Honda City Modulo with bodykit and grille

Honda City Modulo

Displayed together at the official unveiling of the new Honda City in Thailand was a version of the City with a Modulo bodykit. The Modulo kit features a new front bumper and grille together with side skirts and new alloy wheels. While it loses its Optimus Prime look, the Modulo front grille still has a very techno design theme to it and features alot more chrome. Look after the jump for one more photo of the new Honda City Modulo.

2009 Honda City officially unveiled in Thailand

Honda City Modulo

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• painsama (Member) on Sep 17, 2008 at 11:20 pm

more picture pls… if possible

• mystvearn (Member) on Sep 17, 2008 at 11:31 pm

Quite nice grille design. Not great, ok I guess

• sumaika (Member) on Sep 17, 2008 at 11:33 pm

Wooo…this is nice…

• ly60 (Member) on Sep 17, 2008 at 11:40 pm

Fuh yoo. Mengancam habis. By the way, more photo please.

• Infinitt (Member) on Sep 17, 2008 at 11:53 pm

Nice. Nice than dugong hehe..When this city will be launched here? Sure buy one if the price ok.

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Sep 18, 2008 at 12:02 am

I reckon it looks better without the bodykit. And they could’ve been more subtle on the chrome grille. Anyway it’s simply a matter of personal taste. =)

• csv (Member) on Sep 18, 2008 at 12:31 am

not bad, but would be better if they extended the grille to cover the bottom area too.

defitnely nicer than Vios which is overrated.

• altimate (Member) on Sep 18, 2008 at 12:39 am

looks a bit too ‘extravagant’ in my opinion.. by the way, is it becoming a trend nowadays..? extremely radical design on the front.. and dull 80’s design cues on the rear styling..

• astigmatik (Member) on Sep 18, 2008 at 2:44 am

More pictures can be found at http://www.pakwheels.com/forumreply_az_TopicID!85647~ForumID!14~pw.html

This is another Modulo pic –> http://www.pakwheels.com/images/forums/2008/9/10/v6984209-18_U8R_PakWheels(com).jpg

But I somehow like the one without Modulo –> http://www.pakwheels.com/images/forums/2008/9/10/v6984209-39_QX1_PakWheels(com).jpg

See also this pic –> http://www.pakwheels.com/images/forums/2008/9/10/v6984510-34_8Q9_PakWheels(com).jpg

Personally, I don’t like the front, but I have a feeling this car looks a lot better in reality (as opposed to the pictures).

Any ideas how much it would probably cost in Malaysia? If the price is right, I’ll sell of my Proton Saga 2008 and buy this baby :-)

• feez98 (Member) on Sep 18, 2008 at 2:59 am

Love the Modulo design… yeahhh, better than the Dugongs.

• Jie (Member) on Sep 18, 2008 at 6:15 am

appears to me like the rear passenger legroom has been sacrificed a bit. cant tell really without more pictures. and it’s got a funny radio antenna. thanks paul!

• azrai (Member) on Sep 18, 2008 at 6:42 am

Once again the civic baby. When it is gonna come to our shore.

• King Samurai (Member) on Sep 18, 2008 at 8:22 am

Coming very sooon..in 3 months time…

• tikus (Member) on Sep 18, 2008 at 9:21 am

Sure,Price will be most expensive than older gen.Just like Honda Jazz.Poor Thing Rakyat.

• Dogster (Member) on Sep 18, 2008 at 9:41 am

Wow, this is nice grills better than the original specs!

• jc_hui (Member) on Sep 18, 2008 at 9:47 am

Exterior is nice, but the interior definitely have to upgrade.

• ignas (Member) on Sep 18, 2008 at 10:04 am

Poor Thing Rakyat indeed.

• xavier_lert (Member) on Sep 18, 2008 at 10:31 am

nice …futuristic kinda design

• TheDuck (Member) on Sep 18, 2008 at 10:57 am

Wow. What an awesome car.

Again, i just hope the price is right.

• MAJUPERAK (Member) on Sep 18, 2008 at 11:12 am

Do you ppl know what is happening outside the world ? or only cars ??

The global financial crisis ……… worst than 1997 (Asian Financial Crisis) now it is global …. worst ever …. 1929 great depression ……

Bursa Malaysia is now 967 points … down 35 points

Plus our political uncertainty …..

