Malaysian petrol and diesel price down by 10 sen

Fuel-Wallet GaugeThe government has reduced the price of fuel in Malaysia by RM0.10 per litre across the board for all three types of fuel.

Minister of Domestic Trade and Consumer Affairs Datuk Shahrir Samad said the government could only manage a RM0.10 reduction because although crude oil prices have dropped, the ringgit has depreciated against the US dollar.

He added that according to calculations the government could only reduce prices by RM0.07 sen but decided to increase subsidy by another RM0.03 sen to make it a total of a RM0.10 price reduction. It would be interesting to see how this is calculated.

The following are the new prices for petrol and diesel in Malaysia, effective tomorrow:

Fuel Old Price Reduction New Price
RON97 RM2.55 RM0.10 RM2.45
RON92 RM2.40 RM0.10 RM2.30
Diesel RM2.50 RM0.10 RM2.40

This means that for a full tank of 50 litres, you get to save RM5 per fuel tank or between RM20 to RM30 depending on whether you fill up between 4 to 6 times a month. I hope this means something to those that are needy out there, but as for me I do not feel like I will be saving much. Selamat Hari Raya!

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• ryan_foong80 (Member) on Sep 24, 2008 at 11:06 pm

wish can be more….RM2 ?.. can ?..

• austin_cipan (Member) on Sep 24, 2008 at 11:11 pm

sekupang jek? tak ikhlas langsung… aritu naik sampai 78sen, senang2 je… tak pikir langsung consequences yang akan berlaku… bodo betul pokloh ni… orang kalo dah naik harga makanan tu ingat sesenang je ke diorang nak turun balik walaupun harga minyak ‘turun’ ni? memang bangang la government skang ni. tu laaa.. orang wat conference, die tido.. kan dah tak terurus kerajaan malaysia ni.. ape la nasib Malaysian zaman skang… pemimpin cam bangang, corrupt tak abes2, bias, cronism, menantu-ism, anak-ism… and kakibodek-ism… stupid!!!

• hazril_yorke (Member) on Sep 24, 2008 at 11:18 pm

stupid minister….

• Infinitt (Member) on Sep 24, 2008 at 11:21 pm

10 sen ?? Pak Lah..please step down now, still not finish transfering all the projects to your sons n cronies..? suck

• sky (Member) on Sep 24, 2008 at 11:37 pm

hey paul. better remove those comments that contain “sentistive” words. hope you wont be one of the next victim of the “I Simply Arrest / Ikut Suka Aku”. haha!

• Roti Naan (Member) on Sep 24, 2008 at 11:38 pm

**throw 10cents back at the govt**

• shamel (Member) on Sep 24, 2008 at 11:47 pm

not even 1/3 of the value of 80 sen hike back to june 5, 2008. and the damage already done. HOPE they can happy to make rakyat suffer. OK if they can just reduce RM0.10 sen BUT the august reduction must be over RM0.30 sen, not merely 15 sen.

• topgunthang (Member) on Sep 25, 2008 at 12:05 am

good. maybe after 1 year i can afford to fix that window on my proton. …..only to have it break down 2 weeks later.

• torque (Member) on Sep 25, 2008 at 12:07 am

Haiya! Ini macham wa tak tak heran, naik itu jam meeting sampai lapan jam. Biler tulun ini jam, pikir pun talak sampai satu jam. Haiya, bikin wa saspen mau lompat-lompat sambut hari laya sikit jam. Tapi wa manyak syukor wor. Ini tahun gaberment manyak tolong sama gua lu tau. Ini tahun wa punya kampung budak-budak kecik dapat lebih angpow wor. Wa ingat mau kasi luit laya sembilan puloh sen saje tapi sikalang wa lapat kasi lebih wor. Hahaha…lai lai lai…uncle sikalang mau kasi luit laya aaaaa…satu linggit satu olang ar! Hahaha…fa tat lor!

Cheers everyone and drive safely during the holidays! Enjoy the silly sarcasm…just for fun. :-)

p/s: 10 cent pun 10 cent lah…a reduction is still a reduction. I’ll gratefully accept it although I hope for more. Sigh! :-(

• ignas (Member) on Sep 25, 2008 at 12:13 am

good. maybe after 2 years of accumulated rm 4 i can pump 1 full tank….only to finish it in 1 week later.

