New Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution this week!

Lancer Evolution MalaysiaThe new Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution X will hit the streets of Malaysia this week through official importer/distributor Mitsubishi Motors Malaysia Sdn Bhd. As of time of posting, a countdown timer on the Lancer Evolution teaser microsite shows another 2 days and 22 hours until launch its launch on the 21st of August 2008.

The teaser site lists the Twin Clutch SST gearbox as one of the features, so the twin clutch model is sure to be in – the only question would be if the manual model will be available. The car will have Recaro bucket seats done up in combination leather.

More updates to come later when the car is officially launched!

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• analyzer (Member) on Aug 18, 2008 at 2:44 am

wow~! i hope they drop the price from the rm280k evo 9..
    i wonder which version will msia get.. i hope its the six speed one~

• SatriaGuy (Member) on Aug 18, 2008 at 4:51 am

I think we will get the most expensive version, so that Mitsubishi Malaysia can make more on the car. I’m sure there will be a lot of rich kids who will (or already have) book the car at the launch.

But is it enough? Questions are: how many models are MM bringing in as initial batch? Reliability of the car (and the Twin Clutch gearbox) in humid Malaysia? How long until it becomes cheaper as a result of the grey importers also bringing in models (which is the case normally)?

• raptorclans (Member) on Aug 18, 2008 at 8:14 am

Where’s the launch? Better late than never they say… :D

• ka_one2000 (Member) on Aug 18, 2008 at 9:13 am

somehow it looks like Gen2/Pesona meter panel…..

• jolly_idiot (Member) on Aug 18, 2008 at 9:36 am

Actually I’ve saw the real car in Peremba Square parking (Mitsubishi HQ). I’ve found it so so onli. I’m actually expecting it to be like the Prototype X kinda macho. Anyhow, this look more descent. Doubt it price may be competetive just like the Lancer GT.

• Roti Naan (Member) on Aug 18, 2008 at 10:24 am

Along Jalan Maarof last week, there were a few LanEVO off-loaded from trucks for car show room, if not mistaken…..There were some sort of ceremony oso then.

• abtm (Member) on Aug 18, 2008 at 10:29 am

if they’re still selling it for almost RM300k, then it’s still too much. Its looks wierd close up, and is also big and heavy, some uk magazines say that it’s not as engaging as a Evo 9.

• nonadoes (Member) on Aug 18, 2008 at 11:21 am

ka_one2000 said,

August 18, 2008 @ 9:13 am

somehow it looks like Gen2/Pesona meter panel…..
    ————————————————
    hahha…i have the same feeling as you. i was wondering y they put lancer evolution phrase on the meter panel. Then i though it was about the persona SE or something maybe they want to advertise the lancer word to attract customer..

look in closely and read properly. is talking about lancer not persona.

• SatriaGuy (Member) on Aug 18, 2008 at 11:22 am

The Evo 10 is certainly better to drive and enjoy then any of the previous Evo because it has lots more power and better chassis.

But as far as I’m concerned it doesn’t look as good as the previous Evo series. And it should’ve looked better. What a shame. The wheel arches for instance, does not bulge enough to look aggressive.

Why can’t Mitsubishi made it look like the Concept Evo when we saw it the first time? Must be some corporate decision that tamed the design, I believe.

So, I’d rather own the new Subaru Impreza STI!

• mukhri88 (Member) on Aug 18, 2008 at 12:38 pm

Since Evo X doesn’t look as aggresive as the previous ones, I guess it wouldn’t cost much to convert your Lancer to look like Evo X, which is a good thing.. innit?

I saw one in May or June but can’t tell whether it’s an actual Evo X. LPT rest area, white body, bulging arches, with grey almost black grille.. decals wrote Evolution. No X.

• mukhri88 (Member) on Aug 18, 2008 at 12:41 pm

The Fastback version coming or not?

• White Jack (Member) on Aug 18, 2008 at 12:48 pm

Is test drive available ?? :)

• rodimus (Member) on Aug 18, 2008 at 5:28 pm

This is a great car!!! I’m can’t wait 2 c it at MMM showroom!!!