Wake up !!!

• jhuan (Member) on Sep 18, 2008 at 11:24 am

Lovely City with kits all round, sure will be a head-turner…

• TheDuck (Member) on Sep 18, 2008 at 12:17 pm

Alamak Maju Perak

Salary of Petornas Engineers have increased by over 100% in the last 2 years. Most Malaysians are also getting richer by the day.

Why worry? Afterall, we wouldn’t be in here if we can’t afford to buy a City right?

• BlackJKX (Member) on Sep 18, 2008 at 12:28 pm

Just use current city vtec for last 5 month.
    Already knew this moment will come to me.
    Change again lor.

• BlackJKX (Member) on Sep 18, 2008 at 12:57 pm

Majuperak is a funny man.
    Must be driving a perodua,naza something.

• abtm (Member) on Sep 18, 2008 at 2:23 pm

there’s no point adding such a shouty bodykit in a car that slow, it’s just embarrasing when someone in a stock 15 inch wheel Camry blows you off everytime on the lights… you’ll just end up kerbing the wheels and scraping bumpers at speedbumps and carparks

• edperdana (Member) on Sep 18, 2008 at 4:40 pm

Modulo kit does improve aggressive front look..

• ly60 (Member) on Sep 18, 2008 at 6:14 pm

Hello Majuperak, relax a bit ok?

We know what is happening outside. You just cannot expect everybody to be in bad mood. This is just an automotive blog, what else do you want us to blog? Cheers up bro..

• szw (Member) on Sep 18, 2008 at 7:56 pm

1st sight… not bad..

• ignas (Member) on Sep 18, 2008 at 8:23 pm

2 nd sight… very pretty..

• kancildriver (Member) on Sep 18, 2008 at 10:18 pm

3rd sight…. aduiiii, my city vtec is just 6-month-old…. cis cis cis

• gogorock (Member) on Sep 19, 2008 at 12:09 am

nice modulo, i wonder Malaysia will have modulo or not? Paultan, any idea?

• paxter (Member) on Sep 19, 2008 at 12:51 am

majuperak….

its an automobile blog…. wtf are we suppose to discuss if not cars? politics, economy, etc has their place not here… shoo shoo

• mavericksam (Member) on Sep 19, 2008 at 2:14 am

Majuperak,
    Worst ever financial crisis? Give me a break… Potentially yes, currently no!!! Go check what was the KLCI (or whatever index you choose) lowest ever since 1995 and tell me if now is the worst ever financial crisis…

As many of us are here to just enjoy whatever it is (past time or just to dream owning the car), please keep the non automotive rants to whatever financial forums you are tagged to. Don’t get me wrong, i am also working in the financial industry and i really do know how’s the market now… but just keep the automotive blog as… automotive… :)

• chinen (Member) on Sep 19, 2008 at 8:51 am

ermm…. we are suppose to talk bout this car.. lol

• christkt (Member) on Sep 19, 2008 at 8:56 am

To abtm’s comment…….sigh, when will ppl ever use logic for comparison….camry vs city? sigh…speechless…..clearly a toyota fan that anti honda with baseless arguments….

• tikus (Member) on Sep 19, 2008 at 9:13 am

Hey MajuPerak ,

WHY SO SERIOUS…..

• mukhri88 (Member) on Sep 19, 2008 at 9:29 am

This version is just a kit only right? No upgrade in power. Nice looking kit. Any upgrades with interior trim? Modulo steering wheel maybe or seats.. Might even cost another RM10k for the kit though..

Lopburi would have recieved his car already by now, whazzup, bro.. c’mon first impressions.

• ignas (Member) on Sep 19, 2008 at 10:34 am

hopefully honda malaysia offers the LCD option in modulo, thats the only thing i would love to have.

• torque (Member) on Sep 19, 2008 at 1:39 pm

Well…it’s not that bad. I think it looks rather nice. Matches the car overall looks and lines. Hmm…can’t wait to have a look at this car up close really. Won’t actually mind if the price range around 80k plus.

• ignas (Member) on Sep 19, 2008 at 3:59 pm

city vtec rm85800, vios S rm88325. lets pray the price for new city stays around there. screw vios for overly priced.