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Sep 25, 2008 at 12:15 am

Paul,

I agree with sky, and I’d hate to see you detained under ISA (touch wood!)
    So I reckon you should step in soon. Everything revolves around the ISA nowadays, you know…

Anyway, I’d like to thank the Government for their generosity. Mind you, subsidising an extra 3 sen is quite a tough decision to make. And based on Paul’s calculation, a monthly saving of RM20-RM30 can mean a lot to the poorer among us. Not to mention the free electricity if you consume less than RM20 per month… =)

So yeah, we should thank the Government for the “duit raya” they’re giving us. Selamat Hari Raya Aidilfitri! =D

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Sep 25, 2008 at 12:20 am

By the way Paul, would you mind if I steal your “fuel-wallet gauge”?

• feez98 (Member) on Sep 25, 2008 at 12:21 am

10 cent jer? thanx…. Salam Aidilfitri. Bawak kreta pelan2, biar lambat sampai… jgn x sampai langsung… Cheers!

• ignas (Member) on Sep 25, 2008 at 12:22 am

er…thank them?…where do u think the subsidies come from? i highly doubt is it being spent correctly. besides, i dun think paul wrote anything sensitive there, just some straight and non misleading facts for us who dont have the time to read papers.

• abtm (Member) on Sep 25, 2008 at 12:41 am

‘the ringgit has depreciated against the US dollar’…exactly whose fault is that?

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Sep 25, 2008 at 12:50 am

@ignas: Lighten up dude I was just being sarcastic about the subsidies! =D
    And I didn’t say Paul wrote anything sensitive – what I meant was that Paul should moderate some of the readers’ comments. You know, the ones talking about cronism, anak-ism, menantu-ism etc. The internet has become quite a scary world nowadays, and bloggers might face arrest for failing to moderate the readers’ comments. Our government can be quite unpredictable, you know… =P

Anyway I hope we’ll all enjoy the RM20-RM30 monthly saving. In a year that’ll work out at say RM300, so in 7 years’ time you’d have saved around RM2100 – you can buy an entry-level laptop! Now that doesn’t sound too shabby, don’t you think? Hahaha… =D

Well…hope everyone will enjoy themselves this coming festive season! Maaf zahir dan batin sekiranya hamba pernah tersilap/terkasar bahasa… =)

• mofo (Member) on Sep 25, 2008 at 1:12 am

“He added that according to calculations the government could only reduce prices by RM0.07 sen but decided to increase subsidy by another RM0.03 sen to make it a total of a RM0.10 price reduction. It would be interesting to see how this is calculated.”

LOL, why not they publish it on newspaper ? I wonder if i throw this question to them. Would they ask me “Who are you ?”, but if so, i can speak it loud and clear “Citizen of Malaysia WHO PAY TAXES !”

Cheers everyone

• cyful (Member) on Sep 25, 2008 at 1:13 am

hahahaha… you guyssss when goverment increase 10sen, you guys scream like hell, when goverment reduce 10sen still noisy for more. what laaaa hv your own oil rigs then

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Sep 25, 2008 at 1:24 am

Polis kata jangan…

• kahing (Member) on Sep 25, 2008 at 1:27 am

Its not because of oil rigs or shit of the same sort. It’s the G that we’re talking about. We all know very well, they can actually reduce the price some more. Just that they have too many ‘impoverished’ pockets to fill and this is why they can only subsidize us a mere.0.03 sen. Lame lah, seriously lame.

The RM has depreciated against US Dollar ? Haha. Just another excuse they cook up so the scam would all look feasible. Come on la people, the G should know very well by saving the rakyat an extra 10sen would make a difference ? Yeah, maybe I’ll use that 10sen to buy myself some China produced (but) banned rabbit sweets.

Paul : Aren’t you afraid the ISA might come after you for (auto) publishing seditious comments ? Haha. Now feel afraid, be very afraid (shakes and shivers), *yawns*. ISA = Itu Salah Awak. (tangkap)

• keretakura (Member) on Sep 25, 2008 at 1:36 am

ISA = Ikut Suka Abdullah …. he he

DSAB … “Father of Inflation”

• 9166 (Member) on Sep 25, 2008 at 1:43 am

Another kelentong.The minister said

“Going by the trend, Shahrir said the Government would be paying slightly more for the fuel subsidy as the average crude oil price would be only be seven sen cheaper but the Government had decided to absorb the difference and lower it to 10 sen”

You all ungrateful people, better be happy. You are only entitled to 7sen only (according to their mathematicians) and now they give you another 3sen.

Wonderful isn’t it, they rip us off and yet can still make many people happy la.

How about they show us once and for all how or the formula they use to calculate? Bet they won’t, coz if they do, next round cannot bluff again right?

