Proton MPV first batch to roll out mid-Sept 2008

Proton MPV
Click for hi-res image

The Proton MPV will begin on-road testing from the 12th of September 2008 onwards, so we’ll be able to spot it on our local roads and hopefully get some nice clear photos possibly from mid-September onwards. It will be launched to the public in March 2009.

Proton sources have confirmed that the Proton MPV will initially come with the 125 horsepower Campro CPS found in the highline GEN2 CPS facelift. The car will ride on 15 inch wheels which should be easy on the fuel consumption as well as tyre change bills as smaller tyres are cheaper. 125hp is far from sprinty on a heavy vehicle especially with all 7 seats occupied, but it is still more powerful than the 1.3, 1.5 and 1.6 litre engines that almost all B-segment Japanese MPVs have to make do with.

A turbocharged Campro engine is said to be in the works but according to inside sources if any other engine options other than the CPS engine are to be available for the Proton MPV, next in line is more likely to be a turbodiesel engine. In fact, Proton may have played a part in (successfully) lobbying for the recent drop of diesel road tax rates to the same level as petrol road tax rates.

Above is a rendered image by Theophilus Chin based on insider information including some photos of a finished Proton MPV model that have been circulating in e-mail inboxes. Some of you have definitely seen it already by now. Some details in the rendered image are correct so you can have a “preview” but others are intentionally left different to prevent any legal problems.

The actual car will have a much sharper and sportier front end which will remind you of the Lotus APX. I am also unable to post up the finished model photos as they were taken inside private properties and not public roads, thus leaving anyone publishing it open to legal problems.

Look after the jump for two more shots of Theo Chin’s rendered speculation, or click any one of the related stories before for more exclusive details on the Proton MPV.

Related Stories:
Proton MPV: exclusive initial details and specifications revealed!
Proton MPV sketches preview production model
First sighting of Proton MPV test mule on the road

Proton MPV
Click for hi-res image

Proton MPV
Click for hi-res image

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• gunblade (Member) on Sep 02, 2008 at 2:56 am

Is this spyshot or just a photoshop work?
    If this will be design for proton mpv, the design is more to Honda Odessey rather than Toyota Wish.

• ahoklah (Member) on Sep 02, 2008 at 4:35 am

With MPV sales down all around the World, I wonder whether it is a good idea for Proton to go ahead with the launch.

• LaTT (Member) on Sep 02, 2008 at 4:56 am

Waaaa … Honda Odessey rebadged … nice work by Theo … Rumours saying that the Proton MPV will use 2.0L V6 engine (fr Proton Perdana) … Is that true? My cousin that working with Proton Motorsports saying that the R3 versions of the MPV (1 unit only) is ready for display on launching date of the MPV …

• japankiller (Member) on Sep 02, 2008 at 5:46 am

this car look like a wagon more than it call mpv

• md_helmi84 (Member) on Sep 02, 2008 at 6:27 am

Nice looking for the 1st malaysian attempt on mpv
    i wonder why the plates and logo doesn’t looks real to me…..
    hopefully it comes with fuel saving engine

• Topper (Member) on Sep 02, 2008 at 6:47 am

Proton Journey eh.. nice and comfortable as a family car but not sporty.. true.. more like a wagon. anyway still nice than its predecessor Juara.

• freeze (Member) on Sep 02, 2008 at 7:21 am

Ewwww, Innova’s lost sibbling.

• azrai (Member) on Sep 02, 2008 at 7:24 am

Look like a Renault to me. I think it will getting a ’rounder’ look + smaller.

• Celicazz (Member) on Sep 02, 2008 at 7:28 am

md_helmi84,

read thoroughly before u comment

it’s theophilus chin’s rendered images, not the true one la
    dats why it does not look real

hayyoo…

• freeze (Member) on Sep 02, 2008 at 7:40 am

Who has the real picture that paul was referring to. Can email it to me?

• goguncas71 (Member) on Sep 02, 2008 at 7:44 am

A downward sloping rear roofline would make it sleeker/sportier but the requirement was that the third row headroom was to be better than T. Wish.

I hope the real deal has that chrome strip by the window.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Sep 02, 2008 at 8:00 am

ahoklah, “With MPV sales down all around the World”

where do you get your info from? SUV sales are the one thats falling, and its mainly in the US. in europe, and more importantly, in the emerging markets that proton are targetting for export, as well as malaysia, mpv sales are still doing well. Take a look at tan chong for example, they’re flying high right now thanks to the livina.

