Naza Citra II Rondo 7-seater launched in Malaysia

Naza Citra II Rondo

Naza Kia Sdn Bhd has launched the new Naza Citra II Rondo in Malaysia. The Naza Citra II Rondo is essentially the Kia Rondo which is the replacement model for Carens that the Naza Citra is based on. The Citra will continue to be sold as a budget 7-seater SUV, and the new Naza Citra II Rondo will be positioned between the Citra and the Ria, bringing Naza Kia’s 7-seater offerings up to 3 models.

According to Naza Kia, the new Rondo is built on the D-segment new Kia Optima platform and also shares the Optima’s sweet new GEMA-based 2.0 litre DOHC CVVT engine producing 145 horsepower and 189Nm of torque, mated to a 4-speed automatic transmission with sequential manual shifting. The GEMA engine is a joint project between DaimlerChrysler, Hyundai and Mitsubishi. The 4B11 in the Mitsubishi Lancer is also based on the GEMA family.

Like the Optima, the Rondo rides on MacPherson struts at the front and a multi-link setup with coil springs at the rear. It also has anti-roll bars as standard for both the front and rear axles. It scored 5 stars on the NHTSA frontal crash ratings.

Two equipment levels are available – the Naza Citra II Rondo EX and the Naza Citra II Rondo EXS. The Naza Citra II Rondo EX features foglamps, six-jet windscreen washers, a trip computer, a 6 speaker sound system with a CD player, ABS brakes, dual SRS airbags, a manual climate control system, body-colored door handles, body-colored side moldings and black front grille crossbars packaged with 15-inch alloy wheels wrapped with Goodyear Eagle NCT5 tyres. The Rondo EXS carries over the features from the EX but adds an automatic climate control system, steering wheel audio, a roof rack and 16-inch alloy wheels.

The Rondo’s front row features 1,043mm of headroom and 1,042mm of legroom while the second row (60:40 multifold split bench) offers 1,015mm of headroom and 975mm of legroom. The third row (50:50 split) is naturally less at 887mm of headroom and 800mm of legroom but Naza Kia says this is enough for an average-sized adult. It’s best to head to showrooms and try it for yourself.

• Naza Citra II Rondo EX – RM84,888
  • Naza Citra II Rondo EXS – RM88,888

Look after the jump for more photos of the new Naza Citra II Rondo.

Naza Citra II Rondo

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• moonier (Member) on Sep 15, 2008 at 12:16 pm

1st

ugly

• ryan_foong80 (Member) on Sep 15, 2008 at 12:16 pm

not bad…but still waiting for proton MPV…

• jk (Member) on Sep 15, 2008 at 12:26 pm

It holds a Naza badge instead of Kia and it’s called Naza Citra II Rondo, does it means it is locally assembled? I’ve seen this car is being used as taxi or sumthing in the previous post? Naza didnt really advertise this new model so far….

• hazri99 (Member) on Sep 15, 2008 at 12:35 pm

cun la.. harga pun ok..

• MyviKiller (Member) on Sep 15, 2008 at 12:40 pm

Now no more ugly Ah Beng style rear lamps and bumpers, another head to head contender for P1 MPV.

• xstan (Member) on Sep 15, 2008 at 12:51 pm

Nice!! Certainly a better option than the totally Van stlye “mini Myvi with longer boot” Avanza.

• Bebelon (Member) on Sep 15, 2008 at 1:00 pm

a good car but very not much people appreciate it. How about NGV version?

• ameen (Member) on Sep 15, 2008 at 1:05 pm

nice.. both inside n outside.. love the engine too.. :)

• raptorclans (Member) on Sep 15, 2008 at 1:19 pm

The Rondo is a nice MPV… it’s about time they brought it here. But why the name… it’s kind of a mouthful. Perhaps they should’ve kept it to just ‘Naza Rondo’ or ‘Naza Citra Rondo’. The II is overkill, we know it’s a Citra replacement… lol~

• ingolstadt (Member) on Sep 15, 2008 at 1:41 pm

‘m wondering, if an imported Japan car was taxed heavily and ended up in Malaysia with a price tag of around RM90k, how come a locally manufactured car can end up close to 90k as well?

Excessive profiting due consumer’s familiarization of parting with 30% of their income parity for a car purchase?

Take a look at KIA Sorento, selling at $21,695 USD in United States, which is around RM71,600. How can this Citra costs so much more to produce in Malaysia? And I’m very sure sunroofs, sat navs, electric adjustable seats, costs alot more than plastic cubby holes everywhere in the car.

We need to cry out to the local manufacturers for stop ripping us off because we could shave RM10 or RM20k off the imported vehicle’s price. Most of the imported car’s we buy ended up with 60% of our monthly installments gone to pay for government taxes.

• GL3n (Member) on Sep 15, 2008 at 1:51 pm

okay la but i think i still prefer the previous one

• reizan (Member) on Sep 15, 2008 at 1:53 pm

The design is quite outdated now…. I wonder why it took so long to have it introduced here – it was introduced in the States back in late 2006 and is only make its way to Malaysia almost 2 years later…..
    I have tried it before – 3rd row roof line is too low for comfort, especially true for an adult.

• jaygan (Member) on Sep 15, 2008 at 1:53 pm

I would buy one if it is AT and powered by a 2.0 CDRi diesel engine :)

• Stephen on Jul 31, 2010 at 4:01 pm

I’ve owned the 2.0CRDI for about 31/2 years and done 55,000Km’s on the speedos..CRDI seems to have lots of problem in Brunei since we do not have Euro’s 4 diesel fuels..Maintenance is high and the suspension on my Carens III is getting wobbly. Have replace the EGR, a left rear shocks and the diesel filters cost about RM220 each. Power is great and good fuel economy. Upgraded mine with plug in chip increased to 160hp and speedometer is not accurate. With clogged EGR you would risk damaging the turbocharger which happens to one of the taxi.

• harry potter (Member) on Sep 15, 2008 at 2:32 pm

I saw this car last friday in Naza Kia 3S Centre in Selayang while i was servicing my 2004 Kia Spectra which i want to sell bcoz of too many problem. I need to change my drive shaft bcoz it is damaged. Dont buy korean cars. Lots of problem. My 2002 Hyundai Matrix 1.8 has a Gear box problem after 2 years of usage. The Hyundai has been replaced by a 2006 Honda Civic 2.0. Im looking forward to see the 2009 Honda City.

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Sep 15, 2008 at 2:47 pm

Harry Potter that’s a prejudicial and unfair statement. I know Japanese cars with leaking front windows, cracked cylinder heads, warped brake rotors, warped dashboards, rocking engine mounts. Why single out ‘KOREAN’ makes? Be careful because if you can’t prove it, it will be deemed defamatory.

• ignas (Member) on Sep 15, 2008 at 3:00 pm

wow interior manyak shiock. not bad.

• hujanlebat (Member) on Sep 15, 2008 at 3:03 pm

as ugly as the name .. rondo .. wtf .. :D

• vee (Member) on Sep 15, 2008 at 3:08 pm

The Rondo was introduced in Canada and the USA November 2006 so it is not a full 2 years yet. I think it arrived in Malaysia rather early considering the time needed to localise the parts (though I think not much localisation has taken place) and for Naza to clear stocks of the old model.

In Australia, the Rondo was launched in April 2008. The rest of the world got theirs 1st or 2nd quarter 2007.

I have taken a look at the car and it is a winner in all respects. Its target markets are families who will look into all their available options instead of blindly buying a car just based on the brand.

The fact that it is based on the Sonata NF/Optima platform with the same GEMA 2.0 engine used, makes the car a very compelling drive. I can vouch for the platform and engine as I have a Sonata NF at home.

Cars falling apart – this depends on the car really. My 3 year old Honda City is also falling apart. The first thing to fail is the central locking actuator (never had that failing in all my other non-Proton cars) and now the interior lamp switch is giving problems. Sometimes it stays on and sometimes it won’t. A simple electrical connection problem but it is damn irritating on a Japanese car.

So for those who want to continue to diss the latest batch of Korean cars, please go ahead. It depresses the market and prices, making it easier for me to own one!

• csv (Member) on Sep 15, 2008 at 3:16 pm

wow, this could give the Grand Livina a run for it’s money.

about the same price as the NGL 1.6 liter, but comes with much better specs.

damn. the Mini MPV market just got competitive.

theres still the Proton and Perodua MPV up next….

but the badge is still an issue.

• CFA28 (Member) on Sep 15, 2008 at 3:18 pm

If it were a 5-Speed Auto, it would be a very good buy but another boring 4-speed Auto.

• najibest (Member) on Sep 15, 2008 at 3:19 pm

an OK car…unfortunately i can’t understand why they’re not shipping this with the 2.0 CDRi version. would have hopped on the MPV bandwagon should they offer 1 in diesel version (car too small, SUV too big and pickup truck not practical enough for me)

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Sep 15, 2008 at 3:20 pm

This was first seen in KLIMS 2006 as the Multi-S Concept. In the US it was launched as a 2007 model. IMHO to get from 2006 to Sep 08 to full production overseas model is quite good, but then no one can be satisfied, can they! Go see one at the showroom. I just got back from seeing a whole bunch of them at PJ Automall. The test drive was short but it felt quite solid, good cockpit feel, lots of get up and go, good braking too. Interior is very silent, minimal road noise, engine noise, etc.

• sixtythree (Member) on Sep 15, 2008 at 3:43 pm

For RM88k…value for money
    Overall design and 4-speed tranny is a letdown.
    Naza shud throw in optional bodykit.

For u guys that haven’t realize it yet, M’sia is a dumpsite for aging models..courtesy of Naza

• xenith (Member) on Sep 15, 2008 at 3:44 pm

Haha, isn’t this car used for the New York City taxi? Must be reliable then. Spectra got many problems? It all depends on your driving style. My grandma has been using the Spectra since ’03/’04 and there hasn’t been any problems besides changing parts which were due. Maintenance-wise, parts are a bit pricey but hey, it’s not a Proton.

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Sep 15, 2008 at 4:19 pm

Yeah the Kia Rondo New York Taxi concept! It was quite nice and if it can go head-to-head with a Checker Marathon it should do fine in KL.

http://paultan.org/archives/2007/05/03/kia-rondo-taxi-concept/

• alien7749 (Member) on Sep 15, 2008 at 4:30 pm

I like the design, notoriously ugly like the Hunchback from Notredame. Maybe Proton MPV would be better, ha ha ha ha ha ha ha haruuuunnnnnnn

• Cyberkayu (Member) on Sep 15, 2008 at 4:30 pm

the 10th picture
    tat orange tube is air-cond piping?
    yer~~
    why dun just cover it up?

• osh_kosh (Member) on Sep 15, 2008 at 4:33 pm

exterior really damn ugly…. seen it in flesh at Naza PJ Automall around noon after the launch.. interior trim quality & design quite good, IMO better than GL…

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Sep 15, 2008 at 4:51 pm

maibatsu_thunder said,

September 15, 2008 @ 2:47 pm

Harry Potter that’s a prejudicial and unfair statement. I know Japanese cars with leaking front windows, cracked cylinder heads, warped brake rotors, warped dashboards, rocking engine mounts. Why single out ‘KOREAN’ makes? Be careful because if you can’t prove it, it will be deemed defamatory.

—————————————

maibatsu.. the poor guy has owned “2” korean cars, of course he can prove it, he put his money down, bought the cars, and have had bad experiences… i can understand if you own 1, have a bad experience and move on, but “2”??
    give the guy a break la. I believe he has earned his right to comment.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Sep 15, 2008 at 4:56 pm

i dont think the design is bad, its bland, but not bad, but it does look almost exactly like the citra its supposed to replace.. or is it the same car? sorry.. dont know much about these cars.

but for the price, + that engine, I think its a pretty good package in our market. but looks like there is no boot space at all with the 3 row of seats in use. i think its smaller than the livina overall, but i could be wrong. but then again, i’m not in the market for something like this.

