New Honda City i-VTEC fully undisguised exterior and interior revealed!

New Honda City

UPDATE: 2009 Honda City: in-depth details and specifications. Click the linked text to find out you need to know about the upcoming new Honda City in Malaysia.

It’s confirmed – the car we’ve been seeing in China and India is indeed the new Honda City. Reader xstan pointed out this flickr page with photos of the new Honda City – fully uncovered including photos of the interior!

It’s not known at the moment which country these photos come from. As expected, the interior is no longer based on the one in the Honda Jazz but instead uses a design that is perhaps cheaper to cast and manufacture.

Look after the jump for full images and details!

New Honda City

The front is definitely inspired by the likes of the European Honda Civic and the Honda FCX Clarity. The headlamps feature reflector lense instead of the more expensive projector type, which is expected at this price range.

New Honda City

This new alloy wheel design has been seen on the previous rendering. It may differ from country to country. This shot of the rear wheel shows the use of disc brakes on the rear.

New Honda City

Another shot of the grille, headlamps and the 4 cylinder SOHC i-VTEC engine in the background.

New Honda City

A light interior. Some markets may get a dark interior, hopefully. Our current City i-DSI and VTEC come with either a dark interior for the VTEC or a light interior for the i-DSI.

New Honda City

The 4-cylinder i-VTEC engine is expected to be the 120 PS 1.5 litre unit from the newly launched Jazz.

New Honda City

A clean and simple interior featuring integrated audio and the new design Honda steering wheel.

New Honda City

The meter illumination at night. Notice the paddle shifts behind the steering spokes.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• IsaacVky (Member) on Aug 23, 2008 at 1:37 pm

Better than DUGONG VIOS

• okongwu maureen on May 21, 2011 at 12:08 am

hi,please i want to know d least selling price for Honda 2008 model.
      thanks hope to get the reply as soon as possible

• lowprofile (Member) on Aug 23, 2008 at 1:40 pm

way better than the dugong!!

• xenith (Member) on Aug 23, 2008 at 1:40 pm

Totally agree with IsaacVky.

• proton12vauto (Member) on Aug 23, 2008 at 1:42 pm

rim design.. yucks..

• altimi (Member) on Aug 23, 2008 at 1:44 pm

Dudong is doomed………….

• lowprofile (Member) on Aug 23, 2008 at 1:46 pm

the nose is very american. nice!

• mitlanevo (Member) on Aug 23, 2008 at 1:50 pm

nice and clean interior, futuristic and awesome front, but the back is like kena langgar……

definitely looks better than vios….

• normaluser (Member) on Aug 23, 2008 at 1:51 pm

Interior
    The dashboard design reminds me of the previous generation of the Civic (the aircon vents). Looks boring and uninspiring. The only interesting thing is the sporty meter cluster with chrome dials and red illumination.

Exterior
    100 times better than the Vios Dugong. Hope to see a clearer side profile. The front & butt looks nice, Civic-inspired.

• abtm (Member) on Aug 23, 2008 at 1:52 pm

the interior is a bit shiny, nothing like the new jazz, but that’s expected…at least it looks better although can’t really say until we see it for real

• tHe CuLpRit (Member) on Aug 23, 2008 at 1:53 pm

somehow the front reminds me of the Transformers, specifically Optimus…. really like this car, if having abit of mixed feeling about the tail-lights.

• mmcwei (Member) on Aug 23, 2008 at 2:02 pm

Agreed with all the commentors. It is so much better than the latest vios in terms of its looks, power, features and lots more! This new Honda city has 5 speed auto with paddle shift! I just Love it! Really love the front looks especially when the emergency signal turned on! Hope that the paddle shift will be available in the new city when it came to Malaysia and the price not exceed RM90K and the rims to be changed to the better looking type( as the one shown in the photo looks pretty ugly) This car is definitely my taste! I meant in a budget of around RM90K brand new car.

• austin_cipan (Member) on Aug 23, 2008 at 2:04 pm

I’m going to hit that… really looking forward to this… hahaha

• azrai (Member) on Aug 23, 2008 at 2:29 pm

The car is nice. Hopefully Honda Malaysia will wisely make the price quite nice too.

• HMMaster (Member) on Aug 23, 2008 at 2:39 pm

This new City is damn nice! I like the ‘aggressive’ look of the front. (way better than the current one)

Only if I can afford it… :(

• rizones (Member) on Aug 23, 2008 at 2:39 pm

For me Honda is overpriced on every models.
    This new City for sure the price will be around 90K.

• zanggief (Member) on Aug 23, 2008 at 2:40 pm

I like the font design but the back looks so simple and not match with the futuristic front view…interior is nice…

Paul, any idea for the price in M’sia?

• freeze (Member) on Aug 23, 2008 at 2:42 pm

Somehow i see a little bit of Vios in the rear.
    Doesn’t the disc brake look a little small?

Well it is just a car. Regular car. Nothing to shout about. Not futuristic but slightly better than the rest in this category.

I wonder how the interior plastics will feel like. Better than Vios?

But we all know the Vios will still outnumber this car in monthly sales. Don’t we?

• Chapree Da Grande (Member) on Aug 23, 2008 at 2:44 pm

I’m guessing that this version is coming to our country or Singapore based on a clue available in one of the pics. I don’t know any other country who put 4 languages on a no smoking signboard. ^_^

• freeze (Member) on Aug 23, 2008 at 2:45 pm

Price wise, i guess it would be stupid for Honda to price it at 90K. Maybe 2K premium over current city will be fine. Better if can compete with vios J.

• paparadzi (Member) on Aug 23, 2008 at 2:49 pm

The front looks like the blue-faced African baboon. Is it any better-looking than dugong-faced Vios?

• albagmane (Member) on Aug 23, 2008 at 2:53 pm

lovely exterior design… i think the new one does look much mature compared to current one le, which is great.. as for the interior i still prefer the current one coz it looks much comfortable yet pleasing…

• cyborgx (Member) on Aug 23, 2008 at 3:21 pm

The front exterior rocks. The rear is not so bad either, prolly bcoz the angle of the shot was taken. If you click on “China link” where it showed the rear part of new white city, it looked ok to me.

The rear appeared to be better than what I have expected. Good design overall, hell lot better than dugong vios.

• kingv6 (Member) on Aug 23, 2008 at 3:55 pm

Finally .. we got to see the real thing.
    yes.. it’s definitely better looking than current Vios-gong.
    IMHO the Honda could have design the interior better. The current 4G City has better interior look & design.

Cheers

• db8 (Member) on Aug 23, 2008 at 4:09 pm

the front is ok,but the back..looks like old dugong a bit…
    tata dugong..we hate u..

• ignas (Member) on Aug 23, 2008 at 4:09 pm

interior does looks bored. but lots of improvements overall, superb!

• hareshi (Member) on Aug 23, 2008 at 4:33 pm

WOW WOW thats what i can say , very Robotic kinda looks
    *wink To the new city guys! (“Its more then meets the eyes”)

Question:
    Omg where do i place the fat fish Vios now?

a.Ocean
    b.River
    c.Lake

Answer: _______________

• wochomi (Member) on Aug 23, 2008 at 4:33 pm

Don’t worry, by the time this model arrives, lot’s of goodies will be stripped off. You simply cannot allow our national pride to look bad.

