BMW confirms plans to build electric city car

BMW LogoAccording to Autocar, BMW CEO Norbert Reithofer has confirmed in a report by German weekly newspaper Die Zeit that the boys at Munich are currently developing a new city car.

He did not mention which of its brands the new car would be sold under – we can definitely rule out Rolls Royce but there is a possibility that other than BMW or MINI, a fourth brand will be set up which could see the revival of the Isetta name as a brand. BMW also owns the rights to the Triumph name.

The new BMW city car will come with two engine offerings. One will be a conventional internal combustion engine with a small displacement to be fuel efficient but the other will be a Zero Emissions Vehicle that will use pure electric propulsion. The electric version is planned to have a range of at least 322km.

The original BMW Isetta was a rebadged (the original was a project by Iso) and redesigned car that saved BMW from financial crisis. This new city car may very well end up being a joint venture project with Fiat (sharing a platform with the upcoming Fiat Topolino?) as per the small car joint venture announcement made early July 2008. The internal combustion engine could be Fiat’s two-cylinder SGE engine.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• mystvearn (Member) on Sep 15, 2008 at 3:48 am

Where to plug the car after use…also, its a BMW its going to cost a lot

• Roti Naan (Member) on Sep 15, 2008 at 11:05 am

BTW, BMW is not really consider as rich people car, except in Malaysia’s case.

• mokkf82 (Member) on Sep 15, 2008 at 1:00 pm

let’s just hope they can build one car that not only safe the planet but to safe our pocket as well.

• bobdbilder (Member) on Sep 15, 2008 at 4:09 pm

Yes my friends, once it is made by BMW, its always going to be expensive. Lets face it. Its a German car meant for the Americans.

No matter which country you are in. You need to be rich to buy and own it. You need to be rich or a fool with money to buy a 2nd hand one. If there is a BMW business, its always a premium market that they are targeting.

It doesn’t care about the low budget or entry level market. Its a money making machine and the only market it wants is the top. Note how they don’t give a wink at the competition at the bottom bracket. They don’t care about selling a thousand units a month in Malaysia. They do care about selling the least amount for the most value. See also BMW Credit.

Why would only now, after much deliberation, would they say they’d go for electric? What about the H2 dream? Coz if the only thing you could fit a H2 system would be a 7 series. With electrics, you could fit in a Mini. Would they? Of course not! They have to size a different cost structured platform. Putting electrics in a Mini would drive the nett profit down on that model. That simply just wouldn’t do.

• bobdbilder (Member) on Sep 15, 2008 at 4:16 pm

Oh and its gonna be quite a design challenge too. Anybody seen the old Isetta? Here’s a clue. Its a single door car, front entry. I have seen Clarkson drive it in Top Gear. Its a laugh.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Sep 16, 2008 at 12:18 pm

Roti Naan said,

September 15, 2008 @ 11:05 am

BTW, BMW is not really consider as rich people car, except in Malaysia’s case.

————————————————

its considered a rich peoples car anywhere in the world. not just malaysia.
    if what you say it true, why are people still buying renaults, citreons, hondas, hyundais or kias, or toyotas in other countries ?

• ask82 (Member) on Sep 17, 2008 at 2:47 am

Well,BMW is just starting to release and develop the electric Vehicle.Proton already has a working beautiful prototybe with collaberation from Detriot electric.When BMW begins thinking of this trend it means it will become popular and mass produced in the near future so Proton should start releasing and finalizing it’s prototype and release it in ASEAN under it’s brand and in North America under Detroit electric or other electric powertrain specialists.This way PROTON will have a leading market share and technological plus in the future and it’s image and brand will change and be enhanced.What do you think?

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Sep 17, 2008 at 8:58 am

if its made by bmw, its safe to buy

• ask82 (Member) on Sep 17, 2008 at 12:57 pm

YES.OFCOURSE If it’s made by BMW,it’s safe to buy.But this doesn’t mean if it’s made by Proton it will blow or explode…lol :) Well,as a matter of fact,Detroit Electric based it’s solution on PROTON cars.I feel you see Proton as a negative viewer.I Don’t see this at all.Well,Proton has LPG ready vehicles,Soon Diesel,electric and HYBRID(EVE Concept) All the technologies are available to malaysia’s national automaker.I just feel sometimes that they aren’t utilizing their collaberation with Lotus but at the end P1 has benefited from Lotus,MITSUBISHI,and even their sales drop in the past 3 years and their very very bad finishing quality.THIS IS WHY PPL feel improvement with thier vehicles nowadays like the astonishing beautiful capable Persona and the affordable Saga and even the facelifted Waja.The Waja rocks spec wise compared to korean makes such as Kia Cerato(spectra) 04-08.Quality now is similar in these two vehicles I guess.Note that KIA IS one of the premium quality and relaibility acclaimed brand in the U.S.A and Europe now.Proton needs a correct media exposure abroad and focus on their HYBRID/ALTERNATIVE FUEL RANGE OF TECHNOLOGIES AND THEY WILL SELL AND THEY WILL SPEND REVENUE ON R&D that will further expand Technological improvements and patents.What do you think?
    Anyway BMW Sits on the top of the tech,even higher than merc. add to that that BMW is one of the highest certified makers and quality makers unlike Merc poor reliability,but this time in history.PROTON got a solution ready and the others don’t.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Sep 18, 2008 at 9:40 am

ALPINA BMW said,

September 17, 2008 @ 8:58 am

——————————————

ermm… can i ask if you actually own a bmw?
    personally.. my opinion is, there is no such thing as a “safe” bmw to buy. you either buy it because of the premium associated with the “propeller” badge, or because you’re an enthusiast. either way, we tend to overlook negative issues related to bmw ownership, which is usually, Banyak Makan Wang, or to some people, Banyak Masuk Workshop. But to me, the car is still very affordable to own and run, reliable also, but its relative as some people think its too expensive and unreliable…etc.

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Sep 19, 2008 at 5:21 pm

ALPINA BMW said,

September 17, 2008 @ 8:58 am

——————————————

ermm… can i ask if you actually own a bmw?
    personally.. my opinion is, there is no such thing as a “safe” bmw to buy. you either buy it because of the premium associated with the “propeller” badge, or because you’re an enthusiast. either way, we tend to overlook negative issues related to bmw ownership, which is usually, Banyak Makan Wang, or to some people, Banyak Masuk Workshop. But to me, the car is still very affordable to own and run, reliable also, but its relative as some people think its too expensive and unreliable…etc.