Volkswagen Gol Sedan first photo unveiled!

Volkswagen Gol
Click for hi-res photo

Volkswagen has unveiled a single photo of the sedan version of the third generation Volkswagen Gol unveiled in July this year. No, that’s not a typo of Golf. The Gol is a different car. The Volkswagen Gol is basically a low-end Volkswagen designed for “developing countries”, something like Toyota’s IMV cars. The Gol is based on the Volkswagen Polo’s PQ34 platform, and this sedan is based off the Gol hatchback.

Look after the jump for a photo gallery of the Gol hatchback.

PHOTO GALLERY: New Volkswagen Gol
Click thumbnails to enlarge

[cpg_album:10]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Aug 24, 2008 at 11:36 pm

Gol hatchback is nice….why VW didnt bring it here

• the man (Member) on Aug 24, 2008 at 11:41 pm

if the proton-VW joint venture materialize last year, this must be the car that coming out from the tanjong malim plant, and most malaysian will be happy to spend their hard earn money to this german DNA not just driving lousy car with the tag” Asian answer to BMW” but faulty power window and broken door handle

• csv (Member) on Aug 24, 2008 at 11:47 pm

the hatchback looks better.

it’s a VW also, proven in time.

• tedmahsun (Member) on Aug 24, 2008 at 11:57 pm

That’s a really nice looking car, especially for those who cannot afford the extra “F” :D

• Kevin Lee (Member) on Aug 24, 2008 at 11:59 pm

looks similar to a savvy, but even better looking and refined than a savvy, seriously, wish they brought this in and replaced savvy

• bobdbilder (Member) on Aug 25, 2008 at 12:56 am

Dudes

Malaysian won’t buy hatchbacks. Not in volumes anyway. Coz they perceive it as impractical. How often do we fill up the boot with stuff? They go ‘oh just in case we need to buy from Ikea’, or ‘I need to travel balik kampung’, or ‘I like to carry friends around’. Like, how often? Most of the time you’re hauling steel and space you never use. I’ve got an office friend who’s not married and drives an Avanza everyday. Go figure. So who in East Asia does actually buy them? No smarty pants. Peroduas are Kcars. Hatches drive better.

Remember they said they were going to open up in Jakarta? The only VW I saw there was a big fat window van. And people were crying for the loss of FDI to Indonesia? Suckers!!! So are we going to fall for this trap again?

• abtm (Member) on Aug 25, 2008 at 7:58 am

designed for developing countries, did they call it Gol because they think we can’t pronounce Golf?

• scirocco (Member) on Aug 25, 2008 at 8:45 am

is it just me or does the meter panel seem to remind you of a gen2…

• God.of.War (Member) on Aug 25, 2008 at 11:32 am

Wah nice window, still use manual one? no power window ar? OMG !

• ReactiX (Member) on Aug 25, 2008 at 12:02 pm

bobdbilder said,

August 25, 2008 @ 12:56 am

Dudes

Malaysian won’t buy hatchbacks. Not in volumes anyway. Coz they perceive it as impractical. How often do we fill up the boot with stuff? They go ‘oh just in case we need to buy from Ikea’, or ‘I need to travel balik kampung’, or ‘I like to carry friends around’. Like, how often? Most of the time you’re hauling steel and space you never use. I’ve got an office friend who’s not married and drives an Avanza everyday. Go figure. So who in East Asia does actually buy them? No smarty pants. Peroduas are Kcars. Hatches drive better.

Remember they said they were going to open up in Jakarta? The only VW I saw there was a big fat window van. And people were crying for the loss of FDI to Indonesia? Suckers!!! So are we going to fall for this trap again?

Ya, then how do you clarify on the volumes of Gen2 and Wira Hatchback on the road??????

• normaluser (Member) on Aug 25, 2008 at 12:08 pm

How come there is no RPM meter?

• ReactiX (Member) on Aug 25, 2008 at 12:15 pm

I’ve got an office friend who’s not married and drives an Avanza everyday. Go figure.

Ask him to buy a superbike or easyrider then

• kei9 (Member) on Aug 25, 2008 at 3:08 pm

Love the hatch but loath the sedan type.

• kimmy (Member) on Aug 25, 2008 at 3:36 pm

That has got to be one of the biggest fuel gauge i’ve ever seen on a car!!!

• sky (Member) on Aug 25, 2008 at 5:26 pm

this is indeed a low end car from VW. Our high spec Saga is better in term of the accessories. Malaysian like the accessories more than the engine itself.

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Aug 25, 2008 at 6:40 pm

excellent quality

• mystvearn (Member) on Aug 25, 2008 at 6:43 pm

Maybe better, but less equip compared to baseline cars in Malaysia. This is all due to tax, this car will never sell, or if it did sell, people will go why did you buy something less equip? Just for the badge?
    No RPM meter. For entry level car, people are more interested in how much fuel they have in the car, not how much revs they can generate

• bobdbilder (Member) on Aug 25, 2008 at 10:01 pm

Reactix from land before thoughts…

Gen 2 is a fastback and so is the Wira Aeroback. Wanna see a hatch; go look at and old 5 door 1.5 Ford Laser circa 1985 or something. Or some may remember the Ford Laser TX3. Ooooh!!! Ahhhh!!! Most of it is in the scrapyard. Just because it has a door that swings upwards at the back doesn’t mean its a hatchback.

Golf, Pug 105, 205, Clio, Astra,

Most look really nice in 2 door and sucks with heavy 2 more doors that we locals prefer.

• bobdbilder (Member) on Aug 25, 2008 at 10:09 pm

Ok Reactix; a hatch is a 2 box design. Simple enough? Its a space and material efficient design. The slanted window at the back doubles as the cover with the bare minimum space to carry the not so-always-there-luggage. Tree huggers love it.

• hegonc (Member) on Aug 26, 2008 at 6:58 am

In Brazil the Gol figures (launched in 1980) in a different level from Golf (4ª generation remaked), but its the best ever version of this Car. The tecnology and the construction are almost the same of the VW Polo. Gol also disputes with VW Fox this acception.
    VW has 3 cars in almost the same level problably they will canibalize some sells…

Gol Sedan will be launched but i’m sure that will explode his sells

• ReactiX (Member) on Aug 26, 2008 at 9:18 am

fyi, a fastback is also a variant of hatchback