• alfetta (Member) on Sep 15, 2008 at 4:58 pm

I am Malaysian based in Singapore..yeap i drive this exact model for almost a year already. But for local market here it is still called Kia Carens.

My findings? It’s a good Korean car after all. Better interior quality, silent interior, good handling with sure stopping 4 all round disc brakes..

But my model here using Hyundai Theta (G4KC), dunno if Naza Rondo’s GEMA based is better?

Already clocked 30,000 km/h, no such major evidents of rattlings and repair because this model 100% made in Korea. Superbly built for European market. Price is comparable if you take between apple to apple..

For those who unsure about Korean car, take a test drive or better you sign up for one..and made a wise decision like me. Having driven Italian marque for so many years, i am truly confident with the list of top names in auto industries in their payroll now..

• ingolstadt (Member) on Sep 15, 2008 at 5:19 pm

Everytime i saw this car on the road, i was like – wow that’s a sexy back (with the contoured rear lamps) and when i overtake it …. the front is ….. err ….. sigh ……

• lowprofile (Member) on Sep 15, 2008 at 5:27 pm

it’s still value for money considering what the competition offers plus i think that due to it’s height, it’s got lots more headroom than the competitors.

• alfetta (Member) on Sep 15, 2008 at 5:34 pm

Ingolstadt..i am fully aggreable with you..

One motoring mag here compare the sexy curvaceous back with those of Audi Q7 and Cayenne..not bad huh??

Looks so irresistible from rear so much so that you want to drive closer and check it out closely…

• alfetta (Member) on Sep 15, 2008 at 5:36 pm

The front light i must agree that a bit turn off..too big i guess.

Solution..get a body coloured sticker and sharpen the lens to make it more
    ferocious.

• zack_keyme988 (Member) on Sep 15, 2008 at 5:55 pm

Cyberkayu said,

September 15, 2008 @ 4:30 pm

the 10th picture
    tat orange tube is air-cond piping?
    yer~~
    why dun just cover it up?

——————————————–

i agree..

its look ugly n messy…

i’ve wnt to naza shwroom n this new citra i can give verict

5/10 ratin/…

frst im questioning about plastic interior quality..its look toyally cheap!!!!!!!!!

driving position is weird….

cramped 4 3rd rear seat…4 my size 179cm tall.

door slamp feel cheap also….

thats all….

• mystvearn (Member) on Sep 15, 2008 at 5:57 pm

value for money, but value a bit worrying

• mokkf82 (Member) on Sep 15, 2008 at 5:59 pm

by looking what i can offer! consider it ok la. But i really do hope they can bring something more changes and not so noticeable.

• bettercar (Member) on Sep 15, 2008 at 6:07 pm

i had enough for korean cars. Not to say about their secondhand value, the quality also poor. i and my group of friends do have a kia spectra, we faced almost the same problems. 1st, gearbox problem, 2nd, disc break problem, 3rd, radiator problem then suspension problem. Costly parts and feul efficiency very low. Now we have the biggest problem, the car cannot sell due to low secondhand value. nightmare.

• torque (Member) on Sep 15, 2008 at 6:12 pm

Hahaha…another person with his Spectre experience!

Harry potter,

I too used to own a 2006 Kia Spectre Novus edition and my god…the nightmare is too much for me to bare. First, let me tell you that any Korean made cars outside Malaysia is well built especially the Hyundai. Seriously dude, you’d be surprise to drive one! Second, I don’t think it’s the brand fault but rather the “authorise assembler” that screw it ups! Third, forget about fixing it la dude…sell it if you have the chance! I know…I mean I knew the amount of money fixing whatever problems occured owning a Spectre. Peace!

• CFA28 (Member) on Sep 15, 2008 at 6:14 pm

paul, you are even faster than the guys at Naza Kia, nothing on the Rondo on their website yet. Please ask them to cover the air-cond piping.

• torque (Member) on Sep 15, 2008 at 6:25 pm

Back to Naza Citra II Rondo,

I kinda like the improvement of the interior from the previous one since my brother also own one. Hope this new Citra won’t give much problems to any it’s new owner as….again what my brother had experience with his (the freaking steering suddenly jammed and had to put to the workshop for over a month). Plus, what about the fuel consumption? My brother’s Citra is freaking fuel guzzler man! If Proton could sell their MPV for much cheaper and throw the exact same features as this Citra then Proton can have the MPV market segment under their belt.

Anyway, hope Naza have luck selling this one as many as they can since Proton MPV is just around the corner! Peace.

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Sep 15, 2008 at 6:29 pm

its ugly and not cheap either….really suprised with the praised from you all.

• carfan888 (Member) on Sep 15, 2008 at 7:22 pm

1st of all, congrate 4 Naza to launch the New MPV!
    2ndly, Do not buy Korean Car! Why?????
    * Kia Caren or Naza Citra is damn high fuel consumption – lah as my brother’s Kia Caren! properly up to 35 cents
    * Do not have 2nd hand value! Damn cheap of 2nd prices! RM 3x,xxx! after 3 years
    * Quality problems —> A lots of damn problems
    ^ My brother car door changed 2 times!
    ^ Engine oils appear by itself & until now still do not known what actual problem
    ^ Air cood not cold enough at the back seats
    ^ Damn noise come from engine
    * The design not much different with Naza Citra!
    But one thing need to compliment is Interior design is not bad!
    Although i’m not Anti Korean car but this is my experiance about Korean car! Figure up yourself!
    Cheer…………This is first times i make a comment!

• shamel (Member) on Sep 15, 2008 at 7:34 pm

Good effort from NAZAKia but still far from adequate to woo Proton MPV-Livina-Innova-Avanza segments to give a consideration to this MPV. Interior-wise really made Livina ‘overpriced’.

Naza really don’t want to use their BULLET 2.0 CRDi, l wonder why (maybe due to poor local diesel quality alone)?

Sale will be hamper by the FC, as this mpv must have >1500kg kerb weight. As usual Naza too shy to reveal their mpv’s weight. I dare to bet Proton mpv don’t sports equivalent interior BUT consumer perception favored Proton instead of NAZA.

• hyundai (Member) on Sep 15, 2008 at 8:01 pm

Oh my god… It is such a nice car yet so cheap!!! Now this is the most valuable MPV in our market!!

• wiraone (Member) on Sep 15, 2008 at 8:08 pm

Agreed with many of the comments posted above .. one word .. ugly as it sound .. ugly as it look .. the mpv is replaced is 1000x prettier than this one ..

• dr_carz (Member) on Sep 15, 2008 at 8:54 pm

Urang minang yang boli ni buleh lah bawak dr g rondo-rondo jalan kat kuala pilah eehh….

keep up the good job naza, import more to give the buyers choices and more choices!

• shamel (Member) on Sep 15, 2008 at 9:32 pm

Not really fugly BUT disproportionate design as Rondo’s windows to high relative to the predecessor it replaced. This design allowed more head space and l don’t mind if this mpv can give me decent FC (from diesel) and reliability is on par with Japanese.

But it’s cheap in our term BUT otherwise if we factored in the maintenance costs and many Naza-Kia owners (of Spectra for instance) will stay away from this cars. And most of my friend’s Citra had problem with their leak radiator and excessive gasoline bill.

• alfetta (Member) on Sep 15, 2008 at 10:07 pm

Normally, the “authorised local assembler” that screwed up the brand. Look at between local CKD Mercedes and a CBU Mercedes, then you’ll know why..

As i drive the 100% Korean made Carens, i haven’t found any single problem for the last 30,000km. Mind you guys, my Carens have gone up to Bangkok from Singapore right after the car came out from the showroom.

The plasticky part inside the Naza Rondo could be sourced out locally, that’s why…and it looks “el cheapo”.

• indigo (Member) on Sep 15, 2008 at 10:16 pm

Saw this mpv at major shopping complexes in Kedah and Penang. Very ugly and cheap interior. I bet it will be fuel guzzer also. 2nd value sure will be hell.

• shamel (Member) on Sep 15, 2008 at 10:19 pm

http://www.carpages.co.uk/kia/kia-carens-review-part-1-13-11-06.asp

Model Reviewed Kia Carens 2.0 CRDi LS [in bracket petrol]

Performance ~ manufacturers figures

0 – 62 mph 11 Seconds
    Top Speed 116 mph

Transmission 6-Speed Manual

Fuel Type Diesel

Economy ~ manufacturers figures

Urban 36.2 mpg [25.4 mpg]
    Extra Urban 54.3 mpg [40.9 mpg]
    Combined 46.3 mpg [33.6 mpg]

305Nm between 1800-2500 rpm for the diesel and 189Nm at 4250 rpm for the petrol.

Looking at the range list, it is clear that the emphasis is on the 7-seat version with the diesel engine, which makes sense in terms of flexibility and frugality. The 138 bhp, turbo-charged, 2.0 CRDi engine is also flexible and willing to eat up as many miles as you care to put in front of it. This unit, in combination with the 6-speed manual gearbox takes 11.0 seconds to get from 0-62mph and the top speed is 116 mph. The automatic version has the same top speed but takes 12.6 seconds for the 0-62 mph dash. Curiously, the 142 bhp, 2.0 petrol engine is not that much different with figures of 118 mph and 11.0 seconds for the top speed and sprint respectively.

The differences show themselves at the pumps. The fuel consumption figures for the diesel unit in LS trim are 36.2 mpg (urban), 54.3mpg (extra-urban) and 46.3mpg (combined), while those for the petrol engine are 25.4 mpg, 40.9 mpg and 33.6 mpg. Of course, the other variance is the amount of torque produced; 305Nm between 1800-2500 rpm for the diesel and 189Nm at 4250 rpm for the petrol.

MY COMMENT: BUY or BYE?

BYE until Naza bring the diesel 2.0CRDi version if you’re really into FC. BUT, the value is not bad, no wonder while reviewing this thread, Nissan advertise their Livina again in TVC. Livina is overpriced and little bit of atypical Nissan though my wife bought the mpv. But you’ll satisfied in FC department and decent after-sales service (l’m not referring to under-equipped service centers; the ETCM’s Achilles’ heel) NOT other areas.

• vee (Member) on Sep 15, 2008 at 10:41 pm

Cheap interior? If that is the case, do let us know which cars you consider to have a “classy” interior? The Toyota Vios by any chance?

• _xXx_ (Member) on Sep 15, 2008 at 11:04 pm

Oh sh!t, rusty steering shaft. Did I see wrongly?

Frankly, it’s goddamned fugly. Nuff said.

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Sep 15, 2008 at 11:08 pm

This powertrain gets 8.0-litres per 100km at around 100-110km/h.

• Infinitt (Member) on Sep 15, 2008 at 11:16 pm

imo, the front looks very ugly, the old 1 better. interior also bad, rear more ugly .uhuhh all ugly but the price is most ugly one !!! gila mahal. naza please bring nice mpv instead of this ugly citra and karnival. the price not so so high…

• Kevin Lee (Member) on Sep 15, 2008 at 11:40 pm

when u think about it, its worth it more than the alado mpv. i do not trust the chinese made mpv, in terms of safety and anything. so im sure the kia is much better. i agree that kia in malaysia have poorer qc, thanks to the naza-rip-off corporation. my dad owns a ssangyong rexton 270xdi cbu from korea and nothing has fallen apart. i think the main fault has got to do with the workmanship in malaysia. i thought the ssangyong would break down after 1-2 years, but boy i was wrong. i wondered why my dad didn’t go for other cars, like the fortuner, but the rexton is by far, much better

• n8cky (Member) on Sep 15, 2008 at 11:53 pm

wow, kinda impressive with Naza’s/ Kia job?~
    Interior kinda attractive, ehm, nice budget as well.
    But, still felt bulky, not as bulky as the previous~ but still~
    Q is:” This is the the exact specs??”

