First photos of Chevrolet Cruze released!

Chevrolet Cruze

General Motors have released an initial batch of 3 photos of the new Chevrolet Cruze, which show the new 4-door car from different exterior angles. Interestingly, GM calls the Chevrolet Cruze a “4-door coupe”. In reality the Cruze is a 4-door C-segment sedan that will be introduced in global markets with Europe being the first region to receive it from March 2009 onwards. It should replace the Optra in some if not all markets.

It will be available with 3 engines – a 112hp 1.6 litre unit, a 140hp 1.8 litre unit with variable valve timing on both the intake and exhaust, and a 2.0 litre turbodiesel putting out 150 horses and 320Nm of torque. A 1.4 turbo will come later. Chevrolet will equip the car with a 6-speed automatic transmission, a first for Chevrolet in the compact segment and more gears than what most car manufacturers put in their non-luxury C-segment cars (most have 4-speed, Honda has 5, and VW uses 6-speeders).

No photos of the interior have been revealed yet except for a tiny little bit you can see in one of the photos, but there have been spyshots of what is supposed to be a Cruze’s interior. GM says the Cruze will feature a “twin cockpit” design which is also available in the Corvette.

Look after the jump for two more photos.

Chevrolet Cruze

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• kahing (Member) on Aug 22, 2008 at 5:08 pm

oK, so when will proton or perodua or toyota will produce a C-segment vehicle like this one ?? Time to ADVANCE guys !!!!!! Come on! I know you can do it! I have faith in Malaysian brands

• kahing (Member) on Aug 22, 2008 at 5:10 pm

I’d be so impressed if either Proton or Perodua would produce a 6 speeder soon.

• raptorclans (Member) on Aug 22, 2008 at 5:32 pm

Man that looks really good… can’t wait for it to reach our shores. Wonder if the styling will stay for our market…

• Porkbutcher (Member) on Aug 22, 2008 at 5:32 pm

I saw the chinese mainland enforcement officers are using the same model as their police patrol cars. It looks so mean and stylish.

• cyberlipas (Member) on Aug 22, 2008 at 5:38 pm

nice looking front, but rear end look familiar…
    anyway, tomorow we get new fuel price…15sen off for petrol and 8 sen for diesel…

• hyundai (Member) on Aug 22, 2008 at 5:40 pm

Good looking car.

• DRC (Member) on Aug 22, 2008 at 5:44 pm

If offered moonroof, as shown, in Bolehland, with current Optra’s pricing, then it will be competitive. The basic model should be priced around Elantra’s region. “New” brand to Malaysian. The current Optra lacks something that most C-segment Japs cars have in common, what is it do you know?

• dewasemut (Member) on Aug 22, 2008 at 5:49 pm

If our local Chevy company brings this car as the Optra replacement, this will be my first the 1st Chevy car I actually fell in love with! If the pricing is very good (lesser than Honda City/Vios for a 1.6 spec), I might consider to buy one in the future. Hopefully the petrol consumption is very improved also.

I agreed with you kahing… I sincerely believe Malaysian car manufacturers (Proton especially) have enough creative talents in their R&D to design an equally (if not better) car design like this Chevy Cruze.

If you guys can still remember the newspaper ad during Persona launch, Proton revealed the early design sketching of Persona, which IMHO is waaaaayyyy better than the actual product. However due to $$$ limitation to realised a new model or over projection in ordering Gen-2 parts from vendors perhaps whatsoever, Persona is “forced” to share the same Gen-2 headlights, taillights etc.. etc. TOO BAD…

• TheophilusChin (Member) on Aug 22, 2008 at 5:55 pm

That rear tail light looks uncomfortably like that of the new BMW 7-Series!