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Sep 25, 2008 at 1:55 am

There’s no denying that these high fuel prices may have caused us some inconvenience. But on the other side of the coin, we’ll now think twice before driving to that convenience store across the street. Ironically, I can still see some parents driving SUVs and pickup trucks just to fetch their children from school. My point is that we should seek solutions rather than constantly whining about everything. Proton, for instance, is making a good move by working with Lotus to develop the Gen2 Hybrid concept. =)

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Sep 25, 2008 at 2:02 am

Another example of seeking solutions:
    If we’re unhappy the current leadership, there’s always the general election! =)

(I can see it coming – I’m gonna be reprimanded for talking about politics here!)

• dodgeviper88 (Member) on Sep 25, 2008 at 2:07 am

Haiyo, I get myself all excited thinking that it would be back to below 2 ringgit per litre, only to be immensely disappointed again. But then, it is expected of the government whom has let us down every since the Merdeka times.
    While a reduction of 10 cents is better than nothing, I really feel this 10 cents is a bloody insult to us. The government really thinks we’re that stupid? But then again, we voted for them, so I guess we’re the stupid ones. Next election, please vote wisely. I don’t think ISA can tangkap me for saying that?

• tricycle (Member) on Sep 25, 2008 at 5:59 am

F F F the G. I still simply can’t accept the reduction by 10 cents. What the H? If they keep on lowering by this tiny amount, how could the price of goods gets down? It should be very substantial, say 50 cents or so. Then we as a Malaysian can see a real price drop in goods.

And when that happen the CPI will drop, then the inflation will drop. Then we can see that our Ringgit will go up again. We are not stupid, this is a very basic of economic. Hey G, if you don’t even know how to do this simple calculation or analysis, please la step down.

Run another election (Free Election please), don’t even think to pass the pm post to another anak ex pm who does not even graduate from any University.

simple flow analysis:
    petrol down=>goods down=>cpi lower=>inflation lower=>ringgit appreciate & rating agency give more positive rating on Malaysia => buying power increase=> can drop more petrol price=> Malaysia become competitive=> more investment flow in=> Malaysian enjoy better standard of living

• ameen (Member) on Sep 25, 2008 at 6:34 am

no enough.. we want more!!!

• muharifz (Member) on Sep 25, 2008 at 6:46 am

At least 10 cents is better than nothing at all…although for some…it should be reduced further. At least it comes down rather than keep on going up and up and up and in the end…we’ll end up having bicycles colliding with each other…in our news headlines.

• azrai (Member) on Sep 25, 2008 at 7:03 am

Bluffing Cabinet; here what an economist said:
    Ahli ekonomi tempatan, Tan Sri Ramon Navaratnam berkata, penurunan harga minyak sebanyak 10 sen tidak banyak membantu kerana jumlah itu adalah terlalu kecil dan tidak menggambarkan kedudukan semasa harga minyak dunia.
    Beliau berkata, rakyat telah menaruh harapan yang tinggi bahawa kerajaan akan menurunkan harganya kepada satu paras ‘munasabah’, seiring dengan aliran penyusutan harga minyak dunia yang kini berada di sekitar bawah AS$110 (RM374) setong sejak hampir dua bulan.

• normaluser (Member) on Sep 25, 2008 at 7:49 am

tricycle said,
    simple flow analysis:
    petrol down=>goods down=>cpi lower=>inflation lower=>ringgit appreciate & rating agency give more positive rating on Malaysia => buying power increase=> can drop more petrol price=> Malaysia become competitive=> more investment flow in=> Malaysian enjoy better standard of living

========

uhmmm how come lower inflation brings down to lower RM?? Our current RM depreciation againts the USD is not much relation with our inflation rate. Its the global strengthening of the USD againts the major world currencies, and that brought the crude oil price spike up recently.

Anyway inflation causes surplus money circulation in the market (because price increase>more money spent by consumer & received by seller), and central bank has tendency to overcome that by increasing OPR (which affects the interest rate for deposits and loans). When that happens, our money market/deposit instruments (FD, notes, bonds) becomes attractive for foreign investors. Foreign funds coming in, and the capital inflow (USD to RM) ensures that the RM appreciates againts the USD. Well, there are many more macroeconomic factors which affects the currency (trade balances, fiscal policy etc), but my explanation here is just to show you that lower CPI doesnt necessarily translates to better RM appreciation vs the USD. Its not as simple as that.

• normaluser (Member) on Sep 25, 2008 at 7:52 am

uhmmm how come lower inflation brings down to lower RM??

changed to

uhmmm how come lower inflation brings down to appreciation of RM??
    In addition to that, investors are concerned with our flip-flop political events happening around. Foreign funds flow out, mass sell-out of RM, thats why RM depreciates. Its not because of CPI per se.

