Win a Proton MPV in Proton’s naming contest!

Proton MPV

Proton is having a nationwide naming contest for the new Proton MPV from now until the 30th of September 2008. Participants can enter the contest either via an online website or SMS. I recommend you use the online form as it is free while the SMS costs RM0.80 plus your existing mobile operator charges, unless you suddenly get an idea while you are not at a PC and want to quickly enter it in case someone else thinks of it first. Proton is not profiting from it though as the RM0.80 will be donated to charity.

To join via the website, just fill in this form. For SMS entries, you need to type P (space) IC Number (comma) Your MPV name entry (comma) Rationale for name (comma) Original tagline. Send the SMS to 36677. The example given is “P 821013105150 Familia, MPV is for families to travel together with enough space on long journeys, A place to bond with your family”.

There is a maximum length limit of 1 SMS for each entry, so be sure not to type a description that is so long that it extends over 1 SMS’s length (160 characters). For online entries there is a max limit of 145 characters including spaces as you don’t have to include your IC number in the entry, but fill it in separately in another form field. You will have to be 18 and above to participate.

The grand prize winner will get to name the new Proton MPV and will win one unit of the Proton MPV. Two runner-ups will win a trip for two to Lotus UK worth RM15,000 each.

Winners will be announced at least 1 month before the Proton MPV’s official launch somewhere in end-March 2009. Winners will be contacted in October 2008, but as there are 3 prizes, I think this will be for the two runner-up who will win the trips.

It would not make sense to contact the grand prize winner until much closer to the Proton MPV’s launch date as the chosen name would then be leaked. But then again I might be wrong. Look for one more photo of the chassis after the jump.

Proton MPV

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• JasonMaxx (Member) on Sep 08, 2008 at 7:03 pm

Haiz…looks like dun hav sliding doors..

• Paul Tan on Sep 08, 2008 at 7:10 pm

More details on the specs and equipment:

http://paultan.org/archives/2008/08/02/proton-mpv-exclusive-initial-details-revealed/
    http://paultan.org/archives/2008/09/02/proton-mpv-first-batch-to-roll-out-mid-sept-2008/

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Sep 08, 2008 at 7:12 pm

God bless LG CNS.

• Roti Naan (Member) on Sep 08, 2008 at 7:27 pm

Since Proton isn’t all that well received and ppl having negative impression about quality of the car (even among Terenganu govt officials having problem with Proton recently…..)

The MPV should therefore be named something of high-end…..

Lets call it —

“Proton MPV Mercedes”

• austin_cipan (Member) on Sep 08, 2008 at 7:35 pm

proton berat

• 707 (Member) on Sep 08, 2008 at 8:09 pm

Proton Leewat

• topgunthang (Member) on Sep 08, 2008 at 8:28 pm

just call it P.O.S . Suits any proton just fine.

• e-nabilll (Member) on Sep 08, 2008 at 8:34 pm

should have a rollcage !

should be called Proton “16th september” !

• mystvearn (Member) on Sep 08, 2008 at 8:36 pm

Proton Middle age men who has lost fun in driving cars

• freeze (Member) on Sep 08, 2008 at 8:39 pm

Is there a limit on the number of entries that can be submitted by one person?

• hyundai (Member) on Sep 08, 2008 at 9:12 pm

Proton Muatan…

• vandenlye (Member) on Sep 08, 2008 at 9:18 pm

JasonMaxx said,
    September 8, 2008 @ 7:03 pm

‘Haiz…looks like dun hav sliding doors..’

This is because Toyota Wish dun hav sliding doors, and perhaps proton does not have the ability to re-engineered the swing doors become slidding doors…

• cutester (Member) on Sep 08, 2008 at 9:53 pm

Proton Serba Boleh…. or Proton Serboleh….. hehe… just kidding! :)

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Sep 08, 2008 at 9:54 pm

Proton Bunting

• niomr1 (Member) on Sep 08, 2008 at 10:25 pm

Wish-like chassis but need to evaluate your test-drive session. Hope you can get it ASAP.

• EnochKeng (Member) on Sep 08, 2008 at 10:27 pm

PROTON JUARA SE
    lol ^^

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Sep 08, 2008 at 10:51 pm

its a good gimmick by proton. keeps interest in the mpv all the way leading up to the launch. for people who are seriously in the market for an mpv(which is probably 5% of the people here), it could make them hold off on a potential purchase today, and wait for this proton mpv and see how it turns out.

going by how well proton cars are being received currently, and the fact that people are actually coming out to defend proton when the terengganu govt. made some crazy claims of super high maintenance for their perdana’s shows that the public are getting behind proton again. hopefully they continue to deliver, improve and not betray their consumers trust again. there isnt much protection left for them now, and it will definitely disappear all together in the near future.

• Roti Naan (Member) on Sep 08, 2008 at 10:57 pm

Proton oredi has “SAVVY”.

The new MPV should be named “BADAWY”, as to commemorate his flip-flop administration.

hehehehehe

• awak (Member) on Sep 08, 2008 at 10:58 pm

proton P7 ,carryover name like Gen2 or people 7
    proton inspirasi ,(longer name for bigger car)
    proton panorama, (eventful, journey, enjoy)
    proton kruza 7, (seven seater cruiser)
    proton famila, (family)
    proton multisita, (multi seats undestandbly 7 seater)
    proton keruza
    proton fleet7
    proton merdeka, (big car ,freedom)
    proton gaya7 (the way of being 7s)

• generalhoho (Member) on Sep 08, 2008 at 11:04 pm

All these ppl worship the west.! ekekeke

• haroldz (Member) on Sep 08, 2008 at 11:14 pm

proton journey
    proton viaggio (journey in italy)
    proton voyage
    proton MP7
    proton carrier (harrier?)
    proton bravo
    proton dare
    proton grandia
    proton molek
    proton hebat
    proton ippo
    proton comodita (comfort in italy)

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Sep 08, 2008 at 11:26 pm

wah u both give such good ideas make sure u enter contest first…otherwise org lain curi rugi wooo

• khengyi82 (Member) on Sep 09, 2008 at 12:10 am

proton lanlcly
    proton sucker
    proton fucsuk
    proton fu
    proton cb
    proton haiso
    proton baici
    proton stupid

• DC5H14 (Member) on Sep 09, 2008 at 12:23 am

show ur talent guys..!!

even in japan they use karut marut punya nama…hehe

• tango5 (Member) on Sep 09, 2008 at 12:39 am

Proton Kangkong…yehaaa…:)

Just kidding ppl. Really hope that Proton will not be like NAZA last time, during the NAZA MPV naming contest (self proclaimed Malaysia’s first MPV) they just scrap the competition at the end.

And the Kia Carnival have been officially named NAZA RIA without even thinking on people’s effort submitting (ppl have to propose name, give rationale and design the logo) gone with the wind..sigh…

• dgsport89 (Member) on Sep 09, 2008 at 1:03 am

proton peniru……..

• aksMs (Member) on Sep 09, 2008 at 2:19 am

Woah….I’d like to be the runner up winner. Heheh.

• e-nabilll (Member) on Sep 09, 2008 at 3:54 am

proton ‘ eem-pee-vee’ !!

• niomr1 (Member) on Sep 09, 2008 at 5:31 am

proton linear
    proton complement
    proton element
    proton polygon
    proton symmetry

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Sep 09, 2008 at 6:08 am

proton kotak (juara) hehehe

• Boolah (Member) on Sep 09, 2008 at 6:59 am

Proton Bencana or maybe Proton Puaka..
    ahaks.. Proton Seterika pun OK what.. lol (T_T)

• PTAllTheBest (Member) on Sep 09, 2008 at 7:10 am

since it copy wish style just call it Proton Wish lar
    headache…

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Sep 09, 2008 at 7:41 am

Whats up with the tiny brakes?!
    I sure hope those wont be on the production car. Good luck stopping a realatively heavy vehicle with those on.

• azrai (Member) on Sep 09, 2008 at 7:52 am

Proton Harap a.k.a Wish in Malay. Check the paultan forum for my chopping of the upcoming MPV.

• rexis (Member) on Sep 09, 2008 at 8:14 am

Proton Sumo
    Proton Fuyoh
    Proton Goliath
    Proton King Kong
    Proton T-Rex
    Proton Abang Savvy

• DC5H14 (Member) on Sep 09, 2008 at 8:19 am

even NSX looks like ferrari…coz they cant afford so they made their own copy laa…according to my japs frens

• niomr1 (Member) on Sep 09, 2008 at 8:19 am

Combine Wish, Innova, Livina and Stream.
    Proton Innowish, Liviwish, Streamish, Wishina, Wishova, Linova.

• kumbangsari (Member) on Sep 09, 2008 at 8:45 am

Proton Impian

• accordmania (Member) on Sep 09, 2008 at 8:55 am

PROTON DNA

• kevintth (Member) on Sep 09, 2008 at 9:09 am

It is a chance to be a winner. So let’s named the mpv properly even it is copy Toyota Wish…

So, let’s call it “Proton Vish” (copy the name as well) lol.

• pixie_wawan (Member) on Sep 09, 2008 at 9:11 am

Proton Lampin Pakai Buang <– to long, cannot
    Proton Must Improve <– hmm, cannot
    Proton Cheap <– also cannot

hmm, I don’t know lah..

• Ralliace (Member) on Sep 09, 2008 at 9:11 am

Proton Tiruan
    Proton Tiada Creativity
    Proton Copycat
    Proton Deathtrap during festive season
    Proton Taiwan

• tikus (Member) on Sep 09, 2008 at 9:14 am

Proton Protong (Name famous at rakyat)
    Proton BN (Owner Company)
    Proton Belacan (Support local food)
    Proton Pisang (Shape like pisang)
    Proton Camlah (Campro and Pak Lah)
    Proton Rojak (It combine all brand MPV design)
    Proton Jeanna (Owner Chic Name)

• SY0H (Member) on Sep 09, 2008 at 9:22 am

Salamz and Hi,

It should be named as;

PROTON CHAMPION SPECIAL EDITION (in accordance to the first Proton Juara Model)

or

PROTON TIN MILO (Extra Large Edition).

Good luck contestants, we should be posting all these ideas to Proton’s Website lah. Not here. Haha.

• freeze (Member) on Sep 09, 2008 at 9:32 am

Proton Breakdown…

Why are we posting the names here??? Send it in

• gtosupercharge (Member) on Sep 09, 2008 at 9:45 am

So this time around no more pride n joy. Should be hatred summore. Haha..

• azrai (Member) on Sep 09, 2008 at 9:58 am

I get an idea, Proton Murahnor – (Murah Bebenor). Sound like Murano isnt it.

• hujanlebat (Member) on Sep 09, 2008 at 10:04 am

proton genesis .
    proton active
    proton heart
    proton …..

• batudelima (Member) on Sep 09, 2008 at 10:13 am

dgsport89 said,
    September 9, 2008 @ 1:03 am
    proton peniru……..
    Ralliace said,
    September 9, 2008 @ 9:11 am
    Proton Tiruan
    Proton Tiada Creativity
    Proton Copycat
    Proton Deathtrap during festive season
    Proton Taiwan
    kevintth said,
    September 9, 2008 @ 9:09 am
    It is a chance to be a winner. So let’s named the mpv properly even it is copy Toyota Wish…
    So, let’s call it “Proton Vish” (copy the name as well) lol.
    DC5H14 said,
    September 9, 2008 @ 8:19 am
    even NSX looks like ferrari…coz they cant afford so they made
    their own copy laa…according to my japs frens

***LU SEMUA ADA MATA BUKAK BESAR2… TENGOK KIA SORENTO DEPAN TIRU BULAT2 GRILL BMW APASAL TAK BISING2..HYUNDAI TIRU HONDA LU ORANG APASAL TADAK BISING JUGAK

• newblogger (Member) on Sep 09, 2008 at 11:14 am

May i know what is the meaning to provide the tagline in the contest form?