• ahmadmckk (Member) on Aug 22, 2008 at 5:58 pm

6-speed? OKlah

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Aug 22, 2008 at 6:20 pm

the rear lights looks terrible , typical north korean car design

• mystvearn (Member) on Aug 22, 2008 at 6:33 pm

I think proton has better looks than this car

• proud2BMalaysian (Member) on Aug 22, 2008 at 6:41 pm

The hood remind me of savvy…

• rcopt2000 (Member) on Aug 22, 2008 at 7:04 pm

wow!!!!!!nice…………..

• freeze (Member) on Aug 22, 2008 at 8:04 pm

Wow its a cadillac’s head.

• kei9 (Member) on Aug 22, 2008 at 9:02 pm

The front is very sharp looking. Not bad

But not that into the rear for som reason. Boring i suppose.

• rajtheboss (Member) on Aug 22, 2008 at 10:43 pm

Looks far better than Optra. Real competitor for vios and city

• adad (Member) on Aug 22, 2008 at 11:15 pm

Ford also got 6-speeder in their Focus – DSG some more.
    Hope we get these good tech soon.

• azrai (Member) on Aug 23, 2008 at 7:10 am

Nice looking macho car here. Can wait for it in Malaysia. Do you know Cehvy’s new offer of 5 years free maintenance (including workmanship + parts). this is really great except it is Siam made.

• BMW fan (Member) on Aug 23, 2008 at 7:15 am

Rajtheboss: A competitor for vios and city?? This car will squash them! It’s a competitor for civic and lancer if only the price is not too far apart.

• abtm (Member) on Aug 23, 2008 at 8:11 am

if they bring this car in as the Optra, lets hope they retain the front grill, it’s ugly, but it sure is imposing

• awak (Member) on Aug 23, 2008 at 10:22 am

grill suits chevy truck though,
    overall front design is quite refreshing

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Aug 23, 2008 at 10:40 am

of all the north korean car companies, only kia seems to be moving ahead interms of design(hyundai doesn’t count as all their cars are now known as inokom), but thier engines are still rubbish compared to the real jap engines(not thai or malaysian assembled ones)

• capeplates (Member) on Aug 23, 2008 at 2:35 pm

Nice smooth lines – looks really cool

• jtshin (Member) on Aug 23, 2008 at 5:24 pm

ALPINA BMW said,

August 22, 2008 @ 6:20 pm

the rear lights looks terrible , typical north korean car design
    —-
    August 23, 2008 @ 10:40 am

of all the north korean car companies, only kia seems to be moving ahead interms of design(hyundai doesn’t count as all their cars are now known as inokom), but thier engines are still rubbish compared to the real jap engines(not thai or malaysian assembled ones)

ROFLMAO…. since when North Korean design cars? Since when KIA became NORTH Korean…. hahahahaha….. Hyundai is not known as Inokom, that’s only rebadging for CKD Hyundai cars in Malaysia… Come on Alpina BMW ( Julian Lee)… u can do better than that… where is ur knowledge?

• mahs (Member) on Aug 23, 2008 at 9:44 pm

hey proton, go co operate with cherv
    fast get that 6 speeders here, dun stick to ur own stone age k?

• Roti Naan (Member) on Aug 24, 2008 at 12:45 am

berapa lui?

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Aug 26, 2008 at 5:06 pm

Come on Alpina BMW ( Julian Lee)… u can do better than that… where is ur knowledge?…no, its just sarcasm, we dont have such things like the hyundai i30, kia pro’ceed which looks really good eventhough still nobody wants it. then there’s that hyundai coupe those yanks get instead of that sissy overdesigned slow coupe we get, the korean cars we get look like they came from north korea instead of south. and what’s the point of rebadging, its not like it helped to lower the price did they?

• Khee Kuan on Feb 14, 2009 at 7:54 pm

think the new Cruze will be priced more than 100k as the current Optra is already going for 90k+.. if DRB-HICOM able to price below Slyphy or Civic, im sure it's a good steal and expected to sell like hot cakes given its marcho aggressive look of which i love it very much.. fell in love when i 1st saw it in Singapore! =)

• The price of this car is between 13.5 lakhs to 14.5 lakhs