Proton GEN2 CPS Highline Manual Review

Proton GEN2 CPS

The new Proton Gen-2 CPS was unveiled earlier this year and has attracted a lot of interest from the public as the Malaysian auto maker fitted the new Campro CPS power plant. Proton has also made various revisions on the exterior and interior.

Will it be just another disappointing product of Proton, or is there light at the end of the tunnel? We shall see in our test drive report.

Proton GEN2 CPS

Looks

At first glance, you’ll notice that the new Gen-2 is treated with refreshed front and rear bumpers, blacked-out head lights up front and an addition of a rear spoiler. You will also notice the grey-painted 15 inch alloy wheels.

Personally, the Gen-2 isn’t the best looking 4 door hatchback out there but with all those exterior improvements it certainly looks better than the its predecessor as it outlines a more aggressive and sportier characteristic of the car. When you look it, it does make you think ‘”hmmm, I wonder what is under that hood?”, which is a good actually.

Proton GEN2 CPS

Interior

Interior wise, it is very much similar to the Proton Persona as the odd-looking clock on the center of the dashboard is removed, and a handier glove compartment is made available. The colour scheme is grey now instead of beige.

The Red-Black sporty schemed interior of Gen-2 CPS is also fitted with leather seats. Another improvement made is relocating the power window switches from the center console of the old Gen-2 to the driver’s door panel. The door panels are also carried over from the Persona and have a much more practical layout now.

Drivers and passengers will also enjoy 4 cupholders as 2 are placed in the center console up front and another 2 are featured at the rear end of console for the rear passengers. The interior feels and looks much better than the old one, but yet again, Proton is still lacking when comes to the quality of the interior.

Proton GEN2 CPSThe dashboard has uneven gaps and lose bits here and there and I cannot help but notice the dodgy steering wheel as the center silver finish isn’t aligned properly, and it worries me that if even a simple alignment such as that cannot be got right, what about the airbag inside? The quality of the sun visors also look pretty shady, pun intended.

The row of buttons above the head unit are also not very functional in terms of human interface design. They offer no tactile response whatsoever to let you know whether you’ve successfully pressed it or not. You can only tell whether some of the buttons are activated or not at night – its colour changes from orange to green but you cannot see the difference during the day.

Lets look at the brighter side of it, the interior is very roomy in terms of leg room for both front and rear passengers, although you would notice that due to the body frame design of the Gen-2, the head clearance for the rear passengers isn’t something Proton can be proud of. This is fixed in the Persona which has a different roofline. The slim center dash area (where the air conditioning controls are) allows for a larger footwell and knee space for the front passenger and driver. The trunk space is rather large for a hatchback, and the rear seats are foldable.

Proton GEN2 CPS

Performance

To my surprise, the new 1.6 CPS engine performs really well, definitely the best performing engine fitted in any Proton. Proton claims that the CPS power plant in the refreshed Gen-2 has a total of 125 hp at 6500 rpm, enabling it to offer a 0 to 100km/h acceleration time of 10.6 seconds and a top speed of 190 km/h.

In the first 20 kilometers of my test drive, I found out that it does live up to its expectations. When I drove it hard, I noticed that both the CPS (Camshaft Profile Switching) and the VIM (Variable Intake Manifold) systems worked when they were supposed to at their designated engine speeds. The rev happy engine feels very light.

I definitely felt like pushing the car to its limits whenever I got into the car, plus sounds really good too. It really makes me wonder how it would perform if a 1.8 or 2 litre CPS motor is fitted. The gear change is also smooth and precise.

Fuel consumption is reasonable as well; I’ve learned that when I was driving it around town, it was consuming about 7.2 litres for every 100 kilometers according to the trip meter. The only complain I have is that whenever I drive the car; the A/C compressor sucks up a very noticeable amount of engine power when it’s turned on.

Campro CPS Dyno Chart
Click to view hi-res image

We dyno-ed the Campro CPS engine to find out how much it makes on wheel. The results are as above. With an ambient temperature of 36.5 degrees celcius, we managed to get 109.9 horsepower at 6,422rpm and 129Nm of torque at 4,763rpm.

Proton GEN2 CPSWe checked with Proton’s Race Rally Research division to find out how much of transmission loss should be taken into account with the 5-speed manual gearbox and found out it was about 12%.

109.9hp on the wheel is about 124.89 at the engine, which is very very close to the 125hp figure Proton provided. Torque at the wheel of 129Nm is about 146.6Nm at the engine, a few newton meters lower than the 150Nm figure quoted by Proton. These figures were obtained during a hot afternoon – expect this to get better on a cool night.

Ride and Handling

As we all know, Lotus has put its talent and specialty into the ride and handling of this Gen-2 CPS. There is not much I can say about the ride and handling, other than its balanced quite well. Both on low and high speeds, the car feel composed.

I felt only a slight bit of very composed body roll and under steer when I pushed it. It felt nimble and very responsive. The ride is a bit on the stiff side, but there were no complaints when I had passengers on board and cruising at about 160 km/h on the freeway.

Proton GEN2 CPS

Verdict

Safety features of the Gen-2 CPS include two SRS airbags, ABS and EBD. Another interesting fact is that Proton offers extended warranty with 150,000 kilometers or 5 years warranty (which ever comes first) and that is fantastic news. I hate to say this, but I actually really like the Gen-2 CPS!

It looks reasonable, packs a punch and you don’t need to work hard to keep it on the road. Its truly a fun car to drive. Although the interior quality is something you can scream at Proton for, but, so what? At RM 57,488.00 it’s worth every cent.

So, the question is, would I buy it? Yes, I would, for its sweet motor and crisp handling.

Story by Harvinder Singh Sidhu, photos by Paul Tan and Leong Tik Tsin

PHOTO Gallery: Proton GEN2 CPS Facelift
Click thumbnails to view high resolution photo

[cpg_album:54]
[cpg_album:40]
[cpg_album:41]
[cpg_album:42]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• PROTON SUCKS (Member) on Aug 13, 2008 at 6:44 pm

this car is junk

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 19
  • maserati (Member) on Aug 13, 2008 at 6:48 pm

Too little,too late Proton! Ppl have moved to other makes..I doubt anyone would risk more money in either this or the new Waja Cps too.

• kody (Member) on Aug 13, 2008 at 6:49 pm

wahlaueh…

not sure wat P1 is thinking. Why dun put CPS in persona & make same suspension tuning??…. it will becomes a lot more good response from public…
    *_* ???

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Aug 13, 2008 at 7:06 pm

come on.. not everybody like comfortable sedan….some like sporty hatchback….anyway this is my target car.

• ilmondo (Member) on Aug 13, 2008 at 7:08 pm

nice! very nice indeed.. always think that gen2 is a great looking car.. n now with d CPS, lotus ride and handling, etc etc.. really like proton’s european-like driving dynamics..

noticed that proton also made better, if not very great progress. at least we get to hear from proton every now and then..

goodluck proton & nice photography

happy motoring!

• Step by step..to achive the target..

• Khalis Hazwan on Nov 23, 2012 at 12:11 pm

I feel the body roll of this Gen2 CPS is very noticable eventhough I’ve installed a 3-point front tower strut bar. (mine is the 2010 model-black color roof)
      To my surprise the 2012 Saga FLX has a better ride & handling feel, less body roll even it is a sedan car. I wonder why is this hatchback Gen2 CPS have so much of bodyroll and it creates a lot of under steer???

• legacy88 (Member) on Aug 13, 2008 at 7:27 pm

As usual interior fit and finish sucks! Proton oh Proton! If not for a Lotus involvement balancing the chassis and tuning the suspension, there’s nothing to praise about.

• awak (Member) on Aug 13, 2008 at 7:31 pm

i do hope the engine design development soon capable to push the fleet at 2500rpm at 100kmh,

• Naiem on Apr 18, 2010 at 7:39 am

Yes, It can :-p

Test at LDP, using firth gear, driving up to 100 km/h but still the RPM only reach to 2500 ~ 2700 RPM

• jaymashimaro (Member) on Aug 13, 2008 at 7:41 pm

another junk from proton, please close shop proton

• sad to say you even a bicycle cannot built…who are you dare to say that…

• mystvearn (Member) on Aug 13, 2008 at 7:53 pm

I actually like the car, only that i cannot seat behind without my head forever hitting the roof. Savvy has better rear headroom than this. Can they not make the cushions thinner or something to give more heardroom?

• fastcx (Member) on Aug 13, 2008 at 8:33 pm

paul, finally the report for tis! yeah! hehe anyway, what i know from proton tech day, there is a list of ppl book s.neo cps auto, means s.neo cps auto is coming soon right? end of this month?

• geminas (Member) on Aug 13, 2008 at 8:38 pm

I see more bashers, woah!

btw good one from proton! the new engine and interior sure make it a worth buy.

• fastcx (Member) on Aug 13, 2008 at 8:45 pm

hmm really dont understand malaysian mentality even tho im malaysian, some of them i dont even have to waste saliva to talk to them…previous few post…

anyway, kody, if u wan persona to perform a bit more sporty, u always can bring ur persona to r3 to let them tune for u, no point for proton to purposely release sport persona tat wont sell much as original persona. thats y aftermarket parts r around for u.

proton want persona to be family sedan, this gen2 cps to cater sporty ppl, i dont really like sporty sedan, as the heavy tail will tend to make ur car less nimble in cornering n it adds weight, dont forget chances of oversteer cz of the heavy tail!

• optimus_prime (Member) on Aug 13, 2008 at 8:48 pm

It’s nice. Come on Proton, work harder and release a CPS for Persona. What is taking you so long?

