Oil prices drop 10% on bailout bid failure

Fuel Wallet GaugePrices of crude oil dropped about 10% yesterday on the NYMEX after the US House of Representatives rejected the Bush administration’s bid for a US$700 billion bailout of the American financial sector called the Emergency Economic Stabilization Act of 2008.

November delivery light sweet crude dropped as much as US$11.85 at one point, finally settling down at US$96.37 a barrel, down US$10.52. In London, Brent North Sea crude for November dropped US$9.56 to settle at US$93.98 per barrel.

It previously spiked 16% (up to US$120.92) partly in anticipation of a positive outcome to the very same bailout bid, and a few other reasons such as the expiry of front-month futures contracts and weakening of the US dollar. At the time of that spike November contract delivery prices were US$109.37. December and January contract prices are now roughly the same as November’s price at US$96.09 and US$96.37 respectively.

“Oil prices should remain under downward pressure. Oil traded for the last five years on fear of supply interruptions. It is now trading on fear of economic collapse,” said WTRG Economics analyst James Williams.

With this new news, are the government going to reduce petrol and diesel prices again? Or will they say it not make a difference to their coffers because of other reasons such as the ringgit weakening against the US dollar?

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• dUrEx333 (Member) on Sep 30, 2008 at 7:44 am

be a smart a** leaders!!. No fool exuses without prove it.

• michly (Member) on Sep 30, 2008 at 7:48 am

No more price drop
    1. no cabinet meeting until after raya
    2. The government need to make more money
    3. MYR currency value drop
    4. Only for 1 or days.. BODOWI takes avg price

Thanks for smart a** leaders. …

• rexis (Member) on Sep 30, 2008 at 8:04 am

So much with the US bail out plan.

Price drop?! How about our national biofuel plan? How about environmental issue(real one, one for boost car sales one)? How about the public transport?

Hohoho, they are not relevent. Follow by this economy collapse, we will have environmental collapse.

• n8cky (Member) on Sep 30, 2008 at 8:13 am

I don’t think they make more $ by flip-flopping petrol price..See how the petrol merchant react to the price drop issue? Was afraid someday whole kl is not selling petrol anymore, because of frequent price drop/ raise. Dang..

• jaygan (Member) on Sep 30, 2008 at 8:14 am

I support item 2. The gomen needs to make more money (for what ever reason), michly.

• n8cky (Member) on Sep 30, 2008 at 8:17 am

Hoping to see more electric car/ hybrid. And states felt empty in their pocket, the G felt empty, and there goes price drop, gao gao!

• ignas (Member) on Sep 30, 2008 at 8:23 am

make money? i tot G are making money all these while. but when crisis comes, they cant even sustain, thats why the petrol price rise decrease happens, very unstable or should i say, flip-flop. the rm625 is a joke. we really shouldnt be affected by it, but somehow i felt that they really treat us like milking cow.

• jehutyz (Member) on Sep 30, 2008 at 8:25 am

Hmm really hope will revise soon. But they just announce it not too long ago. So is it only until end of Oct will announce new price?
    Seem like will back to previous… but i don’t think will drop back to RM 1.92 ger…

• Roti Naan (Member) on Sep 30, 2008 at 9:01 am

hahahah, drop back to RM 1.92? then our leaders pants will drop too…

• droll (Member) on Sep 30, 2008 at 9:19 am

i think they are too busy trying to contain some self-made fire in their turf to worry about this. good luck to the rakyat. the drop if fuel price doesn’t seem to affect prices of essentials. sigh…

• mits27 (Member) on Sep 30, 2008 at 9:26 am

Now I reaaly worry about the economy…

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Sep 30, 2008 at 9:32 am

baby…lower fuel prices…

• 9166 (Member) on Sep 30, 2008 at 11:00 am

Probably drop 3 sen plus another 2 sen given by government. Total decrease 5 sen.
    That should make many people happy as they will save another RM10-15 per month. At least something……better than nothing.

• rexis (Member) on Sep 30, 2008 at 11:25 am

If the fuel price drop too much, they might scrap the electric ear and hybrid car plans.

Lets not be too happy about this petroleum drop, it is caused by economy down fall.

• White Jack (Member) on Sep 30, 2008 at 12:03 pm

The crude oil demand is an artificial one. All speculation only. What is the real value of crude oil ?

• dr_carz (Member) on Sep 30, 2008 at 2:11 pm

PATIENT LAH…..

IT JUST DROP ONE DAY……..

SEE IF THE CURRENT DROPPINGS WILL DROP FOR THE MONTH.

NEXT MONTH ADA LAHHHH

• chinz (Member) on Sep 30, 2008 at 8:05 pm

no use at all if our G drop the fuel price! 0.15 sen? 0.10 sen? not a big deal, its seem lik doesn’t effetive at all! if drop 0.50 at once baru lah nampak ada isi. boleh bah kalau kau pak lah! our a** leader

• mofo (Member) on Oct 01, 2008 at 2:34 am

Let me make a guess.

Our G would decrease the price at minimal amount, less than 20 cents i assume. With all-kind-new-reason (which i could think of), production costs + transportation costs getting more expensive plays as the main reason.

• aksMs (Member) on Oct 01, 2008 at 4:13 am

Owww Paul…. You’ve just gave them the idea. “The ringgit IS weakening despite the high reserve that this country has in ‘foreign currencies.” (Uhh…most of it in USD is it?)

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Oct 01, 2008 at 9:25 am

i rather have low car prices than low fuel prices, but i’ll have both anyday