New Honda Jazz S and V launched in Malaysia

Honda Jazz

Honda has launched the new Honda Jazz in Malaysia and although the two engine options are gone, the single i-VTEC engined model comes in two different equipment levels – Grade S and Grade V priced at RM104,800 and RM109,800 respectively.

Let’s look at the new Honda Jazz after the jump.

VIDEO: Honda Jazz Malaysia

Honda Jazz

Honda Jazz

The difference between the S and V grades lie in the equipment levels that each variant offers. The V grade has larger wheels – 16 inches wrapped with 185/55R16 tyres compared to the S grade’s 175/65R15 tyres on 15 inch wheels. It also has different front and rear bumpers, a side sill garnish, a different grille, an exhaust pipe finisher, retractable door mirrors with turn indicators, leather steering wheel and gear knob, steering wheel audio and cruise control and most importantly the paddle shifts on the steering wheel.

The V grade has a black interior while the S grade has a black and blue interior. I am guessing most will go for the V grade at only RM5,000 more for all the extra equipment.

Honda Jazz

Both the S and V range come with a vehicle information display system at the instrument panel which displays vital information about the car such as remaining range in km based on the fuel remaining in the fuel tank, and real time fuel consumption. These can help you manage your fuel consumption better.

The new L15A i-VTEC engine has been updated, now putting out 120 PS at 6,600rpm and 145Nm of torque at 4,800rpm. The 120 PS is a higher peak power compared to the previous 1.5 VTEC engine but it is also achieved at a much higher RPM which means you have to rev higher to get it – 6600rpm vs 5800rpm.

Honda Jazz

This new i-VTEC SOHC engine uses a stepped variable valve timing and lift system, varying timing and lift according to two different settings – one for low load operations, another “high cam”. Intake and exhaust valve count for each cylinder are now 2 each – 4 per cylinder which means this engine is a 16 valve unit as opposed to the previous engine’s 12 valve setup.The valve shut-off feature that closes one of the intake valves for better low RPM performance is not found on this L15A engine (not needed?) but available on the smaller L13A engine that is not available in the Malaysian market.

Other features of the L15A include a drive by wire electronic throttle, a new intake manifold with a resonator which helps with low to mid range torque, a high-tumble flow intake port, an integrated exhaust manifold head with a closely-coupled cat converter for better emissions, and a finally a world-wide first: a pattern piston coating design wihch features a patterned surface coating on the piston to improve lubricant retention around the sides of the piston for reduced friction.

Honda Jazz

The Fit/Jazz is equipped with various transmissions worldwide including a conventional manual, a CVT, a 5-speed auto or a 6-speed i-SHIFT automated manual transmission, but in our market Honda has decided to offer the 5-speed auto. Honda says they found that the automatic transmission instead of the CVT used in the previous model was the best choice for our driving style from a driving experience point as it involves a combination of city and sporty or highway driving, while the CVT is more suited to pure city driving such as the conditions in Japan.

The 5-speed automatic gearbox has its 4th and 5th gears as overdrive gears. Its ratios are 2.995, 1.678, 1.066, 0.760, and 0.551, with a reverse ratio of 1.956. From my personal experience, highway cruising is sure to be quite relaxing with such a low overdrive gear available – high speed cruising with a low engine RPM for a more quiet, unstressed and serene feeling.

Honda Jazz

The brakes have gone up an inch at the front and the rear drum on the previous generation Jazz has been replaced with disc brakes with this new Honda Jazz. Anti-lock brakes are standard on all variants. Both models also have dual SRS airbags.

Honda’s engineers went to interesting (and funny) lengths to make the Jazz practical. The usual fuel tank position is still there – under the front passenger seats, but check this out – the new Honda Jazz has 10 cupholders. That’s alot for a car that only sits 5. Other conveniences include a dual glovebox, a front console box, an underseat box located under the left rear seat, convenience hooks (also called curry hooks or teh tarik hooks), and a 346 litre rear cargo capacity. With the rear shelf which covers the rear cargo area installed this becomes 337 litres. This cargo space is smaller than the European or Japanese Honda Jazz/Fit as we get a spare tyre with the car while the European and Japanese customers get a tyre repair kit. The absence of a spare tyre in those markets increase bootspace.

Comparison between old Jazz and all-new Honda Jazz
  New Jazz Old Jazz
Engine 1.5L i-VTEC 1.5L VTEC
Transmission 5-AT CVT
Displacement 1497 1497
Compression 10.4:1 10.1:1
Max output 120 PS @ 6600 110 PS @ 5800
Peak torque 145Nm @ 4800 143Nm @ 4800
Emissions Euro 4 Euro 4
Length 3900 (+55) 3845
Width 1695 (+20) 1675
Height 1525 1525
Wheelbase 2500 (+50) 2450
Weight S: 1110, V: 1120 1080
Turning radius 4.9 4.9
Tires S: 175/65R15 (+1″)
V: 185/55R16 (+1″)
175/65R14
185/55R15

The engineers have also made some engineering changes so that the new Jazz feels more refined compared to the previous one. Cabin noise is now rated at 4 dB less compared to the old Jazz. The same goes for seat vibration. Steering vibration is reduced by 2 dB. The Ultra Seats still have the Utility mode, Long mode and Tall mode but the Relax mode is now gone. Honda says studies found that not many people used the Relax mode, and removing it allowed them to design the seats to be more comfortable. For the rear seats, the cushion length has been increased.

As for the suspension, the basic design is still the MacPherson struts at the front and a torsion beam at the rear. The front caster angle has been changed from 2.16 degrees to 3.33 degrees while the caster offset goes from 5.4 mm to 19.8 mm. These improvements allow for better straight line stability. The rear torsion beam training arm length has been increased from 396 mm to 435 mm. The mechanical control geometry has been reduced from 316 mm to 239 mm. Spring lever ratio goes from 1.54 to 1.11. The changes to the rear suspension improve stability and ride comfort.