“Provide us a tagline to go with your MPV name “

• ah liew (Member) on Sep 09, 2008 at 11:16 am

Perodua named it’s so called mpv rusa.

Maybe Protong should name the new mpv kambing. lol…

• proud2BMalaysian (Member) on Sep 09, 2008 at 11:29 am

PROTON PM7 (PEOPLE MOVER, 7 PERSON)

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Sep 09, 2008 at 11:50 am

“Maybe Protong should name the new mpv kambing. lol…”

ya.. maybe you should enter the competition with that name.. you might actually win ;)

• n8cky (Member) on Sep 09, 2008 at 11:50 am

Proton Saborn (Kotak Sabun)
    Proton Longkut (Lori Angkut)
    Proton Charm (Campur)
    Proton Notogo (No where to go)
    Proton Gen3 (After Gen2)
    Proton MPV Neo (Satria Neo)
    Proton MPV Trinity (Matrix Family)
    and goes on~lol

• n8cky (Member) on Sep 09, 2008 at 11:54 am

Proton Parlam (for auntie pasar malam buy stuff, easy to dabao~)

• maserati (Member) on Sep 09, 2008 at 12:16 pm

Hmm…

Proton Mee
    Proton Youu
    Proton Ba
    Proton Dawi
    Proton Na
    Proton Jib
    Proton Sa
    Proton Mi
    Proton Vel
    Proton Lu
    Proton Aerospace
    Proton Malasia
    Proton TM

• maserati (Member) on Sep 09, 2008 at 12:20 pm

***LU SEMUA ADA MATA BUKAK BESAR2… TENGOK KIA SORENTO DEPAN TIRU BULAT2 GRILL BMW APASAL TAK BISING2..HYUNDAI TIRU HONDA LU ORANG APASAL TADAK BISING JUGAK

Bangang mangkuk,sebab kereta tu ada kualiti! You patut bukak Kamus Dewan(Buku Hijau tu) dan cari makna perkataan kualiti.Sebab itu kita orang tak bising,bukan mcm Proton,dahlah tiru org lain,lepas itu kualiti macam berak.

• intermilan (Member) on Sep 09, 2008 at 12:22 pm

proton cherry..

• REX (Member) on Sep 09, 2008 at 12:25 pm

At least its Malaysian . NOT foreign . Make a resonable judgement la…even Kia also quality not far from proton what…make a survey among spectra user …you’ll know la…If proton badge its product as Maserati..I think even u”ll not complain..ha ha ha

• Roti Naan (Member) on Sep 09, 2008 at 12:26 pm

the brake disks are indeed small. I’d be nervous thinking abt the stopping capability of this car when loaded with 7 people.

BTW, how la ppl could suggest a suitable name when the car is in the form of skeleton or “bangkai”?

It’s like naming an animal without knowing the character and the outlook of the animal…

Another proton’s flip flop?….

• fighter_B2500 (Member) on Sep 09, 2008 at 12:26 pm

Bangang mangkuk,sebab kereta tu ada kualiti! You patut bukak Kamus Dewan(Buku Hijau tu) dan cari makna perkataan kualiti.Sebab itu kita orang tak bising,bukan mcm Proton,dahlah tiru org lain,lepas itu kualiti macam berak.

i think u re driving a maserati, dats y proton is no compete in quality..but the reality is its in ur dream only hehehhe

• REX (Member) on Sep 09, 2008 at 12:32 pm

Roti Naan…the quality of braking improves with ABS , EBD + BA..not the size of the disc…a mat rempit bike has bigger disc than Grand Livina but if you compare the braking..you know la the difference…ha ha ha

• keretalembu (Member) on Sep 09, 2008 at 12:40 pm

why you all ppl neg thinking. I suggest you all give the MPV name may be you can get MPV for free and if you think not ngam buang sungai agelah. May be one of you the using proton car and still using.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Sep 09, 2008 at 12:42 pm

roti naan,
    “It’s like naming an animal without knowing the character and the outlook of the animal…”

if you’ve actually seen the ad in the paper about the contest or been to the contest website(www.namakanprotonmpv.com), there is an explanation of the character of the car.

so who is flip-flopping now?

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Sep 09, 2008 at 12:43 pm

i think u re driving a maserati, dats y proton is no compete in quality..but the reality is its in ur dream only hehehhe

—————————————————————

the funnier thing is, maserati’s are not known for their build quality either.

• BlackJKX (Member) on Sep 09, 2008 at 12:46 pm

Gimick je from protong
    Proton Tairuz (Name mcm dari U.S tak?hehe..)
    Apela..sume nak tiru..

• BlackJKX (Member) on Sep 09, 2008 at 12:49 pm

Look at 2nd pictures..
    SZ show his middle finger to that future potong MPV..
    Hmm,bad..bad..

• normaluser (Member) on Sep 09, 2008 at 1:14 pm

Weird.
    Everytime I click & posted an entry, got this tiny error line on the top of the page:
    “Information was not completed to send the email out. Please contact [email protected]

But on the webpage, it stated:
    “Thank you for your participation!
    Your contest entry has been sent.”

Proton Edar need to fix that error. Very confusing… Don’t know if the entry has been sent or not.

• cratzelogy (Member) on Sep 09, 2008 at 1:23 pm

Proton GRAND Juara

• proud2BMalaysian (Member) on Sep 09, 2008 at 1:33 pm

I got a funny feeling that I’m gonna win.

• n8cky (Member) on Sep 09, 2008 at 1:37 pm

lol, i have the feeling too. not only feeling, i know it’s there.

• msmar_453 (Member) on Sep 09, 2008 at 2:01 pm

Looks promising!
    Paul, did you get the 3 spyshot photos? (can’t call it spyshot actually, bcoz it was taken in Proton’s factory)? even Azlano bengang giler when these photos flooded in the internet! Untung ada internet!
    who wants those photos? raise your hand! Hahaha!

Paul Tan says: yes of course. but it is illegal to publish because the photos were not taken on public roads. but theophilus chin has done some photoshops in one of the previous proton mpv stories based on those leaked photos.

• bmpower (Member) on Sep 09, 2008 at 2:09 pm

itu toyota TIRU HIDUNG DUGONG TAKDAK BISING PUN!..
    Dugong pun bising dan marah toyota. Royalti tarak bayar juga!.
    lagi baru mau bikin Innova Dugong!

• abtm (Member) on Sep 09, 2008 at 2:17 pm

i’ll call it Proton Dinosaur

• mrbola2 (Member) on Sep 09, 2008 at 2:20 pm

this is the first mpv for national car
    why dont put the name ‘Proton MPV
    because we all known the prototype by that name……..?

• bmpower (Member) on Sep 09, 2008 at 2:26 pm

Wah.. #2 Hadiah is nice la.. i want #2 .. no the winner.. #2 is hard to resist. :D

• carneo (Member) on Sep 09, 2008 at 2:31 pm

Name it Proton Gone Wild..

• Roti Naan (Member) on Sep 09, 2008 at 2:57 pm

BanyakMasukWorkshop said,

September 9, 2008 @ 12:42 pm

roti naan,
    “It’s like naming an animal without knowing the character and the outlook of the animal…”

if you’ve actually seen the ad in the paper about the contest or been to the contest website(www.namakanprotonmpv.com), there is an explanation of the character of the car.

so who is flip-flopping now?

————————————————————–
    I checked the site you have given. but there are no pictures of the mpv. (except a black & white skeletal car “hovering” at the right corner of the webpage) That is why I mentioned naming a car without looking at it is pretty much silly.

I guess there is no prize in guess who is the flip flop now….

• zzua (Member) on Sep 09, 2008 at 3:01 pm

since it can occupy 7,
    proton seventon.
    like lamborghini reventon hehehe.

• szw (Member) on Sep 09, 2008 at 3:14 pm

screw those people who kutuk proton.
    if you’re so good why not you start a car company ?
    you think manufacturing a car is like making a toy car ?
    you can kutuk it when u have the ability to even make a car.
    you all don’t even appreciate the car in your own country how u expect other people to appreciate it.
    change your mentality people.
    do u all know how much does it cost to build a new car from ground up ?
    its not cheap to engineer a car.
    i think you all should learn about appreciation.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Sep 09, 2008 at 3:48 pm

I checked the site you have given. but there are no pictures of the mpv. (except a black & white skeletal car “hovering” at the right corner of the webpage) That is why I mentioned naming a car without looking at it is pretty much silly.

I guess there is no prize in guess who is the flip flop now….

——————————————————

I’m pretty sure you know very well why there is no pic of the car, so there is no need to explain really. but honestly, do you really need to know how it looks like to name it? isnt knowing the character of the car enough? heck, we even name our kids before we know their names, let alone their characters..

• BlackJKX (Member) on Sep 09, 2008 at 3:58 pm

Some people naming their baby before even birth…
    some naming their baby after see the baby..after birth..
    eh szw…syed zainal’s wife??
    Lets name it..Proton Kong.

• osh_kosh (Member) on Sep 09, 2008 at 4:01 pm

cheer up guys… don’t gaduh2 (like don’t belok2 advert hahaha)… i’ve send PROTON HADHARI… sure can win ka?? LOL :)

• n8cky (Member) on Sep 09, 2008 at 4:51 pm

szw said,

September 9, 2008 @ 3:14 pm

you all don’t even appreciate the car in your own country how u expect other people to appreciate it.
    ———————————————-
    Give me the authority, i’ll do it. Where on earth/ “Where on Malaysia” u’ll find this ‘golden opportunity’ to manufacture car with full support from government in term of financial + cornering consumer to buy it? If it is just for the sake of doing it. Stop, dun suffer those “cornered” Malaysian anymore. I was there b4, i knew the feeling. Don’t u?

• White Jack (Member) on Sep 09, 2008 at 5:03 pm

I am submitting this contest. I named it Proton Angkut 1.6

• hvannees (Member) on Sep 09, 2008 at 5:10 pm

wow!! so many comment!! the best part is this show that Malaysians is really care about what proton do. and really2 best part is so many good names they gives to proton. common guys, submit your form using many creative name for exple la: like proton badawy, kambing, makan, kangkong, = had hari..
    huhu…

• paxter (Member) on Sep 09, 2008 at 5:16 pm

proton sebulan
    proton ccm (cepat cepat mati)
    proton tdr-X (telan duit rakyat Kau-kau (X) )
    proton bj (boleh jalan)

• tikus (Member) on Sep 09, 2008 at 5:39 pm

Dear szw,

R U protong staff? I know it is not eazy to build a car from zero. But dont build it the cin chay way. look at the shit design juara, tiara, back light of waja”dog bone”, Gen 2 no glove box . Shit head Proton R&D Dept!

