think persona/neo with cps are more wow factor then old Waja with cps.Just like add Botox.

• tikus (Member) on Aug 11, 2008 at 9:29 am

Pual any info?

• amad_a (Member) on Aug 11, 2008 at 10:38 am

it’s good to see Proton’s is improving..
    Persona and saga is produced under the new management, while waja is older. I’m expecting the waja replacement model to be much better and bigger than persona.
    FYI, my City manages to cruise at 2000 rpm at 80km/h and 3000 rpm only when cruising at 120 km/h…

• kingbrutal (Member) on Aug 11, 2008 at 11:06 am

me again… :D

my Waja CPS cruised at 3000rpm for abt 120km/h and 2000rpm for 80km/h. and 90km/h at 2250-2300rpm. and at 4000rpm is abt 145-150km/h. top speed achievd is 185km/h.

• szw (Member) on Aug 11, 2008 at 11:08 am

love dis waja…

• mits27 (Member) on Aug 11, 2008 at 11:18 am

It is too late for this Waja CPS, I would like this see the Persona CPS, sorry to say that, but I tired with the Waja look already…

• theking (Member) on Aug 11, 2008 at 11:51 am

Dun worry, new proton waja codename GXR will roll out in 2010.

• theking (Member) on Aug 11, 2008 at 11:54 am

Persona SE will roll out this month. Later NEO CPS will roll out.

• wanwnp (Member) on Aug 11, 2008 at 12:15 pm

FWD Oversteer?
    Maybe the driver turn the steering too quick..
    Thus the rear wheel takes time to response, when the tyres do, it overresponse..

Understeer is something like the rear wheels not enough response according to front tyres.. To drive this type of car, the driver need to quick turn the steering when entering a corner.

Btw, new waja is good. The only downside is the design is abit old.
    If front look is something fresh design like Satria Neo, then it shd be ok.

• car_craze (Member) on Aug 11, 2008 at 12:49 pm

The Waja maybe 8 years old, but it can cruise all day at 160 kmh easily which the Persona find it a bit difficult. Persona is more comfortable crusing at 140kmh. Styling wise it is a bit dated standing side by side with Persona.

• waimak (Member) on Aug 11, 2008 at 6:08 pm

I have driven Waja with Mitsu engine as well as the old CamPro. Good car, only the power window issue (specifically the case of my Bro.’s car). Never mind that. It runs smoothly and handles quite impressively. After P1 introduced CamPro in Waja I had the opportunity drive along Ampang KL Elevated Hi-way. Well, I prefer the one with Mitsu engine, quick response and engine slightly quieter.

Spacious and neat interior. Proton should improve the noise insulation I think. Driver’s seat is still the ‘noisiest’ place and that shouldnt happen in a car of this catagory.

Never tried CPS but I suppose it should run better.

One last comment: Waja need a full body change, just like the new Altis.

• tikus (Member) on Aug 11, 2008 at 6:42 pm

Thanks theking for your info ….

• BanyakMasukBengkel (Member) on Aug 11, 2008 at 8:30 pm

who’s better FC IAFM or CPS?
    tell me.
    my persona will park on garage next wik. yehaa!!!

• legacy88 (Member) on Aug 11, 2008 at 11:52 pm

who’s better FC IAFM or CPS?
    tell me.
    ========================
    Both sucks!
    Good luck on your garage.

• dodgeviper88 (Member) on Aug 12, 2008 at 1:46 am

I’m wondering if Proton still owns Lotus? A couple of companies are using the Lotus Exige/Elise model and turning it into electric cars (Tesla for example). Perhaps Proton could learn from them and owning Lotus is a big advantage.

• baldwin (Member) on Aug 12, 2008 at 9:43 am

Thanks to Paul, we’ve finally got a write-up on the 8 year (new) Waja equipped with the CPS engine.

As I drive both the Campro & CPS Waja’s on random days, I find that its rather fair to say that the CPS offers a better urban driveability compared to the ‘lazy’ Campro ones (before modifications). Nothing really impressive on the interior between the 2 models, jst tht with all the extra goodies thrown in like auto cruise, xenon headlamps, & etc.

The Waja is still the reigning champ (for this price bracket) in terms of space & stability. Jst like one of the commenters said, “u can cruise all day at 160kmh”.