Honda Jazz

Rear visibility has improved by 30% and front by 10%. The front windscreen upward view angle has improved by 1.4 degrees. The front quarter window is now 3 times larger. Rear headroom has increased by 10mm, and the rear seat knee clearance is up by 40mm.

The in-car audio system uses an integrated CD player with MP3 support. There is also USB audio input so you don’t have to waste your CDs – just put your MP3s on a thumb drive and slot it in. Those who already have an MP3 player can use the aux input function. For both variants, this audio system plays tunes through 4 speakers.

Honda Jazz

There are four colours available for the new Honda Jazz – Taffeta White, Alablaster Silver, Crystal Black Pearl and Cerulean Blue Metallic. Both variants come with a 3 year or 100,000km warranty, and 6 months (or 10,000km) free service.

Honda also offers a Modulo package for the new Honda Jazz. The Modulo parts consist of fog lamps (RM880), a tailgate spoiler (RM780), illuminated side step garnishes (RM600), Modulo 16 inch alloy wheels (RM2480), alloy pedals with rubber grip sections (RM150), interior footwell lighting (RM380), and a trunk tray (RM270). The fogs and Modulo wheels are only available for the V equipment level. All the items except the wheels are available as one package for RM3000, which saves you about RM60.

Honda Jazz
Honda Jazz Modulo

Honda Jazz
L-R: 15 inch wheels, 16 inch wheels, 16 inch Modulo wheels

Honda is also encouraging the use of child seats in Malaysia by offering Modulo child safety seats. Three sizes are available – S for infants aged up to 9 months old, M for babies between 9 months and 4 years old, and L for toddlers 4 years old and above. They cost RM1,540, RM1,620 and RM1,360 respectively.

Finally, a Garmin nuvi-based GPS navigation system with Malaysian maps and a 9.7cm by 5.7cm display is available for RM2,440.

VIDEO: Honda Jazz Launch

PHOTO GALLERY: Honda Jazz in Malaysia
Click thumbnails to view high resolution photo

[cpg_album:57]

[cpg_album:58]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• isfufushah (Member) on Aug 21, 2008 at 12:39 am

Yay… i’m the 1st to comment…

Like the looks… But, apa boleh buat…
    Our goverment TAX was so-HIGH and make the car really PRICEY.
    ;-)

• csv (Member) on Aug 21, 2008 at 12:45 am

nice equipment man. nicer models too.

but the price is a bit on the high side. 100k for a 1.5 liter?

maybe i’ll wait and see what the Honda City has to offer.

but still, a great car overall.

• tpl (Member) on Aug 21, 2008 at 12:47 am

nice

• ignas (Member) on Aug 21, 2008 at 12:52 am

very nice interior! so much better than our 3rd world’s. hope the new city has it too…

• chery (Member) on Aug 21, 2008 at 1:14 am

the VTEC system only have 2 profiles? like that loudsy Proton CPS? i though like Toyota VVT-i, the cam profile should be infinitely variable?

• n8cky (Member) on Aug 21, 2008 at 1:20 am

It’s CBU~, visited today..
    Darn expensive for a 1.5 mini mpv..Altis 1.8E cost 109k as well?
    Doesn’t make any sence, if i’m the buyer.

• Roti Naan (Member) on Aug 21, 2008 at 1:21 am

thank you govt and their high car taxes….there are now lesser Malaysian that can enjoy reasonable price quality cars.

Speaking of sales, Merdeka is around the corner…how come protong not offering limited edition merdeka sales?

• bot_tech (Member) on Aug 21, 2008 at 1:21 am

nice design que

lots of extra being offered for V-spec

but price is not in my budget.

• zaff1984 (Member) on Aug 21, 2008 at 1:26 am

the price is a bit high for me…. features and look are good.

• frossonice (Member) on Aug 21, 2008 at 1:34 am

So, basically we’re getting JDM Honda Fit RS design, isn’t it?

• ENZO (Member) on Aug 21, 2008 at 1:50 am

new jazz no spare tyre,right?
    i saw from honda japan web site, replaced it with a bottle of white liquid.

Correct me if i right.

Paul Tan says: we have a spare tyre, at the expense of less boot space compared to the japan and european honda jazz.

• Kevin Lee (Member) on Aug 21, 2008 at 1:53 am

hmm, bit pricey isnt it, wished it was sub 100k, like old jazz and yaris pricing. at this price, u could probably get urself a polo gti or just a plain old cross-polo. i guess honda’s just brand-strong

• Porkbutcher (Member) on Aug 21, 2008 at 2:24 am

What a price! Is this Thailand CBU or Japanese CBU? If it is built in ASEAN, then it is overpriced. I am a bit disappointed with the whole package.

• altimi (Member) on Aug 21, 2008 at 2:26 am

I’d take Civic 1.8 anytime……bigger and more refined for not much money…..

• monomania (Member) on Aug 21, 2008 at 3:08 am

at first i was eagerly waiting for this, but now after seeing the Honda Msia’s jazz, i was quite dissapointed. They should bring in the spore version (the one with the moon roof), plus the colours available here are just too boring, 4 safe colours, err, boring colours… sigh…this is not so jazz/fit, and these are just my own expectations, like altimi, with a price tag like this, i’d rather go for civic now…

• tunomura (Member) on Aug 21, 2008 at 6:19 am

very expensive for me, and really want to buy this car..sporty and stylo
    other than that, new myvi (facelift) will be launched tomorrow..equipped with usb n bluetooth radio set n its better than this jazz. Worstly, this myvi have been thrown out many reinforcement items in order to reduce the cost..this show how perodua reduce the cost (but the car price almost same) and make a car as a moving coffin..mmm

• dodgeviper88 (Member) on Aug 21, 2008 at 6:55 am

I’m wondering if it’s only being offered in AT version. Is there any MT versions? And I believe they’re not bringing in CVT to cut down costs as CVT consumes the least amount of petrol compared to other versions. And it doesn’t come with intergrated sat-nav systems unlike the american version, which is when fully loaded to the brim would cost only around RM70k max.