• alvin_chan88 (Member) on Sep 09, 2008 at 5:58 pm

szw said,

Yo szw:

If you want to screw the epople who dislikes Proton. you will be screwed 1st! I am driving a Gen2. I had arguement with my family for the decision that I’ve made to buy a Proton, BECAUSE I HAVE FAITH IN IT!. I used to support Proton But eventually it proved me wrong. I wouldn’t BLINDLY appreciate something just because it is Malaysian Made. I would be proud and highly spirited shouting ‘Malaysia Boleh’ when our cars are competitive not just the PRICE! But the Quality, Safety and Reliability. It is true that lots of $$$ to build a car, but buliding cars that risks ones life cost much much more dearly than the cost of building a car. Am I Right Guys?

• Cyberkayu (Member) on Sep 09, 2008 at 6:00 pm

PROTON BESAR

• alvin_chan88 (Member) on Sep 09, 2008 at 6:01 pm

Try to imagine… Driving a MPV with 6 of your loved ones to a place, then the car suddenly malfunctioned, burst into flames, ABS not funtioning, car doors locked by itself, AirBag did not deployed… How would you appreciate a car like that?

• Cyberkayu (Member) on Sep 09, 2008 at 6:07 pm

are u trying to say~~
    T Advan Za?

• Cyberkayu (Member) on Sep 09, 2008 at 6:10 pm

PLease dun judge a book by its cover

Or

DUn Judge a car by its skeleton~~
    xD

• waheng (Member) on Sep 09, 2008 at 6:54 pm

bear in mind guys, proton always go for malay name, so my idea is ….proton goreng? proton boleh? proton raya? proton sensasi? proton sinario? ……. dam it

• alvin_chan88 (Member) on Sep 09, 2008 at 6:54 pm

Cyberkayu said,
    September 9, 2008 @ 6:10 pm

PLease dun judge a book by its cover

Or

DUn Judge a car by its skeleton~~
    xD

Yup.. I agree with it. But something must be added:
    Judge a car by its reputation and feedback from the owners!

• carneo (Member) on Sep 09, 2008 at 7:11 pm

We here are not try to protest Proton we know is not easy to build car from zero we hope Proton can produce quality car I don’t care a National car with a bit lover technology than other but it must have the quality, Proton is not a new company even Perodua much younger but the Viva is the example low in technology but better quality accordingly to it price, maybe you will say there are Japanese company support, but Proton have the chance too just only the Proton management ignore it….is not we don’t appreciate the car in our own country, I am sure most of us own a Proton car before, we are waiting for Proton to make change and produce a quality car, if you have follow up with the GEN 2 export to China through Yongman, take a chance to search how the local people there to rate the car, I feel very sad after reading those comment. We always criticize the quality of product from China, but now look at how people comment the GEN 2. Proton in Europe you can event search the comment form You Tube, At middle east Wira is just a low fare economic Taxi. Back to local Proton try to make change but many time we disappointed by the new model, Proton willing to change but make it very rough. In summary, we also not feeling well when other country sneer for the National car it’s equal to sneer for the Nation.

• IsaacVky (Member) on Sep 09, 2008 at 7:36 pm

alvin_chan88 said,

September 9, 2008 @ 6:01 pm

Wa ???no1
    You can imagine already even before the car launch to market.

Er, what’s TOTO 1st prize number ah this week?

• carneo (Member) on Sep 09, 2008 at 7:42 pm

If it realy good in price and with all the reasonable feuture we call it
    Proton BONANZA

• rt (Member) on Sep 09, 2008 at 8:05 pm

Dear msmar_453,

I really *do* think that Azlano want us to read between the lines.
    Probably that is his indirect way of telling us that it is THE MPV.

RT.

• fastcx (Member) on Sep 09, 2008 at 8:51 pm

alvin_chan88, if all those shits happens to u all in 1 time, then u should start considering mayb ur the problem :) not the car! ur mentality already told u its not good, no matter what others did to improve u’ll THINK its bad, thats malaysian! which is quite sucks n quite the reason y v r stuck in this state! guys, pls la, stop living in the past la! negativity wont bring any1 or any country forward! u guys have creativity, but used them in a very very negative ways…thats y mamak can live in malaysia, n lots of damn mlm able to flourish in malaysia! with ppl like u guys tat keep dreaming of fast cash n only like to blow water rather than use your creativity on productivity stuff! losers

• vandenlye (Member) on Sep 09, 2008 at 8:53 pm

szw said,

if you’re so good why not you start a car company ?…
    —————————————————————-
    I am also agree with what ‘szw’ saids, to build a car is not easy, need a lot of money. But given that sum of money, I might start one as well.

The word that I talked about here is again, ‘efficiency’, it is not only about how much money or how difficult. When one hand they sponsored some football team with millions of ringgit, on the other hand received a relief fund when making a lose, this business definitely need ‘a lot of money’, cause they still need to built some motorbikes, bicycles and cover some losing money foreign company.

When talking about they engineered a car, I guess not much they have done in this aspect, most of the time the engineering done by their suppliers engineer, or a least a few that I know. By stretching some line in the drawing, or suggested a PVC water pipe from hardware shop to solve suspension problem, this is more like a mechanic or draughtsman job.

• szw (Member) on Sep 09, 2008 at 8:59 pm

to alvin_chan88

bro , im driving a proton too.
    in fact its a waja.
    i don find any problem with it so.
    and fyi , my car is older then yours.
    with a full tank of petrol it still able to clock 500km for a full tank.
    what do u think for a 6 yo car ?
    nowadays car lifespan is 5 yrs only ok…
    all i can say that u have a bad luck.
    u try go look around see is there any persona owner complaining ?

• szw (Member) on Sep 09, 2008 at 9:01 pm

and btw , stop living in the gen.2 pass

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Sep 09, 2008 at 9:36 pm

alvin_chan88 said,

Try to imagine… Driving a MPV with 6 of your loved ones to a place, then the car suddenly malfunctioned, burst into flames, ABS not funtioning, car doors locked by itself, AirBag did not deployed… How would you appreciate a car like that?

wow… we have a clairvoyant in our midst.. erm.. can i ask you if PKR will be able to form the govt come the 16th???

• keatsan (Member) on Sep 09, 2008 at 9:55 pm

I’m not quite sure whether to agree with the statement or deny it. Of course imagine any types of MPV, SUV, 4WD or whatever types of vehicle you name it suddenly malfunctioned and so on like you’ve mentioned earlier. But you’ve already start making a judgement before it’s even driven on the road.

Now that’s accusing a car which COULD be good or either the other way round. Every car on the road has potential to kill the driver and the passengers. Even a HUGE LORRY driver could have die due to accidents.

But don’t forget that Proton has been trying their very best in their point of view. We’ve been comparing too much with the foreign car manufacturer. Try looking inside Malaysia itself before we look outside of our country. Perhaps compare to Perodua first.

As we know, Perodua probably MAY NOT even have their OWN design of car. In others words, they just do some touch up and ‘Tadaa’ we have a BRAND new car. That’s just gimmick in my opinion. No offense to Perodua owners out there I stress this.

I’m not trying to help Proton but it’s just try to look at a different point of view. Take some time to think about how, why, what and where.

Remember how Toyota wasn’t as good as now they were? But because of their support of their own people, they slowly step up and be better from one step at a time.

Perhaps this time the new MPV would give a better impression to all the consumers out there. Let’s hope this time Proton would rise and be accepted by almost all Malaysians.

*peace V *

• awak (Member) on Sep 09, 2008 at 10:10 pm

i did tease the gen 2 cps,
    the driver agitated, the car sprint fast, yes fast,

campro cps is very athletic, well the campro cps powered this mpv. hope campro cps do the job well enough.

ok naming,

proton – – – – -a

• alvin_chan88 (Member) on Sep 09, 2008 at 10:24 pm

fastcx said,
    September 9, 2008 @ 8:51 pm

alvin_chan88, if all those shits happens to u all in 1 time, then u should start considering mayb ur the problem not the car! ur mentality already told u its not good, no matter what others did to improve u’ll THINK its bad, thats malaysian! which is quite sucks n quite the reason y v r stuck in this state! guys, pls la, stop living in the past la! negativity wont bring any1 or any country forward! u guys have creativity, but used them in a very very negative ways…thats y mamak can live in malaysia, n lots of damn mlm able to flourish in malaysia! with ppl like u guys tat keep dreaming of fast cash n only like to blow water rather than use your creativity on productivity stuff! losers

szw said,
    September 9, 2008 @ 8:59 pm

to alvin_chan88

bro , im driving a proton too.
    in fact its a waja.
    i don find any problem with it so.
    and fyi , my car is older then yours.
    with a full tank of petrol it still able to clock 500km for a full tank.
    what do u think for a 6 yo car ?
    nowadays car lifespan is 5 yrs only ok…
    all i can say that u have a bad luck.
    u try go look around see is there any persona owner complaining

September 9, 2008 @ 9:36 pm

alvin_chan88 said,

wow… we have a clairvoyant in our midst.. erm.. can i ask you if PKR will be able to form the govt come the 16th???

Its not my mentality that is the problem, I don’t know whether you are a person that has the “tidak apa” attitude where if the car can run… then its ok type. I am not a perfectionist, but at least give me a car which is acceptable in general, If not because of Proton, perhaps we can have a better car at an affordable price. But if Proton is seriously wanted to be competitive, the QC must be improved, but based on what I see the comments from the owners, problems starts to come even the 1st month of owning the car even its the newly launched SAGA, please chack at Paul’s Automotive Forum before commenting. In fact, some of those problems faced by the new SAGA owners are similar with my Gen 2 as well… So did they improve? In terms marketing, YES, in terms of technology, YES. In terms of QC, NO. Oh ya, btw I am a very careful person towards my car, I service it before it clocks every 5000KM and i use Fully synthetic engine oil, even the service manager of COE Shah Alam had praised me for being caring for my car. Don’t think that I abuse my car. I challenge u to come and see my car to believe it!

As for SZW:
    Let me tell you my family’s fate with Proton,
    1st proton my family owned – Proton Saga Aeroback 1992 (A) – That is the best Proton we have driven before and we still miss it very much.
    2nd Proton – Proton Wira Aeroback (A) 1996 – Not a bad car, drove it for a good 6 years before selling it.
    3rd Proton – Proton WAJA 1.6 (A) in 2003 – Alarm goes haywire, the door lock by itself although I unlocked it, Air – cond compressor failed, tail light masuk water, Power window failed. The car got stollen in 2007.
    4th Proton – Proton GEN 2 1.6 (A) in 2006 – The engine gave problem, the so – called canister gave problem till now, my dashboard paint peeled, drive shaft not properly installed. If I am unlucky, then why such consistent problems happen to both my Waja and Gen 2? I think you are the only LUCKY one and most of them are UNLUCKY. About persona… I saw a lady driving a persona broke down in MRR2, then i pulled over and ask and she told me she don’t know and the car had delivered to her just 2 weeks ago? Unlucky again huh? If a car’s average life span is 5 years, then what is the brag about Toyota, Honda cars last much longer as other have said?
    I am trying to relate what had happened to all other Proton model’s problem and relate it to the MPV, If Proton cannot even make the SAGA in an acceptable manner, whatabout MPV? Want to know more about SAGA problems? Please check it out at Paul’s Forum. As for whether PKR can topple the G anot? er….. I cannot predict but I hope it will.

• alvin_chan88 (Member) on Sep 09, 2008 at 10:36 pm

Oh ya SZW:
    forgot to tell you, As I have mentioned before, because of the WAJA problem, my father had against towards me uying the GEN 2, But I thought, believe, trust Proton for improving its quality, so I made the wrongful decision, if you were in my shoes, how do you feel? Should I blame it merely because I am unlucky or I should put the blame back to Proton? I am considered lucky as my GEN 2 won’t ignite into flames as mentioned by some of the owners before.

