Next generation Nissan March sketch?

Nissan March

Nissan is working on the next generation Nissan March and according to Nissan design director Shiro Nakamura, the new Micra will carry Nissan’s new family look and will be designed to appeal more to the male audience but at the same while keeping a cute look.

A sketch shown above from Mag-X magazine shows that the new Micra still has the round headlamps that contribute to its “cute” factor. You can also see the typical modern Nissan grille there with the two slanted vertical bars flanking the logo. Based on the sketch, would you buy it if you are a guy?

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• austin_cipan (Member) on Sep 23, 2008 at 11:27 am

it works for me… a nice cute little car…

• lowprofile (Member) on Sep 23, 2008 at 1:22 pm

looks good to me too. with the right kit, it could look pretty mean. thankfully nissan is not trying to do the ‘one box’ shape that the other japanese manufacturers are doing. could be because thay are owned by renault and have european design ideology instead. i prefer a ‘two box’ shape.

• SY0H (Member) on Sep 23, 2008 at 1:22 pm

Hi,

The price tag has always been consumer’s main determining factor when buying cars. We have lots of car out there with male, female, gays and lesbian looks but the price tag will always have the final say.

The prototype has that ‘male looks’ a bit but, I think ‘female looks’ is governing the car design (round lamps?). Not to mention, there’s a little bit Italian-Job feeling thrown into this car as well.

What the heck, just wait till more designs appear.

• n8cky (Member) on Sep 23, 2008 at 1:27 pm

y not?

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Sep 23, 2008 at 2:21 pm

y not?

Beggars can’t really be choosers…..although try as we could.

Price is the determinating criterior here (or “NAP” – Not a Proton)

Plenty of “cute” Kelisas with guys driving. (Or my friend more affectionately calls his [i]the[/i] SLK -Small Little Kelisa)

• lowprofile (Member) on Sep 23, 2008 at 3:38 pm

The price matter is always a touchy issue. buyers always want cheaper cars and always compare malaysia to other countries which have cheaper cars. a key factor not considered by all those disgruntled intenders (i say ‘intenders’ cos most of the time, they have not bought the car they are complaining about yet) are the respective country’s automotive policies. do they encourage imports? what is their taxation scheme for cars? are they practicing protection and so on and so forth. every country is unique with their own automotive policies.

mostly, in malaysia at least non traditional brands are imho, making very little in their margins. only those which have been strong here like the big t and big h and the big 3 germans can command a large margin … which economic forces (i.e. the buyers) are so willing to pay.

so when you are dissatistied about the pricing of a certain model, vent your anger at the right place and also those automakers which are strong. they are able to charge you more cos you want their products and are willing to pay for it. as long as there is demand, and many out there who are so willing to part with their hard earned money their object of desire, please don’t hope that a few posts here and there will get the car companies or the government to change their mind.

• lowprofile (Member) on Sep 23, 2008 at 3:49 pm

the new march as shown in the sketch is a nice looking car though, a bit like a real modern day mini.

• cars-addict (Member) on Sep 23, 2008 at 4:32 pm

yeah…cute….

• Roti Naan (Member) on Sep 23, 2008 at 5:57 pm

eeeiiiiiiii……………so cute!.

• redwings (Member) on Sep 23, 2008 at 6:03 pm

i have different opinion…if you are not that tall..this car will suite you, but again why you want to spend the money on small little…

For me, I will go for those c or d-segment cars…if you can afford one..

I still can’t accept a 5 foot 8 above guy to drive this small car..

Looking at the new march..nothing impress…but kind of cute to ladies.

• twom (Member) on Sep 23, 2008 at 6:58 pm

it is still ladies car rather than unisex car. Just look at the suzuki swift, it is being a unisex car but more toward a ladies. I prefer aggresive looks on car i.e mitsubishi lancer gt which IMHO is a guy car.

• MyviKiller (Member) on Sep 23, 2008 at 7:59 pm

Cute Cute Cute!!!

We got our own unisex car too… Proton Savvy!

• hyundai (Member) on Sep 23, 2008 at 10:47 pm

Hope that Nissan will put more effort in the interior space of this car as Latio and Sylphy are so gppd in space arrangement so that only it can match the Honda Jazz in terms of interior space…

• csv (Member) on Sep 23, 2008 at 11:10 pm

i prefer qashqai, more manly.

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Sep 23, 2008 at 11:52 pm

Sweet! Yes I’d buy one and I don’t care if my friends call me pondan for driving it. I reckon the real pondans are the ones that drive pickups/SUVs and constantly tailgate small cars for NO reason at all…hahah… =P Don’t get me wrong though. I have a HUGE respect for every courteous driver on the road, regardless of whether he/she drives a Kancil 660 or a LandCruiser V8. =)

Okay, I’ve digressed…hahaha…now back to the sketch. I think it looks really good…hope it’ll get into production soon and land on our shores… =D

• azrai (Member) on Sep 24, 2008 at 6:43 am

A rounder Savvy will do for proton maybe.

• lowprofile (Member) on Sep 24, 2008 at 9:13 am

the qashqai is certainly more macho. but i think that nissan would be looking at a more young and unisex crowd for this car. tha’ts why it looks like a scaled down mini. from the looks, i’m assuming that nissan is targeting women and will introduce a styling kit for the male buyers. just my assumption.

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Sep 25, 2008 at 6:39 pm

nissan design is the best for japanese manufacturers

• topgunthang (Member) on Sep 26, 2008 at 2:31 am

only good car to come out of nissan nowadays is the gtr.

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Sep 26, 2008 at 12:41 pm

but too bad the interior is crap, but that digital display is really cool to show off

• ROBERT on Oct 12, 2009 at 10:09 pm

I sure would buy this car. This, I call modernization of the " March"

• New Nissan March @ Thailand factory

http://www.headlightmag.com/main/index.php?option…

Full model brochure (in PDF (Thai language) from Nissan dealer in Thailand

http://dc191.4shared.com/download/239806868/7eae6…