• azrai (Member) on Aug 21, 2008 at 7:04 am

Another cute looking car on the road. Why they do not CKDed it at Alor Gajah’s plant here to bring the price down further? Now it is time to wait for the next gen City.

• abtm (Member) on Aug 21, 2008 at 7:39 am

the previous city and jazz are pretty much the same car, but since the new city has little to do with this, there’s a worry that it’ll be built cheap for profit

• iskandar (Member) on Aug 21, 2008 at 7:49 am

Azrai,
    The Alor Gajah plant will not only bring the price down, it’ll bring the quality down in no time.

Anyway, with this price, I’ll go for Civic 1.8 – bigger, looks better and I bet the ride is much better.

Based on this Jazz pricing, looks like Honda will price the next City at 93-100K

• Skymobile (Member) on Aug 21, 2008 at 7:52 am

I just found it hard to understand why Honda Malaysia still launched New Jazz if they could not price the model below 100k.

I believe there will have LITTLE demand on it because of the price regardless how good the car is. It is just a SMALL car but priced as a MEDIUM size car, the price is too close to Civic 1.8, Altis 1.8, Lancer 2.0, and yet more expensive than Latio 1.8 and Elantra 2.0.

I cannot believe HM does the worse marketing research when they seems did not pay attention to its competitors or HM is just too confident on its model. How many people willing to pay small car in this price, and if they have such budget then why not opts for other medium or even large sedan rather than a small compact car.

• Skymobile (Member) on Aug 21, 2008 at 8:08 am

somehow we all know our G is impose VERY HIGH TAXATION on CBU model and I think HM will have make less profit than Iits other models since they are unable to price it into low price.

With the spec provided above, we able to forecast the future City will have similar equipments. But again, the expectation of the price will most likely goes up compared to the current City since the new Jazz price higher than the previous version.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Aug 21, 2008 at 8:18 am

i cant understand the complaints about pricing really.. the jazz was never a cheap car to begin with.. since its launch, it was already at the 100k mark. and the previous model 1.5vtec was 104k.

i also wondered why so many people bought the previous jazz when it was so expensive, but it did sell.. somehow.

“HM will have make less profit than Iits other models since they are unable to price it into low price. ”
    i do know they make quite a healthy margin out of every car they sell.. so i wouldnt speculate about the taxation affecting the prices, especially if i have no clue at all how it affects their pricing.. so i hope that those who have mentioned that taxes are the reason the price is so high to explain the facts to the rest of us who dont know. just dont forget that CBU from thailand is taxed very differently than CBU from japan, or europe.

• altimi (Member) on Aug 21, 2008 at 8:29 am

Swift Sport CBU from Japan pun tak mahal macam ni….. got 4 airbags some more.

• namiabeeR1 (Member) on Aug 21, 2008 at 8:35 am

huu.. look nice to me..

just like the new myvi facelift.. can start booking..

• raptorclans (Member) on Aug 21, 2008 at 8:43 am

Cool how they fitted that many people into the car… :D

Looks nice, love the rear, and also glad they chose this bodykit :)

• funbox (Member) on Aug 21, 2008 at 8:53 am

aiyo… so pricey!

• DrJackal (Member) on Aug 21, 2008 at 9:15 am

Please find out how VVT-i and VTEC ( or CPS ) work 1st.
    VVT-i doesn’t even change cam profile
    They are completely different system in that sense

The price is indeed high, but i think this model is never intended to be sold in mass volume in malaysia

chery said,
    August 21, 2008 @ 1:14 am

the VTEC system only have 2 profiles? like that loudsy Proton CPS? i though like Toyota VVT-i, the cam profile should be infinitely variable?

• farghmee (Member) on Aug 21, 2008 at 9:16 am

interior: practical.
    exterior: not much different with the old one.

Jazz looks nice.

…but not my taste ;)

• Hikaru (Member) on Aug 21, 2008 at 9:21 am

I share everyone else’s gripe about this car, but I suspect its more the govt’s tax structure that we should really have a gripe than the car itself.

Nice car, innovative design and definately a winner………for less than 70k to 60k (in UK it will be sub 10k in pounds). On a subjective note, this would be a very nice reliable, reasonably comfortable run about in cities.

The reason for the tax structure is known to everyone and it is unavoidable that the blame for the high price of the new Jazz is linked to the same reason why the tax structure is so.

• xstan (Member) on Aug 21, 2008 at 9:27 am

Ya..same here, just cant seems to understand whats the fuss about pricing. Honda never expect for killer sales. It is comparable to Toyota’s counterpart Yaris or Latio’s Hatchback version. Areant they price almost the similar range of close RM100K.

I simply hope the new space age interiors & dash will be available in the new City. Now that is extra boost & will make Vios whimp…..& public realised that their toyota brand sells so why need innovations & new perks. Skimmed alsmot everything & yet sells..that is Vios.Thats Toyota.

• e-nabilll (Member) on Aug 21, 2008 at 9:38 am

the vios is a 1.5cc car as well and its sells for abt 20k less….so u cant blame the tax structure entirely…HM jus wants to sell it a s a premium product i suppose…kinda funny since everywer else in the world its sold as a affordable japanese little ting……

• Husky (Member) on Aug 21, 2008 at 9:46 am

I agree that wz 100k one can get a better, bigger and nicer car. However there is a lot kids wz rich parents out there and I’m very sure this Jazz will sell like hot-cakes ….

• joeysis (Member) on Aug 21, 2008 at 9:53 am

one thing, i just don like reflection headlight.