• shamel (Member) on Sep 15, 2008 at 11:54 pm

CHEAP INTERIOR is merely blind bashing. Interior of Wish not better than Rondo. Vios is better than this? We can fathom your sincerity dude if you dare to say that.

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Sep 16, 2008 at 12:38 am

I think some guys are sitting in front of a keyboard and just saying ‘cheap interior’ but don’t have a clue what they actually mean. The media guy in the YouTube video drives the actual vehicle and says he really likes the interior. I suggest you go to the showroom and check:

a) Materials
    b) Interior gap fit and finish
    c) Exterior gap fit and finish (bumper to body, hood gaps, uniformity)
    d) Doors (triple contact rubber seals)
    e) Flat floor carpet (no hills and valleys, bumps)
    f) Paint quality – no drip marks, glossy in all the right areas
    g) Tricot headliner

Then only form your own opinion but be sure to compare with Nissan Livina, Toyota Avanza and then some higher priced units like the Toyota Innova, Wish and Honda Stream. Some of the comments on the interior and quality here seem like very emotional assumptions.

It’s the same thing with the fuel consumption. Stop spreading BS rumours. Here are the fuel consumption specs for a GASOLINE powered, AUTOMATIC Rondo, from the Kia UK website.

15″ Alloys
    Urban (cold) – mpg(l/100km) 24.1 (11.7)
    Extra urban – mpg (l/100km) 40.9 (6.9)
    Combined – mpg (l/100km) 32.8 (8.6)

16″ Alloys
    Urban (cold) – mpg(l/100km) 24.6 (11.5)
    Extra urban – mpg (l/100km) 42.8 (6.6)
    Combined – mpg (l/100km) 33.6 (8.4)

• shamel (Member) on Sep 16, 2008 at 1:00 am

Thunder,

I couldn’t agree more with you. Ask Nissan’s guys to compare Livina vs Rondo’s interior in the flesh. Then give sincere review.

• azrai (Member) on Sep 16, 2008 at 6:48 am

Yes it is ugly. In term of quality and value for money, Naza is a winner. Their cars from Kulim plant really has a high standard of quality compare to Toyota or even a locally assembled Honda. Just be in its interior then only you can feel the different. I have a good experience when driving a Spectra, it feels luxury actually. The downside is their high spare parts price due to scarce resource of Korean salvaged cars at ‘kedai potong’.

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Sep 16, 2008 at 7:41 am

Why is everyone complaining about the cheap interior? This is relatively good value for money.

Thats no different than any of the any budget/entry level cars. Vios, City, Grand Liniva.

Its about time Naza brought this in. The old Carens is way past due for replacement. I was even dissapointed by the hard plastic interior of the IS300…so there you go.

Think about this, even though the interior may feel cheap, the chassis is still a 5 star crash rating i’m sure our wont get 5 stars…as it going to be missing some airbags), but then again, nothing in the same price range gets 5 stars.

Just hoping that NAza don’t screw up the quality. These greedy bastards usually find some way to cut corners…and overcharge at the same time. But if you look at it, any CKD cars be it Mercedes, Honda et al, have quality issues…Malaysians just can’t screw a car together well?

• haroldz (Member) on Sep 16, 2008 at 7:46 am

rondo–>family man with kids
    ria—>new family man with babies
    spectra5–>man “retired” from playing “field”

correct, no?

• awak (Member) on Sep 16, 2008 at 7:57 am

but it looks clean and solid

• redliner (Member) on Sep 16, 2008 at 8:29 am

this gives malaysian another choice for one of the cheapest MPV in the market. i think it is unfair to comment a car solely based on its look. hey, we should also look at the practicality of the car, how abt the price and the space it offers!?

those who is considering to buy this MPV, test drive it yourself and see whether it suits your need. some of the negative comments here are baseless and made out of personal perceptions.

• dzat46 (Member) on Sep 16, 2008 at 8:39 am

najibest said,
    September 15, 2008 @ 3:19 pm

an OK car…unfortunately i can’t understand why they’re not shipping this with the 2.0 CDRi version. would have hopped on the MPV bandwagon should they offer 1 in diesel version (car too small, SUV too big and pickup truck not practical enough for me)

—————————————————————-

Agreed..so far the only diesel mpv available is the Hyundai Grand Starex which i do think a gud buy at RM130k++ (CBU)….

• najibest (Member) on Sep 16, 2008 at 8:49 am

i have to say too many blind bashers in this over here…comparing the old citra with the new 1 is like comparing apple to oranges…..i mean they’re using a new engine cvvt here (found in the new optima) which is a derivative of the 1 used by mitsubishi lancer (obviously not the same engine but the same family and it’s also 2 liter) so the FC should improve compared to the old 1. this car is currently used as an NYC cab right now

interior looks can be subjective and i’ll leave it at that but frankly speaking, it’s a very practical car for big family and an affordable 1 too, well would you want to buy a vios compared to this 1 if you have 5 kids?. and like i said before, if you have the diesel version, it’s even better.

• REX (Member) on Sep 16, 2008 at 9:15 am

Agree with Harry Potter…Better go for Nissan Grand Livina. Fuel consumption is the best in its class. Korean car is worst than Proton car. At least Proton is our national car. Compare both, I’ll sure go for Proton…though my sweetheart is Nissan.

• marsaila (Member) on Sep 16, 2008 at 9:37 am

The Citra has never been uglier than this! yup! as ugly as it’s name Rondo. I’ve seen the sketch. How can the engineer turn the designer’s design illustration into this joke? The designer must have been really pissed off.

• MAJUPERAK (Member) on Sep 16, 2008 at 10:32 am

So ppl between this Naza Rondo and Chery Eastar MPV launched recently which is better, price range similar …… Eastar look better than Rondo but how is NAZA aftersales service ? or even Chery Alado after sales service ? Feedback if any ??

• vee (Member) on Sep 16, 2008 at 10:58 am

The Rondo is a superior car to the Eastar. I just had a back to back comparison between the Rondo and the Mazda 5 and the Rondo gives the better overall impression interior-wise.

It trumps the 5 in interior space except for the cargo area behind the 3rd row seats.

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Sep 16, 2008 at 11:03 am

Rondo is a global model sold in North America, Europe, Middle East. They have a nationwide sales and service network and toll-free customer line 1-800-888-KIA(542). NHSTA NCAP rating is 5-Star and EURO NCAP is 4-Star I believe. Furthemore Kia Motors regional office is in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia.

You can’t compare these global manufacturers to Alado/Chery. Compare both, and Nissan Grand Livina too, which is an ASEAN model (Reference – http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nissan_Livina_Geniss) and see for yourself.

• gtmaniac (Member) on Sep 16, 2008 at 12:44 pm

No sunroof anymore?

BTW, the third row side window is a little too small & to high for kids who sits there to look outside.

Spec-wise, it’s quite generously priced for a mid-size MPV. Named other MPV (or even car for that matter..) with auto climate control for below RM90k.

Worth a try before placing order for NGL 1.6.. I’d say.

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Sep 16, 2008 at 1:18 pm

Some info on the fuel-efficient Kia Rondo 2.0L DOHC CVVT Theta II engine.
    Here’s the CVVT vendor – http://www.morsetec.com/ and the GEMA site –
    http://www.gemaengine.com/.

• IsaacVky (Member) on Sep 16, 2008 at 1:46 pm

alfetta said,
    September 15, 2008 @ 4:58 pm

Theta is the family code given to the GEMA engine by Hyundai, while Mitsubishi gave it the 4B code.
    newer Theta II engine on the Sonata TRANSFORM which is a facelift of Sonata NF features VVT on both intake and exhaust, same as Toyota’s Dual VVT-i.

REX said,
    September 16, 2008 @ 9:15 am

Keep those rubbish comment to yourself if you have nothing inside your brain.

Oh and please stop using your pathetic old JUNK such as spectra citra ria carnival to compare and conclude every goddamn Korean car is the same,they’re the 5th largest Automotive Manufacturer now now by volume.

• n8cky (Member) on Sep 16, 2008 at 2:04 pm

Saw it “otr” already, it’s a delivery car..lol..such an impact for up-coming Proton MPV~

• Alifz (Member) on Sep 16, 2008 at 3:02 pm

Hopefully Naza will improve their Quality Control (QC), since lot’s of Naza batched cars(except for 206) having problem that is specific to each model(I don’t have to list it down). If not for sure people will further abandon this brand..again..

• awak (Member) on Sep 16, 2008 at 3:02 pm

stream, interior scretches, shifter N to D awful.
    avanza, tall, roll a bit, foot well limited by gearbox,
    livina, jarring ride, long rear overhang,

citra ii (dont know yet……..

• Hikaru (Member) on Sep 16, 2008 at 3:57 pm

No much comments as this is a volume seller that is suppose to cater to the general mass’ taste.

One thing that i noticed is how close the third row of seat is to the rear windscreen and the seat are almost like touching the rear tailgate (boot)? Could it be that in their effort make this car a 7 seater compromised on the safety some what? Also, if the seats are so closed, where is 7 ppl’s luggage gonna go?

Anyway is there any other car that the 3rd row is too close to the rear ? Avanza? Innova? Grand Livina?

• JasonMaxx (Member) on Sep 16, 2008 at 4:31 pm

-Better buy first batch coz better quality
    -The interior material looks quite cheap and please cover the air-cond tube or steering shaft…
    -The 3rd row is just for children or teenagers only
    -The name is so….

but at least the exterior is ok and the price is cheap too !!

• lomotus (Member) on Sep 16, 2008 at 6:41 pm

another rubbish design for malaysian.

• ignas (Member) on Sep 16, 2008 at 8:05 pm

minum petrol macam takla kesah

• shamel (Member) on Sep 16, 2008 at 9:39 pm

lomotus said,

September 16, 2008 @ 6:41 pm

another rubbish design for malaysian.
    ———-
    You should post your immature yet ignorance remark at avanza, innova, vios, citieslogan, or even livina as these cars targeted at ‘developing countries or entry level in developed economies’ buyers. European, american also get rondo/carens.

ignas said,

September 16, 2008 @ 8:05 pm

minum petrol macam takla kesah
    ————–
    i’ve no problem with this forumer. It’s fact.

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Sep 17, 2008 at 1:00 am

Interestingly while so many are so pro-Japanese, the Jap manufacturers have never thought of including dual airbags as standard items in sub-RM40k cars until recently. With that kind of mentality how do you think Asia-focus cars like Vios, City, Livina, Avanza, Innova, etc. are built?

• shamel (Member) on Sep 17, 2008 at 1:12 am

maibatsu_thunder said,

September 17, 2008 @ 1:00 am

Interestingly while so many are so pro-Japanese, the Jap manufacturers have never thought of including dual airbags as standard items in sub-RM40k cars until recently. With that kind of mentality how do you think Asia-focus cars like Vios, City, Livina, Avanza, Innova, etc. are built?
    ——–
    I guess we do WEIGHT badge more than anything, then easier for Japs to give minimalist features to us. Still remember until 2003 we had sub-Corolla Toyota or little earlier sub-Civic City.

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Sep 17, 2008 at 6:32 am

Until something comes along to challenge them and draw sales away, the Japs won’t improve anything. They only offered City with dual airbags due to the insistence of LOCAL staff. The Japanese believed City should be introduced ‘kosong’ to Malaysia. Toyota introduced the Vios lower range model with only a single airbag and a radio-cassette player! Same thing with Perodua (rebadged Daihatsu), which only introduced dual airbags after others came in with sub-RM40k A-segment cars with dual airbags as standard items.

