2009 Perodua MPV Rendered Speculation

Perodua MPV

The upcoming Perodua MPV is still pretty far off, set to roll off the production lines only in September 2009, but here is a rendered speculation by Theophilus Chin of how it will might look like. Based on an existing Toyota compact MPV, the styling for this three row MPV rendering is largely based off the Perodua Viva.

Perodua CEO Datuk Hafiz mentioned in an interview with The Edge Weekly earlier this year that we should think of the new Perodua MPV as a smaller Toyota Wish that will have three rows and sit 6 people comfortably (probably not 7 because of a Perodua’s typically compact size and thus reduced width).

It will be based on the recently announced new Indonesian-based MPV model that was announced in March this year and is currently still under development by Toyota and Daihatsu. Perodua will apply its own styling onto the model.

Look after the jump for a rear shot of Theophilus Chin’s rendering as well as some other photoshop “experiments”. PS: KSG = Kenderaan Serba Guna.

Perodua MPV

These are just some extra renderings from Theophilus as a result of a boring weekend…

Perodua Kici

Sometime later in the future we may see Daihatsu coming out with a tiny smart/iQ-like car, perhaps powered by an electric drivetrain. Naturally it might trickle down to the Perodua model range.

Perodua Borong

A replacement for the commercial Perodua Rusa, which if ever comes into existance is likely to only come with minor styling changes and based on the Daihatsu Gran Max.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• ideoteque_85 (Member) on Sep 21, 2008 at 10:19 am

that’s pretty neat. i wonder how will it perform on fuel consumption and what is the price going to be.

• msmar_453 (Member) on Sep 21, 2008 at 10:48 am

Hope NOT the Rusa replacement!
    Btw, any news about “that” announced new Indonesian-based MPV model that was announced in March this year and is currently still under development by Toyota and Daihatsu? Any spyshots?

• theanswer (Member) on Sep 21, 2008 at 11:01 am

i think the mpv will runs on 1.5 engine(from nautica or avanza). hopefully the price will be around…heheh dunno lah..should be cheaper than avanza.

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Sep 21, 2008 at 11:21 am

this car looks familiar…toyota verso?

• nazrin (Member) on Sep 21, 2008 at 11:27 am

look like toyota voltz with viva front and nautica rear =)
    nice..=)

• The Unicons (Member) on Sep 21, 2008 at 11:34 am

This MPV looks big for me. I know this is just a speculation rendered images. Anyway, looks a bit like Toyota Wish. Nice work Theophilus Chin.

Another model from Toyota/Daihatsu and cosmetic by Perodua, sell by using Perodua name and sell at high priced. Most of the profit goes to Toyota/Daihatsu and have same protection like Proton? Look at the Perodua Nautica, import from Japan and sell at such a high price! I wonder how many Nautica sold so far?

Hopefully, Perodua will assemble the car locally so that can be priced lower for truly for Malaysian. If not, I’m going to be mad caused really wondering what are the Perodua doing? I disagree the tagline Building Cars People First when they launched the Perodua Nautica because that model import from Japan. Where got Perodua build the car for Malaysian. They should say “We are not only assembler but now we are the importer too. We import cars for Malaysian” instead.

Just my 1 cent comment.

Happy motoring and keep safe.

• cars-addict (Member) on Sep 21, 2008 at 11:45 am

ok la…. but i still prefer proton than perodua… all perodua’s cars are fake!!!

• REX (Member) on Sep 21, 2008 at 12:08 pm

Very thoughtful The Unicons…hope the people in Perodua also read the comment.

• e-nabilll (Member) on Sep 21, 2008 at 12:23 pm

nice work bt frankly i jus hate vivia…looks so aweful id rather takea bicycle…horrible

• AlexKhoo (Member) on Sep 21, 2008 at 1:10 pm

Lol at Perodua Kici.

• I my (Member) on Sep 21, 2008 at 3:24 pm

can we get mpv w/ rear slide door??

• TheophilusChin (Member) on Sep 21, 2008 at 4:50 pm

I always prefer MPVs and Vans with rear sliding doors, making access easier too.