• lomotus (Member) on Aug 21, 2008 at 10:19 am

Went to the Honda showroom yesterday.
    They only show the V-version, S version was not shoen as it is just too plain.
    Even the V version , they had to put on the extra accessories to make it look good. The tail spoiler, the modulo rims,illuminating side steps.

Price wise, it is consedered expensive for me but for i do hear some people saying it is “Very Cheap”…and saying out loud so that everybody can hear her.

Anyway, i guess there are different standards of people.

For 109K , no leather seats, 1.5l , CBU Thailand ( not Japan), not even a fog lamp ( accessories, have to add more money), no tail spoiler ( more money), interest rate at 3.6% for 3 years loan period up to 3.85% for 9 years loan period, non electronic air-cond system ( still using knob to switch on air-cond) and the suspension also is not that good ( hit a hole while test driving yesterday and the feeling is the same if was driving a proton).

This car is for those who have extra money .The expected customer profile in the Honda sales kit says Chinese , executive, etc.

For others, be patient and wait for the next affordable honda, The 2009 City ( before CNY), production will start in Alor Gajah in Oct 2008, after some final testing and test drive to Genting, launching is expected early ’09

• 3S (Member) on Aug 21, 2008 at 10:21 am

Overall, this car look great………
    But cost RM 104k – 109k it can made people choose other brand of car….!
    1.5 vs 1.8 and 2.0 ??
    i rather buy civic 1.8..

• 0204 (Member) on Aug 21, 2008 at 10:22 am

Think of it as a CIVIC features(which it does have all the 2.0 L features in it) into a smaller engine and hatchback.. you might not think it’s that pricey then. It’s a premium K car.. if you’re looking for affordable.. get a perodua..

I like this car.. i think it’s a bargain too.. i just won’t buy one.. premium K car doesn’t work for me.

• kl55 (Member) on Aug 21, 2008 at 10:39 am

this is just a entry car in japan
    and wihtout tax. . it’s a CHEAP car with no doubt
    and 109k convert in yen
    u can even buy an better & much more better luxury car

pls dont compare to local car
    stupid G protection on local car is meanless
    i didnt see any improvement at all
    p2 car from toyota/daihatsu. .war make u so proud
    proton? lagi teruk daripada p2. . totally hopeless
    blm fuel comsuption jz like my ass
    local car no doubt are lousy till vomit N speechless

i must say new jazz is definitely over price

• bmpower (Member) on Aug 21, 2008 at 10:57 am

absolutely… overprice!.

lancer GT is better choice..

• schizomoriya (Member) on Aug 21, 2008 at 11:03 am

Here’s the pricing for comparison:

Honda Jazz Grade V Peninsula Malaysia:
    http://www.honda.com.my/models/jazz_price_list_gradeV.cfm
    OTR – RM109,800.00

Honda Jazz Grade V Langkawi:
    http://www.honda.com.my/models/jazz_price_list_gradeV-langkawi.cfm
    OTR – 67,800.00

Honda Thailand
    http://www.honda.co.th/th/showroom/honda_jazz.html
    ????
    S MT 560,000 ???
    S AT 597,000 ???
    V AT 630,000 ???
    V AT(AS) 650,000 ???
    SV AT(AS) 705,000 ???

Incidentally, the locally assembled Honda City VTEC’s OTR Langkawi price is RM57,800.00 compared to OTR Peninsula MY price of RM85,800.00

Numbers is all up for you to see, but make your own conclusions about tax/overpricing/etc :)

• lone-star (Member) on Aug 21, 2008 at 11:05 am

for 100K+, forget jazz, forget civic, forget altis, etc.

ford focus is the ONLY car that should be on anyone’s radar at this price bracket. trust me on this one…

• notorpkcuf (Member) on Aug 21, 2008 at 11:08 am

While the previous model was RM95k +, I’d say it still had pretty interesting value being CBU Thailand. Now that its RM110k, it would be interesting to see how this one will sell. RM15k may not seem alot for some, but with the new interest rate for hire purchase, its not so easy to say just spread it out during the loan. Badge and look alone will probably get this baby decent numbers, but quite a tough sell going up against Suzuki Swift Sport CBU Japan and VW Cross Polo CBU Europe all under RM110k.

• lowprofile (Member) on Aug 21, 2008 at 11:16 am

but guys, don’t forget that this is a ‘honda’!! there will always be those who will be willing to pay a premium for a so-called luxury japanese brand.

• andre128 (Member) on Aug 21, 2008 at 11:22 am

dont think so much for the price…

the price may be too high, be next few month if give discount, the buyer will more happy :D

if selling below 70k-90k, the previous jazz owner will “die”, bought 100k use 1 year sell 50k-60k

Just think about… this is same as other model like vios, altis…

wanna “cheap” car??? go for proton lah ;)

• Skymobile (Member) on Aug 21, 2008 at 11:37 am

“i do know they make quite a healthy margin out of every car they sell.. so i wouldnt speculate about the taxation affecting the prices, especially if i have no clue at all how it affects their pricing.. so i hope that those who have mentioned that taxes are the reason the price is so high to explain the facts to the rest of us who dont know.”

mmm… I dun know where someone get the info, because even the internal people dun know really know the PRIME cost.

I dun think HM make huge profit in malaysia or ASEAN but yet it is a good margin (who want to do the business with only breakeven). If some AWARE how much Honda sell accord 2.4cc in US (convert to RM is less than 80k), someone mean that HM makes 90k PROFIT or half of this profit 45k?

If HM can sell in low price but healthy profit margin, they will keep doing it because it will keep just-in-time strategy work more effective as its fast turnover. No point if HM sell high price and put the cars in the yards for long time cos it waste money and keep postpone other models to launch if they are not able to clear the stock.

I am just business minded and not an agent and yet, my opinion is HM management is still not as structure as UMW… they should improve the strategy its used.

• 3S (Member) on Aug 21, 2008 at 11:46 am

If HM never or didn’t get the huge profit, guess who is the one will grab this profit from consumer ?
    i think everybody here already knew “who is the one”….!