• arc_knight (Member) on Sep 25, 2008 at 8:04 am

huh? OMG just reduce 10 cents…price should go down to at least rm2/l ma…10 cents/l mean nothing de leh to all of us…REDUCE MORE…

• onewan4 (Member) on Sep 25, 2008 at 8:50 am

hey guys..let think this..if it right or me wrong….

Crude oil—> 1 barrel = 159 litre

Currency convert —-> USD 1 = RM 3.50 (simple calculation)
    Current global price—-> USD 110 = RM 385.00

that mean price per litre—-> RM385.00/159 litre = RM 2.42

Gov decide to subsidise RM 0.30 based on current Global price
    RM 2.42 – RM 0.30 = RM 2.12

now we pay—> RM 2.45

SO, Malaysian subsidise to Gov—–> RM 2.45 – RM 2.12 = RM 0.33

• austin_cipan (Member) on Sep 25, 2008 at 8:51 am

haha… another auto related blog has become auto+politics+economics blog… hadoi… anyhoo, i simply don’t agree with tricycle… lower the fuel price by 10cent DON’T bring goods prices down… simply can’t… grocer also very clever maa nowadays.. do you think they want to give away profit just because govt reduce the fuel price by 10cent aka 3.9%? no lah… simply no… why do they increase the fuel price by 40% in the first place? there are a bunch of smart economist in malaysia… i’m sure they know how the world trend of crude oil prices… they have (if not all) somewhat or somehow predict that the fuel prices worldwide are going to fall or stabilize if that matters… even they cannot influence the decision of our pokloh… this is somehow fishy… i mean, 40% increase out of a sudden? now only regret our economy fall down and so call inflation sh*t high and the CPI or whatever term u call it nowadays, increase… our Corruption problem still in the same spot year by year… that should be taken care of in the first place… hadoi.. Malaysia ku tercinta… ape nak jadi nih?

• cutester (Member) on Sep 25, 2008 at 8:58 am

Out of topic a bit. I remembered there was a “Hari Inflasi Sifar” somewhere in the mid 90s once a month (or was it once a week). What happened to it?

• moonier (Member) on Sep 25, 2008 at 9:10 am

10cent je? rm2 per litre la. jimat n senang kira. selamat hari raya! drive carefully

• Hikaru (Member) on Sep 25, 2008 at 9:22 am

Whilst I think I should be grateful that the Govt. has agreed to reduce the petrol price, but I really think that 10 cents is really not sufficient at all. With an increase of 78 cents for petrol, the recent reduction of 25 cents in total is really nothing to shout about. In fact, the initial increase was not thought of properly and is merely a stupid, idoitic, reflex action to save the govt coffers so that they can plunder more. “why help the ppl, I need to scrape more off”, I can imagine them say.

They obvious have not studied the impact of it all with true and profession advise. After paying through my nose for the increment, I feel like I have been robbed of my hard earn money just because of one person’s indecisiveness. Against 10 cents is just too little. The world oil price has dropped nearly 30 dollars yet ours have not. I bet the govt must be saving hell of a lot of money from this increase and yet we don’t see it back on society at all.

In the end we suffer. 10 cents is just to little, too disappointing. This govt has failed us time and again, without fail. In fact, nothing good has come out of this govt.

• tananiki (Member) on Sep 25, 2008 at 9:23 am

extra money going into their pocket… i wonder if one day no more minister in our country we can save a lot of tax… only know how to think of a way to suck ppl money…

• raverus (Member) on Sep 25, 2008 at 9:28 am

Throw back the 10 cents back and free RPK!

Damage done, image tarnish, try harder please……

• intermilan (Member) on Sep 25, 2008 at 9:29 am

the minimum / fair / logical / acceptable (but still ain’t good enuff) reduction is 25sen to bring it to RM2.30 (petrol ron97). i believe many people are looking at this figure … G can do a open n fair survey if not believe.

this reduction (of 10 sen), result in many rakyat feel this G are not good enuff, tak ikhlas, still with it hidden agenda, not tranparent (as the formula use and the whole calculation where not published), unfair, manipulative and so forth and so forth.