Last time JPJ says all vehicles with rear sliding doors are considered as van or commercial vehicle. So even back then, all the Toyota Estima/Previa MPV had max speed limit of only 90km/h hahahahah

Have they revised such stupid ruling?

• csv (Member) on Sep 21, 2008 at 5:15 pm

not bad looking ah, but the engine?

and the quality of assembling?

pound for pound, the Nissan grand livina i think is still better value for money, but lets wait and see.

• raptorclans (Member) on Sep 21, 2008 at 5:51 pm

The small Daihatsu MPV… the 1st pic… I saw one of those on the road… Singaporean no. plate. Not that big, but looks interesting. Too close in size to the Myvi imho… (just longer)

• dodgeviper88 (Member) on Sep 21, 2008 at 8:11 pm

Well I wouldn’t mind the previous generation Estima and make it as a Perodua MPV. Just make it around the same price as Nautica and I’m pretty sure people would snap it up. Haha

• mspfaz (Member) on Sep 21, 2008 at 8:27 pm

I really like the name Perodua Kici and Borong… very interesting.

• n8cky (Member) on Sep 21, 2008 at 9:45 pm

msmar_453 said,

September 21, 2008 @ 10:48 am

Hope NOT the Rusa replacement!
    Btw, any news about “that” announced new Indonesian-based MPV model that was announced in March this year and is currently still under development by Toyota and Daihatsu? Any spyshots?
    ————————–
    Rusa already went to Avanza? Join production? tat’s y we hav Rush aka Nautica?lol..

• tunomura (Member) on Sep 21, 2008 at 9:59 pm

The perodua’s mpv is an extended version of Myvi by 250mm..So if you want to know how it will look alike, wait for Daihatsu model which be launch in January next year at Japan..all i can say is, it is not Ploton MPV rival but a Naza Citra rival. Perodua also has made Naza Citra as a benchmark same as Proton do on Toyota Wish..just my 2cent..

• TheophilusChin (Member) on Sep 21, 2008 at 11:10 pm

tunomura said,
    September 21, 2008 @ 9:59 pm

The perodua’s mpv is an extended version of Myvi by 250mm.

250mm extended where? Wheelbase? front or rear overhang? Spill!!! Can’t wait! I originally imagine the MPV to be a station wagon version of Myvi.

• Kevin Lee (Member) on Sep 21, 2008 at 11:41 pm

good job theo, but realistically, the new mpv from perodua would be practically derived from the toyota avanza, as toyota/daihatsu is known for its platform sharing. i think the viva headlamps, like u used in ur example, would be much fitting on the avanza, although the avanza is an ugly platform. i havent had so much time like u to make a photoshop, really

• DC5H14 (Member) on Sep 22, 2008 at 12:18 am

hurmm looks like prius with bigger bones, perodua KICI??..definitely suitable since KECI is not too far from KICI..keci translate from Japs to BM = kedekut..

• TheophilusChin (Member) on Sep 22, 2008 at 12:34 am

???

I know ugly, i know fugly, what is urgly?

• Kevin Lee (Member) on Sep 22, 2008 at 3:02 am

did anyone mentioned urgly? cos i dont see it

• azrai (Member) on Sep 22, 2008 at 6:52 am

Hahaha. Joker joker. It is Ipsum and Kangoo with Viva’s face. Theophilus maybe can go to Jusco Melaka and watch for himself the Daihatsu Mira pick-up at the back of jusco. they bring it from japan for their use.

• TheophilusChin (Member) on Sep 22, 2008 at 8:40 am

Kevin! what were you doing at 3 am?!

Anyway just before I submitted my post, someone did say “urgly… bla bla bla… should check out my site bla bla bla…” Then that post mysteriously disappeared… like kena ISA.

Azrai, it’s not the Kangoo, but VW Caddy. I like the Caddy, Renault Kangoo, Peugeot Partner kind of vehicle. They might look boxy and commercial, but has good solid built quality, and handles well, best of all, powerful diesel engines.

As for the Keranda Serba Guna… I mean Kenderaan Serba Guna, I based it on the Verso, sold in Europe, a model that’s smaller than Wish and Ipsum.