• kei9 (Member) on Aug 21, 2008 at 12:33 pm

Glad they chose the bodykit design. Its what i’m hoping for.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Aug 21, 2008 at 12:41 pm

the fact is, the jazz was never cheap to begin with, and has never been cheap.. so for people to complain its overpriced now, its a little strange.

the previous model was 95k for i-dsi, and 104k for vtec.. is that “cheap”?

• buttercity (Member) on Aug 21, 2008 at 12:42 pm

Those girls in blue dress are nice. Their ‘exterior’ looks good. How about their ‘interior’? Hehe..

• torque (Member) on Aug 21, 2008 at 1:03 pm

Hmph! :-)

Last time when Toyota sell their Yaris close to 100k, people say Toyota are trying to rip people off. Now, Honda is selling their Jazz for close to 110k…same thing people complaint it’s quite expensive. Don’t get me wrong, I do agree. I used to drive a FD Civic 1.8 and with that kind of money, I’ll rather choose the sedan over this. Don’t forget, it’s CKD vs. CBU (although it’s not Japan). Still, like Lowprofile…there’s always many Honda fan willing to pay for it. Just like Toyota with their fans buying the “dugong” vios.

All I can see from all of the comments above is that, MALAYSIAN are very sensitive about PRICE! Take Japan and Euro for example. Over there, the cars manufacturer doesn’t face this kind of problem from their customers. Why? B’coz the price of all the cars there are relatively acceptable. Unlike here in Malaysia which taxes and the NAP policies turn this or any other import brand become “luxurious” items. Trust me, in Japan and Euro this car is more towards ‘young, affordable and could be entry level to Honda ownership’ rather what Lomotus said, “The expected customer profile in the Honda sales kit says Chinese , executive, etc.” IMO, that’s horsesh*t! All this b’coz of our stupid G policies which deny our rights to enjoy a glimpse of refinement the world has to offer. All and all, I think the new Jazz is twice better than it’s predecessor with the price adds close to 15k, I say it’s well price! Great job Honda, love the interior and the meter cluster display.

p/s: 10 cup holders Paul? That might be something to brag to the Lexus owner huh? Really funny! :-)

• torque (Member) on Aug 21, 2008 at 1:10 pm

Oh, one more thing…old Jazz also cost nearly 100k to own last time. What’s the biggy? A little more 10k for more refinement, power and build quality…it’s ok lar. Just my two cents…

• dr_carz (Member) on Aug 21, 2008 at 1:11 pm

DONT GO THERE BUTTERCITY !

I AM TOO ERACTED JUST TO HEAR ABOUT THE NEW HONDA!

• mits27 (Member) on Aug 21, 2008 at 1:18 pm

It is very nice, but pricey…I just eager to wait for the new CITY…

• masuzu (Member) on Aug 21, 2008 at 1:43 pm

wow,very impressive man……….If all new model Honda bring Modulo rim is good :D

• altimi (Member) on Aug 21, 2008 at 1:46 pm

Smart money goes to Civic 1.8/Lancer GT/GLS

• halfclutch (Member) on Aug 21, 2008 at 1:47 pm

Mahal nak mampus but the rs version is nice

• trustgtr (Member) on Aug 21, 2008 at 2:08 pm

nice..!!! unfortunately the pricing is crap..

• skizzo75 (Member) on Aug 21, 2008 at 2:15 pm

Who ever said that our G imposed a heavy tax to car just a stupid person if your are trying to compare to UK and USA.Do your own research dont just make RETARDED comment, come on lahhh, UK paying 40% of theirs monthly income for tax meaning that if ur wages is rm 4000 ur paying rm 1600 per month so that why the G there did not to have hight car TAXES STUPID Next do some research and dont give TADIKA like comment

• lomotus (Member) on Aug 21, 2008 at 2:29 pm

Torque,

I suggest that you go to any showroom ask the salesman to see the Saleskit, it is written or rather PRINTED everything on the target customer profile and everyhting else including comparison with the older Jazz, comparison with Suzuki Swift, and also comparison with other models in terms of sales volume for the recent years.

I am not sure if Paul have one of those sales kit? Do you?

• MAJUPERAK (Member) on Aug 21, 2008 at 2:30 pm

The only stupid person with his TADIKA comment …… is you skizzo75 !

US, UK has got higher tax around 40% but that is because it is a welfare state ….. if you have no job skizzo75 you can claim unemployment benefits here in Malaysia you pay around 28% tax plus all these tax for cars etc. go figure which is better.

Cars in UK $50,000 will get you super cars/high performance luxury….
    Malaysia $50,000 you get Waja ….

If you still don’t get it, maybe you should go back to school …… a proper one

• kl55 (Member) on Aug 21, 2008 at 2:59 pm

agree with maju. .

maybe skizzo75 jz another rich arses. .
    IF i work in here then got 4000 pound
    i dun mind to pay high tax. . . =)
    even half of my salary also dun mind. .then i buy cheap car
    then i jobless i can still can claim money and bla bla bla
    OH. . .public transport is great there. . so properly i jz use my car at weekend

• scottloeb (Member) on Aug 21, 2008 at 3:50 pm

And you dont get 9 years installment plan in the UK! And you earn in GBP, where 50 quid is enough for 1 week groceries for family of 4.. Honda Malaysia is being greedy, they try to put the product on higher level compared to FMC City.. and this time I guess they really mean it.. Lets just wait and see..

• trustgtr (Member) on Aug 21, 2008 at 4:21 pm

who said personal income tax in the UK and US is 40%?? what rubbish..110k is around US30k..what car do you get for US30k in the US?? A new 525i will cost less than that..