• abtm (Member) on Sep 02, 2008 at 8:01 am

proton cars usually has a strong toxic smell inside due to the plastics they use in the cabin, since this car has a larger interior, the smell might be even stronger

• Desmoquattro (Member) on Sep 02, 2008 at 8:09 am

“Waaaa … Honda Odessey rebadged … nice work by Theo … Rumours saying that the Proton MPV will use 2.0L V6 engine (fr Proton Perdana) … Is that true? My cousin that working with Proton Motorsports saying that the R3 versions of the MPV (1 unit only) is ready for display on launching date of the MPV …”

U’ve been ‘kelentong’ by your own cousin la..shame on him. There’s no production yet, even no complete car available here. Why is he said that? main ckp2 saja….

• car_craze (Member) on Sep 02, 2008 at 8:12 am

abtm – the car it not even out and you already mentioned ‘toxic smell’! All car manufacturers including PROTON have to test for vapor emissions under hot conditions for interior materials including ‘toxicity’ if any. If not people can die inside the car!

• nd (Member) on Sep 02, 2008 at 8:31 am

freeze,

The real picture has been posted on Paultan forum already. Just search it! ;)

• Mb_321 (Member) on Sep 02, 2008 at 9:23 am

Proton MPV front bonnet and grill is similar to Savvy and fender shape is more like Honda Odyssey

The roof is similar to Wish, a bit drop at the top of the rear glass

• dzat46 (Member) on Sep 02, 2008 at 9:48 am

Nice minivan/mpv,…would be very useful if it uses a sliding rear door. easier to enter/dismount esp in tight parking place. A gud turbo diesel like the chevrolet captiva/hyundai santa fe/starex wt high torque at low rpm will be useful to move this weight & gud for FC too.

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Sep 02, 2008 at 10:11 am

I’ll wait for the Real McCoy before making judgement on how the vehicle looks.

However, the Turbo. 1.6 would be powertrain the wait for, better still a turbodiesel. This wont be a light vehicle at any stretch, and using a small, possibly slightly high strung, powerplant isn’t going to bode well for drivability and fuel consumption.

I wonder what is holding TCM from launching an equally convincing turbodiesel Grand Livina, given its access to Renault turbodiesels.

The thing is, will Renault let Proton use its Turbodiesels if Nissan markets a similar vehicle and powertrain.

• hujanlebat (Member) on Sep 02, 2008 at 11:11 am

emm .. nice looking MPV ..

• DC5H14 (Member) on Sep 02, 2008 at 11:22 am

gud job!

• 3S (Member) on Sep 02, 2008 at 11:50 am

1st Proton MPV…..?
    Hm…….i still doubt on the quality for the 1st model Proton MPV……!

• e-nabilll (Member) on Sep 02, 2008 at 12:14 pm

actually lloks abit like ford galaxy and the ford c-max specially the front….if the front end styling is going to be as the lotus APX thn this preview we have is not even close to that….quite conservative….wanna know how the interior looks like….

• aicariefin (Member) on Sep 02, 2008 at 12:45 pm

If this is the New Proton MPV, I think it will sell well in Indonesia. MPV are what all Indonesians are buying. A lot of Livina, Avanza, Xenia and Innova here.
    The Proton Persona is also selling well here together with the Savvy.

Still curious because I have seen last week at the parking lot of my office in Jakarta (One level was closed for public). There where four MPV’s parked and lighted with High Intensity lights. It seems to me they where for research or marketing survey purposes. The four cars where a old gen Honda Stream, Toyota Innova, Nissan Grand Livina, Toyota Avanza. It could be some surveys for the Proton MPV.

• Cyberkayu (Member) on Sep 02, 2008 at 12:56 pm

hmmm….
    less than wat i expected especially the powertrain~~

• Cyberkayu (Member) on Sep 02, 2008 at 1:04 pm

interior pict?

• moha774 (Member) on Sep 02, 2008 at 1:38 pm

Just wait for 12th Sept, where the car would be unleashed for road test around Malaysia (not Tanjung Malim-Shah Alam) and to gather public feedback on the car…. before the launching early next year… engine wise… I think its good enough for MPV this size…

• csv (Member) on Sep 02, 2008 at 1:53 pm

oooh, will it be better than the hot grand livina?

i’m more looking forward to the Nissan Navara and the new Honda city.

• Paul Tan on Sep 02, 2008 at 2:17 pm

the photos – http://paultan.org/forum/index.php/topic,549.msg18630.html#msg18630

• CatDawg (Member) on Sep 02, 2008 at 2:29 pm

malaysia boleh?