The G move to quickly defend the inadequate reduction, although logical and expected, it just make rakyat feeling worse further. why? dont they bersyukur? this is not about bersyukur…. this is year 2008 and now We ALL believe and want a Government, that what appointed by the people, to act in the best interest of the PEOPLE. Right now, the PEOPLE believe that much cheaper oil is the the best thing for them. Get it?

regarding the petrol reduction.. its not enuff cried many many rakyat..
    why? coz the price of light sweet oil has decrease from USD 140 to circa USD 100. that’s a lot of reduction, rite?

but wait, don’t Malaysian import oil from the Middle East to make it petrol? oh yes! i just remember.. (ya rite..) and this oil isn’t as expensive as light sweet, coz middle east oil is kinda low in quality/sour oil. its too much info to story about different types of fresh oil and the percentage of its by product after refining, so i skip that.
    but just a glimpse, the reason why malaysia fresh oil is expensive is because…. it could produce a high percentage of jet oil compared to other type of fresh oil. jet fuel is expensive. that’s why.

back to oil price..
    of course, there are many factors that could further influence the real cost of petrol n diesel in malaysia. like..
    1. do we import fresh oil or finish goods (petrol n diesel) from middle east?
    2. what about other sources? do we import from singapore, vietnam? what do we import? percentage? why ?
    3. as for the price of petrol that r used for the average, which petrol price are the G referring to? why?
    4. what is the actual big picture of petrol n diesel supply market for malaysia?
    5. where are this oil refined, local or singapore?

there are so many questions / explainations need to be made public for everyone to understand the oil market/price.

Why don’t the G published this? M’sian are not that stupid ‘mungkin tak faham’ how the whole Malaysia oil market supply/demand flows…

Many foreign country, e.g. Australia have their own Petroleum Institute that publish report about this kind of thing. Don’t Malaysia have this kind of institute?

regarding the ‘formula’….
    what so secret about it? OSA ka? Smart-ass mathematician could pretty much re-built G formula and that would be embrassing if it happened.

So, G do a honest campaign to inform the rakyat abvout this.

Kementerian Penerangan…, boleh ka? lama dah tak dengar pasal kementerian ni sejak Muhamad Rahmat pencen.

• jolly_idiot (Member) on Sep 25, 2008 at 9:36 am

10 cent is BIG! BIGGER than those BN head. They’re worthless.

• lembagatanah (Member) on Sep 25, 2008 at 9:38 am

i was hoping for more than 30 cents decrease, yet all i have is 10 cents. positive hat say grateful, but my whole other body said aaaarrrrggggghhhhh…….

• zech57 (Member) on Sep 25, 2008 at 9:45 am

10cents? I work in an industry where i need to buy un-subsidized diesel. Government promise us to subsidise 30cents from the global market price. Currently diesel (processed from crude oil) is price at 114.92USD as barrel. One barrel is around 158.99 litres. that around RM 2.571 per litre. katakan campur premium for dealers make it to RM 2.60. Conclusion, Gov subsidizing only 20 cents…

• ignas (Member) on Sep 25, 2008 at 9:58 am

if wut u said is true, then i would assume the other 10 cents goes to the cronies~ haih screw subsidies n take away all those taxes already. naive m i? lol

• ignas (Member) on Sep 25, 2008 at 10:00 am

subsidies without transparencies is like a system for maggots and cronies leeching in it. peace!

• BlackJKX (Member) on Sep 25, 2008 at 10:09 am

It’s like…mak burung bagi makan anak burung.
    Anak burung bukak mulut besar2,tapi mak burung bagi sedikit2.
    Sian anak burung.

• azzy-CSL (Member) on Sep 25, 2008 at 10:14 am

i think some of you are forgetting about the RM625 that some of you got…

Paul… mind factoring that in to your fuel/wallet calculator… it might bring things into perspective :)

• BrakeFader (Member) on Sep 25, 2008 at 10:17 am

I don’t see the relation of dropping Ringgit value against US$ to our current fuel price as Malaysia is an oil producer. I don’t think any oil producing country would jack oil prices for such reason. If that is true, Indonesians won’t be able to afford petrol anymore because of their rupiah depreciation. Currently they pay much lower compared to us so Government shouldn’t take Malaysians as fools and compared with non-petrol producing countries. On that basis, why not implement US$ based salary for Malaysians?

• numb3r7mu (Member) on Sep 25, 2008 at 10:51 am

Paul,

I agree with sky, and I’d hate to see you detained under ISA (touch wood!)
    So I reckon you should step in soon. Everything revolves around the ISA nowadays, you know…

Anyway, I’d like to thank the Government for their generosity. Mind you, subsidising an extra 3 sen is quite a tough decision to make. And based on Paul’s calculation, a monthly saving of RM20-RM30 can mean a lot to the poorer among us. Not to mention the free electricity if you consume less than RM20 per month… =)

So yeah, we should thank the Government for the “duit raya” they’re giving us. Selamat Hari Raya Aidilfitri

Talking about free electricity if you consume less than RM2O/month.
    last month my bill was RM25++ but i not received the bill because TNB didn’t
    send the bill at all. therefore i cannot pay the bill lah.
    this month RM18++ (wish i think i should not pay at all coz less then RM20)

but i have to pay RM43++ because of the RM25++ tunggakan. HOW COULD I PAY THE TUNGGAKAN IF I NOT RECEIVE THE BILL & DON’T KNOW HOW MUCH TNB CHARGE ME AT PARTICULAR MONTH.
    or i thing TNB want me to enjoy free electricity coz use less RM20.

