Toyota Fortuner facelift initial details revealed!

Toyota Fortuner

Toyota FortunerThe facelifted Toyota Fortuner has made an appearance on UMW Toyota’s website. The 7-seater SUV based on the Toyota Hilux IMV platform now features a “frowny” grille – that is it curves outwards downwards – and new headlamps with a different shape to fit the new grille.

The front bumper looks somewhat similiar to the pre-facelift (shown left), but new is the option for a TRD bodykit which we’ve not yet had a chance to see yet, but it could end up looking like bodykitted Fortuner facelift offered in Thailand (pics after jump), though I hope it is a different one as the Thai kit seems abit garish. Something based on the TRD Hilux would be nice. The headlamps also now seem to feature a projector lense, an upgrade from the reflectors of the prefacelift Fortuner.

As with the Hilux, the 2.5 litre turbodiesel in the facelifted Fortuner remains the same, producing 102 PS at 3,600rpm and 260Nm of torque between 1,600 to 2,400rpm. The petrol-powered 2.7V uses a 2.7 litre inline-4 engine putting out 160 PS at 5,200rpm and 241Nm of torque at 3,800rpm. Both engines use a 4-speed Super ECT automatic. When the Fortuner was first introduced, the diesel was only available with a 5-speed manual.

Lastly, unlike the Hilux which uses a part-time 4WD system with an LSD at the rear, the Fortuner uses a full-time 4WD system with a Torsen LSD.

The following are the estimated prices for individual registration in Peninsular Malaysia:

Toyota Fortuner 2.5G RM 170,000
Toyota Fortuner 2.7V RM 178,000
Toyota Fortuner 2.5G TRD Sportivo RM 175,350
Toyota Fortuner 2.7V TRD Sportivo RM 183,350

For all other prices, head on to the facelifted Fortuner preview page at UMW Toyota. Look after the jump for more photos of the facelifted Fortuner from Toyota’s Thailand site.

Toyota Fortuner

Thailand Toyota Fortuner Facelift with Bodykit

Toyota Fortuner

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• ROTIPISANG (Member) on Aug 14, 2008 at 8:14 am

Very nice bodykit, but too many chrome is some crowded.

• jann monarquia on Sep 28, 2011 at 1:57 pm

Next year i will change my fortuner and know what i will purchase again Toyota Fortuner.
      The power is awesome.

• raptorclans (Member) on Aug 14, 2008 at 8:27 am

The new lights are awesome man… looks sportier now. But the Thailand kit is gaudy. Really -_-“

• kingv6 (Member) on Aug 14, 2008 at 11:01 am

I hate the chrome line thingy…The headlamp is indeed refreshing..

• theanswer (Member) on Aug 14, 2008 at 12:31 pm

did i saw satnav there? wow..nice car..but lack of power(for diesel engine).

• akmal (Member) on Aug 14, 2008 at 12:56 pm

for this type of vehicle.. torque is the most important thing.. 260Nm diesel vs 241Nm for petrol..

• Cyberkayu (Member) on Aug 14, 2008 at 12:57 pm

yucks

• rcopt2000 (Member) on Aug 14, 2008 at 1:32 pm

wow!!!!!look more sporty n advand……nice

• PROTON SUCKS (Member) on Aug 14, 2008 at 2:12 pm

the toyota land cruiser is so much better, why can’t we have that instead like vietnam

• xg9 (Member) on Aug 14, 2008 at 2:25 pm

i think julian lee just changed his name again…….. lets see who bashes proton the most.. lol..

• abtm (Member) on Aug 14, 2008 at 3:35 pm

who gives a shit, it’s a Toyota

• Porkbutcher (Member) on Aug 14, 2008 at 4:05 pm

Notable changes: side wing indicator, new rear lights, wood garnish, integrated satnav, mid row air-blower, projector lights and new grille. The photos seems like taken from Thai’s TurboDiesel Fortuner, which is slightly higher spect than the ones sold here. UMWT should include the TurboDiesel option in Fortuner’s line-up. Seriously, my dad’s Fortuner is sluggish and fuel guzzling.

• albagmane (Member) on Aug 14, 2008 at 6:13 pm

wow… did i see an LCD on a toyota sold by UMW??? looks like this is the start of GPS navigation here in malaysia…

• mystvearn (Member) on Aug 14, 2008 at 6:23 pm

Looks so confused. I think they took a range rover sport grille and copy paste on the Hilux. Chrome handle bars, not my thing. Same body colour I don’t mind.

• Roti Naan (Member) on Aug 14, 2008 at 7:07 pm

This car is a lil too big for city driving….unless the intention of buying this car is to be a road bully. Many Mitsu Storm I see on the malaysian road tend to be bosssy and bully to other smaller and lower cars.

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Aug 14, 2008 at 7:54 pm

those wood trims look terrible

• IsaacVky (Member) on Aug 14, 2008 at 8:00 pm

Another rubbish by UMW

• tunomura (Member) on Aug 14, 2008 at 8:11 pm

The thailand version have ‘spinner’ on wheel.Isn’t?..I saw this before on Thailand’s Chevrolet Trailblazer and someone told me it is good to reduce the wheel arc drag.mmm..very bling,bling

• zaff1984 (Member) on Aug 14, 2008 at 9:39 pm

yucks, especially at the door opener

• PTAllTheBest (Member) on Aug 14, 2008 at 10:29 pm

7-seater SUV for RM170k? i think i better buy a wish/stream with more fuel efficiency

• mitlanevo (Member) on Aug 14, 2008 at 10:40 pm

lame design, weak torque, weird bodykit…..

its a NO….

