Lexus IS250C Convertible unveiled at Paris 2008

Lexus IS250C
Click for hi-res image

Lexus has unveiled the Lexus IS Convertible, its competitor to the E93 3-Series Convertible at the 2008 Paris Motor Show.

The Lexus IS250C features a 3-segment folding hard top using a lightweight aluminium alloy. It can change from coupe to convertible at the touch of a button in 20 seconds. Lexus has designed the boot to be able to contain a golf bag with the top down.

Under the hood is the 2.5 litre 4GR-FSE with direct injection putting out 208hp at 6,400rpm and 252Nm of torque at 4,800rpm, mated to a 6-speed automatic transmission.

The IS250C will go on sale in Japan in spring 2009. Look after the jump for a gallery and a video showing the IS250C’s hard top in action.

Video: Lexus IS250C

PHOTO GALLERY: Lexus IS Convertible
Click thumbnails to view high resolution photo

[cpg_album:105]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Oct 03, 2008 at 7:32 am

4 seat convertibles just never seem to look just quite right….especially tin top ones.

I’m sure Lexus was tempted to sell a version of the Solara convertible…wondered why they dropped short….after all the ES350 is based on a Camry (or vice versa)

• na_power (Member) on Oct 03, 2008 at 7:52 am

ugly.

• mitlanevo (Member) on Oct 03, 2008 at 10:00 am

wow, quite a nice looking car :-)

this is to challenge 3-series convertible and volvo c70 ?

• Javanese (Member) on Oct 03, 2008 at 10:20 am

2 door+uncharismatic styling+lame brand image = Yuck. I wont even touch it with a 100ft pole.

C70 is a joke. Even a mini convertible offers a better value for money.

• normaluser (Member) on Oct 03, 2008 at 11:49 am

Javanese, think first before u post. What do u mean of Lexus having a ‘Lame brand image’?

Lexus is the top luxury carmaker in the US (or probably at some point of time). Despite the IS is not as charismatic as the 3 series, it definitely has many other strong points for a luxury car brand.

• JasonMaxx (Member) on Oct 03, 2008 at 12:15 pm

Looks nice..gimme 1please.. Haha!!

• s60t (Member) on Oct 03, 2008 at 1:29 pm

I would rather drive a lexus IS than a 3 series.The 3 series is becoming so common that it doesn’t feel exclusive anymore.

• Javanese (Member) on Oct 03, 2008 at 4:43 pm

I stand by my statement… lame brand image overall. So am I supposed to be impressed with lexus just because it’s number one in america? Since when do we give a sh!t on whats number one in america? The ford f150 is the number one selling vehicle in america, wow, that thing must be better than a mercedes!!
    Lexus is nothing but a cheap alternative for poor americans who cant afford a proper luxury car.
    Have you ever actually driven a lexus? (Not a toyota badge lexus, but a proper LHD lexuses) I have driven their entire lineup and can sum it up in one word, B-O-R-I-N-G.

• drgn86 (Member) on Oct 03, 2008 at 8:25 pm

are you that sure, mr java island? toyota camry has been america’s best selling vehicle… maybe you are way outdated… and why does lexus have to be LHD to be proper? lexus comes from toyota which comes from japan and they have RHD cars… so, isn’t that a little funny to be saying that? just look at bmw’s x1 concept and upcoming 7 series, they look pathetic…

• Javanese (Member) on Oct 03, 2008 at 10:50 pm

OOOooooo name calling? I’m soooo “scared”. What are you 12, you assume everybody who post on the internet is 12 because your dad cant use the internet to save his life? Real mature. From now on I’m ignoring your posts.

As of year end 2007 the best selling vehicle in America is still the F150 and as of end Aug 08 the best selling car in America is still F150. Do some research before you start spewing BS on the internet and end up embarrassing yourself.

Again proving the ill-knowledge of the history of Lexus. I’m not going to even dignify this with a respond. Go read about Lexus in Wikipedia.

Who gives a flying fcuk about how the X1 and 7 series look. The fact is the Japs is still 10 years behind European marque in terms of styling, performance and ride-handling quality.

• tokmoh (Member) on Oct 04, 2008 at 12:54 am

Americans as a benchmark? Phail….

Lexus struggles in UK (compared to its German rivals), in the land where very outspoken journalists truly call a spade….a baboon. Therefore, brand image is very, veeery important to be able to sell in UK. Lexus would’ve sold better if it really can convince the British people it’s not a lame brand like other Germans, no?

What has X1 n 7-series gotta do with this argument? Sure, they’re ugly, but……???? It’ll sell anyway, cuz it has a secks brand image. You want great european looks, look at the Italians.

• jtshin (Member) on Oct 04, 2008 at 11:35 pm

i’m a big bmw fan… but i still like the Lexus IS series, new or old version… and this IS250C doesn’t look ugly at all…

• annihilated (Member) on Oct 05, 2008 at 3:44 pm

please, hold it a minute guys. c’mon, you could be a car enthusiast or a die hard fan. whether it is of the industry or just to one brand, don’t waste your time arguing like a kedai kopi style. additional information / knowledge is appreciated. views should be resprected. right paul?

like it or not, driven it or not, it’s your taste. for me, yeah, lexus is a bit boring to drive. ride & comfort wise, i could say it’s one of the best. the higher range got even more stuffs. more of a gadget for a back-seat taukeh. lexus may have compete with BMW & Merc but with a different approach. there’s no need to raise what BMW & Merc traditional advantages are – (i reserve those for the their brands’ post). comparing lexus to BMW or Merc is like comparing KFC to McD.

i’ve also driven a few but not LS or 7s, so my view may not be accurate. but what i can see is different approach is for different market. americans may go more horses, ‘skewed’ styling & ‘add-on’ gadgets while europeans may go for design/styling, handling & latest tech. malaysians? go rasa your own taste bud lah – i.e: (euro prefered) hatchback isn’t the best choice compare to sedan, (america craze) gas guzzler sounds stupid for our road-tax scheme. again, this is just from my point of view.

in the end, these brands owners are laughing their way to the bank. :)

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Oct 15, 2008 at 3:13 pm

lexus hasnt learn thier mistake from that sc430

• goodgrief on Jun 26, 2009 at 7:28 pm

IS is a pretty car by design. why does lexus go V6 instead of inlines? And jap cars…(being jap cars) as usual usually comes up with a string of mods. lol.

the reality sticks, all jap cars are bot with the unlimited possibility of further zhng-ing up hahahah! watever the brand…toyota, subaru, lexus, honda…