• mct (Member) on Sep 02, 2008 at 2:29 pm

is this car originally is an opel zafira??
    it look like it
    about the shot on the clay model for proton mpv
    go to paultan forum and search in the rumour section
    you will find it ,it is high and don’t look like what i aspected
    i though it will look like wish or stream low body design

• TheophilusChin (Member) on Sep 02, 2008 at 3:29 pm

Finally! At last someone guessed what car it originally was.

• n8cky (Member) on Sep 02, 2008 at 4:09 pm

Remind me of Mitsubishi Wagen

• nd (Member) on Sep 02, 2008 at 4:12 pm

Theo,

I believe you purposely make the front end to be different from the clay model and you have another image which are made very similar to it. Can you e-mail that one to me pleeeease….?

• Hikaru (Member) on Sep 02, 2008 at 4:24 pm

Good sharp clean lines that doesn’t look like it drawn using a ruler. It would give a sense of solidity and sleekness.

IF only proton can make something like this. I just wonder what’s the mkt like for a Proton MPV when Proton’s history is with sedan/saloon and premium sedan and saloon.

I wish Proton all the best with this venture.

• Skymobile (Member) on Sep 02, 2008 at 5:03 pm

I am satisfied with the overall exterior design. But when I know it is 1.6 campro CPS, it is a bit disappointed. why dun proton get a 1.8cc campro cps engine for it. they may able make a little modification of 1.6cc to become 1.8cc. If the cabin gross weight is more than 1.3k kgs, I do think the power wise will then become less impressive.

still have not see the interior and price yet. but when Gen 2 and Waja CPS are selling around 60k, the proton MPV will most likely unable to make the price below 70k since it is for 7 seaters. If it price above 70k, why dun people opts for Avanza or just put 10 or 20k to buy Livana cos both are japanese car will have better resell value than proton.

• ys (Member) on Sep 02, 2008 at 5:15 pm

i do agree that 1.6cc is too small for a MPV.
    not sure if proton engine dept team is reading this but i would suggest something bigger and more HP (torque as well).
    i actually planning for a MPV next year and in fact Proton MPV is in my list. Currently is just waiting for its official launch.

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Sep 02, 2008 at 5:24 pm

don even dream of an opel zafira

• kucau (Member) on Sep 02, 2008 at 5:42 pm

ermm its huge, almost the same size of innova or grandis? the clay model is not low enough? will the legendary proton handling be sacrificed in exchanged for extra space? please proton , if u have the idea of using campro 1.6 cps and at then end of the day the MPV would suck the fuel like hell, you will be effectively killing your project and investment. remember, this is your “1st” MPV and I believe you dont want to repeat the savvy history? will you be able to compete with perodua MPV? i know the size is a lil smaller BUT with the current gas pricing ppl may sacrifice space for fuel efficiency.

• Roti Naan (Member) on Sep 02, 2008 at 7:14 pm

nice rendering. Hopefully the real MPV in the metal will be just be good as the rendering.

• mystvearn (Member) on Sep 02, 2008 at 8:00 pm

There was that real version APX with 5 seaters, something the size of the wish which proton came out. Desingwise very very conventional/safe design. This is a slight problem as I don’t think people are drawn to this design.

• jcws_87 (Member) on Sep 02, 2008 at 8:52 pm

paul, can u send me the photo that is circulating in the e-mail so i could also appreciate the car as i am in a taught of buy either this or the perodua one.

• knight_templar (Member) on Sep 02, 2008 at 10:27 pm

Like the serfs who tirelessly and stupidly built the huge pyramids to radiate the might of their man-gods, descendents seem to be living in modern day Bolehland, but in a twist of fate, worshipping Judas Proton (pun intended). So what if its an MPV or its got Campro or it seats seven. Use the organ in between ur ears a bit. U know how many auto manufacturers are there in the world? How many out of that are already building MPVs? The is no case for cause as far as Proton is concerned. The market is saturated, there is no room for Proton. Beat it, Proton. Moneysapper. This entry is for the comprehension of the intellectually capable not brain dead, lobotomised serfs who continue to worship Proton. So i dun give a damn i anyone disagrees. Proton must go…

• elpaciko (Member) on Sep 02, 2008 at 11:06 pm

knight templar… if u dont give a damn… why on earth u spend ur time here making that oh so intelligent comment? just to show how brilliant u are?

• shamel (Member) on Sep 02, 2008 at 11:43 pm

Proton please equipped Proton MPV with acceptable TORQUE; do not confuse with BHP alone as the MPV will have different purpose than relatively good handling sedan.