• vee (Member) on Sep 17, 2008 at 7:37 am

Maibatsu_thunder is right. My first Japanese car (a 2nd gen Honda City) is quite a disappointing car for the money paid. Sure, it is the best Japanese option in the market at the time I bought it but for RM89k OTR, I cannot see where my money went.

The only good thing about the car is the engine and the drivetrain. The interior is done up rather well but after owing the car for a couple of months, you start to wonder if you have been shortchanged.

RM89k and there is no clock and no adjustable intermittent wiper. Small stone chips on the bonnet flare up into rust spots when even larger stone chips on a CKD Hyundai Matrix give no issues. I can safely vouch that the Honda City I have rusts very fast. Whether it is the paintwork having not enough layers or an issue with the metal used, I don’t care. I just know I had to spend money to touch up one of the rust spots which turned into a pea-sized hole (this was on the car body where the rear door meets the body).

Korean cars have more features than Japanese cars these days yet they are cheaper. The quality standards are on par with the rest of the world and it is a fact that Korean cars generally handle better than their Japanese counterparts. Drive a Toyota Camry or Honda Accord at 160km/h on the highway and compare the overall car stability with that of a Hyundai Sonata NF or Kia Optima. Those who haven’t experienced it, please don’t comment.

• are5th (Member) on Sep 17, 2008 at 8:13 am

maibatsu_thunder,

Are u the naza sales person? or Korean Car representative? come on la. most in here know this korean car not good in quality. maybe just good in design but cannot last long.

• redliner (Member) on Sep 17, 2008 at 8:52 am

are5th,

and why are you and most of the forumers here criticise korean cars? Can you prove that the japs cars are much more superior than the korean cars? while korean car manufactures are improving and the newer korean cars are making a big presence globally, most malaysians are still with their old mentality.

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Sep 17, 2008 at 8:57 am

finally we get one of the better looking kia’s….oh wait, what the fuck, its a naza…damn you naza

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Sep 17, 2008 at 10:36 am

Are5th,

Here’s a parody of yourself for everyone’s entertainment:

“Are u the Nissan/Toyota/Honda sales person? or Japanese Car representative? come on la. most in here know this Japanese car not good in quality. maybe just good in design but cannot last long.”

Alpina what’s with the profanity?

• xavier_lert (Member) on Sep 17, 2008 at 10:58 am

yae im olso curious

maibatsu_thunder

isit true ?

• REX (Member) on Sep 17, 2008 at 12:09 pm

Beauty lies in the eye of the beholder…

• shamel (Member) on Sep 17, 2008 at 12:11 pm

Maibatsu merely telling the truth. Me too, just have a Japs for last 3 months and you can’t deny the FACT that some Japs like T-brand really stingy in features and quality for developing market like us. Take Hilux for instance, previously based on the Hilux/4 Runner (US moniker) but now Hilux is IMV together with Innova/Fortuner. Thus it’s lower than Hilux SUV/Tacoma SUT which is the real Hilux.

Avanza and Innova, Unser not really good if they are not T-brand. If we, consumer don’t buy Japs then Japs will give more to us. Myself still prefer Japs BUT not Asian/3rd world model (exception for Hilux for Australia/UK).

If anti-Korea still unable to understand: please go to UMW (to see Hiace), Nissan (Urvan) and Hyundai (Starex). In Europe or US/Canada the Japs van never offered for quite long time. Ask yourself why? I anytime will take Starex over Urvan/Hiace.

• xavier_lert (Member) on Sep 17, 2008 at 12:36 pm

Yae maybe korea car is good but u can see the secondhand value of that car, eg: KIA Optima after 3 yrs only worth 40k, its 1/3 of the new price…, so ok any car olso have their goodness. But depend on how or what is ur plan for the car…, if u plan to use for 5 yrs then sell …and trade in for new one, probably need to think about the secondhand value. But if u want to use and inherit it and no planning to sell it..maybe can go for low maintenance car…

BTW…my dads civic sh4 (1991) is still running smooth….he bought it new at that time….still got some price….

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Sep 17, 2008 at 2:14 pm

No I’m not ‘the Naza salesperson’! I love just about all sorts of cars and actually in my household there are Japanese and German cars. A Thai origin Japanese motorcycle and also an Italian one. I’ve worked on cars since 1985, helping out with jacking up a car, changing brake pads, bleeding brakes, then moving on to rebuilding carburettors, changing clutch assemblies and finally rebuilding. I did a bit of bodywork and welding too. That’s the background of my 2 sen.

But this prejudicial and childish way of bashing a brand or country without even checking the actual car, without driving it, and without doing a back-to-back STATIC and DYNAMIC review, but at the same time putting their ‘pet brands’ on a pedestal, and claiming infallibility is very unfair and immature. I’ve got to say something!

• topgunthang (Member) on Sep 17, 2008 at 2:58 pm

vee said,

September 17, 2008 @ 7:37 am

Maibatsu_thunder is right. My first Japanese car (a 2nd gen Honda City) is quite a disappointing car for the money paid. Sure, it is the best Japanese option in the market at the time I bought it but for RM89k OTR, I cannot see where my money went.

————————————
    i dont think the honda city is a jap made car. a jap made car is the corolla for certain corolla markets, accord euro, previous and current mazda’s 2,3,6, swift and lexus ranges. a test of a good worksmanship is in how well they age as compared to how well the test drive is when they are new. these are the defacto standard of a good quality workmanship which even euro marques need to aspire to (apart from porsche…hehe).

i will test drive a hyundai i30 in 3-4 years time to see if thier euro design/build holds up to what they claim.

• mitlanevo (Member) on Sep 17, 2008 at 8:26 pm

not bad, the interior is a bit cheap looking, but overall the car looks ok, even the specs are acceptable….

• alfetta (Member) on Sep 17, 2008 at 11:42 pm

Maibatsu_Thunder..gua caya sama lu..

my first car is the legendary Alfa Romeo Alfetta, then Alfa 75, then 155, then 145 cloverleaf, then 156, now my missus driving the Brera..

for a petrolhead like me who always drive continental..suddenly switching to a Korean brand must be a hell of a joke but here is my 2 ringgit worth of thoughts..

i did homeworks and research before hand, test drive..not fell in love at the first sight..people here bashing the brand and the model without really seeing the inner beauty of the car.

everybody here does have their own opinion and i respect that. Whatever they say and might say..Carens/Rondo is my best option against other MPV in terms of value for money, good family car and the list goes on. Tepuk dada tanya selera right?

• alfetta (Member) on Sep 17, 2008 at 11:50 pm

Let’s put his way la..

I drive up to KL once a month from SG visiting my parents. For those who already drove Rondo and still can’t figure out about the car can drive mine for more laps at no extra charge. :)

anyway, KIA Singapore is in the midst of bringing in KIA C’eed and Proc’eed..much rave about it and people thought it’s better than VW Golf!!

• alfetta (Member) on Sep 17, 2008 at 11:51 pm

Let’s put this way la..

I drive up to KL once a month from SG visiting my parents. For those who already drove Rondo and still can’t figure out about the car can drive mine for more laps at no extra charge. :)

anyway, KIA Singapore is in the midst of bringing in KIA C’eed and Proc’eed..much rave about it and people thought it’s better than VW Golf!!t

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Sep 18, 2008 at 9:17 am

Well, after reading up on all these frankly unnecessary bashing, I went out and test drove the car.

Not bad, but Naza’s build quality has improved but there is still quite a lot of work left to do.

Engine/drivetrain
    Its not its best point. Its still a heavy car, and the 145hp/189nm it generates wont let you have any notions of performance. It gets from A-B. The 4 speed Automatic is smooth but very slow to kickdown, when it does, it goes down to 1st and with that, a racket. Manual mode helps, but its still a delay in shifting. Perhaps the car is still new having only some 250kms on it. Perhaps loosing up will help in the power department after a few Ks.
    Fuel consumption from the onboard computer shows 13.2/100km, may seem appallingly poor, but then again, in the context of it being still very new, and its been whacked by every test drive its been on, its not that bad.

Chassis
    Its an MPV, and if driven like an MPV, it wont dissapoint you. If you manhandle it like a sports car, you’ll end up with a car load of sick passengers. It is quite well sound insulated. Ride is quiet and fairly well damped. Only the large pot holes will send shudders through the body

Brakes
    Not bad in actual stopping power, but i didn’t like how the brakes only start to bite 2/3 the way down. Its less than convincing and mushy feel that probaby needs some getting used to.

Utility
    Space up front is good, and the second row passangers wont really complain although those generous in the lateral area will find it tight sitting 3 abreast. Rear seats are reserved solely for kids, or cute furry animals. Seats fold down flat which is useful if you need to ferry large square boxes. As usual, the spare is a spacesaver, and is mounted on the bottom of the rear chassis.

Build quality
    The interior is not as bad as some of you say it is. Yes, its all HARD plastic and shows obvious cost cutting, but not unlike what its competitors are doing. Seams can be better, and finishing can be better (some unfiled sharp edges). the test car I drove has an annoying buzz comeing out of the engine bay which sounded like what is probably a badly put together/loose exhaust heat shield, at over 4000rpm.

But then the base model (well its NOT that BASE) is about 84k with insurance, so its not entirely a bad deal, the almost equivalent 1.8L Grand Livina is 10k more.

Will I by one?
    Tempted, but the time is not right. With the Proton MPV launchign next year and Perodua MPV rumoured, it might pay to wait for another year for this current 2 horse race to be more fun. Perhaps hoping, that there might be a more attractive accesory package (free tint, cruise control, etc) once competition gets hotter.

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Sep 18, 2008 at 10:25 am

Good review! I want to take some time off maybe this weekend and head over with some friends to do an in-depth test. I didn’t have time when I went over earlier to see it. The FC can be reset by pushing the trip button for a longer period, then you can drive and monitor your own driving FC. The one you noticed was probably an average of a lot of idling, traffic jam, etc. Highway and combined highway/urban should be better.

• vee (Member) on Sep 18, 2008 at 5:02 pm

Fair review. The Livina is actually RM12.5k more and it offers a lot less than the Rondo.

I am 5 ft 10″ and I find the 3rd row very acceptable (you have to move the 2nd row forwards though not that does not mean that the 2nd row passengers will suffer). In fact, it offers more space than the 3rd row of the Livina, the Santa Fe, and the Mazda 5. Only the Chevrolet Captiva has more space in the 3rd row.

I am expecting a realistic FC of 11-12l/100km in mixed driving given the weight of the car. Korean cars are heavier than their Japanese counterparts and this does not help FC.

• tec96248 (Member) on Sep 18, 2008 at 8:14 pm

hmm…..korean cars not good was history for now as new models are out. japanese cars better, really don’t know cause i owned few and it need repairs. toyota engine oil leaks everywhere and so does my nissan. even my friends’ hondas. continental cars also hv problems. hence all cars need maintenance and cares. it all depends on how drivers using the cars. if wanna buy a car now, depends on budgets……got 90k this is the one. better still with 100k with more choices. and this is an MPV anyway. and i like this car after i saw it.

alfa romeo is nice car but i prefer BMW still. rear wheel drive is prefer…..i can drift it. hahaha..

• alfetta (Member) on Sep 18, 2008 at 10:36 pm

See guys…few of us have really took the pain testing the car and the write up is detailed.

As i have said, don’t put the condemnation towards something that you don’t know, not sure, 50/50 because thrashing and bashing proved useless and such a waste of time.

Make a concrete judgment only after you have done the test drive, browsing the net etc etc.

