Toyota Belta/Vios/Yaris Sedan facelifted in Japan

Toyota Belta

Toyota seems to have put out a very minor facelift of the Toyota Belta out in Japan. The Belta was originally launched end-2005 and right now is about the time for its mid-life facelift. The Japanese Belta is also known as the Toyota Vios in other markets such as ours, or the Toyota Yaris Sedan.

It looks like there are no changes at all to the styling on the outside except for a small grille change on the front to a mesh grille?

The 1.0 litre version is powered by the 1KR-FE DOHC engine putting out 71 PS at 6,000rpm and 94Nm of torque at 3,600rpm, while the 1.3 litre 2WD version is powered by the 2SZ-FE DOHC engine producing 87 PS at 6,000rpm and 118Nm of torque at 4,000rpm. The 1.3 litre 4WD version uses the 2NZ-FE DOHC engine with 87 PS and 120Nm of torque.

Look for more photos after the jump.

Toyota Belta

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Croc (Member) on Sep 06, 2008 at 12:56 pm

1st i love the interior! When this cr will enter malaysian market?

• Croc (Member) on Sep 06, 2008 at 12:58 pm

i love the interior! When this cr will enter malaysian market?

• klx (Member) on Sep 06, 2008 at 1:16 pm

we wont get this car, since its for jdm use. we already have the vios as mentioned by paul (The Japanese Belta is also known as the Toyota Vios in other markets such as ours, or the Toyota Yaris Sedan.)……….

the center dials and panel look like that in the vios

• armandd (Member) on Sep 06, 2008 at 1:17 pm

how about the fuel consumption? is it better than the 1.5 version?

• proud2BMalaysian (Member) on Sep 06, 2008 at 1:39 pm

boring…

• austin_cipan (Member) on Sep 06, 2008 at 1:39 pm

the rims from the first picture looks like it came out of the honda city… anyway, hate the looks, don’t even bother to buy one… viosdugong…

• albagmane (Member) on Sep 06, 2008 at 2:28 pm

facelifted??? can’t see shit, captain! i lol’d at current vios owners…

• proud2BMalaysian (Member) on Sep 06, 2008 at 2:45 pm

same kumbang face..

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Sep 06, 2008 at 3:13 pm

huhuhu toyota -> change grille = facelifted , change front and rear = new model…no other manufacturer can do that and still selling..

• lowprofile (Member) on Sep 06, 2008 at 3:34 pm

i’d love to say sth nice as the previous vios was very good looking but all i can see is still a dugong.

• n8cky (Member) on Sep 06, 2008 at 3:45 pm

lol..1-2years, not selling well already? lol-ed when it launched Vios J~, and seeing the market, still selling that expensive (Probably it’s another tactic on how government corner them to buy persona/ local car?)

Market is not there dude..

• EnochKeng (Member) on Sep 06, 2008 at 3:48 pm

lol well said “lowprofile”..Dugong indeed..

• abtm (Member) on Sep 06, 2008 at 3:56 pm

wow…vios facelift, suddently i feel so sleepy

• kei9 (Member) on Sep 06, 2008 at 4:09 pm

Why don’t change the bodykit? Just a grille change is utter phailure…
    Not enough IMHO.

And still, the upcoming Honda City takes the cake.

• xenith (Member) on Sep 06, 2008 at 4:58 pm

Got all wheel drive version?

• ignas (Member) on Sep 06, 2008 at 5:13 pm

lol vios…nice mesh grille btw.

• e-nabilll (Member) on Sep 06, 2008 at 6:08 pm

seriously…this curent vios is toyota’s worst build car…quality is really wacky..u should see at the welding point…such an eye sore…the door panel and the center console all so plasticky…really nt nice..i tink the previous vios is beter build…..oh…u should see the front grill and how loose it is to any force apllied to it…

• WXX8XX (Member) on Sep 06, 2008 at 6:08 pm

#
    abtm said,

September 6, 2008 @ 3:56 pm

wow…vios facelift, suddently i feel so sleepy
    —————————————————————–

ahhahaha… nice comment. Once a dugong always a dugong.. please someone throw it back to the sea..

• nazrin (Member) on Sep 06, 2008 at 7:09 pm

still dugong

• l3ryan (Member) on Sep 06, 2008 at 7:54 pm

if facelift then get rid of the hideous dugong/flowerhorn head pls…
    first the facelifted civic, now this.. honda and toyota in a “most-subtle-facelift” competition izzit swt

• EVO8223 (Member) on Sep 06, 2008 at 8:05 pm

It still look like dugong after the facelift……………..

• kington (Member) on Sep 06, 2008 at 8:08 pm

Well, ugly cars sell.

Bangle’s BMWs, the current MKII Vios and etc……

I think it’s becoming a trend now.

• car_lose (Member) on Sep 06, 2008 at 8:14 pm

aduh…..so boring. another car want to present

• crasher7 (Member) on Sep 06, 2008 at 8:24 pm

Although still dugong, but this car will sure sell good…

• Roti Naan (Member) on Sep 06, 2008 at 9:32 pm

Hmmmm, The car designer seems to have a thing for Dugong……

Maybe Dugong was (and still) his childhood animal?

• hyundai (Member) on Sep 06, 2008 at 9:54 pm

Recently Toyota is very unsincere doing their facelift… Hilux, Fortuner, Innova and now the Belta…

• mitlanevo (Member) on Sep 06, 2008 at 10:51 pm

minor facelift is the current trend or what???

btw, bravo City, bravo Latio, Vios nice, but hate it because of the Toy badge…

once a toy, forever a toy, forever overhyped, peace~

• runpandarun (Member) on Sep 06, 2008 at 10:53 pm

the interior of the car is really nice..but whenever i see the THING on the road..i swallow my vomit..its that ugly…

• hujanlebat (Member) on Sep 07, 2008 at 6:47 am

emm .. what a nice dugong there ..