STUPID G AND TNB

(JUZ KNOW TO INCREASE THE TARIF 4 ELECTRICITY COZ HIGHER PETROL COST. NOW PRIZE GETTING LOWER HOW ABOUT THE ELECTRICITY RATE ????????????)

• xavier_lert (Member) on Sep 25, 2008 at 10:57 am

why just 10cent? bcoz if they reduce more then it’ll effect the petrol station…imagine if they just bought 50000 liter of petrol yesterday with the old price….then all the suddent gov reduce rapidly today…then its a big loss to them…

so maybe maybe and maybe…if they wanna reduce the price back to normal (under RM 2),they need to do stage by stage…

** but as our ringit is goin down they’ll have another reason not to reduce the price…argh!

• ignas (Member) on Sep 25, 2008 at 11:05 am

how about when the petrol station selling old petrol with the new price bak then. did they do stage by stage?

• 9166 (Member) on Sep 25, 2008 at 11:20 am

Reason: I fear for the safety of my kids. Would you rather they ride in a SUV or pickup OR in a tiny tin can they call cars? Maybe, a motorbike will be better on the pocket. Isn’t there any value left for human life and human capital?

In the last few months, many working rakyat have been forced or reduced to riding motorbike to work. These are people that the country have invested in. educating, feeding, skilled people exposed to danger everyday. Where is the logic here?

For example., the bomb expert that got killed in the Cheras runaway truck accident, he may have survived had he been driving a car…. now we have lost 1 bomb expert that may be called in 1 day to diffuse bomb next to you.
    So, do you still think we should reduce our rakyat to smaller cars or motorbikes???

Akazamabamaboo said,
    September 25, 2008 @ 1:55 am

There’s no denying that these high fuel prices may have caused us some inconvenience. But on the other side of the coin, we’ll now think twice before driving to that convenience store across the street. Ironically, I can still see some parents driving SUVs and pickup trucks just to fetch their children from school. My point is that we should seek solutions rather than constantly whining about everything.

• tricycle (Member) on Sep 25, 2008 at 11:51 am

I’m sorry for the little confusion up there. I don’t mean to say that the sole factor of Ringgit depreciation due to the inflation that we have. It is also contributed to the internal and external factors.

Internal factors:
    political instability – paklah and pakjib on the top
    a very high inflation rate (the recent one is the highest in 27 years)
    current account and capital account is acting oppositely this time around
    since the recent report stating that our export is substantially higher than yesteryear (refer to malaysiakini, bank negara or any other sources)

For Malaysia, our export is usually higher than the import and thus we are having trade surplus that means our currency should appreciate or relatively stable compared to the US (since the US is appreciating now).

so it does not make any sense that our currency is depreciating against the US, equivalent to other currency. We should be better since we are NET EXPORTING country of so many products including crude oil. So there must be another reason for the depreciation. IMHO it is due to the high inflation and political instability as well as the interest rate gap with the US.

High inflation causes the Ringgit to depreciate. Why? First one needs to understand the Purchasing Power Parity, (PPP). Just google it, you will find the asnwer. I don’t want Paul to block me for writing too long. If you need me to answer it just email me at [email protected] . Sorry Paul.

Good luck on understanding. It is ok to be stupid, but not ok to be an ignorant.

• motberg (Member) on Sep 25, 2008 at 11:54 am

any reduction of the petrol price is of course welcome news to the rakyat. even if it’s a measly 10 cents. the problem is, when petrol price go up, everything else goes up, food, transport, etc except salary. when petrol price come down, all the prices never come down. so who suffer? sigh…

• Dogster (Member) on Sep 25, 2008 at 12:59 pm

Relying on the business owners to lower down their pricing? Its like asking asking our PM stepping down and handing over to Anuar….
    B.S. Hate this world of economy. Everyone is out to get rakyat’s money. The gov if want to save their A**, they should go monitor every business so that they will reduce their pricing accordingly.
    Relying on business man to do the right thing is like waiting for cows to fly… ish… No one is kind in the business world!!! and will never be unless the gov interfere…