Give Korean car “some face” lah, otherwise they are not the 5th largest automaker now in the world.Ermmm, where is Proton anyway?

• shamel (Member) on Sep 19, 2008 at 8:50 am

Thank God, at last more mature comments from forumers. Anyone know the Citra II kerb weight? In SG 2/0 model has little over than 1510kg. In UK KIa website 1681kg. Malaysia’s NAZA too shy to reveal Citra II weight.

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Sep 19, 2008 at 11:37 am

My guess is somewhere about 1500kgs.. It feels heavy. It feels heavy trying to accelerate, trying to slow down and in the corners. This also probably doesn’t do it any favours in the FC department.

On paper the engine output isn’t bad, but probably underpowered for this chassis. In North America the 2.7L V6 is the optional engine.

Come to think of it, isn’t this the only 5star NCAP vehicle in this price class?

Lets hope that when I’m in the market for an MPV next year, they would have improved on its build quality….

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Sep 19, 2008 at 11:44 am

Let me put it this way,

Its an 85% car.

Could use 15% more power, brakes could use 15% more feel and bite, fit and finish could be 15%, build quality could use 15% less loose bits and pieces….especially those that make buzzing sounds…)

(But someone would say, it is 80% of the price of its competitors……perhaps you get what you pay for)

I’ll give this to it though, it actually rides quieter than our 2005 2.0L Accord

• CFA28 (Member) on Sep 19, 2008 at 11:57 am

http://carshowroom.autotrader.com.au/forge/data_entry?tp=Prod&category=Vehicle%20Specifications&temp_type=detail&from=man&style_id=758740320080418

Based on the Australian website, it claims a fuel efficiency of 8.6L/100 km which is quite good for a MPV or even a car that weights 1,597 kgs. Even runs on Ron 91, so it can use ron 92 which is cheaper.

Can’t wait to see actual users posting their mileage.

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Sep 19, 2008 at 5:17 pm

ewhjy do they have to badge it a naza, i hate naza, stupid sm “i love saddistic machoistic” nasimuddin, bloody ap king

• CFA28 (Member) on Sep 19, 2008 at 9:40 pm

Taken from Moto Trader, those who intend to test the car, please confirm / inform Naza of this:

“Since we are talking about cons, here’s my biggest one. The 2nd row seats have been split the wrong way. Currently it is suited for the LHD market. The 1/3 split is on the right (when it should be on the left for us) and the RHS seat is the only one equipped with a “one-action” release for slide and recline. The LHS 2/3 seat does not come with the “one-action” release. I do not if this is because Naza did not have time/money to get it done or all Rondos worldwide are like this.”

http://www.motortrader.com.my/asp/forum/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=29509&whichpage=2

• vee (Member) on Sep 20, 2008 at 8:44 am

Yes, I can confirm it. The 1/3 split is on the RHS of the car.

• shamel (Member) on Sep 20, 2008 at 8:44 am

Not that substantial like in the case of Mini Clubman suicide door (really benefit LHD) driving only.

So far, weight is Rondo major disadvantage.

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Sep 20, 2008 at 12:07 pm

Here are some figures to compare:

RM88,888 OTR KIA RONDO
    2.0L DOHC CVVT
    145PS@6,000
    189Nm@4,250
    16″ Alloys
    LWH: 4545 x 1800 x 1720
    WEIGHT: 1597kg

RM149,800 OTR HONDA STREAM
    1.8L SOHC i-VTEC
    140PS@6,300
    174Nm@4,300
    15″ Alloys
    LWH: 4570 x 1695 x 1545
    WEIGHT: 1385kg

RM156,895 OTR TOYOTA WISH
    2.0L DOHC VVT-i
    150PS@6000
    192Nm@4000
    15″ Alloys
    LWH: 4560 x 1745 x 1600
    WEIGHT: 1410kg

• Beyond The Edge (Member) on Sep 20, 2008 at 9:52 pm

When I took in this car in Korea, I felt it’s much bigger and than citra and cozy.
    I think it’s better than Nissan GrandLivina at least in perfomance and price.

• GL3n (Member) on Sep 22, 2008 at 2:39 pm

the more i look at it, the more ugly it looks especially the exterior…hmm i’m getting a bad eyesight?? no shit la..

• green_engine (Member) on Sep 24, 2008 at 9:13 am

This is the good car. I have seen this car in us and europe. With that price it is value for money la. Those guy who want to buy livina please consider this rondo. Spec.,price and design is more better than livina. My friend said livina just design for china and indon market + latest malaysia. Thats why the design is wierd. Try to match with murano to attract market and in japan there is no livina also for toyota product innova, avanza and vios.

• saya dah mcuba byk kereta sebelum ni.tp ternyata citra rondo menarik hati sy.bnyk kelebihannya berbnding kereta lain.minyak juga tak begitu mahal.ruang yg luas begitu selesa.byk faktor keselamatan "5 star safety."cubalah…ada berani?x rugi punya.

• Salamander on Mar 04, 2009 at 6:33 pm

Korean car looks really ugly.

• Salamander

may be you drove kancil and dont have money to buy else

• munirr on Mar 16, 2009 at 4:00 am

wow..145 hp? quite good. lets have it

• citra upgrdngs..thts why its calld citraII rondo.every cars have advtges n dadvtges,up 2 individually taste bud

• Azdena on Apr 12, 2009 at 3:43 am

Just come back from Naza showroom..at first wanted to buy harrier but when i saw this car,changed my mind already..shud buy this car lor, very cheap price n d/payment. Duit balance can be used for Europe/USA tour..huhu..syiok

• Anyone have comment on toyota innova?

• isidah on May 10, 2009 at 8:31 am

Rondo memang bagus.Saya dah pakai.Minyak menjimatkan drpd citra.Pick up bagus,naik bukit wish pun tercicir……Interior sgt menarik.Ruang yg luas,sesuai utk keluarga dan nk balik kampung sgt selesa.Yang aku tk puas hati interior exora mcm rondo laaaaaaaa.Anyway sesiapa nk rasa kelainan dr segi pemanduan dan keselesaan pilih la Rondo……'The power to surprise'…..Bravo Rondo….

• Ada tak tanda-tanda atau khabar yang mengatakan rondo akan turun harga sama macam citra 1 dan nazaria.

• Ada tanda-tanda rondo akan turun harga tak?

• i've been offered to have rondo imported spec with full body kid and tinted, ok ka?

• elpitee on May 26, 2009 at 1:57 am

bagi saya rondo ada gaya, masih fresh kat malaysio, introduced 2008. iklan dia tak kurang dari segi spec ngan oversea market. engin 2.0L sesuai kat malaysio, minyak kita mahal lo. rondo nama sama macam di us kot, jadi seat dia design macam lhd tang secong row "one action release/recliner" kat sebelah kanan.

masuk 2009 tak sampai setahun umor dah tukar specification, ada nampak roof rack (model exs) beza dari model tahun lepas dan beberapa storage slot kat dalam dah di kurangkan. harga dia tetap tak kurang walaupun beberapa bahagian dah berkurangan.

cuba banding "value for money" tak berpihak kat customer like us. jangan harap , what you see is not what you will get. RM88,888 nothing else but "full spec" for our market at least? My rondo exs came without adjustable roof rack, no drawer under passenger front seat, no third quarter strorage slot with cover (actually without cover), ever wonder if that second row seat only goe split back rest but the seat is one straight bench? how are people in the row seat got in/out without the second row seat vacant to allow the sliding action?

war-war all the conveniences that seems like only a dream, beware before you decide…

• I've been checking out on ROndo since its appearence in 2008. I thot of buying one, after all the good review – local and international – about fc, HP, nvc etc. Today found out the 2nd row seat on 2009 model cannot split like the 2008 one. i.e. you have to slide the whole 2nd row seat forward to allow people to get into the rear seats. Now, if my 60 year old mother and my 70 y.o mother in law are seating in the second row, how on earth am I going to slide the 2nd row seat to let my teenage children in? I think the Naza 'pomen' (don't call them engineer on this one) were not thinking at all when they decided on this. I am sooo disappointed. I'll delay my purchase until Naza sort this out. All of you potential buyers please do the same; no way you can slide the whole of the middle row – especially if you are tiny like me. I think Naza had just shot their own feet big time!

• saiful on Jun 06, 2009 at 6:44 pm

hello all. thanks for all your reviews. i have test driven the rondo and remained undecided. then i browsed paultan.org and am now 95% convinced of my decision. see the price for a "local" status rondo is a bit on the high side. But in comparing with the other japanese imports my arguments would at best be ridiculous. comments from maibatsu thunder,4G63T DSM,alfetta,asag,ingolstadt said –

proves helpful. But all in all, every comments complements the other some sorts. The equipment on the rondo is a bit on the cut-cost side trimmings. They should give sunroof I think. Any how, I am buying the rondo for its built quality – and yes, cheap price factor among its Japanese peers. but what actually wins me over is the very comprehensive active safety equipments and safety value of the rondo. the japanese at that price range dont even come close – not even proton with the base line exora. If only the exora comes in a 1.8. anyway thank you all.

• JURKE on Jun 17, 2009 at 8:36 pm

maaf exora , hanya disebabkan engin 1.6 tak jadi beli .. dah masuk load utk RONDO yeahhhhh

• JURKE on Jun 17, 2009 at 8:37 pm

1.6 SAD BUT TRUE

• awak ni siapa sebenarnya

• rondo d'best

• awak jgn nok sibok

• ramai cerita tentang design & minyak

1. tentang design, design tu dah worldwide la bro US pun top… lu kalau pakai seluar levis tak yah nak cakap ttg design la bro..bab design jgn nak komen lu sapa haaaaaaa…. (minimalis concept)

2. minyak la pulok 2.0 dah kira ok kalu 17sen per kilo macam wira1.6 la jugok

tok soh paka keta klu tok leh bayar feul fuel

• Bodowee on Jun 30, 2009 at 12:17 pm

Lampu depan sebijik macam CRV 2nd generation ..ok what …tak de plak org kutuk CRV dulu ..Honda ma… very reliable can last for 100 yrs

• rondowner on Jul 12, 2009 at 3:56 am

saiful

Hv u book ur car yet and mind sharing whats the deal u get as i m

in the midst of getting an Mpv and rondo is in my list now and i had test driven and i am almost 100% firm..

• Semalam dah kali ke 2 saya tengok RONDO, sebelum tu saya ada tengok exora. Sebenarnya bukan saya anti kereta buatan M'sia, tapi tu la hakikatnya, kualiti dan keselamatan adlh perkara utama yang saya pentingkan.

Sebab saya minat RONDO

1) RONDO 2.0, so mmg pickup dan laju, kalau orang ramai n barang berat, so x masalah.

2) Dari segi kslmtn, RONDO kiri dan kanan pintu ada lapisan tambahan besi, so kalau kena langgar, xla kemik dan membahayakan. Dan kalau berlanggar dari hadapan terlalu kuat, enjin RONDO secara automatik akan jatuh kebawah, so enjin x rosak.

3) RONDO x pakai timing belt, dia pakai timing chain, so x risau langsung kalau timing belt putus.

5) BODY – nampak kukuh dan kuat

6) Dari segi harga – saya rasa berpatutan sebab kualiti bagus

saya dah pakai kereta kia sephia, so saya tau kualiti kereta buatan korea.

• last week i test driven RONDO not bad.. i book WISH but after i

see this RONDO it change my mind. So guys, can u share with me

RONDO performance and oil consumption.

• Baru2 pi kajang, saja pi pi ngan Rondo baru aku. Nak Try minyak n all the thing.

