New Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution now in Malaysia!

Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution Malaysia
Click for hi-res photo

The Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution is now in Malaysia, priced at RM 315,436.10 on the road without insurance together with a 1 year or 20,000km warranty. This is more expensive than what the Lancer Evolution 9 was asking for (a tad over RM280K), however looking at the specs list there are lots of extra comforts that seem to justify the sticker price.

The Evo 9 was quite a barebones car – it had the powerful engine and the advanced all-wheel drive system but that was it. It had manual climate control and a very basic audio system. In contrast to that, the new Lancer Evolution features a premium 9-speaker Rockford Fosgate Premium Sound System, and comfortable and relaxed cruising is very much achievable thanks to the automatic mode of the Twin Clutch SST gearbox. This time the officially imported Evolution comes without that pesky 180km/h JDM speed limiter!

Continue reading for the rest of the details…

The engine under the hood is a new 4B11T all-aluminium 2.0 litre MIVEC DOHC engine with a quick-spooling twin scroll turbocharger, which finally ends the 4G63T’s long faithful service in the Lancer Evolution series. In the stock Lancer Evolution X state of tune it produces 295 PS at 6,500rpm and 366Nm of torque at 3,500rpm (interestingly, this is actually less than the previously sold Evo 9’s 400Nm).

This engine is mated to the 6-speed Twin Clutch SST gearbox (ratios: 1st – 3.655, 2nd – 2.368, 3rd – 1.754, 4th – 1.322, 5th – 1.008, 6th – 0.775), which has three driving modes – Normal, Sport and Super Sport. For daily driving just leave it in Normal mode. Manual shifting is enabled via lightweight magnesium paddle shifters on the steering column.

The car rides on a MacPherson strut suspension at the front and a multi-link design at the rear. Shocks are Bilstein, springs are Eibach and wheels are 18 inch BBS lightweight aluminium wheels wrapped with 18 inch low profile wide tyres. Brakes are massive Brembo disc brakes with 4 pot calipers at the front and 2 pot calipers at the rear for excellent stopping power.

Other equipment include 7 airbags (2 x front, 2 x side, 2 x curtain and 1 driver knee), ELR seatbelts with pre-tensioners and force limiters, adaptive front lighting, HID headlamps, Recaro full bucket front seats, genuine leather-wrapped steering wheel, cruise control, keyless entry and start as well as a sunroof.

And then there is of course the Super All Wheel Control (S-AWC) system integrating Active Centre Differential, Active Yaw Control, Active Stability Control and Sport ABS.

The Lancer Evolution is available in three colors: a choice of Red Metallic (shown in pic above), Phantom Black Pearl or a delicious Solid White.

The question now is what next? Will Mitsubishi Motors Japan allow Mitsubishi Motors Malaysia to make available the less powerful Mitsubishi Galant Fortis Ralliart for sale here in Malaysia as the Lancer Ralliart? Looking at the price of the Evo X, a Lancer Ralliart with 240 PS, Twin Clutch SST and a less sophisticated all-wheel drive could go for RM250K, positioning it as a more premium offering to the Civic Type R and Golf GTI.

PHOTO GALLERY: Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution
Click thumbnails to view high resolution photo

[cpg_album:61]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• armandd (Member) on Aug 24, 2008 at 3:50 am

wow, paul u r still awake? hehe..

• xenith (Member) on Aug 24, 2008 at 4:26 am

I like this…
    Maybe Paul just got back from somewhere?
    hehe…

• car_lose (Member) on Aug 24, 2008 at 8:53 am

hohohoho so expensive lah..
    i`m looking for more photo from interrior

• trustgtr (Member) on Aug 24, 2008 at 9:05 am

the wheels look small for this car..or is it just me??..30k more than the previous model offered by mits m’sia..and in japan this car cost RM90k..M’sia this car cost US100k..its too much..

• bmpower (Member) on Aug 24, 2008 at 10:15 am

I’m sorry.. in the other way of thinking.. i found now Mitsubishi getting lazy. Or lazy designer or too much cut cost!

Same front view (bumper, front light etc etc..) Apply to all so call ‘ lancer’ version. The difference might be less than 5%. It should be like that..

At least they have to do something far better one for this legendary evo.