• fastcx (Member) on Aug 13, 2008 at 8:48 pm

i dnt c bashers, i just see selfish ppl around…do u guys so naively think when nap is gone toyota n honda or any other foreign make will lower the price in 3yrs? emotional clouded these poor soul, tats all i can say…go make ur own money rather than complaining its expensive cz u cnt get it! bunch of losers/bashers

• geminas (Member) on Aug 13, 2008 at 8:49 pm

probably most of the basher are Julianlee with duplicate account :P

• austin_cipan (Member) on Aug 13, 2008 at 8:50 pm

classy proton… late as usual… but pretty good value… the wheels looks a bit nerdy though… otherwise, i have no problems with the CPSed GEN2… or was it a GEN2andahalf…?

• nmh (Member) on Aug 13, 2008 at 8:58 pm

I prefer this rather than overpriced japanese “cheap car for S.E.Asia market” which uses torsion beam rear suspension (evidence of cheapness) and plastic interior (wierdly no one complaint bout that). Gen 2 is a properly engineered car. Good JOB & Keep it UP. Im happy 2 drive it rather than driving city, vios and even sentra, corolla ……all company car btw, not mine.

• Porkbutcher (Member) on Aug 13, 2008 at 8:59 pm

Good delivery but its’ too late. This should be a good balance for those new learners. Gen2 is way better than my Myvi and I would love to test drive Gen2 after my exams. Haha.

• kingbrutal (Member) on Aug 13, 2008 at 9:14 pm

Proton GEN2 CPS Highline Manual Test DriveAugust 13, 2008 at 6:28 pm · Filed under Cars, Malaysian Makes, Proton, Test Drive Reports.

PROTON SUCKS said,
    August 13, 2008 @ 6:44 pm

this car is junk

maserati said,
    August 13, 2008 @ 6:48 pm

Too little,too late Proton! Ppl have moved to other makes..I doubt anyone would risk more money in either this or the new Waja Cps too.

—————————————————————-

you have to admired them. 16 and 20 minutes apart from when PT posted this article, they are here already with negative comments.

not a bad car, better than some Japanese B grade. atleast Proton is taking heed and improving it’s product.

• rt (Member) on Aug 13, 2008 at 9:38 pm

kingbrutal,

Looks like we got 2 type of readers.
    Those who love P1
    and those who love to hate P1.

anyway, looks like any article on P1 would gather much more attention than of other makes.

I think they love P1, but too proud to admit it :)

rt.

• theanswer (Member) on Aug 13, 2008 at 9:42 pm

already become one of my fav car(not the old gen2..but this new gen2)… fell in love with the interior..niceee.

• IsaacVky (Member) on Aug 13, 2008 at 9:43 pm

Call yourself a dumbie if you skip this car and go for japanese buatan malaysia cheapo rubbish car.

• MyviKiller (Member) on Aug 13, 2008 at 9:53 pm

Don’t ya guys think it’s a bit too late? But better late than never…

• kingbrutal (Member) on Aug 13, 2008 at 10:05 pm

yup rt… too ptoud.. :D

yes, a bit or could I say too late… but it is here, thats what is important.

IMHO, all car have a niche to fill, be it family, teenager, or the showing off type. you might not notice this, but most of the buyer of GEN-2 is the racer boy/girl wannabe. admittedly, this is a sporty car (in terms of look) and the enhancement of the heart is a most welcome addition.

maybe Proton should launch a strip-down version, like the Megane R26 with bodykit, adjustable suspension, a tuned-up ECU and engine, racing wheels. (just a L.E) organize a one make racing league for each state, with the winners to compete in Sepang for a grand finale. who knows, maybe Proton can build a racing reputation like Mitsu and Scooby.

• kingbrutal (Member) on Aug 13, 2008 at 10:06 pm

yup rt… too ptoud.. <<<should be ‘proud’… sorry, typo.. :(

• Archer (Member) on Aug 13, 2008 at 10:11 pm

Since Proton owns Lotus, why isn’t Proton using Lotus styling & engineering on their line of products?

Why are they preferring to use the catch phrase “Ride & Handling Tuned by Lotus”?? Does that make a lousy car sell better?

• libralcl (Member) on Aug 13, 2008 at 10:19 pm

Paul,

I wonder how the auto version will feels like. I personally tested the manual Gen2 CPS as well, it is a great car. But I perfer auto transmission if I am going to buy this car. Any chance that you can post a auto transmission test drive review?

Paul Tan says: yes, will request for an auto. stay tuned.

• rsrulz (Member) on Aug 13, 2008 at 10:21 pm

P1 should improve interior quality and finish and maybe a 1.8 CPS in the Gen2 would be nice.

Waja replacement is needed soon.

• rsrulz (Member) on Aug 13, 2008 at 10:23 pm

really nice car just needs some refinement. come on proton just a little bit more.

• austin_cipan (Member) on Aug 13, 2008 at 10:54 pm

dude, autos are for fat blokes, lazy people, and people with gout or elephanthiatis… aka old people… because they can’t change gears for themselves… manual rocks… you’ll feel connected to the car… no offence but i think autos suck.. also, I am not a big fan of any of proton’s manual because i think the ratio isn’t right/optimized…

• alvin_chan88 (Member) on Aug 13, 2008 at 11:02 pm

Oh No! Why I don’t desereve this beauty?
    But there are drawbacks with gen 2. I don’t know about this CPS, I am driving a Gen2 1.6 (enhanced version so called) which caused me RM53,000! I drove this car since April 2006 and being frank, I like the handling and the fierce roar made by the engine. Performance wise…. I cannot compare with the CPS as I knew there are lots of improvement. But there are something I should remind those who are interested in buying 1. I sent my car to the Center Of Excellence (COE) in Shah Alam numerous times with a few repeated problems.
    No 1 – My dashboard paint start to peel off (My dashboard comes with two toned colours – black and beige.
    No 2 – My door panel rubber peels off the 3rd month and the 26th month.
    No 3 – My rims’s paint start to peel off within a year (which resulted for me to skim my rims and indeed it looks good!)
    No 4 – My drive shaft is give me problem (And I have to warranty it twice)
    No 5 – My boot’s “bracket” which I don’t understand is not properly fitted in and cause my car to have rattling sound when my car is on uneven road.
    No 6 – My fuel lid and my steering center silver finish isn’t aligned properly as well. (warrantied but it came back like this after 4 months.
    Lastly – My air cond will have some HUMMING sound after I witch off my car. I always joke that my car sings. (Proton tried to rectified it, but nothing can be done till now. And my car is not under warranty anymore.

I don’t know whether other gen 2 owners are facing the similar problem with me. Or perhaps I am too fussy and I should not hope that much for a national car which I adore since I was small. 1 more thing is the attitude by the staff from the COE. They really need to improve their manners and the way they treat customers. They are rude, not well equiped and cunning also. I strictly remember 1 of the staff told me once… “Tak apa punya, bising sikit takkan mati punya, proton memang macam ini. cukup complain la.” I was so mad that I get to know the manager and I knew him that well that I bought him hampers during Raya season as he is the only one, ONLY ONE, that has the proper attitude, smile, greet and knowledge about serving customer. Since, then, I insist him to serve me and my car! (A priviledge for me, hehe). I don’t expect them to do like what they show in the commercial ad but PLEASE, these “TIDAK APA” attitude must go.

Proton is not poor in terms of design, or performance. To me, its the quality and attitutde that tarnish Proton. To be frank, Proton cars looks far better than any P2 cars. But thats my 2 cents…

Anyway, good job proton for improving the GEN 2 but too bad, I have lost confidence in Proton and I am trying my luck with the Koreans and French.

• good…idea..but dont jumping if you will face 80% percent same…

• DRC (Member) on Aug 13, 2008 at 11:37 pm

I guess any ‘sport car’ will not have good headroom for rear passenger; and this is reasonable for Gen-2. The front grill is a lot better now. But the rear lamp is still a ‘shit’. The steering is still the old ugly one. Why not a larger alloy rim?

• 1000 steering type for 1000 proton car…..and rear lamp as well….ha..ha

• God.of.War (Member) on Aug 14, 2008 at 12:02 am

1st ly, i wanna say CONGRATS PROTON ! nice car and performance, only that ur vendors is like S**T !

Let me be ur vendor and supplier, sure i will give u guys more quality parts ! Rather than rattle snake parts !

It is not that Protons fault, it is their vendor, their vendors fault coz ur QC so blind to check all the parts, QC so blind coz no training, no training coz no budget, or bla bla bla…

Do Proton got the 5Y system? Use la… !

Anyway i still blame the management on this, coz it all starts with the management !

• Maddy-Kun (Member) on Aug 14, 2008 at 12:04 am

hurmmm well protonean hehe for those who work wif proton….
    u guys need to voiced up to the higher people in p1 about the quality. teh design is there. quality need to improve. need to be more strict in Q check dude. So once the quality issue is over there u go. imperfection will become almost perfect (no car is perfect). but it will not take over night. So, what are u waiting for. do sumthing. i really hope when i’ll be in Malaysia again, P1 is ready for me. hehehe.

• fastcx (Member) on Aug 14, 2008 at 12:05 am

from my experience, coe ppl r too cocky, i never wan2 send car to them after i tried 1st, either go to proton edar glanmarie or pj s13 or pj jalan222 would be good attitude, they even ask me how my car doing after their service, they r more initiative than CockyOfficialEmployees(COE)

• fastcx (Member) on Aug 14, 2008 at 12:09 am

quality issue is the responsibility of factory n dealer, dealer hv the most responsibility n not just look at profit pls! i saw s13 SC done a great job there, most of the cars tat going out to customer r going thru QC in tat SC, quite good, but other SC i dnt c them doing tat! tat makes me feel damn angry at those lazy dealers! not just proton, perodua as well! man i still rmb the myvi experience i n my friend went thru…really wan2 complain! those dealers just sucks! pls be responsible! ur shop is hanging some1’s logo infront!

