BMW X6 xDrive35i available in Malaysia

BMW X6 Malaysia

Many considered the BMW X6 to be quite bizarre when it first came out. Its top half was of a coupe but with a bottom half of an SUV. Kind of like the love child of a 6-Series and a BMW X5. To top it all off the sloping roof threatened to destroy rear headroom in the way the GEN2’s roofline did, and it only sat 4 instead of 5.

Despite all of that many were taken in by its sexy looks and already over 6,000 units have been sold since its launch 3 months ago in Spartanburg, USA. Three models are available – two petrol and one diesel, and all three are turbocharged. The X6 was the vehicle chosen to debut BMW’s new 4.8 litre twin turbocharged V8.

BMW X6 RPM MeterThe BMW X6 is now in Malaysia. One variant is available immediately, with the other two to follow next year. The BMW X6 xDrive35i is priced at RM698,000 on the road without insurance, with BMW Service Inclusive + Repair. The xDrive35i model is powered by the N54 3.0 litre twin turbocharged inline-6 engine that produces 306 horsepower thanks to its twin parallel turbochargers and direct injection.

The other two X6 models available worldwide is the xDrive50i powered by the 4.8 litre twin turbo V8, and the xDrive35d powered by the sequential twin turbocharged 3.0 litre diesel engine from the 335d. I don’t think BMW Malaysia has introduced any models with the twin turbo diesel here in Malaysia (thanks to our diesel quality), so we may have to skip that one and have only one additional variant.

BMW X6 RPM MeterThe X6 looked quite menacing in real life, with its huge wheels and equally large disc brakes. BMW had two cars showcased at its launch event – one was grey and the other was red. The red one had a fully black interior while the grey one was a combination of a black dash and beige seats.

Rear headroom was pretty much as expected (example photo after jump) – not as bad as 2+2 seaters but if you are a tall person the top of your head would be just a few millimeters away from the ceiling, which may not go well with people who feel claustrophobic.

Hopefully BMW will register a test drive unit for the media. But for the moment, please enjoy some photos of the X6 after the jump.

Related Stories:
BMW X6: full details, specifications and photos
BMW Concept X6 ActiveHybrid at Frankfurt 2007

PHOTO GALLERY: E71 BMW X6
Click thumbnails to view high resolution photo

[cpg_album:60]

[cpg_album:59]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Airul (Member) on Aug 21, 2008 at 2:13 pm

wow,Very nice…but the price is to expensive…the exzos not very nice

• cutester (Member) on Aug 21, 2008 at 2:22 pm

Nice… Gulp! Look at the price!

• aminbotak (Member) on Aug 21, 2008 at 2:27 pm

Hmm… somehow.. remind me of that bloody old gen2.. hehehe… just that gen2 is malaysian… while this one german… not bad.. not bad at all..

• David9988 (Member) on Aug 21, 2008 at 3:01 pm

Top gear hated it and i can see why….
    Despite that, people will still buy this car to feel exclusive..

• proton.com (Member) on Aug 21, 2008 at 3:51 pm

Malaysian has 2 option

1). Like this car, especially for lowered roofline & take back all their complaint on Gen2 roofline.

2). Bash this car, just as they bashing the Gen2.

• abtm (Member) on Aug 21, 2008 at 3:53 pm

it looks great, but i don’t see the point- except for posing. hopefully there will be a M version called the MX6, remember the Mazda MX6- yuck

• Roti Naan (Member) on Aug 21, 2008 at 4:09 pm

can this car do real off-roading?

• bukitdamansara (Member) on Aug 21, 2008 at 4:46 pm

odd looking car..
    i cant understand why only seat 4?? n expensive! :(

• kerelbort (Member) on Aug 21, 2008 at 5:01 pm

seen one under car cover for the past 1 week in AutoBavaria show house in Bukit Bintang, can guess its an X6 ald from the slanted roofline and the big tyre.. very xcited seeing it from the first day.. wonder if anyone buying it..

lots of mini clubman being bought by Malaysian ald.. but still nvr saw one OTR..

• theanswer (Member) on Aug 21, 2008 at 5:32 pm

huhu..now what? somehow i’ve to agree with jeremy clarkson.

• Husky (Member) on Aug 21, 2008 at 5:33 pm

… wait for the XC70 better.

• Roti Naan (Member) on Aug 21, 2008 at 5:58 pm

Husky said,

August 21, 2008 @ 5:33 pm

… wait for the XC70 better.

—————————–

What do you here that XC70 is better? care to elaborate, Husky?

• shianghorng (Member) on Aug 21, 2008 at 6:19 pm

Where can I view this car?

Glenmarie?

• hyundai (Member) on Aug 21, 2008 at 6:20 pm

698k can already get a S-class… Why bother to have this car?