• kllite (Member) on Sep 09, 2008 at 11:00 pm

Suggested names for Proton MPV

If you have purchased the car without major problems, the name should be Proton Kelakar, because the vehicle is such a bargain that it makes you laugh all the way to the banks with the savings thatyou have made.

If the car is a lemon, then it should be Proton Celaka, for all the miseries it brought you.

No offense to Proton as I own a Waja since 2001 and a Saga BLM since 2008.

• topgunthang (Member) on Sep 09, 2008 at 11:47 pm

the proton internet propaganda machine is alot bigger than i thought. go ask any of your friends who bought a proton and see how many of them actually recommend you to buy one with your own money.

alvin chan88
    was reading your paragraph
    “3rd Proton – Proton WAJA 1.6 (A) in 2003 – Alarm goes haywire, the door lock by itself although I unlocked it, Air – cond compressor failed, tail light masuk water, Power window failed. The car got stollen in 2007”

…….someone was kind enough to solve some of your problems for you.

anyway i beleive protection will be there for proton for a very very long time. if they werent guaranteed protection, then proton can close shop immediately. literally this instant. pronto. maggi-instant-noodle

• kevintth (Member) on Sep 10, 2008 at 12:45 am

looks like this naming contest will be scrap at the end. everyone came here to suggest name here not to them haha…

• feez98 (Member) on Sep 10, 2008 at 12:57 am

haha.. different ppl hv differents point of view. Some may for good, some doesnt. Some may experienced bad things bout their products, some doensnt mind bout it at all. But this doenst mean that u can quickly judge it wrongly. Terima shj lar keadaan tu, things happens for a reason. This is normal lar. We’re only humans… just dont be so selfish. What ever it is, a good job for proton of late.

• fastcx (Member) on Sep 10, 2008 at 1:53 am

alvin_chan88, i owns a satria neo, n its over 2yrs old without failing me, including lots of club members. so since u dare to challenge me go ahead, im sure proton arent using great quality parts(this is a fact), what make me piss is as if u can see the future! i know some saga owners, those that have issues usually are those that didn’t check their cars before collection, or even when some small symptoms come out they just dont bother!

as for your campro using fully synthetic…u have the money to use it, go ahead, for a fact, fully synthetic doesn’t equals to better than semi!

my family car history r filled with protons, mayb u can say im a lucky B.astard, none of them give issues from old saga over 10yrs to the last damn milo tin saga n another wira + current satria neo.

its been over 2yrs for my neo, other than my driver side door handle is scratched by me, i dont see paint come off or fade, engine give no headache(which i do around 7k rpm rev with couple of track day abuse), headlight(right) gone around 2yrs of use, brake light (right) gone after over 1.5yrs of use. whats more, i change oil around 6~7k. occasional ulu yam route to genting n kuala klawang trip. call me lucky if u want, i just love my car as it give me no trouble but joy!

pls becareful with dealer u choose, most of them arent being responsible. n dont send your car to damn SC that dont even looks properly managed! if your around pj area, send your car to S13, or jalan 222 area…at least they do things professionally most of the time when u explain your condition rather than go there express your emotion

• DC5H14 (Member) on Sep 10, 2008 at 2:25 am

hopefully the 1st batch of whatever name it might be MPV will not burden buyers like gen2.

ahhh reminds me my dad’s gen2. lots of probs..engine stop like a magic when i was driving it in the middle of the road..seb baik sempat berenti beside the road by momentum..day 3 having that car (T_T). damn captor wish the dealer could explain well to customer before handing the car…totally not the car probs, but when sent to SC. they dont know the probs. WTH..?! release car without technician?

bukak sana sini then ok. lepas tu assemble balik probs come never end. the temperature gone crazy. lepas tu after 1 year being burden by load of probs. the car behave well after it got a new cylinder heads. water jackets in the stock cylinder head seem broken….

the most interesting part is the they named the car syndrome as syndrome ****…hahaha…brought up to their meeting..penat

otsukare

• alvin_chan88 (Member) on Sep 10, 2008 at 7:11 am

fastcx said,
    September 10, 2008 @ 1:53 am

alvin_chan88, i owns a satria neo, n its over 2yrs old without failing me, including lots of club members. so since u dare to challenge me go ahead, im sure proton arent using great quality parts(this is a fact), what make me piss is as if u can see the future! i know some saga owners, those that have issues usually are those that didn’t check their cars before collection, or even when some small symptoms come out they just dont bother!

as for your campro using fully synthetic…u have the money to use it, go ahead, for a fact, fully synthetic doesn’t equals to better than semi!

my family car history r filled with protons, mayb u can say im a lucky B.astard, none of them give issues from old saga over 10yrs to the last damn milo tin saga n another wira + current satria neo.

its been over 2yrs for my neo, other than my driver side door handle is scratched by me, i dont see paint come off or fade, engine give no headache(which i do around 7k rpm rev with couple of track day abuse), headlight(right) gone around 2yrs of use, brake light (right) gone after over 1.5yrs of use. whats more, i change oil around 6~7k. occasional ulu yam route to genting n kuala klawang trip. call me lucky if u want, i just love my car as it give me no trouble but joy!

pls becareful with dealer u choose, most of them arent being responsible. n dont send your car to damn SC that dont even looks properly managed! if your around pj area, send your car to S13, or jalan 222 area…at least they do things professionally most of the time when u explain your condition rather than go there express your emotion

Dear friend:
    Please remember, I sais IMAGINE, not I PREDICTING. There are differences between both of them, as for what you said, you are going to 1 lucky fella that had NO problems with Proton, I sincerely congatulate you. But you did mentioned something about inspecting our car before taking it. I bought the car from Glemnarie Shah Alam, when the car had delivered to me, the door couldn’t open, I rejected and the car was delivered to me 2 weeks later. And how can you put the burden on the owner instead of the manufacturer? We paid the money for the car so we should get the car in tip top condition. Don’t you think you should blame the QC rather than us buyers? If we are so smart to check the condition of the drive shaft, gear box, power window and etc… I guess we will be building cars or at least own a mechanic shop already. You also did say that some dealers are not responsible, that is the main problem, form QC to the controlling of dealers, Proton has not improve and it should be rectified by them, NOT US! They had received our money then they must FULFILL their responsibility as or country’s car manufacturer! COE is the biggest service center among all in KL, If that place also cannot be managed properly, then please don’t talk about running the whole company properly. And to be honest with you, I stayed in CHERAS, but I still send it to COE for regular servicing and warranty because they are the biggest, supposingly to be the best. My friend, indirectly you had pin pointed the problems with Proton already. 1st the QC, then the Management, then the Control of dealers, Its a chain effect that cause the burden among buyers (xcept for you) and you are putting the blame on us? how pathetic… btw I had expressed my feelings towards Proton numerous times and they too admitted that the QC had to beef up as there are problems with it. I always say this ‘Proton designs are ok, the performance also ok, the problem is the QC, if they can meet the international standard of QC, they would not have been done that badly, at least I am really proud to have a Proton and no regrets about it.”

• jompergi (Member) on Sep 10, 2008 at 7:31 am

Proton MPV Great, Proton MY Car, Proton My Life, Proton My Sweet Heart,
    Get lost to those who downgrade proton, because you all have no……..in malaysia

• keatsan (Member) on Sep 10, 2008 at 8:23 am

alvin_chan88, what’s past is past. Bad memories will always haunt us. We all can forgive but we can’t forget.

And what were looking ahead in the future is improvement. Proton has improve in certain aspect. As for the QC, let’s hope that this time the MPV has international QC.

Whatever happen to your history of Proton, it’s history. Forget the past and look ahead. Be a positive mind thinker, and thus you shall be one rational positive mind thinker.

*Did you know that the first batch of BMW 5 series has ONLY 3 STARS SAFETY and full of problems too?

*peace V*

• SpEeDy (Member) on Sep 10, 2008 at 9:43 am

Nothing to said, just wish Good Luck to proton for the new MPV…

• DC5H14 (Member) on Sep 10, 2008 at 10:14 am

yeah..totally agree with u keatsan. we shld +ve in everyway not blaming each other rite. its not helping. so why dont we start from naming this new guy a nice name..(^_^)V

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Sep 10, 2008 at 10:27 am

topgunthang, this time, i totally agree with your statement. “if they werent guaranteed protection, then proton can close shop immediately.”

its definitely true. the previous management of the company went about their business in that manner, coz they’re protected, they can do anything they want, and still come out smelling rosy.

but what i dont agree with you, is that you totally 100% ignore what is happening in proton today and for the last 2 or so years.

the market today is also very different today. proton is not as protected anymore as you claim. korean cars are cheap now, and with the help of naza, they are even tax exempted, being national cars.. likewise with perodua, who has had huge successes with their myvi. 2 years ago, these guys almost killed proton, with huge sales going to perodua and the koreans. everyone could clearly see the drop in sales for proton, and their massive losses in their financial results.. everyone on this blog said proton is dead, and will close shop. but they are still around, and now starting to make money.

but i think slowly over that time, one cannot ignore the changes in the way the company is changing. in 2 years, i’ve never seen proton do so much in the export market as in the past 10 years before. also, they continue to come out with cars that are selling well domestically again.

there are people on this blog who continue to say things like “proton is not well received”, must be blind, as they already have over 80,000 bookings for their saga since january. and true enough, proton does face a tough time overseas.. but its only been 2 years since theyve been serious about exports.. the japanese fought like mad for more than 20 years alone in the export market before they were accepted, although they still have problems selling big in europe today. even us malaysian used to call japanese cars milo tins for a long long time. 23 years for a car company is still very young, and thats a fact.

• doraemon (Member) on Sep 10, 2008 at 10:38 am

Proton Stim
    Proton Bagus
    Proton Best
    Proton Estacy
    Proton Boleh
    Proton Proton
    Proton Gajah

• calvin5189 (Member) on Sep 10, 2008 at 10:54 am

I just submitted a name call “PROTON ADILAN”

• BlackJKX (Member) on Sep 10, 2008 at 11:16 am

Proton GarudaSey
    Proton Impala
    Proton Gurkha
    Proton Tanik
    Proton Compos
    Proton RiaRia
    Proton AbukAbuk 1.6
    Proton Sikalang
    …………hmmm..sigh…

• batudelima (Member) on Sep 10, 2008 at 12:11 pm

maserati said,

September 9, 2008 @ 12:20 pm

Bangang mangkuk,sebab kereta tu ada kualiti! You patut bukak Kamus Dewan(Buku Hijau tu) dan cari makna perkataan kualiti.Sebab itu kita orang tak bising,bukan mcm Proton,dahlah tiru org lain,lepas itu kualiti macam berak

September 9, 2008 @ 12:43 pm
    i think u re driving a maserati, dats y proton is no compete in quality..but the reality is its in ur dream only hehehhe.. Good comment
    maserati,
    lu guna keta apa….Tau kondem aje continental ,korea takpayah bodohkan orang la kalau continental tak payah sibuk kat sini.. kalau korean car.. tak payah belagak .Cikai2 proton pun ada 2nd value dia spare part senang cari . Korea punyer salesman cakap ape tau .. market dia sejuk beku Boleh pakai terus buang ..cekik minyak ,,spare part macam harga continental dah tu tak ada pulak kat kedai spare part ..kena order dulu tunggu bulan2 baru sampai. Belajarlah menghargai barang sendiri ..baru bole jadi bos yang baik.. kalau tak jadi lalat ajelah ..mana2 pegi cari benda busuk2 aje

• dangermouse (Member) on Sep 10, 2008 at 12:53 pm

I’m inspired by some of the crazy Japanese car names

Proton Longbox
    Proton Cassidy Speedwagon
    Proton Elvis Van Timewarp
    Proton Sleepytime
    Proton Rrrrrempit

Website is down at the moment anyway… sigh

• szw (Member) on Sep 10, 2008 at 2:44 pm

alvin , i use to work in BMW ok…
    u think such problem only occur in proton ?
    do u expect a BMW 5-series just got deliver a few minutes and it came back with a transmission fault ?
    so , QC prob is not always with proton
    its everywhere…
    let me ask u , how much u think it cost to produce a mold to make a car bonnet ?
    u think they beat it out using hand ?
    it cost millions man…
    that’s the bonnet only.
    u try to think its for the whole car…
    don’t just because your car has fault and u blame every single proton…
    my dad use to own 2 proton before hand
    1 wira , which is still in good condition when we sold it away .
    another 1 is a perdana 2.0 , which we use for 7 years before the gearbox finally gave up.
    so u gonna blame me for being the lucky one ?
    if u think u hav the money why not buy a better car ?
    no one ask u to own a proton anyway…
    if u hav problem with your car let proton know.
    they’re really listening to our complains u know…
    good luck bro.