• hareshi (Member) on Aug 23, 2008 at 4:35 pm

Very simple clean cut nice interior also.

• Roti Naan (Member) on Aug 23, 2008 at 4:39 pm

City looks waaaaaaaaaaaaaay better than the dungu-dugong Vios.

My money is definitely on the new Honda City!

• kruzer (Member) on Aug 23, 2008 at 4:43 pm

Well, you can thank the high taxes for the around 90k price tag. Just check the price list for Langkawi and you can know how much it actually costs without the p1 ‘protection money’!

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Aug 23, 2008 at 4:46 pm

No offence but I think the Kia Forte will give the City a serious run for its money.

• kei9 (Member) on Aug 23, 2008 at 4:56 pm

Thats awesome!!

But the whells are a lil’ small ain’t it?

• nazrin (Member) on Aug 23, 2008 at 4:57 pm

much.. much.. better than dugong..

• IsaacVky (Member) on Aug 23, 2008 at 4:57 pm

hareshi said,

August 23, 2008 @ 4:33 pm

d.longkang busuk tepi jalan

• mazri (Member) on Aug 23, 2008 at 5:08 pm

do i smell autobot? face mimics optimus prime la.

• ragnahse (Member) on Aug 23, 2008 at 5:12 pm

to chapree,,

i agree w you too..think this photo was taken in some service centre in singapore…one of the photo tat showed the no smoking sign in 4 language is also clearly shows civic hybrid front wheel,,te car is on ramp…hybrid is sold here as well but is more popular singapore….

• crasher7 (Member) on Aug 23, 2008 at 5:20 pm

Which country will have this version?

• Cyberkayu (Member) on Aug 23, 2008 at 5:44 pm

lets kiss dugong good bye~~

• Gallardo1988 (Member) on Aug 23, 2008 at 5:59 pm

Erm, interior plastics look abit too plasticky. very shiny.

• jehutyz (Member) on Aug 23, 2008 at 6:03 pm

This is nice….
    Sure will be hot car on the road.
    Exterior is nice… but the interior part hmmm, the panel is not that nice. dashboard part is fine.

if the price remain below 90k sure will be a good deal.

• kancildriver (Member) on Aug 23, 2008 at 6:25 pm

the center panel looks cheap…. silver colored panel is a NO, NO, NO….

• alanchai (Member) on Aug 23, 2008 at 6:40 pm

very ugly , the front like a tank , rear like kena langgar, center panel looks like MYVi one, cheap…

• AL-88-MZ (Member) on Aug 23, 2008 at 6:43 pm

Here’s the original source;

http://www.pantip.com/cafe/ratchada/topic/V6917444/V6917444.html

• depolz (Member) on Aug 23, 2008 at 6:47 pm

how bout gearbox??still CVT 2nd generation??

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Aug 23, 2008 at 7:08 pm

I’m more impressed by this – http://forte.kia.co.kr/index.html

• Airul (Member) on Aug 23, 2008 at 7:19 pm

look nice than the old one….:D

• db8 (Member) on Aug 23, 2008 at 7:28 pm

alanchai are u dugong lover?
    then i’ll let u swim with the dugongs..

• mukhlisin28 (Member) on Aug 23, 2008 at 7:59 pm

Wooo……

Nice innovation…. front like new accord… rear like BMW 3 series… interior i have no comment because i heard that this new city have 2 models… will be revealed…wait till the model launch. From the Honda Salesman the price is around RM80K – 90K…. but i feel sad because IDSi engine was stop… this new city have 5-Speed transmission and i-VTEC engine only…. compared to the current model have 7-speed transmission… may be Honda wanted to standardize their model with other model like accord and civic…. compared to VIOS only still using 4-speed transmission… how can other people said that VIOS was fuel save…. i think its totally unacceptable…

• Skymobile (Member) on Aug 23, 2008 at 8:17 pm

very impressive exterior but disappointed interior design. especially the centre dashboard, unacceptable aircond button design which look cheap and not everyone like the UNIQUE audio layout.

• mystvearn (Member) on Aug 23, 2008 at 8:20 pm

City get paddle shifters is it? Very nice then

• ignas (Member) on Aug 23, 2008 at 9:21 pm

yea silver color and the button designs looks cheap, perhaps i’d spray paint black the panel myself ;)

• hyundai (Member) on Aug 23, 2008 at 9:45 pm

A cut-cost interior compared to the Jazz’s well-designed interior…

• rodimus (Member) on Aug 23, 2008 at 9:55 pm

This car design is definitely way better then the current 1.5L range!!! It’s will b a vios killer!! Keep up the good work Honda!! Cheer

• buttercity (Member) on Aug 23, 2008 at 10:21 pm

Finally, no more bangle-ish bontot. Nice works.. Definitely a better choice than DuGong..

• Lopburi99 (Member) on Aug 23, 2008 at 10:28 pm

Overall I am disappointed, because I was expecting a much nicer interior. The interior is very important to me because that is what one sees all the time while driving. The new dash looks spartan and all the brushed aluminum trim has a cheap appearance and feel. The new steering wheel design is Civic-like, looking a little weird. It also looks quite small inside, I was hoping for more room compared to the current City. All in all, the interior looks plain-Jane – nothing special – with obvious attention given to cost-cutting. The front end is probably the best feature, still awaiting a better photo of the rear (or to see it in the flesh) so the jury is still out on the rear but it still looks similar to the current model except for the taillights. The wheels have no appeal whatsoever, but I would assume much more attractive ones would be available. I was considering buying a new City and loading it up with the cool looking accessories but now I worry I will dump a lot of extra money into the car with it still having a cheapness to it. A big disappointment, but I will wait until I see one (on Sept 12 here in Lopburi Thailand) for my final judgment. I really hope the impressions I have made thus far will then change! I understand a new beautiful red color is available now, which excites me. The current year’s color range of 18 shades of metallic gray really bores me but better colors alone will of course still not bring me to a purchase. It is better than the Vios, which I never considered because of the bulbous shape and awful center mounted gauges design. So… I guess I will continue to save up for the considerably more costly but far more beautiful and luxurious Toyota Altis. I realize the City and the Altis are not in the same group, but I really hoped I would like the City enough to keep from spending all the extra money for the Altis, albeit as fabulous as it is. But I will be making monthly payments for a long time so I want be completely pleased and happy with the car I end up with.

• wuichi (Member) on Aug 23, 2008 at 10:31 pm

definitely a hot cake, finally a car to look forward to!

• ignas (Member) on Aug 23, 2008 at 10:56 pm

i do feel the same like you, Lopburi99. quite disappointed with the blunt interior and the feel of cost cutting. hopefully this is not the only trim level available. but i dont see any 1.5 or 1.3 on the rear in the photos.

• shamel (Member) on Aug 23, 2008 at 11:13 pm

Cool exterior except little weird grille BUT interior especially AC dials really cheapo. Honda should have electronic dials at least for high spec model

• ignas (Member) on Aug 23, 2008 at 11:22 pm

come to think about it, it does resemblance vios’s dashboard but uglier. and sayang no more dual compartment box.

• csv (Member) on Aug 23, 2008 at 11:32 pm

cool. this looks pretty good.

i think this will sell well if priced right.

way better than vios.