THINK THINK of mileage per liter or how many liter per 100 km of journey Proton MPV need. The range accepted by Proton potentials buyers must fall between Livina 1.6M (7.4l every 100km) or at least aVANza’s fuel consumption (even though this cheapo mpv use more fuel than Livina but it’s cheaper and of course a TOYOTA). If Proton think the different in FC usage will justify the price tag (as most people expecting RM70k the highest for entry level and ok with little higher FC) then , they must think again. People with one or two kids maybe not consider it.

Market are very demanding now for Proton (FC-wise) and for me most people will be ok if Proton mpv only consume 8l/100km combine cycle. B-segment Livina 1.8 consume average 6.5l 4AT/6.2l 6MT for every 100km. Bigger but relatively more efficient new Stream with SOHC merely slightly higher at 6.8l/100km or 6.9l/100km for older Wish (expecting new replacement soon and never expect radical change just another new Altis’ kind of newness (Toyota only company now can afford to do every auto companies can’t, namely just having facelift but call them totally new model change. If you still little confuse just compare newest Estima, Alphard, Corolla-Altis, Crown series, Voxy mpv etc with their predecessors- all sports almost same dimensions BUT very much well accepted by their target market).

Market also not ‘fair’ to Proton’s. For instance Savvy is more efficient at 18km/liter as opposed to Myvi’s 13.3km/liter (figure from Myvi sibling, Sirion in Taiwan magazine) BUT people prefer the latter than the former due to certain factors, namely size, brand name (Perodua regarded as another Toyota’s kin). Thus, in this environment Proton has uphill task to satisfy wide array of potential buyers. I’m really pray that Proton can please many segment as Wish and Stream did.

If l’m not mistaken, seemingly Proton MPV targeting people with more kids. I love to see buyer with one kid buying Proton and use word-of-mouth to be FOC Proton messenger to spread buzz word on Proton MPV. As a Livina user l’m expecting Proton MPV has better features in every departments not merely design but irresistible product due to its credence (and FC is something you’ll never afford to rule out).

FYI, even Nissan has uphill task before they can convinced Indonesians about their Grand Livina vs Avanza vs Innova (Livina was positioned to take on these two half-cooked MPV but a Toyota moniker really works dude). Let alone our Proton MPV unless they have advantages than these competitions.

AS Kucau mentioned, Proton not merely against Avanza but Perodua’s mpv next September 2009. So, Proton really need a good power train to compete with these mpv. I guess 4-speed auto is thing of the past for Proton though Nissan and Toyota still using it for their 2.4 RAV4 SUV. Honda already assumed 4-speed is has been technology.

• awak (Member) on Sep 03, 2008 at 2:48 am

shamil ,
    thats what i been talking about, the ENGINE,
    we can always talk about HP, most of the time HP something that is relative to peak and the highest strain of the rpm related kind of power measurement,

for heavier machine, the priority is pulling power, the low end TORQUE, this is where in reality day to day, and the most usable power band utilised, and where the car can be geared economically at overdrive to save fuel,

im not saying HP is not important, but in the real world, daily basis we ar at the slower speed, hopping from light to light, stop and go, and ocassionally on the freeway, therefore we need a very flexible engine, the TORQUE waved to suit the driving condition by the intelligence of the engine, ,,,,,,,,,that is economical, batter emission, save the planet, batter society, saving govt money if its a govt fleet,

that time proton have the potential beating other cars from other makers,

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Sep 03, 2008 at 3:10 am

Proton MPV VS LIVINA

1.6 CAMPRO CPS 125BHP TORQUE 150NM Kerb Weight 1450(not official)
    1.6 LIVINA 105PS TORQUE 150NM Kerb Weight 1245
    1.8 LIVINA 126PS TORQUE 174NM Kerb Weight 1280

PS: 276BHP = 280PS(LOTUS EVORA)

• awak (Member) on Sep 03, 2008 at 8:46 am

ok power to weight ratio on livina side,
    might have been a great contribution with its aluminum block.

the other thing that futher cut down the consumption is continously pushing the torque band at its best with its cvvt at lower to mid range. adjustment at every fraction of seconds,

while vim, serve the a broad range of averaging 0rpm to 3400rpm,

well i cant say vim is batter than cvvt, and a clear advantage is power to weight of nissan,- that will give nissan batter fuel economy,

i also have my doubt with siemen ecu works on campro.
    due to emission, much too sacrifice with engine flat spot for emission.
    ———-

(lotus evora powered by toyota v6)

———–

i do hope campro undergone further development, until it qualifies to power one of the lotus. the my salute.

• knight_templar (Member) on Sep 03, 2008 at 12:17 pm

elpaciko said,
    September 2, 2008 @ 11:06 pm

knight templar… if u dont give a damn… why on earth u spend ur time here making that oh so intelligent comment? just to show how brilliant u are?