• tananiki (Member) on Sep 25, 2008 at 1:11 pm

noways gov job is: think of a way to get more tax from ppl to get increment for them…

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Sep 25, 2008 at 1:12 pm

@9166: Small motorbikes are nothing but a menace on the road – I reckon they should be restricted to residential areas and small towns/villages. And regarding the SUV/pickup, that was purely meant as a hyperbole. We should think twice before driving that 4.0-litre Prado to Uncle Chin’s convenience store across the street. Or if we really love driving our gaz-guzzlers, then there’s no reason for us to complain about the fuel prices. Bigger doesn’t always mean safer, and there are quite a number of smaller cars with 5-star Euro NCAP crash safety rating. But it’s perfectly understandable that you’d choose to drive your SUV/pickup – in Malaysia if you drive a smaller car, you’re more likely to be tailgated by a larger car for no reason at all. And that’s one of the problems for which it’s quite hard to find a solution.

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Sep 25, 2008 at 1:24 pm

And understandably another problem in our country is the lack of choice when it comes to buying a new car with safety in mind – so I can see why some people choose to buy SUVs/pickups, especially in Sarawak and Sabah. (Then again with the poor road conditions in these two states, you can’t afford to replace the shock absorbers and re-align the wheels on your sedan/hatchback after every trip from Miri to Kuching for instance.)

• lex11 (Member) on Sep 25, 2008 at 1:34 pm

Hari Raya fuel price down RM 0.10.
    After Hari Raya fuel price up RM 0.40
    Chinese New Year fuel price down RM 0.10
    That’s BN to win Rakyat heart. Stupid G, do u think we can support u anymore???!!!

• Roti Naan (Member) on Sep 25, 2008 at 2:08 pm

Petrol price up, down, up, down….
    Rakyat’s mood up, down, up, down….

The behaviour of a person will be determined by petrol prices in the near future…hahaha

• osh_kosh (Member) on Sep 25, 2008 at 5:29 pm

WOW!!! Down 10 cent per liter!!! I Love u LAH… OkLAH… cukupLAH.. (am i gratefull enuff?)

• chinz (Member) on Sep 25, 2008 at 6:25 pm

too all malaysian! read carefully, MALAYSIAN boleh not malaysia boleh ok

selamat menyambut hari raya!

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Sep 25, 2008 at 6:36 pm

10 sen today, next day rise 50 sen

• Roti Naan (Member) on Sep 25, 2008 at 7:59 pm

ALPINA BMW said,

September 25, 2008 @ 6:36 pm

10 sen today, next day rise 50 sen
    ——————————————————-
    Like this ppl going to speculate…like stock market. Buy plenty of petrol and simpan. if rise 50cents/liter, then I make 40 cents/liter from selling.

Better than selling burger at roadside….

• Prem3377 (Member) on Sep 25, 2008 at 10:28 pm

mofo said,
    September 25, 2008 @ 1:12 am

“He added that according to calculations the government could only reduce prices by RM0.07 sen but decided to increase subsidy by another RM0.03 sen to make it a total of a RM0.10 price reduction. It would be interesting to see how this is calculated.”

LOL, why not they publish it on newspaper ? I wonder if i throw this question to them. Would they ask me “Who are you ?”, but if so, i can speak it loud and clear “Citizen of Malaysia WHO PAY TAXES !”

hey dont ever question they government..pls change your intention…

first they will say you are a threat to the country…

then they will say you caused racial tension…

catch you middle of the night…

put you in ISA

then say its to protect you from fanatic petrol heads(cause you questioned about petroleum)

send a few people to lodge report against you(after putting you in ISA)

serve you telur rebus

but claim from G for serving you briyani telur rebus

release you after a week

and you will be an ex-ISA detainee forever

you want all this to happen to you??

so Malaysians think twice questioning the G k?

• Prem3377 (Member) on Sep 25, 2008 at 10:39 pm

about the petrol,

no comment…sick and tired of it!!

according to reliable source, the actual petrol price should be around RM 2.14 after the subsidy and etc

but the G was reluctant to reduce beyond RM2.45 because they had already pay RM 625 and RM150 and still paying people…a stupid idea in the first place…and now its all got worst…inflation rate all time high..so how does it benefit malaysian and malaysia??My RM 625 i finished in a day..repaired and made it more fuel effiecient…

• topgunthang (Member) on Sep 26, 2008 at 2:06 am

the way i see it is tax on imported car say corolla is about 50,000 rm. which is a basic bread and butter car. tax collected on this can cover the cost of about 150-200 people’s 10 sen subsidy for a whole year. and thats just one car.