• alcool31 (Member) on Aug 14, 2008 at 12:19 am

How can you improve a crap car? You can’t. All you get is improved crap. How can the reviewer say that it is alright to pay, even for less than 50k, for such crap interior? Silly little buttons, cheap steering wheel. Are we still third world? We spend most of our time inside, and therefore interior comfort and quality are deemed the most important. Honestly I would rather work much harder, get a second job, and pay 10k more for a better product. Korean anyone?

• ignas (Member) on Aug 14, 2008 at 12:21 am

ppl + victims bash proton = losers.

proton invested by G, protected by G, back ups by G, NAP, failed many standard test = Winner = proton supporters.

i just cant see how the equations fit. perhaps im just plain stupid. i know! i should be a proud winner too by getting another proton and have my nightmares start all over again. Or, maybe i’ll be a hypocrite too and praise proton while im driving cars with other made.

PS: there are people who cant earn that much to owe a dreamt comfy decent foreign car, so you guys also want to TAKE away their RIGHTS to rant, expression of feelings and complaints? in which, you guys considered as bashing. well then, i see you guys are no diff from the proton either.

• alcool31 (Member) on Aug 14, 2008 at 12:30 am

Sorry, it’s >60k, it is more expensive than it looked/feel.

• alcool31 (Member) on Aug 14, 2008 at 12:37 am

ignas…..there’s absolutely nothing wrong with not earning alot and getting a decent affordable car. But please compare what affordable cars other makers are making, and take a look at what we have here. It’s a whole different world! A cheap car does not make it low quality.

• ignas (Member) on Aug 14, 2008 at 12:53 am

sry if i benchmarked foreign cars as a standard. japs made, thats the closest we can get. pls, dont ask me to compare with india or china, we’re advancing, not downgrading. proton offers crappy expensive cars is a fact.

cheap or expensive does not define the quality of the cars especially in m’sia. its proton versus foreign cars in its respected classes.

• chanel (Member) on Aug 14, 2008 at 12:55 am

Paul, proton’s cars always suffered from the aircond kick-in power loss to the wheel….japanese car doesn’t seems to suffered from this sickness……

• ignas (Member) on Aug 14, 2008 at 12:56 am

thanks for the comforts by the way, alcool31. i know u mean good.

• SquarePetrolHead (Member) on Aug 14, 2008 at 1:05 am

As has unfortunately been the case with P1, they have been late with coming out with the goods. We have had to wait…what?… 8 years for the full spec engine. What a let down…

BUT… I am a supporter of our national car company (mind you… the engineers and present top people only… esp the MD), so it is better late than never to demonstrate what the company truly is capable of.

Hats off to them… not wanting to put pressure, but if the Savvy, Persona, new Saga, CPS Waja and CPS Gen2 is anything to go by… I am looking foward to the MPV and Waja Replacement Model.

• viceice (Member) on Aug 14, 2008 at 1:51 am

Too little too late is right. One doesn’t need to be a Proton bashing troll to see that. For instance, here’s a cold hard fact:

Latest and best Gen.2 with Campro CPS’ fuel consumption: 7.2 l/100km (as stated by paul)

Honda City DSI’s consumption: 3.8 l/100km (Results of road test, also covered by paul)

Even with the Honda retailing at a price 50% higher (due to protectionism no less) , one is paying nearly 100% more for fuel in a Gen.2, and over the long term a Honda’s total cost of ownership works out to be less. So tell me lah, with petrol at 2.70/litre, HOW is this latest proton NOT too little too late?

• Jie (Member) on Aug 14, 2008 at 5:23 am

I was reading this part “….including not to 100km/m in 10.6 seconds… ” and wondered for a second what it means….

I think it should read … including NAUGHT to 100km/h!…

ha ha, sorry for being a grammar police.

• gogorock (Member) on Aug 14, 2008 at 7:06 am

Wonder is there any plan to put CPS into Persona auto? Any test drive plan for this Paultan?

• fastcx (Member) on Aug 14, 2008 at 8:18 am

ignas, compare n show us some COLD HARD FACT what u meant? n i do not agree on this “proton invested by G, protected by G, back ups by G, NAP, failed many standard test = Winner = proton supporters.”, what u want2 prove? if u think proton dnt suit u, get cars from other marque, if u cnt afford it dnt blame others while its u cant afford it. no people shove proton up ur ass and say u MUST get proton! u cnt afford it n yet u blame others, tats who i call losers.u want 1st world facilities but with ur 3rd world mentality? i dnt think the equation is correct. yes, ppl can be poor, but sometimes, u r wealthy or poor still depends on urself. no free lunch in this world, even when it looks too good to be true, there r terms n condition to apply to. malaysian r just over pampered by previous PM…tats my rant! if u wan2 rant, use fact, if u dnt, its call trolling

anyway, by any mean, which part of proton’s product is “proton offers crappy expensive cars is a fact”? i agree their suppliers give shitty products, but u hv to remember 1 thing, its the gov that control proton, no matter how proton wants to improve, its still the gov that says no to advancement as gov want proton to produce people’s car…all u guys blame proton for shitty restriction that gov give them?

• awak (Member) on Aug 14, 2008 at 8:19 am

viceice said,
    August 14, 2008 @ 1:51 am

Too little too late is right. One doesn’t need to be a Proton bashing troll to see that. For instance, here’s a cold hard fact:

Latest and best Gen.2 with Campro CPS’ fuel consumption: 7.2 l/100km (as stated by paul)

Honda City DSI’s consumption: 3.8 l/100km (Results of road test, also covered by paul)

Even with the Honda retailing at a price 50% higher (due to protectionism no less) , one is paying nearly 100% more for fuel in a Gen.2, and over the long term a Honda’s total cost of ownership works out to be less. So tell me lah, with petrol at 2.70/litre, HOW is this latest proton NOT too little too late?
    ——————————————————

this is my answer from previous post,
    awak said,
    August 13, 2008 @ 9:15 am

most importantly proton to have the kind of engine is continously tuned at every rev range so that the torque band is stay high at any revs,
    thats what the modern engine does, suffix like i intelegent C continous D dynamic means that the engine is tuned its ignition, timing, valving, at every range of engine speed and load, very useful at lower end,
    for the cps or v-tech cam changing like is an extra for higher power band is an extra gain,
    and the VIM covers generally said between the begining of the rpm towards 3500 where the most usable range for everyday use, of course it does cover lower ends,,, but generally not thoroughly,

but i ,C, D will raed and changes at 0 500 1000 15000 2000 2500 3000.. or even at a very closer intervals therefore we can feel livelier and the delivery is at the very tad of the pedal, the character does enhance batter fuel economy and lower emission,

and

awak said,
    August 13, 2008 @ 10:52 am

so,, this continous valve control ,so far i havent found it by lotus,
    of course it has CPS, thats great

but what matters is continous valve timing control is almost todays standard, as far as the fuel efficiency counts,,, where it is by lotus engineering?. how do we aquire such technology,?
    when most people now are talking about technology and efficiency,
    this aspect is also part of the determination of resale value of a car.

clearly what happened now late lotus car employs toyota engine, as found in late exige and its latest evora,

this need to be solved by proton

• awak (Member) on Aug 14, 2008 at 8:29 am

well for honda city the engine is specially trimmed to save fuel,
    torquey 8 valve 2spark engine coupled with cvt, and high performance attitude is retarded with non-existance of racy cam as well as single intake and exhaust,

intelligent Dual Spark ignition, enhance thorough combustion evev at low engine speed,

so proton can think some of this trick, how?,,,,think of something ,because smaller engine not necessarily save fuel, 1.3 for instance,

• haroldz (Member) on Aug 14, 2008 at 8:32 am

y some1 is comparing proton to japs?
    y not comparing it to korean?
    they used to sell crappy car but managed to improve

it is too late for proton indeed…

now it is common to find car wit dvvt.cvvt,vvt-i
    it seem that proton need a special team to develop/improve campro engine (go head hunting)

• fastcx (Member) on Aug 14, 2008 at 8:44 am

haroldz, yea kor cars used to be crappy, but after they hired european lead designer, their design takes off! while engine tech cooperate with mitsu,global engine org, their cvvt is born…which by all means, not developed solely by themselve, but it gets the job done what so ever.

proton’s engineers always wanted better tech, but it still need approval of MD n Gov to proceed…but at least for metal welding job, i see perodua’s car done it worse than proton’s…try to spot welding spots on myvi/viva compares to s.neo/persona/saga…n myvi/viva’s trimming…they could hv made it better…but they din, n yet at those price…im not supporting proton like fanboy, i just dnt satisfy for what i get isnt worth the money, or even dont looks worth it…too many exposed welding…door, tail gate, area around doors…it just tak sedap to look at, n i hv to look at it almost everyday…

• Ricc (Member) on Aug 14, 2008 at 9:08 am

I hate to say this too.. -.-”
    But I like this car as well.. GDI… :D

• car_craze (Member) on Aug 14, 2008 at 9:48 am

Jie,

The spelling for “Naught” is actually “NOUGHT”.

Haha. Sorry for being a spelling Police.

• myst (Member) on Aug 14, 2008 at 9:52 am

Paul, Heard that Neo CPS will roll out this year. Do u have any info on this? Noticed that the old Campro have kind of rattling problems with the engine when being pushed up until redline. Is this problem present in CPS…

• wuichi (Member) on Aug 14, 2008 at 10:10 am

I have been waiting for a review on the Gen 2 cps, as usual the finishing touch of the interior can be quite bad. But it’s still better than the previous gen2. good hear another positive review on the car again. I might be considering this car :)

• alcool31 (Member) on Aug 14, 2008 at 10:11 am

But ignas, why do we compare ourselves with China and India? why not Japanese or cheaper eastern European, international standards manufacturer? If we keep on thinking we’re better than the average, we will never get there. All this mentality has to change. I cannot deny it does not give me the pleasure to say all this, and someday i would like to own a proton that i actually like and be proud of, but i dun see that day coming anytime soon, if they keep on churning out cars like these.

