Technologies in the new BMW 7-Series

F01 headlamp

BMW’s Director of Functional Integration Dirk Hacker talks about the various technologies and driver aids in the new F01 BMW 7-Series such as the Integral Active Steering (rear wheel steering), Driving Dynamic Control, Integrated Chassis Management and other technologies. An apt job for someone with a surname Hacker.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• ndmervin (Member) on Aug 13, 2008 at 10:04 am

I dont know about the other countries but all these technologies can only be enjoyed by the CHAUFFERS, in this country. How often do we see private owners drive the car themselves?

• jolly_idiot (Member) on Aug 13, 2008 at 10:10 am

it’s awesome!

• cutester (Member) on Aug 13, 2008 at 10:48 am

Super duper canggih!

• longjaafar (Member) on Aug 13, 2008 at 10:52 am

I hope they get it right first time, this time. When the current 7 was launched, there was a negative reaction to the I drive and the rear and front lights. BMW had to quickly redesign the front and rear in order to pacify the market.
    Until today some people still criticise the I drive but I beg to differ. The Idrive is a boon and it has since been copied by both Audi and Mercedes. Those who say that they cannot use the Idrive, even in it’s original from, must have been too lazy to read the manual.

• fadzlizuka (Member) on Aug 13, 2008 at 11:34 am

ndmervin said,
    I dont know about the other countries but all these technologies can only be enjoyed by the CHAUFFERS, in this country. How often do we see private owners drive the car themselves?

——————–
    really? i beg to differ
    from my observation – unlike mercs, i think most of the bmw owner enjoy driving the car themself.
    – mercs best to be a passenger
    – bmw best to drive.

sebab tu orang ada mercs ada driver, ada bmw drive sendiri.

• MaverickNeo (Member) on Aug 13, 2008 at 12:19 pm

lol..the night vision system will definitely not take off locally…coz in Bolehland, u see someone on the road, but the system tells you no-one is there….u see a bicycle when trying to change lane, but the system didn’t switch on the warning light….but then…how can a bicycle keep up with a BM…..’cue X-Files music’

• PROTON SUCKS (Member) on Aug 13, 2008 at 6:45 pm

fadzlizuka

its only good to be a passenger when you are in a rolls royce

• LoneDrifter (Member) on Aug 14, 2008 at 3:58 am

Passenger in a Maybach anyone?

• Altezzar (Member) on Aug 14, 2008 at 10:04 am

Sorry to put a damper on your enthusiam……. with all the new technology how sure are you they are not fail proof. BMW is well know to come up with new tech which over time fail and BMW knows this. The fight with Merc has ended up BMW coming up with technology quickly which are questionable in terms of reliability. Can BMW guarntee a certain degree of reliability?.

Though of the day :
    “Paying premium price doesnt mean you must put up with unreliable product”.

• wanwnp (Member) on Aug 14, 2008 at 10:24 am

kalau nak ada driver,
    aku rela beli kancil suruh driver bawak..
    hahaha.. penat doh naik kancil..

kalau beli bmw, baik bawak sendiri..
    macam2 assist ada, senang!

• wanwnp (Member) on Aug 14, 2008 at 10:34 am

Sorry to put a damper on your enthusiam……. with all the new technology how sure are you they are not fail proof. BMW is well know to come up with new tech which over time fail and BMW knows this. The fight with Merc has ended up BMW coming up with technology quickly which are questionable in terms of reliability. Can BMW guarntee a certain degree of reliability?.

Though of the day :
    “Paying premium price doesnt mean you must put up with unreliable product”.
    ———————————————————–

atleast those technologies do assist the driver,
    about reliability of the techies,
    if you dont thrust them,
    dont use EFI, use carbie instead..
    power window also throw out..
    all must use mechanical..

kalau u beli kereta, pakai buang saja kah?
    cukup time tak perlu servis kah?
    masa hantar servis, xboleh suruh diaorang check semuanya kah?

Though of the day :
    “Paying premium products doesnt mean you don’t need to service them regularly”.

• PROTON SUCKS (Member) on Aug 14, 2008 at 2:15 pm

longdrifter, a maybach is ugly, uncool and a very expensive mah-si-lee s-klass

• Altezzar (Member) on Aug 14, 2008 at 5:08 pm

atleast those technologies do assist the driver,
    about reliability of the techies,
    if you dont thrust them,
    dont use EFI, use carbie instead..
    power window also throw out..
    all must use mechanical..

kalau u beli kereta, pakai buang saja kah?
    cukup time tak perlu servis kah?
    masa hantar servis, xboleh suruh diaorang check semuanya kah?

Though of the day :
    “Paying premium products doesnt mean you don’t need to service them regularly”.

————————————————————
    I agree on new technologies assist the driver but if they fail what is the use?.
    I said new technology. Who is talking about EFI and power window?.
    I am refering to NEW technology which is new to Automotive industry for example .. night vision, radar guided cruise control, self parking etc.
    These are very good technology but if not reliable the what is the point.?

Why are you talking about maintaining a car. We are taking unreliable due to new technology which hasnt been tested long enough. For example last
    BMW 7 series comes with electronic gear lever on the stalk. I personally seen this fail. The car has to be put on carrier back to dealer. Now this has got nothing to do with maintenance rather the electronic stalk decided to give way due to usage. Now if you noticed the latest model the gear lever is back to the original place like other cars. So make you wonder if some of the new technology are properly tested over time?. Or due to pressure from competitors the mindset is implement first and worry later.

Though of the day :
    “Paying premium price does mean you cars should take you home rain or shine”.