• Cyberkayu (Member) on Aug 21, 2008 at 6:55 pm

jacked up Gen 2
    wahaha

• mystvearn (Member) on Aug 21, 2008 at 6:55 pm

700k for a car. Cannot afford that. Also cannot stand low rear headroom

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Aug 21, 2008 at 7:09 pm

this car looks better in real life than in pictures

• drM (Member) on Aug 21, 2008 at 8:31 pm

crossover vehicles, apart from Lotus’s APX and Mazda’s CX7, are not cut for it.

really. very few can make it relevant to the current and future use.

i believe BMW is making what Mercedes’s had done with CLS – pioneering a new class of vehicle and hoping it will be a sell out.

i know CLS is… the same class as E-class, but the fact that it is a 4 door sedan and looks like a coupe say it all.

and mercedes pull it off spectecularly because now almost everybody is getting a 4 door ‘coupe’ out i.e Rapide (Aston Martin), Panamera (Posh). BMW got CSL.

but sadly, this X6 doesnt really cut the mustard.

• kei9 (Member) on Aug 21, 2008 at 9:54 pm

Lets compare the stance with a Gen-2
    Hahaha..

Wished i would see this car in RL too.

• czhia hao (Member) on Aug 21, 2008 at 10:45 pm

i hope there are reverse cameras on the back of this car…the back seems a lil too high to be able to see anything walking past..a malfunctioning reverse sensor and kids=bad news

• kucau (Member) on Aug 22, 2008 at 12:06 am

NO! this is not BMW Paul! What happen to this blog ? Lets bash this Gen2 face lift!

Paul Tan: it would be meaningless to “bash” without test driving the car first, so lets hope BMW registers a test drive unit so I can try it out and share my views. anyone can just sit around and talk whatever they want about cars, but without driving them and experiencing them, where is the credibility?

• n8cky (Member) on Aug 22, 2008 at 1:54 am

tat’s pretty…Gen2 too…gorgious..

The only thing about Gen2 was quality, tat’s y lotz of ppl bash it..
    I agree with Paul, keep your mouth shut till you test drive 1..

p/s: Paul, do they know you when you appear to test drive?

Checking into your fame..

• tokmoh (Member) on Aug 22, 2008 at 9:17 am

@proton.com

haha, I like ur sarcasm :D

Paul, u gotta take the “bash” context beyond “the handling sux”, “the steering’s too light”, “the dashboard looks cheap” etc (Although I dare say no malaysian journalist will ever write such things to a car wearing this badge…..n the fact that my examples are just that: examples). Sometimes a car can just be wrong from the drawing board. Like this one. Seriously, how much more anti-social can a person be to want a hopelessly impractical copycat-design-done-by-a-car-manufacturer-from-the-jungle-clearing gas-guzzler? No more SUVs please, dear car manufacturers, and to soccer mums: stop buying it just to make ur neighbors think u’re raising the next Shrek Rooney. If u desperately need to, consider a Volvo XC90. People might think you’re raising a doctor instead…or a health and safety inspector.

From this image, it looks 90% like a Gen2: http://paultan.org/carphotos/displayimage.php?pos=-1132

• kei9 (Member) on Aug 22, 2008 at 2:02 pm

Now yeah..

It is also best if Paul park the car side by side when the test driving this sexy BMW.

P.S TokMoh

That pic also have the same (kinda) body colour.

Coincidence.

• bmpower (Member) on Aug 22, 2008 at 3:24 pm

a big version of Gen-2 in my eyes.

• raybrig85 (Member) on Aug 22, 2008 at 6:06 pm

yup..agree with some of u…dis car looks better in real life..saw a few in aussie…btw..i still hate dis car…

• sure88 (Member) on Aug 23, 2008 at 4:50 am

Like it or not
    Expensive or not
    My buddy in AB said that
    25 units pre-ordered even b4 launch
    And we complaint cars in Msia are way toooo expensive !!

• tokmoh (Member) on Aug 23, 2008 at 6:50 pm

@kei9

Exactly. Both the outline n paint color. Now can we hear some bashing please? Nope, not when it’s a car badge marketed to c*cks, real estate agents, spoilt brats, playboys, you know, the kinda ppl who’s wear bluetooth headset, short sleeves n oakley specs….n anti-socials as well.

@sure88

I’ve noticed that quite some time. Since ard late last year, I’ve been able to spot more Mini Coopers in Subang Jaya than ever. Why can’t they get a cheaper n more practical Ford Focus if they really want an exclusive small car (Focus is a rare car after all)? If I were them, I’d rather just invest the money somewhere else.

• y can this awsome car only seat 4 people instead of 5??? very saddening….

• this car is huge! If I can afford I would wanna pick this one instead of S-Class :p

• Fuyo … mmg dasyat la kete BMW X6.. price pn dasyat…
    kira ok la… org kaya mmg leh beli, org miskin tgk je…
    Kwn aku dah beli X6 ni… mmg best.. no plat JHU1.

• kelmen on May 17, 2010 at 11:22 am

very nice and aerodynamic design, but its too pricey, this car only for rich men!

• Hisma on Oct 18, 2010 at 2:22 am

I like this X6.. But i have to think twice.. Whether worth it or not to buy.. Emm.. Wanna buy X6 or Audi Q7 ?