• Lopburi99 (Member) on Aug 23, 2008 at 11:34 pm

Good point ignas, about maybe a different trim level being available which would provide more of a perception of quality. Or maybe a wood-panel accessory like many cars offer. Wood panels put in where some of the silver is would help a great deal. Or chrome interior trim accessories. I’m a big accessories/options believer person. If somebody want to add some bucks to really spiffy up a car (in this case, a car’s interior), why not make some great options readily available? This is a win-win for everybody, everybody is happy. The mfg and the dealer make extra profits and the buyer gets some variability to help create a desired appearance or feel. If I was younger and with more energy maybe I would create some aftermarket goodie kits…but alas, too old, too fat, too slow …

• isfufushah (Member) on Aug 23, 2008 at 11:40 pm

Padan muka la dengan Toyota Vios aka Dugong buyer. Sure wanna cry.
    Wakakaka.

Well Honda, congratz to you for your cOol car design.
    Memang la, in terms of design Toyota cannot beat Honda one. Look at ODYSSEY, STREAM, CIVIC, and now CITY. But, world ranking Toyota still #1. Maybe, because most European & American still fancy Toyota thn Honda.
    ;-)

• fairozee (Member) on Aug 23, 2008 at 11:54 pm

OMG. Very fugly dashboard design… infact, the most Honda dashboard design I’ve ever seen IMO. Sigh…. love the exterior though….

• teelim (Member) on Aug 23, 2008 at 11:59 pm

Looks pretty good. Nearly as ganas looking as the new Accord! ;)

• farghmee (Member) on Aug 24, 2008 at 12:17 am

my opinion :)
    exterior: rear lamp not “in harmony” with the front light.
    interor: center console seems to be “messy”.
    not a very refreshing design..well..don’t fix where it isn’t broken ;)

looks a lot cool~ autobot, roll out!

• mct (Member) on Aug 24, 2008 at 12:42 am

the exterior is pretty but the interior design sucks
    i hope the city will be back what it is now
    the jazz sedan!
    being the jazz sedan , it will have a much better looking interior
    the aircond button of jazz is nicer and modern compare to this leaks sypshots city and it look weird in the photo
    i don’t expect this kind of interior from honda where all the new car from honda has a very nice, tidy interior and futuristic. i see none of them in the new generation of city ,although the looks of the car is a confirm beauty then all of its class.
    the meter light not nice , i prefer the one used by current vtec city
    as it have paddle shift on it , i think this is the high spec for up coming city . but anything could happen after the launching in the thai market , we will see then

• topgunthang (Member) on Aug 24, 2008 at 1:00 am

with an interior designed by proton. this thing better start at 75k rm.

• zaff1984 (Member) on Aug 24, 2008 at 1:32 am

overall got looking car…. like the paddle shift.

• Skymobile (Member) on Aug 24, 2008 at 1:34 am

why dun new City share the same interior design of new Jazz. Like what Honda did for both previous genaration.

I really like the stylish dashboard design of new Jazz and the meter design out Jazz look simple but just nice. Compared to new City, the meter is just acceptable but the center dashboard is just weird.

Just curious Honda nowadays seems concentrate for exterior only. I can see not many people like the center dashboard of Civic and upcoming City, too complicated dashboard on Accord etc. Especially when you touch the dashboard, the only sense I feel is just cheap plastic. Nissan is way having better interior quality than Honda and Toyota, even though it has many weird points. It is my own concern

• alanchai (Member) on Aug 24, 2008 at 2:09 am

Grille copy Toyota Alphard one

• yippi33 (Member) on Aug 24, 2008 at 3:34 am

i disagree with most of the commentors here on the interior..well.its true that not everyone likes a silver trim..but not everyone likes a wood trim too..to me, honda did the right decision by selecting a silver trim..wood trim is way too oldies..city is a mid class car afterall and not intended for luxury..is you want luxury, your choice should be either civic, altis or better..the audio button is also perfectly designed and comparing it to a myvi is a total absurd and he must have been an environmentalist(a dugong lover??)..the only drawback is maybe the two toned dash and i believe a higher spec model should have a monotoned one..i am also hoping that the s.e.a version will have a redefined grill which is more simple in design..overall, better than the old one..

• analyzer (Member) on Aug 24, 2008 at 5:29 am

looks like the designers went crazy with the ruler on their design blueprint… in a way, feels and looks like a failed ‘transformer’ wannabe..

i like the meter cluster though..

• White Jack (Member) on Aug 24, 2008 at 7:13 am

OK guys,,, you all keep on saying this new City nice nice nice, then Honda Malaysia will make its price high high high :)

Hmm.. I like the idea of paddle shift on the City.. nice :)

• Altezzar (Member) on Aug 24, 2008 at 9:05 am

Looks promising. Vios will have a tough time now.
    Good work honda. The previous city issues where
    1) CVT Gearbox : Reliability is questionable.

2) Design : Awkward especially the triangle window in front.
    Sedan\Mpv design.

Honda has ditched both for the conventional type. Well done.

• legacy88 (Member) on Aug 24, 2008 at 9:06 am

Well, better than crappy P R O T O N! :)

• ignas (Member) on Aug 24, 2008 at 9:29 am

hmm was wondering, do ppl actually use the paddle shift on normal driving in the city or usually on highways rite?

• aliBaPa (Member) on Aug 24, 2008 at 10:45 am

Price most important.
    70k.

• rt (Member) on Aug 24, 2008 at 10:48 am

I would be that this picture come from Malaysia.
    I would be it should not have been in Singapore yet.
    The workshop got Honda 3s color scheme.
    The workshop use British power plug.
    And some mentioned “4 language no smoking sign”
    and the City uses Silverstone tyre.

And fire extinguisher with lots of stickers – must have sent if for inspection countless times.
    Too bad, could not see the details of the cars parked outside

RT

• mytouch (Member) on Aug 24, 2008 at 10:58 am

alanchai said,
    August 23, 2008 @ 6:40 pm

Alanchai,are u UNCLE from the 50’s? Or u just try to speek diffrent among others? Maybe we should raise a fund to buy u a pair of glasses,so u can see “clearly”…hek hek… :-P

• Lopburi99 (Member) on Aug 24, 2008 at 12:33 pm

Well said by farghmee, the rear taillights seem out of harmony with the front headlamps, but I am still hoping the camera angle was bad and the rear will look much better when actually seen in the flesh. Yes yippi33, I agree not everybody likes the same look, but that is why I suggested “accessories” or options like wood panels so each can choose according to their own taste at purchase time preferably rather than aftermarket. I also agree if one wants luxury one should look at Civic, Altis or higher, but they are a lot more money and I had really hoped Honda would offer a bit nicer interior in the new City which in my opinion would have made it much more of a success. That said however, I realize the tight economics involved with new production so I think all in all Honda did a very decent redesign. Just not quite what I hoped for, that’s all. But it will surely still be very much liked by many many people and will be a major threat to Vios.

• mmsaidi (Member) on Aug 24, 2008 at 12:51 pm

workmanship looks shoddy but the exterior looks just ok. the car won’t sell if not because of its brand and technology. one may assume it is one of many cars which is designed and manufactured in china. honda engineers were merely make-up the front and rear Jazz and the result was inproportionate nose and butt parts. our proton can do a lot better with the design if you see it deeply.

vios will be lead marginally with its complete package offered to buyers.