• sutheshkumar87 (Member) on Aug 24, 2008 at 11:55 am

our has the number plate in the middle? so un-evoish.
    glad with tht price it comes with all tht options which is missing in the GT.

but surprisingly, all tht is available in the Singaporean spec GT….

• IsaacVky (Member) on Aug 24, 2008 at 12:09 pm

Get the S204 or RA-R!

• indigo (Member) on Aug 24, 2008 at 1:23 pm

Malaysian price…..over 300k. I bet grey imported is around 280k

• Roti Naan (Member) on Aug 24, 2008 at 1:54 pm

The real car is overpriced??

Let me tell you guys, even Evo X’s Tomica and other brand die cast toys oso priced DOUBLED compared to other car model in the same range.
    I’ve checked them in some hobby shops in KL.

Evo X Toys oso overpriced oredi…..

• lazycaT (Member) on Aug 24, 2008 at 2:19 pm

hmm i thought in stock mode it produces 422Nm of torque?

• chrtien (Member) on Aug 24, 2008 at 2:57 pm

Don’t you think it’s a little presumptuous to label the Fortis as a premium alternative to the Civic Type-Ri?

It’s like saying that a Z4 is a premium alternative to an Elise.

I mean, the Fortis is a watered down Evo X for people who want something a little less hardcore and more comfy – while the Type-R is a no-compromise racer that provides a driving experience so mechanical, so pure that you’d have to be riding a bike to feel more involved. Plus the Type-R has none of that silly auto-clutch nonsense that detracts from the overall experience.

I also think the Fortis is fairly pointless – if you can afford to spend RM240k on a watered down version of a car, surely you can save a bit longer to get the real thing instead. Imagine looking at your Galant Fortis in your driveway and thinking, “Damn, I sure wish I’d waited and bought an Evo instead…”

Just my 2 sen…

• PROTON SUCKS (Member) on Aug 24, 2008 at 4:14 pm

i wait for recon model from japan

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Aug 24, 2008 at 4:37 pm

impreza rulz baby

• mahs (Member) on Aug 24, 2008 at 4:52 pm

All crap in malaysia make the tax so high,
    malaysian always take other country taxi as diamond…

• indigo (Member) on Aug 24, 2008 at 5:08 pm

Roti Naan.

Get Hotwheels la, cheaper but looks a bit deformed as regular hotwheels cars do. Rm5.90 standard

• cyborgx (Member) on Aug 24, 2008 at 7:05 pm

overpriced imo. I’d topup 15k to get a BMW 3 series coupe or sedan

• jaymashimaro (Member) on Aug 24, 2008 at 7:32 pm

its proton persona brother imo

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Aug 24, 2008 at 8:38 pm

SINGAPORE STI IMPREZA ONLY RM 200,000

• mystvearn (Member) on Aug 24, 2008 at 9:15 pm

Hmmm, nice car, with price to match..

• mitlanevo (Member) on Aug 24, 2008 at 10:45 pm

gorgeous, simply gorgeous…..

315k is definitely a great deal, as X is much better and well-equipped than previous IX…… and best of all, it is the twin clutch SST….

if anyone got this car already, if u dont mind please let me test drive for at least few hours, ok? :-)

impreza vs. this mighty beast? LMAO…. no chance at all for that ugly hatch…

EVO RULEZ !!!

• mitlanevo (Member) on Aug 24, 2008 at 10:56 pm

chrtien, u must be joking, right?

does the paddle shifter stuff sounds very gay and silly?

how about Gallardo, F430 etc etc high performance cars? they have it too….

i never driven actual Evo X before, just read through many positive reviews from mags and forums, but i bet u will never want to drive Civic Type-R again after having Evo X…..

• theanswer (Member) on Aug 25, 2008 at 12:08 am

cyborgx, i agree..but may i ask u, what type of 3 series that u can get with 330k? is the 3 series equip with 6speed twin clutch? is the 3 series can run 0-100kmh is 5sec(or maybe less..rite?), is the 3 series equip with all those stability control? with evo u can get 290ps with 2.0 engine only. Unless u buy a Bmw M3, thats a different case.