• niomr1 (Member) on Sep 10, 2008 at 3:05 pm

Proton HSMXM (hidup segan mati tak mau)
    Proton HSMPS (hidup susah mati pun susah)
    Proton TM (tangkap muat)
    Proton PSP3 (persatuan sampai pencen pakai proton)

• The Unicons (Member) on Sep 10, 2008 at 3:18 pm

To alvin_chan88 and (simply bashing the car even not coming out yet).

My uncle friend owned a Toyota Land Cruiser Prado. The car skidded during rainy days and turned over. He injured his head too eventhough not serious. For your infomation, the Toyota Land Cruiser comes standard with Toyota’s Star Safety System, which includes Vehicle Stability Control (VSC) and traction control (TRAC), an antilock brake system (ABS) with Electronic Brakeforce Distribution (EBD) and BrakeAssist. On the options list, you’ll find an airbag package with regular side airbags for front occupants, along with side curtain airbags and a rollover sensor that offers chest and head protection for first- and second-row outboard passengers.

Seems like the car’s safety features also ALL FAILED!!!!

I don’t say the car not good or Toyota also made crap car. My point is not judge the car or all car models from particular manufacturer just like Proton (as you stated) just because got few cars having problems. WHAT MORE TO SAY THE CAR STILL NOT EVEN ON THE ROAD YET!!!!

So please me matured. Give more solid comments.

• The Unicons (Member) on Sep 10, 2008 at 3:21 pm

Please BE MATURE when GIVE COMMENTS. TQ

• fastcx (Member) on Sep 10, 2008 at 4:44 pm

alvin_chan88, u r a very good example of y malaysia consumer rights is damn poor! u cant always trust anything( including manufacturer u trusted!). there is a form for u to sign b4 collection of your car! in that form have list of stuff u have to check n sign, so that it means when u collect the car, its in good condition so u signed it! u never bought anything expensive before do u? u dont even own your own business! its a damn simple principle! not to push the blame onto customer, its your job to make sure it works, its not proton push u a car, its u who buys it! so check it b4 u collect! 1 more thing, COE is 1 of the worst SC u can go! they may b big, but they arent the 1 that store lots of parts n with good service! its mutiara damansara(another HQ) tat can give u good service! there goes another good example of bad malaysian consumer practice-think its good/with lots of advertisement/good brand=good thing…its pitiful to see malaysia not just in gov level is a sore eyes, even citizen themselve r lazy bum with little to no knowledge of their surrounding…any1 agree? if u dont, look around, think deeper, rather than look at surface n follow what others said! if u continue your age old practice, u’ll only stuck in your current state without progression! change your lifestyle man, u’ll see…

• Proton Sagwa (Member) on Sep 10, 2008 at 5:28 pm

fastcx said,
    “its a damn simple principle! not to push the blame onto customer, its your job to make sure it works,”

lol you just did push the blame onto the customer! He’s buying the bloody car, if it’s also his JOB to make sure it works, then explain exactly what the QC inspectors are being paid for??

And like he said, exactly how was he supposed to check for an improperly installed driveshaft, defective power window, etc etc? you even admitted earlier that you know Proton uses low quality parts, guess that’s his fault too? This whole tidak apa/buyer’s fault attitude suits a dodgy vendor at the pasar malam but not a company with supposedly global aspirations.

Everyone knows the first batch of people to buy this mpv are going to be sort of like guinea pigs just like alvin was with his gen2, and others were with the new saga. Hopefully Proton will make QC a higher priority this time and also quickly address any problems. But no need to attack and make like it’s the buyer’s fault when it should never have made it out of the factory like that.

• fastcx (Member) on Sep 10, 2008 at 5:59 pm

Proton Sagwa, its the consumer’s job to check before sign, i said not great quality, not low quality. i do not have tak apa attitude, as my cars did not give me any issues to tak apa for! the point is, he generalise all with few issues. inappropriate drive shaft installation will cause noise, u’ll notice it during ur collection! defective power windows? its in the check list! did u bought a car b4? still remember the form they ask u to sign when u collect the car? so now who is tak apa? n yet in the end come out n bark like stray dogs for mistake they made? i was 1 of the few that got 1st batch of neo! and i can say, 1st few batch of neo have even less issue than those after it! issues i meant r minimum annoyance!

u still dont see your own responsibility as a consumer? they did not force u to take the car if it have defect on the day u collect it, its u who signed it! huh? makes me wonder what kind of logic u apply to your life? if its not satisfactory, dont sign it! complain till they fix it! simple thing that i do all the time(not just in car purchase, if the item im about to get arent up to spec, just leave it n get them to fix it or just get another brand)!thats call consumer rights! the money is yours! i am a perfectionist, things i get will need to be tested b4 collection, i would spend 30mins to 1hour at there just to test the whole thing b4 i sign any piece of paper with my name!

u guys r just too pampered by government for too damn long! even simple purchasing knowledge also dont know? pitiful

• alvin_chan88 (Member) on Sep 10, 2008 at 6:14 pm

Proton Sagwa said,
    September 10, 2008 @ 5:28 pm

fastcx said,
    “its a damn simple principle! not to push the blame onto customer, its your job to make sure it works,”

lol you just did push the blame onto the customer! He’s buying the bloody car, if it’s also his JOB to make sure it works, then explain exactly what the QC inspectors are being paid for??

And like he said, exactly how was he supposed to check for an improperly installed driveshaft, defective power window, etc etc? you even admitted earlier that you know Proton uses low quality parts, guess that’s his fault too? This whole tidak apa/buyer’s fault attitude suits a dodgy vendor at the pasar malam but not a company with supposedly global aspirations.

Everyone knows the first batch of people to buy this mpv are going to be sort of like guinea pigs just like alvin was with his gen2, and others were with the new saga. Hopefully Proton will make QC a higher priority this time and also quickly address any problems. But no need to attack and make like it’s the buyer’s fault when it should never have made it out of the factory like that.

Proton Sagwa:
    Thank you for being my back, I’ve been hentam teruk teruk and kau kau these 2 days. I know that we have a form to sign when collecting the vehicle, but problem starts when it reaches the 1st week or perhaps the 1st month? So how could I determine the fault in the 1st place? I also had mentioned that I rejected the car once when the car door couldn’t open, so did use my right as a consumer? FYI, my GEN 2 is not the 1st batch also, I bought it at April 2006. BTW, you have your facts, I certainly hope Proton can do a much better job than what they did with mine or other victims. If they can beef up their quality, manage their company, certainly Proton will be our Pride and Joy. I am not prejudice towards Proton, I liked Proton since I was young.

If I had made anyone unhappy, I felt deeply regret and I would apologize. But I will still believe that Proton is still not up to the standard yet that it can considered “Pride and Joy” for the Rakyat. I certainly hope i would see Proton prosper some day. Not just CLOSE SHOP or BANKRUPT, like this it would be a waste of G funds for over 20 years.

• szw (Member) on Sep 10, 2008 at 6:44 pm

do u all really think that proton is relying on G to fund them ?
    i really wouldn’t say such thing.
    if G is funding proton then where did the money they earn go ?
    not to the G i guess.
    well , like what fastcx said.
    customer seriously have their own rights to check their car before handing over.
    you think technicians can check everything ?
    as technician , they have a certain guidelines to check in a car before delivering.
    and i don’t remember checking the driveshaft is part of the guideline.
    the people who knows the car more than anyone else will be the owner.
    its the same apply to everywhere.
    btw , y r u bossing so much about your cars problem ?
    if u got problem bring it back to them.
    whats the warranty for ?
    keep in cupboard as souvenir ?
    man… i hope u know how hard izit being a technician man…
    leave u one day to work in workshop see whether will u appreciate what u got anot ?
    so i hope u understand , there’s no such thing as 100% in manufacturing.
    i don think only in manufacturing, i think everything in this world.
    u wouldn’t know if something will happen by chance.
    there’s bound to have that 1%/2% fault.
    so i hope u appreciate what u have and stop crying over the fault.

• keatsan (Member) on Sep 10, 2008 at 6:54 pm

Proton Sagwa

You DO know that every FIRST batch of every car is CONSIDERED white rats? It’s like Windows Operating System with first release and lots of holes in the software.

Same goes to car. Thanks to the issue, improving is the word that comes after that.

Even Ferrari first batch has problems. BMW 5 series as a good example i’ve mentioned earlier. 3 star safety first batch with lots of other problem for the 520i batch. But think about it, without these problems popping out…how is the manufacturer is going to improve?

Take 5 minutes to think on the logic and common sense. Don’t think other the FUTURE problems that is going to pop-out.

Take One Step At A Time my friend.

*peace V*

• szw (Member) on Sep 10, 2008 at 7:04 pm

totally agree wif keatsan
    hahaha !!!

• BanyakMasukBengkel (Member) on Sep 10, 2008 at 8:36 pm

Its must be replacement for Juara.
    So that wil be,
    “A new Juara begins”

• Proton Sagwa (Member) on Sep 10, 2008 at 9:20 pm

Keatsan, where did i say this is limited to Proton? Everyone knows to be wary of intro models from any manufacturer, and that we can only hope Proton will reduce and respond. I was mostly responding to fastcx and his increasingly nonsensical attacks on anyone whose Proton car might have problems.

fastcx, quit being an arrogant little snot and accept that if there is a build quality issue it didn’t magically appear because the new owner didn’t inspect enough. and even if the fault is discovered, you talk as if rejecting a car is no problem and isn’t costing the owner in wasted time (maybe yours isn’t worth so much). the solution is to a) improve QC and b) improve after-sale support. not to attack people for build quality faults many of which would not even be noticeable in a standard inspection.

and lol, talking to me about “simple purchasing knowledge”? kid, i’ve lived in enough countries and purchased enough in my life to know that buying a car from an multinational manufacturer isnt supposed to be the same as buying a pirate dvd from a market stall (accept it=final). shame you don’t but maybe you’ll get out from under the coconut shell one day.