• MyviKiller (Member) on Aug 24, 2008 at 3:32 pm

Now this is way much much better than the old one… No more girls with the G-string rear lamp design…

• PROTON SUCKS (Member) on Aug 24, 2008 at 4:17 pm

on second thought, the rear lights now look pretty ugly, but its better than the vios, but maybe its honda’s plan so that people will buy the jazz

• hash74109 (Member) on Aug 24, 2008 at 4:18 pm

hey guys…the new honda city i-vtec rocks…definetly a much better version …but here s a catch by HONDA…..HONDA is gonna launch the above honda city as an additional variant to the existing version. This meeans that the current generation would continue being sold throughout. This version might cost 1/10th more than the current V-tec…just got it confirmed with a friend in HONDA Motors….not sure abt other countries but in India….the launch is most likely to be in Diwali….Honda city would continue selling the current variant for the i-DSI versions

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Aug 24, 2008 at 4:38 pm

brilliant

• sugen (Member) on Aug 24, 2008 at 4:56 pm

The car spotted is for sure in Honda Thailand… why? If u click on the below link provided by xstan…It return the below error..

welcometoThailand is no longer active on Flickr.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/29781768@N02/?saved=1

I think the link is force to be deleted! Honda has tried its best to keep the car’s final shape from being known because it’s a crucial model for the company.

• alanchai (Member) on Aug 24, 2008 at 7:27 pm

mytouch said,

if u guys not believe, lets see the real one when launching, the actual ugly then the photo one and also the current city has better looks then the new one.

• mukhlisin28 (Member) on Aug 24, 2008 at 7:42 pm

Rasanya Isfufushah dah salah…. world ranking sekarang #1 adalah HONDA manakala Toyota dah jatuh ranking #2

• ignas (Member) on Aug 24, 2008 at 10:18 pm

honda boleh!

• rt (Member) on Aug 24, 2008 at 10:27 pm

Dear mukhlisin28,
    The latest news was that Toyota is numero uno.. overtaking GM

http://www.finfacts.ie/irishfinancenews/article_1013406.shtml

RT..

• rt (Member) on Aug 24, 2008 at 10:31 pm

more on that Toyota vs Honda.
    In 2007, Toyota sold 9 million cars, while Honda sold close to 4 million cars.

• ironhart007 (Member) on Aug 24, 2008 at 10:38 pm

all I can say is

1. more power, more fuel consumption

2. looks can be deceiving, let’s talk about reliability first

3. how fast can you go on traffic jam roads?

4. We are not formula 1 drivers, paddle shift is for high performance cars..please wake up honda…if you can’t even beat the lancer GT.

5. Talk only, wait for the results and find out how good it is.

• ignas (Member) on Aug 24, 2008 at 10:57 pm

cant wait to see how good it is…deng!

• neverthar (Member) on Aug 25, 2008 at 2:54 am

Damn…sure looks nice but the question is these:

a.) Would Honda price a Vios J-Spec like model into the price range?

b.) Any chance we’d see a 1.3 model too?

c.) Are the rims (for higher spec presumably) would be of those as seen from the China sneakshots?

• Bebelon (Member) on Aug 25, 2008 at 8:01 am

I visited the Honda showroom yesterday, the sales manager said City will be launched in Nov or Dec in Malaysia…booking is already open..price wont more than 90k

• kington (Member) on Aug 25, 2008 at 8:37 am

I tried the new Jazz with the 1.5 litre 120hp engine. For those who are into figures, they’ll be somewhat disappointed. To me, figures are academic and the most important issue is to ensure just how efficient and capable the car is when the engine and gearbox are bolted into the car.

My cousin’s 4 year old City i-DSI has begun to show signs of tiredness. The gearbox is noisy with constant “clacky” noises during acceleration and upon engagement, there is a certain amount of lag before the drive kicks in. I can ssure you, his car is propoerly maintained by Honda Malaysia. We’ve made noises to seek a gearbox change but the constant deferral has caused our warranty to expire and the bill for a gearbox change is high, though is still reasonable for 1.5 litre car. My friend’s 2 year-old City VTEC is working well, except for constant rattling noises coming from the dash despite frequent visits to the service centre.

My Vios suffers the same, though somehow it has been rectified properly. No, I’m not here to fuel the battle between Honda and Toyota, but for prospective buyers in this segment, bear in mind that these are “budget” cars and are often beefed up with as much spec as possible to edge them closer to their elder sibbling.

Problems will always arise and though Toyota is the biggest manufacturer and most reliable in many countries, it doesn’t mean that thier cars are bullet prrof. Figures show that their cars have the least serious and amount of problems. In some countries, you’d be suprised at who’s in the no.1 reliability spot.

• raptorclans (Member) on Aug 25, 2008 at 8:50 am

Sweet stuff… gotta love the Optimus Prime grille and the Type-R hatch’s influence at the front :D

• car_craze (Member) on Aug 25, 2008 at 8:57 am

Honda designers running out of ideas? Why the BMW rear lamps? Oooops.. i forgot…it’s for BMW wannabes! Well, at least it’s better looking than the MyVi facelift!

• wochomi (Member) on Aug 25, 2008 at 9:34 am

Defend out national pride against these foreign road invaders! Say no to ‘foreign brand’ cars! I think proton protection money is something like a ‘bar fine’ in Thailand.

• xstan (Member) on Aug 25, 2008 at 10:13 am

Noticed that the lay out of the dash features is similar to the present unit. The placment of 3 dial knobs is placed excatly at the bottom of the audio system. The air cond vent is on top with red stop button between the vent.

It has cool paddle shifts & hope like Jazz it came with auto cruise.

To cater for much economy affordable sector, they should introduce 1.3L unit & is sure kick Vios j-unk butt.

The thing is…its definately way better then the Vios is all dept..better features, better exterior , better dash, definately spacious then the Vios. 5 speed tranny City against conservatove 4 speed Vios.

• ReactiX (Member) on Aug 25, 2008 at 10:44 am

Well, overall is ok for me. A fresh new look for new city. Front looks nice with some touch of New Accord/FCX. Rear looks nice with some touch of BMW and Dugong. Hell with wannabes, as long as it looks good, its good! The panel looks cheap, but is ok. The steering wheel looks a little weird, since its a direct copy from Civic. but for the cabin space, not sure. From the photos, the front seats are very close to each other. Some big fellow may shoulder-to-shoulder with each other? Engine is at 120hp (probably?) and is quite nice. But spare the paddle shift, doesnt even fit in this car. Moreover with all the accessories stripped in Malaysia market prior to sale, it may just be a plain dream of paddle shifting your gear :p
    But sometimes photos can be deceiving, just like the launch of last city. It just looks nice in the pictures, but when it came to the real eyes, they are so odd looking, like a kura kura with high roofline and short front and rear. Hopefully doesnt happen with this batch of City.
    And to Dugong lover/owner, feel the disappointment in your odd weird funny idiotic looking Dugong!

• tebuan (Member) on Aug 25, 2008 at 11:33 am

i guess a lot of people are confused with hp and PS.
    if city ivtec is rated at 120ps = 118.3hp
    ie 1ps= 0.9863 hp

for smaller discplacement just minus 2 from ps figure.
    so go figure. 120 ps not equal to 120hp. Please do correct me if i am wrong.

• yeecheeliang (Member) on Aug 25, 2008 at 12:25 pm

New City content sport and luxury element, European design for front and rear view and come with sport shift paddle if the price is around RM8XXXX i think honda want to conquer Malaysia 1.5CC market is like “makan kacang”.