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Aug 21, 2008 at 5:20 pm

dont get carried away about perceptions of living in the UK. its not all rosy as you think.. so what if its a welfare state? if you’re jobless and on the dole, do you think you can still afford a car?? let alone a house??
    kl55, whats the point of buying a cheap car if you live in the UK as you have said? most people here think you can live like a king there, and own a nice car… and public transport is not cheap.. if you live on the outskirts of london, and work in central london, you’re looking at almost 10 quid a day on tube fares.

not everyone drives a bmw, or mercedes or some luxury car.. to pay even 500 pounds more for a car is considered exorbitant. we cant take dollar for dollar comparison with the UK. most people in london dont even own a car.
    housing is super expensive, and if you live in the city, parking is crazy crazy expensive.. if you convert 50 quid to ringgit, a family of 4 can comfortably survive for a week in malaysia as well on groceries and still go out for dinner on the weekend.

there are good things of course about living in the UK, but not everything is as rosy as some of you make it out to be. besides that, they’re in a massive credit crunch now, consumer spending is at an all time low, car sales have fallen into the dustbin, their renowned property market is in trouble, and recession is lurking around the corner.

• fit5505 (Member) on Aug 21, 2008 at 5:28 pm

new jazz is very cun but the price is high for a 1.5L car..vios is better ke!!

• torque (Member) on Aug 21, 2008 at 5:39 pm

Skizzo75,

Why in god names I don’t have the right to compare? I have tons of friends working there la bro. Each time they came back to Malaysia and we always talk what is it like over there. And YES! they do bring out the issue of 40% tax from what they earn but frankly dude, NONE of them actually complaint. Do you know why? Because the government medical there is top notch, public transport is top notch, the choices of acceptable and reasonable cars is countless…do you need I go more? Stop calling people names or you are the one are “RETARDED”? EVERY country in this world impose tax on most import items but Malaysia is DEFINATELY one country which imposing tax on cars like sky rocket!! Even the new boss of BMW Malaysia is surprise on our auto industries price…tell him and make him understand first on what basis the tax need to be very high! Apa ini orang? Sigh! :-(

• torque (Member) on Aug 21, 2008 at 6:00 pm

BanyakMasukWorkshop,

Many of your point out is all out correct! The house price and rent over there is no joke. The parking is also freaking crazy expensive which why most of the UK citizens are willing to take the very eficient public transports. Tube fares is rather pricey but you could always choose the buses. Don’t you forget, right there they also sell some sort of a season ticket which is cheaper. The problem is we are not comparing the living lifestyle over here. We are talking about cars right? And the fact is that the cars price over there is REASONABLE! I have a relative of mine who’s working there for 8 years and he’s coming back. Guess what he’s bringing back guys? His 3 BMWs. Oh ya! He’s definately gonna pay more tax bringing the cars here but answer this… Do you guys think work hard (*unless a bit luck on your side) for 8 years in Malaysia gonna make you own 3 BMWs? Gentlemen, over there they PAID salary very very PROFESSIONALY ok!!

p/s: *join the local politics, be an exco or whatever…

• torque (Member) on Aug 21, 2008 at 6:09 pm

Lomotus,

I intend to go there went I’m going to service my car. I’m not saying you are lying bro. I point out that cars manufacturer tend to change their market strategy even though that particular products are more less the same they offer within their own market. You see, you don’t expect Honda Malaysia to ads their new Jazz and written on it, “For Young with Affordable Price”? Do you think most young Malaysian who just work couple of years could actually own or willing to pay 110k for mini mpv? Young…maybe…Affordable…NOPE! Thanks for you feed back dude…happy motoring! :-)

• jamsbong (Member) on Aug 21, 2008 at 6:42 pm

It would seem that most user find it expensive to own a car in Msia. I’m guessing the import duty is high for foreign cars. This is really ashame cos in Australia, a cheap Jazz is a mere 17K Aus. That amount is just 51K Msia ringgit.

You guys should vote for a governor that can improve this situation. you guys aren’t living in a dictatorship, in a democratic country, everyone deserves to have a voice.

• mystvearn (Member) on Aug 21, 2008 at 7:00 pm

Very nice car. Like it a lot.

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Aug 21, 2008 at 7:09 pm

it nice, but for the price, i would buy a volkswagen crosspolo

• PTAllTheBest (Member) on Aug 21, 2008 at 7:17 pm

price is the main concern… if we dun talk about wat category wat comparing apple with apple, a lot of bigger cars with bigger engine we can get
    but outside there still got many rich asses who gonna buy this car coz its reliability

• Proton Sagwa (Member) on Aug 21, 2008 at 8:36 pm

You do realize that there is more to the UK than London? Funny when people only visit London then assume that everyone in the Midlands, West, North, Scotland etc. is paying 10 pounds for public transport, cant afford to keep a car etc etc. Parking for instance can be quite reasonable in many other cities in the UK. London is a special case unto itself for a variety of reasons, whereas car taxes in Malaysia are equally oppressive for almost the entire country, whether you live in KL or the kampung.

• mct (Member) on Aug 21, 2008 at 9:58 pm

we cannot compare the price with us
    they can sell these car almost 10k unit a month (accord sell for 20k unit a month)
    they could have cheaper price for the same parts
    US tax structure are not same also

• czhia hao (Member) on Aug 21, 2008 at 10:35 pm

looks nice..but abit overpriced IMO..think they’re gonna face some really tough competition from hyundai’s compact cars..