Aku pun buat macam bawa kereta k'jaan. Paka i log book. At last bila dah balik mai SP. Kira-kira minyak dapat la RM0.17. Kira ok la. Tapi itu kira normal speed la 100 – 110km/j. Kalau speed lagi mau tak dapat macam tu. My conclusion, kira Rondo ni jimat jugak la bandingkan dgn Citra 1. Dan yang lebih penting kangan bawa laju, bukan saja menjimatkan malah selamat perjalanan, relak je bawa tak kalut sgt.

• Hari ni pi service Kena RM480.00. Hangpa kira ok ka dak? ( it ok or not with that amount)

• Roslan on Jul 18, 2009 at 11:41 pm

Just test drive Proton MPV and Naza Rondo, in Northern Sarawak the lower spect . Cost RM87K vs Proton MPV RM78K approx. so about 10K different in price.Proton acceleration rather poor as compared to Rondo (not surprising due to 400cc different in spect.) Handling and comfort is surprisingly better in the Proton. Proton internally, much bigger right to the rear compartment .Design for a Proton, it will look much more better in solid colors while the Rondo looks better in the darker M Grey color while internal design goes to the Rondo not great but better . Verdict. If you have more money go for the Rondo but if you're a bit short on M & don't like speed than Proton MPV is for you . Anyway, to me Malaysian cars are still more expensive as compared to SEA countries like Brunei & Indonesia , Thanks to our National cars. Before Proton BMWs 3 series in 1980 cost only RM30K and FIAT Special T cost only RM12 K . How much is a BMW 3 series cost ? . If you wish to have a brand new MPV foreign assemble quality in Malaysia car then RONDO is the cheapest in Malaysia for a 2 cylinder. K

• rondowner on Jul 19, 2009 at 10:31 am

api,

Tolong share sikit apa yg di service,tukar,mileage,kat mana ,kurang2 dpt lah idea sikit dan aku nak prepare bila masa sampai nanti..

masih…

hehe mcm alleycat pula..

• Hi! Anyone know how many years of warranty Naza Kia is offering ??? It will be good if Kia can offer 5 years warranty and stictly on replacement basis instead of repair ..which can last upto more than 2 weeks to resolve….

I understand that Hundyai is offering 5 yrs warranty now … true ?

Proton is doing the same thing as well…. For a branch that not strong of its built quality ..one way to overcome is to offer extended warranty ..at least to compromise the cost of repairing it ..

Anone have something tosay about Hundyai Starex besides the vast diff in price !!

• Alvin AA on Jul 22, 2009 at 4:31 pm

I am thinking of upgrading from Proton Persona to Naza Rondo. But scared of the Naza Rondo whether it would last. My previous car Hyundai Atos, a Korean car only after 2 years had gear box problem and it cost Rm4000 to change the gear box. Somemore the Hyundai gear box is new but a reconditioned one. A friend suggested that a Grand Livina is a better sure guarantee car than Naza Rondo where you won't find any problem with Grand Livina. Naza Rondo is a beautiful car but I still have my doubts about this car?

• Alvin on Jul 28, 2009 at 4:59 pm

these are questions I need answers.

1) Does the car has resale value?

2) Is the spare part expensive?

3) Is the spare easily available?

4) How much does it cost to service this car? Is it expensive?

5) In case if the car has any problem like gear box problem..etc, how fast does Naza attend to the claim?

• louis_sim on Aug 02, 2009 at 3:47 pm

i also going to buy rondo , now just wait for any offer for hari raya , i try rondo , livina ,exora , only the rondo let me feel it is a value for money,low price , high safety , powerful performance,comfort driving .

• JURKE on Aug 13, 2009 at 12:00 am

emph ramai tak yakin dgn naza

dan tak puas dgn exora

juga tak mampu

• Izdihar on Aug 13, 2009 at 11:46 pm

Saya dah menggunakan Rondo dari Januari 2009. Dari segi power memanglebih dari Exora. Dari segi finishing, Rondo lagi bagus. Kalau nak yang lebih murah Exora pun ok juga.

• Rondo@Janda on Aug 17, 2009 at 12:45 am

Saya memang cukup berkenan dgn Rondo nih. Setelah diteliti, after sale service amat mendukacitakan dan ini membuatkan saya fikir dan fikir lagi dan lagi…!!

• janda lovers on Aug 19, 2009 at 5:06 am

Aku sudah pun memiliki rondo sebulan yang lepas.Setakat ini ia tidak mengecewakan dan amat berpuas hati dengan CUV ini.Dah pun bawak rondo ni merayau sampai ke pontian,balik kampung bini hehe.Enjin yang cukup power.Masa kat highway aku lenjan PLUS sampai 170km/j dan rasa masih boleh blah lagi.Dari segi space compare dgn livina,rondo jauh lebih luas.Finishing pun cantik tidak seperti Cherry,mcm plastik murahan jer dia punya interior.

• Wondering on Aug 19, 2009 at 6:03 am

The sale of rondo equally worst like estar..hardly see them on the road….

What happen after 5 yrs ? Would they end up like an extinct species…how we look at Proton Tiara ..Proton Juara….today…. expensive parts due to limited number in the market …same thing to Proton Savy..now selling at deep discount for the new one ..which could have far reaching impact on the existing model whom purchased at earlier stage with muhc higher price… rugi lah.. Likewise…Naza Citra … selling at RM70K sebiji… down from dulu RM85K +….Thank God..there are many im the market ..one of the best selling model of Naza Kia ..not becoz of its quality …bcoz of its cheapest price in the market ! …So..cn we exepct Rondo price to come down very soon so that it can take over the Citra ..then we will see lots of Rondo on the Road

• salehuddin on Aug 29, 2009 at 10:19 pm

saya berminat dgn naza rondo nih. tapi nape aaa,berbanding exora, rondo nie susah sgt nampak atas jln,rondo ni x ok ke?. exora skang nie dah bersepah2 atas jln. nape aaa??? prestasi rondo ni cmne,ok tak,minyak kuat tak? mana tau baru 2 bln beli dah rosak macam2. so,kwn2 yg tau tlg info saya pasal rondo nie.

• salehuddin on Aug 29, 2009 at 10:21 pm

kenapa rondo? bahasa endon, rondo tu bermaksud janda. kalo malaysia rondo tu apa?

• Naza Rondo utk dijual. RM 78K. Tinted, spoiler, Fender & lips siap pasang. Kalau nak boleh chat kat sini.

• rozie on Sep 07, 2009 at 12:11 am

apit said, kenapa nak jual? ada masalah ke. esok saya nak booking rondo baru

• Tak der masalah, saje nak jual. Rasanya cari aset lain. Awak nak booking yg baru ka? Second had tak nak, ok lagi.

• Saja nak jual, sbnrnya tak der masalah. Compare dgn lain2 mpv, rasanya bawak rondo ni mantap. Minyak pun kira ok gak, leh dapat dlm 0.17/km. Safety mmg firt class. U nak book baru ke, second hand tak nak?

• rozie on Sep 08, 2009 at 5:10 am

Nak book baru le ingat. Sekarang pakai wira 1.5 2002. aeroback (M). Nak yg luas sikit. Risau jugak saudara nak jual.Nak beli tanah kot hehe……bukan apa takut tersilap buat keputusan. apa pun t.kasih respon

• rozie on Sep 08, 2009 at 5:18 am

nak jual berapa..tahun bila

• RM78k, September 2008. Baru lagi!

• cari mpv on Sep 09, 2009 at 5:47 pm

yang full spec ke ni?????

• Ya, full spec. Kalau baru RM88.888 la.

• myunos on Sep 15, 2009 at 12:14 am

hi….apit said. u nyer rondo dah ada org book ke? Aku pun interested gak kat rondo ni. Leh aku tau rondo engko warna apa?

• myunos on Sep 15, 2009 at 12:19 am

Satu lg bro apit, bape milage engko?

• russiaguy (Member) on Sep 23, 2009 at 7:06 am

I have been driving Rondo for almost 2 months, so far so good. It's a good 7-seater cruiser with adequate HP and torque offered by its GEMA engine under the hood. Berbaloi if get this car as a weekend family car.

• rozie on Sep 23, 2009 at 8:38 am

Saya beraya dengan Rondo… Setakat ni puashati.dan memang minyak ok. sebelum beli rondo risau sangat dengan cakap2 org, rondo teruk makan minyak. Pemanduan memang selesa dan pickup melangkaui jangkaan

• Mantoi on Jul 09, 2010 at 1:00 am

Sis Rozie,
      Dah setahun you pakai rondo. Cerita lah skit. Puas hati ttg performance, running cost etc etc

• rozie on Jul 27, 2010 at 7:58 pm

sori ye..lambat reply..emel masuk dalam spam..x perasan. emm beli dan guna rondo memang satu pilihan yang betul bagi akak. pemanduan yang tidak memenatkan. setakat guna..belum ada masalah. besok servis utk 20,000km. myk ok.. walaupun pada mulanya risau jgk jauh beza sgt dgn wira.. Akak rasa pengguna lain pun setuju. Memang sgt selesa..bagi akak yg cuma ada 2 anak

• Pokya on Sep 23, 2009 at 9:28 pm

Rondo… so far so good, but first service cost RM326…wow. need to get more part time job..

• Hi everybody,

Read all about Rondo but still undecided on which MPV to buy, GL or Rondo.

Tested both, my hearts is with Rondo but my mine is with GL.

Is it costly to maintain Rondo? What about spareparts is costly too.

Any one pls help.

• rozie on Oct 04, 2009 at 5:02 am

Hari ni pegi servis Ronda- 1000km. RM291.00. Next servis 6 bulan lagi..ok tu. kalau bahagi 6 bulan x berapa ringgit pun. Berbaloi…..dapat hadiah lagi.

• persona5610 on Oct 09, 2009 at 8:34 pm

New citra ronda is good BUT the 2005 citra the aircond is useless coz dont feel cold

• Ole Ole 20legend on Oct 22, 2009 at 6:50 am

Basically m quite satisfy wit tis car… In fact I gt 1 2day… Korean car, Japanse car or local car… I thk all aso d same… No 1 is perfect in tis world… All hav advantage & disadvantage…

• Pokya on Oct 23, 2009 at 12:02 am

hi, korang tahu tak mana nak cari body kit rondo kat area Johor JB

• azloys on Oct 24, 2009 at 4:13 am

bro said saya nak tanya suspension ok ke tak

• azloys on Oct 24, 2009 at 4:25 am

salam sis rozie saya nak tanya semenjak pakai rondo ada kelebihan tak dgn kereta malaysia

• im use this car 6 month so far so good but the sound off the engine is quiterought ,if you start in the morning time after it hot then they smooth sound …why this is happen to this car ….any body know about this metter.pls explain to me …

• isidah on Nov 17, 2009 at 8:00 am

macamana nk cari bodykit rondo haaa…aku cari susah sikit nk jumpa….leh sesiapa bg tahu kt mana?

• isidah on Nov 17, 2009 at 8:03 am

nak tanya rozie kenapa servis 1000km Rm291?Saya servis 1000km kena Rm150 je..kat mana tu???

• Rondowner on Nov 17, 2009 at 6:01 pm

Servis 1k sy around Rm130 tapi sy pakai minyak semi aje

kalau pakai fully syn harga lebih kurang Rm280

Perbezaan kat minyak hitam aje

• isidah on Nov 19, 2009 at 6:40 am

Aku nk tanya kau APIT,mana kau dpt spoiler haaa?Kt mana nak beli?Berapa?Puas aku cari kt kl tk jumpa pun…

• azloys on Nov 22, 2009 at 11:51 pm

isidah kalau nak cari bodykit cari kat ss2 pj spoiler harga RM 400 kalau ada modal standbyRM 2300 fullbodykit(side skirt+front n rear skirt+spoiler)dapat free sun visor.