• gogorock (Member) on Aug 25, 2008 at 1:18 pm

Hi, finally honda city interior is out.

No offence, but the interior doesnt look convincing. Where is the current nice dashboard and nice player?

Sigh…..honda, pls give back the current interior design and of course, keep the nice looking exterior design.

Btw, i am a honda lover, waiting for this machine for 8 months already since Feb08.

• ignas (Member) on Aug 25, 2008 at 4:08 pm

lol i have been waiting for 2 years while driving my 7 yr old junk national car. honda city fast fast come!

if the new center panel really tat bad, perhaps can change with the current’s one since they layout is almost similair.

• cyborgx (Member) on Aug 25, 2008 at 4:09 pm

I do not see how the rear part of city has dugong looks. Wats wrong with u guys with dugong. Vios front has dugong looks for sure not the rear part of city lah. Interior wise, it is as disappointing as the new vios in ALL variant, even the premium one. Uh.. oh if u guys still complain then should opt for 3 series or civic/altis loh.

one thing for sure i do pity recent 2006 city buyers coz their second hand value just dropped to the lowest in the shortest time (imo).

• alpha0201 (Member) on Aug 25, 2008 at 5:13 pm

cyborgx,

That’s the very reason why we get crappy designed car. I was excited at first when Toyota announced the new Vios back then. When it was launched, I was like “WTF?! I kept wondering what were they were thinking. Surely it’s the work of indecisive committee.

City on the other hand is a pleasant surprise. Looks more proportionate & better looking than the other.

• ignas (Member) on Aug 25, 2008 at 6:02 pm

maybe the honda and toyota are exchanging designers lol. at first the current honda city first batch looks very disproportionated while previous vios tooks all the attention. but soon its going to be the other way round.

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on Aug 25, 2008 at 8:30 pm

THe plastic interior Looks BORING now.

• Lopburi99 (Member) on Aug 25, 2008 at 9:04 pm

It’s been a couple of days now since I first saw these photos and commented on them. Surprisingly, the interior dash looks is growing on me somewhat. Sometimes in the case of a new design it takes a little time for some appeal/acceptance to develop within many of us. Undoubtedly there is some degree of resignation which eventually allows me to give up on my wished-for feature and begin to accept the new, although initially disappointing, design. I really hope the interior will continue to grow on me. Oh, one hopeful thought: I did not notice a “ZX” designation on the rear. Could it be possible a “ZX” version will be offered additionally could be more appealing in the inside? Somebody commented earlier he heard from reliable sources there would be two City versions. Maybe I am a hopeless romantic, always holding up hope!

• Lopburi99 (Member) on Aug 25, 2008 at 9:49 pm

Hey, just found a new photo on a different site. Check out:

http://www.southzonejazzclub.com/smf/index.php?topic=1800.0

It shows a view of the side and rear – looks really good! The camera angle makes the rear look better than on the first photo of the blue City on this site, and it is much clearer.

Also there is a description of the S (MT, AT), V AT(ABS, AS) and the SV AT (AS) versions. Unfortunately I can’t read Thai! (Please somebody translate for us).

I hope that photo of the side/rear is real and not a Photoshop creation. The lines on the side look great! And thankfully, the allow wheels look much nicer IMHO. Also, from this photo doesn’t it appear the new City may have a longer wheelbase? Sure hope so. And I think maybe the paddle shift comes on the SV only.

• Lopburi99 (Member) on Aug 25, 2008 at 9:56 pm

Just found the translation:

Honda City 2008/09 S Model
    * beige tone interior
    * Remote Control Key with Immobilizer
    * 3rd rear brake indicator
    * 15 inch wheel with wheels cover
    * Sterio 2 din mp3 playing enable
    * Front Dual speaker

Honda City 2008/09 V Model
    * beige tone interior
    * 15 inch Alloy wheel
    * Advanced Audio system Sterio 2 din mp3 playing enable
    * Dual speaker of front and rear
    * chromium door handle
    * Driver seat low-high adjustment enable
    * Luggage under of rear passenger seat
    * ABS,EBD,BA
    * Dual airbag SRS (V AS only)

Honda City 2008 SV Model
    * Black sporty looking tone interior
    * 16 inch Alloy wheel
    * Fox lamp in the front and rear bumper
    * chromium exhaust pipe
    * Turn light indicator of side mirror
    * Switch steering
    * Paddle Shift
    * Rear seater can be folded 60:40 enable
    * Incline forward rear back seat
    * Front armrest
    * Map lighting
    * Advanced Audio system Sterio 2 din mp3 playing enable
    * Dual speaker of front and rear
    * chromium door handle
    * Driver seat low-high adjustment enable
    * Luggage under of rear passenger seat
    * ABS,EBD,BA
    * Dual airbag SRS

Unfortunately it does not appear there will be a distinct ZX version although the SV does have a “Black sporty looking tone interior” and a 60/40 rear seat – looking forward to seeing that!

• Lopburi99 (Member) on Aug 25, 2008 at 10:13 pm

And (lastly) I also just fount prices (in baht – obviously for the Thai version of City):

S MT 530,000 ???

S AT 565,000 ???

V AT 610,000 ???

V AT(AS) 630,000 ???

SV AT(AS) 665,000 ???

Looking forward to reading everybody’s comments. Cheers all!

• king (Member) on Aug 26, 2008 at 12:53 am

this car rocks…hope honda prices it correctly..

haha…waiting for the DOOM of Dugong!! Toyota engineering and design team reminds me of a lazy/sleepyhead leader that we have in our country. Do lousy job but still can get majority support of the rakyat.

poor gullible malaysians.

• king (Member) on Aug 26, 2008 at 1:22 am

mmsaidi said,
    August 24, 2008 @ 12:51 pm

vios will be lead marginally with its complete package offered to buyers.

___

what’s the complete package of dugong vios?

Answer:
    – stone-age 4speed gearbox that increases fuel consumption/noise and reduces comfort
    – inferior, outdated, noisy and overrated 1.5L engine that produces only 105hp
    – ugly dugong design exterior package
    – poor built quality interior
    – luxurious and “priceless” chrome toyota emblem and badge
    – cheap number plates that either drop out or turn yellow in 1 year.
    – higher cost of ownership during 1st 3 years compared to city.

• bukitdamansara (Member) on Aug 26, 2008 at 1:36 am

Lopburi99…good job! sawadikappppp! ;p

• king (Member) on Aug 26, 2008 at 1:39 am

kington said,
    August 25, 2008 @ 8:37 am

I tried the new Jazz with the 1.5 litre 120hp engine. For those who are into figures, they’ll be somewhat disappointed. To me, figures are academic and the most important issue is to ensure just how efficient and capable the car is when the engine and gearbox are bolted into the car

___

i know what u mean…however feeling an acceleration is subjective and not accurate..sometimes u don’t need to feel the torque/strong jerk for u to accelerate fast. Thats excellent engineering.Try driving a S350 from standstill and see. Its smooth and actually u accelerate fast without feeling the jerk. U would be fooled into thinking a vios can outsprint a S350 until u try racing one if you have a chance. The vios feels faster due to the strong jerk but u will only smell the S350’s smoke in the end.