• baldwin (Member) on Aug 14, 2008 at 10:24 am

paul.. how many % of bhp is lost on the wheel if it was an Auto transmission?…

• pulltea (Member) on Aug 14, 2008 at 10:37 am

This may attract some flames, but in a competitive motoring market, proton still have some improvements to go.

http://fifthgear.five.tv/jsp/5gmain.jsp?mnk=201_1&model=969&desc=Proton+Gen2

• IsaacVky (Member) on Aug 14, 2008 at 12:23 pm

viceice said,

August 14, 2008 @ 1:51 am

It’s the sheer driving pleasure that matter.
    I hate ‘chicken’ torsion beam suspension, numb steering, ride that has no feedback otr, handling that is as good as kancil, and PLEASE ACCEPT the fact that they’re more expensive.

I have money, I am able to pump more petrol, most important is ‘SONG’!

• kokwai (Member) on Aug 14, 2008 at 1:25 pm

This may attract some flames, but in a competitive motoring market, proton still have some improvements to go.

—————————————————————
    If I were in UK, i won’t even consider a Proton, as there is some many better choices with the $$ you are paying.

But due to our automotive policies, for the price you pay for a Waja/Gen2 CPS, you are getting quite a good deal in terms of equipment vs. price.

I am driving a Waja CPS and I have no regrets buying it .

• shlee76 (Member) on Aug 14, 2008 at 1:36 pm

I fully agree with pulltea.

No matter how powerful it is, it must also consider other area such as SAFETY is an essential. Their marketing strategy sounds to me like power, can run, can stop ? quality build ? they are putting buyer at risk. lot of room to improvement from their management.

• romdi (Member) on Aug 14, 2008 at 1:45 pm

i own this gen.2 cps..
    i could say the performance of the engine is superb for 1.6. some more can cucuk2 angin with v-tec..dun believe??..try it urself, but if caught by the traffic cop, then sendiri mau ingat..
    some more, i’ve seen a slide show for trainin purposes at SC, shows CPS vs v-tec & CPS vs vvt-i..from the results, cps tapoww both v-tec &vvt-i..

• tebuan (Member) on Aug 14, 2008 at 1:45 pm

Dear viceice,
    Gen2cps is a sport hatchback. If you really want to compare, compare it with city v-tech. That what we call apple to apple. Both car are for performance and power. City idsi could be compared to gen2 AIFM. Proton market and design Gen2 CPS for power and performance same like city v-tech. Gen2 AIFM is for moderate and FC saving (if there is any significant saving) and comparable with City IDSI.
    After some research, there is no way that cost of ownership of Honda v-tech could be less than owning Proton gen2. The different in price of both car is 28k (58k vs 86)If you do travel 10k a month; (10% deposit, 3.88% interest rate).
    Instalment per month= gen2 cps RM 765 city V-tech RM 1148 different= 376 (worth of 139.2 liter worth of petrol or 1933 km travelled, about a month worth of petrol if you do drive 50km everyday)
    Paul tan in this review rated it at 7.2 liter/100km. Most of website rated city vetch average consumption at 13.03 km per liter (around 7.5l/100km).
    City v-tech fc
    http://www.oneshift.com/pdb/lcmuserfc.php?pid=159&cb=/pdb/lcmuserfc.php
    city idsi fc (avg 5.83l/100km)
    http://www.oneshift.com/pdb/lcmuserfc.php?pid=156
    anyway if you do really rate the fc is 3.8l/100km, if you do travel 10,000km a month, you still save 160 ringgit a month on buying gen2. This cost of instalment plus petrol cost. (gen2 cps vs city idsi).(assumption: 3.88% interest rate, 7 years loan, 10% deposit, gen2 cps 7.2 l/100km, city idsi 3.8l/100km, 10,00km travel a month)

maybe before this when interest rate were subsidies by Japanese Company, (at 2.88%) you maybe could save a little on instalment. Now both car interest rate is the same 3.88%. So tell me where are the

• PROTON SUCKS (Member) on Aug 14, 2008 at 2:14 pm

PROTON JUNK 2…

• ReactiX (Member) on Aug 14, 2008 at 2:15 pm

i am using an old gen2 manual for quite some time, and my friend bought this new fl gen2 cps automatic high line. i tested his car and from what my experience is, the automatic lacks power. maybe because the transmission take away lots of its power, and i think the manual version of gen2 cps would have better performance. i even tried 0 to 100 kmh with him and the different is just like his car nose 2 meters in front of my car. i really need to try the manual one. did anyone know how to convert normal campro to cps? or is there a kit to upgrade them?
    for the interior wise, its way much better than my old gen2. it is basically using the same design as persona, with a trim on the leather and color. it look even sportier than the rest of the second class-japanese-assemble one (city, vios, etc).
    once i got an challenge on the way to kedah in plus hiway by a vios. from the looks, that vios is a racerboy tune (the spoiler, stripes, ride height) against my old-stock gen2. i outpace him starting from 160kmh and he cant even cope up with me at 185kmh. with the city even worse. totally lacks of power i must say.
    i am not a p1 lover, bought the car because of tight budget that time. all this while, the problem i get is broken back power window, while it is still under warranty. nothing else. if i get a better budget, maybe in next 2 years, i would rather buy a CBU lancer or toyota camry :)

• tebuan (Member) on Aug 14, 2008 at 2:39 pm

Shlee76,
    You should learn a bit about market segmentation. Some customers are looking at horsepower and torque, some looking at brand some look at fc and so on. Just like Honda City, City Idsi for fuel efficient car, City V-tech for power. Proton need to cater this two major type of customer and that why Gen2 CPS is for, for boy racer and petrolhead and Gen2 Aifm for moderate and sedated driver. Then there are always Persona for the family oriented driver.
    Gen2 cps are given ABS, EBD and 4 disk brake. How much power do your need for your stopping power. The airbags are there. How much safety do you want? The best thing if you really wish for absolute safety, stay at home or use public transport. If you are saying proton put buyer at risk, then all the Bmw, Volvo, Swift sport, Honda v-tech (big vetch), celica, RX7, RX8 (continue yourself…) and other sports car should be banned as it can run very fast and obviously putting buyer at risk. How logic is your statement. So, everybody just drive kancil or kelisa and drive slowly as you might drive? (assumption your drive at slow pace). That what we call freedom of choice.

• xg9 (Member) on Aug 14, 2008 at 2:39 pm

that pic with the dude sitting at the back is very funny.. it looks like hes stcuk there forever..lol.. anyway, good review paul, i was waiting for your review on this for a long time. since when i wanted to buy a car.

PAUL, what about the front passenger seat? last time i sat in a gen2, my back was aching after 20 minutes..lol..

• farghmee (Member) on Aug 14, 2008 at 2:40 pm

hehehe..
    have u driven the gen2 cps?
    i haven’t, so i won’t comment much on that.
    but i’d loved to try :)
    moral>>try dulu baru komen, xtry jgn kondem.

currently driving my mom’s non-cps gen2 HL auto.
    FC 7.2l/100km, driving style mixed, driving route mixed.

for those who are driving gen2 auto, try “kick down”.
    u will notice the power of campro..
    ehhh..dah 150km/h? :)
    but don’t do that too often, or else, gearbox can kaputt.

my only wish is Proton to provide the customers with
    QUALITY PRODUCTS & QUALITY SERVICE.

& why Polyphony Digital didn’t put Proton in their car list? :)

• ye..yee..i own one..try dulu ma..tak nak beli jangan bising bising…

• tebuan (Member) on Aug 14, 2008 at 3:36 pm

awak said,
    August 13, 2008 @ 10:52 am

so,, this continous valve control ,so far i havent found it by lotus,
    of course it has CPS, thats great

but what matters is continous valve timing control is almost todays standard, as far as the fuel efficiency counts,,, where it is by lotus engineering?. how do we aquire such technology,?
    when most people now are talking about technology and efficiency,
    this aspect is also part of the determination of resale value of a car.

clearly what happened now late lotus car employs toyota engine, as found in late exige and its latest evora,

this need to be solved by proton

dear awak,
    continous valve timing mechanism technology already available in new proton V6 engine. if continously variable cam phasing work in same mechanism as continous valve timing mechanism then the technology is there. it was shown at the proton technology week. Wait and see. Rumours said that new MPV will be using vvt + cps. So wait and see they implement the technology in campro next.

• awak (Member) on Aug 14, 2008 at 3:53 pm

dear tebuan,
    which new v6 you are refering to, is it in current perdana?

but if what you say is to be the truth,
    dynamic vvt + cps will equate VVTL-i
    thats efficient and sport,

ill keep your word at the moment.

• Cyberkayu (Member) on Aug 14, 2008 at 3:57 pm

turbo tis cps!!

• hsyeow (Member) on Aug 14, 2008 at 4:38 pm

My ’92 stock 1.3 manual Saga have slightly a better mileage than this car 6.8L/100km. In city driving some more…lol

Still, i would prefer if Proton make enhancement to Persona instead. IMO, the take up would be much more if Persona was introduced instead of GEN2.

• rt (Member) on Aug 14, 2008 at 5:01 pm

awak,

I think tebuan meant was the development V6, not the current Perdana V6.
    The one we see in the technology week.
    Did you go there?

ReactiX,
    I think City and Vios was ECU rev-limited to 170kph only.
    That’s why you could smoke them
    rt

• hazri99 (Member) on Aug 14, 2008 at 5:06 pm

nice car, waranty also long period..