• torishimeyakuin (Member) on Aug 21, 2008 at 10:53 pm

Hey the first thing that shocked me when looking at this car is its price tag…damn farking expensive! Crazy…

• ahOpe (Member) on Aug 22, 2008 at 12:05 am

Thanks for the detailed posting, you must’ve spent a lot of time typing.. I just love to read about the new Jazz, can see can read cannot touch =( still dreaming about new manual honda under 100k

• Prem3377 (Member) on Aug 22, 2008 at 3:33 am

many people here are forgetting simple facts.

dont just blame it on tax because its hard to find a tax free country but i do agree our tax rates are higher than usual.

but when u compare tax rate between CBU and CKD the CKD has lesser tax

so why Honda malaysia never opt to choose the Cheaper option??

secondly,honda Jazz only sells in south east asia as a premium model but as an entry model in most of the country..so the premium is not the features but the premium is the pricing

so its obvious Honda is responsible for the pricing…not the tax rate solely

third fact is previous honda city and honda jazz was based on the same platform,same engine options even same interior but diff trim..why the CITY can be sold around rm 80000 plus and the Jazz cannot be cheaper since it has less boot space??

it is now obvious that honda wants to make more profit of JAZZ nothing more and Nothing less…

we just tend to overlook simple facts…

conclusion is it The new Honda Jazz is a overpriced little car which has good secondhand value and nice to the eyes…but not worth buying since it OVERPRICED

and futhermore besides the improvement in space,rest of the car seems to be the same,engine is slightly more powerful achieve at higher RPM and torque has only slight improvement but weight has also increased so diff…

the fuel saving CVT has been replace with 5 speed so not much diff in FC…its not going to be in my wish list just for the shape alone unless Honda malaysia suddenly decide it to be a CKD where spare parts also can be cheaper and easier to maintain and price equal or within City range then i will consider..

my point of view…

• mofo (Member) on Aug 22, 2008 at 3:45 am

I wonder who will buy this, only for those rich enough to get one for his/her child ? As many complains expensive, there’s still minority ppl will bought it. So what ? who cares.

• Skymobile (Member) on Aug 22, 2008 at 8:03 am

For so CALLED retarded Skizzo75,

Yes, in UK or many western countries citizen are paying 40% income tax. BUT they enjoy A LOT OF BENEFIT such as medical care, high transportation coverage etc. DO YOU EVEN SEE IT IN MALAYSIA.

People in UK earn AT LEASE 2K or 3k pound for FRESH GRADUATE but here the average is LESS RM2K for GRADUATE. If we pay 40% of 2k, you will have only 1.2k leave (you dun need to pay EPF & SOCSO?) then minus another 0.2 then you have ONLY 1k leave. what can graduate do with 1k salary leave, car installment, petrol fee, toll parking and payment for parents, what do you think now.

Do you STILL believe the INFLATION rate is 7.7%, it is more than this figure. Pls ask any economist whether the G announce the correct inflation rate or not. And do not forget how high corruption in our country as YOU CAN SEE EVERY WEEK having new STAR on the headline.

DO UR OWN RESEARCH BEFORE YOU SAY, retarded.

• drebar (Member) on Aug 22, 2008 at 9:15 am

seriously, this new Jazz looks a lot better in real than in picture. and with bodykits, sure looks even better.

but at that price and made in thailand… you can consider another cheaper option… and it’s made in japan… Nissan Latio Sports… lolz…

• tokmoh (Member) on Aug 22, 2008 at 10:05 am

@Roti Naan

If I were to tell u Proton is goin to come out with a Persona SE this 26th, will that make u happy? I hope you will, cuz they’ve been advertising abt it a few days ago in the papers.

To those who complain abt UK/US/wherever is better than here, why don’t u guys go n experience work there urself? I admit, there are benefits especially income-wise when you’re there, but certainly, one can be rich as well as ethical ie corrupt-free here too. IMHO, wherever you are, whatever environment you’re in, it matters more abt yourself. Your attitude. Your discipline with money. You’ll be surprised to know what a smart millionaire’s lifestyle is if you couldn’t understand this.

That guy who brings back 3 BMWs back here is very lucky, but I wonder how long will it take before he ended up having to sell them all n ride a bike when he’s running out of paychecks ie retires or get fired or quit his job n hard to be re-hired. Certainly, it’s hard for me to imagine him being a wealthy guy. I think even my dad who only drives a Waja is wealthier than that 3 BMWs owner, unless I’m allowed to look into his financial statement.

@lone-star

I’m with u. Ford Focus is a living proof that the majority malaysian public just dunno what a great car is when they see one, that is, if their budget is in the same range as the Jazz/Civic/Altis/yaris.

I’ve seen this Jazz a few months ago, but SG plate no. though. Aesthetically, it’s just an evolution from its predecessor, which wasn’t much of a looker either, but I have to say, I love it’s blue paint. The tone’s really pleasing to my eyes.

• redwings (Member) on Aug 22, 2008 at 10:52 am

I really don’t believe such a small super-mini car can costs above rm100k.
    Those who buy this car surely a die-hard fan of jazz or the money from from his/her dad…

If you have a rm100k – rm110k budget…u have many choices…

Latio Sports 1.6l… below rm100k.
    Honda Civic 1.8l… around rm115k
    Mit Lancer 2.0l… around rm115k
    Toyota Corolla Altis 1.8l.. around rm110k
    Mazda3 1.6l… around rm110k

And you also get some nice continental cars
    Volkswagen Polo…
    Peugeot 407…

• buttercity (Member) on Aug 22, 2008 at 11:52 am

Can we just appreciate the car as enthusiast and not talk about the tax? Its like deja-vu. Everytime new car launched and hundreds of commenters started to shoot the tax issue.

p/s: Paul, you should create a new blog on auto tax issue and dedicate it to the tax haters/lovers.