• keatsan (Member) on Sep 10, 2008 at 9:36 pm

i’m in a confusion now. @_@

• alvin_chan88 (Member) on Sep 10, 2008 at 10:17 pm

Proton Sagwa said,
    September 10, 2008 @ 9:20 pm

Keatsan, where did i say this is limited to Proton? Everyone knows to be wary of intro models from any manufacturer, and that we can only hope Proton will reduce and respond. I was mostly responding to fastcx and his increasingly nonsensical attacks on anyone whose Proton car might have problems.

fastcx, quit being an arrogant little snot and accept that if there is a build quality issue it didn’t magically appear because the new owner didn’t inspect enough. and even if the fault is discovered, you talk as if rejecting a car is no problem and isn’t costing the owner in wasted time (maybe yours isn’t worth so much). the solution is to a) improve QC and b) improve after-sale support. not to attack people for build quality faults many of which would not even be noticeable in a standard inspection.

and lol, talking to me about “simple purchasing knowledge”? kid, i’ve lived in enough countries and purchased enough in my life to know that buying a car from an multinational manufacturer isnt supposed to be the same as buying a pirate dvd from a market stall (accept it=final). shame you don’t but maybe you’ll get out from under the coconut shell one day.

Thanks for being so understanding. At least you can sense how I felt. BTW, its ok for them to continue putting their comments, its ok as they have the right to do so, it won’t hurt abit no matter what they say, they say I put my warranty booklet into my cupboard as souvenir.. Let them lah, you know I am not that stupid to do so enough. Nice meeting you hope we can know each other and share some opinions together.

• zerachiel1986 (Member) on Sep 11, 2008 at 6:44 am

lets name it —

Proton Mangkuk…..

Proton Sewel….

sigh,i am going nuts…okay,if i dont have any hatred on proton,then i would name it —

Proton Dazzle

Proton Destiny

Proton Horizon

• Proton Sagwa (Member) on Sep 11, 2008 at 8:20 am

No problem Alvin, while the Protons ive driven havent had as many problems as yours seems to have had, i’m not so silly as to think that everyone’s must be the same and those friends and family that have had problems are making it up or somehow responsible for it.

Frankly its sickening to see some people making so many excuses for salaried factory QC inspectors and saying a layperson customer should right away find all the faults they missed or (more likely) couldnt be bothered to find. Someone saying an untrained aunty/uncle/etc new owner should know an unfamiliar car better than the factory inspector was the funniest I think.

Before anyone thinks i’m only talking about Proton, this also applies in varying degrees to a lot of other makes sold locally, especially the CKD models of some Japanese and Continental brands. It’s poor business practice really, as fixing faults later under warranty costs the company more and hurts brand loyalty and perception.

• BlackJKX (Member) on Sep 11, 2008 at 11:46 am

Proton ada launch zero defect campaign some months ago..
    want to know the result la.what the defect rate?they will cheat…

• torque (Member) on Sep 11, 2008 at 2:13 pm

Hmmm…it’s been quite a while since I log to paultan.org to update what’s new in the market recently. Busy working hard to make money so one day I could buy my dream car liao…heh! :-) Anyway, after reading ALL of the comments above, I still felt sad to know that there’s still a person who never understand what alvin_chan88 were feel and the reason for Proton Sagwa defending him. God NEVER made a PERFECT person so how in the world that any person or human could actually make a PERFECT thing? Nobody is PERFECT lar. Maybe alvin_chan88 have said something wrong but from the way I see it…it isn’t that much or could be none at all. Just UNDERSTAND what his going through la and what he felt…that’s all! He’s a better person that some blind or silly basher who’s saying Proton’s cars are a pile of shit ke, junk ke or whatever! I mean the guy even own a Proton man…and the fact he still supporting Proton is one thing! Don’t he have any right to voice out his opinion?

To the rest that oppose him,

Guys…you all ain’t wrong either but seriously if one day you all did actually purchase any Proton models that actually will ‘bite’ you in the end with never ending problems…I ask you all…how do you feel? For sure frustrated…no matter how much you love the brand! Fastcx, you mention that, “i would spend 30mins to 1hour at there just to test the whole thing b4 i sign any piece of paper with my name!”…like I said, no one perfect including you! Imagine if you do spend an hour to inspect it before signing but only to found out the problems will then appear 2 or 3 months later? My question still remain…how do you feel? I mean even after you claim the warranty and they claimed they fixed it only to found out yet again…the problems reappear couple of months later? Dude…I’m not saying what you said or the facts you point out is wrong…I’m just asking you to simply understand what some people have went through. Maybe you own a Proton with some defect and manage to fixed it or get over it but what about the rest who end up with more defects and still making their ways to workshop regularly? Just because you were lucky today of your knowledge, that doesn’t mean that you might be lucky tomorrow even though your knowledge is sky high…it still comes to the fact that NO ONE IS PERFECT…including PROTON and others car manufacturer either!

Just my opinion…read and reflect for a few minutes. Peace! Happy motoring everyone.

• jompergi (Member) on Sep 11, 2008 at 2:34 pm

every car company in the world copy, not only proton , suck

• jompergi (Member) on Sep 11, 2008 at 2:36 pm

Proton boleh, malaysia boleh, MPV boleh good luck Proton

• alvin_chan88 (Member) on Sep 11, 2008 at 6:40 pm

Proton Sagwa said,
    September 11, 2008 @ 8:20 am

No problem Alvin, while the Protons ive driven havent had as many problems as yours seems to have had, i’m not so silly as to think that everyone’s must be the same and those friends and family that have had problems are making it up or somehow responsible for it.

Frankly its sickening to see some people making so many excuses for salaried factory QC inspectors and saying a layperson customer should right away find all the faults they missed or (more likely) couldnt be bothered to find. Someone saying an untrained aunty/uncle/etc new owner should know an unfamiliar car better than the factory inspector was the funniest I think.

Before anyone thinks i’m only talking about Proton, this also applies in varying degrees to a lot of other makes sold locally, especially the CKD models of some Japanese and Continental brands. It’s poor business practice really, as fixing faults later under warranty costs the company more and hurts brand loyalty and perception.

torque said,
    September 11, 2008 @ 2:13 pm

Hmmm…it’s been quite a while since I log to paultan.org to update what’s new in the market recently. Busy working hard to make money so one day I could buy my dream car liao…heh! Anyway, after reading ALL of the comments above, I still felt sad to know that there’s still a person who never understand what alvin_chan88 were feel and the reason for Proton Sagwa defending him. God NEVER made a PERFECT person so how in the world that any person or human could actually make a PERFECT thing? Nobody is PERFECT lar. Maybe alvin_chan88 have said something wrong but from the way I see it…it isn’t that much or could be none at all. Just UNDERSTAND what his going through la and what he felt…that’s all! He’s a better person that some blind or silly basher who’s saying Proton’s cars are a pile of shit ke, junk ke or whatever! I mean the guy even own a Proton man…and the fact he still supporting Proton is one thing! Don’t he have any right to voice out his opinion?

To the rest that oppose him,

Guys…you all ain’t wrong either but seriously if one day you all did actually purchase any Proton models that actually will ‘bite’ you in the end with never ending problems…I ask you all…how do you feel? For sure frustrated…no matter how much you love the brand! Fastcx, you mention that, “i would spend 30mins to 1hour at there just to test the whole thing b4 i sign any piece of paper with my name!”…like I said, no one perfect including you! Imagine if you do spend an hour to inspect it before signing but only to found out the problems will then appear 2 or 3 months later? My question still remain…how do you feel? I mean even after you claim the warranty and they claimed they fixed it only to found out yet again…the problems reappear couple of months later? Dude…I’m not saying what you said or the facts you point out is wrong…I’m just asking you to simply understand what some people have went through. Maybe you own a Proton with some defect and manage to fixed it or get over it but what about the rest who end up with more defects and still making their ways to workshop regularly? Just because you were lucky today of your knowledge, that doesn’t mean that you might be lucky tomorrow even though your knowledge is sky high…it still comes to the fact that NO ONE IS PERFECT…including PROTON and others car manufacturer either!

Just my opinion…read and reflect for a few minutes. Peace! Happy motoring everyone.

Thank you, thank you, thank you. I sincerly thank you all for being by my back and also can understand my feelings. Being a loyal Proton user for so many years had made me understand that what Proton has to improve and I am just trying to voice our my thoughts. Thank you for giving me the opportunity to do so. It is true that lots of times have been wasted to send my car for warranty numerous times and the problem still persists. The air – cond belt problem and also the so called cannister problem is still bugging me and my car which cause my car to hum after I switch off the air cond and engine. It has been 1 and a half year it has been like this and Proton has been unable to rectify it. Now, my car is not under warranty, I don’t know how much it will cost me if the problem could be rectified as all technicians that I encountered also claim that it’s their FIRST TIME LISTENING TO THIS HUMMING SOUND. Personally, I think I had done my best as a car owner by taking good care ofit in terms of cleanliness and performance, My car will be washed 4 times a week and I serviced my car every 4000 to 4500KM before the recommended 5000 or even 10000 KM as I use fully synthetic oil which I don’t know whether it is better than semi or not? But since the technicians recommended this, so I enthrusted them and continuing doing so since then. I also make it a point to do up my alignment and balancing everytime after my internal of service.
    Once again, I really really do apologize if I had offended anyone here as what I’ve said is based on my past experienced, perhaps me and my family are Jinxed with buying Proton as my 1999 Kancil 850 EZ is working preety well till today, incomparison with my Gen2. And my father’s 2008 Altis too… Although its only half a year but we did not have any complaint about it…Yet.
    I certainly hope that future Proton buyers will not have such problem like me and other buyers do. I also sincerly wish that Proton can make it a success one day and really really do make us proud with our national call. Proton Boleh!

• alvin_chan88 (Member) on Sep 11, 2008 at 7:25 pm

Oh ya Torque:
    I wish you can buy your dream car ASAP with as minimal problems as possible, if can, no problems at all. Happy motoring!

• dr_carz (Member) on Sep 11, 2008 at 7:48 pm

16 SEPT = PROTON WILL BE CHANGE TO A BRAND NEW COMPANY CALLED PAKATAN AUTOMIBIL RAKYAT CAR !

PAKAURAK !

HAHAHAHA

FIRST MPV WILL BE NAME ANVAR !

MPV ANVAR ! GETS PEOPLE MOVIN!

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Sep 11, 2008 at 7:54 pm

call it the proton loser

• mrbola2 (Member) on Sep 11, 2008 at 10:03 pm

don’t gaduh-gaduh la guys
    the car doesn’t jual yet
    sabar la when the car came out soon
    we all see if the MPV is better or worst
    Proton is still new car manifacture
    give them a chance to improve
    if we tak sokong Proton sape agi

• tokmoh (Member) on Sep 12, 2008 at 12:03 am

alvin,

While I’ve been called “Protonian”, “Proton arse-licker” etc, I’m not blind enuf to advise ppl to avoid buying Protons made during Tengku Mahaleel’s time. Sadly, ur Gen2 is one. U rly shud’ve listen to ur dad!! Terribly sorry, but IMHO, yes, you’re to blame for having bad experience wit that particular model. Take responsibility of the choice u made.

Though I’d say, Proton today is definitely improved compared to TM’s time, I’ve even read of Syed Zainal Abidin’s contract might not be renewed bcuz he’s a very, very strict man when it comes to quality, thus vendors always grumble they’re not making profits as easy as they used to. Pray that this will NOT happen, cuz losing SZA would be Proton’s biggest lost since TM’s “contract ended” (more like fired to me).