While I’ve managed to push the CPS in its std.form to the 180km/h mark, my 1.5yr old Campro cruised its way till the 200kmh mark after some light exhaust rework. Though am not encouraging the rest to drive at this kinda speed but the fact is that these Campro & CPS engines will only come alive after 4000 RPM. So while the rest of the 1.6L cars start losing breath after 150kmh, this babies will only comes alive after this speed. Flame me all you could about this fact but ask any Campro owners or airport limo’s and they’ll testify to this fact. =)

For some pix comparing both the Campro & CPS Waja’s, surf to:

http://baldwinchua.blogspot.com/2008/03/waja-campro-cps-pix.html

• Alifz (Member) on Aug 12, 2008 at 10:45 am

wanwnp said,
    August 11, 2008 @ 12:15 pm

FWD Oversteer?
    Maybe the driver turn the steering too quick..
    Thus the rear wheel takes time to response, when the tyres do, it overresponse..

– Yup…Waja have tendancy of oversteering,especially when taking corner with your pedals on foot..

• shlee76 (Member) on Aug 12, 2008 at 1:19 pm

Well, I believe they gonna to keep the name and break SAGA records….30yrs ?
    So, don’t be surprise if you happen to see so called “limited edition” then.

Proton strategy, keep forever when they say about Technology :)

• torque (Member) on Aug 12, 2008 at 2:28 pm

First of all, it’s good to hear Proton is improving (put aside the interior fitment quality issue and on the looks department) on it’s technicality. Now I guess, they really have to focus on it’s both interior and exterior quality. So far from the review, there’s no major critics on it’s performance and equipment that have been thrown in. I mean, projector Xenon headlamps with automatic headlamp leveling for a 80k car…that’s good! And I have visit Proton showroom and sit in the new Waja, loved the interior (layout/comfortness) and the steering wheel is darn good. Still, agree with Gogobotol when he stated, “Proton have light years to catch up with the rest of the pack”. I hope Proton could keep the interior fitment quality issue to the VERY minimum (hey, even the tester gave his disappointment in this matter) and I know Proton should be JUST fine for the next 10 years or so. After that, lack of engine and technology offering will lead to it’s downfall…peace!

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Aug 12, 2008 at 4:55 pm

the people who made this car should be fatally killed to death

• 0204 (Member) on Aug 12, 2008 at 5:30 pm

If i got 80k. Hands in the pocket. 5th Gen City in the head.

• shaif (Member) on Aug 13, 2008 at 4:59 pm

Thanks theking for the info, definitely will compare Persona SE with its siblings and hopefully Waja GXR can win back true car enthusiast.

• kingbrutal (Member) on Aug 13, 2008 at 9:54 pm

ALPINA BMW said,
    August 12, 2008 @ 4:55 pm

the people who made this car should be fatally killed to death

—————————————————————-

how redundant is that???? fatally, killed then death… which have all the same meaning… dear sir, please check your dictionary before posting or you might end up looking as a fool. or maybe ALPINA BMW has ran out of idea?? :D

• kingbrutal (Member) on Aug 13, 2008 at 9:54 pm

or is it JulianLEE??? i’m confused here.. :D

• kokwai (Member) on Aug 14, 2008 at 1:30 pm

First of all, it’s good to hear Proton is improving (put aside the interior fitment quality issue and on the looks department) on it’s technicality. Now I guess, they really have to focus on it’s both interior and exterior quality. So far from the review, there’s no major critics on it’s performance and equipment that have been thrown in. I mean, projector Xenon headlamps with automatic headlamp leveling for a 80k car…that’s good! And I have visit Proton showroom and sit in the new Waja, loved the interior (layout/comfortness) and the steering wheel is darn good. Still, agree with Gogobotol when he stated, “Proton have light years to catch up with the rest of the pack”. I hope Proton could keep the interior fitment quality issue to the VERY minimum (hey, even the tester gave his disappointment in this matter) and I know Proton should be JUST fine for the next 10 years or so. After that, lack of engine and technology offering will lead to it’s downfall…peace!

—————————————————————
    It is 65k for an auto :)

Nothing in the market can beat it in terms on value for money…. imagine a Myvi SE auto ~ 52K ?

• eastwest (Member) on Aug 14, 2008 at 10:08 pm

Hi all,
    kingbrutal, you drive a waja cps? at or mt? how’s your ride?