• chrtien (Member) on Aug 25, 2008 at 12:36 am

Hi, mitilanevo

Well, I doubt many of us here would have driven a F430 but I did try the one on the 156 zoinks ago and, more recently, the dual clutch thingy on an Audi A3 TFSI (which is really the same as a Golf GTI).

To be honest, it’s fun for about 5 minutes but after a while, you’ll find that all it leaves is a very detached feeling – there’s a difference between pushing a big switch and actually shifting cogs around. Eventually, I got lazy and let the damn thing shift gears on its own – since it seemed to do it better than I did…

And I never said anything disparaging about the Evo X! I said that the watered down Ralliart Fortis thingy was pointless because you might as well save a but more and get the real thing. Plus, you can get the Evo X with a proper gearbox.

True, the Evo X is probably a pretty fun car to drive – I’ve never driven one but 236 glowing magazine reviews can’t be wrong.

But on the other hand, it’s pretty apparent that you’ve never driven a Civic Type-R in anger through Sepang or up Bukit Tinggi / Genting before :)

If you know a friend who’s got one – beg, borrow or steal – take it to a really good, winding, empty road and your perceptions of what front-wheel-driven cars are capable of will change forever. And for that matter, you’ll never want to drive an auto box ever again.

• azrai (Member) on Aug 25, 2008 at 7:14 am

Nice bodies. Slurppppp..

• darren82my (Member) on Aug 25, 2008 at 11:06 am

I totally fallen in love to this car.. RRReeally damn nice car.

• darren82my (Member) on Aug 25, 2008 at 11:16 am

I have search to the accessories to the car, the car price goes up is because of expensives accesskories, the recaro seats had already cost of RM22k, with the brembo disc brake calipers, BBS sports rims, and the gear box knob, 3 spoke leather steering wheel, and Roakford sound syst. The total cost will be ard RM40k….can be said is reasonable price loh.323k(evo X) – 285K(evo IX) = 38K. (correct me if i m wrong).

• darren82my (Member) on Aug 25, 2008 at 11:17 am

* i have done some reseach/ servey

• mitlanevo (Member) on Aug 25, 2008 at 6:08 pm

chrtien,

huh?? i thought for sharp corners, RWD cars are much better, right?

and for uphills, for me is turbodiesel anytime, more torque, haha…..

i’m not anti-civic, i myself also like the current generation Civic, as well as the new 3-dr Type-R, which I never see any on Malaysian roads….

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Aug 25, 2008 at 6:42 pm

this car is for people who are not smart enough to buy a subaru impreza, honda civic type-r, nissan gt-r, mazda rx-8, nissan 350z. a very expensive mitshubishi lancer 2.0 gt

• WXX8XX (Member) on Aug 25, 2008 at 7:10 pm

Nice car but i though the tranmisson is using the paddle shifting thingy? Anyway, i think stick to the manual tranmission is better… Wonder what the EVO 11 going to look like already… hmmm…

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on Aug 25, 2008 at 8:25 pm

4.5seconds …ZOom….Babes

• cyborgx (Member) on Aug 25, 2008 at 11:06 pm

theanswer,

323i BMW 3 Series Coupe. Sorry, you are supposed to be topup RM25k not RM15k. If you can fork RM300k for a car, another 25k wouldnt be a problem. You dont need 0-100km/h in 5 sec because you cant use in Malaysia road. Whats the fun if you accelerate to that speed and you need to stomp the brake in the end.

• civ96110 (Member) on Aug 26, 2008 at 1:44 pm

that girl on the right…fuhh…. so hot. I love those legs….

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Aug 26, 2008 at 5:02 pm

the citroen girls are much hotter

• David9988 (Member) on Aug 26, 2008 at 6:57 pm

In Malaysia i’d rather take my 315k to invest in stocks….LOL

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Aug 28, 2008 at 8:06 pm

yea, the we can buy three evos or a gt-r

• then now Malaysian policeman will drift the car he he

• leong on May 24, 2009 at 11:05 pm

tis car in malaysia..

how much??

• how much it cost for a new EVO 10 enjine???

• Anyway for me to get this car in sabah?

• kOSINA on Aug 17, 2010 at 9:45 pm

bloody govt, day light robbery…. whats the other option ??? Bloody screwed up protons