• mystvearn (Member) on Aug 18, 2008 at 7:08 pm

Hope there is an update about the price. The Evo X 3 L cost ~25k pounds.

• mitlanevo (Member) on Aug 18, 2008 at 7:19 pm

oh my god!!!!! faster than i thought, hehez….

ya, good move from Mitsubishi, don’t let Naza alone import this piece of of beauty…. if can afford one, i rather get it from Mitsubishi….

and for those anti-evo guys above, please shut your smelly mouth…

peace~

• mitlanevo (Member) on Aug 18, 2008 at 7:22 pm

satriaguy, are u joking or what? rather own that ugly weird-looking hatch STI which is way behind the mighty Evo in terms of technology and handling?

boy oh boy….. kesian u…

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Aug 18, 2008 at 7:57 pm

whats the point of the teaser? most people already seen the mitsu evo either in magazines, tv, grey imports etc

• capeplates (Member) on Aug 18, 2008 at 11:26 pm

Great car for the monks – they should be able to escape the militia in this baby

• afroiq (Member) on Aug 18, 2008 at 11:38 pm

haha what la u guys..its just a car anyway..be it subaru or mitsubishi..

but i do like the older airtrek and forester..cool huh..;)

• skis11 (Member) on Aug 19, 2008 at 2:46 pm

Alpina BMW,

The teaser is a teaser of course, to tease you. Doesn’t matter whether you have seen it somewhere else, but the thing is, it’s going to be officially launched here in Malaysia, so they will provide you a teaser so that you will keep on wondering what does it really look like, the one that is coming

Those things in the magazine might not be as accurate as what will it be during the national official release, as in some other countries they may get different variant and different specs even though it is still called Evolution X.

They don’t even call this ‘Lancer’ in Japan, where it was born.

• Nems (Member) on Aug 20, 2008 at 12:11 am

Just so happen to see the EVO X today in EON Service Center, Shah Alam today and was lucky enough to get a real close up with the car as well. It’s written behind Lancer Evolution without the X, had a Sun-Roof (not shown in the teaser), Recaro Bucket seats, exactly as shown in the teaser and it was an automatic transmission (TC-SST).

Pricing mention after a long talk with the foreman getting ready the EVO X mention RM 302K but as mention by them (Mitsubishi personal) are reluctant to confirm the pricing with me. Recaro bucket seats however was mention to be price at RM 25K (pick that up while they were busy looking at the engine), just for the bucket seats.

I took a few pictures before they realize I took them but won’t upload them as the Mitsubishi personal will get in trouble and he was kind enough to let me view the car up close, so sorry folks, those pictures goes into my collection, will upload after it has been launched officially …LOL :)

They we preparing the car for it’s launching 21 August 2008 which will be at KLCC near Menara Maxis but again mention by invitation only. He said you could stand outside the zone where it can be viewed or something to that nature.

• torque (Member) on Aug 20, 2008 at 1:41 pm

Good! This definately means Evo 9 will soon drop it’s price on the market. I know that it comes with Twin Clutch SST gearbox but still it’s an auto. No matter what you wanna call them, automanual, pedal shifter, blah blah blah…nothing beats driving a stick especially a 6 speed! I also know that Evo X does comes with manual but with 5 speed? What da’ heck? You all can check it at DMG Holdings car showroom (they got one in white). I mean…come on, 5 speed only? I rather go for the Evo 9 with it’s 6 speed.

In terms of looks, I rather choose this than the new Scooby Impreza Hatchback. Don’t really like the new Subaru though. Performance wise, the Scooby can tapau this new Evo anytime (manual vs. manual of coz). Seen a lot of shootout between them on Fifth Gear, Youtube, Autocar website. Just my taste and two cents! :-)

p/s: Is it just me or that the Evo 9 and the Scooby 9 is better to look, to own or maybe even to drive than their new siblings?

• fit5505 (Member) on Aug 21, 2008 at 5:49 pm

can test drive ?? hope can…