• BlackJKX (Member) on Sep 22, 2008 at 9:36 am

I met one ah pek said..”itu keleta PerotTua hamtam baamm itu macam”…
    Perot Tua=Perodua

• hiComp (Member) on Sep 22, 2008 at 9:55 am

AHAHAHAHAAH… forget the bloody MPV… buy a toyota Wish 2.0G and dunk a supercharger in…. or just buy an Estima 2.2 SC.

pay attention to the KiCi!!! Ahahahahah!!!!

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Sep 22, 2008 at 11:01 am

it will be a shame if they use the avanza platform.. its a really bad platform, and more suited for commercial use than for family use i think.

• GL3n (Member) on Sep 22, 2008 at 2:27 pm

another based-on car?? oh my..come on la perodua.. GROW UP!!! Please!

• pju_3 (Member) on Sep 22, 2008 at 3:41 pm

It is as narrow as a Viva? Please, use Myvi one… :)

• SY0H (Member) on Sep 22, 2008 at 4:46 pm

Salamz and Hi,

Anyways, great work TheophilusChin. Although some of your designs are not my taste, at least you know how to ‘twist’ existing car designs to suite with your innovation and creativity. I’m not an IT guy so I guess this kinda art should be given some praise and support.

Hahaha, Perodua Kici! Hahaha.

• arc_knight (Member) on Sep 23, 2008 at 9:28 am

for me i would think perodua mpv design is more better lo…proton getting worst if they dun change the designing team…u all can c ma…proton savvy wit wit it underwear at behind n juara lik a piece of sh*t…

• The Unicons (Member) on Sep 23, 2008 at 10:35 am

To arc_knight.

For your information, until today Perodua only DESIGNED ONCE car from ground up known as P2 as their internal practice only many years back – almost same time they launched the Kelisa. So for markets, until today Perodua NEVER DESIGN cars. They just get the models from Toyota/Daihatsu and so some cosmetic changes, that’s all.

You said, Perodua is better. Hahaha…. from assembling cars ( get from Toyota/Daihatsu – just like Proton last time) to JUST IMPORT CAR. See the Perodua Nautica. It imported from Japan. Where got they build the car “BUILD CAR PEOPLE FIRST” for their company tagline? THEY BECOME A CAR IMPORTER INSTEAD!

You said Proton is getting worst. However, those models (such as Juara and Savvy) as what you said were old models. By the way, Juara is based on Mitsubishi’s Townbox model. Savvy from Tengku Mahaleel’s managements that bought Proton to red. Now, under Syed Zainal Abidin, lots of improvements have been done and still continue improving. Now Proton already make profits. Read the news lately? WHERE GOT GETTING WORST!

• The Unicons (Member) on Sep 23, 2008 at 10:44 am

To arc_knight.

If you say Proton is getting worst, look at Persona and Saga. These two NEW MODELS proved are better. Not only the look much nicer and accept by more people, the quality and safety too also better. It proved that under new management by Syed Zainal Abidin, they can come out with better products for people. PEOPLE’S CAR just like the Saga.

The two models as you said already past and under old management! So, why still bring up the issue. You don’t have a solid proves to prove that Proton is getting worst. Under new management, Proton which is from red (lost money) now turn to black (make profits) again.

• arc_knight (Member) on Sep 23, 2008 at 12:10 pm

to unicorn

oh really? is quality n safety of malaysian car is good or getting better? check it out urself more…compliants alot man…sigh

• The Unicons (Member) on Sep 23, 2008 at 3:32 pm

To arc_knight.

If not getting better, sure Proton still in red!!! By the way, I didn’t say Malaysian car is good. In above post, I say getting better.

Try to compare those old Saga and today’s Saga. Which one is better? For sure, people can see today’s Saga better than the old one, both quality and safety!!! Even better than the first batch (before facelifted model) of Gen.2.

Sigh!!!

• JasonMaxx (Member) on Sep 23, 2008 at 6:53 pm

I want a COPEN !!!!!!!!!!! Copen is REALLY COOL!!!!

• hyundai (Member) on Sep 23, 2008 at 11:12 pm

All ugly thing…

• myadlan (Member) on Sep 24, 2008 at 9:13 am

i can accept the MPV rendering but the Kici and Borong is simply funny.

mind you that the MPV headlights won’t be like that. what another design exploration of Viva? cmon la.. their designer is not that stupid theo..