• azloys on Nov 30, 2009 at 5:10 am

aku dah servis rondo aku(1000km)kena charge RM226 kat Jln Klang Lama pakai Minyak fully syntetic Petronas Syntium 3000+oil filter,kereta rasa power sedap long distance.tambah pula dengan Dyno Tab lagi power maksimum aku enjut 170(jgn lupa balancing ngan aligment)

• azloys…rondo memang power. Beraya haji dgn rondo..puashati ..naik bukit lebuh raya plus Kl to Penang..x penat.. alhamdulillah setakat ni tak ralat beli rondo. x syok kat highway ke na hentam belakang. nasib x bagus. kat penang mana kedai boleh buat bumper balik dgn harga yg ok ye!

• azloys on Dec 06, 2009 at 6:54 am

bab bumper tak ada masalah kalau kat penang pi area bukit minyak atau bukit tengah harga ok drpd pi naza kat juru.silap pi nanti dia suruh tukaq bumper baru.bumper rondo kualiti bagus dan payah nak pecah jadi boleh vakum dan simen balik lepas tu cat lebih kurang 100-150

• kat seberang ni..kat mana pulak? memang kuat bumper rondo. kena hentam kuat., tapi tak pecah. x syok juga berbekas tu. ingat simen ok la tu..thanks fren

• banjuan on Dec 06, 2009 at 5:59 pm

whatever people said…i,m still interested this model

• Banjuan…..betul tu…

• aAron on Dec 07, 2009 at 9:32 pm

kes beli kereta ni adalah citarasa masing2 , ikut taste sendiri la beribu model kereta didunia ni ….so jgn terpengaruh dgn komen org …semua kereta ada masalah tersendiri…bmw mers pun ada tersadai tepi jln ….so pandai2 jaga kereta …yang penting apa yang u beli u rasa puas …kalu ikut komen org u takan jadi beli apa pun …serupa u nak beli TV LCD……yang komen kereta buatan Malaysia tak bagus tu …tu semua jutawan punya org so u tak boleh la nak ikut …..so beli la apa yg kamu suka dan setakat mampu ….komen kat sini boleh baca tapi jgn simpan …sebaik2nya lepas baca buang dalam tong sampah.

• Rondowner on Dec 08, 2009 at 5:40 am

aAron,

Well said…

Do ur research in forums with owners reviews and feedback then decide..

Kia will be coming in very strong with model like Soul,Ceed to name a few

and magentis would be a luxurious sedan on par with Camry & Accord if it

do come to bolehland

My opinions why waste extra 30K which you can get for the features which the

Nippon is selling and where can u get a mid mpv with 2lit in our bolehland..

Of course with that kind of Pricing..

• azloys on Dec 09, 2009 at 2:43 am

kepada semua pemilik rondo kita tubuh NAZA KIA RONDO CLUB(NKRC)gua try designkan baju club untuk tatapan semua kalau setuju nanti aku akan siapkan .

• tumpang tanya…

semalam p pusat servis KIA kat Juru.. Masalah cat kete. Dah basuh bersih pun macam tak cantik..terutama letak kat tengah panas..comot..ada macam warna putih berbalam2 dari dalam body.

Ada sesape yg ada masalah mcm ni tak?

Pihak KIA amik gambar..katanya utk buat claim.. sape ada masalh macam ni? Ada peluang tak NAZA cat balik.. milg..7,000.

Bawa ok je..warna pulak x cun..harap dapat feedback bagus

• Jaafar on Dec 18, 2009 at 7:05 am

Akum and salam sejahtera semua.

saya penah ada iswara, wira, waja. tapi skarang ada myvvi n rondo. rondo mmg macam janda…..tak ramai banding dgn anak dara. ssb tu jarang nampak di jlnraya @ hiway. tapi…mmg mantap. juga macam janda… 170 kmsj? masih boleh tmbh lagi sbb dah cuba. yg paling best, prestasi dia konsisten dari alor setar ke tangkak….terbukti. minyak lebih sikit je banding waja. stereng pun mantap sbb sy beli di miri. test drive dari miri ke kuching..sakan elak lubang tapi tayar tetap jer… juga penah di bawak kat off road masa wat latihan (maklumlah sojar), tak de masalah gak… nak tubuh kelab? setuju. apapun, sy bukan agen naza yer? kot nanti silap sangka plak. tapi yg pasti, kwn2 kena drive hati2 sebab rasanya kalau rondo ni langgar katak masih ok lagi. tapi kalau langgar lori balak, sy rasa tak ramai yg dpt bantu…. lawak jer… tapi tu satu nasihat gak kan? moga selamat…

• GAN SOON KUAN on Dec 25, 2009 at 5:20 am

Saya ada beli satu rondo belum sampai satu tahun dan battery sudah rosak dan saya hantar service centre di melaka selama satu bulan belum siap lagi, saya rasa marah dan tak puas hati kereta ini

• nak kongsi juga pengalaman, pakai rondo dah setahun servis dah 40,000 kos servis RM 600. Pernah try max speed atas highway 190kmsj (standart) Setakat sekarang masih puas hati dan selesa. Cuma satu aje tak best, tak da alarm hanya ada center lock bunyi hon pulak tu. kalau tubuh kelab tolong bagi tau nak join.

• Betul tu lock bunyi kuat. segan jugak. sape tau..boleh tukar tak? ganggu sistem tak?

• lock bunyi kuat betul, macam hon…tolong.sape tau boleh tukar lain tak? kalau buat lain…effect system tak

• Rondowner on Jan 01, 2010 at 2:59 am

Shah,

Rondo memang datang siap dgn alarm cuba kunci kereta dgn alarm dan tunggu 30 saat kemudian cuba buka pintu dgn kunci dan alarm horn akan

bunyi dgn kuat.

Tapi kalau 2008 CBU model mungkin ada kelainan dlm spec tapi memang ada dan mungkin programing dlm sistem penggera perlu setting..

Maybe try hantar blk kat servis centr chk..

• tq rondowner.. masalah bunyi penggera saja. tapi security bagus. contoh kalau pintu tak rapat..kita tekan lock…tak akan bunyi hon tu..kalau gear dalam keadaan D,R tak boleh start enjin..bagi yg cuai macam saya..ia amat berguna

• tq rondowner..saya dah tukar center lock lain tapi yang lama masih boleh guna maksudnya alarm asal masih boleh pakai tapi tak bunyi dah hon. yang saya tukar bukan apa, pernah terjadi seorg makcik terkejut siap melatah waktu saya unlock kereta.

• masalah yang saya hadapi sekarang adalah side mirror kanan dan kiri keduanya vibrate rasa tak selesa, setiap kali servis saya ajukan masalah yang sama tapi masih macam tu adakah semua rondo mcm tu..

• ada beza ka rondo keluaran thn 2008 dengan 2009 selain body kit dan revese sensor

• heh he..kesian makcik tu.. Shah…U tukar kat mana? Berapa kos? Semua kedai accsories boleh buat ke..

• semua kedai boleh buat… pada awalnya nak asingkan hon kereta dgn alarm tapi tak boleh sbb tak ade jual lagi dia punya speker alarm..sbb dia sambung sekali dgn hon kereta, tu yg bunyi mcm tu.. saya cuma tambah set alarm lain dan speker alarm kosnya ikut jenis… saya pakai yang harganya RM500.00 sbb ada button utk buka bonet belakang sekali…tapi kebanyakkan kereta sekarang pun dah datang mcm tu, hon dgn alarm sambung sekali. save kos ha..ha..

• thanks Shah

…berguna sekali maklumat ni… Lepas ni..jiran2 tak le asyik dgr bunyi hon je..heh he

• Rondowner on Jan 04, 2010 at 7:17 pm

Slmt Tahun Baru semua,

Ttg Alarm Rondo yg pertama skali Rondo terdpt 2 hon asing satu utk Hon & satu lg utk alarm..

Yg alarm punya terletak di sblh kiri belakang lampu besar rapat skali dgn body manakala haq hon pula dkt depan belakang grill arah ke bawah..

Satu ciri drp Rondo ialah sekiranya pintu x rpt dan anda kunci dgn alarm bunyi alarm hon sekali x kan bunyi utk menandakan terdapatnya pintu yg x rapat dan utk kereta jenis auto mmg disediakan ciri tersebut sekirany gear berada di posisi D,R,1 atau 2..

Shah,

Center lock dgn alarm sepatutnya digabungkan mungkin masa anda tukar center locking wayar yg harus disambungkan kat alarm tak disempurnakan.

Dan sy Juga mengalami vibration side mirror ketika kelajuan pada 150km ke atas dan kalau bawa pada standard national limit x ketara sgt..

Salah satu sb ialah side mirror yg x aerodynamik mungkin salah satu sbnya

tapi penglihatan yg jelas jd kekdg ada pro and con..

Perbezaan 08 CBU dgn 09 ialah kekurangan bebrapa item saja

-Foot rest,Cup holder barisan tengah,penutup cover utk barisan akhir, tapi yg terutama ialah tempat duduk utk barisan tengah di mana ia dalah dlm bentuk 2 piece bukan nya 1 mcm model 09..ada lg x igt dah hehehe

Harap2 penjelasan di atas dpt membantu sb sy pun bkn expert sgt cuma minat sy terhadap kereta dan Rondo pun kereta korea pertama sy jd selepas survey dan forum auto yg byk membantu utk beli Rondo dan ia telah menukar persepsi sy terhadap kereta korea terutamanya KIA dan sy telah pun kompirm deposit utk Forte SX..

• terima kasih Rondowner. atas penjelasan yang panjang lebar tu..Tahniah guna Forte pulak…mengancam betul model tu

• Rondowner on Jan 05, 2010 at 5:54 am

Sama2 cuma share aje dan tukar pendpt,sy dpt info bahawa rondo skg harga

dah naik 1K dan stok pun order kena tunggu 2-3 bulan sb Forte skrg dgr cerita hangat sgt..

baca review drp owner di Singapura semua hebat2 tp hairan kenapa masa

spectra5 launch x dpt sambutan sebegitu walaupun enjin Gamma yg di gunakan dlm Forte 1.6 ngan spectra5 sama..mungkin ciri2 atau rupa bentuk yg garang menarik perhatian..

• Agaknya pengguna Rondo dapat subsidi myk ke tidak? hmm alahai..

• rondo dapat subsidi kot… kata 2000cc keatas.. rondo 1998cc aje tak kena kot.

• salam,

im looking for new mpv i.e. rondo or exora. don't no which one 2 buy. plz give some advice. price btwn two cars ok i think. but i need new info on the spec and value of money. plz anybody

• Rondowner on Jan 25, 2010 at 7:53 am

Zaki,

Go to autoworld forum and look for Naza topic with rondo thread you will get all the info there in terms of FC,NVH,Comfort and lots more better still go for a test drive and u can also read all about Exora in the forum of proton but dunno whether proton still hv this mentality of book first then test drive

cheers

• termig@shahalam on Jan 25, 2010 at 6:26 pm

Same as GAN SOON KUAN in his previous respond,

Hari ini Rondo ku tak boleh start, try pakai jumper dengan kereta lain still takleh start.

Aku rasa problem dengan relay sbb bila nak start ada weird sound kat relay box.

I'm waiting for AAM guy to fix this. Tengok apa yang dia boleh buat.

FYI, rondo under 1 year entitiled for AAM service.

• Rondowner on Jan 25, 2010 at 8:26 pm

Termig,

Sorry to hear that pls keep us update on whats the problem so in future if any Rondorians who face such issue will know what to troubleshoot..

By the way whats ur mileage..?

• Rondowner on Feb 01, 2010 at 6:58 am

Termig,

Whats the outcome of your Rondo..?