—————————————————————-
    Hah the serf speaks.
    Yah, I love this country and will not allow deranged Calibans like you to ruin it. But being a typical underachieving citizen, u probably dont even understand wat i have said. So scram, there are keyboards for the mentally retarded, but this blog really could do with one less like you.

• watchurback (Member) on Sep 03, 2008 at 12:48 pm

knight_templar we r all will be fine wif 1 less forummer like u either

• watchurback (Member) on Sep 03, 2008 at 12:55 pm

knight_templar did u suggest nobody should build car other then current car maker since u think all manufacturer we got in the world currently is enuff? that is very lousy excuse to bash our people ability..

• car_craze (Member) on Sep 03, 2008 at 4:12 pm

knight_templar you are in the wrong forum – you should show off your mastery in English Language in a Shakespearean blog.

• bmpower (Member) on Sep 03, 2008 at 4:41 pm

This MPV within Avanza – Nazaria size, and i think it’s nearly Livina or wish size. I think, it’s good with 1.6 because :
    Livina 1.6 = 105hp
    Livina 1.8 = 126hp
    Avanza 1.5 = 108hp

Campro CPS 1.6 = 125hp.
    Torque is another story, with good gear ratio, it will be okay then.
    power to weight ration , we will see later.

BTW, avanza not an MPV, its a van. A van those wannabe MPV. :p

• Celicazz (Member) on Sep 03, 2008 at 6:14 pm

let the knight_templar aside, ppl w/o vision always thinks like that.

maybe this MPV bound CPS should be tuned for more torque, if the anticipated weight is to be overcome. that’s left to the engineers to be taken care of.

• Celicazz (Member) on Sep 03, 2008 at 6:23 pm

oh… forgotten, the next p2 mpv will be the replacement for kenari, and size is not to be compared with proton’s. they are of different class after all. proton’s are seven/eight seater while p2’s are only six seater. I knew, i went there to see, p1’s and p2’s.

• watchurback (Member) on Sep 04, 2008 at 7:51 am

the weight to power ratio might be a key to attract people have 2nd look on this model since it effect fc..as campro user (saga blm) myself having aifm also didnt improve much on acceleration..looking forward to see campro improvement to cater bigger size vehicle

• awak (Member) on Sep 04, 2008 at 8:44 am

watchurback,
    for the saga 1.3 isnt strong, for its body.
    i would suggest 1.5 is ideal to run the car economically and a revised final ratio to be a bit long legged, for economical cruising speed,

and the ecu revised to reduce flat spot,
    revised cam,
    power band shifts to earlier range,

-i only can give words-

• raptorclans (Member) on Sep 08, 2008 at 3:17 pm

I just realised the chop seems to be based on a Touran… heehee… :D

• mumtaz1977 (Member) on Sep 17, 2008 at 1:14 pm

i think it do not have any problem with 1.6. Most of mid range MPV used 1.5 to 1.8 powerplant. Lets say, i have been to singapore. most have seen MPV crusing around the island. even the most popular MPV is Honda Stream.

knight_templar said,
    September 3, 2008 @ 12:17 pm
    (Hah the serf speaks.
    Yah, I love this country and will not allow deranged Calibans like you to ruin it. But being a typical underachieving citizen, u probably dont even understand wat i have said. So scram, there are keyboards for the mentally retarded, but this blog really could do with one less like you).

This are comment by retard brain people that don’t have any vision. If u are the malaysian, you should not said kind of stupid things. You know how many malaysian have more than 4 kids ?. How many Malaysian with salary RM1200>RM2000 ?. How many malaysian want low budget transport ?. How many………….. you find by your self.

This are some solution that car maker doing right now. But for sure, that knight_templar wanebe are lazy to think coz of brain damage. I hope you will get well soon before Proton MPV available to Malaysian.

Malaysia Boleh…. We do our part for country….. Love Malaysia…. Be Malaysia… Protect Malaysia….. don’t let knight_templar wanebe people invade our land….. Proud Malaysian….

• oldskool08 (Member) on Dec 27, 2008 at 10:32 pm

i really hope that this car come with the 148 horsepower v6 engine found in proton perdana…. so it will be definitely better than some of its competitors, powerful engine yet economic! and this mpv also must be equip with ABS,EBD,Brake assist and dual SRS airbags…. waw! if this could happen….

NCAP safety also at least 4stars or above….
    ohh i’m daydreaming

• aku x tau proton nie selalu problem switch window. semua model sama aje .

untuk pengetahuan semua, aku br beli proton saga baru. tp ape jadi, dua – dua swtch aku kena tukar. aku harap yg nie x de