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Sep 19, 2008 at 5:13 pm

the shape of the city is still the same , just different lights, looking from this picture

• mokkf82 (Member) on Sep 19, 2008 at 8:16 pm

Nice car ma.

MajuPerak, take a break take a kit kat.
    it’s the politics u need to pay attention on then pay attention on your financial.

• casper1787 (Member) on Sep 20, 2008 at 2:13 am

its so0o0o0o0 nice lorrrrr!!!

• raybrig85 (Member) on Sep 20, 2008 at 8:16 am

maju perak..

all of us are nt stupid…n we know how to differentiate btween automotive blog,financial blog n political blog…this is automotive blog..so we jz talk abt automotive n hv fun abt cars,dream abt cars dat u want..etc…eerr..or im wrong??is this financial blog??hehehee…

do u want us to xpalin what is automotive blog maju perak???

• sakuragi (Member) on Sep 20, 2008 at 1:09 pm

totally looks like a techno-baboon with ray bans on. ugly. honda cars always look cheap and ugly.

• sakuragi (Member) on Sep 20, 2008 at 1:13 pm

forgot to mention. i aint a toyota fan either. :P

• BlackJKX (Member) on Sep 20, 2008 at 3:06 pm

Current Vtec top speed 180kmh..
    this one shall be more eh
    Sakuragi : how fast your modenas jaguh can run?

• yippi33 (Member) on Sep 21, 2008 at 11:04 am

then what fan are you sakuragi? cherry??

• sakuragi (Member) on Sep 21, 2008 at 2:31 pm

hahaha!!! u people. true big-headed honda fanatics. u say vios like dugong (i think so too) and u feel ok. But when i say the new city like baboon u get pissed.

WHY SO SERIOUS?

anyway, i am entitled to my own opinion. i can like whatever car i want and i can criticise whatever car i want. even though i don’t own a jaguh, if u ever want to criticise it.. refer directly to its original model by kawasaki (eliminator). modenas also like proton, perodua, naza and inokom.. they all start of assembling and rebadging.

and yippi33, i have no preference of a brand in this segment. branding is my job. :D

• kevyeoh (Member) on Sep 21, 2008 at 8:07 pm

now this is nice…way much better compare to the original one without the modulo BK…

• intermilan (Member) on Sep 24, 2008 at 12:58 pm

wah .. got fight fight a little but nothing too serious rite?

for me this basic entry-level car look ‘too much’ for what it is (compare to its segment & class).

its not as ugly as the old city or the new vios, but …
    look .. too futuristic? too fast? too eksyen? pretentious? show off?

emm… the overall philopsophy just didn’t ring the bell for me.

but i bet most malaysian will consider this city as the best car in its class and even better than many cars in the class above. it will win awards too, i’m sure.

price? sure increase, but most in-future city buyer can afford it. even if they don’t, they believe the extra ‘financial stretch’ made is worth every penny.

as for the modulo kit.. normal practice by honda. ‘sporty’ look just to appease that minority buyer who want ‘sporty’ looking city. no power increase, they can live with that. asal yamaha…, rite?

• gogorock (Member) on Sep 28, 2008 at 5:58 pm

Hi intermilan:

Wonder how u so confirm on saying this–> “price? sure increase, but most in-future city buyer can afford it. even if they don’t, they believe the extra ‘financial stretch’ made is worth every penny”.

How sure r U??i wonder r u a honda dealer? or u have any reliable sources?

Sorry, a bit frsutrated here, just dont know why do u guys like to think the price sure more expensive and should it be that way? Come on, wake up malaysians, if the price is too expensive just because this model is nicer than the current one, than we boycott and not to buy this car , how’s that sound? Why boycott? cos there is no reason if the price will increase just because it is a new model, right? By the way, we have so many more choices to choose for cars, why the hell we want to choose this if it is more expensive?

Rakyat, pls stand together and fight for ur buying rights, okie? We just boycott this model if the price for this car is not reasonable, Again , we hv lots more choices with upcoming car models with this price range that we can buy. So, why tolerate?

• please help me
    where can i buy for grill city modulo???i’m in indonesia all Honda dealer have not stock for it. may be anyone can help me???
    thanks