Sure, newer Proton still has problems, but please look at the glass as half full. If TM is still Proton’s CEO, they would’ve gulung tikar edi…and I might still be a proton basher. Have faith that Proton is constantly improving themselves under the helm of SZA. Rome wasn’t built overnight, so as long as you can see Proton keep improving, there is light at the end of the tunnel.

Happy motoring. peace

• bmpower (Member) on Sep 12, 2008 at 11:04 am

if SZA not proton CEO/ MD anymore because of the selfish vendor..
    I will boycott proton too…. forever.

• ask82 (Member) on Sep 12, 2008 at 11:06 am

I CALL IT

Proton i.Mover
    The Intelligent People Mover.

P.S.—>I live in Egypt btw and I’m a big fan of this brand as a brand and what it symbolized despite of the negatives.If M Gov. gives this company total freedom with minimal protection like 5 % tax on imported goods from Asean and just 15% on Overseas.also; let the company choose it’s suppliers without favors and control.U will c a giant born.ANYWAY.Some mistakes of this company that it doesn’t develop left handed as quick enough and like the facelifted Waja was just launched in Egypt although Egyptians like to buy PROTON and Persona not yet and even facelifted Gen2 not yet no Savvy.JUST OLD GEN2 and NEW WAJA with 110hp old campro.That is the problem in export markets.AT THE TIME THEY BEGIN TO SHIP THE PERSONA AND WAJA THEY WILL BE OLD AND NOT VALUABLE.FOR EX,PICANTO SELLS LIKE MCDONALDS IN EGYPT EVEN THOUGH THE SAVVY IS BETTER.

• The Unicons (Member) on Sep 12, 2008 at 11:13 am

I totally agree with tokmoh. Since Syed Zainal Abidin became the CEO of Proton, we all can see Proton cars really improved and lots of news about Proton too such as explore to new markets more aggressively not forgetting the current markets too, having more partners working together in their R&D including the latest Detroit Electric on their current Persona and Savvy models that converted into electric cars instead and others. Syed Zainal Abidin also emphasizes the main priority is to improve the build qualities on Proton cars and another one is to improve and adding more and better safety features on their future models. From Paul’s post on Proton MPV has a very good crash safety design and it will be sent for official testing and to be rated. So, we can see how it performs. They (Proton) are so much busy compare to Tengku Mahaleel time which I can say so silent.

I also hope that Syed Zainal Abidin will given renewal contract for at least another 5 years and more since currently we can see the positive sign in Proton. I will be mad if his contract can not be renewed.

Happy motoring and keep safe during on the road…. wherever you are.

• torque (Member) on Sep 12, 2008 at 12:37 pm

alvin_chan88,

Dude, using a fully synthetic oil has it’s pros and cons bro. Here are some of it :

Pros:
    -It flows easier in cold weather, therefore no loss of prime when the oil is cold. Also, it is highly resistant to viscosity breakdown (the ability of the oil to flow easily in all temps) from heat, friction, chemical contaminants.

-Longer change intervals: 5,000 – 7,000 milage between oil changes (compared to 3,000 – 4,000 for regular oil).

-The engine will last longer because its so slippery, synthetic makes for less engine wear and thus greater engine longevity.

Cons:

-Cost is twice as much as conventional oil per quart (expensive like hell). I in fact using a Motul 300V POWER 5W-40 for my Celica which cost me RM165 for just 2 litre of it. Now imagine that I need to purchase at least 3 bottles since my engine need at least 4.5-5 litre. However it lasts longer, so the actual cost increase is closer to 50 – 60 percent.

-Flows easily, therefore not recommend for use on HIGH MILAGE engines; nor do I would recommend using it in on NEW ENGINES during the break-in period because it is so slippery and dramatically limits the wearing of new mating parts within the engine. This initial wearing of parts is what makes for proper engine break-in, sealing of piston rings, mating of camshafts and lifters, etc.

Oh ya Alvin, my dream car is only available through the grey importer thus it’s sure gonna have some wear and tear. Believe me that when you actually purchase any re-con cars, just make sure you have at least 10-15 grand aside to spare for fixing any wear and tear that might show up later! Learn from experience bro…cheers!

• torque (Member) on Sep 12, 2008 at 12:58 pm

tokmoh,

That’s a rather fair comments! And I agree with you and the rest that if Proton do decide to release Dato SZA in favour of the selfish vendor/cronies, Proton or should I say the ‘top people’ just prove themselves nothing more than a dumb@$$!

• alvin_chan88 (Member) on Sep 12, 2008 at 5:22 pm

torque said,
    September 12, 2008 @ 12:37 pm

alvin_chan88,

Dude, using a fully synthetic oil has it’s pros and cons bro. Here are some of it :

Pros:
    -It flows easier in cold weather, therefore no loss of prime when the oil is cold. Also, it is highly resistant to viscosity breakdown (the ability of the oil to flow easily in all temps) from heat, friction, chemical contaminants.

-Longer change intervals: 5,000 – 7,000 milage between oil changes (compared to 3,000 – 4,000 for regular oil).

-The engine will last longer because its so slippery, synthetic makes for less engine wear and thus greater engine longevity.

Cons:

-Cost is twice as much as conventional oil per quart (expensive like hell). I in fact using a Motul 300V POWER 5W-40 for my Celica which cost me RM165 for just 2 litre of it. Now imagine that I need to purchase at least 3 bottles since my engine need at least 4.5-5 litre. However it lasts longer, so the actual cost increase is closer to 50 – 60 percent.

-Flows easily, therefore not recommend for use on HIGH MILAGE engines; nor do I would recommend using it in on NEW ENGINES during the break-in period because it is so slippery and dramatically limits the wearing of new mating parts within the engine. This initial wearing of parts is what makes for proper engine break-in, sealing of piston rings, mating of camshafts and lifters, etc.

Oh ya Alvin, my dream car is only available through the grey importer thus it’s sure gonna have some wear and tear. Believe me that when you actually purchase any re-con cars, just make sure you have at least 10-15 grand aside to spare for fixing any wear and tear that might show up later! Learn from experience bro…cheers!

Thanks for your advice. I would like to ask you for 1 more favour, which is I am intending to buy my dream car too… A Peugeot 407. Since it is my 1st time encountering with a French car, So are there anything that I should be aware off and are there anymore things that I have to do to take care of the care IF I have the opportunity to have 1? Whatabout you all guys? Can help me? I wouldn’t want to make another wrongful decision again… Sorry Paul, I used your website to seek advice.

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Sep 12, 2008 at 6:18 pm

this car is sutiable for the aunties who have no money and no taste

• ask82 (Member) on Sep 12, 2008 at 7:42 pm

I CALL IT

Proton i.Mover
    The Intelligent People Mover.

P.S.—>I live in Egypt btw and I’m a big fan of this brand as a brand and what it symbolized despite of the negatives.If M Gov. gives this company total freedom with minimal protection like 5 % tax on imported goods from Asean and just 15% on Overseas.also; let the company choose it’s suppliers without favors and control.U will c a giant born.ANYWAY.Some mistakes of this company that it doesn’t develop left handed as quick enough and like the facelifted Waja was just launched in Egypt although Egyptians like to buy PROTON and Persona not yet and even facelifted Gen2 not yet no Savvy.JUST OLD GEN2 and NEW WAJA with 110hp old campro.That is the problem in export markets.AT THE TIME THEY BEGIN TO SHIP THE PERSONA AND WAJA THEY WILL BE OLD AND NOT VALUABLE.FOR EX,PICANTO SELLS LIKE MCDONALDS IN EGYPT EVEN THOUGH THE SAVVY IS BETTER.but the savvy isn’t sold in egypt.some feedback please

• szw (Member) on Sep 12, 2008 at 8:22 pm

good luck to u alvin chan
    i probably u have the worst taste in reliable car
    u still don’t understand what is reliable car ?
    do u know that the french have worst reliability issue than any car company in this world.
    when i say the french means citreon and peugeot included.
    i would advise you to look around before you buy a car.
    since you love complaining so much , let me tell you that you will suffer more when owning any french or korean cars.
    this is due to high maintainence.
    eventhough the 407 is cheap to buy, but u will definitely suffer from high spare part price and low resale value.
    hope you really think before what you do.
    oh ya , all this korean and french car are just good for long distance.
    so don dream of good fuel economy when driving in town or short distance.
    so good luck in your dream car…

• szw (Member) on Sep 12, 2008 at 8:39 pm

http://www.topgear.com/content/carsurvey/2006/
    here’s something for you to look into before considering your dream car

• torque (Member) on Sep 13, 2008 at 2:51 pm

alvin_chan88,

This time I’ve to agreed with szw on mostly what he/she said. I’ve been testing the CBU Peugeot 407 even before NAZA decided to assemble it locally. It is one of those vehicle like szw said was truly built for long distance drive as it was absolutely comfortable being in it…seriously comfortable! Still, there’s so much cons than the pros dude. Again, I think you should take szw advise regarding the Peugeot 407 high maintainence, high spare part price (maybe during the CBU models), low resale value and most importantly on it’s RELIABILITY which most French cars are suffers from. To make thing worst I used to had a very BAD experience with a NAZA’s assembly cars! I’ve made my choice to NEVER purchase any CKD cars by NAZA, that’s all. I also know the specs and features that NAZA have been throwing in it that makes it’s so darn attractive to resist. Let’s not forgetting the price…hmm…nice… RM133,888 for the CKD high specs.

Now we come to the issue of DREAM CARS,

Alvin, if this is DEFINITELY your dream car, then by all means…stop listen to anyone advise and just BUY IT! It’s your freaking money, your taste, your own rights and most importantly your dream and desire. But bare with it that any problem that occur during ownership should be carry by you and you certainly can’t complain about it! Why? Because when you actually decide on what is your dream car, all of these matters should be thrown right out the window since the MOST important part is…OWNING it! Any people which eventually manage to buy their dream cars, they should never and I really mean it, NEVER concern about fuel consumption la, reliability issue la, practicality la, getting spare parts la and whatever la la la later! :-) Owning a dream cars is all about PASSION towards the car no matter what it takes including burning a deep hole in your pocket. So Alvin, make sure you read and learn more about your dream car bro!

What would I do if I had RM135,000 or so?

Alvin, if I were single, has that kind or money to spend, have a knack for performance and looks…I’ll look at these choices bro,

Brand New Models:

1) Mazda 6 2.0 (CBU) – It just looks more handsome than the Peugeot 407 but the price is…sigh…you need extra 10 grand to spend! :-(

2) Mazda 3 2.0 Hatchback (CBU) – One of the best looking hatchback. Nice interior, well built. Price only at RM125,000.00 so you have extra 10 grand to spend elsewhere. Still, the auto gearbox lost to the Suzuki Swift Premier smoothness which I have test drive them both!

3) Mitsubishi Lancer 2.0 (CBU) – A well known name with reliability. Plus, spare parts comes easily. Oh! Let’s not forget, you could customize it to even look like the Evo X!

4) Suzuki SX4 Hatchback 1.6 (CBU) – You will be suprised on how well this car is built and the drivetrain. A very well value for money. Oh! Please, never buy the sedan version coz it’s simply ugly! It’s also cost at very attractive price of RM94,377.50 OTR with insurance if you wish to add leather seats and V-Kool tinting.