• kingv6 (Member) on Aug 26, 2008 at 7:55 am

I really hope HM will not use the same dashnoard centre piece, or at least make it a dark colore compared to this cheap plastice looking console. The rest are fine….

• mukhri88 (Member) on Aug 26, 2008 at 10:00 am

Just add RM20k to Thai prices and you’ll get Malaysian price. Cars designed for developing countries is almost always RM20k more expensive than our neighbours Thailand and Indonesia.

• Lopburi99 (Member) on Aug 26, 2008 at 11:56 am

Most of you probably know Thai prices include air cond and VAT. Being new to S.E.A., this is really refreshing to learn. In the U.S., various taxes and other costs (transportation to the dealer, dealer prep charges, paint sealant and other dealer forced extras, registration fees, etc.) are almost never included in the prices advertized everywhere on TV, radio, and in print. We were always bowled over when provided with the final nasty number. In many ways life here is much more straightforward, simple and pleasant, and with the great healthy fruits and food I know will live an extra ten years for sure. Love it here. :)

BTW, never being one for practicality, I am considering selecting the new beautiful metallic red color City, of which I shudder about durability in the blistering sun. Second choice would be metallic silver but there are so so many silver cars everywhere. Here in S.E.A., are paint sealant processes (if available) effective? If so, I would think this is money very well spent for any, especially colorful, new car.

• Lopburi99 (Member) on Aug 26, 2008 at 12:17 pm

Well stated by king about torque. Somewhat off topic (sorry), but in my many lives I once owned a V12 Jaguar XJS. When excelerating you never felt the trans, and never heard anything. You just felt your breath taken away as your back was mashed into your seatback! Smooth and silent as an super-powerful electric motor. Although I also like the roar of a Ferrari type car, the XJS was an awesome driving experience I will never forget.

• mukhri88 (Member) on Aug 26, 2008 at 3:53 pm

lopburi.. are you like an American currently residing in Thailand? Hopefully when you get your hands on the new City (such massive difference in power compared to your previous ride, how will you cope) you can share some personal assesment, yes?

• hyundai (Member) on Aug 26, 2008 at 3:55 pm

Honda Vios butt… The interior looks so compared to Latio.

• Lopburi99 (Member) on Aug 26, 2008 at 6:16 pm

mukhri88.. yes I just retired to Thailand from the USA. I’ll be test driving a new City as soon as the dealer gets one, which she said was on Sept 12. I’ll be happy to post my opinions. Coping-wise, everything in Thailand is massively different for me, language being foremost and most difficult (there are almost no English speaking people in Lopburi) but I am picking up Thai quickly. The short little words are not difficult to remember. Relating to the luxury of the Jag XJS, it’s just a very fond distant memory (being 20 years ago). I realize whichever car I get here will fall short of those I’ve had in the past because I don’t have the income I once had. I just want a well built, tight, reasonably comfortable, sharp looking car with decent economy and adequate responsiveness. As long as it doesn’t bog down upon acceleration I think I can cope ok.

• mmsaidi (Member) on Aug 27, 2008 at 12:14 am

sorry guys… toyota does not become no.1 just for nothing. there is nothing wrong with dugong or dolphin design and 4 gear transmission. Study shows that toyota 4 gear transmission iECT s at par with honda 5 gear transmission. toyota manufactures car perfectly and keep customer happy with after sales services.

to honda lovers, don’t easy get excited. wait until the car is launched, test drive and compare performance. read review written by professional or go to yahoo car comparison. i tested all toyota and honda cars before i decided that toyotas are a lot better than hondas. i remember people labelled corolla was a better car than accord in 80s but in the 90s it reversed because of the marketing strategy adopted by Kah Motor promoting honda as prestige cars.

this decade belong to toyota (no. 1 car beating GM) and honda must strive to impress.

and King, you must be honda salesman who want so bad to recover the sales commission lost to vios.

good luck King.

• orangetribal (Member) on Aug 27, 2008 at 12:23 am

heard from a honda salesman,they will stop the order for the current honda city in the month of sept,after that all the current model will be send to third world country.and the new one will replace in the end of the year,he said is around the range of 90k.thats painful to my wallet but i plan to buy it cause of its fuel efficiency compare to the cheap ass looking vios..

• puni_puni (Member) on Aug 27, 2008 at 6:19 am

what ever u all comment…this may become my future car…really looking forward to see its….hope its better on action from the picture.

• ignas (Member) on Aug 27, 2008 at 12:09 pm

yeap and they also said only 1.5 ivtec will be available in malaysia.

• tananiki (Member) on Aug 27, 2008 at 12:19 pm

S AT RM97k
    V AT RM101k

• tehcho1 (Member) on Aug 28, 2008 at 12:49 am

i dont think so. so long i hv waited 4 the city, i was very sad, it
    follow the same trend as toyota, cheap plastic interior, same or even
    worst than potong gen2 or waja…
    if it is the same design come out in bolehland, i would rather choose
    latio.
    seem like all the new car are getting less improvement in term of the
    material used on interior….look at very old corolla n civic….

hai…………

• franson_CE (Member) on Aug 28, 2008 at 12:51 pm

well, seems this new honda city interior is making many ppl no appetite~ so am I~ A car for me, interior is much more important to me since we are all the time sitting in the car driving~ not the outlook~ but I feel disappointing with this interior design~ thought it will use honda jazz interior but it doesn’t~~
    this makes me gonna change my mind to go on low cost potong car~ I know potong cant compare with H or T batch car, but i check the price of waja CPS, persona or gen 2, it’s about 20k to 30k difference~ that’s a LOT~~

hmm~ do u guys think it’s worth to invest on this new City or save that 20k – 30k to go on local potong car~?

normally potong car can last long for how many years? I am not afford to change car always~ when invest a car, my planning is staying with it for at least 8 years~ anyone can give suggestions and opinions? thanks~

• intermilan (Member) on Aug 28, 2008 at 5:28 pm

look like i am going against the tide of praise and glorification here.. but the overall design theme of this intro-level honda (in m’sia at least) is definitely over-design. its too ‘strong’ for a car that is basically a city car for point A to B transport. perhaps the theme is strong presence and futuristic. and its to elevate the car status. The exterior design and some interior design & gadgets is also designed to amplify the choosen theme.

whatever it is, surely lots and lots of people will simply fall in love with it whatever the price/spec/actual capability are. as long as its a honda, its doesn’t really matters anymore. the 2nd hand value will surely be high which is the ‘get-of-of-jail card’ love by every buyer, just in case a newer city or civic is even ‘better’ 1-2 years down the road..

All hail the Hondas!

• tehcho1 (Member) on Aug 28, 2008 at 8:42 pm

agreed with franson.
    both dont choose, i rather stay with my 6++yrs old wira, interior very very far better car…comfort than vios….

new car seem to be more cheap nowadays. all the car com seem like 1 2 earn more $$$ and try to cut cost as much as possible.

now seem like latio is one of the best choice, best in interior, 1.6 some more,
    very big car, if city sell above 90k then= to latio 92k, so which one u choose?

nowaday, $$ not easy to earn but easy to spend. spend wisely.

• franson_CE (Member) on Aug 29, 2008 at 10:03 am

Paul, is there any latest news about new Honda City?
    by the way, I think people out there are most concern about its price~
    hope Honda Malaysia think twice to come out a reasonable price~

• king (Member) on Aug 30, 2008 at 10:06 am

mmsaidi,

Pls grow up and don’t give immature comments ! Does pointing out the flaws of toyota mean that i am a honda salesman?