• s60t (Member) on Aug 14, 2008 at 10:44 pm

The fortuner has always looked ok, a bit like the previous harrier esp from the back.but when I test drove one last year,it was noisy(petrol version),felt sluggish and very bouncy/floating.did not like it at all.so unless you really use it for off roading it’s not a nice comfortable family car to have.plus parking will be a pain.I eventually bought a wish instead.

• csv (Member) on Aug 14, 2008 at 11:34 pm

yucks, what an ugly face lift.

but because it is a Toyota, people will buy it for the brand blindly, despite being overpriced and overrated.

• ideoteque_85 (Member) on Aug 15, 2008 at 8:37 am

metallic blue on this SUV is totally out, gray on might look okay. but overall…buruk haha
    Our proton should have LCDs in the the cars too!! i would dig that :D

• king (Member) on Aug 15, 2008 at 10:56 am

of all the overpriced toyotas…this one takes the trophy.

a hilux at 180k? you gotta be kidding. same platform…same dashboard.

• zanggief (Member) on Aug 15, 2008 at 12:25 pm

Now it has the feels like it’s sibling-toyota prado….
    the US s[ec.toyota prado has the similar front design…

• kei9 (Member) on Aug 15, 2008 at 2:20 pm

Looks like the’ve gone backwards…

Not into the design.
    And the kits? wth?
    chrome surrounds?
    looks cheap.
    Too much overkill.

But the projector lights are some of welcomed changes.
    But hate the rear lights design though. :(

• MyviKiller (Member) on Aug 15, 2008 at 4:00 pm

The Buick Rainier front makes it classier, but the damn bodykits are “cheapen-ing” it!!!

• Roti Naan (Member) on Aug 15, 2008 at 5:02 pm

xg9,

you seem to be more interested with “julian lee” than the topic of discussion here. just my little observation.

• mitlanevo (Member) on Aug 16, 2008 at 4:59 pm

bet my money on Honda and Nissan anytime, haha….

• banyak cakap! suka beli la…tak suka jangan banyak cakap…tunjuk pandai konon…

• Sam c. on May 14, 2009 at 12:01 am

Is the Fortuner due for an "all new" model by next year 2010?

• more better if Toyota put 3.0L for the diesel engine. oh ya, I just surfing about Isuzu MU-7 with 3.0L iTEC, it is look handsome and tough, why don,t Isuzu introduce it to Malaysian SUV fans?

• RANJEET N. PISAL DES on Aug 08, 2009 at 11:43 pm

IT IS HIGHLY APPRECITED OF TOYOTA VEHICALS BUT IF THE COMPANY IS LAUNCHING THE NEW FORTURNER ON 24TH OF THIS MONTH, THEN IT WAS THERE RESPONSIBILITY TO DISPLAY THE VEHICAL WHICH IS INTRODUCE IN MARKET IN 2005. WHY TO LEAVE GOSSP. THE OLD CUSTOMER LIKE ME WILL APPRECITED THE MARKETING CONCEPT OF THE COMPANY.

AWAITING FOR THE TECHNICAL DETAILS ,PHOTOGRAPS OR A CLIP OF THE GREAT FORTURNER .BEST OF LUCK TO THE WHOLE TEAM.

• GREEN on Aug 12, 2009 at 12:29 am

the different beetwen Thai TOYOTA FORTUNER & Vietnam?

• maria on Aug 24, 2009 at 7:15 am

ths car is a vry beutiflu car n has everythn i need in a car,its da type of car i wud lyc to buy!!thnx

• RAJAN on Oct 09, 2009 at 12:21 am

THAT CAR IS SO BEAUTIFUL BUT ITZ PRICE IS SO HIGH

• CARLOS on Nov 16, 2009 at 3:58 pm

AMO ES CAMIONETA OK

• CARLOS on Nov 16, 2009 at 3:59 pm

ESA CAM ES UN SUEÑO

• muar fortuner fans on Dec 10, 2009 at 5:43 pm

New Fortuner 2.5 VN Turbo
    http://www.fortuner-club.com/webboard/questions.a…

• so does this mean that rumors of an "ALL NEW" Fortuner isnt real? That design will be platformed over the latest land cruiser?

• mohamad on Apr 17, 2010 at 10:37 pm

this car is very stupid.toyota stoped producing it because no one likes it

• Rajveer Singh on Jun 30, 2010 at 12:14 am

the car is really osome but the enterior is not satisfactory as per the cost.

• agha shaheryar on Aug 22, 2010 at 5:41 pm

marvellous car with enormous features and excellent shape

• I like Fortuner fecelift due to powerfull, but not for the current color.

• putri on Oct 14, 2011 at 6:44 pm

nak forturner………………….. nak la…… muaahhh

• putri nur nasriah mohd nasir on Oct 14, 2011 at 6:47 pm

nak……..

• yusoff on Nov 21, 2011 at 9:24 pm

Kindly someone help me how to unlock the 160 speed limit and tell me a specialist who can do the trusted job with this P.S.tell me the name of the shop and where its is located in Malaysia.Johor and tell me if any of the parts must be replaced e.g bigger brake pads and shock absorber: car type 2009 Trd sportivo 2.7 V petrol .