5) Honda Jazz 1.5L i-VTEC (CBU) – You might ask why I never include the Accord and the Civic? It’s too much on the road already…hahaha! :-) Still, buying the new Jazz is like shouting to all the chicks…Hey! Look at me…I’m well stable in financial and I’ve money to spend (RM 110,000) on a merely 1.5 premium hatchback! Nonetheless, I’ve drop by the showroom to look at the car upclose and it’s far better than the previous model.

6) VW Polo GTI 1.8 Turbo (CBU) – Poor’s man Golf GTI. Best of all, it comes manual! It produces 150 horsepower at 5,800rpm and a 220Nm of torque peaking at a low 1,950rpm. Nought to 100 sprint takes 8.2 seconds. Price are slightly over the range at RM139,960 without insurance. Reliability are also well known.

7) Impul Nissan Latio Sport 1.6 ST-L (CKD) – Buying these will give you more extra cash to spend (around RM25,000). It’s also more better looking compare to the standard version. Still, it’s HR16DE engine that makes 110hp at 6,000rpm, and 153Nm at 4,000rpm is nothing to shout about.

Recon cars:

1) BMW 318 2.0 Ci (2002-2003) – Hey! You got to drive and own the ‘bagde’! :-) Plus, it’s sporty and there’s tons of spare parts flooded our shore. Not to mention if you properly customize this car, drop in a supercharger, paint the whole car with matte black paint, shod a 18″ or 19″ DPE deep dish rims…wooo…it sure a head turner!

2) Toyota Celica SSII 1.8 VVTL-i (2002) – I currently own one and damn! money well spend. A joy to own and drive in one. Never buy the auto version as it will rob most of it’s performance! Accurately it has a 182 BHP and takes 7.2 seconds from 0-100 km/h.

3) Honda Integra Type R 2.0 (2003-2005) – Celica foe since both are FWD, NA and producing more HP above their cc without any force induction. Since the Integra have more advantage over the Celica since it has extra 200cc thus making a 220 BHP, it also has more aftermarket parts in Malaysia to improve it compare to the Celica. Please note that only the 2003 model are a bargain since it price around RM139,000.

4) Mazda RX8 1.3 Rotary (2003-2005) – This is one car you should consider to own (or dream) despite it’s a fuel guzzler! For most the 2003 models, you may had only to pay between RM120,000-RM135,000. To make things interesting is the road tax which you only pay not more than RM80.00 if I’m not mistaken. It also practical with it’s four doors! It’s one of the great sports cars to drive. Bare in mind, to look for a good condition RX8 is a bit of a hassle! When you test drive it, makes sure it revs more than 9,000 rpm since that’s is it specialty. Any RX8 which had the difficulty to revs above that, walk away since it’s rotary might have problem already! Plus, lots of people doesn’t know how to take care of the rotary engine properly. The downside of owning the car is the maintenance…you ALWAYS need to refill the engine oil every 3,000km and then the next 2,000km you already need to service it. This is to protect the rotary last longer!

5) Mini Cooper 1.6 (2003) – What can I say…it’s a chick magnet too! Spare parts a lot as well as the aftermarket parts. Price…between RM120,000-RM138,000 for this year model. Remember, it’s not the Cooper S so don’t go around and expect it to head to head with the GTI. Don’t forget…you drive a brand!

6) Nissan Silvia S15 2.0 SPEC-R (2003) – One of the most handsome sports car I’ve ever see. Price is around RM130,000. It also one of the best platform for you to play around with lots of aftermarket parts to back it up.

7) Nissan Skyline 2.5 GTT (2002-2003) – A Skyline is always a Skyline! Even though you may own the smaller bro with it’s 2.5 cc Neo engine with single turbo…it still pack a punch with 250 BHP! Price is not more than RM140,000. Oh! You’ll be the envy of all guys! How about that huh? :-)

There’s the ‘little’ help I could give you or advise, Alvin. Be extra careful if you actually did change your mind to purchase any recon cars dude. Bring a mechanic friend if you know one! Most important, you know yourself well than anybody…so you should know what you want in your dream car.

Cheers and I do hope you will own your dream car with problem free one day!

• tokmoh (Member) on Sep 13, 2008 at 10:59 pm

@torque

You’re missing another grossly underrated car: Ford Focus.

alvin_chan88 sounds like he’s goin for a Continental car, well, the Focus is (it’s built with German engineering n European styling). It is one of Britain’s best-seller, that speaks for itself of how great this car is.

Even Jeremy Clarkson used to own a Focus 1st generation (the ones sold now is 2nd generation) n he once quoted that for 7 years of owning it, it is simply the most dependable car he’s ever owned. Reliability-wise then, it can put even the Japs into shame. The great news is, the 2nd generation is improved in almost every aspect.

The problem with most of the cars u suggested is……they’re geared for performance, not comfort. The Focus has a reputation of being the best handling car in its class, but its not as hardcore as those models, hey, it’s built to be used on a day-to-day basis. It certainly can take corners or riding speedbumps or bracing through rough roads with potholes (common in Msia) better than any Japmobile.

It is CBU, so u can be assured of its quality. If you’ve been reading this blog for a loooong time, u’ll notice in the past that occasionally, there are Ford Focus owners who comment that they have absolutely no regret purchasing it, n lament how underrated this car is. Trust me, the Focus, may seem too good to be true, well, it is. It’s just that Msians are too kiasu to buy anything else aside from boring Japmobile. I’d say screw 2nd hand value, bcuz trust me, the Ford Focus is a car so good you wouldn’t want to sell. The pleasure of driving it is unparallel, coupled with spacious cabin n boot space, it makes a practical car to fulfill all ur shopping needs n baggage for a family trip, n the best news? It’s value for money, the 1.8L saloon costs rm113,922.90, which is cheaper than Altis 1.8G, Civic 1.8 (ok lah, actually Civic is cheaper by rm122.90, but do remember Civic is CKD, n I’ve heard lots of nasty QC problems with Civic, so in a sense, Focus is more value for money compared to Civic), all Mazda3 variants, Mitsu Lancer, n God knows what other car. It also comes with 2.0 hatchback variant for RM124k, which is also very competitive for a non-national car with 2.0L engine, but even if its a hatchback, it still has a spacious boot.

Did I also mention it has 5-star Euro NCAP crash test like the Peug 407? This is a car I’ve always mention when I’m arguing with someone who think Msian govt doesn’t value safety bcuz Japanese cars, which they think are very safe cars are friggin expensive, but what you have here is something that’s cheaper than most of the Japmobile, n a lot safer. I mean, Euro NCAP is the world’s toughest crash test, to get a maximum 5-star rating is to be given the best assurance in safety as far as the car is concerned.

• torque (Member) on Sep 15, 2008 at 5:40 pm

tokmoh,

Hey, thanks man for the Ford Focus suggestion! Ya la, I’m totally forgot about it. Yup, it is another well built car that Alvin should consider to purchase especially it is more reliable than some of the French and Italian made! Thanks a lot tokmoh. Happy motoring!

• torque (Member) on Sep 15, 2008 at 5:54 pm

Oh ya,

One more thing la Tokmoh…I don’t think most the cars that I suggested is pure performance class and none are comfortable especially all the brand new models that I suggested. If you want to say that the recon is more gear to performance…then that’s true la but still I’ve driven the BMW 3 series, Mazda RX8 accept the Mini Cooper and these cars are well comfort to be driven long distance. Still, thanks for the Ford Focus suggestion though…hope Alvin take that as a consideration too!

• szw (Member) on Sep 15, 2008 at 8:11 pm

anyway , what car u want to buy actually down to what purpose u want to use it.
    but when come to dream car that term, buy what you dream.
    but make sure u never regret.
    if u ask me , i will like a lambo , alfa, or lotus.
    but a dream car is a dream car…
    so i shall keep dreaming.
    enjoy your car…

• ask82 (Member) on Sep 16, 2008 at 10:00 am

How about Kia new Cerato(forte)I guess it will be released in MAYASIA immediatly with the international launch as KIA is increasingly expanding and it needs to capture market share.This car inparticular is super mass production quantity car and will be a best seller and award winner and highly acclaimed and recognized.It got a High-tech various range of engines and the new styling and design, guess who? It is Mr. Peter of VW/AUDI/LAMBO who is ofcourse a KIA man now.This particular brand is superb among asians and europeans as it closes the gap and has the best of both worlds(Designed by europe No.1 and engineered from a highly asian acclaimed manufacturer with JAP/korean Engine Spec and performance accompanied by cheap afordable price which is korean priced which means exellent value for money)

HOPE THIS HELPS!!!

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Sep 17, 2008 at 9:03 am

this is awful

• ask82 (Member) on Sep 18, 2008 at 4:34 am

ALPINA BMW said,
    September 17, 2008 @ 9:03 am

this is awful

What is awful? IF u mean the forte,u have to be kidding becuase it’s stunning design wise and techincally.Check it on this respected blog or over the net.It is beautifully put together.My opinion and the opinion of hundreds of thousands of ppl buying KIA Motors products around the globe expcially in the middle east and europe.KIA is the worlds most growing manufactuer.I hope with PROTON’s new management and plans they would become let’s say in the TOP 15 ranks.I know there is now TOP 15.Only TOP 10 & TOP 5 but if production reaches 600000 by 2010 and 800000 by 2012 accompanied by like 20000 of lotus vehciles every year starting 2012.It will make it a worthy competitor in ASEAN,Middle east and Europe.I see North America is shifting to cheaper more compact makes so Proton got a chance,small chance cus U.S.A is collapsing economically and the market is over saturated.The hope is in ASEAN,INDIA,CHINA,BRAZIL,RUSSIA,MIDDLE EAST(ARAB WORLD-22 countires).Good luck.THE MPV IS ultimate move for your national automaker.days will tell.

• picang (Member) on Sep 18, 2008 at 1:57 pm

According to Paul’s post, the road test should have started, right? Have any of you guys seen the MPV on the road? If you have maybe can share the pics.

• waraze (Member) on Sep 19, 2008 at 8:08 pm

This is the picture.????? Dunno whether its true or not

http://2.bp.blogspot.com/_wekaZaExvmY/SNAkdBlbz3I/AAAAAAAAAkI/taq2ogYAY3Q/s320/ProtonMPV2.jpg

http://4.bp.blogspot.com/_wekaZaExvmY/SNAkglxHKGI/AAAAAAAAAkQ/KKruQnRvC1o/s320/ProtonMPV3.jpg

http://2.bp.blogspot.com/_wekaZaExvmY/SNAkZvfVmtI/AAAAAAAAAkA/IohcnuXmNBM/s320/protonmpv1.jpg

• clover leaf (Member) on Sep 20, 2008 at 8:42 pm

Y nobody guess this MPV based on Mitsubishi GRANDIS underpinning/platform?

• cars-addict (Member) on Sep 21, 2008 at 11:49 am

i think proton PERMATA…. permata hatiku….

• pozie (Member) on Sep 22, 2008 at 4:26 pm

how about ‘PROTON TOURIST’.. i think its a great name.. ;D

• zzua (Member) on Sep 25, 2008 at 12:04 am

MPV spyshot – check paultan forum

• aeiry (Member) on Sep 25, 2008 at 2:37 pm

proton auria

• Masoud Arji on Apr 30, 2011 at 5:58 am

I think PROTON COALA or PROTON NACITIA is the best name for this new car . Or maybe PROTON EX 7 .