• azrai (Member) on Sep 07, 2008 at 9:27 am

A dugong is still a dugong even if it has a nose job. There’s nothing mush here. I think it is its mid-life crisis for this dugong.

• jehutyz (Member) on Sep 07, 2008 at 10:44 am

The new front grile look better.
    But is still a Vios which i not so prefer.
    Vios have to come out new design to competite with the upcoming City.

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Sep 07, 2008 at 12:39 pm

looks terrible, the grille is better than our version though

• bobdbilder (Member) on Sep 07, 2008 at 5:00 pm

This what happens when their quarterly profits didn’t perform as expected. Have to rehash something made for Other Asian market and sell it back to homeland? Based on that history trend would it be the Mk III Vios for Malaysia, with a smaller engine but a higher price still? Then they will glorify the fuel sipping inert values of this car while maitaining cost effectiveness of having the same engine as the Myvi? Hey I thought only Proton sell old model cars which never change for 20 years? Maybe the japs are learning from us how to make ludicrous profits. Sick.

• torque (Member) on Sep 07, 2008 at 7:00 pm

Adooii…Toyota! What da hell? Is this what you got to beat the upcoming City? Why is it that the only nice Toyota is only the recon models? The offical wan always turn out to be rather crappy! Sigh! :-( Toyota, you got so much money…go and ‘kidnap’ all the Mazda and Nissan designer la. Even they can get us all hype up…

• sarawakguy (Member) on Sep 07, 2008 at 9:40 pm

1000 cc…??

• funbox (Member) on Sep 07, 2008 at 10:23 pm

Toyota engineers, u guys seems too tired!

• chinen (Member) on Sep 08, 2008 at 6:24 am

Can we buy that kind of grille in Malaysia?

• Mayonaise (Member) on Sep 08, 2008 at 10:26 am

You call this a facelift?

• erichigc (Member) on Sep 08, 2008 at 11:03 am

haha…Anyway I am buying DUGONG this december. Any advice? :P

• 0204 (Member) on Sep 08, 2008 at 12:34 pm

Everytime i look at this car.. i say “where the hack is my dashboard???… why!.. why! must i share my dashboard with the whole car.. i’m the driver!.. i want my own dashboard!!!”

• intermilan (Member) on Sep 08, 2008 at 1:52 pm

hehehe.. somebody actually asked where he/she can buy the NEW FACELIFT mesh grille … :O :O :O :O

and another guy gelak-gelak and smiling but still admitted he will be buying this DUGONG this december.. it is that sad, huh?

• transformer (Member) on Sep 08, 2008 at 2:36 pm

can’t find much difference…. only its badge sells…

• SY0H (Member) on Sep 08, 2008 at 3:33 pm

Salamz and Hi,

Few months ago, I chat with those Toyota Dealers somewhere at KL (place is confidential). I ask him how much a Toyota Dugong actually cost (without the duty/taxation)? He told me somewhere around Proton Waja pricing, in fact the J-series should be cheaper similar pricing like Proton Persona. Thanks to our national car policy, Dugong is becoming an expensive bargain. Owh yeah, I never like Vios (including the previous model), because the driver’s dash board is located in the middle of the cabin. LOL. Good “dugong” design. Heck, maybe the designer has a dugong farm at his backyard. Hahaha.

• mokkf82 (Member) on Sep 08, 2008 at 6:09 pm

Haha! Dugong car!
    really funny, next time i call my friend dugong liao, since she’s driving a dugong car….hehe

• erichigc (Member) on Sep 11, 2008 at 12:04 am

Haha…I laughed cos i do not have much option to choose a good car to drive in Malaysia. I just simply want to buy one and use it whenever i am coming back to hometown.

If national car policy is abolished, i will consider BMW. Haha. But i have to rethink whether is it safe to put in my house without anybody’s home. haha.

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Sep 11, 2008 at 8:00 pm

erichigc said,

September 11, 2008 @ 12:04 am

Haha…I laughed cos i do not have much option to choose a good car to drive in Malaysia. I just simply want to buy one and use it whenever i am coming back to hometown.

If national car policy is abolished, i will consider BMW. Haha. But i have to rethink whether is it safe to put in my house without anybody’s home. haha.

try living inside the bmw.

• This is a subcompact sedan manufactured by Toyota selling in Japan car market in 1.0~1.3L with in lower price. Japanese who want to buy a 1.5L and bigger car will get Collora. This is how their business ways go.

• osh_kosh on Mar 08, 2009 at 1:29 am

get a Corolla… this's dugong on wheel for goodness sake

• wwl86 on Dec 16, 2009 at 6:23 am

is this version a facelifted one? it looks the same like our Vios which have yet to be facelifted

• Well the Vios interior looks okay, with the meter panel better than the new 2010 City (City meter panel looks like a cheap toy car to me) but the exterior is, well some kind of ridiculous. Round & has a shape like a dugong huhuhuhu… I plan to buy Vios when I return to Malaysia mid next year. But considering the looks, I might choose City instead of Vios. Well if Toyota can come out with new design which is not dugong friendly anymore, I’ll stick with Vios at that time. But my real dream car is Audi A4 or A6. But I have to wait until I’m rich enough (hopefully one day hehehe) to buy the A4/A6.

• zamrin on Nov 14, 2010 at 3:30 pm

we also have the same car its so super very comfortable

• kohuln on Jan 07, 2011 at 5:47 pm

i like this car, what about the prize 1300cc, 2009 or 2010 model

• D Upul on Jan 19, 2011 at 1:45 am

it’ll be great,if it comes in a new out look.