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Sep 25, 2008 at 7:06 pm

looks pretty odd the new sketches

• planetunes (Member) on Nov 13, 2008 at 10:57 pm

perodua makin matang
    nice look

• Ghostfreak Syaqi (Member) on Dec 12, 2008 at 3:02 pm

Jigantic man

• Ghostfreak Syaqi (Member) on Dec 12, 2008 at 3:03 pm

But not goood nam BORONG haha place name Madness la

• Ghostfreak Syaqi (Member) on Dec 12, 2008 at 3:49 pm

it has to be more price then INNOVA LIVINA

• zookie on Mar 12, 2009 at 11:45 pm

Perodua mpv maybe look like Daihatsu Luxio in Indonesia,but maybe more likely Daihatsu Materia. I think la.

• melakacoastpirate on Jun 07, 2009 at 9:18 am

never bother wat it will look at last..true is it all ciplak product..how dare malaysia drove a ciplak product…it looks like you all sokong cetak rompak…

shame….love proton..Genuine

• jalak kumpangan on Jun 09, 2009 at 8:35 pm

Yeah….. another threat for small Malaysian original carmaker Malaysia from a big brother from Japan through its small brother here.

Juara is a high tech automobile considering the electronically controlled power steering which stiffen when going fast. But nobody noticed it.

Gen-2 also a very good car when it comes to perfomance and handling. Its power is comparable to a 20 valved, 4 throttled Corolla GT. Take the Gen-2 especially the CPS model and see how happy the engine revs as the RPM needle passes 4000. Wooohooo!!!

Wonder if Proton continues with realising the supercharged Campro engine…. Maybe MAS and AirAsia will feature a 5 seater domestic flight service using Proton cars fitted with wings and rudder… Hahahaa

Also driven an Exora recently, their tagline, "You'll be amazed" really amazed me. The pick up is quite good considering a bulky body with a 1.6 engine. Dont compare it with a 2.0 3S-GE Wish cos its not fair. If Proton uses a 2.0 engine too then it will be a fair ground.

I'm not a Proton user coz new Proton cars are still beyond my affordability. Keep dreaming to own a Neo….. huhuuuu

• jalak kumpangan on Jun 09, 2009 at 8:40 pm

When will Proton produce a Pickup truck? Diesel intercooled turbo S6DH? (maybe S4PH is a 4 cylinder 1.6 petrol whereas S6DH 6 cylinder diesel) Just my imagination….

• kaki komen and romen on Jun 17, 2009 at 9:45 pm

tak canti langsung la beb, cam tikus mondok hahahahahahahahahahahahah

• michael on Jun 19, 2009 at 3:40 am

stop copy ppl car man make it yr OWN

• tamjali on Jun 26, 2009 at 6:46 pm

both start with assembling and copying other car. till now both struggling with poor service and part.sad.

• the most essential is 2nd row & 3rd row air conditioning! is it available???

• mikan on Aug 18, 2009 at 5:01 am

x cantik langsung lagi cantik ezora……………….kalau keretacam ni rosak malay……………………….aku kasi dua bintang je ……………………..

• fuyoo on Aug 24, 2009 at 9:29 pm

there should be second row air-conditioner in perodua mpv….or else it will be hell in the car

• George on Sep 02, 2009 at 9:41 am

So long and still no news yet?

• are_num on Sep 02, 2009 at 5:59 pm

memang cantik lah…berapa harganyeeee..bila boleh tempah

• Norman on Sep 05, 2009 at 10:27 pm

Its a rebadge from Toyota Passo Sette/Daihatsu Boon Luminas

• Perodua Hater on Sep 07, 2009 at 4:38 pm

Stupid Perodua MPV! it looks small! i wonder how much its going to be

• 1Malaysia on Sep 18, 2009 at 10:42 pm

Is it true that Perodua intend to name it PERODUA GAJAH (seriuos!)?… To me, its such a good idea.. MENARIK!!

• jenatixel (Member) on Sep 19, 2009 at 9:23 am

OMG… i think perodua gajah is too hilarious… if perodua do name it that way i surely to die laughing.

• benim arabam opel zafira ?ahane