• SY0H (Member) on Aug 14, 2008 at 5:21 pm

Salamz and Hello to fellow forumers,

I’m one of the leading Proton Basher blogger in here. Just check out some of my work-of-art I’ve been posting in here since last year, not to mention, some of it are removed by Paul.Tan because it is “too hot” to be handled in here (closed door forum perhaps?).

Anyways, if Proton decided to implant Campro CPS into Persona and accelerate their Hybrid Cars to come out sooner and revised Gen.2, Perdana and Wira designs; I swear I will not bash Proton anymore. Proton, you better perform or perish.

• tebuan (Member) on Aug 14, 2008 at 6:16 pm

rt,
    Yup the prototype engine proton v6 3.0 and 2.2. That engine cooperate continously variable cam phasing inside. Hp for 2.2 engine rated at 200hp at 7250 rpm. max torque at 210nm@5000rpm.
    on the city and vios, i don’t think there is any rev cut 170km/h. There are picture show vios top speed at 190km/h. But how long to reach that speed, beat me. Japanese official top speed cut at 180km/h for all their domestic car production.
    sYoh,
    gen2 cps is a revised gen2. How to revised the latest revision? Wira is no longer will be revised. Revised wira should be the persona. Perdana is on the way but how many will buy over 2 liter engine nowdays?

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Aug 14, 2008 at 7:55 pm

farghmee,
    if Polyphony Digital put proton on their list, granturismo5 will become rubbish cars racing

• kingbrutal (Member) on Aug 14, 2008 at 9:09 pm

ALPINA BMW said,
    August 14, 2008 @ 7:55 pm

farghmee,
    if Polyphony Digital put proton on their list, granturismo5 will become rubbish cars racing

—————————————————————————

lor… ada gak… :D. thought he/she would be sitting out of this Proton discussion… apparently no…

even if Proton will be able to produce a powerful engine, whats the purpose? you still have to obey the speed limit. (or as same may say, the law is meant to be broken? :D)

we are forgetting something essential here… when comparing Proton to Japanese make, the main thing is your budget. If you can fork out the extras needed to purchase the Japanese car, by all mean go ahead. But most Malaysian do not have the luxury to do that. I won’t call it stuck with Proton but reality is, Proton is a savvy choice especially with the current and up coming models. Agree, there is room for improvement but aren’t all car need to be improved time after time? did you ever see a perfect car? the one that don’t need improvement? yes, they should improved on the build quality and I do see an improvement over the previous generations.

Even if Proton manage to attain the same level as the major players, the problem still lies with the economic of scale due to market limitation in Malaysia. thats why the China, Iran and India market is important for Proton to achieved the economic of scale required for them to bring the cost down and invest more in R&D. For Proton to succeed in this countries, they have to improve the build quality, marketing, brand image and so forth. The greater the market share they get, the more beneficial it is for the consumer provided they don’t revert back to the snobby attitude that success brings.

• mr_em (Member) on Aug 14, 2008 at 10:09 pm

good timing… paul posted the review on the facelifted Gen-2 and Fifth Gear UK also did a review on the Gen-2:

I dont want to be a Proton basher but judging by these comment, Proton will not survive any longer, unless it continues sucking Malaysian rakyat’s money (or blood). Quoting from the review:

“QUALITY + RELIABILITY: Truly, madly, deeply awful. From the nasty featherweight little key to the way the boot crashes shut, you just cannot believe that anyone could still make a car this way.”

“In a world full of extremely competent Skodas, Hyundais and Kias, there is really no need to choose something that feels like a latter-day Lada.”

Skoda was a laughing stock in the old days but not anymore. Nowadays, even the Brits respect Korean & Eastern European cars especially when they gives excellent value for money and a certain level of quality but our Proton, instead, have now become the old Skoda or Lada, the new millennium laughing stock.

Enough said.

P/S: Please don’t try to say the UK media are biased etc. On this evidence, they will give credit where it’s due if it’s due. Eg. “In the past, Protons had a reputation for not breaking down but, on this evidence, we are making no predictions as to the longevity of current versions.”

• lanuncyber (Member) on Aug 14, 2008 at 10:23 pm

Paul, compared to Waja CPS that you have tested earlier, which one of these Proton’s CPS-based models accelerates quicker?

According to ProtonEdar brochures, Waja CPS weighs lighter than Gen2 CPS, as well as the 0-100kph acceleration, which shows Waja CPS outperforms Gen2 CPS by a fraction of seconds (due to the lighter weight; as they claimed). plus, with a much better interior, Waja CPS wins in every single aspects. but, i am still doubting the weight. Does Waja CPS really weigh lighter than Gen2 CPS?

so, as both of them are CPS-equipped, which means equal power, the WEIGHT is one important thing that need to be considered, in order to achieve higher power-to-weight ratio, which defines the true performance.

since you have tested both of them, do you mind to tell us, in your opinion, which one of these Proton’s new babies accelerates quicker?

• hctiu (Member) on Aug 14, 2008 at 10:26 pm

Proud owner of Gen.2 CPS MT
    Please introduce yourself here :)
    Well, I start 1st, ONE

• rt (Member) on Aug 14, 2008 at 11:16 pm

mr_em

Fifth gear’s review is a new review about the old Gen2.
    We are talking about Gen2 CPS. the new Gen2
    You could say it is Gen-2.1 :)

./

• rt (Member) on Aug 14, 2008 at 11:18 pm

This morning. I tailed a Gen-2 CPS with my rusa…
    ha ha ha…
    He could not tapau me..

Even though he cilok here and there.
    Morning jam maa… No use driving aggressively.
    Just relax la… Wasting your gas…

• ideoteque_85 (Member) on Aug 15, 2008 at 8:53 am

hey, at least my american friend here said the car looks effing cool! hows that haha.

Paul i cilok the black and white photo and set it as my wallpaper. gigidy gigidy goooo

• theking (Member) on Aug 15, 2008 at 9:46 am

Persona SE to be launched on 26/8/08.
    Surf www.proton.com for details.

• mr_em (Member) on Aug 15, 2008 at 10:58 am

rt

thanks for highlighting. they are not reviewing the revised Gen-2? I certainly hope so (may be revised Gen-2 CPS can get 2 or 3 stars, not a hopeless ONE STAR!!!!). But they did also put a facelifted Gen-2 pic in their gallery.

Hmm… may be they do not care about Proton anyway. No one would take us seriously anymore these days. Whether it’s revised or not, admittedly, we still have a long way to go to match the rest of the automotive world (let’s exclude undeveloped or developing countries). We just need to open up ourselves to competitions, only then will we see some REAL improvements. But we have been dilly dally about this. At the end, its the consumer who suffers, not Proton or Govt (someone is making money somewhere along the supplier-chain, be it cronies or not).

• 3S (Member) on Aug 15, 2008 at 12:16 pm

1.6 liter with 125hp is consider really good in its class…
    but please do not race with vios eventhough vios only have 109hp 1.5 .
    Vios only need 10.5 sec from 0-100km/h which almost same as New Gen 2 1.6 MT.
    but the weight in Vios is lighter, definitely New Gen 2 will loss in cornering and braking with heavy weight in New Gen 2….

still is a pathetic car from proton…
    the only good car produce by proton so far only satria gti…!

• baldwin (Member) on Aug 15, 2008 at 12:18 pm

not bashing but..the GTi engine was also a Mitsubishi engine… *lol.

only give the chasis credit to Proton.

• abtm (Member) on Aug 15, 2008 at 12:24 pm

those red engine cover and interior trm is pathetic, i know that it’s abit more powerful, but it’s no Civic EK9 is it?

• kei9 (Member) on Aug 15, 2008 at 2:25 pm

ALPINA BMW said,

farghmee,

If you think more about it,
    GT5 doesn’t put ‘normal’ cars as i call it, into their list.

Go figure.

• tebuan (Member) on Aug 15, 2008 at 2:50 pm

3s,
    Obviously you had never drive gen2 or Gen2 cps. I drive manual cam tak pro engine gen2 and i would have to disagree with your statement, don’t race with vios. On highway road gen2 could smoke vios and city vtec any time. Since when vios are known for it handling and cornering? With beam axle rear suspension and comfort setting, there is no way vios could beat gen2 in cornering. Campro is revv happy car, a proper driven gen2 could easily outmanourver vios or city in the way to genting or from genting. You could take high speed cornering with confident and the handling are above vios or city vtec. Don’t believe me, drive a manual gen2 cps or aifm to genting with vios.
    On handling and engine performance gen2 rules. I never saw vios and city join in MME or any circuit racing before. before. How in god earth vios become a legend in handling and performance.

• farghmee (Member) on Aug 15, 2008 at 2:51 pm

hehehe..did i mention GT5 or Polyphony series as whole?
    i’m playing GT just for fun, not for politics ;)

hmm..i really doubt vios could beat gen2 at corner..
    even gen2 braking ability is on par with vios.

i was driving this close at fed. hiway fastest lane when suddenly i heard a screeching sound. damn, the vios in front of me did hard-braking & i could see the dust(?) from the tyres. i slam the brake immediately. thank God i’m save. FYI, i trust this gen2 on it’s braking power.

• nmh (Member) on Aug 15, 2008 at 3:01 pm

vios handles like sh** trust me ive driven both car

• 3S (Member) on Aug 15, 2008 at 4:43 pm

Thanks for your comments “Tebuan” ,farghmee , nmh ,but can anyone of you able to get the details 100km/h – 0 km/h from both car..?
    i really would like to know both car will take how many sec and distance to stop the car.

i drove vios before and i beat gen-2 ( maybe is CPS ).that is why i come out with this statement …Hmm…maybe tebuan is right also..since every 1 of you giving the same comment about vios.

• baldwin (Member) on Aug 15, 2008 at 4:49 pm

this is afterall boleh-land and who cares bout 100-0kmh?

As long as got 4 disk brakes + ABS is good enuff.

