Honda Super Cub 50th Anniversary

Honda Cub

The Honda Super Cub has been around for 50 years now with more than 60 millions of the motorcycle on the road worldwide. The Super Cub had a convenient automatic centrifugal clutch and a four stroke economical and clean engine even back in 1957.

When R&D was done, the motorcycle was so revolutionary at that time that Honda targetted sales of 30,000 units a month at a time where the total sales for motorcycles a month in Japan was 40,000 units. Today it is still very much relevant in the current economic situation with, close to 5 million units produced annually.

What’s next for the Honda Super Cub? Honda has produced a new global advertisement for the Super Cub and if whatever they are saying in the ad is true, they are determined to make a product that will open roads to a much larger success compared to the Super Cub.

Could this be an electric equivalent of the Honda Super Cub? It could be, as the commercial video shows two people riding what seems to be a bike… but the background is silent, as if the bike runs on a quiet motor.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• n8cky (Member) on Sep 26, 2008 at 7:39 pm

1st.
    Honda Cup, Suzuki, Yamaha!!!
    Toshiba, Toyota, Corrola!
    Kalau rosak senang saja di-jaga,
    Spare part ada jual di kedai!
    lol..those old days.

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Sep 26, 2008 at 8:16 pm

i hate these bikes …so noisyl…stupid mat rempit lifeless jobless people

• mr.ferrari (Member) on Sep 26, 2008 at 9:10 pm

ALPINA BMW said,

September 26, 2008 @ 8:16 pm

*Not every1 can afford cars mr.BMW… N they probably do less harm 2 the environment compared 2 ure car.. hahaha.. But mat rempits r still a nuisance…

• raptorclans (Member) on Sep 26, 2008 at 9:20 pm

Gotta love the cub man… 50 years on, they dun look like they’re gonna be goin off anytime soon. Versatile and tough, they helped so many people get around. Hope the new one is electric. That’d be really revolutionary…

• Roti Naan (Member) on Sep 26, 2008 at 9:47 pm

there is nothing to complain abt this bike.

Cheap to run, easy maintenance, easily repairable, part abundance….and appeals to all walk of life….

hahaha….damn durable too. Even can accommodate fat uncle, fat auntie, two babies and groceries all on this bike.

• adil2008 (Member) on Sep 26, 2008 at 10:21 pm

Is a great creation from Mr. Soichiro Honda.
    HONDA is no.1.
    Cub 50, EX5 already in market more than 20 years, may be it will become the another super cub in Malaysia.
    WELLDONE HONDA motorcycle division.

Congratulation for 50 years old birthday. happy birthday, super cub.

• PTAllTheBest (Member) on Sep 27, 2008 at 12:44 am

is that kapchai bulat? hahahaha…..

• mytouch (Member) on Sep 27, 2008 at 12:46 am

Chill up Alpina BMW,give those Super Cup owner a break,besides mat rempit,theres still got lovely motor bikers out there,keke…

• sowhat (Member) on Sep 27, 2008 at 4:20 am

ALPINA BMW said,

I’m using one. But I’m not mat rempit. And mine one is not that noisy! You must remember that people who r using this kind of bike as their main transport that they use every day.. mat rempit is the minority… not all people can affort to buy a car even for people like you think some of them a cheap.. the way u say it like all people with this kind of motobike is mat rempit..

• azrai (Member) on Sep 27, 2008 at 7:09 am

Huhu. Honda cub.

• feez98 (Member) on Sep 27, 2008 at 7:14 am

Retro Classics…

• rexis (Member) on Sep 27, 2008 at 8:09 am

Electrical cub?! Hmmm, keep people guessing.

• nz5000 (Member) on Sep 27, 2008 at 9:23 am

ALPINA BMW said,

……………………………………………………………………………………………

what a shame ALPINA BMW , people are talking about trully great creation in motorcycle history. Remember,60 million have bought this bike and it could be more than billion people have ride in this bike. Are you try to say there is billion of “mat rempit” out there? &*(&)&)T^%&^%^??”

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Sep 27, 2008 at 9:50 am

no…great bikes are the Honda CBR1000RR , not this

• There is no medicine for Stupidity .. and we cant charge idiots in court ,,, nuff said

• bunWMQ (Member) on Sep 27, 2008 at 10:21 am

ALPINA BMW said,

not everyone is lifeless like u, hv u ever ride supercub? those who haven’t ride it, will never know what fun is….try it

• amal850720 (Member) on Sep 27, 2008 at 12:14 pm

probably u have never watched discovery channel’s the greatest ever on motorcycles. honda super cub was the first, with ducati at back. i still remember the host put used cooking oil into the engine and the motorcycle was moving fine. he even crashed the motorcycle from a four-storey building. he kickstarted it, and it moved as if nothing happened. what a wonder. perhaps it should be one of modern world wonders.

anyway, i doubt cbr1000rr is great. i have been on both cbr and yamaha’s venerable r1, and i dare say nothing matches r1 on the road.