• guzzal on Apr 04, 2010 at 12:38 pm

Terlalu mahal untuk version CKD and local assembly don’t have much quality. Fuel consumption very very high. Future maintenance for sure also very expensive & resale value drop. Spare parts and labour cost very very expensive.
    better get grand livina for this price range, or else proton for the cheaper option & easy to get spare parts and cheap also.
    otherwise get chevrolet captiva for 7 seater for sure last longer or bigger mpv grandis

• Pokya on Apr 05, 2010 at 11:17 am

aku dah 6 bulan pakai Rondo, so far OK, minyak biasa la tangkap nangis… tapi skrg akunya Rondo aku dah senget sebelah, bila gi check spring problem.. Skrg dah 2 minggu tunggu respond claim tak dapat 2 boring betul. rasa cam nak tukar lain jer

• Pokya on Apr 05, 2010 at 11:21 am

So far so good.
    Fuel consumption very very high
    Claim warranty very bad… 2 week still on prosess… my be need to wait for next year?

• shahram on Apr 16, 2010 at 12:56 pm

you all nih…tajuk lain…citter pasal lain…ni nak promote rondo ke apper..? mane pegi citter exora ngan naza ria…?

• Pokya on Apr 16, 2010 at 11:36 pm

bila la aku nak dapat claims spring rondo aku ni..lembap betul la …

• saya tengah mencari cari alat ganti naza citra rondo,”oli pumpchain shoe” dah dua bulan oder kat kedai,sampai sakarang tak ada lagi.

• tauke kedai tu cakap, dah oder kat korea,kat sana pun tak ada barang. pelanggan saya dah mula mengamuk dah. ada siapa siapa tahu kat mana nak oder, tolong beritahu saya..

• tolong saya bantu saya cari alat ganti tu,kalau tak ada barang tu ,enjin tak boleh dipasang. ini la nahasnya bila kereta meraduk air banjir. pecah injin woiiii.

• samah on May 24, 2010 at 7:17 pm

aku ingat baru nak angkat rondo tp ……..takut plak byk masalah. ada sapa2 bleh beri pandangan.

• kaikai on May 28, 2010 at 5:45 pm

My wife beli rondo 4 months ago, FC terlalu tinggi, 13.2 l/km = 27sen/km. (Ron97)
      16? Alloy
      Urban (cold) – mpg(l/100km) 24.6 (11.5)
      Extra urban – mpg (l/100km) 42.8 (6.6)
      Combined – mpg (l/100km) 33.6 (8.4)

Data atas tu semua tak betul, Naza sales ummum, i ingat.

sometime ada bunyi click click clik dari engine, susah nak complaint pada Naza juga.

• Leonardo on Aug 14, 2010 at 1:02 pm

Yakah???Susahlah kalau begini….Kalau begini,saya rasa baik awak bawa kereta awak tu ke tempat Fook Loi di Naza….

• Pokya on Sep 03, 2010 at 3:57 pm

Bro, so far aku dah setahun pakai Rondo ni, dari segi pemanduan memang ok puas hati
      tapi masalah FC jer aku tak jamin.. Pening sikit la…

• Leonardo on Aug 14, 2010 at 12:59 pm

The new Naza Citra Rondo is much bigger than Naza Citra…but this car is more expensive than the Naza Citra that i have brought few month ago…

• Hi all Naza Rondo owners,

I’m Johorean but live in Singapore. Anybody like to swap with my 1 year old original 16″ Kia Carens (5 holes with pcd 113.4) with 6 months old Falken tyres? Just swap with your current rim/tyres. Prefer to meet up in JB area. Reason is that i’m having the Kia Koup 17″ rims soon.

• Steven on Aug 19, 2010 at 3:23 pm

Hi, I am very new to Rondo… Do you think new version of Rondo 2010 will facing a same problem?

• abangis on Aug 19, 2010 at 11:48 pm

owh..it ‘s nice car. I have owned this car. It very comfortable and very smooth engine. You can cruise this car 150km /hour stability.

• Steven on Aug 23, 2010 at 10:20 am

How many months you have drive this car? Is it difficult to get the spare parts?

As I know this car is full assmbly in Gurun, why still have to purchase at Korea? “man says: 7/5/2010 at 9:43 pm”

• Steven on Aug 28, 2010 at 12:16 am

Do any one bought the rondo car then feel regret? like bad performance, FC terlalu tinggi, trade in no value….

• Steven on Sep 02, 2010 at 6:14 pm

Loke Like a lof of buyer reget because don’t like to share the bad thing about this car.

• RONDA on Sep 30, 2010 at 1:42 pm

dah pakai setahun..no regret at all…FC average is 10km/liter..a good reading for 2.0 liter car..aircond (DIGITAL)is very cold..
      on highway can get 8.5km/l with 120kmh speed average..150kmh cruising still stable..
      no complaint…good performance..
      trade in? not now..maybe after 6/7 years…so 2nd hand value is not important thing..

REGRET?? maybe because top speed is only 195kmh..

• hey guys, check out chery 2.0 MPV car, with 7 leather seats only RM80k, car 3 years warranty & engine 5yrs warranty. Inside much bigger than Proton Alza & Nissan Livina.
    Thinking of getting it as a family car. it is 7 adults seats aren’t like others 5 adults & 2 seats for kiddo. Although it is a china car, but assembly local. All our mobile phones are from China. China has improved alot, not all china products are bad quality.

• dexter on Nov 29, 2010 at 3:56 pm

naaah, the cherry is no match for the rondo. i think a lot of people here do not have realistic expectations, especially when it comes to fuel consumption. for a 7 seater mpv, the fuel consumption is very reasonable (i used to drive avanza, and the rondo fuel consumption is similar). IMO if you are looking for a MPV below RM85k, then the Rondo is a no brainer. I have no regrets at all getting the Rondo. In fact I wish I had sold my avanza earlier instead of suffering for 4 years with it!

• Rondo2216 on May 16, 2011 at 10:22 am

Hi…
        Berdasarkan experience pakai Rondo ni, kereta dia memang bagus. Tapi kepada semua yg baru nak beli, fikir 2 atau 3 kali sebab spare parts Rondo memang susah nak ada. Bayangkan kereta yg dah 2/3 tahun launched kat Malaysia masih belum ada spare part sempurna di Malaysia. Saya dah terkena…sekali tu bila arm belakang rosak, kena tunggu sebab import dari singapore, kali kedua baru ni pun sama gak bila compressor rosak. Spare parts takde dalam Malaysia! Dah la import kita pulak kena bayar kos penghantaran, mangkok punya Naza!

• Jimmy on Jun 07, 2011 at 7:14 pm

I have no regrets at all getting the Rondo. Very Nice Car with 8+K.
    Good fuel consumption if you compare with other 2.0cc cars.
    Just sharing, One of the nissxx Livixx owner told me that his car like Milo tin, always need to change bumper after small bang.
    My opinion is safety is my first choice.

• hi all, just bought my rondo 15/05/2011 and 3500km done by now. 9.1litre/100km. for me is still good but encounter transmission fluid leakage and complaint to naza/kia service centre on 03/06/2011 till now still cant get the claim approved. wtf!! imagine, less than 1 month car claim still need so long for approval. b**l s**t!!

• after two times repair, four days without car, toll spent, fuel no need to say (within two weeks time) STILL its leaking….leaking…leaking….i think have to wait till the transmission fluid dry off and the gear box die off by then only they able to “solve” the problem…mahai!!

• sugen on Jul 26, 2011 at 10:06 am

2 Years using Rondo.. very good car in term of performance, spacious.. FC very satisfy me.. 9.9L/100KM all the while.. Full tank always pump 50 Liters for sure= RM 95. Next refill will surely fall in between 430-460km a tank.. Is normal daily PG island drive oo..Not highway or outstation..

• Jack Lew on Sep 19, 2011 at 4:33 pm

hi all,

I’m from Penang. Planning to buy a MPV to replace my proton Iswara. Tested Grand Livina 2 months ago and viewed the RONDO this afternoon. Here are my comments:

Space comfort: RONDO
    Fuel Consumption: Both ok consider RONDO 2.0L
    Price: RONDO worth for money
    External: Prefer RONDO, looks like 4WD, yet a MPV. Poor design makes Livina looks smaller.
    Interior: Livina better with wooden frame for 1.8L model and leather seat. RONDO not bad too.
    Spare part: Looks like Livina better considering all above comments.

I’ve tentatively decided to buy a RONDO subject to this Friday’s test drive with my wife. However, i will visit nissan show room at after work today to see the livina one more time before to place the deposit for RONDO.

• I guess owning a Rondo in Klang Valley, Penang or Johor should not be a problem because there are alot of Naza SC to choose for, not sure about Rondo owners from the other part of Malaysia how they survive. But after all Rondo waranty is just 2 years or 50K km, so normally the owner just forget about Naza SC after waranty period is over and choose their prefered outside workshop.

In my experience one of the Naza SC in Glenmarie always have stock for Rondo OEM parts in place so replacing a problematic parts of Rondo, you do not have to order and wait for so many days. But I do know another Naza SC in Jln Kapar which hardly stock up Rondo OEM parts, always have to call and order first.

So far, other than normal service and parts (air filter, spark plug, engine & ATF oil change etc) I only change the following part for my Rondo (3 years old / 70K km):

Rear absorber: RM 350 per piece (OEM)

• Satekajang on Sep 30, 2011 at 2:31 am

Why bought rondo after a year research :

At first i don’t trust this naza brand after many complaints to ria,citra & spectra.
    That’s the reasons why these models drop in 2nd value.
    KIA has improved in their design since Peter Scheyer took over as their Chief Designer-he was ex chief designer frm Audi and VW.
    Can see kia vehicles improvement in design since 2008 for cars like forte,optima,rio,rondo,sportage,sorento…
    First glance at rondo i thought it was a ford’s model..but still need more time to convinced myself b4 buying,compared to eastar 2.0,innova & ixora I found out that rondo’s FC is better than the above 3.Suprisingly rondo’s FC is even better than waja & gen2..and with the same horsepower as HONDA CRV for the price of 86k..and 5 star safety rating…i say that it is worthbuying.

• Satekajang,

How many years currently Naza provide warranty for new Rondo?
      I heard is 5 years waranty now.

• satekajang on Nov 19, 2011 at 11:53 pm

still 2 yrs warranty for rondo,bought early this yr

• 5 years now… or 125km whichever comes first… just booked one last week

• aku dah pakai rondo 2 tahun,setakat ni ok x de masalah.Selalu balik kampung ke kota bahru dari kl,minyak sampai kb Rm100 je abis,itupun ada balance lagi….performence memang mantap,setakat naik bukit & memotong tip top,aku bawak 5 org sekali….cukup selesa,sampai kb pun x penat sangat,suasana memandu sangat selesa,pedal minyak & brek memang best,x terlalu kedalam,kaki tak tergantung…just letak kaki je….cuba la rasa dulu…..

• miss you... on Sep 19, 2012 at 12:44 pm

wait Rondo..I’ll bring you back home

• Jebatv6 on Jul 07, 2013 at 11:09 am

why proton unable to give 3 to 5 years warranty?? why aaa..why aaa..??? Bcoz confirmed, after 1 year already uhuk uhuk.. hehe..

• My brother in law offer 2008 Naza Rondo for RM 30000…Any comment?

• samcheng on May 04, 2015 at 3:26 pm

bought rondo second hand 2010 model rm31000.. amazing ..worth to buy this car

• samcheng on May 04, 2015 at 3:31 pm

do not worry about sparepart because many parts are in the service center naza (oem) and original

• ARAHIM on Nov 14, 2016 at 11:17 am

Just Bu 2nd Rondo 2010 RM20500…sangat memuaskan, alang membeli menang memakai