• 3S (Member) on Aug 15, 2008 at 5:25 pm

when we push the car to the limit, this data really could help you to decide or what is the correct timing to press the brake pedal.
    somemore, when you use these data to compare different brand of car, you will know which car is more safe during braking….which brand of car is weak in braking..then you can overtake them by using braking powder in the car.

please correct if i m wrong. Thanks

• 3S (Member) on Aug 15, 2008 at 5:25 pm

when we push the car to the limit, this data really could help you to decide or what is the correct timing to press the brake pedal.
    somemore, when you use these data to compare different brand of car, you will know which car is more safe during braking….which brand of car is weak in braking..then you can overtake them by using braking powder in the car.

please correct me if i m wrong. Thanks

• lanuncyber (Member) on Aug 15, 2008 at 7:02 pm

or… if anyone that has drove Gen2 CPS and Waja CPS, could you tell which one accelerates quicker? and that will explain which one is lighter/heavier and has more braking power… also the fuel consumption… this one big thing is really matter now, rite? :)

i really like to know, thanx!

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Aug 15, 2008 at 7:11 pm

i agree its kinda late. although designed by lotus, yes.. go do some research, the styling of this car is done by lotus..

but it is an old model. and done many years ago. to really look where proton is headed today, we need to see whats been done by the new management. and we can see that with the large sales of persona and the new saga, and a potentially successful MPV next year.

to compare with the likes of skoda, or even the koreans is a little premature . proton is definitely not there yet. skoda, and most korean makes are companies that are over 50 years old. proton today is only 20 something years old. i think one cannot expect a relatively small car company like proton to be the same in half the time.

but i have driven this gen2. cps.. and its a great little car.. the handling is definitely the highlight, but the quality has improved a lot f.rom previously

• strider (Member) on Aug 15, 2008 at 10:23 pm

Well lanuncyber..The Gen-2 is lighter than the waja..the gen2s accelration is alot quicker form standstill-100…

Anyway some of u all have been complainin bout the roofline..yeap it was once indeed a pain but since persona is there n they are marketin the gen2 cps as a sports hatchback it makes sense now..

and another thing has anyone of u sat in the volvo S40 the rear roofline seems high on the ouside but i have sat in it 3 times at roadshows n its actually the same as gen2, cz the seats are lill pushed bac if cud say towards the windscreen..but no1 complains bout dat??the puzzles me cz dats a conti car whic is marketed at not the sporty buyers excactly.but no1 complains bout dat cz itz fine..hmmm

Anway i haven test driven this car..but the interior quality has improved tremendously frm its previous form..its actually better in terms of plastic quality than the 2005 hyundai accent n even the previous vios…(the vios aint a perfect car 2) very2 fuel economical

• eastwest (Member) on Aug 15, 2008 at 10:25 pm

according to official figure by proton, waja cps slightly faster than gen2 cps. But in the real world, I dont know…hehe

• strider (Member) on Aug 15, 2008 at 10:26 pm

paul i no u would have noticed that 2..:-)

cheers man a juzt want 2 let you no a great site u have..and dont mind if u could do a review on hyundai elantra 07…

• Infinitt (Member) on Aug 15, 2008 at 10:54 pm

for me this gen2 looks sporty. i like it.

• farghmee (Member) on Aug 15, 2008 at 11:03 pm

hehehe..
    try 1st, then comment.
    i was that sceptical when my mom decided to buy the gen2.
    after i drove it for the 1st time, then i know i was wrong.
    it’s not a shame to notice our own prejudice :)

about 0-100km/h thing, i dun really care.
    why?
    i got the auto, everyone knows auto is no better than manual, right?
    so no point.
    let me tell u, handling is very important if u drive the car fast.
    i noticed my father corolla 1.6 seg has better acceleration, but then
    at high speed i wouldn’t prefer to drive that corolla.
    after driving gen2, i seldom drive the good old ’97 wira.
    i’ve driven kancil, viva & 3rd gen civic also..
    i would like to drive the Fünfer :)

ah~about the car safety features vs. driving skill, i won’t comment on that.
    most of the commentors here have heard of that argument here in PTforum few months ago.

i know there are a lot of good cars out there.
    just choose 1 (or >1) that suits u.
    don’t trust everything that u heard.

btw, i’d love to drive a vios the same way as i drive the gen2.
    could i test drive one?
    it will not be a cruise-driving of course ;)

i’m not connected to proton by any means, excluding driving the gen2..

• rajtheboss (Member) on Aug 16, 2008 at 1:19 am

Nothing to be proud of Gen 2 CPS, Proton still behind other car makers in terms of technology. what people want right now is a car with low fuel consumption engine. Proton, please wake up. Still with tidak apa attitude !!!!!

• Cyberkayu (Member) on Aug 16, 2008 at 1:53 am

save fuel?
    take persona iafm instead

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Aug 16, 2008 at 12:03 pm

ALPINA BMW said,

farghmee,

If you think more about it,
    GT5 doesn’t put ‘normal’ cars as i call it, into their list.

Go figure.

er, there are plenty, for example, the toyota yaris, honda jazz, ford ka, citroen xsara etc…..

• Alifz (Member) on Aug 16, 2008 at 12:23 pm

Lucky for me to choose Waja rather than Gen2 at first place..now still happy with my Waja..

• bobdbilder (Member) on Aug 17, 2008 at 2:13 am

If you are looking for a powerful hatchback and low fuel consumption, it has got to be an electric motor. This has been proven. See Lotus Engineering website and have a look see at the Eve Hybrid. It tells the story where you can have the most savings. In this case its a Campro with an electric motor asisting the power from the IC. Oh and the test vehicle is a Gen2. Don’t look for low fuel consumption AND power in a petrol IC engine. A diesel maybe, but not petrol.

So you still think Proton has backwards technology? Technology costs money in whatever value added dollars you perceive it. At the end of the day, you’ll never recover back the savings. But Proton builds for the masses. Its there to bridge between the different levels of wage earners. You may be happy driving a luxury german marque. Your happiness cannot match the grins of a family of five driving from Batu Niah to Bintulu in their beat up old Wira. I am very happy to buy something from a company who did not forget about who I am.

• rw_sprinter (Member) on Aug 17, 2008 at 10:31 am

now cps, in future campro engine should add light boost supercharger or turbo, can get 140~160hp easily at 6000rpm, supercharger better coz less component and less expensive, but not as powerful as turbocharger.

• topgunthang (Member) on Aug 17, 2008 at 2:03 pm

bobdbilder said,

But Proton builds for the masses. Its there to “bridge between the different levels of wage earners”.

—————————————

just about every car company in the world has a few cars in thier line up that does that job alot better than proton does. except maybe supercar marques. what a load of trash in ur statement. couldn’t you be just as happy say in a corolla or a golf driving from batu niah to bintulu?

you should realize now that what lotus does with the eve is just for show. its not going to take off as compared to bigger companies that have more resources to pull it off successfully without bragging to only one country’s citizens in the world. just read thier press conferences of lotus and you already realize that what they are doing has already be done by others for about 8 years. cobasys that works with lotus on the rubbish eve project is just another desperate company like proton and lotus. and sadly is bankrupt and being sued to bits. somehow they only tell you the good news and hide the bad news.

• awi (Member) on Aug 18, 2008 at 9:00 pm

i’m driving waja(premium version) model 2001…
    but until now this car never give me ‘sakit kepala’
    just a minor problem…
    biasala keta import pn ada gak masalah…
    cuma xheboh kan je
    my dad drive ford lyn model 2003 pn ada jgk masalah…
    engine problem tersadai tepi highway…
    but my waja xpenah jd mcm tu..
    power window semua ok..
    all the best proton….
    i love proton
    p.s waiting for their mpv

• tebuan (Member) on Aug 19, 2008 at 4:10 pm

now cps, in future campro engine should add light boost supercharger or turbo, can get 140~160hp easily at 6000rpm, supercharger better coz less component and less expensive, but not as powerful as turbocharger

rw sprinter,
    obviously you never been to proton week. Turbo campro are already built and have a hp of 225 hp limited. 160hp or 170 hp are campro already been developed by R3 and used for circuit racing. Prepare a good sum of money, send you campro car to r3, they will give you 170 on wheel hp.

• 3S (Member) on Aug 19, 2008 at 6:19 pm

the car have high HP doesn’t mean it is a good car…..
    Proton need to prove it in motorsport …….
    Tebuan, you seem like very familiar with proton brand, maybe you can share some archivement from proton to all of us ( Archivement in motorsport..)

• msashi (Member) on Aug 20, 2008 at 8:04 pm

I received my G2 AIFM Manual last month. I agree with H.Singh & P. Tan’s story above. Previously I owned an Iswara AB Manual 2003. After sending the G2 for first service last week, I pushed the car close to the limit. This is what i can report.

+Fantastic handling! My oh my.. I thought my old Iswara was very neutral (thanks to Lotus handling), but the G2 can take corners at 30% higher speeds easily. Understeery at the limit, but can be cured with a bit of lift-off to bring the tail back in order. I think its because of the Silverstone ‘silent’ tyres not offering enough grip up front. Not as neutral as my brother’s EVO9MR, but the G2 does not come with limited slip diff or active yaw con. I can say confidently that the G2’s handles way better than my GF’s Vios. Steering feedback is great too but the Iswara was more communicative. G2’s Steering freeplay is too much for my liking but more direct than the Vios. Very balanced and weighted feel too, Vios is too light and vague.

+Engine makes a wonderful growl when pushed. Not so nice from the outside, but inside the cabin it sounds quite bassy. I didn’t hear any mechanical noises at high RPM that many complained abt in the first batch. Engine is not punchy & immediate as the Vios or Iswara, but the torque is relentless. There isn’t any strong G-forces when launched off the line, but speed builds up smoothly & quickly. Drag raced against the Vios, the G2 was ahead all the time.