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Sep 27, 2008 at 12:23 pm

anyway, the honda cub isn’t a motorcycle, it’s a moped

• arch747 (Member) on Sep 27, 2008 at 2:49 pm

Never argue with an idiot, they drag u down to their level and beat u with experience

• mokkf82 (Member) on Sep 27, 2008 at 5:51 pm

haha!
    another episode of Alpina with his automotive world of stories
    Don’t mind him la, he just passes by

• mytouch (Member) on Sep 27, 2008 at 5:55 pm

Come on guys,lets not argue with this stupid Alpina dude,the more you guy arguee,the more big mouth this dude is…sometimes there’s just got stupid morone like Alpina that try to screw around the forum…

• jhj249 (Member) on Sep 27, 2008 at 7:15 pm

totally agreed with nz5000.
    i learnt how ride motorcycle using honda cub 50.going to school using honda c70. going to university using honda wave n today, i still using the same honda wave to work n balik kampung from kl to johor. its cheap, reliable, easy, low cost maintenance, practical…u name it

although i can afford a car easily, i still prefer honda cub..

happy birthday oyaji super cub. without u, maybe i’ll not be where i ‘m right now

• Alifz (Member) on Sep 28, 2008 at 12:05 pm

ALPINA BMW said,
    September 27, 2008 @ 9:50 am

-Then Honda can make CBR when they know how to make this your so called “moped kapchai”. Have you ever realize that??

You are such arrogant guy. I think you never had a hard time in your life earning for your own riceball..

• kei9 (Member) on Sep 28, 2008 at 1:26 pm

ALPINA BMW = JulianLee = A kid

But its really a delight to read his comments.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Sep 28, 2008 at 10:48 pm

kei9 said,
    September 28, 2008 @ 1:26 pm

ALPINA BMW = JulianLee = A kid

But its really a delight to read his comments.

——————–
    totally agree with that.

anyways.. the cbr1000rr is a good bike, but “great”?, definitely no.. maybe someday it might be, but definitely no right now.

but the cub is definitely part of our history of land transport imho.

• numb3r7mu (Member) on Sep 29, 2008 at 8:39 am

i wonder if ALPINE BMW HAS BMW itself or juz ride a yamaha jipang bike.
    Shame on u the man that stuck on traffic some way at Jalan Ampang during raining day and say endless piss off to abang trafik for not doing thier job

• tanasi (Member) on Sep 29, 2008 at 11:21 am

last week I took my trusty old ex5 to a motorbike shop – ready to swap it with the newer Yammy 135LC.

The shop is willing to pay RM1700 for my old faithful. Still a good value after all the beating it took since i bought it 5 yrs ago, used from an Indonesian contract worker.

Suddenly, a rush of blood to the head, and I was like “What am I doing?”

Screw the yammy. I am keeping my ex5 until my grandson can ride it.

• dzat46 (Member) on Oct 06, 2008 at 4:13 pm

tanasi said,
    September 29, 2008 @ 11:21 am

last week I took my trusty old ex5 to a motorbike shop – ready to swap it with the newer Yammy 135LC.

The shop is willing to pay RM1700 for my old faithful. Still a good value after all the beating it took since i bought it 5 yrs ago, used from an Indonesian contract worker.

Suddenly, a rush of blood to the head, and I was like “What am I doing?”

Screw the yammy. I am keeping my ex5 until my grandson can ride it
    —————————————————————-

Spot ON man! The bike is bulletproof….will keep on running even for yr grandson’s son/daughter…Yeap, those honda cub is a great bike…

• ben ben ben on Jun 03, 2010 at 1:34 pm

i own a perdana v6,a modified modenas kriss, n a kapcai,but i hav to say even d kapcai is slow like a turtle there is just something about it tat make u just cant let go of it…

• Arindam chakraborty on Jul 06, 2010 at 12:33 am

It is the real star of the bike industry. No one can compete with it. in my eyes,it is the HE-MAN bike.And those who said,”i hate these bikes …so noisyl…stupid mat rempit lifeless jobless people. “. in my point of view, please use it and then comment on it. Thanks, to read my comments.

• aderazi on Aug 25, 2010 at 2:04 pm

dear bros, i have both the newer honda dream (2005) and the ex5 ( bought new in 1997 )you know what, the ex5 tends to be the last japanese honda cub,,so if you happened to have one then you better keep it because the value will hike up after let say 20-25 years from now. please note that the honda ex5 is different than the hondadream. The difference on the engine block is so obvious. the ex5 engine block is known as the gn5, is imported from japan while the dream block is made in thailand , anyhow both bikes are assembled in malaysia though. They have been assembling honda cubs in malaysia since the 1970’s since the boon siew years. another difference is how both bikes go. The ex5 has less top speed comparing to the dream but in terms of torque, durability, and thoughness always favour the ex5. moreover, the ex5 speed tends to increase due to the engine warming up, the warmer the engine the better the engine runs, this dosen’t happen to the dream.. finally, the dream gets loosen up to quickly .