Face the fact ok…the vios was a sub standard “3rd world” toyota.

And what study are you refering to? mmsaidi childish study? if 4 speed gearbox is better than 5 speed, what for all luxury cars have 5, 6 or 7 speed? Prove it ! Why camry 2.4 got 5-speed auto? So vios is better than camry??? If true, then toyota must be ripping all camry buyers!!!
    Or u r saying toyota gearbox is the best in the world? Thats pure crap!!…If you say ZF has the best gearboxes at least acceptable although not entirely true. Thats what hardcore fanboys like you do all the time. All talk and no prove.

That is just a sour grape statement.

Oh…the saga’s 3 speed gearbos is better than the vios 4-speed …cheaper to maintain…in your study…right?

• tehcho1 (Member) on Aug 30, 2008 at 11:38 pm

king u r totally right!!
    vios is 4th country car…..

i m in the middle between latio n new city……if city price above 90k.
    so now have to wait for the launch 2 see the real car….
    i think and dont expect it will change much here with the picture show by paul tan if launch here in bolehland with very cheap and un-organize interior n dashboard….

initially i would expect it is the same interior as new jazz…i really like the interior in the jazz when test drive…so sophisticate, organize, nice to touch but too expensive 109k for such a small car…

• dviolator (Member) on Sep 02, 2008 at 9:07 am

just my 2 cents:

if the new honda city is to vs the vios market, the price should not be 90K but instead at a more competitive price range.

to keep the cost low, interior quality may drop, but knowing the likes of Honda and Toyota, its like a contra value for a good technologically advance engine and parts. you cannot be comparing to older cars as the older cars were released in a different time, that is long before price of materials went up sky high. hence to keep up with the ever increasing cost, there has to be a balance.

if new cars were to compare with local potong cars and the recent batch of proton cars, the difference in 20k is due to the difference in quality, costing and value. do you get the good old mitsubishi engines in proton cars these days? its all campro, and i believe everyone knows the hoohaa on campro engines. you don’t hear brand new imported cars stopping dead right or giving problems in the middle of the road right? with the amount of servicing (time, $$ and pain) a proton requires, i think the extra 20k is a-ok.

hence, if you really want to compare the likes, compare it with the same car of its class, an apple to apple comparison. vios vs city vs latio. now this shouldn’t be too hard to make the decision right?

as for all die hard fans, regardless of what people say, you already have a defence grid / parameter around your likings, so it is unlikely to sway your decision. :P

• hata120ps (Member) on Sep 02, 2008 at 11:54 am

i already book for city 2009…haha,,, i can still bear wait for another 4 months

i’m looking foward in city 2009… my dreamcasr now…:)

• franson_CE (Member) on Sep 02, 2008 at 11:12 pm

hey hata~ the honda city is already opened for booking ya? how’s the price~? so the salesman said u will be getting the car around Jan’09 ?~~

• hata120ps (Member) on Sep 03, 2008 at 12:44 pm

hi franson~
    yup..the new city already opening for booking since last month
    the S/A said the new city will arrive on mid of DEC’08 and launching on early of Jan’08

im the 18th booker, so the 1st batch sure count on me..that’s S/A told to me. i really hope so can get the new car b4 CNY…

i think maybe some area want 2clear current stock so din’t open for book yet..

well..r u interest 2?

• bel (Member) on Sep 03, 2008 at 5:38 pm

WAY BETTER THAN DUGONG, BUT SURE THE “PRICE” ALSO….
    WAY…. “BETTER” *wink*

• ignas (Member) on Sep 03, 2008 at 6:06 pm

hehe count me in too cos me also booked the car already. 7 days till launching in thailand and literally about 4 months to get the car…sigh….

• gogorock (Member) on Sep 03, 2008 at 7:13 pm

Hi HATA, r u malaysian or thai?

Just wondering as I also want to make a booking now if u r malaysian, by the way, how much is the price for this city when you book?

• gogorock (Member) on Sep 03, 2008 at 7:22 pm

To Honda Malaysia:

i think from the feedback from everybody here, clearly saying that if this Honda city going to have that strange Orange color dull dashboard, with that plastic and ugly interio, even though you make this city with such damn good looking exterior, your sales might still not able to compete to vios!

I just wonder why when many of us waiting for this city for almost 2 years (for me, i wait since Jan 08) , and with such great effort to improve your rear side, and with such a stunning front view, why the hack make the interior such ugly? Cant you guys just make it same like the new jass?

Dont tell me is because of the cost….cos it will not b acceptable!! THink of it man, you are so damn close to perfection, why cant u just finish it with our big applause by giving us an acceptable interior???? Do u know with that interior, it is worse than our proton waja interior. Sigh……….

from a honda lover who is now upset

• franson_CE (Member) on Sep 03, 2008 at 8:14 pm

Yes~ i am interested much for this honda city too but at least i need to know what will be the price tag that our Honda Malaysia will put it on~ hey listen Honda Malaysia, you better “steady” for this Honda city price if the interior design is really like the pictures shown above~ Majority are really disappointed with the design as we all hoping so much that the new Honda City interior will similar as new Honda Jazz~

• tehcho1 (Member) on Sep 03, 2008 at 10:20 pm

totally agreed with gogorock & franson, really very dissappointed with the interior…..

like i said, shift to latio or sx4…we got other alternative brand to choose…

• bel (Member) on Sep 04, 2008 at 11:10 am

how much how much how much?????

• hata120ps (Member) on Sep 04, 2008 at 1:03 pm

Hi Gogorock,

yup,Im malaysian.i paid the 2k booking fee for the new city.the actual price i also dunno maybe around 88k to 92k. For me, the interior from spy shot seems not the problem 4 me. it look likes neat n simple and it just thailand style…maybe got some change n improve in malaysia…hopefully

What i likes enkoy in new honda city is exterior n technology, now upgrade to the 120ps n among the 1500cc it was the powerest…!!

Hi Franson~
    i think the should rounding 88k to 92k.if the new honda city is to vs the vios market, the price should not be 90K but instead at a more competitive price range.

hurry…franson n gogorock. make the booking.. lets be 1st batch owner :)
    we have believe honda is reliable n worth it………..cheers~

• topgunthang (Member) on Sep 04, 2008 at 8:56 pm

create a product but engineer flaws into it so you can improve on the nextgen? sort of like iphone 1st gen? nintendo ds with wep encription instead of wpa? batman begins vs the dark knight?

• doraemonkiller (Member) on Sep 04, 2008 at 10:04 pm

decide to book for the new honda city but after looking at its interior and exterior, I change my mind. Current city design is better than this toy car look.

• Lopburi99 (Member) on Sep 04, 2008 at 10:08 pm

topgunthang you are funny !! LOL !!

BTW, next week I’ll be seeing the new City here…..I’ll let you know.

• gogorock (Member) on Sep 06, 2008 at 2:23 pm

Hi Hata:

Thanks for your info and invitation….Haha…

No lah, i want to have look on the actual car first, especially the interior part before i can make any decision….actually, there are more cars coming….we should broader our views…some upcoming cars worth to take a look, example : Kia Forte.