• stevewy (Member) on Sep 26, 2008 at 2:28 am

rm0.10…aihh..not much saving for me though…

• kahing (Member) on Sep 26, 2008 at 2:34 am

Like I said, UMNO is getting screwed up and BN is slowly losing it’s favours and flavours. People will be seeking elsewhere these days. I just wonder if the PM knows exactly what is the real duty for a guy his position.

Subsidizing the people with just a mere 3 cents ? Goodness lah. I give that 3 cents back to you and see what crap can u get me with that. Decrease la around 20 cents ka, 30 cents ka. I’m pretty sure you greedy bastardos can still earn a lot of money out of that can a lot still can afford luxury cars on TAX PAYERS expense.

This is why, Malaysians these days are in favour of a new Government. Because the existing one is lost and they lack of wisdom and thought. You all see la. The next election will show us all.

• tananiki (Member) on Sep 26, 2008 at 8:43 am

but still got 4-5 years before next election come… unless anwar can convince agong to dismiss the cabinet…

• osh_kosh (Member) on Sep 26, 2008 at 8:50 am

kaching,

agreed with u bro.. that Dunloppillow maskot keep saying “we know what people want, we got the massage”… but he keep doing joker desicion with reasons that insult everyone intelligence… that what make ppl angry IMO…
    btw, SELAMAT HARI RAYA AIDILFITRI to all muslim… & enjoy the holiday (with ‘cheaper’ fuel <— hahaha)

• I my (Member) on Sep 26, 2008 at 8:56 am

hmm.. 97Ron is same ~ as the diesel price. r we ganna hv cheaper road tax & better diesel qty??!!! At least a Euro 3 grade as a strat?

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Sep 26, 2008 at 12:37 pm

never trust the government

• ah liew (Member) on Sep 26, 2008 at 2:56 pm

yeah! selamat hari raya…….

Deepavali reduction RM0.20
    Christmas reduction RM 0.30
    Chinese New Year RM0.40

Yahoo……! just my 2 cents

When Anwar become PM = RM1.00 reduction ha! ha!

• tananiki (Member) on Sep 26, 2008 at 4:06 pm

if anwar become pm hope d new gov dun earn money from ppl… back to d price that petronas sold to other country…

• 9166 (Member) on Sep 27, 2008 at 11:07 am

Akazamabamaboo. I agree with you that motorcycles should be restricted to localised areas. They become a menace on the road when they start their zig zagging in between the cars. Not only that they may end up killing themselves but many pedestrians are being knocked down by them.Motorcyclist in Malaysia are a special breed.

Further to this, I reckon that Malaysian roads are the most pedestrian UNfriendly. Take note of what I said the next time you try to cross a road.Take for example, can you find me a pedestrian crossing along the whole stretch of Jln Ampang.

Re driving the large vehicles to the shop. This really depends on your own environment. At the rate that crime is happening in our streets, I would not take the chance to walk that 10mins to the store. At best you may just loose your money but many cases of late have ended up in near fatality. This is what I call the “cost of fear”

Rich people driving the large SUVs should not be even complaining the price of fuel. It is the common people that are very much affected. Having said that, I do not think they can afford to even own one of those large SUVs. Pickup trucks are gaining popularity among the urbanites. They offer excellent fuel economy and the protection of a large vehicle.Due to the tax structure, it gives you the best value for money. Another strange phenomenon, no where else in the world can you find pickups being sold for less than their equivalent SUV. Only in Malaysia. It makes sense, it cost the manufacturer more money to build a pickup then a SUV.

• 9166 (Member) on Sep 27, 2008 at 11:18 am

Oh yes, re the 5 star NCAP smaller vehicles. Not in Malaysia where the prices are sky high.example VW Polo, over 100k, VW Golf also over 100k,

What we get here for less than 100k are P1.P2, no star Cherry. Decently built Jap cars are all close to 100k. Anything less, they take out ABS and airbags.

When it comes to choices of vehicles in malaysia, there are really not many choices when you take into consideration on price,safety features and fuel economy. Again, all considerations points to the pickup market.

• yippi33 (Member) on Sep 27, 2008 at 10:18 pm

considering that the world’s economic downturn(looks like the 10 years cycle rule of capitalisme is true afterall), i can accept the 10 sen decrease..i’m sure the G has considered a lot of thing before coming out with that figure..cmon guys, during this hard times..we cant complain much..its happening all over the world..not just Malaysia..open up your mind a bit..Happy Eid!!!

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Sep 28, 2008 at 12:09 pm

desperate najib