-Drive by wire style throttle control I HATE! There must be something i can do aftermarket to make the throttle respond faster. There is lag between pushing the accelerator and the engine finally revving. Must also somehow disable the 1 second lag when accelerator is released. I can heel & toe myself, dun need an electronic nanny to do it for me. The lag is useless if you want to drop 2 cogs, the rev is not high enough anyway.

+Brakes are good enough for spirited driving. Haven’t smoked them yet. Gearchange is fantastic, smooth and sharp. Dropping a cog is smooth when the speed is right, but double de-clutch required if you want to drop 2 cogs or the car is moving faster than the gear.

+Overall the car feels great. Smooth, quiet and firm. I still think the interior plastic feels more upmarket than the Vios (though my GF still claims her Vios plastic is ‘thicker’).

+G2’s power window button is lit. Makes it easier to lower the window at night. I’m tired of lowering the back window of the Vios accidentally whenever I get to a toll!! Both Vios and G2 does not have ignition key light, so expect some scratches on the plastic there after some time.

+Remote boot opening is great! (her Vios does not have this..He he.)

+Nice lateral support on the seats, but lacking lumbar support.

-Build quality is something you cant not talk about when it comes to Proton and its the same case here. The chassis makes constant ‘nyek-nyok’ noise whenever i drive over speed humps.

-Last week i heard a loud ‘thunk’ from the chassis when i turned the steering while parking. Must follow up during next service.

-Gear knob plastic is deformed, but I’m going to replace it with an aluminum knob anyway.

-Some widget fell off the fuel filler cap and i dun know how to put it back. So now i am using my fingernails to open the cap until next service.

-A/C fan is making funny noise but apparently this is common and can be rectified.

Otherwise its a great car for RM53k new. Maybe some think the Vios is better and is willing to fork out RM30k more for a live rear axle and “thicker” plastic. For me the G2 is fine until i can afford an EVO.

• awak (Member) on Aug 20, 2008 at 9:28 pm

laggy throttle, e throttle.
    this drive by wire have a potential actually, like having an optional SPORT button regardless it manual or auto.

push the SPORT button, throttle response multiplied, sharp and crazy like a horse,
    bring back the car to the city center ,sport button turned off,

i hope proton ready for this feature, in future sportier variant.

• terencelhl (Member) on Aug 22, 2008 at 3:14 pm

Alvin,

How would you judge when BMW 5 series (1999) having the same symptom? My Neo also has it. It’s normal for performing engine? =D

alvin_chan88 said,

August 13, 2008 @ 11:02 pm
    Lastly – My air cond will have some HUMMING sound after I witch off my car. I always joke that my car sings. (Proton tried to rectified it, but nothing can be done till now. And my car is not under warranty anymore.

• fazron80 (Member) on Aug 25, 2008 at 4:39 pm

Just received my gen 2 CPS M/T last week. After 1k service this is my report.

F/C is excellent averaging from 6.2L to 6.5L ( in city driving too!!). But my town is small so not really city driving heheh. But still the figure is very good way better than my previous wira . Before 1K service it was between 6.8L to even as high as 7.2L. Who says Gen 2 isn’t fuel economical? It is to me. Perhaps gen2 Auto will have higher F/C than this.

Cental lock on one door was jammed and was repaired during 1k service. But their service center is awful. They repaired the broken central lock but when i was checking before paying somehow they manage to change the fault to another window. So have to check it back in again. What waste of time. Improve this please PROTON. Please make sure the car is checked thoroughly before giving it back to customer.

Another thing is this annoying nyek nyek nyek nyek sound when going on uneven road. Very disturbing. When it happens i just increase the audio volume. Hope its not something serious.

I have to change my driving style since getting this gen2. The clutch is very hard. I think my left leg is having too much exercise just changing gear. Engine rev does’nt go down after releasing pedal. after 1 to 2 second it will go down. So rev happy this engine. I don;t really like the round gear knob. Just doesn;t match the overall interior. Maybe a pedal shift at the steering is better heheh. Can ah Proton?

Everyone knows gen2 handling is very good. No matter it is old car but still the handling is better than a lot of newer imported cars. 170 to 180 taking corner? No problem. Want to overtake Vios? no problem heheh. It shines when taking corner. There are not many as good as it.

Nothing else to say as Paul reviews actually is very similar to what I have to say. No matter what people say this car is actually very good just crappy interior finishing and bad service centers ruins it a bit.

• amirad (Member) on Aug 27, 2008 at 6:51 pm

Just wondering if I paint the middle portion of the front bumper black (same colour as the grille), wouldn’t that make the G2 face look like a golf/polo gti. At least someone like me who craves for a golf gti have a much cheaper alternative.

• martinsoo (Member) on Sep 06, 2008 at 2:11 am

I just got my G2cps (manual) 2 weeks ago, i was really surprise when i drove it.
    —————————————————————
    Pros >
    FC – 6.5l – 7.2l/100km very much acceptable for a car like this with good power & acceleration.

Very much comfortable leather seats, steering and dont forget about the leather armrest.

Quiet, smooth powerful CPS engine.

Very good handling.

Air-cond was amazing.

Smooth shift, accurate and precise gear box/ratios.

Comes with tinted. Average heat resistance %.

Cons >
    Sound system was abit dull.

Tyre that i get was Silverstone Kruger (BAD) very bad on wet condition
    May i know am i the only one got this tyre?

VERY bad turning radius.

———————————————————-

My Ratings 7/10
    Highly Recommended for a 1.6l, 125hp, Hatchback and a price range of RM <60k Car (RM 57,488).
    Nice front facelift, still the same old rear but filled with Pure Ergonomical Driving Excellent Quality.

• Naiem on Apr 18, 2010 at 7:46 am

I agree

the sound system is a bit bull when the volume reach 15 ++ with loudness feature
      but the fact that the engine cruising is really smooth
      maybe instead of using blaupunkt, rather using other models like clarion or pioneer

putting sony in proton might definitely increase the price because of trademark

• Rhyme (Member) on Sep 18, 2008 at 12:08 pm

Wow.. So much Negativity.. Honestly, this is just just a Test Drive session and an opinion… Why all the negativity…? Go ahead.. get em Japanese makes… I would rather hear issues and problems people face with the car (GEN2 Owners) rather than non-owners bitching about proton’s failure to comply to their needs…

PAUL.. great review!!

• fazron80 (Member) on Sep 18, 2008 at 5:55 pm

Now over 1 month owning this car. Mileage is over 2K already.

Nyek nyek nyek sound is gone. The tyres were actually over inflated perhaps that was the prob. Now has correct pressure .

F/C currently ranging form 6.3 to 6.5 but mostly 6.4l/100km.

No problem with engine. No problem with Power window. No problem with wiper. No problem with steering. So far quite happy with this car.

I agree turning radius is bad. Very bad turning radius to make a U turn. My previous wira is way better. The pedal position I now notice is slightly over to the right too much especially the clutch pedal. A/C for my car is too loud and taking a little too much power from the car’s engine. However since this car is powerful so not really a problemlah hehe.

• farhathaniff (Member) on Oct 22, 2008 at 6:02 am

honestly i love the design of the Gen2, may not look like your usual mercedes, audi or beamer but as for our national car (and seeing Juara’s, Satria, Wira and Waja) the design is great, and now with the new face-lifted CPS is even better! Its more bold, powerful looking. I remember mistaken the Gen 2 CPS side view as BMW 5 Concept.

I have heard how unreliable protons are, and better go off with Perodua but since im going to be getting my first car soon, i want something stylish, cheap(ish) and bigger than MyVi.

I love the Gen2 and the CPS engine and face-lift made it even better! Can’t wait to get it.

• reza110 (Member) on Jan 08, 2009 at 4:16 am

hello every one specialy dear ,paul
    i remembered when i buyed Proton GEN2 CPS highline mannual in march .2008 after 2 month i had 1 1 accident in KL and paul gave me very very usefull informatin about repair about my car accident thank you very much dear paul , but now around 1 year pass
    im so sorry for my interupt but now i have new problem and i do not know what should i do?
    arond 2 month my roll or streaning angle for tern left and terning right changed and when i want go straite or parking or.. ihave some series problem.but i came 3 tmes in E O N big reparing and guaranty service center in shahalam many far from my living area ((im living in putrajaya)) but they cand do that maybe they missunderstandin what was my problem???
    they do only balance my tire but …..anyway after that i go in other branch good year adjusting tire. next to the alomanda gaz station they do that after that i fill beter when i drived but now my problem camebacke dear pual i think im not lucky for this car!! if you have someproper information about that please inform me i need as son as posible do that but i do not know where can i bring my car in there for stream adjusting…thank for your attention .thanks again

• dzoukq on Mar 04, 2009 at 9:30 am

hy paul, im agree with u that ur interested about gen2 cps..for ur information paul last yr April 2008 i bought this car..pergh the performance same like ur past article. the accelerate n speed very vroom thehehe evn some people might be not agree with me. For my opinion, we all should drive this car n feel the speed n handling b4 we make any comment.Even i prefer ek9, gen2 cps hav something that gve me the way to feel the speeding during at the first stage for a local car..

nice work proton but they should alert about quality of production..

• fendi on May 21, 2009 at 7:55 am

Hi all, I've owned this car for a year now and just love every minute of of driving it..the ride & handling is superb..love to throw it around corners. Before that I had a 1991 Suzuki Swift GL powered with Toyota 4E-FTE turbo. Hope to see more good products from Proton in future. However Proton shld tune-down the A/C a bit as its too cold even with the lowest setting and its really a waste of power and FC. The current Proton MD rocks!