I will probably decide it in Jan 2009. Now , lets wait and see and hope more good cars coming into Malaysia market. And of course, good pricing.

• sam1983 (Member) on Sep 07, 2008 at 6:03 pm

The Honda City 2009 should follow the new pricing of Jazz which is an additional ~ RM6k. We can safely put the price between RM90k to RM96k for basic model and full spec model. And Honda City does need to compete directly with Vios as Honda places value in quality than quantity. IE: High end features such as 5-speed gearbox. Even Altis do not have such gearbox yet.

• doraemonkiller (Member) on Sep 08, 2008 at 12:58 am

i though the price should be 80k-90k
    normally honda city cheaper than vios

• hata120ps (Member) on Sep 08, 2008 at 3:35 pm

good day:)

0909 is the date thailand launching the new city ..anyone in thailand currently??
    pls feel free go to nearest show room check it out the real look new city..
    n share with us ….

thks^ ^

• ignas (Member) on Sep 08, 2008 at 11:52 pm

1 day left, seems soooo long… i noticed the thailand new honda city teaser site, the rims at the background look exactly the same as above. argk…! hav the darn feeling that the previous rendered honda city is the actual car.

• alansmith14 (Member) on Sep 10, 2008 at 7:10 am

the salesman told us can get the new city on this year december, so we already booking but dont know that is true o not……..

• mukhri88 (Member) on Sep 15, 2008 at 4:00 pm

Well Lopburi, it’s been three days, whaddaya think of the new car?

• alansmith14 (Member) on Sep 15, 2008 at 5:27 pm

is nice but here still have to wait until january after cny

• ajay5580 (Member) on Oct 03, 2008 at 11:09 pm

new city in spore about 2weeks ago. 1.5L (M) $64k with coe , 1.5L(A) $ 66k with coe. but i saw new city 1.5L (A) 15’rim(basic), 16’rim(full spec) and modulus today at motor show at spore. the exterior has sport looks, the interior dashboard & steering have civic touch. seats r better than in aboce pics. new city stand far 4rm vios n latio. it has luxury & class looks. cabin is bigger space. worth for money. bit longer n lower base than previous model. hope malaysia’s price b less than 90k. ! honda rockss!!!!!!

• mrgoal (Member) on Nov 19, 2008 at 5:35 pm

the front design is better than current vios…but back copy old vios…overall design is better but quality toyota is better…honda in japan having lost profit because of gear box problem, and some others…toyota or lexus is a winner in market…So for me i prefer vois…

• adiel on Feb 18, 2009 at 8:19 pm

first when i buy this car,i changes the rim…

• Wyman on Feb 27, 2009 at 12:11 am

I owned a year 2007 Honda Idsi, now waiting for my gearbox warranty claim. The technician told me tht gearbox is always prb for my model n i have to pray hard this wont happened in the future as to replace a new gearbox cost bout RM27k. Crazy!!!

• rockmadhavan on Mar 03, 2009 at 4:44 am

interior design like tiru vios, and remeber, tis is the latest version than the 2007 vios so wait for 2 more years and toyota will be releasing their new vios, more better than tis city

city always come late so tat they can tiru vios

conclusion…..

toyota- intel

honda- amd

• I like both exterior design of Vios (dugong) and Honda City (Definitely Honda City nicer), so what I care is about the interior and price (note: I just normal pay worker). If let say I really want to buy, I will buy the Vios J (70k++) + "enhancement" on change damn nice leather seats + TV DVD with damn good sound system from my frens "offer" around 5k – 6k is far good enuf. Honda City with price range between 85k – 90k could no let me have more money to upgrade it myself, especially a ppl like me really need a good comfortable interior who are in traffic jam in KL daily.

• mmg cantik tp banyak kekurangan.

• abhay on Apr 06, 2009 at 1:15 am

well no comments,

just i want 2 know more about it…

• adeeb~ on Apr 19, 2009 at 7:15 pm

vios is more affordable than honda. erm eventhough i like honda but for money wisely, maybe should think of buying vios lah.;-0

• PeaceZAL on Apr 22, 2009 at 8:37 pm

Memang cantik dan bergaya serta sporty..

nampak besar jika dibanding dengan honda city model sebelum ini.

memang berbaloi jika dapat membeli dan memakainya.

rekabentuk yang futuristik dan canggih…

tak dinafikan semua model honda yang dikeluarkan memang evergreen walau kereta dah berusia lebih 15 tahun nanti..

• Tamingsari_71 on Apr 22, 2009 at 8:43 pm

Sememangnya rekabentuk honda city lebih menarik dan anggun dari Toyota Vios yang tampak macam dugong je..

Tahniah kepada jurutera honda yang lebih kedepan dan memenuhi kehendak dan citarasa masayarakat zaman kini. Bukan hanya golongan remaja je yang berkenan, tapi atuk aku pun minat gak! Dia kata kalau orang tua bawak keta ni pun aku rasa nampak muda! hehehehehehe…..

Tuk…belikan satu untuk cucu tuk ni!

• aku xnampak yang city is better than vios…its already have their attraction utk menarik peminatnya.kira adil for both cars la.but i just wanna say somethg bout the new city, its looks futuristic at the front but rear is hampeh.doesnt looks futuristic like the front.try to look at the rear for a minute then u will realise it…cuba try test tgk!!!

• SuHaN on May 06, 2009 at 8:57 pm

my aunt bought it….

super cool!!!!

SuHaN

• kartik on May 20, 2009 at 11:15 pm

it has a superb exterior & interiors

• Ultraman on Jul 27, 2009 at 11:55 pm

Nice design of car.I've Already book it.But why took so long coz I've to wait until 3 months to get it?Good bye Dugong.

• soman on Aug 06, 2009 at 6:03 am

this car is amazing!!!!!!!!!!

• Qhelabu Art on Sep 01, 2009 at 8:16 am

Gonna get this one… this one ftw .. definitely pawn dugong.. Dugong suck big time

• shivraj on Oct 03, 2009 at 8:30 am

interiors are not good…

• 2Cents on Nov 04, 2009 at 7:44 pm

Just owned the city and quite dissapointed with the interior quality but the looks is very nice .Back looks like Beemer :P

• me me on Nov 26, 2009 at 8:34 pm

aku tak penah nampak vios tu better..tersangat hampeh..satu satunya ok pasal vios ialah high resale value..interior mmg hampeh.aku dah bawak untuk 3 hari mmg tak best pun..lagi best naik basikal aku..

• I'm still contemplating between city n vios..but i must say i like city waaaay better than vios. it's just that vios is as reliable as city too, in terms of quality n reliability. or maybe that was just from what i understood after weeks of researching about those two cars.

Let say my budget is around RM73k and below, which car is more practical and affordable, of course?

Thanks!

• mat lee on Mar 28, 2010 at 11:42 pm

look like a stupid shape car laaa…hodoh…

• ina's on Aug 10, 2010 at 9:23 am

i want this car…superb

• ASHANSH JAIN on Nov 29, 2010 at 7:18 pm

it is very bad car i hate this honda &its car bcoz it doesnt give proper service. to the customers that take deal from especiaaaaaly in jaipur .ESPESICALLLY in pink city showroooooom.

• ??????? on Feb 19, 2012 at 12:28 pm

Nice design of car.I’ve Already book it.But why took so long coz I’ve to wait until 3 months to get it?Good bye Dugong.