• lanuncyber (Member) on Aug 15, 2008 at 11:53 pm

Paul, or anyone… does Waja CPS have EBD?

• eastwest (Member) on Aug 20, 2008 at 10:04 pm

Well, inside the document for SA, it does state that waja cps have EBD. But nothing about it either in the brochure or at the proton website.

• SpEeDy (Member) on Sep 10, 2008 at 9:59 am

The best part of Waja is the interior. Looks nice.

• lanuncyber (Member) on Oct 03, 2008 at 12:20 am

My uncle works at Proton in the New Model Development team, said that WajaRM (Waja Replacement Model) will arrive in a year (at the end of next year). It will look exactly like the current and latest Mitsubishi Lancer, and also powered by the 2.0 lump of 4B11. Great, huh? :) So, we’ll have two choices; CBU unit of Mitsubishi Lancer from MM Japan, with waiting list around 6 months to a year, or a CKD new Proton Waja built at Proton’s factory at SA. Price? Guess… :)

Plus, Satria Neo CPS will be released in this November 2008. But I am not very sure of this cause he was somehow confused whether it is Satria Neo CPS of Satria Neo SE. But, from the way he talk, I think it will be Satria Neo CPS. Another great news to hear, rite? :)

And, the new Proton’s MPV will tag the price around RM 70k-80k. Not very sure about the variants.

Just to share some information with you guys. Hope you don’t mind, Paul… :)

• mhusin (Member) on Oct 31, 2008 at 10:19 pm

greetings everybody…I supposely receive my Waja CPS 1.6 Manual today…but, just at the time when I want to drive the car home, suddenly the gear just mulfunction..cannot even push it..so the car was not driveable..So they said I have to wait for another 1 day for tem to re-check the car again..I really home that the problem doesn’t persist, or else, it’ll become a nightmare for me

• akbarwaja1.8x (Member) on Nov 09, 2008 at 5:09 pm

wd u mean theres no point of waja when persona is introduced?
    please la,,,waja is a gd car ok,,,and waja is the 1st ever car in proton that was built inhouse,,and on top of that,,waja is a 3 star car wich is not bad,,,,look at persona,.who is persona to replace waja?persona is just a gen2 with a fat ass thats all,,,,,,

• wajacpsenthusiast on Jul 23, 2009 at 11:04 pm

very good car ever for national car segment..

• mirul on Jul 30, 2009 at 7:07 am

can any1 tell anything abt the new facelift or any news abt this specific car? iam planning to buy this…any suggestions plz?

• I personally think the waja looks classy and comparably 'garang' to a BMW. I'm going to get one in a few months. looking forward to owning it.

• osman on Sep 28, 2009 at 8:23 pm

wira, waja and persona are no match to vios, city, civic … the protons have very big trunk with the size comparable to a BMW or mercedez … so if you love big butts, you must love protons … I love my wira

• jessy on Oct 10, 2009 at 6:31 pm

hai..

i'm new..really need ur advice on waja cps.

actualy,i already booked waja cps 1.6 AT(loan already approved)..but still not sure what colour to choose..i'm quite interested with bronze garnet but i dont hav idea how is it look like…or maybe u guys can give an opinion regarding colours that available…i already rejected blue agate. does waja cps came out black in colour?

thank u.

• planet on Oct 23, 2009 at 3:40 am

skang ni tgh booking waja cps…..tp stok terhad laaa…..warna silver byk laa

color lain susah skit…..harap2 dpt warna itam….so sapa2 yg dah pakai any komen??

• arifmclaren on Nov 08, 2009 at 8:00 am

ayah sye memilik waja cps tu…sye rse kte ni pn mmg amat bgus untuk org yg bekeluarge…

• buyer on Dec 30, 2009 at 12:02 am

corruption brand car

• schnell on Apr 01, 2010 at 4:43 pm

my 10 yr old 1.6 Audi looks better and have lower fuel consumption than this crap

• you’ll cry when u change ur audi aircond compressor which is around the corner.

• noname on Dec 28, 2011 at 11:13 am

drive waja campro manual.
    standard engine drive reach 202kmj, tapau honda stream, city and vios before
    superb handling…cant compare to other 1.6, 1.8 or even 2.0 cars