• VTECkiller on Jun 12, 2009 at 10:28 am

test drove this car today. Currently driving Civic EK3.. After tested this Proton Gen2 CPS manual, all i wanna say are hands up for Protons' designed CPS engine. Smooth and powerful. Remind me of driving a new Honda engine..

• Radio028 on Jun 22, 2009 at 9:41 am

i have test drive this car today… it was a smooth ride… nice revving sound… can feel the power when full throttle… i love the handling… my mum also likes the car… looks sporty from exterior and interior leatherish… overall performance is good, way above my expectations… interior quality just improve a little bit, a bit disappointing…

my last gen2 non-cps totally crashed by me last month, thank god my gf and i still alive(so damn lucky)… now looking forward to buy this gen2 with cps… i can say i like the handling and it's cheaper… thinking of buying honda city, but extra 20k sigh kind of short in money lol…

i've also have myvi, but feels like myvi not very good fuel consumption during long journey… can u believe i've try to drive the old gen2 from KL to penang just 4.7L/100km… i really slapped my face at that moment, i drove average speed 110-120 kph and still have 1.5 bar left on fuel gauge(no kidding). for the myvi exactly 1 full tank from KL to penang, with also same speed…

• autozine on Jun 22, 2009 at 8:51 pm

Worst Car of the Year

• Magma on Aug 24, 2009 at 1:35 am

just graduated and thinking of having my 1st car. i've read all of those comments. Gen2 seems like a nice car to own, before i had enough money to buy some mercedes or bmw.

• Leona on Aug 25, 2009 at 8:55 am

Gen 2 CPS worth to buy. Mine was auto transmission (sux proton for not having manual in stock) . At the first i was quite regret buying auto transmission because of the vroom sound when u tried to overtake. however after 1st service, i do really proud of my gen 2 CPS A/T. Able to accelerate till 160 km/h w/o vibration, smooth running, the vroom sound no longer obvious. Fuel consumption is so-so, average FC is 5.3 l/100km which is not so burden and considered as standard. However, 1st service quite expensive compare to other proton's car. RM250 for 1st 1000km?????? yaaaaaaaa. i din expect such a value at all. Am i being cheated by the proton service center?? Share yours;)Gen 2 CPS is the best

• Leona on Aug 25, 2009 at 8:58 am

I mean as your 1st car,never compare it with high performance car. RM 60,488 with all those performance is consider as worth buying.

• fazron80 on Aug 27, 2009 at 9:28 am

To Leona, Mine was not over RM200 for the 1st 1000km. Perhaps theSC change something that was not required to be change. You can check the service booklet, there;s a list of what was required to change or do at each service. E.g spark plug is only required to change every 20K km. No need to change at 10K or 30K service. That's just one example.

To magma, gen2 cps is worth your money. However please take note that Proton quality still below par but it's better now than 4 5 years back. If you're young and like to drive fast please skip city or vios (definitely skip vios) and get the cps engine. You'll regret getting vios or city when you see every cps (except exora of course) will always leaves you behind.

One more thing and no offense to Leona please try to get the manual transmission. At 4th gear, there's not a lot of cars that can even tailgate you or even follow you. Acceleration at 4th gear is quite an experience.

• gondola on Sep 24, 2009 at 10:13 pm

received new gen-2 cps on august with all this in one package.

1.driver door hard to close.

2.single back seat with space in between.

3.radio sound break when turn to loud.

4.seat belt lamp and alarm not working.

5.fuel door hard to open.

6.incoming air from outside even circulation button on.

7.i almost can't hear reverse sensor, sound too romantic for alarm system

thank you to proton, better go for kete potong, f*** proton, gone my 6X,XXX for this stupid car.

• AhPauL on Sep 26, 2009 at 9:11 pm

Been driving my Hibiscus Gen.2 CPS 2weeks,

overall very satisfy on the power and handling.

• TeLi (Member) on Nov 20, 2009 at 5:57 pm

my car already done 7k km

1st service rm14+.++

2nd service rm11+.++

no complain about service center

already drive around peninsular malaysia

very stable when cruising 160kmh, even using "jalan kampung" and have 5 passenger onboard..

no need to push engine very hard to uphill cameron

just little

• Chris on Nov 24, 2009 at 8:51 am

sound like good. i am using old Gen 2 now. Maybe will consider change to CPS.

• fazron80 on Nov 24, 2009 at 7:21 pm

People who never experience is missing whole new experience of power in a 1.6 NA engine.

• Leona on Dec 15, 2009 at 5:33 am

just wanna share,this car able to accelerate till 180++ with no doubt;)

• Fraz006 on Jan 11, 2010 at 10:35 am

is there any mean to reduce this big ass AC power loss?

• Leona on Jan 12, 2010 at 7:57 pm

off the AC.kiddin meh.

• fazron80 on Jan 13, 2010 at 8:07 am

Try installing VS.

• TeLi (Member) on Jan 31, 2010 at 12:37 am

agree…ac kick more less after that…but still there…

• slap_on_my_forehead on Feb 10, 2010 at 8:41 am

I own 2004 Gen 2. After 5 years, the car has not given me any major problem ..which I'm so thankful for that…I'm going to renew the road tax for the sixth year soon.. Love the stability so much and now I've developed a habit of hitting the gas pedal further down when taking corners…..I hit 170 kph without me realizing it and this Ladies N Gentlemen has given me headache becoz now I have more speeding summons to clear than before..lol.. headache…headache…Well, will test drive Gen 2 CPS some day…

• Fraz006 on Mar 20, 2010 at 12:55 am

"The only complain I have is that whenever I drive the car; the A/C compressor

sucks up a very noticeable amount of engine power when it’s turned on."

this is very2 common for proton cars. i don know why. u know why paul?

• buddzz on Apr 02, 2010 at 3:54 am

gen-2 facelift is very cool..but i lrelly love the R3 edition..does anyone knows how much is the price for gen-2 R3 edition?

• Fandango on Apr 03, 2010 at 4:42 pm

I get my new gen2 cps and after 3 months driving all I can say this car is very nice to drive. Ride & handling is good, cornering is good, acceleration is good. The no good is engine make a lot of noise, gear changing is difficult, reverse sensor sound very soft sometime wonder is it working or not. Overall it is worth buying and my first service 1000km is around RM180

• fazron80 on Apr 20, 2010 at 12:40 am

Clutch is hard too isn’t.

• CAPRY on Apr 30, 2010 at 11:01 pm

After 2 months driving black gen2 cps manual, i must say its performance and handling is far damm good than vios and city. Capable to cruise at 195Kmh when carry 5 people(not dare to go faster as I entered speedtrap zone). On highway, vios and city can’t tail me except SUZUKI SWIFT SPORT(Engine performance same….but Swift is much more lighter than my heavy GEN2 CPS).

FC acceptable. 5.3L/100KM if drive below 3000RPM;
    6.4L/100KM if drive below 4000RPM; 7.2L/100KM drive at 5000RPM most of the time.

Things I dislike:
    a) aircond fan(small one) vry loud, might change to aftermarket 1.
    b) engine hood, trunk, door are too heavy! if change it to carbonfibre,it should able to improve acceleration and FC.

Things I like:
    a) performance and handling
    b) stock suspension is lower than persona, nice (but it also caused my stock front bumper kiss the ground when I enter my house and parking area at Putrajaya) Luckily, only minor scracthes at bottom of bumper^^

• i own gen2 cps since feb 2011. i was cheated by the salesman, and because of that i missed my 1000km service. i notice that during my 5000km service when the foreman told me that the oil filter is factory stock and the gear oil was thick and becomes dark yellow. best of all, the salesman lost my warranty booklet. is it bad for my car to missed the 1000km service? my fuel consumption still high since my first service, about 7.0/100km rather than 6 something as being told. can anyone tell me how to reduce the number?

• Next time try to be smart…dont be foolish by someone..
      deal is deal no matter what car salesman you are deal..dont blame
      on proton only…

• mekir87 on Apr 23, 2012 at 12:53 am

Don’t worry. u missed 1000km, u can recover it by regularly service at every 5000km. The FC is still high because u dont reset the FC meter. to reset the FC reading, go to the select button (right button) till u get to the FC then, push and hold left button for about 6 seconds.

• Andrew Yu Young Earn on Jun 10, 2016 at 12:15 pm

PROTON GEN 2 CPS IS WAY BETTER THAN THE OLD GEN 2. HOWERVER I PREFER EXORA CFE, PREVE CFE, IRIZ MT AND SUPRMA S CFE ARE WAY BETTER THAN THE OLD GEN 2.BUT I THINK THAT THEY(cfE) SHOULD BE BETTER THAN WAJA AND GEN 2 CPS

• ilia kord zangene on Aug 04, 2012 at 6:24 pm

liiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiike

• bretmot on Sep 16, 2012 at 7:00 pm

i already bought this on 2010.. white in color and the roof is black in color. very nice, very powerful.. i cac say it is awesome car!!

• Andrew Yu Young Earn on Jun 10, 2016 at 12:16 pm

BUT I STILL PREFER EXORA CFE,PREVE TURBO AND SUPRIMA S CFE AND IRIZ MT OVER GEN 2 AND WAJA CPS

• Cheung on Oct 04, 2014 at 12:36 am

Selling my Gen.2 CPS manual year 2009
    both interior and exterior in good condition
    view to believe
    serious buyers only
    RM28,000 (negotiable)
    I admit I am selling this car at slightly higher market price but I can assure you the car does not need any major repairs. just buy and drive. no nonsense.
    Know is market price as of now is range of 25000 to 26000.

interested ?
    call +6 012 693 7888 (Mr Teo)
    please and no agents. deal direct with car owner.

Thank you.

• claitos on Jul 30, 2023 at 10:55 pm

I have prob with my back wheel alignment. My proton gen 2 has been finishing my wheels from the inside. I tried my alignment places but it always goe back to that angle.
    Plz help