• skizzo75 (Member) on Aug 22, 2008 at 12:34 pm

MAJUPERAK is the stupidest retard…Come on lah who ever compare Pound 7 = 28 rm are stupid moron..u have to compare it with rm7 not rm 28 stupuiddddddd…if u all paid the 40% tax of course you will enjoy free health care no toll STUPID PEOPLE…I bet majority of u paid only 60 rm per month of income tax, wanted to repair a hole in the road is not enough now talking G stupid WTF…u all selling in the net and not declaring to income tax and claimed the G stupid what a RETARD

• skizzo75 (Member) on Aug 22, 2008 at 12:38 pm

One more Thing Skymobile = Sky Retard
    Mouth full of Crap

• skizzo75 (Member) on Aug 22, 2008 at 12:49 pm

Sorrie for making such a REMARK but my point is if ur citizen paid alot for tax ofcourse will have alot of benefit but if ur are paying alittle then the G had to get money from somewhere else..I really dislike people who just write DOWN baseless allegation without looking the FACT first and for ur info not just the economy but the socioeconomic structure as u can see we are so called third world we have to buy from country whrere theirs curency is higher than them we are in the losing party and u cant imposed tax higher to people unless the can make income more than rm25K or whatever figure u likes for a resoanable mind…there’s alot of kampung and estate without proper basic need so alot of money to be poured first in this sector so that we have a surplus even BILL GATE have more money than our country RIZAB

• GL3n (Member) on Aug 22, 2008 at 1:16 pm

ALPINA BMW said,
    August 21, 2008 @ 7:09 pm

it nice, but for the price, i would buy a volkswagen crosspolo

===================================

u love german cars don’ cha?

• MAJUPERAK (Member) on Aug 22, 2008 at 3:11 pm

skizzo75 you tak sekolah ke ?

Purchasing power parity …….

People in UK, US, Aust even Singapore is better off than us here in Mal.

Car prices in Malaysia is one of the highest in the world and it is FACT.

The problem has got nothing to do with socio economics ….. “our economy is being mis-managed”

AP for the benefit of who ? nothing but rent seeking …..

• scottloeb (Member) on Aug 22, 2008 at 4:10 pm

come on brader, skang cerita ini Honda Jazz sudah overprice, sini bukan Malaysia Today.. Sapa pon tada marah ini Honda Motor ka? UMWT org marah, ini HMM tada sapa marah? We ourselves put us in that position. Stop buying la, next time they’ll know it. Mitsubishi sudah kena, then Suzuki also low, why these 2 stupid Honda & Toyota (and followed by Nissan) can easily put premium price on their product? Ford Focus where malaysian snubs it due to the fact its a Ford even if it is imported/CKD ? We ourselves la to be blame (and the govt thingy, we ourselves la cos last time dont want to vote accordingly, reap what you sow lah)

• ahmadmckk (Member) on Aug 22, 2008 at 6:03 pm

i think the gear ratios are bit too wide. shouldn’t they use thi i-shift?

• raybrig85 (Member) on Aug 22, 2008 at 6:11 pm

boring dsg…eventho it is xpensive..still gt a lot ppl will buy this car..trust me…

• ys (Member) on Aug 22, 2008 at 6:24 pm

toooooo expensive to own this la..
    monthly pay need to be > 4k to own it
    aiya..

• topgunthang (Member) on Aug 22, 2008 at 7:00 pm

ford focus iis problably one of the best fwd cars from a drivers perspective. but most people wont buy it coz it doesnt look good enough. everyone knows its a good car but nobody will buy it with thier own money.

anyway, wouldnt be interesting if we didnt have to protect the car company that is bleeding the citizens money dry and actually have honda producing cars here in msia for the world economy. wonder how much they will charge msians.

i think the jazz looks best in yellow. rest are ugly colors

• Jie (Member) on Aug 22, 2008 at 11:23 pm

Speaking abt models, for a car designed for chicks, they should have used handsome male models…

• maserati (Member) on Aug 22, 2008 at 11:55 pm

Just test drove this car and all I can say is….ITS A BLARDY SUPERB CAR! …
    But I wont buy it even if i got the money cause its totally not worth it.

• 4dResultsBlog (Member) on Aug 23, 2008 at 12:52 am

It’s so sexy in blue color…

• db8 (Member) on Aug 23, 2008 at 4:31 pm

the models are cuteee..

• Kevin LeePekWei (Member) on Aug 25, 2008 at 7:46 pm

Hi all, from Singapore here.. I am a fresh grad, just got my first job, ordered my New Jazz, Rose Pink Color, my girlfren love pink. Below are prices of Kah Sing offering now:

1.5L with Full Skyroof 5AT $67500
    1.5L with Full Skyroof 5MT $65500

1.5L without Skyroof 5MT $66000
    1.5 without Skyroof 5MT $64000

1.3L without Skyroof 5AT 60500
    1.3L without Skyroof 5MT $58500

( All with Automatic aircond )

They offer me 11 colors to choose from, give me a headache indeed..

Now prevailing interest rates in Singapore 2.5%, maximum repayment period 10 years.

So as a fresh grad, I can only afford a Jazz from Honda, sigh..anyway i opted the 1.5L Skyroof 5AT as I only need to top up extra $1500.

• deman on Apr 14, 2009 at 6:28 am

too expensive for everage people..rm70-80 maybe be ok..but compare to other countries..in malaysia, it's still expensive.

• RM110K for a small car.. only thinkless people will buy them. same price I can buy Toyota Altis 1.8E, is far more better & power than this small car. Honda will lose production for putting too high price for this model.

• JackAss on Jun 01, 2009 at 12:33 pm

can i know this new jazz and nissan latio sport impul which 1 is better?can giv me some comment..gonna choose either one..

thanks…

• DOM: sedap je cakap for thinkless people.

well i think the car is great and superb. and they offered nice range of colours as well. although it doesnt offered a whole variety of colours like what in singapore did, still, some people prefer to not make a headache for themselves on which colours to choose. sometimes people choose certain cars that may not be favourable to some people because it suits their taste and preference. it's not about whether how rich they are or how stupid they were to choose such car. it's their own money and whatever they choose is up to them. so back off if u think the car is bloody expensive or not worth it or the colours are just plain ugly.

• elzalyff on Dec 31, 2009 at 5:01 am

Yup…, its all up to us to decide. I think this new jazz looks cute. To all of you, HAPPY NEW YEAR.

• prima tan on Apr 29, 2010 at 9:24 pm

mantap, saya mau yang putih susu jazznya….